Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

Watched Oppenheimer, too long and nothing special. 6 out of 10 at best.

The Creator was visually amazing, was very good but could have been better. 7 out of 10.

The Killer, expected more, bit like a film version of Dexter, only assassin instead of forensics expert. 6 out of 10.

The Whale, better than expected. 7 out of 10.

Dead Mans Shoes on Film4 tonight for anyone who's never seen/fancies a rewatch

Edit - it appears I have misinformationed you all lolol. But it is available for download via Sky (if anyone cares haha)

Any takers for Napoleon yet?

Watched a few films recently.

Manodrome - About a vulnerable adult getting recruited by a celibacy cult. It was weird and not that good. A shit Fight Club 3/10

The Killer - Inane shite. Boring plot with little dialogue and a crap storyline. A shit John Wick. 4/10

The Burial - Good craic with an interesting story. It's not going to win any Oscars but it was a good story a solid 7.5/10

Pain Hustlers - It was grand and passed some time without massively offending me. Dopesick is better 6/10

Nyad - Really interesting story about an interesting character. It maybe isn't everyone's cup of tea but I enjoyed it. 7/10

Fargo - Rewatched it after maybe 15 years. It's class if you haven't seen it you should watch it. If you have you should watch it again! 9/10

Watched all the original Planet of the Apes movies recently, first one still a classic, rest got worse as the sequels progressed.

The Marvels wasn't as bad I expected it to be. Nowhere near Thor: Love and Thunder levels of sh*t.  In fact it was ok.

I went to the Maxx to see it.  I counted 10 people in such a huge cinema. If that's a reflection of it's sales then it cant be doing well.

Going to see Napoleon on Friday. Looks unreal from the trailers but hearing mixed reviews.

Quote from: JimStynes on November 21, 2023, 03:19:01 PMGoing to see Napoleon on Friday. Looks unreal from the trailers but hearing mixed reviews.
Keep us posted. It could be another of these ones that critic's love and Joe Public isn't fussed on.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 21, 2023, 07:33:09 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 21, 2023, 03:19:01 PMGoing to see Napoleon on Friday. Looks unreal from the trailers but hearing mixed reviews.
Keep us posted. It could be another of these ones that critic's love and Joe Public isn't fussed on.

I'd like to see it in the cinema but....

There's absolutely no way I could convince her to go.

jcpen

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2023, 07:35:30 PM

Go on your own?
This is one of my 3 usernames.

Quote from: jcpen on November 21, 2023, 08:23:15 PM

Go on your own?

I've just convinced her.. but it's the Avenue in Belfast with food and drinks.. so be a few quid!!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2023, 08:37:20 PM

Go on your own?

I've just convinced her.. but it's the Avenue in Belfast with food and drinks.. so be a few quid!!

Well worth it. If I can get a babysitter that's a Sunday afternoon date!

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 21, 2023, 10:19:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2023, 08:37:20 PM

Go on your own?

Well worth it. If I can get a babysitter that's a Sunday afternoon date!
Is that place good? I just picture  that the seats are a bit manky after being open a while.