GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Claw on May 20, 2011, 01:15:41 PM

Title: Geraghty & Fay - New Twist, Harnan and Callaghan Step Down as selectors
Post by: The Claw on May 20, 2011, 01:15:41 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=148253&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Quote20 May 2011

Chris O'Connor and Mickey Burke have been recalled to the Meath football panel by manager Seamus McEnaney.

The defensive duo were released from the Royals' championship squad along with forward Peadar Byrne at the beginning of the month, but have been invited back and are expected to feature in tonight's challenge match against Westmeath in Rosemount (throw-in 7.30pm).

There are also unconfirmed reports that retired duo Graham Geraghty - who manages Rosemount's neighbouring club Castledaly - and Darren Fay could feature in the game against Pat Flanagan's men. Both men retired from inter-county football a couple of seasons ago and it would be a sensational development if they were to play tonight.

There was surprise when O'Connor and Burke were let go, given that both had been regulars in the Meath defence under former Eamonn O'Brien. Longwood clubman Burke was first-choice centre back at the start of last year's championship, only for his season to be cut short when he suffered a broken leg against Laois in the Leinster SFC quarter-final replay in Tullamore.

Aparently Geraghty and Fay coming back in not a rumour. Anyone hear anything on it?
Title: Re: Geraghty & Fay
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 01:45:28 PM
I can't find anyone who can confirm it. It would be very surprising if it was true. Maybe they'll just run out in this challenge match but that'd be a right snub to the fringe players.

Until I hear other wise I'm assuming its rubbish.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 01:46:22 PM
Pity McGill hasn't been recalled a very good player when he's on form.
Post by: The Claw on May 20, 2011, 02:11:22 PM
Totally agree Juice. McGill is very good. I wasn't at the Derry game but aparently he had a tough time against Paddy Bradley. That's a quite a tough situation to put a lad into in his first intercounty game in over 2(?) years. I would have him as a starting corner back
Post by: Sea The Stars on May 20, 2011, 02:49:07 PM
The Meath Chronicle reports that Graham has returned to the fold, in a playing capacity, that is.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 20, 2011, 02:57:05 PM
@TV3SportIRELAND "Banty McEneaney confirms to TV3 that Graham Geraghty has returned to Meath panel at age of 38. Darren Fay has not rejoined panel."
Post by: orangeman on May 20, 2011, 02:59:43 PM
This sounds like desperation stuff. Geraghy was some footballer - but surely can't be up to the required fitness levels ?

Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 03:12:23 PM
I am so lucky to bear witness to the second coming.

or is this the 3rd time?
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2011, 03:52:13 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 20, 2011, 02:57:05 PM
@TV3SportIRELAND "Banty McEneaney confirms to TV3 that Graham Geraghty has returned to Meath panel at age of 38. Darren Fay has not rejoined panel."

Is Geraghty 38 now?
What age is Fay?
Are they still playing decent club football and standing out at that level?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2011, 04:04:24 PM
Geraghty is a thoroughbred in terms of athleticism so I wouldn't bet against him even at 38, having a sizeable impact. Not so sure about Fay, brilliant and all as he is/was but it couldn't hurt having him around. He's only 34 I reckon.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 04:04:30 PM
Geraghty was managing a club in Westmeath last I heard and Fay was playing Junior football and was hardly fit enough for that apparently.
Post by: ross matt on May 20, 2011, 04:06:50 PM
Risky stuff from Banty. Might have wanted to play them quitely in a challenge but the media have it now.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2011, 04:07:32 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 20, 2011, 04:06:50 PM
Risky stuff from Banty. Might have wanted to play them quitely in a challenge but the media have it now.

Not really Banty's style is it?
Post by: orangeman on May 20, 2011, 04:10:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2011, 04:07:32 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 20, 2011, 04:06:50 PM

Not really Banty's style is it?

Ask the Monaghan reserve goalkeeper from last year.  ;)
Post by: Denn Forever on May 20, 2011, 04:46:27 PM
Sounds like a pub on Merrion Row.

Rember that Ryan Giggs is 37 but he wouldn't be subjected to the physical hits that Geraghty would give or get.
Post by: Bingo on May 20, 2011, 04:50:13 PM
No doubt Banty has a master plan for Gerathy....play him in goals or something!

Banty was slated in Monaghan for not taking through the youth but in fairness he never took Nudie or Gerry McCarville back onboard.
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2011, 04:52:01 PM
He'd be a good impact sub to have.
The Dubs would love to see him back anyway.  :P
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 04:57:41 PM
Meath for Sam 2011. It starts here!! Hon the Royals!!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2011, 05:04:38 PM
We have to get Ollie Murphy back now.
Post by: Hardy on May 20, 2011, 05:38:20 PM
Unbelievable.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 05:45:47 PM
It's going to be an interesting championship if this happens.

Seems its not a done this just yet.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=148276
Post by: Canalman on May 20, 2011, 05:55:36 PM
Surely a joke/mistake.

Post by: Kerry Mike on May 20, 2011, 05:59:57 PM
Joe McNally seen out jogging this morning.

Fay v McNally now that would be worth seeing.
Post by: mattockranger on May 20, 2011, 06:13:45 PM

Mick lyons me hole....

Royals are making a show of themselves
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 20, 2011, 06:14:26 PM
Please tell me Jody Devine isn't on the way back too....

In other news Kildare have called up Pa Connolly, Ernest Shackleton and Shergar after another name was added to the injury list today.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2011, 12:01:20 AM
We have seen this week that aged Royals can still do the job better than than the young ones.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2011, 12:10:58 AM
Quote from: mattockranger on May 20, 2011, 06:13:45 PM

Mick lyons me hole....

Royals are making a show of themselves

You sound scared.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2011, 12:21:43 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 20, 2011, 05:38:20 PM
Unbelievable.

I know, it's great isn't it!  :D
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2011, 08:56:13 AM
Geraghty, Fay - all we need now is Boylan.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 21, 2011, 09:28:24 AM
Panic stations in meath? Oh dear.

When is colm o rourke going to tog.
Post by: boojangles on May 21, 2011, 10:45:06 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 21, 2011, 09:28:24 AM

I tell ya one thing, this may smack of desperation from the Royals but if Val was to ask Larry Reilly back at the moment I wouldn't disagree one bit after seeing him a few weeks ago.
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2011, 10:53:33 AM

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/haugheydance.png)
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 21, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
Quote from: boojangles on May 21, 2011, 10:45:06 AM

I tell ya one thing, this may smack of desperation from the Royals but if Val was to ask Larry Reilly back at the moment I wouldn't disagree one bit after seeing    him a few weeks ago.

You don't ask Larry back, Larry goes back when he feels like it! Anyway Larry is to geraghty what pele is to Gary breen. :D
Post by: thejuice on May 21, 2011, 12:24:41 PM
QuoteSeamus McEnaney has no reservations about his decision to recall Graham Geraghty to the Meath SF squad.

Meath's 1999 All-Ireland wining captain hasn't lined out at intercounty level for three years but Monaghan native McEnaney caused a sensation on Friday by recalling the 38-year-old.

Explaining the thinking behind the surprise move, McEnaney told The Irish Examiner: "For me, if a player is good enough, he's good enough.

"It doesn't matter whether he's young or old, I'm not looking for birth certs. I'm looking for good players.

"Graham has shown a good bit of form with his club and he's going to get an opportunity over the next few weeks to see if he is still up to this level."

Plenty of great young lads playing junior football who should be getting a chance instead I think. There's a lad thats local to us who has played for the county all the way up to minors, can knock a ball over the bar from anywhere but wont get a shot at th seniors because he's too small or if you believe the politics because he wont move to a senior club like Skryne or Trim. Its a pity that lads who want to represent their local team don't get a look in.
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2011, 12:26:44 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 21, 2011, 12:24:41 PM
QuoteSeamus McEnaney has no reservations about his decision to recall Graham Geraghty to the Meath SF squad.

Meath's 1999 All-Ireland wining captain hasn't lined out at intercounty level for three years but Monaghan native McEnaney caused a sensation on Friday by recalling the 38-year-old.

Explaining the thinking behind the surprise move, McEnaney told The Irish Examiner: "For me, if a player is good enough, he's good enough.

"It doesn't matter whether he's young or old, I'm not looking for birth certs. I'm looking for good players.

"Graham has shown a good bit of form with his club and he's going to get an opportunity over the next few weeks to see if he is still up to this level."

Plenty of great young lads playing junior football who should be getting a chance instead I think. There's a lad thats local to us who has played for the county all the way up to minors, can knock a ball over the bar from anywhere but wont get a shot at th seniors because he's too small or if you believe the politics because he wont move to a senior club like Skryne or Trim. Its a pity that lads who want to represent their local team don't get a look in.

If they have something to offer why not. Too much made of birth certs these days.
Post by: thejuice on May 21, 2011, 12:56:17 PM
Your right there, I wonder is Obama getting a run out? He timed his visit well. Will he be fit for the 1st weekend of June though?

They won the challenge match last night handily enough by all accounts. Will take a win in a challenge match even at this stage.

Post by: muppet on May 21, 2011, 04:02:19 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 21, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
Quote from: boojangles on May 21, 2011, 10:45:06 AM

I tell ya one thing, this may smack of desperation from the Royals but if Val was to ask Larry Reilly back at the moment I wouldn't disagree one bit after seeing    him a few weeks ago.

You don't ask Larry back, Larry goes back when he feels like it! Anyway Larry is to geraghty what pele is to Gary breen. :D

Ahem.....Larry taught Pele.
Post by: thejuice on May 21, 2011, 09:26:36 PM
This is the Meath team from last night, very experimental for this stage of the year. I can't figure out this Banty lad t'all at all. I suppose I should heed my own advice it's good that more lads are getting a run.

