Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 04:50:35 PM

Title: Is there anything that people in RoI won't take to court?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 04:50:35 PM
A survey of court reports in RoI on almost a daily basis shows the amount of money that is being claimed and the variety of reasons for the claims.

Some of the claims are almost unbelievable.  The level of payment achieved seems to be very high compared to the many smaller claims in N.Ireland.

These are examples of cases from the last week:

Parents sue club because son suffers PTSD because he wasn't picked for the team
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/teen-who-sued-soccer-club-for-trauma-after-he-was-dropped-from-team-loses-case-35660200.html

Children bitten by bed bugs
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html)

A personal injury claim for €120,000 fails
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094)

Injury to child on day out from creche
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235)

Injured at a GAA camp
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024)

Title: Re: Is there anything that people in RoI won't take to court?
Post by: stew on April 27, 2017, 05:28:23 PM
I got sued twice in the states, once a division 1 college prospect went after me after I told her she should go to the best camp she was invited to in Alabama, i had coached her for nine years, yhe argument was i told her my thoughts after the parrnts asked my opinion, one hundred and seventeen thousand dollars she got to go along with an acl tear and a torn miniscus.

the second one was thrown out as there was evidence to the contrsry and I got damages as the thing made the papers and news, i was happy with that result.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 05:37:41 PM
I read about that first one on t'internet today. Absolutely mental. Sounds like the worst sort of parent bolloxology. I better stock up on the auld insurance if every young lad I drop off a county panel reads that!

As for the rest, haven't read them, but compo culture is nothing new in ROI. It's a blight, and I always think people who get money that way will have no luck for it. It also trivialises the whole process and is unfortunate for people who are genuinely left with lift changing injuries that they need help with for the rest of their lives, due to some fault or negligence.
Post by: Franko on April 27, 2017, 05:43:29 PM
Agreed AZ, I always had the belief that no luck follows that sort of shite.  The judiciary need to put more effort into stamping it out.  Some of the figures they award are totally ridiculous.  At the end of the day, if there's money to be made, unscrupulous lawyers will chase it and they'll encourage every bollix to pursue these ridiculous claims.  The judges are the only ones with the power to take the carrot away.
Post by: J70 on April 27, 2017, 05:45:47 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 27, 2017, 04:50:35 PM
A survey of court reports in RoI on almost a daily basis shows the amount of money that is being claimed and the variety of reasons for the claims.

Some of the claims are almost unbelievable.  The level of payment achieved seems to be very high compared to the many smaller claims in N.Ireland.

These are examples of cases from the last week:

Parents sue club because son suffers PTSD because he wasn't picked for the team
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/teen-who-sued-soccer-club-for-trauma-after-he-was-dropped-from-team-loses-case-35660200.html

Children bitten by bed bugs
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/8k-payout-for-children-bitten-by-bed-bugs-while-living-in-dublin-hostel-35659598.html)

A personal injury claim for €120,000 fails
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/dublin-airport-worker-spotted-lugging-baggage-drops-120-000-injuries-claim-1.3062094)

Injury to child on day out from creche
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/boy-who-injured-elbow-on-creche-outing-gets-20-000-settlement-1.3061235)

Injured at a GAA camp
http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024 (http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/girl-who-was-struck-in-the-face-at-gaa-camp-awarded-40-000-1.3061024)

Two of those are ridiculous and frivolous and an abuse of the system: the kid dropped from the team with alleged PTSD, and the lowlife with the car accidents and false suits.

The rest look fair enough to me. You expect your kid in the crèche to be properly looked after. You expect the landlord/hotelier to sort out the bedbug issue and keep rooms clean.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 27, 2017, 05:56:36 PM
Looks like the Irish has followed the American fad of suing for everything and anything.
Post by: Franko on April 27, 2017, 06:00:17 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 27, 2017, 05:56:36 PM
Looks like the Irish has followed the American fad of suing for everything and anything.

We follow all their fads eventually.  Imagine telling an aul fella you were going for a coffee.  Jaysus.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:03:36 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 27, 2017, 06:00:17 PM

We follow all their fads eventually.  Imagine telling an aul fella you were going for a coffee.  Jaysus.
Imagine telling him you were getting a capuchino, or a mochachino? He'd think you were on about a fancy car.
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2017, 06:05:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:03:36 PM

Imagine telling him you were getting a capuchino, or a mochachino? He'd think you were on about a fancy car.
I dunno. They sound like something Fiat would make. Hardly fancy.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:14:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 27, 2017, 06:05:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 06:03:36 PM

I dunno. They sound like something Fiat would make. Hardly fancy.

