UK General Election 2017

Started by Eamonnca1, April 18, 2017, 07:09:42 PM

sid waddell

Quote from: Minder on June 05, 2017, 11:40:30 PM
Think Labour should have kept Diane Abbott in hiding, state of her

https://blogs.spectator.co.uk/2017/06/watch-diane-abbotts-disastrous-turn-sky-news/
Abbott is certainly no worse in media appearances than May. She at least tries to answer questions, which is a damn sight more than May does.

May is only the Prime Minister, remember.

One could only imagine the reaction had Abbott told police they were "scaremongering" and "crying wolf" when they warned of the consequences of cuts, like May did.

And let's not forget, there will likely be more cuts to policing under the Tories - £700 million for London alone.

When you consider how Francois Hollande's approval rating went down to 4% after the terrorist attacks in Paris and Nice, it shows the power of propaganda in the British press that May, who has far more questions to answer over the attacks in Britain did than Hollande did over the French attacks, is still considered by a majority to be stronger national security than Corbyn, when my cat could see the opposite is the reality.

She's utterly hapless - a talking parrot.

Owen Brannigan

Quote from: yellowcard on June 05, 2017, 11:09:08 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 05, 2017, 09:41:19 PM
Evidence of Corbyn being told what to say by the puppet master, Seumas Milne.  The video below was recorded on a train as Corbyn and Milne discussed matters at too high a volume and provided to Mail on Sunday.

https://youtu.be/FZxNFI9D5wI

In the video, Labour's strategy chief, Milne, says:

"We need to find, I think overnight, without looking defensive of trying to seal down the Trident thing so it doesn't keep intruding in the next few days... It might be worth thinking in the morning how when you do this thing in Lincoln... then maybe do a clip later where you will be asked about it.  We should maybe find a formula to close it down... We just, I think we just need a form of words."

So when it came to responding to the London Bridge attack, Corbyn used "form of words":

"I will take whatever action is necessary and effective to protect the security of our people and our country. That includes full authority for the police to use whatever force is necessary to protect and save life as they did last night, as they did in Westminster in March."

So much for Corbyn being a man of principle, when the test came, he used Seumas Milne's "formula" to do whatever it takes to fool the voters.

It's scraping the barrel to attack the man on this.

Leaving aside policies, Corbyn  has come across as someone who is quite easy to engage with on a human level and is much more likeable than Theresa May. May has had a very poor campaign and comes across as aloof, wishy washy and lacks any real leadership. That despite receiving the backing and assistance of several media outlets acting purely in self interest.

If you market yourself as highly principled, refusing to conform to the establishment and offering a new and honest politics then being caught out being told how to hid your true principles from the public and doing a 360 on your principles just to win the election is hypocrisy. 

The Tories will continue to u turn and do whatever it takes to win but they don't pretend to be anything else. 

It seems trains aren't the best place for Corbyn given his previous lying on the floor stunt when he had a seat.  Being likeable isn't a determinant of being a good PM for the UK and probably any other country.

Owen Brannigan

On local note, the battle of misinformation via leaflets and trying to confuse the voter by using percentages and numbers of votes.

First SF put out a leaflet with key information missing to create some fake news:
BTW SDLP were on 19.4% in the same election being quotes by SF.

Then SDLP hit back with their own version of a reality check using a different election result.  Neatly using Chris Donnelly, 'commentator', (how do you get a job like that?) as a source to attack SF:

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 06, 2017, 08:16:50 AM
Evidence of Corbyn being told what to say by the puppet master, Seumas Milne.  The video below was recorded on a train as Corbyn and Milne discussed matters at too high a volume and provided to Mail on Sunday.

"We need to find, I think overnight, without looking defensive of trying to seal down the Trident thing so it doesn't keep intruding in the next few days... It might be worth thinking in the morning how when you do this thing in Lincoln... then maybe do a clip later where you will be asked about it.  We should maybe find a formula to close it down... We just, I think we just need a form of words."