QuoteMeath -

P Coakley;

C O'Connor, C King, W Ryan;
J Queeney (0-1), E Harrington, C McGuinness;

A Moyles (0-1), T Walsh (0-1);

I Davis (0-1), A Nestor, E Reilly (0-2);
C Ward, T Brosnan (1-0), B Farrell (0-3, two frees).

Subs - A Douglas for Ward half-time, J O'Reilly (0-1) for Nestor half-time, T Skelly (1-0) for McGuinness half-time, M Burke for Walsh 47mins, D Morgan for Brosnan 51m, D Smyth for Farrell 56m.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2011, 09:53:32 PM
Well I'm glad Alan Nestor is still involved anyway.
Post by: Sea The Stars on May 22, 2011, 03:29:28 PM
Seems as if Graham's return is not coming without it's consequences.

Half the management team have now walked away from the job.

Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 03:32:13 PM
What?!
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 03:36:32 PM
beat Galway in a challenge match last night and afterwards Harnan and Callaghan walked out. Thats the story anyway. What the f**k is going on?
Post by: Tubberman on May 22, 2011, 03:38:50 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 03:36:32 PM
beat Galway in a challenge match last night and afterwards Harnan and Callaghan walked out. Thats the story anyway. What the f**k is going on?

It has been tweeted by LMFMRadio as well:
"Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan have left Meath's backroom team"
Post by: Hardy on May 22, 2011, 03:42:27 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 22, 2011, 03:38:50 PM

Which means it's no longer even a partially Meath backroom team. I can't say I'm surprised. That roly-poly little targer would start a fight in a phone box. Next we'll be seeing players walking out. You heard it here first.

I'm not looking forward to the first Sunday in June.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2011, 03:44:37 PM
Jesus H. Christ.  >:(
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2011, 04:24:15 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 22, 2011, 03:38:50 PM

Are GG and Fay are back as part of the management 'team'?
Post by: Hardy on May 22, 2011, 04:31:55 PM
Who knows? I wouldn't be surprised to see a tweet announcing Tony Cascarino as poker coach.
Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 04:46:00 PM
Apparently Callaghan and Harnan were kept in the dark about Geraghty's selection to the squad.

You'd have to wonder what was going on, about 2 weeks ago the squad was announced. In the mean time players have come back, there has been trial games involving lads who I think were left off the squad previously. It might suggest that Callaghan and Harnan's input wasn't being held in much regard.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2011, 05:18:08 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 04:46:00 PM
Apparently Callaghan and Harnan were kept in the dark about Geraghty's selection to the squad.

You'd have to wonder what was going on, about 2 weeks ago the squad was announced. In the mean time players have come back, there has been trial games involving lads who I think were left off the squad previously. It might suggest that Callaghan and Harnan's input wasn't being held in much regard.

Maybe they wanted to play too?
Title: Re: Geraghty & Fay - New Twist, Harnan and Callaghan Step Down as selectors
Post by: The Claw on May 22, 2011, 06:35:34 PM
What is Banty at lads. This is a joke. Knew is was a mistake appointing him.
Title: Re: Geraghty & Fay - New Twist, Harnan and Callaghan Step Down as selectors
Post by: get up there on May 22, 2011, 07:13:08 PM
em!!! bringing geraghty back takes the pressure and attention off the meath team after a bad league performance, maybe not a bad thing,, the championship will be a better one with geraghty back   ;)
Post by: orangeman on May 22, 2011, 11:04:08 PM
What a mess !!!!!!!!!!!! Meath county board have confirmed that the 2 lads have left.

Eamon O'Brien must be having some laugh to himself.

Post by: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 11:28:47 PM
We've gone done the path of lots of short term "rebuilding", transition", "restructuring", "reinventing the O'Neills" management tenures and it looks set to continue.

I said at the time that O'Brien should have been given the 3rd year of his reign but it seems the wise folk in Meath wanted success and they wanted it yesterday. To be fair Banty has an almost impossible job. People thought we had the players to win but not the men on the line. And so we cut O'Brien short and brought in an outsider to turn us into winners in a short period of time.

How many chances is Banty going to get, given he is an outsider, he was brought in to turn a team that was supposedly 80% there, to a team 100%, just that extra 20% that it takes to win an Al-Ireland.

I'm not going to judge Banty despite whats gone on until I've seen a ball kicked in the championship. Thats what I said when he was appointed and I'm saying it now. There might be something to all this madness, I've heard no complaints from the players even during the league.

Post by: mannix on May 23, 2011, 02:12:58 AM
Good luck with the team building lads
Post by: agorm on May 23, 2011, 08:01:51 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 22, 2011, 11:28:47 PM
We've gone done the path of lots of short term "rebuilding", transition", "restructuring", "reinventing the O'Neills" management tenures and it looks set to continue.

I said at the time that O'Brien should have been given the 3rd year of his reign but it seems the wise folk in Meath wanted success and they wanted it yesterday. To be fair Banty has an almost impossible job. People thought we had the players to win but not the men on the line. And so we cut O'Brien short and brought in an outsider to turn us into winners in a short period of time.

How many chances is Banty going to get, given he is an outsider, he was brought in to turn a team that was supposedly 80% there, to a team 100%, just that extra 20% that it takes to win an Al-Ireland.

I'm not going to judge Banty despite whats gone on until I've seen a ball kicked in the championship. Thats what I said when he was appointed and I'm saying it now. There might be something to all this madness, I've heard no complaints from the players even during the league.

Obviously very badly handled by Banty and he has possibly started a chain of events that will result in him losing his position.

However, lets not get  all positive about O'Brien here. In my opinion O'Brien was very negligent in not contacting Geraghty when he took over. I couldnt believe it. Look at Giggs , Colm O'Rourke etc. Geraghty would have been a huge asset to 'Brien and he might still be in a job and I cannot understand why he didnt think that Geraghty would have helped the team / panel.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 23, 2011, 10:20:07 AM
Being devil's advocate here but Geraghty was a quality player. Is there a chance that he is still fit? If so then surely having his quality in the panel (even as a sub) would not be a bad thing?

Don't people think they should give it a chance before condemning it?

Mind you, perhaps Meath people have seen him play for his club and think he is no longer good enough?
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2011, 10:41:42 AM
He might not be at the same level of fitness but I'd still love to see a high ball dropping into him at the edge of the square.
He makes defenders nervous.
Even if he does nothing they'll have to watch him like a hawk.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 10:52:57 AM
Banty is clearly a clown. How he got the Meath job I'll never know. What did he ever win as a manager?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 23, 2011, 11:03:27 AM
It might have only been a glorified challenge match but Geraghty looked very sharp in Anthony Rainbow's testimonial before Christmas.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 11:10:11 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 23, 2011, 11:03:27 AM
It might have only been a glorified challenge match but Geraghty looked very sharp in Anthony Rainbow's testimonial before Christmas.

Geraghty is a thoroughbred in terms of athleticism. His fitness should be fine.
Post by: haranguerer on May 23, 2011, 11:17:50 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 10:52:57 AM
Banty is clearly a clown. How he got the Meath job I'll never know. What did he ever win as a manager?

The media, over, by providing a quote on anything they want, and many things they dont
Post by: Declan on May 23, 2011, 11:21:54 AM
Geraghty's been in flying form at club level but it'd be a greater comeback than Leinster's if he plays a full 70 mins in championship
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 11:23:16 AM
Maybe not 70 minutes but he could be devastating for a half I'd guess.
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2011, 11:33:38 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 11:23:16 AM
Maybe not 70 minutes but he could be devastating for a half I'd guess.

The Roger Milla of Gaa?
Post by: PAULD123 on May 23, 2011, 11:48:59 AM
So from the comments above it sounds like Geraghty is fit and still sharp, So why is it such a bad thing to call him into the squad and try him out? If he scores a goal everyone will say it was an inspired move. As I said -  being devil's advocate here but Geraghty was a quality player....surely having his quality in the panel (even as a sub) would not be a bad thing?

Don't people think they should give it a chance before condemning it?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 11:52:27 AM
I think there are two seperate issues here with Banty being a clown the most important one for Meath's ambitions this year. Getting GG in is good but not telling your two selectors (who subsequently resign) is just plain stupid but typical.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 12:00:07 PM
yeah, i don't think anyone has a problem with the Double G :P in the panel if he's up to it.

it's the fact that the Selectors were being completely disregarded seems to be the issue.

However if the County Board get rid of Banty at this juncture then they are a bigger bunch of clowns than I took them for.
Post by: agorm on May 23, 2011, 12:19:27 PM
According to the Indo the players are filly behind Banty on this (hope that didnt come from Banty!).
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2011, 12:30:45 PM
Yeah, to be fair I haven't heard any rumours of discontent among the players.
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2011, 12:40:41 PM
Quote from: agorm on May 23, 2011, 12:19:27 PM
According to the Indo the players are filly behind Banty on this (hope that didnt come from Banty!).

Filly is not a word I'd use to describe a Meath player.
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2011, 12:41:24 PM

Players were fully behind Banty in Monaghan if you were to believe the press at that time.

They're now fully behind the new manager now.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 23, 2011, 12:45:53 PM
I'd hope that GG is utilised in the defence where Math need experienced and fast/tough players.
No point in playing Jamie Queeney at FB/whb when the lad is an out and out FF scoring machine!!

Jeez, its never dull with the Meath football team is it !
fecking great this time of the year.  :)
Post by: Bingo on May 23, 2011, 12:47:36 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 23, 2011, 12:41:24 PM

Players were fully behind Banty in Monaghan if you were to believe the press at that time.

They're now fully behind the new manager now.