Not up to your standards of course. But an auld lad might think they were fancy.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 27, 2017, 07:35:51 PM
I definitely would have no issue with any of them apart from the one about the lad being dropped and the one of the foreign lad swinging the lead. In fact I think the other ones except the bed bugs one were not contested ones by the sound of it and were simply quantum matters where the court was approving or setting the amount of damages to be awarded. People who talk about a compo culture need to understand something....95% of claims are 100% legit. The level of damages awarded are high but they have been reigned in in the last 10 years significantly. People only jump up and down because the 'joe Duffy' bandwagon jump up and down and the compensation being awarded. The reality is that Solictors and judges are not stupid (well most anyway ) and most will only run with legitimate cases. The one above about the young lad being dropped should never have been taken and the solicitor who did should be given a right boot in the hoop. Cases like that give the majority of us bad names.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 07:40:06 PM
bc, no harm to you, but I've seen lads limping around the place, or wearing the famous 'compo' collars when they go out, and the same lads leaving the crutches behind after a few pints, or taking the collar off when going out for the night.

As I said, they give genuine cases a bad name, but even a goodly amount of the ones you hear about are absolute nonsense.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 27, 2017, 08:03:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 27, 2017, 07:40:06 PM
bc, no harm to you, but I've seen lads limping around the place, or wearing the famous 'compo' collars when they go out, and the same lads leaving the crutches behind after a few pints, or taking the collar off when going out for the night.

As I said, they give genuine cases a bad name, but even a goodly amount of the ones you hear about are absolute nonsense.

The point is that these cases do make it seem like every case that happens is dodgy. I know from working in it and having worked for firms that were basically litigation firms that the amount of legitimate claims far outweighs the dodgy ones.
Post by: foxcommander on April 27, 2017, 11:32:29 PM
Should be jail time for this level of fraud.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/woman-jogging-on-day-she-told-doctor-of-pain-after-crash-1.2995393
Post by: DuffleKing on April 27, 2017, 11:41:24 PM

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-who-banged-her-knee-against-table-leg-at-restaurant-awarded-20k-35579644.html
Post by: Puckoon on April 28, 2017, 12:37:37 AM
I just encountered one I had never seen before. Larger woman, appeared to be early 30s. She got the preferred boarding on my flight this afternoon as she had a walking stick. Fair enough, no problem. I was behind her and we got to the front of the plane and she took her seat and folded her cane up and into her bag. Grand. Flight deplanes and I walked about a quarter of a mile behind her out to the ride share area and she had no limp, no stick, and no sign of slowing down at all.
Post by: gallsman on April 28, 2017, 01:22:52 AM
There's definitely an element of a culture, particularly when it comes to personal injury. A couple of years ago, a girl ran into the back of me while I was stopped at the Merrion gates. She "thought I was moving off" even though the lights were still red while we were both standing chatting outside the cars, so she sorry of jumped into me from a standing start. Enough to feel it but very minor. Fairly sure she was on her phone. My girlfriend and was with me and we both got a jolt but no pain at all. My case was a 16 year old Almera that ended up being written off and when making the assessment, the loss adjuster from her insurance company couldn't believe we weren't claiming for PI. Told me there and then there was a minimum five grand in it for both of us, no questions asked.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 28, 2017, 03:14:48 AM
I'm a bit puzzled about the bedbugs one in the original list.  If the bedbugs don't hitch a ride from the hotel to your own home, then it's just a bugbite.  No different from being bitten by a mosquito really (except with no chance of disease as a result).  There's no actual harm done, unless you count itchiness.

Maybe the hotel just wanted to avoid bad publicity?
Post by: T Fearon on April 28, 2017, 06:02:44 AM
To answer the original question.Yes,Bankers,drunk drivers in the know,etc
Post by: LeoMc on April 28, 2017, 03:32:42 PM
They were talking about similar on The Last Word the other day. There was a Doctor on talking about how whiplash appeared to be a peculiarly Irish injury with nowhere the same levels elsewhere.
Post by: seafoid on April 28, 2017, 04:43:13 PM
Other countries insist on personal insurance. Car insurance is very expensive because of a) dangerous driving and b) the compo culture. The insurance mechanism isn't supposed to spread the cost of mendacious behaviour across the population of people who observe the rules. And there is no table of claim amounts agreed upon by the courts and the insurers. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 28, 2017, 06:01:21 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 28, 2017, 12:37:37 AM
I just encountered one I had never seen before. Larger woman, appeared to be early 30s. She got the preferred boarding on my flight this afternoon as she had a walking stick. Fair enough, no problem. I was behind her and we got to the front of the plane and she took her seat and folded her cane up and into her bag. Grand. Flight deplanes and I walked about a quarter of a mile behind her out to the ride share area and she had no limp, no stick, and no sign of slowing down at all.

I wouldn't be so quick to judge. You can't diagnose people just by looking at them. How can you tell how much pain they're in?

http://www.npr.org/2015/03/08/391517412/people-with-invisible-disabilities-fight-for-understanding (http://www.npr.org/2015/03/08/391517412/people-with-invisible-disabilities-fight-for-understanding)

Quote"You know, it's that invisible nature of an illness that people don't understand," says Wayne Connell, the founder and head of the Invisible Disabilities Association. He started the group after his wife was diagnosed with Lyme disease and multiple sclerosis.

"We'd park in disabled parking and she didn't use a wheelchair or a cane, and so people would always give us dirty looks and scream at us," he recalls.

