Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on July 06, 2022, 04:33:35 PM

Title: Tour de France 2022
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2022, 04:33:35 PM
Enjoyed that stage today. More pebbles I say.
Title: Re: Tour de France 2022
Post by: oakleaflad on July 06, 2022, 04:40:19 PM
Cobbles caused chaos. Pogacar looks so strong again. If he stays on the bike he has to be a massive favorite. Roglic's Tour could be over already, hard to see him making that time up.
Post by: markl121 on July 06, 2022, 04:59:35 PM
Pog is a joke. Im not having the calls to reduce or ban cobble stages, at the end of the day the best rider in the world on all terrain took time on all his rivals yet again with zero team support. At least Jonas isn't totally gone so the rest of the race might have some excitement
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2022, 09:16:16 PM
Hoping to be able to watch riders come through a little town in the Alps on 12 July (St Gervais - Le Fayet).

Worth wearing a Tyrone jersey to be seen on TV? 
Post by: armaghniac on July 06, 2022, 10:07:22 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2022, 09:16:16 PM
Hoping to be able to watch riders come through a little town in the Alps on 12 July (St Gervais - Le Fayet).

Sure aren't you living in Armagh, wear that distinct colours of a better team.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 06, 2022, 10:20:51 PM
Great stage today, the cobbles cause carnage. Pogacar obviously strong favourite, wout van aert having a great tour so far and looking good already for the green jersey.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 07, 2022, 08:52:45 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2022, 09:16:16 PM

Make sure you're on a steep hill otherwise it'll be over in seconds
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2022, 03:10:39 PM
Yellow jersey making the most of his time in the sun here. Wonder if they'll catch him. 25k left and a minute ahead.
Post by: markl121 on July 07, 2022, 03:13:40 PM
if there's anyone who could hold this its WVA
Post by: oakleaflad on July 07, 2022, 03:19:21 PM
Van Aert is incredible. You'd be glad of him for a stage like this when a guy like Alaphilippe is missing.
Post by: markl121 on July 07, 2022, 03:25:47 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 07, 2022, 03:19:21 PM
Van Aert is incredible. You'd be glad of him for a stage like this when a guy like Alaphilippe is missing.
Couldn't get over quickstep team with no cav, alaphillipe or remco and then they win the first two stages of the race anyway.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 07, 2022, 03:47:47 PM
Pog looks on another level to the other GC riders

Van Der Poel doesn't seem hi usual self.
Post by: markl121 on July 07, 2022, 03:53:12 PM
Pogacar...... ridiculous again  :-X I reckon mvdp has covid and just keeps testing negative
Post by: markl121 on July 08, 2022, 08:25:27 AM
This may be the day the tour GC battle ends and it's only day 7
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2022, 04:13:29 PM
Ah flip, thought yer man had it. Some climb that at the end.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 08, 2022, 04:14:42 PM
Heartbreaking for Kämna. Pogacar looks so strong. Jonas looks the best of the rest.
Post by: markl121 on July 08, 2022, 04:23:55 PM
Thought jonas had him there. Fair play to pog he dug deep
Post by: bennydorano on July 08, 2022, 06:12:50 PM
Tour has been very entertaining so far but Pog could make it very boring very quickly.  Also, if WVA or Pogacar were British or rode for INEOS they'd be torn to shreds everywhere but all is quiet .... although I did unfollow Ewan & Diggerforum who were responsible for a helluva lot of innuendo & rumour tbf.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 08, 2022, 09:17:03 PM
I watched the Tour from the mid 80s up until about 8 year ago or so when it was clear how dirty Sky were. Now I'm back to watching and don't think twice whether they are dirty or clean.
Post by: bennydorano on July 09, 2022, 10:33:05 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 08, 2022, 09:17:03 PM
I watched the Tour from the mid 80s up until about 8 year ago or so when it was clear how dirty Sky were. Now I'm back to watching and don't think twice whether they are dirty or clean.
Because you don't care or you think cycling is now clean?

