Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

Quote from: hardstation on November 08, 2012, 10:19:39 PM
Dead Man's Shoes on FilmFour tomorrow night.
I like it. Feck the rest of yis.
Like it too. Mentioned on Page 1 of this very thread.

Quote from: The Iceman on November 05, 2012, 11:06:10 PM
This is a trailer for a documentary on some type of Gladiator Football in Florence :  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QW-wxTW7OCI
Looks like hurling without the sticks ;)

Crazy stuff.
Seen worse in Laois county finals though.

waterfordlad

I went to see Argo Wednesday night. Now that is a good film about the rescue of American hostages in Iran around 1980 and the interesting plan they came out with to try get them out without being caught by the Iranians. Ben Affleck starred in it and directed it.
I agree with most of the commetns about Skyfall. Too much hype about it and wasn't as good as some reviews made out.

No Soloing

Dead Man's Shoes is excellent. It's one of the best films of recent years, imho

Quote from: No Soloing on November 09, 2012, 10:03:10 AM

For the life of me I don't know why they had to cast an American with a shit accent to play the lead role. . . it's like we don't have actors in Ireland or something?!

Agent Orange

Quote from: waterfordlad on November 09, 2012, 08:17:50 AM
I agree with most of the commetns about Skyfall. Too much hype about it and wasn't as good as some reviews made out.

Typical Bond movie, lots of hype, predictable plot and far too long. Its more of a series of car adverts with the odd watch thrown in.

Saw 2 remakes at the weekend. Both George A Romero original films I believe........ Dawn of the Dead and The Crazies.
Both daft , cheesey, poorly plotted and eh did I forget to say very watchable. Really enjoyed them both even though it is fair to say neither would be laden down with movie awards.

Quote from: screenexile on November 09, 2012, 01:31:05 PM

For the life of me I don't know why they had to cast an American with a shit accent to play the lead role. . . it's like we don't have actors in Ireland or something?!
who is the American
actor?

he might be talking about 50 dead men walking starring Jim Sturgess??

Newbridge Exile

Grosse point blank on tonight at 9 on Tg4, well worth a watch

AFS

Argo is alright, but could've been a lot better given the material they had to work with. Someone needs to tell Ben Affleck that there is a point after which efforts to cram in further suspense becomes a bit tedious.

Quote from: ludermor on November 11, 2012, 04:37:03 PM
he might be talking about 50 dead men walking starring Jim Sturgess??

Sorry... got the totally wrong film lads.

glens abu

Quote from: screenexile on November 09, 2012, 01:31:05 PM

ha ha wrong again kid,keep going you will get something right sometime.

Fender

Watch 3:10 To Yuma the other night, great film staring Christian Bale Russell Crowe and Ben Foster. Foster stole the show for me with a bad ass performance. Money's worth for 7/10.

Anyone watch that Midnight Express was on Film Four a while back, about a US drug smuggler in Turkey?

Hard watch in places