Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

Quote from: Billys Boots on January 17, 2013, 10:40:39 AM
My favourite punk album is Wire's 'Pink Flag' - has really stood the test of time and worthy of a listen by anyone with an interest in rock music.

Class album - I love the reissue with "dot dash" on it as well - thought they removed it again from the last reissue

Watched The Raid (Redemption) last night. Some cracking fight scenes, brutal at times. Very worth a watch for any martial arts/action fans.

The Worker

Anyone seen fligh yet? Heard good reports.

Quote from: The Worker on January 18, 2013, 10:43:34 PM
Anyone seen fligh yet? Heard good reports.
Denzel is on The Graham Norton Show.

AFS

Saw Lincoln and The Impossible.

While it probably wasn't the worst movie, I don't know how anyone could enjoy The Impossible. Almost two hours of unrelenting crying, wailing, screaming and bleeding. The special effects of the tsunami were decent.

I enjoyed Lincoln. Don't know how historically accurate the thing was, but the story was pretty interesting and well put together. Daniel Day-Lewis was very good, but for me Tommy Lee Jones was the star of the show. I suppose it helped that his character got most of the best lines. Politics seemed like great craic back then.

Watched Life of Pi earlier. Excellent show, 9/10.

Flight lined up for later.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2013, 08:05:37 PM

Just starting to watch Flight

CiKe

Watched The Flowers of War last night. Apparently most expensive Chinese film ever made though wouldn't have noticed it myself - must have been Christian Bale's salary. Set during the Japanese occupation of Nanking in the 30's tells of an act of self-sacrifice which is "based on a true story". Enjoyed it well enough.

Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2013, 08:16:03 PM

Great start!  ;D

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2013, 09:24:51 PM

Great start!  ;D
Best start to a movie I've seen in a long time.

Smokin Joe

Quote from: laoislad on January 19, 2013, 09:32:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2013, 09:24:51 PM

Great start!  ;D
Best start to a movie I've seen in a long time.
Twas all downhill from opening scene, I was bored watching it.

alright lads, i'm sort of scared to download stuff as it messed up my last computer.

Can anyone tell me a safe program to use as well as safe download. I'm not technically minded either!!!!!

Thanks in advance lads.

Thought flight was alright, nothing special apart from Denzel being excellent.

Anyone seen Beasts of the Southern Wild yet? Meant to be outstanding.

AFS

Quote from: gallsman on January 20, 2013, 05:56:55 PM
Thought flight was alright, nothing special apart from Denzel being excellent.

Anyone seen Beasts of the Southern Wild yet? Meant to be outstanding.

Yeah. Thought it was a load of pretentious shite. And I usually like pretentious shite.