Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on April 15, 2008, 09:24:10 PM

Title: The Pimp Your Photography Thread
Post by: ziggysego on April 15, 2008, 09:24:10 PM
Use this thread to post pictures you have taken, are proud of and want to show off to the rest of the world :)

I flew over to London at the weekend and I decided to take a few shots from the airplane. I hope you enjoy them.

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-1.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-2.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-3.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-4.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-5.gif)
Title: Re: The Pimp Your Photography Thread
Post by: An Fear Rua on April 15, 2008, 09:34:18 PM
bit overcast?
Post by: Puckoon on April 15, 2008, 09:43:54 PM
This could be a good thread. Unfortunately I have nothing to contribute.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 15, 2008, 10:00:29 PM
Brilliant thread like this on the old board. We need Ballintoy back.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on April 15, 2008, 10:26:56 PM
Bit like Google Maps on acid!
Post by: Orior on April 15, 2008, 10:47:07 PM
Here's me bitch...

(http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/4978/mebitchdm5.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 15, 2008, 10:47:27 PM
(http://i25.tinypic.com/dcan3n.jpg)

(http://i25.tinypic.com/15ppytj.jpg)

Post by: The Gs Man on April 15, 2008, 10:56:12 PM
Gab, Did you take that one of Stephen hunt? Its a cracker., :)
Post by: Pangurban on April 15, 2008, 11:16:36 PM
How do you go about posting photos
Post by: Orior on April 15, 2008, 11:18:49 PM
Upload your photo here http://www.imageshack.us/ (http://www.imageshack.us/)

then post using the Insert Image icon.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2008, 09:16:02 AM
Alright lads, here's a few I took in South Kerry last April.

Knightstown, Valentia Island from Renard Point.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/ValentiafromRenard3.jpg)

Seagulls take flight down at Renard Point
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/SeagullsatthePoint.jpg)

Sunset over Beginish Island, from Knockeens, Cahirciveen
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/IMG_2873.jpg)

Surfs Up at St. Finian's Bay, The Glen.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/CopyofFinniansBay1.jpg)

Artistic Shot :D Ballycarberry Castle, 'Over the Water', Cahirciveen, through a gorse.
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/BallycarberryCastle2.jpg)

Tides out at Ballinskelligs Beach, Ballinskelligs
(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/Bally3.jpg)
Post by: amallon on April 16, 2008, 09:23:04 AM
Great thread idea and great photos lads.  Keep em coming
Post by: thejuice on April 16, 2008, 09:42:23 AM
I have a few to contribute to this, will do later when I have the time. good work, nice pictures
Post by: lfdown2 on April 16, 2008, 09:55:29 AM
great idea and photos!!

jaysus az is there anything ye cant do, writing, photography!!fair play!!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2008, 10:04:59 AM
I can do loads of things, badly :D

On the subject of Artistic photos, what do ye think of this one? It's from the same day, I was out in St. Finian's Bay, and noticed a rock on the beach that had more or less the same shape as the Skelligs in the background, albeit the Skelligs were through a haze. I tried to frame the shot so you could see both, I thought it might be an interesting view. I've made this a bit larger because all of these photos look better bigger, but I want ye to see the Skelligs in the background to get the idea.

What do you ye think?

(http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c358/AZOffaly/MiniSkelligs.jpg)

Actually that doesn't really do justice to the real photo, but I don't want to take up 3 meg with one picture :D
Post by: rrhf on April 16, 2008, 10:18:25 AM
Oye AZ did you just photoshop that big rock in in front of the skelligs - shame on you!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2008, 10:34:15 AM
Ìt's actually quite a small rock. I got down on my belly, and adjusted the focus to make the rock sharp, and the background a bit 'soft'. Same as the Ballycarberry picture above. I thought it would be interesting in a Fr. Ted sort of way. 'No Dougal, This is small, this is far away'. :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 16, 2008, 10:54:29 AM
Excellent photo Az, jesus ye offlaly boys are sharp allways thinking outside the box ;) :D
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 11:32:30 AM
A snapshot taken along the scenic route to one of Ulster's finest GAA pitches. Taken 3 Feb 2007

Anybody like to hazard a guess where? 

(http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s31/geithals/avenuesmall.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2008, 02:54:11 PM
Drumcree?  :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 16, 2008, 04:20:03 PM
Took this of the bridge in Mostar last summer...

(http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o312/CroinahEireann/IMG_0217.jpg)

...and this one during the day. Complete fluke, it's just a point and shoot camera and was just testing out the timer. Held it up over my head and look how it turned out...

(http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o312/CroinahEireann/IMG_0222.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2008, 04:34:40 PM
Lourdes, July 2007

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/gaabimages/Lourdes-1.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/gaabimages/Lourdes-2.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/gaabimages/Lourdes-3.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/gaabimages/Lourdes-4.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/gaabimages/Lourdes-5.jpg)

Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 04:53:49 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on April 16, 2008, 02:54:11 PM
Drumcree?  :D
??? 
I did say scenic route,
but not in the sense of an Orange Order type scenic route :)
No O O around these parts.

Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2008, 04:55:31 PM
Armagh's?
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 05:09:11 PM
No Ziggy, no O O  within the county boundaries ;)
I'd assume you have been to the grounds but you probably would have driven direct or been driven there.
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 05:24:07 PM
Is there a scenic route to Clones?
Right county though.
Scenic in the sense of the most pleasing direct route of 3 possibles from the town.

Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 05:42:05 PM
That´s a nice place Tram, not a bungalow in sight, where is it?
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 05:55:15 PM
Monaghan has to be one of the most beautiful counties in Ireland
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 06:07:14 PM
You're not meaning my photo is from Lough Muckno? no it isn't.
No waterskiing or golf course in the neighbourhood.

Post by: Hardy on April 16, 2008, 06:36:15 PM
I knew that. Not a tree in sight. Only bushes.
Post by: Main Street on April 16, 2008, 07:12:33 PM
So if you get lost in a Tyrone forest you just have to stand up :)

It's lovely tranquil spot all the same.

Post by: ziggysego on April 16, 2008, 09:58:35 PM
Is it?  :o
Title: Few from the US - Idaho
Post by: aontroim on April 17, 2008, 09:05:56 AM
Took these a couple of years ago in Idaho.