The rumours that are currently following Liverpool fc about are pretty much what Sky were at with TUEs (Theraputic Use Exemption). I'd safely say professional football is way more clued in on how to get away it.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 10, 2022, 12:32:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 08, 2022, 06:12:50 PM
Tour has been very entertaining so far but Pog could make it very boring very quickly.  Also, if WVA or Pogacar were British or rode for INEOS they'd be torn to shreds everywhere but all is quiet .... although I did unfollow Ewan & Diggerforum who were responsible for a helluva lot of innuendo & rumour tbf.
I think with Pogacar still only being 23 there's a hope that he's just a generational talent as opposed to the big improvements we saw from Froome in his late 20's.
Post by: markl121 on July 10, 2022, 01:22:54 PM
Pogacar and the general performances of Slovenians in recent years is very suspicious. WVA winning on sprints, mountains and TTs is mutant also. I love cycling, but also know most of what I'm watching is chemically enhanced.
Genuinely think pogacar could win all 5 monuments too.
Post by: yellowcard on July 10, 2022, 01:33:11 PM
Quote from: markl121 on July 10, 2022, 01:22:54 PM
Pogacar and the general performances of Slovenians in recent years is very suspicious. WVA winning on sprints, mountains and TTs is mutant also. I love cycling, but also know most of what I'm watching is chemically enhanced.
Genuinely think pogacar could win all 5 monuments too.

That's exactly how I would see it. If it seems too good to be true then it probably is and Pogacar has links with Giannetti who has a doping history. However at least he was a talented junior and didn't take a massive performance spike unlike Froome. It was the PR bullshit that Froome and his Sky media cheerleaders spun that irked the most.
Post by: markl121 on July 10, 2022, 02:07:12 PM
Sky getting tour wins with Froome, wiggins and Thomas because of "marginal gains" is laughable. I actually think Bernal is a proper talent.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 10, 2022, 03:15:43 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 09, 2022, 10:33:05 AM

The rumours that are currently following Liverpool fc about are pretty much what Sky were at with TUEs (Theraputic Use Exemption). I'd safely say professional football is way more clued in on how to get away it.
Lots of clubs seem to have a proportionally higher number of asthmatics than the national average.

Re. the cycling I rationalise my enjoyment by assuming that everyone is an equal opportunities offender.
Post by: ONeill on July 12, 2022, 04:34:29 PM
Poor Kamna misses out again!
Post by: markl121 on July 13, 2022, 12:26:05 AM
Hopefully a proper GC shootout tomorrow and pogacar gets tested in the altitude and the heat
Post by: trailer on July 13, 2022, 11:09:50 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 10, 2022, 03:15:43 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 09, 2022, 10:33:05 AM

Lots of clubs seem to have a proportionally higher number of asthmatics than the national average.

Re. the cycling I rationalise my enjoyment by assuming that everyone is an equal opportunities offender.