The players that Banty knew were fully behind him were asked if they were fully behind him and press releases issued on their behalf....by Banty. But he gives players everything they want and has the professional set up that the players love, so largely they will be happy.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 23, 2011, 01:25:21 PM
Geraghty's inclusion in the squad and possible appearance as an impact sub will certainly help ticket sales for Sunday week. I can just imagine it now, GG comes on in front of Hill 16, 30 minutes before the Dublin game. Will the Jackeens be still in the pub or will goldielocks get them to HQ on time.
Post by: irunthev on May 23, 2011, 01:57:52 PM
My issue here is that Banty puts a lot of emphasis on the expensive expertise he brings with him in the form of his coaches and stresses that these people are essential to the entire scheme of things. However, he then plucks a 38 year old from inter county obscurity, just weeks before the big stuff starts, a man who hasn't been through any of these highly expensive, scientific and supposedly essential training programmes and gives him a game. If I'm the man writing the cheques to cover the costs incurred by Meath, then I would be scratching my head. Obviously these training methods aren't so important after all!
The same happened last year when he took his head-stagger over the goalkeeper situation, it wasn't a stroke of genius by any means, but he got away with it.... it didn't backfire. Monaghan had spent a lot of money preparing their goalkeepers, and there is no denying they spent money on their keepers, only for him then to play someone who hadn't had a penny spent on him from a keeper training point of view. Again, if I'm the one writing the cheques, I 'm thinking what is all this nonsense about having expert trainers in to do expert jobs, when you are then prepared to fling someone in half an hour before a game on a gut feeling. If Banty survives, which I imagine he will, and if the Geraghty thing doesn't backfire (as it certainly isn't going to be the missing piece of the puzzle that will secure Sam), then Banty's blushes will be saved. However, I think there will be more fall out from this story. The likes of Harnan are of far more importance to the Meath CB delegates than Banty and his motley crew. I think this time Meath will look after their own.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 02:07:16 PM
I think Banty is more important to the CB, since he is the manager right now.

IF they move against him before this championship starts or want to upset the apple cart at this stage we'll lose more than a manger I think we will lose a lot of players as well.

Best they sit on any misgivings they have till after the playing season.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2011, 02:23:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 23, 2011, 12:45:53 PM
I'd hope that GG is utilised in the defence where Math need experienced and fast/tough players.
No point in playing Jamie Queeney at FB/whb when the lad is an out and out FF scoring machine!!

Jeez, its never dull with the Meath football team is it !
fecking great this time of the year.  :)

I feel like starting a "Ciaran McDonald is back" thread !!!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 23, 2011, 02:35:37 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 20, 2011, 04:04:30 PM
Geraghty was managing a club in Westmeath last I heard and Fay was playing Junior football and was hardly fit enough for that apparently.

Managing Castledaly and has moved training so that it doesn't conflict with his county training. He didn't show up for the challenge game in Rosemount, neither did the Westmeath team with the honourable exception of Darragh Daly.

Wouldn't expect to see Fay come back, his legs were gone at inter county 3 years ago.
Post by: Hardy on May 23, 2011, 08:44:12 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 02:07:16 PM
I think Banty is more important to the CB, since he is the manager right now.

IF they move against him before this championship starts or want to upset the apple cart at this stage we'll lose more than a manger I think we will lose a lot of players as well.

Best they sit on any misgivings they have till after the playing season.

Well it's only two games ...
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2011, 09:27:56 PM
Liam Hayes was on "Off the ball" on Newstalk earlier. Praised Banty for what he achieved with Monaghan but said he was never wanted by a significant amount of Meath supporters.

He said Geraghty was "a genuis of a player" but divisive in a dressingroom and was never loved or taken to the hearts of Meath supporters. Also mentioned his age being an issue and said recalling him is a sign of weakness that opposition will pick up on.

Some of his points made sense but I was surprised about GG being unpopular with supporters. Usually with bad boy types like him he's hated by opposing supporters and loved by his own.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 23, 2011, 09:32:17 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 23, 2011, 09:27:56 PM
Liam Hayes was on "Off the ball" on Newstalk earlier. Praised Banty for what he achieved with Monaghan but said he was never wanted by a significant amount of Meath supporters.
He said Geraghty was "a genuis of a player" but divisive in a dressingroom and was never loved or taken to the hearts of Meath supporters. Also mentioned his age being an issue and said recalling him is a sign of weakness that opposition will pick up on.
Some of his points made sense but I was surprised about GG being unpopular with supporters. Usually with bad boy types like him he's hated by opposing supporters and loved by his own.
hayes being controversial again for he sake of it - has he another book coming out soon?
While a lot of meath folk didnt like GG personally - more or less everyone, inc people who despised him , admired him on the field for his ability. I hated playing against the cocky fcuker , because he was flippin brilliant.
I would reckon he is still as fit as most inter county players and as lean as a butchers dog.
he wont take long to get in shape. I havent seen him for an age , but i'd be surprised otherwise.
I only hope they play him in defence- where he is needed and imo , was where he played his best football.
some fecker when attacking from hb line ! I'd say he still has it. he knows how to hit anyhow. Meath need him.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 09:44:42 PM
I don't normally say things like this about someone,

but Liam Hayes should SHUT UP!

If he he wants Meath to do well now the last thing he should be doing is stirring it.

Meath fans love Graham Geraghty by and large while Liam didn't take to him and vice versa, (he made it clear in an article about the Meath-Kerry 09 semi, and at the same time ruefully admitted that Meath needed someone like GG on the field).
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2011, 09:48:18 PM
Just to make it clear Lynchboy and The Juice .... Hayes DID actually say GG was a genuis of a player and that neutrals and Hayes included would pay just to see him play.  It was his personality and "baggage" he was referring to.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 10:05:03 PM
Fair enough but I hope he added that the Meath team are behind Banty and plenty of the fans are happy for him to stay as it is for this championship at the least and are ready to row in behind the team in 2 weeks time.
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2011, 10:13:09 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 10:05:03 PM
Fair enough but I hope he added that the Meath team are behind Banty and plenty of the fans are happy for him to stay as it is for this championship at the least and are ready to row in behind the team in 2 weeks time.

He said it was a disaster for the player's morale because they would be affected by the constant media attention and unavoidable family/friends etc gossip.
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2011, 11:13:39 PM
If county football teams were celebrities we'd probably be Charlie Sheen at this stage.
Without the "winning!" obviously.
Post by: Orangemac on May 23, 2011, 11:15:04 PM
I would like to see Banty make a go of the Meath job but has any manager in GAA ever been under as much pressure from day one.

In a twisted kind of way it may circle the wagons and strengthen the team bond. The performance v Tyrone when the chips were down indicated the players were behind Banty.

Post by: rionach 4 on May 23, 2011, 11:31:54 PM
Juice the players will row in behind Banty  They are already doing that . While I am not from meath i would have a few close connections as to what is going on . Liam Harnan was not popular with the players according to my source . had he gotten his way he would have rid Meath of a lot of valuable players who he reckoned were to old  Nigel Crawford being one and believe it or not Joe Sheridan. Anyone according to Liam over 27 was goosed.. Banty and Liam did not see eye to eye nearly from the start but Banty brought him in to soften the controversy surrounding his own appointment . I believe liam Harnan was also in for the main job initially. liam's abrupt manner did not sit well with eveyone , I admired him as a footballer but some of the team meetings were  well scary stuff. \he didnt hold back and for some that may well be a good thing. liam read a statement to the players on the bus before they headed of to play a challenge game yesterday You can imagine Harnans reaction when he found out a 38 year old was coming into the panel.  He would never have agreed to it anyway and probably walked .. Yes Banty should have consulted him and fellow selector but the end result was going to be the same .  i believe Meath will be a major threat in Leinster I always admired them outside my own county and recall  their great rivalry with Dublin down through the years . This will blow over.  Banty is a shrewd guy I know he doent always do PC  but he is singleminded and maybe thats what the county need. You can say f off it's none of your business and your right it aint but Meath have given me and many others great pleasure outside following my ow n county  over a number of years . They wont be far away..
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2011, 11:43:28 PM
 :'( :'(
God bless you rionach.
Post by: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 11:52:27 PM
Cheers rionach, thats good to hear.
Post by: Hound on May 24, 2011, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 23, 2011, 12:00:07 PM
yeah, i don't think anyone has a problem with the Double G :P in the panel if he's up to it.

it's the fact that the Selectors were being completely disregarded seems to be the issue.

However if the County Board get rid of Banty at this juncture then they are a bigger bunch of clowns than I took them for.

You'd have to wonder has the resignation of Harnan and Callaghan to do with them not being told or the fact that it was Geraghty? If it was Noddy Nobody from Ardcath who'd impressed Banty in a club game and he'd invited him onto the panel - would Harnan and Callaghan have resigned because they werent told in advance? I doubt it.

I'd say a lot of his former teammates could tell plenty of stories about why they don't like him.

Flynn is on RTE website today saying the decision is "ludicrous". Says he's "three years out of football". Doesnt mention a thing about his club form, presumably because the intention is to give no benefit of doubt to either Banty or Geraghty.

Personally I think if you're good enough and fit enough then you've every right to be on the panel, and every panel should be open-ended to allow for players losing form and players making a case with their club football. If this was a "nice" ex-player being brought back, like Trevor Giles, the spin on this would be completely different, it'd be a positive story about how age is no barrier, etc. 
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2011, 10:02:18 AM
Full story from rte by Bernie Flynn :

Meath legend Bernard Flynn has described Seams McEnaney bringing Graham Geraghty back into their panel as 'ludicrous', with the county's two selectors having quit their positions over the move.

Liam Harnan and Barry O'Callaghan cut their ties with the team after 38-year-old Geraghty re-joined Meath with just over two weeks to the start of their Championship campaign.

Speaking on Sport At 7 on RTÉ Radio 1, Flynn said: 'I know Seamus and wished him well when he started. But the decision to bring Graeme back I could not understand. I basically thought it was ludicrous.

'At 38-years-of ago, the question is not how good a footballer Graeme Geraghty is. I've said it many times - he is one of the greatest we ever had.