So people live their lives in constant pain or with other terrible conditions, but then have to deal with the double indignity of judgmental abuse from people who neither know what they're talking about nor mind their own business. I don't envy them.

Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 08:53:31 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/warehouse-worker-withdraws-back-injury-claims-after-photos-emerge-of-him-skiing-and-motorcyling-35663943.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/warehouse-worker-withdraws-back-injury-claims-after-photos-emerge-of-him-skiing-and-motorcyling-35663943.html)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 28, 2017, 09:05:01 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 28, 2017, 06:01:21 PM

I wouldn't be so quick to judge. You can't diagnose people just by looking at them. How can you tell how much pain they're in?

"You know, it's that invisible nature of an illness that people don't understand," says Wayne Connell, the founder and head of the Invisible Disabilities Association. He started the group after his wife was diagnosed with Lyme disease and multiple sclerosis.

"We'd park in disabled parking and she didn't use a wheelchair or a cane, and so people would always give us dirty looks and scream at us," he recalls.

So people live their lives in constant pain or with other terrible conditions, but then have to deal with the double indignity of judgmental abuse from people who neither know what they're talking about nor mind their own business. I don't envy them.

I have an invisible disability as I have fibromyalgia, i.e. chronic muscle pain and debilitating fatigue, but cases like those outlined by Puckoon make me particularly cross because they are fairly obvious examples of people making out that they are ill to gain advantage, ranging from simple queue jumping to those outlined in the court cases above.  Many like me live with our conditions and I would never consider using it to gain an advantage but I do see those using blue badges of relatives or even without blue badges parking in disable bays. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 28, 2017, 09:47:07 PM
Sorry, but from the way Puck described it, it was entirely possible that the lady had some sort of invisible disability. Some people are able to walk or even run for a certain distance without a cane, but after that they're in agony. Some wheelchair users are even able to step out of the thing once in a while.  Every case is different.

Judge not lest ye be judged.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 10, 2017, 03:15:13 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/two-children-would-know-better-security-guard-loses-75k-damages-claim-after-altercation-with-trainee-garda-on-luas-35700065.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/two-children-would-know-better-security-guard-loses-75k-damages-claim-after-altercation-with-trainee-garda-on-luas-35700065.html)
Post by: Puckoon on May 10, 2017, 03:46:32 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 28, 2017, 09:47:07 PM
Sorry, but from the way Puck described it, it was entirely possible that the lady had some sort of invisible disability. Some people are able to walk or even run for a certain distance without a cane, but after that they're in agony. Some wheelchair users are even able to step out of the thing once in a while.  Every case is different.

Alright Alright - I'll give you that it raised my eyebrows and I wondered if there was a manipulation at play - but I wasn't being particularly judgemental, it's not like I was outraged!

It is entirely possible that she had an issue that caused her no pain at all as she disembarked a 3 hour flight and hoofed it through the terminal. It's maybe equally as possible that she didn't.

Malingering is a real thing - hence the thread.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 10, 2017, 05:51:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 10, 2017, 03:46:32 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 28, 2017, 09:47:07 PM

Alright Alright - I'll give you that it raised my eyebrows and I wondered if there was a manipulation at play - but I wasn't being particularly judgemental, it's not like I was outraged!

It is entirely possible that she had an issue that caused her no pain at all as she disembarked a 3 hour flight and hoofed it through the terminal. It's maybe equally as possible that she didn't.

Malingering is a real thing - hence the thread.
She was probably just a fat ****
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 17, 2017, 08:05:17 PM
Woman bangs her head in hotel and sues hotel.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hairdresser-knocked-out-after-walking-into-ceiling-at-popular-hotel-loses-60k-claim-35726254.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hairdresser-knocked-out-after-walking-into-ceiling-at-popular-hotel-loses-60k-claim-35726254.html)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 18, 2017, 09:38:50 PM
Slipped on a chip......

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-sues-after-slipping-and-falling-on-a-chip-in-dublin-shopping-centre-35730781.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-sues-after-slipping-and-falling-on-a-chip-in-dublin-shopping-centre-35730781.html)
Post by: lurganblue on May 19, 2017, 02:27:32 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 17, 2017, 08:05:17 PM
Woman bangs her head in hotel and sues hotel.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hairdresser-knocked-out-after-walking-into-ceiling-at-popular-hotel-loses-60k-claim-35726254.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/hairdresser-knocked-out-after-walking-into-ceiling-at-popular-hotel-loses-60k-claim-35726254.html)
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 27, 2017, 11:41:24 PM

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-who-banged-her-knee-against-table-leg-at-restaurant-awarded-20k-35579644.html

