Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on April 09, 2018, 06:26:27 PM

Title: Good Friday Agreement 20 years old tomorrow
Post by: Rossfan on April 09, 2018, 06:26:27 PM
Signed on 10th April 1998.
Thoughts?
Not perfect but better than the previous 30/76 years.
Title: Re: Good Friday Agreement 20 years old tomorrow
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 09, 2018, 06:28:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 09, 2018, 06:26:27 PM
Signed on 10th April 1998.
Thoughts?
Not perfect but better than the previous 30/76 years.
Feels like yesterday i am getting old.
Post by: full moon on April 09, 2018, 06:37:05 PM
I enjoyed Patrick Kieltys documentary on it on BBC worth a watch. The big difference is there is not the level of violence but there has been no truth and reconciliation, victims and families no answers and the division still there.

Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2018, 06:47:52 PM
The South benefited more from it than the North because the end of violence advantaged the entity with the power to leverage the effect. NI is still economically disadvantaged.
Post by: TabClear on April 10, 2018, 08:38:13 AM
There was an interesting comparison on the GFA getting signed and the current impasse at Stormont debated on the radio yesterday. I think they had one of Tony Blair's advisers from the original deal on. His view was that in the GFA they had to deal with much tougher, divisive issues like prisoner release etc. Because the stakes were so high all the major players, who had been steeped in the harsh realities of the troubles and who's personal histories were well known (and gave them credibility to an extent to the hardliners on both sides), knew compromises had to be made and so deals were done. He contrasted this to today's politicans who in general have probably lived a large portion of their adult lives in relative peace. And as such they are unwilling to compromise on what would be perceived as smaller issues like the Irish language act, historic inquiry etc. Not sure I totally agree but what was clear is that if the shower of fcukwits we have in office  now had been there 20 years ago God knows what would have happened.

Post by: Dire Ear on April 10, 2018, 09:05:05 AM
Nationalists have moved on a bit and are more open;  unionists haven't and aren't.
Post by: haranguerer on April 10, 2018, 09:32:43 AM
The narrative being peddled (largely by unionists) that its not great is absolute crap.

This place is unrecognisable from that 20 years ago, the GFA has been great. There are still issues in our society, but that's to be expected, especially given the history, and we're going in the right direction

Post by: trailer on April 10, 2018, 09:43:17 AM
There has certainly been a huge change from 20 years ago, and the peaceful society we now live in is something to be celebrated. In a weird way I feel Unionism as in the parties perhaps do hark back for an old NI of majority rule, but I have to say ordinary everyday unionists (protestants) don't seem to. Nats and Unionists work together, do business with each other and socialise with each other. This is some change from say 30-40 years ago.
There is room for everyone and all traditions in NI and even in new Ireland.
Some people - on both sides - do have an old entrenched view, but this is slowly being eroded thankfully.

We should all be thankful for people like John Hume who's vision made it possible.

As a footnote, I am disappointed that 20 years on we don't have an assembly and that decisions affecting us here are not been taken locally by locally elected politicians.
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2018, 09:55:24 AM
Stop their pay until an Executive is re established and the Assembly is up and running.
Post by: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 10:18:06 AM
What has the nationalist side really gained from the GFA
- We are still being dictated to by protestants in our own land
- We have loyalist terror groups acting freely and receiving large sums of money through bullshit community groups
  (can be said for both sides)
- We have politicians lining their own coffers and doing nothing for us (Both sides)
- We have no GAA stadium at the maze
- We have no GAA stadium at casement park
- Windsor park got developed even with a major fcuk up by the contractor which put lives at risk (never has been
  mentioned since)
- We have no Irish language act
- The south gave up it rights on the North
- We have no A5 dual carriageway between Derry & Auchnacloy. 10+ lives have been lost on this stretch of road since
   the GFA was signed
- We have seen very little investment in the west of the province in general
- We are still living a poorer standard of life compared to the rest of the UK and Ireland

The major outcome of the GFA was to get the gun out of politics and it has done that but in doing so it has not brought about the changes that i thought it would but in fact has left this place hanging over a cliff edge and brexit might be the push that will see us go over.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2018, 10:59:20 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 10:18:06 AM
- We have loyalist terror groups acting freely and receiving large sums of money through bullshit community groups
- We have politicians lining their own coffers and doing nothing for us (Both sides)
- Windsor park got developed even with a major fcuk up by the contractor which put lives at risk (never has been
  mentioned since)
- We have no A5 dual carriageway between Derry & Auchnacloy. 10+ lives have been lost on this stretch of road since
   the GFA was signed
- We are still living a poorer standard of life compared to the rest of the UK and Ireland

The major outcome of the GFA was to get the gun out of politics and it has done that but in doing so it has not brought about the changes that i thought it would but in fact has left this place hanging over a cliff edge and brexit might be the push that will see us go over.

Where you around during the 70's? maybe even the 80's? I for one can see massive changes to the Belfast I grew up in..

No army foot patrols
no house raids
no one going into the local pub to murder people as they have a pint
the bombing has stopped along with the random daily bomb scares which stopped Belfast traffic for hours and hours
no more checking you bags as you went into shops in town and police are not locking up the town centre at night..