'He is a class act and different class on his day - that is not in question.

'But to bring in someone of 38 years of age with two weeks to go I cannot understand. In the long term I don't know how it will work out, particularly with young players within the squad.

'Geraghty is one guy that is in good shape, but at the end of the day he is three years out of football.

'Everyone's day comes when their time is up. At 38-years of age, your time is up at this level. I just cannot understand it.'

Flynn revealed that the news of the resignations has rocked football in Meath ahead of the Leinster Football Championship meeting with Kildare next month.

'Most people and supporters in Meath are in a state of shock. We certainly could do without it with less than two weeks to go in what will be a tough assignment against Kildare.

'It is a shame really. There are no winners in this situation. The lads have to be respected for the decision. I don't think it was made lightly. Everyone was behind Seamus McEnaney when he got the job.

'There was a split in the county over how and why and when he got it but everyone was rowing in at that stage. I don't think a poor league has helped. This has just rocked the county.'

Flynn feels Meath can still do the business against Kildare if they focus on the task at hand and not the distractions that have stemmed from Geraghty's inclusion.

'The players have to focus on Sunday week. It is a little bit of a distraction and leadership is needed now than ever before.

'There are enough guys in there and decent players that will rally the troops and get everyone focused on beating Kildare.

'Lets be honest, if we do beat Kildare, everything would be ok and we'd probably have a big game with Dublin. It is just a shame the two selectors felt strong enough to walk away.'

Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2011, 10:09:32 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 24, 2011, 09:14:23 AM

You'd have to wonder has the resignation of Harnan and Callaghan to do with them not being told or the fact that it was Geraghty? If it was Noddy Nobody from Ardcath who'd impressed Banty in a club game and he'd invited him onto the panel - would Harnan and Callaghan have resigned because they werent told in advance? I doubt it.

I'd say a lot of his former teammates could tell plenty of stories about why they don't like him.

Flynn is on RTE website today saying the decision is "ludicrous". Says he's "three years out of football". Doesnt mention a thing about his club form, presumably because the intention is to give no benefit of doubt to either Banty or Geraghty.

Personally I think if you're good enough and fit enough then you've every right to be on the panel, and every panel should be open-ended to allow for players losing form and players making a case with their club football. If this was a "nice" ex-player being brought back, like Trevor Giles, the spin on this would be completely different, it'd be a positive story about how age is no barrier, etc.

Good idea.
We should get Trevor back too.
Post by: The Claw on May 24, 2011, 11:40:01 AM

I doubt it was one single incident that caused this Hound. If the management team were getting along fine and Dandy up to know do you really think that they would have resigned just because Geraghty was called back? I'd say Banty was at this the whole time and they eventually had enough.
Post by: Hound on May 24, 2011, 02:34:20 PM
Quote from: The Claw on May 24, 2011, 11:40:01 AM

I doubt it was one single incident that caused this Hound. If the management team were getting along fine and Dandy up to know do you really think that they would have resigned just because Geraghty was called back? I'd say Banty was at this the whole time and they eventually had enough.

Maybe so, but I find it hard to ignore the fact that they go as soon as Geraghty arrives. Says a lot about their relationship with GG.
Post by: ross matt on May 24, 2011, 02:42:48 PM
Lads how come O'Rourke has never thrown his hat in the ring for the job?
He's mentioned in his mewspaper columns that he'd like to do it "some day".
He has experience at club/colleges/international rules not to mention his iconic status as a player.
Post by: thejuice on May 24, 2011, 02:48:45 PM
he was Under 21 manager for the last few years with limited success.

He wants fundamental changes on the county board and underage structures first and they aren't likely to happen soon.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 24, 2011, 02:53:36 PM
He has a demanding enough day job at St. Pats, a cushy number in RTE and other business activities. Where would he find the time. Of course he likes to mention his son as a reason not to take on the managerial role. Maybe when he retires from his school he would have the time to give the job his full attention. However his managerial career with club and underage county teams do not exactly fill me with confidence. A grassroots re-structuring of things in Meath would be a far more progressive move.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 11:29:36 AM
Quote from: ross matt on May 23, 2011, 09:48:18 PM
Just to make it clear Lynchboy and The Juice .... Hayes DID actually say GG was a genuis of a player and that neutrals and Hayes included would pay just to see him play.  It was his personality and "baggage" he was referring to.
Fair enugh, but its the same baggage and personality he always had and when he was last on the panel !!
I think a few fringe players might be put out, but I dont believe that there would be too many lads on the panel that would be unhappy that GG is back in the fold. Even if they dont see eye to eye with him, they know he has the exp and was one of the best. He may still be good enough.
Only the lad whose place he takes might be peed off !
imo
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 12:20:56 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 11:29:36 AM
Fair enugh, but its the same baggage and personality he always had and when he was last on the panel !!
I think a few fringe players might be put out, but I dont believe that there would be too many lads on the panel that would be unhappy that GG is back in the fold. Even if they dont see eye to eye with him, they know he has the exp and was one of the best. He may still be good enough.
imo

In fairness he's mellowed a bit with age.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 05:17:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 25, 2011, 12:20:56 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2011, 11:29:36 AM
imo
In fairness he's mellowed a bit with age.
I havent encountered him for well over a decade, but all i am saying is that at 'worst' its the same baggage and presonality etc as he had when last in the Meath panel.
Given Meath defenders are no great shakes right now, he could do a fantastic job somewhere in the defense - though chances are they will play him in the feckin forwards!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 25, 2011, 05:29:21 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 24, 2011, 02:42:48 PM
Lads how come O'Rourke has never thrown his hat in the ring for the job?
He's mentioned in his mewspaper columns that he'd like to do it "some day".
He has experience at club/colleges/international rules not to mention his iconic status as a player.

Because orourke likes to think hes actually better than he is, he is a good pundit though, talks sense whilst brolly and spillane boil over

Who would take orourke place on the panel if he left, bernard flynn perhaps ?????
Post by: Mentalman on May 25, 2011, 05:55:10 PM
Can't see the two bucks resignations being anything to do with GG himself, the move itself has to be the straw that broke the camels back in the relationship between themselves and Banty. As LB says GG could be an excellent addition to a backline, where Meath have shown real weakness, wasn't his first All-Star as a half back? Also he was the type of player who could lift the levels of those around him. As for Bernie Flynn's point about it not being a move for the future, well guess what? While Banty maybe concerned with the future of Meath football, I imagine he's more concerned about his own place in it and right now he doesn't have one. At a minimum he'd need to do serious damage in Leinster to keep his job, if not a run to the AI semi I'd reckon to have any chance at this stage. Once his future is secured then he'll concern himself with Meath's. It's always an issue with any manager, but probably more so with an out of county manager - looking to future development as opposed to keeping their job. Then again, knowing that, in general, why else would you hire an out of county manager other than for short term success? Almost inevitably it leaves a poor legacy behind.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 25, 2011, 07:37:35 PM
Good post MM, Banty and Harnan were never going to be compatible given that each had different plans, and would be afforded completely different time scales to achieve it. Just because a (small) few players are nearing the end of their inter-county careers, Banty's short term view prevails. I myself would prefer Harnan's vision given that the team needs to evolve rather than be broken up and rebuilt from scratch if this season doesn't work out. I much prefer the sound of a lasting legacy, than the quick fix approach.
Post by: orangeman on May 26, 2011, 10:04:42 AM
Top Meath officials Barney Allen and Cyril Creavin are set to fill the selector roles vacated by Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan on Sunday night, according to a report.

The Irish Independent reports that County Board Chairman Allen and Secretary Creavin will take over on an interim basis with Meath's first Championship match of the summer - a clash with 2010 All-Ireland semi-finalists Kildare - set to take place in less than two weeks.

Post by: regal on May 26, 2011, 10:20:05 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 26, 2011, 10:04:42 AM
Top Meath officials Barney Allen and Cyril Creavin are set to fill the selector roles vacated by Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan on Sunday night, according to a report.

The Irish Independent reports that County Board Chairman Allen and Secretary Creavin will take over on an interim basis with Meath's first Championship match of the summer - a clash with 2010 All-Ireland semi-finalists Kildare - set to take place in less than two weeks.

This sounds like a joke. If meath are happy enough enough to employ grimley, banty & mcelkennon as a management team then why not let them manage. Does anyone actually think that these 3 boys are going to listen to 2 county board suits (when i imagine then didnt listen to 2 former meath players).

What position does Geraghty play for his club???
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 11:36:23 AM
I'd say the two boys are taking up the roles to just draw a line under the issue rather than having to trawl around the county for people willing to step up. I'd be very surprised to see either of them in Bantys ear telling him to bring on a sub or make a switch.
Post by: orangeman on May 26, 2011, 01:25:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 11:36:23 AM
I'd say the two boys are taking up the roles to just draw a line under the issue rather than having to trawl around the county for people willing to step up. I'd be very surprised to see either of them in Bantys ear telling him to bring on a sub or make a switch.
[/b]

Maybe that was part of the problem with the last pair - they didn't have Banty's ear either ?.
Post by: meathie on May 26, 2011, 02:50:35 PM
Dont think its true with Allen and Creavin both have denied it as rubbish talk. The saga continuesd. Id say Banty is in no hurry to fill these positions, happy with his lot as it is.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2011, 03:05:28 PM
Paul Grimley should count as two selectors anyway.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 11:09:51 AM
Ill be backing meath to beat kildare................. kildare are highly overarted imho and the royals love being well and truely written off..................
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 27, 2011, 11:21:46 AM
Oh to be a fly on the Meath bus and training camp. Harnan and Banty were never going to work well together. A seven month itch!

Don't be so hard on Liam. We can all get worked up and do certain things out of frustration, more because we are passionate about something, rather than acting out of self-interest.
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 11:39:21 AM
As far as I understand Thastheball, it seems things came to a head over the question of whether Geraghty is dis-pickable.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2011, 12:56:59 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 11:09:51 AM
Ill be backing meath to beat kildare................. kildare are highly overarted imho and the royals love being well and truely written off..................