Looks like it is hairdressers that are the problem
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 20, 2017, 10:02:39 AM
www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/mma-fighter-has-60000-damages-claim-kod-by-youtube-evidence-35735955.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/mma-fighter-has-60000-damages-claim-kod-by-youtube-evidence-35735955.html)
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2017, 10:32:33 AM
When I was a teenager there was a woman in the parish who had 3 compensation cases to her name. Another woman known to us was a candidate for FF and had been caught dumping her rubbish on iarnrod Eireann property. It used to be explained away as a lack of respect for authority. Does this come up much in Northern Ireland ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 20, 2017, 10:46:56 AM
There is a healthy claim culture up here too seafoid. I would say there is a good percentage of car crashes resulting in personal injury claims. My missus was hounded by a solicitor years ago as she had no interest in a personal injury claims. Multiple phone calls, letters etc. basically telling her it was easy money. If a bus crashed in West Belfast you'd have more claims than the capacity of the bus.
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2017, 11:15:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 20, 2017, 10:46:56 AM
There is a healthy claim culture up here too seafoid. I would say there is a good percentage of car crashes resulting in personal injury claims. My missus was hounded by a solicitor years ago as she had no interest in a personal injury claims. Multiple phone calls, letters etc. basically telling her it was easy money. If a bus crashed in West Belfast you'd have more claims than the capacity of the bus.

I know other countries have a different view of authority but also a different history. I don't think Irish people feel like citizens. generally. The state is something to get money out of. People don't necessarily believe in their rights.
Insurance is very vulnerable to this because it is about sharing risk on the assumption that people are honest.
I always notice on the buses from the Airport in Dublin that you have to have exact change. In other countries people are trusted to buy tickets.....
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 20, 2017, 12:08:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2017, 11:15:52 AM

I know other countries have a different view of authority but also a different history. I don't think Irish people feel like citizens. generally. The state is something to get money out of. People don't necessarily believe in their rights.
Insurance is very vulnerable to this because it is about sharing risk on the assumption that people are honest.
I always notice on the buses from the Airport in Dublin that you have to have exact change. In other countries people are trusted to buy tickets.....

Nail on head. Citizenship is seen as political on both sides of the border and not a personal duty with responsibilities as well as privileges. In North it can appear to be a duty to drain the governing state hence the core of the RHI scandal for both Arlene and some of the beneficiaries and not corruption as put about by political adversaries.
Post by: seafoid on May 20, 2017, 12:37:58 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 20, 2017, 12:08:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 20, 2017, 11:15:52 AM

Nail on head. Citizenship is seen as political on both sides of the border and not a personal duty with responsibilities as well as privileges. In North it can appear to be a duty to drain the governing state hence the core of the RHI scandal for both Arlene and some of the beneficiaries and not corruption as put about by political adversaries.
In the South politicians run "clinics" where politicians can sort things out for them to which they are entitled anyway as citizens

for example
https://www.fiannafail.ie/people/niall-collins/
Every Monday
Pallasgreen – O'Dwyer's Bar 9.30pm
Bruff – Jack Clancy's Bar 8.15pm
Kilmallock – Flanagan's Bar 7.30pm
Newcastle West – Desmond Complex 6.30pm
Patrickswell – Cuchulainn Bar 2pm
Abbeyfeale – Michael Lane & Co. Solicitors 11am
Post by: Avondhu star on May 20, 2017, 02:38:56 PM
How many times have we seen Ministers lose their  seat while the local gombeen TD or populist leftie get elected safely in the knowledge that they will never be in government
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 21, 2018, 08:31:20 PM
Awarded €380,000 for being knocked over by a gust of wind when carrying a mattress:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-caught-by-gust-of-wind-when-delivering-mattress-gets-380k-36829938.html (https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-caught-by-gust-of-wind-when-delivering-mattress-gets-380k-36829938.html)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 06, 2018, 09:11:56 AM
Coalisland family brings its claim for €420,000 to an RoI court

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-familys-420000-injury-claim-dismissed-there-was-no-accident-36869586.html (https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-familys-420000-injury-claim-dismissed-there-was-no-accident-36869586.html)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 09:47:30 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 06, 2018, 09:11:56 AM

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-familys-420000-injury-claim-dismissed-there-was-no-accident-36869586.html (https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-familys-420000-injury-claim-dismissed-there-was-no-accident-36869586.html)

Ye see this sort of shit annoys me in two aspects. Any dodgy claim should be exposed. This work is my bread and butter and we are fastidious in we don't out dodgy cases. The thing is people do lie and we need to maintain the integrity of the system so that proper cases do not get lost as a result.

However, this bulls hit journalism stating that this was a €420k case annoys the hell out of me. If this case was legitimate it was correctly issued in the circuit court. The range in the circuit court is €15-60k so this case could have been described just as easily as a €105k case for 7 people and not a €420k case. There is a concerted and government backed agenda to attack the 'claim' culture that people perceive as being out there. The reality is that the majority of the cases that are in the system are 100% legitimate. There is a reason why the amount of car accidents have increased in the last 0-15 years. The population has increased significantly over the last 20 years or so with births and immigrants in the country which has meant that there are more cars on the road. It is logical that there will be more accidents. Also there are more building sites in ten go and there are more health and safety regulations so there will be more potential work accidents.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:04:40 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 09:47:30 AM

Ye see this sort of shit annoys me in two aspects. Any dodgy claim should be exposed. This work is my bread and butter and we are fastidious in we don't out dodgy cases. The thing is people do lie and we need to maintain the integrity of the system so that proper cases do not get lost as a result.