Sawtooth National Forest
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b287/aontroim/DSC_0130-1Medium.jpg?t=1208418408)

Lake at Sawtooth Nat'l Forest
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b287/aontroim/DSC_0125-1Medium.jpg?t=1208418922)

Landscape nr Sawtooth Mtns.
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b287/aontroim/DSC_0088-1Medium.jpg?t=1208419002)

Squirrel at camp grounds
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b287/aontroim/DSC_0108Medium.jpg?t=1208419053)

Eating pine cone
(http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b287/aontroim/DSC_0101Medium.jpg?t=1208419095)

Great thread to resurrect again - will try to hunt out a few closer to home
Post by: An Lark on April 17, 2008, 12:10:46 PM
New York...

(http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/5100/nyc064yz6.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)

(http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/8592/nyc065bw2.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)

Post by: lfdown2 on April 17, 2008, 01:45:05 PM
Careful folks!!!!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7351252.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7351252.stm)
Post by: Puckoon on April 17, 2008, 02:55:49 PM
This was our visitor late last summer.
Post by: screenexile on April 17, 2008, 04:03:22 PM
A Balloon festival in our town a few years ago:

(http://www.ballinascreen.com/gallery/albums/balloons2004/normal_DSC00017.JPG)

Post by: Fluffy Che on April 19, 2008, 11:27:48 AM
(http://img182.imageshack.us/img182%5BIMG%5Dhttp://img182.imageshack.us/img182/2192/imag0178kg8.jpg)/4633/imag0174q(http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/6851/imag0237og1.jpg)y3.jpg[/IMG](http://img520.imagesh[img]http://img520.imageshack.us/i%5BIMG%5Dhttp://img520.imageshack.us/img520/2154/imag0104xo9.jpg)mg520/2154/imag0104xo9.(http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/35%5BIMG%5Dhttp://img404.imageshack.us/img404/1558/imag0227al1.jpg)52/imag0208hl0.jpg[/IMG]jpg[/IMG]ack.us/img520/6186/imag0233op9.jpg[/IMG]

Sorry 'bout the size, bit of a Luddite..
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 19, 2008, 11:30:56 AM
(http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/1558/imag0227al1.jpg)
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 19, 2008, 11:45:48 AM
(http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/696/imag0057ox9.jpg)
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 19, 2008, 11:55:36 AM
(http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3845/imag0140qe6.th.jpg) (http://img76.imageshack.us/my.php?image=imag0140qe6.jpg)

If this one dont come out proper size...scrubbed.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 19, 2008, 05:08:42 PM
View from the wifes house, they look out on Nephin to their right and Croagh Patrick to their left. Not a bad spot to move back to I suppose.
(http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/7826/manullasept2007001ih7.th.jpg) (http://img150.imageshack.us/my.php?image=manullasept2007001ih7.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 10, 2008, 11:51:28 PM
Went for walk on Monday and took a few pictures. 

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0884.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0885.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0887.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0888.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0889.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0892.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0895.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0896.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0897.jpg)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/thejenthread/maydaywalk/IMG_0898.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 11, 2008, 12:28:02 AM
Cool Thread how come i haven't seen it before?
Must have been when my laptop crashed
Post by: Yes I Would on May 11, 2008, 12:47:40 AM
WTF happened the fox??
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 11, 2008, 01:03:48 AM
(http://render1.snapfish.com/render2/is=Yup6aQQ%7C%3Dup6RKKt%3AxxrKUp7BHD7KPfrj%3DQofrj7t%3DzrRfDUX%3AeQaQxg%3Dr%3F87KR6xqpxQQoJxaQJxePlxv8uOc5xQQQ0GaJeaalPeqpfVtB%3F*KUp7BHSHqqy7XH6gXPGn%7CRup6lQQ%7C/of=50,590,442)

(http://render1.snapfish.com/render2/is=Yup6aQQ%7C%3Dup6RKKt%3AxxrKUp7BHD7KPfrj%3DQofrj7t%3DzrRfDUX%3AeQaQxg%3Dr%3F87KR6xqpxQQoJxaQJxePlxv8uOc5xQQQ0GaJeaalPGqpfVtB%3F*KUp7BHSHqqy7XH6gXPle%7CRup6lQQ%7C/of=50,590,442)

Both croagh Patrick

(http://render1.snapfish.com/render2/is=Yup6aQQ%7C%3Dup6RKKt%3AxxrKUp7BHD7Kofrj%3DQofrj7t%3DzrRfDUX%3AeQaQxg%3Dr%3F87KR6xqpxQQoJxaQJxePlxv8uOc5xQQQ0eJonaPPeaqpfVtB%3F*KUp7BHSHqqy7XH6gXPla%7CRup6lQQ%7C/of=50,590,442)
(http://render1.snapfish.com/render2/is=Yup6aQQ%7C%3Dup6RKKt%3AxxrKUp7BHD7Kofrj%3DQofrj7t%3DzrRfDUX%3AeQaQxg%3Dr%3F87KR6xqpxQQoJxaQJxePlxv8uOc5xQQQ0eJonaPPJoqpfVtB%3F*KUp7BHSHqqy7XH6gXPoa%7CRup6lQQ%7C/of=50,590,442)
Mwellrea

(http://render1.snapfish.com/render2/is=Yup6aQQ%7C%3Dup6RKKt%3AxxWtUq4PJfrj%3DQofrj7t%3DzrRfDUX%3AeQaQxg%3Dr%3F87KR6xqpxQQoJxaQJxePlxv8uOc5xQQQoleaJQlQeeqpfVtB%3F*KUp7BHSHqqy7XH6gXPol%7CRup6lQQ%7C/of=50,590,442)

Mayo V Dublin 2006

(http://images1.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp336%3Enu%3D3256%3E%3A36%3E948%3EWSNRCG%3D323338374544%3Bnu0mrj)

Howler monkey chilling out in Bolivia

(http://images1.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp344%3Enu%3D3256%3E%3A36%3E948%3EWSNRCG%3D32335%3B5262745nu0mrj)
Machu Pichu

(http://images1.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp63%3Dot%3E2347%3D%3B27%3D%3A39%3DXROQDF%3E2323%3B6379%3C7%3C5ot1lsi)
Torres Del Peine

(http://images1.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp335%3Enu%3D3256%3E%3A36%3E948%3EWSNRCG%3D323347964%3B%3A29nu0mrj)
Salt Plains Bolivia

Post by: haranguerer on May 11, 2008, 12:07:18 PM

Went parachuting, the instructor let me take up my camera, got a few unique ones. Mebbe only good if you're in them, but sure anyway... Was hoping to catch a few boys filling the togs, but unfortunately everyone was in hard man mode (except possibly me, but I was taking the pics  ;))

(http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/7245/parachutingjuly07015da5.jpg)
(http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/5729/parachutingjuly07014ng0.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 11, 2008, 06:28:54 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on May 11, 2008, 12:47:40 AM
WTF happened the fox??