Who are these people over-rating Kildare? Killdare people - that would be a negative, pundits - not a hope, sure Wicklow have better forwads according to TSG, journalists - can't think of any!!

So who are these people or is this just typical GAA speak? Where one team is over rated and the underdogs have a point to prove...and nail that to the dressing room wall..
Post by: Declan on May 31, 2011, 01:43:57 PM
Thought O'Rourke's column on Sunday was particularly vicious myself. Two quotes for me stood out:

This one in relation to Giles and Geraghty:
Apparently, Darren Fay was also approached about a return but he was sensible enough to see it was not a runner. If anyone from the previous era was being looked for it should have been Trevor Giles. Last autumn he was one of the best, if not the best, player in the county senior final when Skryne beat Seneschalstown in a dramatic match. No one would complain if he was asked and nobody would be respected more by the current players as he has a touch of class in how he conducts himself.
You'd have thought that O'Rourke would know from his contacts in Skryne that Giles had given up training and playing completely and is in no position to do anything and the not so subtle attack on GG's "character" in the last sentences

This one re the structures:
A bit of planning is badly needed and this is why I have advocated a full-time chief executive who would have the time and vision to give proper direction. This idea is being resisted by the county board executive despite the fact that there is funding available at central level for this purpose. Why this is so is beyond me as it would strengthen their roles rather than weaken them. The sign of good men is always demonstrated by their willingness to bring in people who know more than they do.

Still pitching for this role ???
Post by: Jinxy on May 31, 2011, 01:53:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2011, 12:56:59 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 27, 2011, 11:09:51 AM

Who are these people over-rating Kildare? Killdare people - that would be a negative, pundits - not a hope, sure Wicklow have better forwads according to TSG, journalists - can't think of any!!

So who are these people or is this just typical GAA speak? Where one team is over rated and the underdogs have a point to prove...and nail that to the dressing room wall..

Ye think ye are so great.
Post by: ross matt on May 31, 2011, 03:47:59 PM
Quote from: Declan on May 31, 2011, 01:43:57 PM
Thought O'Rourke's column on Sunday was particularly vicious myself. Two quotes for me stood out:

Apparently, Darren Fay was also approached about a return but he was sensible enough to see it was not a runner. If anyone from the previous era was being looked for it should have been Trevor Giles. Last autumn he was one of the best, if not the best, player in the county senior final when Skryne beat Seneschalstown in a dramatic match. No one would complain if he was asked and nobody would be respected more by the current players as he has a touch of class in how he conducts himself.
You'd have thought that O'Rourke would know from his contacts in Skryne that Giles had given up training and playing completely and is in no position to do anything and the not so subtle attack on GG's "character" in the last sentences

A bit of planning is badly needed and this is why I have advocated a full-time chief executive who would have the time and vision to give proper direction. This idea is being resisted by the county board executive despite the fact that there is funding available at central level for this purpose. Why this is so is beyond me as it would strengthen their roles rather than weaken them. The sign of good men is always demonstrated by their willingness to bring in people who know more than they do.

Yeah Declan. I recall reading the article on Sunday and the "touch of class" reference did seem to be not just praise for Giles but also a put down for Geraghty.
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 31, 2011, 10:33:36 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 31, 2011, 03:47:59 PM

Yeah Declan. I recall reading the article on Sunday and the "touch of class" reference did seem to be not just praise for Giles but also a put down for Geraghty.

would you think it is right to say geraghty had a touch of class?
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on May 31, 2011, 11:58:48 PM
Well most of us (as relative strangers) could only form an opinion of him purely in footballing terms, not as a human being. And what we think would be formed solely by his actions on the pitch, not on a training ground, in a dressing room or in his day to day life. In footballing terms, a flawed genius. I'm sure in Colm's and many other eyes, in addition to been a great footballer, you would also have to be something of a role model for youngsters (on and off the pitch), to have a touch of class.
Post by: ross matt on June 01, 2011, 07:58:30 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 31, 2011, 10:33:36 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 31, 2011, 03:47:59 PM

would you think it is right to say geraghty had a touch of class?

I dont know Myles. Definitely as a player he had skill wise. Not sure about him personally. I'm only saying what I (and Declan) picked up from O'Rourke's comment about Giles.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:22:02 AM
Excellent player but...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/geraghty-axed-for-first-test-after-racist-remark-393016.html
Post by: stephenite on June 01, 2011, 10:58:46 AM
Colm O'Rourke is in no position to making judgements on ANYONE's levels of class.
If it was Sean Boylan that'd be a different matter but then Sean Boylan would have too much ..... class
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 11:09:11 AM
Genius and class are two completely different character traits, though not mutually exclusive.

COR stated "as he has a touch of class in how he conducts himself". And let's face it Colm would have had more dealings with both players that most of us.
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 11:24:32 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:22:02 AM
Excellent player but...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/geraghty-axed-for-first-test-after-racist-remark-393016.html

Maybe you should read Darragh Ó Sé's column today and then reflect on what this contribution says about you.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 03:40:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 11:24:32 AM
Excellent player but...

Maybe you should read Darragh Ó Sé's column today and then reflect on what this contribution says about you.

Just posting what is already in public domain. I didn't write the article. For what its worth id put the article up if it were about a Cavan player.
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 06:26:52 PM
Why did you feel the need to highlight this? And do you honestly think Geraghty is a racist?
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 06:47:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 06:26:52 PM
Why did you feel the need to highlight this? And do you honestly think Geraghty is a racist?

Because the question arose whether he had "class" or not as per colm o rourkes comments. Anyone who goes abroad representing their country and uses that term to a 17 year old certainly has no class as I understand the word. Define rascist? People who call other people derogatory terms based on their skin colour are rascist in my opinion
Post by: agorm on June 01, 2011, 07:00:13 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

I came on here to see some decent debate about the weekend's games, only to read this regurgitated rubbish. You must have plenty of spare time to allow you to search the internet for this article.

I am not surprised this site is going down the tubes if this represents the level of discussion.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 07:17:15 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 01, 2011, 07:00:13 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

I came on here to see some decent debate about the weekend's games, only to read this regurgitated rubbish. You must have plenty of spare time to allow you to search the internet for this article.

I am not surprised this site is going down the tubes if this represents the level of discussion.

Only took me 30 secs to find the article. I remember the incident well so just stuck graham geraghty and rascist into Google. Do you think it is false this report. I seem to remember the Australians took it serious enough to beat the hell out of him the next chance they got. Anyway, sorry for ruining your Gaaboard experience
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 07:33:23 PM
So you decided he was a racist and went looking for corroboration. And you came up with the Irish Independent! Well done.

People like you who, by their own admission, go trawling for negative stuff to sling at others make me want to puke.
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2011, 07:34:36 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 07:17:15 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

Only took me 30 secs to find the article. I remember the incident well so just stuck graham geraghty and rascist into Google. Do you think it is false this report. I seem to remember the Australians took it serious enough to beat the hell out of him the next chance they got. Anyway, sorry for ruining your Gaaboard experience

Yeah they waited for their chance and 7 years later they got him.  ::)
You are pathetic Myles.
Geraghty stupidly made the comment after the Australian lad had illegally taken out Ciaran McManus who had to go off injured as a result.
Graham apologised to the chap after the game and everyone moved on.
Everyone except bitter Cavan men with axes to grind.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 07:46:34 PM
I've played with and against protestants (which sort of an equivalent in Cavan) all my life and no matter what happened I never resorted to language like that. Apology was issued after ozzy media went crazy, was it not. He was removed of the Ireland panel too even with the apology. Class is not a word most sane people would use with geraghty. Hardy, unplug the keyboard carefully, wash with water and leave on a radiator to dry. The Puke is a divil to get out. Jinxy, what's to be bitter about?
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 08:00:44 PM
Not yet- still puking. You had the chance to make a graceful withdrawal but instead chose not only to stick by your sanctimonious hypocrisy but to compound it with a little parable about how you are above this kind of thing as exemplified by your own impeccable behaviour. Puke.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 08:06:25 PM
TBH it was one of the first things that sprang to my mind too (before Myles link), when others were drawing attention to COR's "touch of class" piece, reading in between the lines and wondering about it's possible connotations (at least in relation to where GG's character as a footballer is concerned). It was the last thing COR as Irish team manager needed at the time so is bound to left a bad impression ... "how he conducts himself". I think it would be fair to say that at the time GG was immature and stupid (no more). In the same way Cantona, DiCanio or Zidane were despite their footballing genius. Lets leave it at that as I dare not use other GAA players as examples. Better if the issue was never raised, but I think Myles brought it up in the context of the "class" debate rather than through malice.
Post by: Jinxy on June 01, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 07:46:34 PM
I've played with and against protestants (which sort of an equivalent in Cavan) all my life and no matter what happened I never resorted to language like that. Apology was issued after ozzy media went crazy, was it not. He was removed of the Ireland panel too even with the apology. Class is not a word most sane people would use with geraghty. Hardy, unplug the keyboard carefully, wash with water and leave on a radiator to dry. The Puke is a divil to get out. Jinxy, what's to be bitter about?

He apologised and shook hands straight after the game.
He was taken off the panel because the media here went bananas.
The media in Australia were much more reserved and it wasn't a big deal over there.
Post by: agorm on June 01, 2011, 10:19:00 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

I have better things to be doing with my time like going to work when you were googling Geraghty earlier today and helping to train kids for football final this evening.

I couldnt care less about the report....you seem very interested so you can have whatever opinion you like.

Regarding the Aussies I never really bought into your notion that Geraghty was targeted because of the media stuff. I always thought he was targeted because he was a class player representing his country. Sickeningly, you seem to be trying to excuse their actions.