However, this bulls hit journalism stating that this was a €420k case annoys the hell out of me. If this case was legitimate it was correctly issued in the circuit court. The range in the circuit court is €15-60k so this case could have been described just as easily as a €105k case for 7 people and not a €420k case. There is a concerted and government backed agenda to attack the 'claim' culture that people perceive as being out there. The reality is that the majority of the cases that are in the system are 100% legitimate. There is a reason why the amount of car accidents have increased in the last 0-15 years. The population has increased significantly over the last 20 years or so with births and immigrants in the country which has meant that there are more cars on the road. It is logical that there will be more accidents. Also there are more building sites in ten go and there are more health and safety regulations so there will be more potential work accidents.
If the judge in this case states that there was no accident and this appears to all intents and purposes a fraudulent claim, is there no comeuppance for the claimants?

And don't worry BC, despite the media, there will be plenty of claims to keep you in work  ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 10:11:05 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:04:40 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 09:47:30 AM

If the judge in this case states that there was no accident and this appears to all intents and purposes a fraudulent claim, is there no comeuppance for the claimants?

And don't worry BC, despite the media, there will be plenty of claims to keep you in work  ;D

The case can technically be referred to the Authorities but it rarely happens. Given that these plaintiffs are from NI I would think not.

I'm not worried about not having the work.... but there is a concerted effort by the insurance industry, backed by certain elements within the media, mostly O Brien's group,  to attack the 'claim culture'.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:37:59 AM
But despite what you say there is a claims culture. It almost a given in the north that you claim for personal injury in the event of a car accident even when there has been no injury and no loss of earnings associated with the accident. Ambulance chaser solicitors aren't helping (of which I have first hand experience), so the insurance industry are within their rights to take it on.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 10:50:23 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:37:59 AM
But despite what you say there is a claims culture. It almost a given in the north that you claim for personal injury in the event of a car accident even when there has been no injury and no loss of earnings associated with the accident. Ambulance chaser solicitors aren't helping (of which I have first hand experience), so the insurance industry are within their rights to take it on.

It does happen but the level of fraudulent or excessively exaggerated claims are minimal enough and that's from day to day experience. You only hear about the claims that are dodgy as they are all over the news when caught out. The reality is that the majority, and by majority I mean the vast majority, of cases that are taken, are legitimate. I listen to Matt Cooper in the evening on the way home from work and to listen to him and your man from the AA you'd think that at every junction there's a car load of people ready to cause an accident. Claims are going up but the demographics of the country would indicate that this is expected. Of course there are set ups and get gem where I'm from I know all about them but that doesn't make them the rule. In fact they are the exception rather than the rule.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:55:37 AM
I'm not talking about cases that make the media. I'm talking about low level claims for a few grand. My wife was involved in an accident a few years and and she got rang by a company in Lurg a  about making a claim which she said she had no interest in as she wasn't injured. He rang every day for the next 3 days trying to change her mind, until eventually I went on the phone and told him to sling his hook. You can't tell me these low level, relatively low value personal injury claims aren't endemic.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 06, 2018, 11:06:36 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:55:37 AM
I'm not talking about cases that make the media. I'm talking about low level claims for a few grand. My wife was involved in an accident a few years and and she got rang by a company in Lurg a  about making a claim which she said she had no interest in as she wasn't injured. He rang every day for the next 3 days trying to change her mind, until eventually I went on the phone and told him to sling his hook. You can't tell me these low level, relatively low value personal injury claims aren't endemic.

Me back is hurted boss. I'll never work again
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 06, 2018, 11:52:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2018, 10:55:37 AM

That's wrong you see and I have an issue with that. The reality is that solicitor was probably to the wall and needed every case to keep afloat. He should look at his own set up if that is the case. I know there are solicitors who operate like that and that is what gives the rest of us a bad name!!
Post by: David McKeown on May 06, 2018, 01:15:35 PM
There are others who get a bad name unjustifiably. I was recently involved in a bad crash when I was stationery in traffic and was hit so hard from behind that it caused a 4 car pile up. I reported the matter to my insurer even though I wasn't at fault. Their initial reaction was to arrange to have the vehicle picked up by 7.11pm the accident having occurred around 4pm. I was supposed to wait with the car but I had to be taken to the hospital after the accident due to concussion and neck, shoulder and back injuries. Police later informed me that the car was still there near midnight.

The next day my insurance company informed me I was to be held liable on the basis that I should have been far enough back (when stationery) to ensure that if someone did hit me that I could stop hitting the cars in front. Setting aside the fallacy of their logic that they wanted me to be liable for hitting cars 3 and 4 (not just car 3) the girl who hit me had already admitted liability to the police and been cautioned for careless driving. They then asked me to pay up front for legal advice from one of their partner solicitors. I declined given how they wanted me to be liable. Had I not known better I might have taken their atrocious advice.

As a result I instructed an accident management company who have been superb. They had a courtesy car for me within 2 hours. Had appointments made for medical treatment again within hours and took on negotiating the claim on my behalf all at no expense to me. They have been nothing short of fantastic but now 6 or so weeks on I still haven't recieved payment for my car (which was written off) from the other insurer not because they are disputing liability or the pre-accident value of my car but because they are disputing the post accident value by approximately £300. The irony being that every day they waste means hundreds of pounds in car hire fees they are going to have to meet.