Had to die....
Post by: Treasurer on May 12, 2008, 03:30:18 PM
Tanzania last year.. maybe I like it for sentimental reasons as much as anything else....

(http://i302.photobucket.com/albums/nn97/mypicsOY/Tan093.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 07:17:45 PM
I sent the picture of the dead fox into the BBC. I hope they show it tomorrow before the weather.  ;D
Post by: bailestil on May 15, 2008, 08:46:10 PM
(http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/566/2313448363625e03096cyt8.jpg)

Byron Bay Lighthouse Feb 2008.
Great Beach, Great little town!
Post by: Puckoon on May 19, 2008, 01:50:44 PM
view from the bedroom
Post by: Puckoon on May 19, 2008, 01:53:57 PM
view off the garden deck. The truckee river, NV.
Post by: Puckoon on May 19, 2008, 01:55:18 PM
Sunset over Reno.
Post by: ziggysego on May 19, 2008, 04:10:39 PM
You're living the dream Puck.
Post by: lurganblue on June 01, 2008, 11:08:53 PM
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/03-11-07_2007.jpg)

Rathaus Vienna at night

(took from my phone so not the best quality but you get the idea
Post by: stpauls on June 02, 2008, 11:20:16 AM
i am assuming that was around Christmas time lurganblue, i see the WeinNachtMarkt stalls out in the square there?
Post by: heganboy on June 02, 2008, 03:05:56 PM
AAARRRGGGHHHH
scary memories, lived in Vienna for a while (without a word of German...)
Post by: lurganblue on June 02, 2008, 03:40:58 PM
yeah it was took mid november last year.

although i´m back in Vienna again now.  I´ll see if i can get some more photos this weekend as they have turned the ring and the rathaus into a "fan mile" for the euros. should look good... especially when austria play on Sunday night.
Post by: wdusln on June 02, 2008, 04:25:20 PM
ziggy did u send the other pics to the bbc? i think one of them was shown at lunchtime before the weather. they also named greencastle on the weathermap.
Post by: ziggysego on June 02, 2008, 07:18:02 PM
Only back now, so didn't see. Must look on BBC website.
Post by: ziggysego on June 02, 2008, 07:28:15 PM
Quote from: wdusln on June 02, 2008, 04:25:20 PM
ziggy did u send the other pics to the bbc? i think one of them was shown at lunchtime before the weather. they also named greencastle on the weathermap.

What do you know... it was one of my photos! Good catch wduslin.

Pity they didn't use the one of the fox....  :D
Post by: Down Gael on June 25, 2008, 11:30:12 PM
Not my own work, but some great pics here.

(http://i32.tinypic.com/21lsxut.jpg)
(http://i25.tinypic.com/2quptdz.jpg)
(http://pure-essence.net/stuff/ICHC/funny-pictures-15-cents-stop.jpg)
(http://www.motivationpics.com/images/bottled_water.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/01.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/02.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/05.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/06.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/07.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/08.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/09.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/10.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/11.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/12.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/14.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/16.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/19.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/20.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/22.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/24.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/25.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/27.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/29.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/30.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/35.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/37.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/39.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/40.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/44.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/45.jpg)
(http://images.flabber.nl/temp/48.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 26, 2008, 01:29:14 AM
A few of my favourites from the Kingdom. Will put up a few from my travels another time.

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home030-1.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home034-1.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home035-1.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home039-1.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home069.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home087-1.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/PIC058.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/PIC051.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/PIC036.jpg)

(http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb43/mipix2007/Home104.jpg)

Post by: Main Street on June 26, 2008, 02:08:06 AM
Kerry rocks.

Post by: Aerlik on June 26, 2008, 09:13:56 AM
Some great shots there lads.  I would recommend you get your hand on a polarzing filter if you are using a lens that allows them to be fitted. It helps to sharpen the blues and greens and reduces the washout from the glare of a bright sky. I have a few shots from around the world and want to know how to upload them.  Help!
Post by: Main Street on June 26, 2008, 11:09:25 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on June 26, 2008, 09:13:56 AM
I have a few shots from around the world and want to know how to upload them.  Help!

You need to upload your photos to a free image hosting site.
like Photobucket  for example.
http://photobucket.com/?link=topmenu (http://photobucket.com/?link=topmenu)
``there are loads more, maybe some better some worse

Then copy and paste the image address into the body of the reply  here
Post by: ziggysego on June 26, 2008, 11:18:36 AM
Don't forget the tag (http://) at either end of the link also.
Post by: ONeill on July 12, 2008, 11:31:00 PM
Here's some shots I took at Dunmanway during the last week - excuse the camera and the cameraman. I knew Sam originated in Dunmanway but was shocked at the lack of recognition in terms of signage. Even the local librarian had to phone someone to find where he lived. The local pitch is known as the Sam Maguire Park. The statue of Sam is in the town centre. His homestead is about 4 km out and poorly signposted. They seem to be renovating his house but the 'Sam Maguire visitors centre' was unmanned so couldn't find out much about that. Opposite the 'Sam Maguire Holiday Homes' was the stone memorial, again no sign.

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3132/2661648355_b3cc138a01.jpg?v=1215901772)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3206/2661645129_40e7b515a5.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3245/2662467086_1bb5844254.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3191/2662476996_d5a105c920.jpg?v=0)
Post by: ONeill on July 12, 2008, 11:38:13 PM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3144/2661676475_6e3fe0abe1.jpg?v=0)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2008, 12:13:27 AM
...  I would recommend you get your hand on a polarzing filter if you are using a lens that allows them to be fitted.