And, no, you didnt "ruin" my gaaboard experience..........your post after all those years since those happenings in Australia was so patetic it made me laugh.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:33:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 08:00:44 PM
Not yet- still puking. You had the chance to make a graceful withdrawal but instead chose not only to stick by your sanctimonious hypocrisy but to compound it with a little parable about how you are above this kind of thing as exemplified by your own impeccable behaviour. Puke.

I am totally above this kind of thing, most decent people are. As for the puking, I'd ask a doctor to check that out - I'm worried for you.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:41:40 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 01, 2011, 10:19:00 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

I have better things to be doing with my time like going to work when you were googling Geraghty earlier today and helping to train kids for football final this evening.

I couldnt care less about the report....you seem very interested so you can have whatever opinion you like.

Regarding the Aussies I never really bought into your notion that Geraghty was targeted because of the media stuff. I always thought he was targeted because he was a class player representing his country. Sickeningly, you seem to be trying to excuse their actions.

And, no, you didnt "ruin" my gaaboard experience..........your post after all those years since those happenings in Australia was so patetic it made me laugh.

Sometimes at work on a tea break I go on the old HTC and post a comment or two. I suppose if I checked all your posts id find none during working hours? Sorry for taking some time to reply, was training a team there myself, am I not brilliant too. I didn't condone the Australians attacking him, just stated my opinion that they targeted him for revenge. Didn't get the sense from your last post that you were enjoying yourself and having a laugh. You came across very depressed and downbeat.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:44:14 PM
Quote from: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 08:06:25 PM
TBH it was one of the first things that sprang to my mind too (before Myles link), when others were drawing attention to COR's "touch of class" piece, reading in between the lines and wondering about it's possible connotations (at least in relation to where GG's character as a footballer is concerned). It was the last thing COR as Irish team manager needed at the time so is bound to left a bad impression ... "how he conducts himself". I think it would be fair to say that at the time GG was immature and stupid (no more). In the same way Cantona, DiCanio or Zidane were despite their footballing genius. Lets leave it at that as I dare not use other GAA players as examples. Better if the issue was never raised, but I think Myles brought it up in the context of the "class" debate rather than through malice.

Yes you have me 100% on the button there. Some would prefer to label me anti meath based on a bit of friendly slagging on other threads.
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 11:11:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:33:16 PM

I am totally above this kind of thing ...

Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood up and prayed about himself: 'God, I thank you that I am not like other men -- robbers, evildoers, adulterers -- or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.'

But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, 'God, have mercy on me, a sinner.'

I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 11:21:36 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 01, 2011, 11:11:46 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:33:16 PM

I am totally above this kind of thing ...

Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood up and prayed about himself: 'God, I thank you that I am not like other men -- robbers, evildoers, adulterers -- or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.'

But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, 'God, have mercy on me, a sinner.'

I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.

I'm sure the lord will forgive graham geraghty, the question is will he tell him that he had class.  :D
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 01, 2011, 11:46:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxs_ta-Pjcc

If he can do this again, some of us might have to revise our thinking.
Post by: ross matt on June 02, 2011, 07:57:09 AM
Myles the incident when the Australians knocked Geraghty unconscious had nothing to do with the incident years before. Geraghty at lease apologised for the first incident and it was a case of immature verbals rather than anything racist. Should never have been blown up the way it was. In the 2nd incident I dont recall the australians aologising for their "lack of class" and it was a hell of alot more serious than what GG said years before.
Post by: agorm on June 02, 2011, 08:13:13 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 01, 2011, 10:41:40 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 01, 2011, 10:19:00 PM
Excellent player but...

Cheap shot.....

Sometimes at work on a tea break I go on the old HTC and post a comment or two. I suppose if I checked all your posts id find none during working hours? Sorry for taking some time to reply, was training a team there myself, am I not brilliant too. I didn't condone the Australians attacking him, just stated my opinion that they targeted him for revenge. Didn't get the sense from your last post that you were enjoying yourself and having a laugh. You came across very depressed and downbeat.
Nice way to spend your teabreak - then again,considering your juvenile attitudes, you probably dont have much in common with your colleagues.

Regarding your apology for taking time to reply - you replied a full 22 minutes after my post!!! Ha Ha -

Post by: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 12:11:48 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 02, 2011, 07:43:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 12:11:48 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black bastard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would  have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 02, 2011, 08:21:44 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 02, 2011, 07:43:45 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would  have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.

so instead you sneakily mention there is "other stuff" while telling us what a great guy you are by not posting it.

I'm proud to be on your ignore list. I must be doing something right.
Post by: ross matt on June 02, 2011, 08:26:21 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would  have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.

It was me who used that term Myles not Seanie. If it was'nt that then what do you term it? Racism?

If you hit a guy a shoulder at work you'd get the sack also. Since when have work rules anything to do with sport?
From rumours/media plus reservations by Meath greats + C.O.R's inference I imagine GG has some skeletons in his closet. But dragging up an issue from the decade before last is going out of your way to blacken the guy's character. It was a long time ago. He did apologise and he did take his punishment. I dont see what it has to do with the current situation regarding him returning to the Meath panel.
Post by: heffo on June 02, 2011, 08:48:18 PM
I'm surprised at O'Rourke making that last comment about class to be honest - unnecessary and I'm looking forward to hopefully seeing Geraghty sprung from the bench for the last ten minutes Sunday.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 02, 2011, 11:06:42 PM
COR's comments were more a compliment to Giles (using him as an example, had he returned) rather than a direct put down to Geraghty, otherwise why mention the former persons name at all. Maybe he could have used different language to avoid some folk going over his words with a fine tooth comb. It is not as if he said in black and white GG had no class at all. Just that was some people's interpretation when at worst he inferred he was lacking in same.

In today's world anyone who serves the public day in day out would know that there are people with good manners, bad manners and no manners. Just like there are people with class/breeding/good taste; others lacking same i.e. unversed where proper etiquette is concerned while still decent salt of the earth folk; others with no class at all. If someone lacks class it merely makes them ordinary/normal, it doesn't automatically infer they are bad mannered, boorish or uncouth. Saying someone has no class is another story entirely.

Anyway, I think it would be fair to say that GG was (and possibly still is) a fanastic footballer, with fitness levels and athleticism that is freakish / superhuman for his age, while some of his behaviour/antics down the years would lead one to say he is uncultured. What he does or doesn't do on Sunday will not really change that. None of us are perfect and despite his flaws he has given a great many, lots of happy memories down the years. While I think he was slightly selfish to return a few more magical moments would not go amiss.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:25:06 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

Is 3 words all I can string together! What are you - some 7 year old in a playground?!

Pathetic is using a mistake someone made years ago (and apologised for immediately to the satisfaction of the person involved) to label them as lacking class. Maybe I'm more forgiving than you or perhaps you've never made a mistake in your life and are perfect?

That's patehtic enough but your ridiculous suggestion that he was assaulted and knocked out by the Aussies 7 years later because of the same incident is more than pathetic - its a completely scurrilous lie. What's more I think you know it is too which is even sadder.

Like heffo (and many, many others) I really hope GG gets a run on Sunday cos he can be electrifying and that's one of the reasons I watch sport, to see guys who do things us mere mortals can only dream of .
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 02, 2011, 11:35:06 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:25:06 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would  have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even   bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.

Is 3 words all I can string together! What are you - some 7 year old in a playground?!

Pathetic is using a mistake someone made years ago (and apologised for immediately to the satisfaction of the person involved) to label them as lacking class. Maybe I'm more forgiving than you or perhaps you've never made a  mistake in your life and are perfect?

That's patehtic enough but your ridiculous suggestion that he was assaulted and knocked out by the Aussies 7 years later because of the same incident is more than pathetic - its a completely scurrilous lie. What's more I think you know it is too which is even sadder.

Like heffo (and many, many others) I really hope GG gets a run on Sunday cos he can be electrifying and that's one of the reasons I watch sport, to see guys who do things us mere mortals can only dream of .

Seanie the sports lover? Your the same guy that has such a chip on the shoulder over local soccer when you said you couldn't care less about your local soccer team being in a cup final last year, even when same soccer team honoured sligo when they won Connaught. Man utd plc are ok though.  I won't be taking lectures from the likes of you.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:49:02 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 02, 2011, 11:35:06 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:25:06 PM
Pathetic stuff Myles.

What's pathetic seanie or is 3 words all you can string together. Apparently calling someone a black b**tard is immature verbals now. If you said that at work to someone you would get the sack. Geraghty was 25 in 99, most people would  have a bit of sense at that age. The other guy was 17. I haven't even   bothered to post all the other stuff he did either. Colm o rourke is dead right.

Pathetic is using a mistake someone made years ago (and apologised for immediately to the satisfaction of the person involved) to label them as lacking class. Maybe I'm more forgiving than you or perhaps you've never made a  mistake in your life and are perfect?

Seanie the sports lover? Your the same guy that has such a chip on the shoulder over local soccer when you said you couldn't care less about your local soccer team being in a cup final last year, even when same soccer team honoured sligo when they won Connaught. Man utd plc are ok though.  I won't be taking lectures from the likes of you.

Shows the bankruptcy of your argument when you have to change the subject. For the record I play for and support my two local soccer clubs. I was a decent basketball player in my day and watch practially every sport bar horse racing and motorsports. Sligo Rovers mean nothing to me. As for them "honouring" the Connacht champions - anyone with half a brain knows that was just a ploy to get more people through the turnstiles to pay the wages. Enjoy supporting them yourself and anyone else who does but its not for me.