For sure they are all dirty. Problem is some benefit from it more than others. So the playing field isn't exactly level. The Tour has always had problems with cheating from people in the early days getting lifts, to drugs and electric bikes. I doubt there has ever been a clean winner.
You just need to believe your eyes, What Armstrong was able to do, riding away up the hill. Froome from nowhere, whole thing is a sham.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 13, 2022, 01:37:30 PM
Mathieu Van Der Poel abandoned today - clearly not himself
Post by: oakleaflad on July 13, 2022, 03:39:18 PM
Wow!
Post by: grounded on July 13, 2022, 04:42:40 PM
Very exciting finish. Tad isolated and Jonas bringing down the hammer. Huge stage coming tomorrow. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2022, 07:51:17 PM
Jumbo Visma pushed all the right buttons with Pogacar today.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 13, 2022, 08:01:49 PM
What a ride by Jonas Vingegaard, nobody seen pogacar cracking like that. Sets up nicely for tomorrow and alp d'huez.
Post by: Rois on July 13, 2022, 09:35:27 PM
Anyone spot me on TV yesterday  :P
We were along the route, the caravanne was brilliant craic for the wee ones. Watching Middle Aged French men take your eye out for a free key ring thrown from the floats was illuminating.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2022, 09:56:42 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 13, 2022, 09:35:27 PM
We were along the route, the caravanne was brilliant craic for the wee ones. Watching Middle Aged French men take your eye out for a free key ring thrown from the floats was illuminating.
Was yesterday the Morzine stage? I was saying to the wife yesterday that looks a lovely place to visit outside the winter season. Jealous.
Post by: markl121 on July 13, 2022, 10:13:15 PM
holy shit what a stage. JV perfect tactics. Tomorrow will be class
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2022, 10:26:12 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2022, 09:56:42 PM
Was yesterday the Morzine stage? I was saying to the wife yesterday that looks a lovely place to visit outside the winter season. Jealous.
Also lovely in winter with the skiing
Post by: illdecide on July 14, 2022, 11:57:55 AM
Done Morzine in 2016 and have to say was the best cycling trip i've ever had. Been to Calpe and Luz Saint Sauveur but think Morzine was the best. Some mountain biking goes on in Morzine during the summer, I reckon it would be great for skiing in the winter.

Today will be defining where the title goes...only the elite can recover from a thrashing like TP got yesterday but TP is elite and he certainly can do it. Jumbo Visma will try to knock it back into TP today again so can't wait...
Post by: Rois on July 14, 2022, 01:09:40 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2022, 09:56:42 PM
We were actually abouy 10k from Megeve where it ended, but regular visitors to Morzine, beautiful in both winter and summer. Underrated as summer destination. We're in Chamonix with 30 degree sunshine.
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2022, 05:56:39 PM
No real that from Pog today.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2022, 06:08:13 PM
The Eurosport panel was a bit puzzled by his achievement today.
Post by: markl121 on July 14, 2022, 06:11:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2022, 06:08:13 PM
Pidcocks? Haven't seen the analysis yet but he has been climbing very well all tour. Pogacar isn't dead yet this isn't over. Seriously good riding by Thomas as well
Post by: grounded on July 14, 2022, 06:12:25 PM
Still a very interesting day. JV content enough to control proceedings today. A few late attacks by Tad didnt come to much with Jonas marking them all.
       Big win for Pidcock and id guess the other big story is Froome taking third.  Lot of big days still to go.
Post by: bennydorano on July 14, 2022, 07:14:48 PM
Delighted for Froome fair play to him, to come back from what he endured takes some doing.

Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2022, 06:08:13 PM

Why? Pidcock is one of the most naturally talented riders about, MTB Olympic gold medalist, elite Cyclocross rider, already a threat in the classics and very possibly a future Tour winner.

First time today seeing Sepp Kuss put in a decent shift, past year or two I've been wondering when he was going to get a shot at his own Grand Tour, but he's been very quiet.

Pogacar is going to have to wait for the Pyrenees now but JV looks like he has all the answers, but all anybody needs is one bad day and it's all over.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 15, 2022, 08:13:16 AM
His descending is fantastic. Not a bit of fear in him.
Post by: markl121 on July 16, 2022, 03:46:11 PM
steep finish today. Id like to see pog try and take time. Start of the stage was mental with loads of attacks
Post by: bennydorano on July 16, 2022, 04:23:38 PM
Great win for Matthews, showed some serious fight on the last climb.
Post by: grounded on July 16, 2022, 04:58:35 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 16, 2022, 04:23:38 PM
Great win for Matthews, showed some serious fight on the last climb.

Fantastic win. Pure power up that last climb. Not many sprinters(bar Van Aert) could pull that off.
        Two big attacks from Tad at start and end. JV looked a little shaky but Jonas  able to follow each attack. Tad looked very strong today. Exciting days ahead.