Would second that (you're talking about SLRs I take it?), some serious sky washout there, though great pics nonetheless. Compacts have their place, but the quality is badly deficient generally, and the more you enlarge, the more it's evident.
Post by: downgirl on July 13, 2008, 12:29:41 AM

Hope that photo came out??  It's the sunset from my front garden last August...my favourite photo.
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2008, 12:32:08 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2008, 12:13:27 AM
... I would recommend you get your hand on a polarzing filter if you are using a lens that allows them to be fitted.

Would second that (you're talking about SLRs I take it?), some serious sky washout there, though great pics nonetheless. Compacts have their place, but the quality is badly deficient generally, and the more you enlarge, the more it's evident.

In those photos above the lens was drenched from incessant rain!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2008, 12:39:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2008, 12:32:08 AM
In those photos above the lens was drenched from incessant rain!

Commendable in the circumstances  ;) Out of interest, what were they taken with?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 13, 2008, 12:44:09 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 13, 2008, 12:36:01 AM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/ScreenPart_2008-07-13_003144.jpg)
I'm lost with this one.... what's happening?
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2008, 12:44:29 AM
Erm, think tis a Panasonic Lumix boyo. Does this mean anything - DMC TZ3 10x ? Don't really do the photographing thing...great memory!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2008, 01:31:15 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2008, 12:44:29 AM
Erm, think tis a Panasonic Lumix boyo. Does this mean anything - DMC TZ3 10x ? Don't really do the photographing thing...great memory!

If you're not into it, you're not into it (I'll put up or shut up soon)  ;)

Post by: MayoMan on July 30, 2008, 11:44:24 PM
(http://i30.tinypic.com/23jl7io.gif)

http://free2g1c.com
Post by: MayoMan on July 30, 2008, 11:55:38 PM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3193/2719408896_b2e098b98f.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3130/2718585891_b3bba15648.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3189/2718586177_48996941c6.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3168/2718586701_bd5e399fbe.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3248/2719409744_5cdda819ce.jpg?v=0)
Post by: MayoMan on July 31, 2008, 12:01:26 AM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3296/2718615635_6197b2fb56.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3135/2718615499_86f4ece04a.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3174/2719438676_a3c5058a26.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3250/2719438518_6f7d308e16.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2206/2718615119_34eb1a7732.jpg?v=0)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3239/2718615055_36b3686a28.jpg?v=0)

Uncle John
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3017/2719439060_da48736881.jpg?v=0)
Post by: gerry on July 31, 2008, 12:25:09 AM
have you the lens cap on mayoman?
Post by: MayoMan on July 31, 2008, 09:47:04 AM
Quote from: gerry on July 31, 2008, 12:25:09 AM
have you the lens cap on mayoman?

:D Sorted again!!
Post by: MayoMan on October 10, 2008, 10:44:15 AM
(http://www2.b3ta.com/host/creative/44577/1223414787/tampaxwarnings.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 10, 2008, 11:35:03 AM
don't suppose any of ye boys can post the photo of the mayolad that was surfing a big wave in australia and in the photo you can see a  great white shark  lurking in the background in was in this weeks papers cant' post the fecking thing but a class photo
Post by: Windmill abu on October 10, 2008, 01:20:24 PM
(http://www.telegraph.co.uk/telegraph/multimedia/archive/01003/surfer-shark_1003384c.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 10, 2008, 01:35:18 PM
thanks windmill
Post by: downgirl on October 10, 2008, 06:58:51 PM
The Mournes from my front garden....I miss home :-[
(http://file016b.bebo.com/1/large/2007/05/31/21/11577298a4548606759b700951163l.jpg)
Post by: Square Ball on October 10, 2008, 07:00:56 PM
is you garden flooded Downgirl?  ;)
Post by: downgirl on October 10, 2008, 07:15:50 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on October 10, 2008, 07:00:56 PM
is you garden flooded Downgirl?  ;)

Yes I just added the seaweed to make it look authentic  :P

Here's one where it's not flooded  :P

(http://file018b.bebo.com/3/large/2006/09/17/12/11577298a2047395725b172137576l.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 10, 2008, 07:35:04 PM
A camel who can't read (He must be from Roscommon)
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/egypt087.jpg)

It looked a hell of a lot nicer in the brochure
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/egypt085.jpg)

I think they are all dead
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/egypt069.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 04:22:56 PM
Time to bring this back from the dead.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/IMG_0463.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/432fbe58.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 04:47:21 PM
Good man Ziggy.
I was out in Bull Island this morning trying to learn how to use my new DSLR.

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland1.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland2.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland3.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland4.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland5.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2010, 04:48:33 PM
Great photos RTLL. I particularly like the first one. You've a good eye.
Post by: ross4life on August 28, 2010, 05:21:44 PM
I'll upload some of the better ones later

Athens in Feb
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG6112.jpg)
Chicago
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400398.jpg)

Chicago Bulls game
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400330.jpg)

Crazy geese in Malmo
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4817.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on August 28, 2010, 05:36:55 PM
Las Vegas

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1040082.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/Picture052z.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400468.jpg)

Stardust gone but not forgotten

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400465.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on August 28, 2010, 09:25:58 PM
Zadar, Croatia

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4326.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4283.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4317.jpg)
Post by: sammymaguire on August 28, 2010, 10:36:29 PM
Just spotted this thread today, some cracking posts and pics on here from all over the world, gonna have to make the effort to stick a couple of my own efforts on here
Post by: Wee Shea on August 28, 2010, 10:43:23 PM
Some class pictures here lads, if you don't mind me asking how much did you spend on your cameras?

Laoislad especially, your pics at the top of this page are class.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2010, 11:08:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 04:47:21 PM
Good man Ziggy.
I was out in Bull Island this morning trying to learn how to use my new DSLR.

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland1.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland2.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland3.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland4.jpg)
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/BullIsland5.jpg)
What camera did you buy in the end?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 11:19:40 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 28, 2010, 10:43:23 PM
Some class pictures here lads, if you don't mind me asking how much did you spend on your cameras?