I'm most definitely not swinging the lead here. I had a bad concussion and am still in considerable pain. A lot of my stuff was damaged in the accident.  Were I not self employed I would justifiably still be off work but the way the insurers on both sides have gotten on has been disgraceful.

The problem is the accident management company are seen as the bad guys in all of this and the insurers lauded as some kind of victim of claim culture.
Post by: Insane Bolt on May 06, 2018, 01:27:24 PM
I believe a lot of insurance companies will not contest a lot of claims if personal injury is under 10K.
I had an accident with a van ....reversed into side rolling door, bump in door, no personal injury yet claim ended up just under 7000! Only found out when changing car 6 months later.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2018, 08:42:26 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 06, 2018, 01:15:35 PM
There are others who get a bad name unjustifiably. I was recently involved in a bad crash when I was stationery in traffic and was hit so hard from behind that it caused a 4 car pile up. I reported the matter to my insurer even though I wasn't at fault. Their initial reaction was to arrange to have the vehicle picked up by 7.11pm the accident having occurred around 4pm. I was supposed to wait with the car but I had to be taken to the hospital after the accident due to concussion and neck, shoulder and back injuries. Police later informed me that the car was still there near midnight.

The next day my insurance company informed me I was to be held liable on the basis that I should have been far enough back (when stationery) to ensure that if someone did hit me that I could stop hitting the cars in front. Setting aside the fallacy of their logic that they wanted me to be liable for hitting cars 3 and 4 (not just car 3) the girl who hit me had already admitted liability to the police and been cautioned for careless driving. They then asked me to pay up front for legal advice from one of their partner solicitors. I declined given how they wanted me to be liable. Had I not known better I might have taken their atrocious advice.

As a result I instructed an accident management company who have been superb. They had a courtesy car for me within 2 hours. Had appointments made for medical treatment again within hours and took on negotiating the claim on my behalf all at no expense to me. They have been nothing short of fantastic but now 6 or so weeks on I still haven't recieved payment for my car (which was written off) from the other insurer not because they are disputing liability or the pre-accident value of my car but because they are disputing the post accident value by approximately £300. The irony being that every day they waste means hundreds of pounds in car hire fees they are going to have to meet.

I'm most definitely not swinging the lead here. I had a bad concussion and am still in considerable pain. A lot of my stuff was damaged in the accident.  Were I not self employed I would justifiably still be off work but the way the insurers on both sides have gotten on has been disgraceful.

The problem is the accident management company are seen as the bad guys in all of this and the insurers lauded as some kind of victim of claim culture.

To be fair accident management companies have to take their share of the blame too. Some of the car hire and salvage storages costs they add are ridiculous. Despite what they say, they rarely look to minimise costs on claims and have been part of the reason insurance premiums have been driven up. That's before you take into account some of the more questionable ones over in England.
Post by: Rois on May 06, 2018, 09:53:35 PM
I have done a fair bit of financial work in the insurance industry. Insuring underwriters (obviously) give better rates to firms that don't use accident management companies.
My OH just closed out a claim where someone went into the back of him, admitted liability, and he managed to get back the full value of the car he had paid for about 3 months previously. He didn't take a hire car or claim for personal injury, and I think that helped him recover the full value.
Post by: David McKeown on May 06, 2018, 10:33:07 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2018, 08:42:26 PM

To be fair accident management companies have to take their share of the blame too. Some of the car hire and salvage storages costs they add are ridiculous. Despite what they say, they rarely look to minimise costs on claims and have been part of the reason insurance premiums have been driven up. That's before you take into account some of the more questionable ones over in England.

I think if insurance companies behaved better there would be a lot less need for them. Had I to do everything myself that they have done I would have been considerably out of pocket.
Post by: David McKeown on May 06, 2018, 10:35:48 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 06, 2018, 09:53:35 PM
I have done a fair bit of financial work in the insurance industry. Insuring underwriters (obviously) give better rates to firms that don't use accident management companies.
My OH just closed out a claim where someone went into the back of him, admitted liability, and he managed to get back the full value of the car he had paid for about 3 months previously. He didn't take a hire car or claim for personal injury, and I think that helped him recover the full value.

Fair play to him there's plenty that won't work for though. In my case I simply needed a car and I need ongoing physio. Accident management company have sorted that. I wouldn't have been able to get through the last 6 weeks without using one.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 07, 2018, 10:20:25 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 06, 2018, 10:33:07 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 06, 2018, 08:42:26 PM

I think if insurance companies behaved better there would be a lot less need for them. Had I to do everything myself that they have done I would have been considerably out of pocket.