So when it came to responding to the London Bridge attack, Corbyn used "form of words":

"I will take whatever action is necessary and effective to protect the security of our people and our country. That includes full authority for the police to use whatever force is necessary to protect and save life as they did last night, as they did in Westminster in March."

So much for Corbyn being a man of principle, when the test came, he used Seumas Milne's "formula" to do whatever it takes to fool the voters.

Leaving aside policies, Corbyn  has come across as someone who is quite easy to engage with on a human level and is much more likeable than Theresa May. May has had a very poor campaign and comes across as aloof, wishy washy and lacks any real leadership. That despite receiving the backing and assistance of several media outlets acting purely in self interest.

If you market yourself as highly principled, refusing to conform to the establishment and offering a new and honest politics then being caught out being told how to hid your true principles from the public and doing a 360 on your principles just to win the election is hypocrisy. 

The Tories will continue to u turn and do whatever it takes to win but they don't pretend to be anything else. 

It seems trains aren't the best place for Corbyn given his previous lying on the floor stunt when he had a seat.  Being likeable isn't a determinant of being a good PM for the UK and probably any other country.

True,
    competence is probably far more important, but the popular vote doesn't necessarily follow that train of thought as per brexit and Trump..

Theresa getting caught out again with her meeting and hearing what people have to say when it seems these walk abouts are in industrial estates somewhere or other with a rent a mob;

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 06, 2017, 08:16:50 AM

https://youtu.be/FZxNFI9D5wI

You really don't like Corbyn do you.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: AQMP on June 06, 2017, 09:29:59 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 06, 2017, 08:58:09 AM
On local note, the battle of misinformation via leaflets and trying to confuse the voter by using percentages and numbers of votes.

First SF put out a leaflet with key information missing to create some fake news:
BTW SDLP were on 19.4% in the same election being quotes by SF.

Then SDLP hit back with their own version of a reality check using a different election result.  Neatly using Chris Donnelly, 'commentator', (how do you get a job like that?) as a source to attack SF:

Christ Owen, that barrel has been well and truly scraped over the last 24 hrs.  Ye must have a hole worn in it by now.

As much as I like Mom and cant stand McDonnell the truth is nationalists need to vote SDLP in SB to keep that $#@% (insert preference) Pengelly out. Next time it will all be academic as new boundaries mean South West Belfast will be safe SF. Sf just have to decide if Maskey or Mom will run (easy choice). For such a successfull business man he has form for talking shite over numbers. At the last council elections he was blowing about topping the poll forgetting to mention that both the SDLP and DUP had 2 candidates and were balancing votes as oppossed to just himself for SF.

Tories are 2/9 with Paddy Power but they only have to lose 8 seats. May is a liability
And Labour are doing very well in the last week . You never know.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6hH4i_ezRg

Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2017, 12:54:54 PM
Tories are 2/9 with Paddy Power but they only have to lose 8 seats. May is a liability

You'd wonder about their decision making though if they are to continue to send Diane Abbott onto TV to discuss matters of policy. She hasn't a clue and is a potential vote-killer for swing voters as the question the Tory's are asking is "are you prepared to let this woman be your Home Secretary this Friday"?

1/12 with bet365.    That's the best polls indicator (generally)

I don't think there is any doubt that the Tories will win this election, however it cannot be seen as a success for them unless the polls are incorrect. Traditionally, some people who would vote Tories would be a bit embarrassed to admit as much so its not impossible that this may be the case.

May has been exposed for the weak leader that she is and they will probably fail to get the landslide 100+ victory that they originally thought was a certainty. May to date has had the unconditional backing of a media who are fearful of a Corbyn led government, but this support might waver slightly once the election is over and her performance is examined in detail. The thought of her leading Britain into Brexit negotiations isn't exactly reassuring to people.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2017, 01:24:52 PM

These odds are probably in two different markets.

On Betfair:
Tory majority - 1/4
Tories to win more seats than any other party - 1/10

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2017, 01:24:52 PM

Betfair were 1/9 Remain

Paddypower paid out on Clinton a month before the election!