Thanks Wee Shea,I'm only learning though. I only recently bought a proper camera.
Had only small digital cameras before that.
I spent €599 on camera and €200 on ebay for a few 2nd hand lenses
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 11:21:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 28, 2010, 11:08:56 PM
What camera did you buy in the end?

Bought a Sony Alpha 500
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/sony-a500.jpg)
Post by: Wee Shea on August 28, 2010, 11:27:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2010, 11:19:40 PM
Quote from: Wee Shea on August 28, 2010, 10:43:23 PM

Thanks Wee Shea,I'm only learning though. I only recently bought a proper camera.
Had only small digital cameras before that.
I spent €599 on camera and €200 on ebay for a few 2nd hand lenses

You can call me Shea.
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 12:36:35 AM
one more try, and then have to join imageshack at a later date :(

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4094/4879739247_d9e033f6e5.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879739247/)
Mournes 10-08-10 (15) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879739247/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 12:44:30 AM
Got the hang of it, so no stopping me now .....lol

Wild Garlic at sid of road
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4030/4637912483_b5e8bebc10.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4637912483/)
Baltarran walk 9a (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4637912483/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4004/4555597337_7fb24ac386.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4555597337/)
Knockatallon bird nest art work (1) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4555597337/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

Sika Deer Gortan forest park
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4137/4767882151_67652bc5d9.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4767882151/)
Bessie Bell 04-07-10 097 (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4767882151/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

That'll do for a start
Post by: ONeill on August 29, 2010, 12:54:47 AM
See that wild garlic - I was walking down a rampart in East Tyrone last week and twice I smelt a strong reek of garlic. Is that possible?
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 12:55:22 AM
Removed first attempt and posting photos that tried to put up

Ben Crom Reservoir
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4074/4879736451_ffa7f7051e.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879736451/)
Mournes 10-08-10 (10) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879736451/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

Leading to the Hares Gap
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4138/4880351390_47737d8f78.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4880351390/)
Mournes 10-08-10 (20) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4880351390/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

Annalong Village with yacht
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4140/4879743357_2dcd3f4e4b.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879743357/)
Mournes 10-08-10 (23) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4879743357/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

Ok that really me, not want to overdo the thing on thread
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 12:57:45 AM
Yep O'Neill, though seems a bity late in the year, the wild garlic can have a very strong smell, was in Castle Leslie a few years back and the smell was great, will hoke out a few pics of the garlic there, parts of grounds where pure white with it
Post by: ONeill on August 29, 2010, 01:00:35 AM
But i've walked those paths for 20 years and never smelt that. Is it possible for wild garlic to flower in areas it wouldn't have previously? A great help seeing that photo.
Post by: ross4life on August 29, 2010, 01:03:38 AM
Gibraltar

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG2977.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG2954.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG2958.jpg)
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 01:09:04 AM
Not sure how well it seeds, or how the seeds are transported to other areas, there are a couple of different of types as far as I know but think they all look fairly similar just not as big flowering heads or heads not as close together.
The pic I posted had another slightly out of fpcus flowerhead above these and a few bramble stems to one side of it, which I removed in photoshop, was in a sort of tunnel formed by trees so the darkness of shadow is how it was in pic
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 01:16:25 AM
Castle Lselie wild garlic

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2120/1749929678_64c11223be.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/1749929678/)
forest walk 3a (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/1749929678/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

More garlic, ignore the red deer ........lol
(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2270/1749083187_edf1a97324.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/1749083187/)
deer 1b (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/1749083187/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

Think this may be first post on this thread without a typo ....  :P
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 29, 2010, 09:17:18 AM
Quote from: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 01:16:25 AM
Castle Lselie wild garlic

Think this may be first post on this thread without a typo ....  :P

I take it that was intentional  ;)
Post by: give her dixie on August 29, 2010, 11:50:28 AM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3664/3379079392_3bb6c122ec_z.jpg)
Sunrise on the Sahara desert in Libya

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/83/237646772_5c31f81383_z.jpg)
Rapa Nui/Easter Island

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/94/226155923_a82f473e7e_z.jpg)
Salar Uyuni Bolivia

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/80/226155921_df168e70f0_z.jpg)
Sunrise on the Salar Uyuni

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/83/226155917_5c3b71dad0_z.jpg)
Salvador Dali rock in Bolivia

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/74/225973823_8e7c7844f0_z.jpg)
Southern Bolivia
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 29, 2010, 12:02:21 PM
dixie, did you take that one on Easter Island?

Some amazing shots from ross4life, emhain macha and dixie recently on the thread
Post by: give her dixie on August 29, 2010, 12:08:27 PM
Yeah, I was out on Easter Island a few years back, and what an amazing place.
I have another couple of shots from there, and I will try and post them later.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 29, 2010, 12:15:12 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on August 29, 2010, 12:08:27 PM
Cracker shot and I for one would love to see more of there
Post by: ziggysego on August 29, 2010, 12:29:25 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on August 29, 2010, 12:15:12 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on August 29, 2010, 12:08:27 PM
Cracker shot and I for one would love to see more of there

I'd agree. I'd love to see more too.
Post by: give her dixie on August 29, 2010, 12:40:25 PM
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4079/4937075347_1d2c5cce7a_z.jpg)
Rio De Janerio

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4121/4937074795_7d532fc1ae_z.jpg)
Salar Uyuni with a "Borrowed Flag" from the '05 banquet at Citywest.....

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4094/4937660270_d5a57753e0_z.jpg)
Machu Picchu

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/76/229283504_2839d12881_z.jpg)
Machu Picchu

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/86/226195073_975253d84f_z.jpg?zz=1)
Lake Ticicata, Peru

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/60/227679927_53337b2d09_z.jpg)
Bolivia

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/96/247424429_8c80de4699_z.jpg?zz=1)
Salar Uyuni

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/92/247424390_822cb099fc_z.jpg?zz=1)
Sunrise on the Salar Uyuni
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 12:54:44 PM
El, of course it was intentional,  ;)

Watch out if googling for Easter Island pics, got a virus off site I tried to get some pics from to show someone who had never heard of it.
Desktop Security 2010, was a beggar to remove, kept throwing up those warnings your computer infected and download removal tool, as if ya would .......lol

Dixie, great photos, just a pity not got the O'Neills flag flying on the reed boat, though as an Armagh man perhaps shouldn't say that ...lol
Post by: emainmacha on August 29, 2010, 01:56:38 PM
Couldn't resist the urge, give her dixie, if you want it removed let me know and I will delete it.