Belfast city centre bars and restaurants are packed out
the city is building hotels instead of blowing them up
we've a booming tourism trade going on with cruise liners coming in with people from all over the world
we are also presenting big sporting/music events in Belfast, that never happened, as during the 'war' the big names never came, in fact rugby teams didn't even come here for a period..

I could go on, yes there may not be a Irish language act, there is still intrench views the government isn't really working out..
Politicians have been lining their pockets for years so don't get me started on that and long before any problems were here
Infrastructure is better, roads have been improved, very slowly compared to the south but its getting there..

The south gave up on us years ago, again don't get me started on that one..
Terror groups are lining their pockets? shocker, Its a hundred times better than going into every local business and demanding money off them or they will burn down their shop..
poorer standard of living, yes, but it's a hundred times better than the standard that I seen growing up..

A lot of negatives for sure but by Christ I'm glad my kids are growing up in a place that is not even close to the times I grew up
Its not a perfect peace, and there are a lot of things to iron out as they say, but personally I'm happy to live here now than I was say 25 years ago
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2018, 11:00:01 AM
Quote- We have politicians lining their own coffers and doing nothing for us (Both sides)

We have no GAA stadium at casement park

These are not entirely the fault of the GFA. The GAA in particular is significantly responsible for the c**k up at Casement
Post by: Rossfan on April 10, 2018, 11:15:13 AM
Any country anywhere where politicians aren't looking after their coffers?
Post by: Orior on April 10, 2018, 11:16:43 AM
The GFA is a good and right for the occupied six.

The problem is with the politicians/leaders whose job it is to continue to abide by it - that means the majority of unionists and republican dissidents.
Post by: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 11:18:26 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 10, 2018, 11:00:01 AM
Quote- We have politicians lining their own coffers and doing nothing for us (Both sides)

These are not entirely the fault of the GFA. The GAA in particular is significantly responsible for the c**k up at Casement

I can guarantee you its a policy with the unionists that no new GAA Stadium will be built in Belfast and also that no road will link Derry with the south of Ireland
Post by: angermanagement on April 10, 2018, 11:22:48 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 11:18:26 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 10, 2018, 11:00:01 AM

I can guarantee you its a policy with the unionists that no new GAA Stadium will be built in Belfast and also that no road will link Derry with the south of Ireland

Complete Bollix. The only people to blame for Casement not been built is the GAA.  If they would've built a stadium to suit the site it would've been built by now.
Post by: seafoid on April 10, 2018, 11:25:14 AM
The GFA is only as good as the people who run the system. In that respect it is lke the US Constitution. Which was not designed for Trump. The GFA was not designed for a polarised DUP/SF setup where the DUP obstruct almost everything.
Brexit is a huge threat hanging over NI and the Executive is stuck on the Irish Language Act.
Post by: bogball88 on April 10, 2018, 11:52:14 AM
I see some board members have been interviewed by the Belfast Telegraph giving their views of the day of the vote. Ryan Feeney formerly of the Ulster Council as well actually
Post by: Orior on April 10, 2018, 01:52:25 PM
Yes, please remove post.
Post by: trailer on April 10, 2018, 04:38:55 PM
  mentioned since)
   the GFA was signed

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qc7HmhrgTuQ
Post by: dec on April 10, 2018, 04:46:19 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 10:18:06 AM- We are still being dictated to by protestants in our own land

It's their own land as well
Post by: red hander on April 10, 2018, 05:26:33 PM
Quote from: dec on April 10, 2018, 04:46:19 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on April 10, 2018, 10:18:06 AM- We are still being dictated to by protestants in our own land

Theft will never equate to ownership
Post by: dec on April 10, 2018, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 10, 2018, 05:26:33 PM

And this attitude explains why they will never want a united Ireland.
Post by: larryin89 on April 10, 2018, 05:42:07 PM
"
We should all be thankful for people like John Hume who's vision made it possible"

I always find it rather odd when people single out Hume  . Do you really believe that he was  one of the major players , what risks did Hume take ? Who did he personally  persuade ?
Post by: red hander on April 10, 2018, 07:13:48 PM
Quote from: dec on April 10, 2018, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 10, 2018, 05:26:33 PM

And this attitude explains why they will never want a united Ireland.

Doesn't matter whether they want it or not, 50+1 they're going to get it. So why don't they sit down with the rest of us and finally treat us as equals, they might be surprised by the outcome
Post by: imtommygunn on April 10, 2018, 07:38:10 PM
It doesn't sound like you treat them as equals...
Post by: tonto1888 on April 10, 2018, 07:42:06 PM
  mentioned since)
   the GFA was signed

I was 17 when it was signed. Had it not been signed and things went the au they had for the previous 30 years, I and many more like me, may well be dead or in prison. That's some of what it has given us
Post by: imtommygunn on April 10, 2018, 08:00:18 PM
Or some of us would have left the country too.

It has been exploited by politicians, on both sides, to line their own pockets but without it where would we be?