Post by: markl121 on July 17, 2022, 07:14:27 PM
Pogacar is burning serious matches for little reward so far. Big blow for JV losing roglic and krusiwick today. Jonas fell also but not sure how bad it was yet. I think Pogacars ego is getting him to think he can just attack all day every day with no repercussions.
Post by: grounded on July 18, 2022, 12:00:26 AM
Quote from: markl121 on July 17, 2022, 07:14:27 PM
Pogacar is burning serious matches for little reward so far. Big blow for JV losing roglic and krusiwick today. Jonas fell also but not sure how bad it was yet. I think Pogacars ego is getting him to think he can just attack all day every day with no repercussions.

After those JV withdrawals, Tad is in a very strong position. Roglic must have been in seriously bad shape for the team to allow him to withdraw.
     Makes the last week even more intriguing
Post by: bennydorano on July 18, 2022, 10:52:04 AM
Can't remember if it was ITV or Eurosport (as I flick between the 2) but one of them said Roglic was forced to stand down against his will, if that's the case some DS is in the shit this morning
Post by: markl121 on July 18, 2022, 10:57:45 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 18, 2022, 10:52:04 AM
Can't remember if it was ITV or Eurosport (as I flick between the 2) but one of them said Roglic was forced to stand down against his will, if that's the case some DS is in the shit this morning
I would say they're keeping him for the Vuelta. Hes becoming less and less effective this tour anyway he's only doing himself more damage
Post by: bennydorano on July 18, 2022, 11:08:53 AM
Yeah, there's no doubt that's the case, but 24 hours is a long time in cycling. Not the DS's fault, shit happens.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 18, 2022, 11:34:35 AM
Didn't Roglic dislocate his shoulder on an earlier stage (on the cobbles I think) and pop it back in? The Tour is physically massively demanding and with the speeds they've been doing and the heat it's entirely possible he was in very bad shape.
Post by: markl121 on July 18, 2022, 12:20:00 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 18, 2022, 11:34:35 AM
Didn't Roglic dislocate his shoulder on an earlier stage (on the cobbles I think) and pop it back in? The Tour is physically massively demanding and with the speeds they've been doing and the heat it's entirely possible he was in very bad shape.
Think he said it was like riding while being stabbed or something it was that painful
Post by: grounded on July 18, 2022, 01:32:23 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 18, 2022, 10:52:04 AM

Yep its a strange call if that is the case and a huge momentum change in fabour of Tad. The TDF is cycling's greatest prize(great to win the Vuelta or Giro but not in same league)  and would be a massive achievement for the JV team.
         If they could have kept him on board for a few more stages would certainly have helped Jonas's challenge( and he needs it if he is to have any chance against Pog. Of course he still has Wout but he's been burning a few matches too.
         Who knows if his own fall will have any effect(Jonas). Geraint Thomas and Ineos aren't too far behind to snag second place.
      Great viewing but my money is on Pog at this stage.

Post by: bennydorano on July 18, 2022, 03:25:40 PM
I reckon Pogacar will do something significant myself too,  maybe not reverse the situation but enough to make the 40km TT on Saturday a decider (as both are supposedly on a par TT wise).
Post by: markl121 on July 19, 2022, 01:34:20 PM
Two JV riders in the break is madness I think. WVA has green wrapped up anyway he doesn't need points he should be chained to Jonas the rest of the week. I can only think that Jonas fancies another attack on the final climb an then the other two are there to pace for the descent.
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 10:09:07 AM
Big day today. This is the day Pogacar has to take time
Post by: oakleaflad on July 20, 2022, 11:13:01 AM
Quote from: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 10:09:07 AM
Short enough stage today. Tomorrow's would seem the more likely but he should be trying something on both. Should make for good viewing.
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 11:58:43 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 20, 2022, 11:13:01 AM
Short enough stage today. Tomorrow's would seem the more likely but he should be trying something on both. Should make for good viewing.
Short stages in recent years have been chaos. More energy to attack. Hopefully will be good
Post by: grounded on July 20, 2022, 01:32:08 PM