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4140/4937243719_1508f8d34b.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4937243719/)
Give her dixie photoshop (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4937243719/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr
Post by: Main Street on August 29, 2010, 02:03:04 PM
It does put a stain on a magnificent photo

Those mountains are spectacular.
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2010, 03:20:10 PM
(http://deiseach.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/rivaldo-takes-a-corner.jpeg?w=600&h=480)
Post by: ross4life on August 29, 2010, 03:32:56 PM
Golden gate bridge San Francisco

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5765.jpg)

Golden gate bridge Lisbon (25 de Abril Bridge)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG3990.jpg)

Venice Italy

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400902.jpg)

Sunset in Lahinch Co Clare

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/SA400049.jpg)
Post by: Orior on August 30, 2010, 08:07:31 PM
Beach on Amalfi Coast, Italy

(http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/4079/amalfi126.jpg)
Post by: Orior on August 30, 2010, 08:11:04 PM
The walled city of Dubrovnik

(http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/1479/dubrovnik077.jpg)
Post by: Orior on August 30, 2010, 08:12:53 PM
Rathlin Island Lighthouse

(http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/3158/oct2009029.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 30, 2010, 08:36:48 PM
Fav pic of my own, would have been better without the reflection of the twat

(http://i840.photobucket.com/albums/zz327/Pints_bucket/penguine1.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on August 30, 2010, 09:29:11 PM
Gran Canaria sand dunes
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5840.jpg)

Timanfaya Volcano Lanzarote
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5993.jpg)

Black beach in Lanzarote
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG6010.jpg)

Green Lagoon Lanzarote
(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG6012.jpg)
Post by: Orior on August 30, 2010, 09:44:51 PM
Please post photos of the nudists in the Gran Canaria sand dunes. (Preferrably of the young fit female kind)
Post by: ziggysego on August 30, 2010, 09:56:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 30, 2010, 08:36:48 PM
Fav pic of my own, would have been better without the reflection of the t**t

(http://i840.photobucket.com/albums/zz327/Pints_bucket/penguine1.jpg)

Cool photo. Put the lens up against the glass and that'll sort that out... next time.
Post by: ross4life on August 30, 2010, 10:02:22 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 30, 2010, 09:44:51 PM
Please post photos of the nudists in the Gran Canaria sand dunes. (Preferrably of the young fit female kind)

Post by: ziggysego on August 30, 2010, 10:39:28 PM
(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0556.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0539.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0528.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0518.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0517.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0511.jpg)

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/Developing%20my%20skills/IMG_0508.jpg)
Post by: emainmacha on August 31, 2010, 12:41:26 AM
Birds of the feathered variety

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4057/4651190060_bd89652b3a.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651190060/)
moira game fair 09 Harris Hawk (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651190060/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4024/4650572607_4614e2fc3f.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4650572607/)
moira game fair 09 094a (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4650572607/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4002/4651190564_0e1e824029.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651190564/)
moira game fair 09 090a (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651190564/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4015/4651189508_79b80ebaed.jpg) (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651189508/)
moira game fair 09 Saker Falcon flight (http://www.flickr.com/photos/16144312@N07/4651189508/) by emainmacha (http://www.flickr.com/people/16144312@N07/), on Flickr
Post by: ross4life on September 01, 2010, 12:20:54 AM
Flam Norway

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4775.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG4772.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 04:31:00 PM
Füssen Germany

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5238.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5236.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5261.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5227.jpg)

Post by: ziggysego on October 07, 2010, 04:34:48 PM
Some photos Ross. Germany's a beautiful country.
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 04:54:15 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 07, 2010, 04:34:48 PM
Some photos Ross. Germany's a beautiful country.

Indeed it is & Füssen is only a couple of kilometres to Austria another beautiful country! here's the view of the Alps when you arrive into Füssen train station

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5292.jpg)
Post by: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 05:09:51 PM
Ross no offence but some of those photos are awful. The skys are all washed out in most and really as far as I can see you just stood on top of a mountain/cliff/hotel balcony etc and pointed the camera and took the picture. You have no clue how to compose a photo or use the settings on it because if you did those photos you posted over the previous pages of this thread could have been excellent. Do yourself a favour and look up the rule of thirds rule in relation to photography. I'm also calling your bluff on some of the photos like the snake putting its head through the wooden bridge based on the rest of your photos there is no way you took that photo as that was takin by someone with a large amount of knowledge of photography which you don't. So I reckon your a bit of a bull shiter to be quite honest
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 07, 2010, 05:15:35 PM
Some photos taken while on Honeymoon.

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02617_1.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02647.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02631_1_1092810.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02772.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02890_1.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC02939.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC03042.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC03167.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC03177.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC03196.jpg)

(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/DSC03225.jpg)

Post by: J OGorman on October 07, 2010, 05:17:03 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 05:09:51 PM
Ross no offence but some of those photos are awful. The skys are all washed out in most and really as far as I can see you just stood on top of a mountain/cliff/hotel balcony etc and pointed the camera and took the picture. You have no clue how to compose a photo or use the settings on it because if you did those photos you posted over the previous pages of this thread could have been excellent. Do yourself a favour and look up the rule of thirds rule in relation to photography. I'm also calling your bluff on some of the photos like the snake putting its head through the wooden bridge based on the rest of your photos there is no way you took that photo as that was takin by someone with a large amount of knowledge of photography which you don't. So I reckon your a bit of a bull shiter to be quite honest