There is an irony to people like that vile woman pengelly complaining about it letting terrorists out when her father was one.

It is hard to know where we go from here mind you. With the current incumbents we go nowhere and need to vote them out but when that happens who knows.
Post by: Gmac on April 10, 2018, 08:10:32 PM
Remember being in a pub in New York on the day the agreement was reached and there was a guy from Armagh there who was well on it and was going on about we have peace we have peace and some cockney lad in the bar says to him what u on about mate a piece of arse I'd say he never heard of NI
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 10, 2018, 09:58:54 PM
I'd like to have seen more progress on what I call the de-segregation of society. We still have kids growing up separately because of the segregated education system, and any time I bring it up all I get is the usual bullsh*t about how "Catholic schools teach kids to respect people of different faiths." If kids are growing up separately and not coming into contact with or forming meaningful friendships and relationships with "themuns" until they're old enough to reach the workplace then this sense of two distinct communities is going to remain in place. As long as that segregation exists the problem exists.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 10, 2018, 10:24:26 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 10, 2018, 05:42:07 PM
"
We should all be thankful for people like John Hume who's vision made it possible"

I always find it rather odd when people single out Hume  . Do you really believe that he was  one of the major players , what risks did Hume take ? Who did he personally  persuade ?

He basically destroyed his own party by talking to SF and eventually helping to bring them into mainstream politics. He didn't do it alone but he played a major role.

The GFA was some achievement. Yes - we'd all like things to have improved more but at times I didn't know how we'd even get any sort of peace. Let's be thankful for that.
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2018, 10:26:21 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 10, 2018, 09:58:54 PM
I'd like to have seen more progress on what I call the de-segregation of society. We still have kids growing up separately because of the segregated education system, and any time I bring it up all I get is the usual bullsh*t about how "Catholic schools teach kids to respect people of different faiths." If kids are growing up separately and not coming into contact with or forming meaningful friendships and relationships with "themuns" until they're old enough to reach the workplace then this sense of two distinct communities is going to remain in place. As long as that segregation exists the problem exists.

Where would you find a themmun in Cross?
Post by: Franko on April 11, 2018, 07:47:14 AM

Post by: MoChara on April 11, 2018, 08:39:01 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 10, 2018, 10:26:21 PM

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1615000/images/_1618555_frazer150.jpg)
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2018, 10:37:00 AM
Quote from: MoChara on April 11, 2018, 08:39:01 AM

Duck!
Post by: ziggysego on April 11, 2018, 03:17:35 PM

What'd ye say ya slabber?
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2018, 04:57:33 PM

Did Willie even go to school?
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2018, 10:57:26 PM
I've come across this Top Table show for the first. It's amazingly terrible. On a positive note, it looks like it's about to give Jim Allister a heart attack.
Post by: Taylor on April 11, 2018, 11:21:43 PM
Terrible show.
They young ones are no better than what came before them if this is future representatives.

Bertie looks like he will sink the head in Jim at any given time  ;D

Jim is a pure **** by the way. Twisted little p***k
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2018, 11:25:22 PM
Ruth here sounds like she's taken an elocution lesson or two just before she went on the show but is just a hysterical mess. Young shinnerbot a few seats down from her isn't great either in fairness.
Post by: theskull1 on April 11, 2018, 11:28:48 PM
It'll take 60 or 70 years if we're lucky
Post by: Taylor on April 11, 2018, 11:31:11 PM
Shinnerbot  ;D ;D ;D
He was a little tongue twisted when asked about justifiable violence however he went back to the party line.

Baby Arlene beside him isn't much better
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2018, 11:33:50 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 11, 2018, 11:31:11 PM
Shinnerbot  ;D ;D ;D
He was a little tongue twisted when asked about justifiable violence however he went back to the party line.

He's been fairly caught out with his profession of same sex marriage as a key principle for SF and the way it was dropped from the draft proposals. "Such is the way of politics"
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 11, 2018, 11:38:01 PM
A top table full of wee brainwashed shites.
And little shinner block head is an embarrassment.
And I thought the youth of today could think for themselves.
Naomi long only person ever talks sense on these shows.
Post by: Taylor on April 11, 2018, 11:38:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 11, 2018, 11:33:50 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 11, 2018, 11:31:11 PM
Shinnerbot  ;D ;D ;D

He's been fairly caught out with his profession of same sex marriage as a key principle for SF and the way it was dropped from the draft proposals. "Such is the way of politics"

He has been well schooled by the relatives before he came on.

It's a pure f**king mess.

The future will be no better than the present given this bunch
Post by: Rich Ricci on April 12, 2018, 12:15:32 AM
Jim Allister is a bitter little man. Don't understand why Nolan continues to invite him on show after show. I've never heard him make any sort of positive contribution or suggestion.

Jamie Bryson another example of a top class tw*t continuously asked back.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 12, 2018, 01:00:02 AM
Nolan survives on people like that! He got no interest in northern ireland; only his bank balance and ratings@ divisions equals ratings! Everybody getting along and been happy campers brings no ratings@