Absolutely. Going to be exciting.
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2022, 03:06:38 PM
All set up for it to be spectacular. Pog looks very, very comfortable. Haven't seen him or McNulty out of the saddle since turning on about 25 mins ago.
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 03:07:01 PM
this is mental pace
Post by: oakleaflad on July 20, 2022, 03:10:00 PM
What must G Thomas be thinking? Clearly better than everyone else but not even close to Pog or Jonas. UAE have played this well. Pog looks the more comfortable.
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2022, 03:42:10 PM
Come on, do something.
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 03:50:25 PM
Wow. Thought pog was cooked there and then had another kick
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2022, 03:52:26 PM
Feels like a mistake not to have a go with JV isolated for the last two climbs.
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 03:58:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2022, 03:52:26 PM
Feels like a mistake not to have a go with JV isolated for the last two climbs.
I don't think he had it. Those rides by Bjerg and McNulty today though  :-X
Post by: grounded on July 20, 2022, 09:01:05 PM
Blistering pace. That diminished UAE team really impressed and isolated Jonas. But Jonas is in serious shape(much better than i thought).
    Tomorrow a much tougher stage, Tad still very optimistic at end of the stage that he can still win the tour. I cant wait for the race tomorrow. I think we know the podium finishers with GT taking third given his tt abilities. That in itself is an unbelievable achievement.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 20, 2022, 09:51:51 PM
The ride from Brandon McNulty today has to raise eyebrows, he's shown nothing like that form so far. To set that pace and break records is definitely suspicious, hopefully not and he's just been saving himself 🤔
Post by: JoG2 on July 20, 2022, 10:22:46 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on July 20, 2022, 09:51:51 PM
The ride from Brandon McNulty today has to raise eyebrows, he's shown nothing like that form so far. To set that pace and break records is definitely suspicious, hopefully not and he's just been saving himself 🤔

Suspicious, surely they are all doping? Haven't watched the tour in a while, dip in and out these days. Are the times a fair bit slower than when Armstrong was winning?
Post by: markl121 on July 20, 2022, 11:38:18 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 20, 2022, 10:22:46 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on July 20, 2022, 09:51:51 PM

Suspicious, surely they are all doping? Haven't watched the tour in a while, dip in and out these days. Are the times a fair bit slower than when Armstrong was winning?
the times are faster on heavier bikes. If the time on hautacam tomorrow is beaten then the doping is worse than ever.
Post by: CiKe on July 21, 2022, 09:32:50 AM
out of interest, why are the bikes heavier? Change in regulation for some reason?
Post by: bennydorano on July 21, 2022, 10:31:26 AM
I don't think the minimum weight bike regulation has changed in a long long time (6.8kg?), so no team would ever fail to hit that if it wanted. Bikes may be slightly heavier now (I doubt they are at this level tbh)  because of Disc brakes but more importantly aero frames are generally heavier than non aero frames but the Watt savings are greater from better aero than weight alone.
Post by: grounded on July 21, 2022, 12:38:15 PM
Video here gives an idea about the marginal gains that have happened with modern bikes/wheels but also interestingly clothing/helmets and bike position