(http://www.sportserve.co.uk/pics/ball-sack.gif)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 07, 2010, 05:20:02 PM

aye and your been a shit stirrer   great photos Ross
Post by: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 05:30:41 PM
It's obvious you don't know anything about photography if you think they are good. Ross knows quiet well that he cheated with a few of the shots too as there is no way he took them based on his other photos. He knows it and I know it but I don't expect him to admit it but any one with any formal training in photography would see that he is passing off photos as his that aren't his, the evidence doesn't lie either he did take the good photos and the really really bad photos aren't his or the other way around.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 07, 2010, 05:33:17 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 07, 2010, 05:30:41 PM
It's obvious you don't know anything about photography if you think they are good. Ross knows quiet well that he cheated with a few of the shots too as there is no way he took them based on his other photos. He knows it and I know it but I don't expect him to admit it but any one with any formal training in photography would see that he is passing off photos as his that aren't his, the evidence doesn't lie either he did take the good photos and the really really bad photos aren't his or the other way around.

throw up a few of your photo's henry just so we can compare an experts to someone who hasn't a clue about photograpy
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 05:43:16 PM

All my photo's it's a lizard in a wooden bench Near Zadar Croatia BTW & i never said i was an expert photographer but i have have an Cert in photograpic visual awareness so trust me i know better than most on "how to take a photo"

TBH Your missing the point of the thread title

P.S good photos RLL

Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 07, 2010, 05:33:17 PM

throw up a few of your photo's henry just so we can compare an experts to someone who hasn't a clue about photograpy

Hey Deel someone could throw up a few Tipp 2010 All Ireland pics to continue the cranky mood on the newbie  ;)

Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 05:43:40 PM

What's the rule of turds in photography about?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 07, 2010, 05:44:34 PM
Hope I'm not going to be ridiculed by Henry but I'll take my chances  :-\

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/honeymoon2017_2.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/honeymoon2017_1.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/Honeymoon020.jpg)

And this one was actually 15 photos and I sitched them together in photoshop,I moved the camera ever so slightly with each photo to get them to line up as best I could,pretty happy with how it turned out...Hope King Henry likes it  :-[

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/NewYorkPanorama.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 06:10:46 PM
there is no way he took them based on his other photos. He knows it and I know it but I don't expect him to admit it 

So you want my SD cards, screen shots of all my photos or receipts of all the places i've been to????? & everyone take's good/bad photos & BTW I've won prizes at agricultural shows with some of the photos I've posted here

Can't wait to see yours  8)
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 06:14:56 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 06:10:46 PM
BTW I've won prizes at agricultural shows

I knew I recognised you.
(http://www.stockphotopro.com/photo-thumbs-2/stockphotopro_3816205KVR_no_title.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 06:21:50 PM
Well done Muppet you really know how to pick the right composition of a photo
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 06:26:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 06:21:50 PM
Well done Muppet you really know how to pick the right composition of a photo

I know my rule of turd.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 07, 2010, 06:41:11 PM
(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs358.snc3/29508_399824607021_531867021_4021648_6213358_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs281.snc3/27708_396346732021_531867021_3939334_3664907_n.jpg)

A couple I took in Oregon, not a professional by any means but I like them...
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 07, 2010, 07:12:23 PM
Lots of good pics in here, keep it up folks.  I am too shy to post any of mine

I love contrasts in colour or black n white
Post by: Hardy on October 07, 2010, 07:17:11 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 06:10:46 PM
I've won prizes at agricultural shows with some of the photos I've posted here

Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 07:23:58 PM
Don't laugh at my small claim to fame

(http://www.funnydogsite.com/pictures/Sad_Face.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on October 07, 2010, 07:28:56 PM
What kind of a fish is that?
Post by: armaghniac on October 07, 2010, 09:18:55 PM
This is a cat picture
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4146/5060752692_f8ff6874b6.jpg)

This is a Pest
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4080/5060141239_5d21746ddd.jpg)

This is a long river
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4150/5060141011_021759e11e.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2010, 11:23:16 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 05:43:16 PM

All my photo's it's a lizard in a wooden bench Near Zadar Croatia BTW & i never said i was an expert photographer but i have have an Cert in photograpic visual awareness so trust me i know better than most on "how to take a photo"

TBH Your missing the point of the thread title

P.S good photos RLL

Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 07, 2010, 05:33:17 PM

Hey Deel someone could throw up a few Tipp 2010 All Ireland pics to continue the cranky mood on the newbie  ;)

i don't think he is a kilkenny man at all Ross . Are you having trouble downloading your photo's henry ?
Post by: aontroim on October 08, 2010, 01:55:34 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 07, 2010, 06:41:11 PM

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs281.snc3/27708_396346732021_531867021_3939334_3664907_n.jpg)

A couple I took in Oregon, not a professional by any means but I like them...

Multnomah Falls by the look of it Dinny - very popular spot to take a picture - was there many years ago now long before dSLRs and the like were as popular so my pics weren't great to say the least!
Post by: isourboydownyet on October 08, 2010, 02:05:39 PM
great photos laoislad,was the ones from the roof top from rockefeller?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 08, 2010, 02:13:46 PM
Hey Ross
Some good photos there. I am probably showing my ignorance but where is this http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5227.jpg

Didn't link it to stop crowding the thread.
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 03:12:38 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on October 08, 2010, 02:13:46 PM
Hey Ross
Some good photos there. I am probably showing my ignorance but where is this http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/CIMG5227.jpg

Didn't link it to stop crowding the thread.

Cheers Norf

It's the Neuschwanstein Castle in Füssen Germany which i took on Tuesday & from what i believe it's the inspiration for Disneyland's Sleeping Beauty Castle.
Post by: Puckoon on October 08, 2010, 03:27:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 07, 2010, 09:18:55 PM
This is a cat picture
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4146/5060752692_f8ff6874b6.jpg)

This is a Pest

This is a long river
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4150/5060141011_021759e11e.jpg)

From the Buda side. Nice picture.
Post by: Puckoon on October 08, 2010, 03:30:39 PM
Its the parliment building, if I recall correctly?
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 03:31:28 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 07, 2010, 09:18:55 PM

This is a Pest

Budapest is one of the most picturesque cites in Europe & that's one of the most spectacular buildings I've seen on my travels
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 08, 2010, 04:26:19 PM
Taken on my phone

(http://i52.tinypic.com/r1et93.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 07:13:50 PM
Gabriel is that the O2 Dublin?