And I wasn't lecturing. I was merely expanding on my initial post at your request. If you didn't want more than my 3 words you shouldn't have asked is that all I could string together then should you? "The likes of you" - you haven't the first idea what kind of person I am but obviously I lack this "class" you are the expert on.
Post by: Hardy on June 03, 2011, 08:12:44 AM
It's hugely ironic that Myles should pontificate about alleged racism and set himself forth as a paragon of sportsmanship given that his sporting hero, as proudly proclaimed here some time ago, is a nazi-saluting professional soccer player with some English club.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 03, 2011, 09:16:54 AM
From jousting with him in other threads I have long suspected Mylestheslasher of having questionable sympathies...........so his support for Nazi saluting soccer players comes as no surprise to me.
Post by: Bingo on June 03, 2011, 09:38:14 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 02, 2011, 11:49:02 PM
Shows the bankruptcy of your argument when you have to change the subject. For the record I play for and support my two local soccer clubs. I was a decent basketball player in my day and watch practially every sport bar horse racing and motorsports. Sligo Rovers mean nothing to me. As for them "honouring" the Connacht champions - anyone with half a brain knows that was just a ploy to get more people through the turnstiles to pay the wages. Enjoy supporting them yourself and anyone else who does but its not for me.

Excuse me if I'm sidetracking the argument (which I agree with you on by the way) but what is wrong with this. No harm in a bit of marketing and I'm sure some involved would have genuine appreciation of what Sligo had achieved. Its nothing to come of the stunts that Premiership teams use to pay the wages. I find that a strange stick to beat them with.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 03, 2011, 10:47:46 AM
jayz lads, no point in fighting over it.
GG was a bit of a boyo in his younger days - most of us were to certain extents.
Myles is a bit of a ballix  ;), but its nothing we didnt already know.
I think he is highlghting what O'rourke was hinting at to be fair.
I'd take more issue with O'rourke's comments lacking the same class that he is hinting at GG not having !

anyhow, I didnt like the hoor when he was playing against us, though apart from one or two lads, I dispised the entire senchalstown team !
They were fecking good though !
get over it lads.
Really looking forwad to sundays game now. raging hot cosmic favourties kildare will undoubtedly win by at least 25 points !!
Post by: Declan on June 03, 2011, 11:31:23 AM
Interesting piece from Canavan on the Meath saga today. He even manages to throw in last years Leinster Final!!!

Canavan: Geraghty gamble could cost Banty job
By Brendan O'Brien

Friday, June 03, 2011

PETER CANAVAN has warned that Seamus McEnaney "could pay the ultimate price" if Meath lose to Kildare on Sunday as a consequence of his decision to recall the 38-year-old Graham Geraghty to the Royals panel.

Meath's preparations were shaken by the decision of McEnaney's two Meath-born selectors, Liam Harnan and Barry Callaghan, to stand down after the SOS was sent to the 1999 All-Ireland winning captain.

Much has been made of Geraghty's age but Canavan, who was three years younger when he retired, believes there are other, more pertinent issues raised by recent events.

"The alarming bit is that people in Meath would tell you that he isn't playing that well and that he hasn't been standing out — and that is at an intermediate club — that there are maybe more established players like Trevor Giles who are playing at a higher standard.

"It isn't so much the age thing but the fact that (McEnaney) has gone against the inside men in the county who have been watching Geraghty and know exactly what Geraghty is doing. That has been the strangest aspect to the decision.

"It is a serious gamble and one that, if Meath don't win on Sunday, he could pay the ultimate price."

As Canavan added, McEnaney has been no stranger to controversial decisions and thrust full-back Darren Hughes between the sticks against Armagh before his reserve keeper.

That paid off for 'Banty' as Monaghan trounced Armagh and Fermanagh with Hughes in goal before turning to a more conventional choice for the provincial decider, which they lost convincingly to Tyrone.

The recent decision to bring Geraghty back into the fold is almost as bizarre given the quality forwards Meath have at their disposal but Canavan believes the late call-up exposes a more worrying shortcoming in the squad's DNA.

"I think it all comes back to the decision of the Meath players last summer not to offer Louth a replay because that was a decision that should have been made by the players. They should have insisted that a replay be offered as there was no doubt as to who deserved to win the Leinster title.

"The players as a group showed a serious lack of leadership at that stage and they have been paying the price ever since. The fact that Seamus McEnaney feels the need to bring in a past All-Ireland winning captain like Geraghty into the squad would be a further indication that there is a lack of leadership within the squad and he is not happy with that."

Leadership is definitely not something his own county lack. While Monaghan have lost a rump of players from the panel at the one time this season, Canavan admits such a wholesale and painful transition will eventually face Tyrone.

"That's a problem that lies ahead but not this year. That is something that is going to happen in the next few years because there are so many of them that have come through at the same time and they are of the same age group but at the minute they are all pushing, and pushing hard.

"The team is going to be completely reinvigorated down the line. There is going to be a clearout of the older players and they will have to land a number of younger players in the limelight.

"It is inevitable that is going to happen but I don't think it is going to happen for a year or two."

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/canavan-geraghty-gamble-could-cost-banty-job-156687.html#ixzz1OCvzQlRi
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 03, 2011, 11:34:02 AM
Maybe some people here like to have a go at COR purely because of the team he was a part of. Over think what he stated and then try to knock him at the same time.

What he more or less said was than one player had an impeccable track record as a player and played football up until quite recently (at senior club level; TG was the playmaker, Harnan the manager of a most impressive and successful Skryne outfit in the county final) and because of this he was more worthy of inclusion had the issue ever arisen, even though he himself feels when you reach a certain stage it is better not to make a comeback. So this type of player was a role model of unimpeachable character, when someone else namely GG with a poor disciplinary record (bad boy image if you like) was a retrograde step as he lacked the type of class that would make a return more acceptable to up and coming players already part of the panel.

COR is a softly spoken, good natured, easy going type of person, who any "right thinking" person can see on The Sunday Game doesn't go in for sensationalism or overly harsh criticism. Occasionally you have to shoot from the hip as using ambiguous language will nullify the fundamental point your trying to make. As a journalist or analyst that is his job/role.
Post by: heffo on June 03, 2011, 11:50:56 AM
I can't agree with Canavan saying that Meath players should've offered Louth a replay and that it was a lack of leadership when they didn't.

They should never have been put in that position and the CCCC fudged the issue - they had the option of not adopting the ref's report but bottled it.

Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 03, 2011, 12:00:58 PM
I think the players should have offered a replay in principle but yes it was up to the powers that be to put it into action. Both parties failed but ultimately, it is not the players responsibility to police/enforce (for want of better words) the proper or smooth running of the Leinster or All-Ireland Championships.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 03, 2011, 12:26:44 PM
Maybe Geraghty does indeed lack 'class' and he could well be a racist to boot.
But it would take more than the incident in Oz in '99 to convince me of either.
For me, it was a case of Political Correctness gone mad when the story broke in the Irish media.
I had to wade through a mountain of moral indignation and hypocritical craw thumping to find an account of an interview given to a local paper by Cupido after the game.
The Sunday Indo carried the account I saw and it was stuck in on page 3 or 4—well away from the sports section. In it Cupido was reported as saying that he went into the tackle 'low, hard and dirty.' He was under instructions to take Geraghty out of the game and whoever else he could get at.
He said he wasn't put out in the slightest by Geraghty's reaction; such abuse was commonplace over there and he knew Geraghty's comment was an instinctive reaction to his tackle.
I couldn't see it being otherwise. I could see no racist motive in what the Meath man said. He had just been flattened in an illegal manner and was trying to pick himself up and hadn't the time or composure to come out with a politically correct expression of his feelings.
Now, if he had walked up to Cupido after the game and used the same language, I'd have no sympathy for him.
Cupido's action was premeditated and designed to maim the Irish player; he had gone into the game with the deliberate intention of doing this. Geraghty's reaction was instinctive and he passed this remark while he was trying to regain his composure and sort out his arse from his elbow in a manner of speaking.
IMO, the moralistic campaign in some section of the media back home made no attempt to give a balanced account of what happened.
Geraghty may well be guilty of lots of things  but I wouldn't indict him on a charge of racism in this instance.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 03, 2011, 12:35:45 PM
Reading Peter Canavan's article the whole GG business reminds me of Eriksson bringing Walcott to a world cup finals (granted before rather than after his time) and for reasons not entirely related to football. My interpretation of Banty's actions and motives for doing so will have to wait, for the moment at least. Two days before our eagerly awaited match with Kildare is not the time to stir things up.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2011, 12:46:09 PM
Canavan seems slightly bitter for some reason.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 03, 2011, 12:52:47 PM
I hope he has a stormer if he plays . Christ the modern day intercounty footballer has to put up with a load of shite
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 03, 2011, 02:29:23 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 03, 2011, 11:50:56 AM
I can't agree with Canavan saying that Meath players should've offered Louth a replay and that it was a lack of leadership when they didn't.

They should never have been put in that position and the CCCC fudged the issue - they had the option of not adopting the ref's report but bottled it.

I dunno heffo, I think Canavan got it pretty much spot on there for me. There seems to be a lack of leadership on the current Eastmeath team and I fell that if there was men like Lyons, McDermott, O'Connell, etc. they'd actually have wanted to replay the match and show Louth who was boss. Major flaws were shown up in their game in the Leinster Final last year and offering a replay would have offered them a chance to rectify those, as well as showing Louth who was boss. And as it turned out they were cannon fodder for Kildare in the quarter final. I agree that the CCCC fudged the issue though. Looking forward to Sunday's encounter, would like to see what O'Connor is like in midfield as I feel he's the Kildare version of Eoghan O'Gara in the ff line.
Post by: ross matt on June 03, 2011, 02:38:05 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 03, 2011, 12:26:44 PM
For me, it was a case of Political Correctness gone mad when the story broke in the Irish media.
I had to wade through a mountain of moral indignation and hypocritical craw thumping to find an account of an interview given to a local paper by Cupido after the game.
The Sunday Indo carried the account I saw and it was stuck in on page 3 or 4—well away from the sports section. In it Cupido was reported as saying that he went into the tackle 'low, hard and dirty.' He was under instructions to take Geraghty out of the game and whoever else he could get at.
He said he wasn't put out in the slightest by Geraghty's reaction; such abuse was commonplace over there and he knew Geraghty's comment was an instinctive reaction to his tackle.
I couldn't see it being otherwise. I could see no racist motive in what the Meath man said. He had just been flattened in an illegal manner and was trying to pick himself up and hadn't the time or composure to come out with a politically correct expression of his feelings.
Now, if he had walked up to Cupido after the game and used the same language, I'd have no sympathy for him.
Cupido's action was premeditated and designed to maim the Irish player; he had gone into the game with the deliberate intention of doing this. Geraghty's reaction was instinctive and he passed this remark while he was trying to regain his composure and sort out his arse from his elbow in a manner of speaking.
IMO, the moralistic campaign in some section of the media back home made no attempt to give a balanced account of what happened.
Geraghty may well be guilty of lots of things  but I wouldn't indict him on a charge of racism in this instance.