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://m.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3D1mJ06mro5fw&ved=2ahUKEwjGzZfT8In5AhUaQEEAHbX1D6MQFnoECDQQAQ&usg=AOvVaw2KWIFF1pS-iSN-C4D1rN7q
Post by: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 01:59:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 21, 2022, 10:31:26 AM
I don't think the minimum weight bike regulation has changed in a long long time (6.8kg?), so no team would ever fail to hit that if it wanted. Bikes may be slightly heavier now (I doubt they are at this level tbh)  because of Disc brakes but more importantly aero frames are generally heavier than non aero frames but the Watt savings are greater from better aero than weight alone.
Watch the GCN videos on pro bikes. They're all over 7kg now because of the disc brakes mainly and to a lesser extent the aero frames. The electronic shifting is also a bit heavy . INEOS struggled to get the pinarello down to 6.8kg even before disks and you'd have seen bernal using the lightweight meilenstein wheels (about 6 grand or so) on the really big mountain days as they weigh like 1.1kg for a pair. Lance etc were all riding n bikes bang on the UCI limit. Pogacar last year always used his rim brake big for the mountain days but the rim brake is basically dead in the peloton now and you can hardly buy a rim brake bike because of it which I guess was the point of the whole exercise. The 2021 Jumbo visma cervelos were done in raw carbon to try and save a couple of hundred grams on the paint.
Post by: bennydorano on July 21, 2022, 03:05:04 PM
Quote from: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 01:59:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 21, 2022, 10:31:26 AM
Watch the GCN videos on pro bikes. They're all over 7kg now because of the disc brakes mainly and to a lesser extent the aero frames. The electronic shifting is also a bit heavy . INEOS struggled to get the pinarello down to 6.8kg even before disks and you'd have seen bernal using the lightweight meilenstein wheels (about 6 grand or so) on the really big mountain days as they weigh like 1.1kg for a pair. Lance etc were all riding n bikes bang on the UCI limit. Pogacar last year always used his rim brake big for the mountain days but the rim brake is basically dead in the peloton now and you can hardly buy a rim brake bike because of it which I guess was the point of the whole exercise. The 2021 Jumbo visma cervelos were done in raw carbon to try and save a couple of hundred grams on the paint.
That's very interesting, also illustrates that bike weight while hugely important, is not the be all and end all it used to be.
Post by: gallsman on July 21, 2022, 03:39:09 PM
Pog might still have something in the legs. A sniff of a gap opened there for the first time. Hautacam will be fun.
Post by: gallsman on July 21, 2022, 03:40:06 PM
Christ he nearly took himself out!

And now Pog is down! What a finish we'll have.
Post by: bennydorano on July 21, 2022, 03:45:17 PM
I'm wincing watching this descent
Post by: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 05:31:06 PM
fastest tour of all time  :-X
Post by: grounded on July 21, 2022, 08:55:36 PM
That was a fantastic spectacle. Jonas is the man.
Post by: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 09:21:22 PM
Quote from: grounded on July 21, 2022, 08:55:36 PM
Most exciting tour I can remember
Post by: grounded on July 22, 2022, 10:43:45 AM
Quote from: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 09:21:22 PM

Only thing i can think make it any better would be a team tt  (as a spectacle). But otherwise agree 100% with you. I did not expect Jonas to crack Pog again yesterday. Obviously wout is a superhuman and an unbelievable afvantage for JV and Jonas but UAD had some super performances from their diminished team towards the end as well.
         The few bad accidents and covid retirements aside just a fantastic tour.

Post by: gallsman on July 22, 2022, 11:06:15 AM
Quote from: grounded on July 22, 2022, 10:43:45 AM
Quote from: markl121 on July 21, 2022, 09:21:22 PM

Only thing i can think make it any better would be a team tt  (as a spectacle). But otherwise agree 100% with you. I did not expect Jonas to crack Pog again yesterday. Obviously wout is a superhuman and an unbelievable afvantage for JV and Jonas but UAD had some super performances from their diminished team towards the end as well.
         The few bad accidents and covid retirements aside just a fantastic tour.

Quite.
Post by: grounded on July 22, 2022, 01:47:49 PM
https://lanternerouge.com.au/2022/07/21/vingegaard-does-the-fastest-hautacam-since-armstrong/

Vingegaard put 1 minute and 4 seconds into Pogačar. Riis' Hautacam record was unbreakable on a stage this hard even with modern equipment. Riis in the 1996 Tour did an estimated 6.88 w/kg for 34:41min up Hautacam on a unipuerto stage. Vingegaard still performed exceptionally well on the climb, doing an estimated 6.32 w/kg for 36:37min

Some analysis of that Hautacam stage. In the context of a very tough tour de france, The obvious question is;
     have all the modern advancements in terms of equipment/training/diet/ etc been great enough to come close to equaling the performace of Mr 60% back in the day?