No doubt. Insurance companies don't help themselves. Especially  if there's a hint of disputed liability. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 07, 2018, 10:39:35 AM
In fairness to insurance companies sometimes it is the insured who push the liability dispute to avoid their premium going up. I know of plenty of cases where vehicle damage is paid out without prejudice but as soon as a personal injury claim comes in the case is defended. Nothing like an irate client who doesn't understand that a without prejudice payment effectively is no admission of liability!
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2018, 02:56:45 PM
Remember reading this beauty a while ago.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-buys-wine-leaves-it-on-shelf-in-different-dublin-shop-and-then-sues-for-20k-when-asked-if-she-paid-for-it-36479636.html
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2018, 03:49:42 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2018, 02:56:45 PM
Remember reading this beauty a while ago.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-buys-wine-leaves-it-on-shelf-in-different-dublin-shop-and-then-sues-for-20k-when-asked-if-she-paid-for-it-36479636.html

This bit at the end is the best

Independent.ie previously revealed how youths who were refused service after being accused of stealing from shops in Dublin city centre have been issuing solicitors letters threatening to sue for defamation.

In one of the letters, obtained by Independent.ie, the teenager claims the shop owner accused him of previously stealing from the shop and refused to serve him.

The shop owner said he refused to serve the teenager as he claims he has previously stolen chocolate bars from the shop.

The letter outlined how the teenager intended to sue for defamation unless he received proposals for compensation within seven days – due to being subjected to "defamation, embarrassment and humiliation".

No proceedings were ever issued
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 10, 2018, 05:19:29 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/man-who-fell-on-stairs-at-work-awarded-110000-842136.html

Not had specific training in how to collect the post!!!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on October 21, 2018, 06:28:35 PM
Girl who sustained severe brain injury while 'tram-surfing' on Luas settles €550k High Court action.

Rebecca Kelly was only 13 years of age when she and a friend jumped on the outside of Luas tram gripping on to the edge of the doors as it departed the Fatima station on the Red Line eight years ago.

The young girl fell back on to the tracks striking her head and had to be rescued by her friend. The friend along with the help of others pulled Rebecca out of the way of an oncoming Luas tram en route to the city centre.

Rebecca Kelly (20) of Pearse House, Pearse Street, Dublin had through her mother Elizabeth Kelly sued the Luas operators as a result of the accident on September 3, 2010.

She claimed there was an alleged failure to have any or any adequate visual systems employed and activated on the tram and that the driver was unable in the circumstances to see the non-platform side of the tram before leaving the station.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/girl-who-sustained-severe-brain-injury-while-tramsurfing-on-luas-settles-550k-high-court-action-37437810.html (https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/girl-who-sustained-severe-brain-injury-while-tramsurfing-on-luas-settles-550k-high-court-action-37437810.html)
Post by: rosnarun on October 22, 2018, 12:32:21 PM
what did that do to your insurance?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 30, 2019, 06:18:59 AM
Schoolboy hit with legal bill as 'deflated football' case is dismissed

A schoolboy has failed in his personal injury action where he claimed his primary school was negligent in supplying him with a deflated football that caused him to break his wrist during a soccer match.
At Ennis Circuit Court in Co Clare, Judge Gerald Keys dismissed the case by Julius Kroka (14) taken against Ennis Educate Together, Gort Road, Ennis.

Suing through his mother, Julius claimed that kicking the deflated ball during a soccer match with class-mates at break-time on March 14, 2017, caused him to fall. Julius, of Sandfield Hall, Ennis, said that he broke his wrist.

Julius said that the football was between 60pc to 70pc deflated. He was aged 12 at the time and he told the court: "I was falling backwards. My instinct told me to put out my left hand."

In the case, the school put forward evidence that Julius didn't kick the ball at all and that his version of the accident was 'impossible'. Ennis Educate Together special needs assistant (SNA) Marian Moroney told the court that she was 10 feet from the accident and said that Julius never made contact with the ball. Ms Moroney told the court: "He went to kick the ball but never connected with the ball and fell over." She said that there was no problem with the ball and it was used for another game the following day.

Judge Keys said that the written grounds of the case put forward on behalf of the plaintiff are "extraordinary".

He said if the case was to succeed "I think you have to stop playing football altogether in schools". "The schoolboy lost his balance and when he put his hand out to try to save himself from falling, he broke his wrist. I am afraid that is an accident, these things happen," he said.

Julius's legal team employed a consulting engineer and the school had to employ its own engineer in its defence who argued that the ball could not have been deflated at the time.

Judge Keys awarded costs against the plaintiff. "This is a case where a message has to go out... where some actions are brought there is a risk of costs being awarded against you," he said.

Irish Independent
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 30, 2019, 08:48:54 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 30, 2019, 06:18:59 AM

A schoolboy has failed in his personal injury action where he claimed his primary school was negligent in supplying him with a deflated football that caused him to break his wrist during a soccer match.
At Ennis Circuit Court in Co Clare, Judge Gerald Keys dismissed the case by Julius Kroka (14) taken against Ennis Educate Together, Gort Road, Ennis.

Suing through his mother, Julius claimed that kicking the deflated ball during a soccer match with class-mates at break-time on March 14, 2017, caused him to fall. Julius, of Sandfield Hall, Ennis, said that he broke his wrist.