Intelligent post Lar.
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on June 03, 2011, 03:03:47 PM
I think it is easy to say there is a lack of leadership in the team when you are comparing the current crop to the 87/88/96/99 teams who were awash with inspirational figures. Very few if any counties could produce teams decade after decade with such an array of players with major leadership qualities. They were golden eras at least where Meath is concerned. But I do accept that having one or two players who others could look to for inspiration and leadership was lacking. The 2010 team (Nigel Crawford and Anthony Moyles apart) were/are still an up and coming relatively young team that had not won any major honours beforehand, so to expect them to show the kind of maturity that only comes towards the end of a long successful career and through experience is expecting too much. The Leinster title of 2010 has become something of a poisoned chalice, but certain people bringing it up again in the media so close to the start of the 2011 season, is both unhelpful and routed in sour grapes from the distant past.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 03, 2011, 08:13:22 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 03, 2011, 08:12:44 AM
It's hugely ironic that Myles should pontificate about alleged racism and set himself forth as a paragon of sportsmanship given that his sporting hero, as proudly proclaimed here some time ago, is a nazi-saluting professional soccer player with some English club.

You should be a politician for spinning that episode like that. I gave Di Canio catching the ball instead of scoring a goal as an example of good sportsmanship. You or someone else then showed a picture of him doing a nazi salute - something I did not know about. I immediately condemned that action and I can tell you Di Canio went to the bottom of my admired soccer player list, just like any other person who acts like a rascist. I am consistent on this unlike yourself.

However, what is Ironic is that when I point out an act from Geraghtys past I am labelled as pathetic by you, you tell me my doing this makes you puke etc. Yet, there was no problem digging up nazi salutes from Di Canios past to blacken his name? That is ironic my Meath friend - thanks for reminding me.

In closing, as I am sure you would all rather talk about the game on Sunday, I summarise my position. Meath footballing legend Colm O Rourke implied Geraghty was lacking class. A lot of people disagreed, I didn't and put forward a report from a national paper outlining how he racially abused a 17 year old Australian player whille on duty for his country. Colm O Rourke was the manager of that team and he sent him home for his act.

I am labelled pathetic, bitter and unbelievably a Nazi (all be it by an idiot who doesn't know what a Nazi is). Colm O Rourke on the other hand, well I suppose he is just wrong. Peter Canavan is also bitter too I see although over what exactly I don't know!

Hope its a good game on Sunday anyway, I will watch with interest.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2011, 09:02:11 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 03, 2011, 08:13:22 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 03, 2011, 08:12:44 AM

You should be a politician for spinning that episode like that. I gave Di Canio catching the ball instead of scoring a goal as an example of good sportsmanship. You or someone else then showed a picture of him doing a nazi salute - something I did not know about. I immediately condemned that action and I can tell you Di Canio went to the bottom of my admired soccer player list, just like any other person who acts like a rascist. I am consistent on this unlike yourself.

However, what is Ironic is that when I point out an act from Geraghtys past I am labelled as pathetic by you, you tell me my doing this makes you puke etc. Yet, there was no problem digging up nazi salutes from Di Canios past to blacken his name? That is ironic my Meath friend - thanks for reminding me.

In closing, as I am sure you would all rather talk about the game on Sunday, I summarise my position. Meath footballing legend Colm O Rourke implied Geraghty was lacking class. A lot of people disagreed, I didn't and put forward a report from a national paper outlining how he racially abused a 17 year old Australian player whille on duty for his country. Colm O Rourke was the manager of that team and he sent him home for his act.

I am labelled pathetic, bitter and unbelievably a Nazi (all be it by an idiot who doesn't know what a Nazi is). Colm O Rourke on the other hand, well I suppose he is just wrong. Peter Canavan is also bitter too I see although over what exactly I don't know!

Hope its a good game on Sunday anyway, I will watch with interest.

Myles, it is abundantly clear that you know next to nothing about the incident in question so either go away and learn the facts or just be quiet.
Post by: rrhf on June 04, 2011, 12:14:14 AM
O rourke made an awful poor comment which I hope he regrets
Post by: Main Street on June 04, 2011, 01:01:32 AM
I don't know why Myles is butting in.
No one with any sense  would turn up to a mudslinging fight in Meath with a few pebble sized pieces.

Post by: Hardy on June 04, 2011, 08:36:50 AM
Myles, you don't seem to have the sense you were born with. If you're going to construct a complicated defence, at least take the basics step of checking the facts that it relies on. Your narrative of the GG "incident" in Australia is so wrong it's funny.

My mention of your soccer star gaffe was simply to suggest that you might have learned a lesson about judging people, either to elevate or denigrate them, when you don't know the facts. But that seems to have gone swooshing over your head too. Nobody thinks you're a nazi, any more than anyone with the sense they were born with thinks GG is a racist.
Post by: thebuzz on June 04, 2011, 09:35:22 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 03, 2011, 12:26:44 PM

As you say if he had said it without any provocation it would have been a totally racist remark.
In the circumstances he didn't have time to think about it and was probably hurt.
We all say a lot of things in the heat of battle.
The fact that Cupido didn't see it as a racist remark is also interesting.
Post by: Declan on January 06, 2012, 01:18:34 PM
Meath manager Seamus McEnaney has confirmed that Graham Geraghty will look to return to the playing field for the Royal County in 2012, in addition to his role as a selector for the team.

McEnaney, speaking to RTÉ's Gaelic Games correspondent Brian Carthy, confirmed that there will be a playing role for the two-time All-Ireland winner, who will be 39 in May. McEnaney also confirmed that Geraghty has recently returned to training.

Geraghty retired from inter-county football in 2008, but returned to the panel last summer for Meath's Championship game against Kildare, during which he had a goal disallowed in controversial circumstances.

A subsequent Achilles tendon injury ruled him out of the remainder of Meath's campaign, but McEnaney believes that the Seneschalstown clubman has more to offer.

McEnaney said: "Graham joined my backroom team as a selector, and he is now back in full training for the last few weeks.

"He played ten or 15 minutes in a game last Tuesday night but, although he is back in full training, he is not at full fitness. That will take a while.

"He certainly has a role to play on the field as well as his role as a selector.

"Graham Geraghty is a fantastic footballer, and he has a contribution to make to this Meath team both as a player and as a selector, and I have no doubt he will be able to contribute in both roles.'
Post by: intheknowhow on January 06, 2012, 02:31:07 PM
Ye what is the story here? Geraghty was a fantastic play back in the day but does Banty really feel he can contribute on the pitch? Like tbh in recent years the game has become more fitness orientated and at 37 i think the best you can hope for his 10 minutes at max. Even at that will he be sharp enough or aware to get that vital score Meath need??
Post by: rrhf on January 06, 2012, 03:30:53 PM
Is he the best meath have to offer?
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2012, 03:31:25 PM
More importantly are the umpires and referees sharp and aware enough to keep up with his brilliance instead of disallowing his flashes of genius?
Post by: Jinxy on January 06, 2012, 04:06:20 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 06, 2012, 03:30:53 PM
Is he the best meath have to offer?

I sense your fear.
Post by: rrhf on January 07, 2012, 11:38:30 PM

I grew up afraid of meath I now pity them.  This I feel will be a trainwreck year :D
Post by: ONeill on January 07, 2012, 11:39:28 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 07, 2012, 11:38:30 PM

I grew up afraid of meath I now pity them.  This I feel will be a trainwreck year :D

They'll still bate us though.
Post by: Angelo on October 29, 2020, 01:26:43 PM
Just saw the news on Graham Geraghty.

Hope he pulls through and makes a full recovery.
Post by: oliverkelly on October 29, 2020, 01:33:48 PM
Quote from: Angelo on October 29, 2020, 01:26:43 PM
Just saw the news on Graham Geraghty.

Hope he pulls through and makes a full recovery.
[/quote

Shocking news. hopefully he makes a full recovery
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 29, 2020, 01:37:33 PM
Best wishes Graham.
Post by: BennyCake on October 29, 2020, 01:58:45 PM
Any idea what is wrong?

Hope he makes a full recovery whatever it is.
Post by: Rossfan on October 29, 2020, 03:51:09 PM
Beaumount usually means head/brain.
Hope he comes though ok.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 29, 2020, 04:12:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 29, 2020, 03:51:09 PM
Beaumount usually means head/brain.
Hope he comes though ok.

Hadn't heard which hospital. Fingers crossed for a full recovery for him.
Post by: Taylor on October 29, 2020, 04:33:02 PM
Superb talent - used to love watching him.

Prayers he comes through ok
Post by: Blowitupref on October 29, 2020, 06:09:20 PM
Good news.

https://mobile.twitter.com/clann_na/status/1321852999753453568
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 29, 2020, 11:56:20 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 29, 2020, 06:09:20 PM
Good news.

https://mobile.twitter.com/clann_na/status/1321852999753453568
Hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.