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2022, 11:40:38 AM
Was that the year Bjarne Riis won the Tour? I think he later admitted to juicing (nobody was shocked).
Post by: gallsman on July 23, 2022, 11:54:10 AM
Yes, 96. All the commentary on Eurosport has made repeated reference to JV being on the verge of being the second Danish man to win the Tour, after Riis. Not once have I heard them qualify it with "of course that victory has subsequently been thoroughly discredited, and by his own admission".
Post by: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 01:44:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 23, 2022, 11:54:10 AM
Yes, 96. All the commentary on Eurosport has made repeated reference to JV being on the verge of being the second Danish man to win the Tour, after Riis. Not once have I heard them qualify it with "of course that victory has subsequently been thoroughly discredited, and by his own admission".
Dan Lloyd and orla have both taken to twitter to shoot down the doping talk. Dan says he has no reason to stick to the omerta  :o
Post by: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 04:05:54 PM
WVA beating ganna by 40 seconds lol
Post by: grounded on July 23, 2022, 04:27:40 PM
Quote from: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 04:05:54 PM

Jonas currently faster than Wout!  GT also flying.
Post by: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 04:33:11 PM
Quote from: grounded on July 23, 2022, 04:27:40 PM
Quote from: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 04:05:54 PM

Jonas currently faster than Wout!  GT also flying.
The top guys really are miles clear than the rest. the other gc contenders are minutes back in this TT alone
Post by: grounded on July 23, 2022, 04:48:22 PM
JV very nearly wiped out on than descent! Could be a repeat of last years final stages with wva.
Post by: yellowcard on July 23, 2022, 06:37:33 PM
Farcical levels of dominance by Van Aert and Vingegaard at this years tour. The more things change the more they stay the same.
Post by: gallsman on July 24, 2022, 07:18:45 AM
Quote from: markl121 on July 23, 2022, 01:44:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 23, 2022, 11:54:10 AM
Dan Lloyd and orla have both taken to twitter to shoot down the doping talk. Dan says he has no reason to stick to the omerta  :o

Like by all means continue with the innocent until proven guilty line about the current pros, or explain it away with tech, training, nutrition etc but when talking about Riis "winning the tour" they surely have to mention EPO ffs. It's not a suspicion or an allegation, he admitted it ffs. 15 years ago, it's not news!
Post by: tonto1888 on July 25, 2022, 10:41:27 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 23, 2022, 06:37:33 PM
Farcical levels of dominance by Van Aert and Vingegaard at this years tour. The more things change the more they stay the same.

I was a massive LA fan. When he admitted his doping I stopped watching cycling. I have started again this year but I just presume they are all on the juice. Less disapointment that way
Post by: yellowcard on July 25, 2022, 12:23:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 25, 2022, 10:41:27 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 23, 2022, 06:37:33 PM

I was a massive LA fan. When he admitted his doping I stopped watching cycling. I have started again this year but I just presume they are all on the juice. Less disapointment that way

I was never a fan of Armstrong and never believed that he was clean after the early stages, there was too much evidence to the contrary. He used to make me angry with his brazenness, arrogance and using cancer as a shield but now I just see it all for what it is. Entertainment. It's a bit of a reality show and the doping is all part of the whole soap opera. I just presume that most of the top cyclists are doping with some taking it to different levels than others. Jumbo have taken the piss this year with Van Aert and Vingegaard though and there hasn't been a pro rider tested positive in the last 2 years so the arms race will continue to spiral if they think they can do it with impunity. It still won't stop me watching it though and I don't think it will ever change.   
Post by: oakleaflad on July 25, 2022, 12:53:55 PM
Nothing really new from Van Aert this year though? He's been like this for a few years. I was more surprised by the performances from the likes of McNulty towards the end of the tour.
I enjoy watching the tactical battles and really enjoyed this year's tour, whilst having the understanding that they could all be on PED's at the same time.
Post by: yellowcard on July 25, 2022, 01:46:49 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 25, 2022, 12:53:55 PM
Nothing really new from Van Aert this year though? He's been like this for a few years. I was more surprised by the performances from the likes of McNulty towards the end of the tour.
I enjoy watching the tactical battles and really enjoyed this year's tour, whilst having the understanding that they could all be on PED's at the same time.