Julius said that the football was between 60pc to 70pc deflated. He was aged 12 at the time and he told the court: "I was falling backwards. My instinct told me to put out my left hand."

In the case, the school put forward evidence that Julius didn't kick the ball at all and that his version of the accident was 'impossible'. Ennis Educate Together special needs assistant (SNA) Marian Moroney told the court that she was 10 feet from the accident and said that Julius never made contact with the ball. Ms Moroney told the court: "He went to kick the ball but never connected with the ball and fell over." She said that there was no problem with the ball and it was used for another game the following day.

Judge Keys said that the written grounds of the case put forward on behalf of the plaintiff are "extraordinary".

He said if the case was to succeed "I think you have to stop playing football altogether in schools". "The schoolboy lost his balance and when he put his hand out to try to save himself from falling, he broke his wrist. I am afraid that is an accident, these things happen," he said.

Julius's legal team employed a consulting engineer and the school had to employ its own engineer in its defence who argued that the ball could not have been deflated at the time.

Judge Keys awarded costs against the plaintiff. "This is a case where a message has to go out... where some actions are brought there is a risk of costs being awarded against you," he said.

Irish Independent

Because it was deflated the ball didnt move as fast as it should have causing him to miss time his shot, causing him to fall over thus leading to a fractured wrist, case closed mlord!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 30, 2019, 09:03:56 AM
If this had got through it would have gave hope for shite footballers everywhere.

Me included
Post by: trailer on July 30, 2019, 09:14:55 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 30, 2019, 08:57:03 AM
I bet he feels really let down.

It took the wind out of him I'd say.
Post by: armaghniac on July 30, 2019, 09:48:12 AM
Not enough hot air in this case.
Post by: square_ball on July 30, 2019, 11:07:12 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/facebook-moderators-to-sue-over-stress-of-viewing-graphic-content-940271.html

https://punditarena.com/rugby/smcmahon/irfu-fans-legal-action-struck-balls/
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2019, 11:17:12 AM
I see some fella got E1.1m for wrongful arrest by the Gardai. I'm happy for them to duff me up a bit for a million.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2019, 12:44:39 PM
Quote from: square_ball on July 30, 2019, 11:07:12 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/facebook-moderators-to-sue-over-stress-of-viewing-graphic-content-940271.html

https://punditarena.com/rugby/smcmahon/irfu-fans-legal-action-struck-balls/

Saw a documentary on these people once, its supposed to be horrific what they see on a daily basis. There are dark dark people out there.
Post by: David McKeown on July 30, 2019, 01:30:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 30, 2019, 11:17:12 AM
I see some fella got E1.1m for wrongful arrest by the Gardai. I'm happy for them to duff me up a bit for a million.

That's a huge amount in comparison to what you'd get in the north unless he was detained for a very long time
Post by: Denn Forever on July 30, 2019, 01:41:31 PM

Source?  That is just teasing.
Post by: trailer on July 30, 2019, 01:42:02 PM
Solicitors should be named in these cases as well. They're pushing the thing for their own financial gain. They should held shown up for the Ambulance chasers that they are. An industry more corrupt than you could imagine.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 30, 2019, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 30, 2019, 01:41:31 PM

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/man-awarded-1-1m-for-wrongful-arrest-by-garda%C3%AD-over-attack-on-fiancee-1.3970801?mode=amp

Post by: whitey on July 30, 2019, 02:11:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 30, 2019, 08:48:54 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 30, 2019, 06:18:59 AM

Irish Independent

Because it was deflated the ball didnt move as fast as it should have causing him to miss time his shot, causing him to fall over thus leading to a fractured wrist, case closed mlord!

Haha-think about it. Hypothetically, if a ball was either over or under inflated by a smidgeon, you could have grounds to sue if this lawsuit was successful. Tom Brady is only in the hapenny place compared to these chancers
Post by: Puckoon on July 30, 2019, 03:11:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 30, 2019, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 30, 2019, 01:41:31 PM

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/man-awarded-1-1m-for-wrongful-arrest-by-garda%C3%AD-over-attack-on-fiancee-1.3970801?mode=amp

Not the last lawsuit out of that story

The jury of six women and five men, reduced to 11 after one juror had to go on a pre-booked holiday because the trial went over the scheduled five days, deliberated for nearly 6½ hours over two days.
Post by: Rossfan on March 04, 2020, 04:24:24 PM
Well done Cavan Co Board and the Judge.
No marks to the claimant, a Senior Civil servant should be ashamed of himself.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0304/1120200-gaa-personal-injuries-claim/
Post by: five points on March 04, 2020, 04:30:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 04, 2020, 04:24:24 PM
Well done Cavan Co Board and the Judge.
No marks to the claimant, a Senior Civil servant should be ashamed of himself.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0304/1120200-gaa-personal-injuries-claim/

He didn't do his homework. The dogs in the street around Cavan and Ulster know that Breffni Park matchday operations are run as a very tight ship. He might well have gotten away with it elsewhere.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 04, 2020, 04:32:01 PM
Glad that this despicable Dub won't be in Newry anytime soon!