He is a talented rider but to get into breaks, chase down breaks, ride all day in breaks, compete for sprints, rake long pulls in front and drop pure climbers in the high mountains is not normal. There was no cumulative fatigue with him and he done it day in day out for 3 weeks. Huge red flag when he was dropping the mountain goats on HC climbs. Probably the biggest red flag of all was Vingegaard's TT performance. A 58kg climber should not be beating the world champion TT in his specialist discipline. Whatever they're doing they have thrown down the gauntlet to the rest of the peloton.   

McNulty in comparision had one superhuman day and I think UAE had their weetabix that morning and it was one last attempt to overhaul Jumbo who have upped the ante. Take the top 3 riders out of the race and the gap to the 4th place rider on GC was almost 14 minutes. That by itself is alarming.

In saying all that it was a very enjoyable tour but I'd just take it for what it is. The race was made by Pogacar losing a bucket load of time on one stage and then constantly attacking to try and get it back.
Post by: bennydorano on July 25, 2022, 02:55:01 PM
The TDF ladies getting wrote off here left, right & centre. Women drivers etc.. must be 4 crashes in a 10m stretch of flat, wide roads.
Post by: maddog on July 26, 2022, 09:35:02 AM
just got back from TDF after 3 weeks away. Great experience which id recommend to anyone. Its impossible to have a holiday and follow the whole race so we did the cobbled stage into Arenberg and then most of that week as far as Alpe d'huez which we didnt get to. Mrs D was navigating and we missed motor way exit, no way to get off and next thing was a tunnel into italy so we went to italian lakes instead. Lake orta was absolutely stunning (minus the mosquitoes). Then back up through Switzerland and into Vosges mountains again to the Grand Ballon. Lovely area and helped us escape the heat at 1300 metres altitude. Then up into Chartres and then Normandy for a few days before getting the boat back from Dieppe. Glad avoided Dover as i knew it would be a shit show.
Favourite region of France was by far the Vosges mountains SW of Strasbourg. Alps and the ski station areas were amazing but a rip off. 10 euro for 50cl beer - cheerio.
Post by: maddog on July 26, 2022, 09:49:06 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 25, 2022, 02:55:01 PM
The TDF ladies getting wrote off here left, right & centre. Women drivers etc.. must be 4 crashes in a 10m stretch of flat, wide roads.

did you see that one that drove straight down the middle of the crash. Either she didnt see it or fancied changes of picking her way through but hit it an awful slap
Post by: bennydorano on July 26, 2022, 11:50:17 AM
Quote from: maddog on July 26, 2022, 09:49:06 AM

did you see that one that drove straight down the middle of the crash. Either she didnt see it or fancied changes of picking her way through but hit it an awful slap
I did indeed, she must have been head down Froome style
Post by: markl121 on July 27, 2022, 01:11:13 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 26, 2022, 11:50:17 AM
Quote from: maddog on July 26, 2022, 09:49:06 AM

I did indeed, she must have been head down Froome style
She said she thought she could have made the gap. f**k that she should be thrown out. No remorse for it either and took out one of the pre race favourites.
Post by: tonto1888 on August 17, 2022, 05:37:35 PM
Qunitana has been disqualified from the tour as Tramadol was found in his system. Not an antidoping violation though

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cycling/62580517
Post by: markl121 on August 17, 2022, 06:32:13 PM
f**k sake nairo. getting done for tramadol of all things.