Vallejo Discovery Kingdom

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1030875.jpg)

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1030878.jpg)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 08, 2010, 08:34:21 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 07:13:50 PMGabriel is that the O2 Dublin?

nah - Air Canada Centre a few months back
Post by: caughtredhanded on October 08, 2010, 09:45:31 PM
Caloundra on the Queensland Sunshine coast at dawn.
(http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/4089/019don.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 08, 2010, 10:37:40 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 07:13:50 PM
Gabriel is that the O2 Dublin?

Vallejo Discovery Kingdom

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1030875.jpg)

No harm to you R4L, but what the feck are you doing posting a picture of wire (in focus, with a blurred animal behind)?

Edit: King Henry might have a point  :D
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 10:43:16 PM
Thought it was a unique shot "caged tiger" 
Post by: Olly on October 08, 2010, 10:43:32 PM
(http://21stcenturywaves.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/apollo08_earthrise.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 08, 2010, 10:48:57 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 10:43:16 PM

Sorry, and King Henry might like me here, but you needed a bit of DoF (Depth of Field) in that photo in that case -- alternatively, if you had the tiger sharp and the wire blurred then job done. But, for me, it's just wire with a furry animal in the background.  :'(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 08, 2010, 10:55:38 PM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on October 08, 2010, 09:45:31 PM
Caloundra on the Queensland Sunshine coast at dawn.

Good man, well captured.

Feck off Olly!  ;)
Post by: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 10:59:19 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 08, 2010, 10:48:57 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 10:43:16 PM

Sorry, and King Henry might like me here, but you needed a bit of DoF (Depth of Field) in that photo in that case -- alternatively, if you had the tiger sharp and the wire blurred then job done. But, for me, it's just wire with a furry animal in the background.  :'(

Like this?

http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1030877.jpg
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 08, 2010, 11:02:34 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 10:59:19 PM
Like this?

http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/P1030877.jpg

Cracker! Good man!  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on October 08, 2010, 11:43:19 PM
I want a  gravestone like this.
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4107/5063637162_a8fd3b9bec.jpg)
Post by: rosnarun on October 09, 2010, 12:19:01 AM
a school in Soshanguve south afrca

(http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d33/rosnarun/af2/Photo0777-1.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 09, 2010, 03:34:56 PM
Quote from: isourboydownyet on October 08, 2010, 02:05:39 PM
great photos laoislad,was the ones from the roof top from rockefeller?

Thanks isourboydownyet,and yes you are correct those two were from top of Rockefeller
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 17, 2010, 05:27:21 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 15, 2008, 09:24:10 PM
Use this thread to post pictures you have taken, are proud of and want to show off to the rest of the world :)

I flew over to London at the weekend and I decided to take a few shots from the airplane. I hope you enjoy them.

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-1.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-2.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-3.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-4.gif)

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/pic-5.gif)

I thought You couldn't use cameras on planes!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 17, 2010, 05:32:27 AM

Get a life.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 17, 2010, 05:36:53 AM
Quote from: Orior on August 30, 2010, 08:11:04 PM
The walled city of Dubrovnik

(http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/1479/dubrovnik077.jpg)

Class city, was there in 1990
Post by: deiseach on October 17, 2010, 12:04:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 08, 2010, 11:43:19 PM
I want a  gravestone like this.
(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4107/5063637162_a8fd3b9bec.jpg)

Give me all your money and I'll make sure it happens, boss
Post by: armaghniac on October 17, 2010, 12:55:08 PM
QuoteGive me all your money and I'll make sure it happens, boss

I don't think I have enough money for this job. How could you build it for a reasonable price, are you planning to use a crowd of Indians or something?
Post by: gerry on October 28, 2010, 06:29:29 PM
(http://www.chilloutpoint.com/images/2010/10/unbelivable-non-photoshopped-images/unbelivable-non-photoshopped-images-46.jpg)
Post by: Onion Bag on October 28, 2010, 10:01:23 PM
That f**ker is horned to the teeth!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 28, 2010, 10:04:41 PM
The bull gets his own back....good enough for the hoor....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 23, 2010, 06:48:14 PM
I was in Longford today and on the way back to Dublin I stopped at what I think is called Lough Ennell just outside Mullingar.
Most of it was frozen over.

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03452.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03426.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03422.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03410.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03405.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03401.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03379.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03381.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03387.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03392-2.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/DSC03368.jpg)

Post by: Orior on December 23, 2010, 07:55:09 PM
Very good LaoisLad
Post by: heffo on December 23, 2010, 08:02:45 PM
Great pics LaoisLad
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 23, 2010, 08:55:52 PM
Here's one I took out the back this evening!

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/Laois-3.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on December 23, 2010, 09:05:40 PM
LADIS Austrian village  ;)
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2010, 09:08:23 PM
Quote from: ross4life on December 23, 2010, 09:05:40 PM
LADIS Austrian village  ;)

(http://www.fitquickies.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/LM-LanisFitQuickies-CD3-Large.jpg)
Post by: muppet on December 23, 2010, 11:59:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 23, 2010, 08:55:52 PM

Orrisette?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2010, 03:45:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 23, 2010, 08:55:52 PM

Put that bike in the shed.
Post by: Orior on December 25, 2010, 03:28:37 PM
Somewhere in Beal Feirste

(http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/6056/garden2i.jpg)
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on December 25, 2010, 05:44:30 PM
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/Antrim%20GAA%20and%20moments/1-1.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/163240_1617489352033_1080353245_1656439_1442386_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/163240_1617489312032_1080353245_1656438_3547781_n.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2011, 10:10:52 PM
(http://legault.perso.sfr.fr/eclipse110104_solar_transit_33.jpg)

Amazing photo of the recent eclipse showing the ISS transit across the sun.
Post by: laoisgaa on January 07, 2011, 11:59:18 PM
Some of my Christmas snaps
(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs737.ash1/163025_1781933511406_1331500316_1969055_6386238_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166385_1781933831414_1331500316_1969058_6951609_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1335.snc4/162742_1781934311426_1331500316_1969064_7526092_n.jpg)

(http://l30.sphotos.l3.fbcdn.net/hphotos-l3-snc4/hs1218.snc4/156999_1781935311451_1331500316_1969069_2892586_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs009.ash2/33806_1781935511456_1331500316_1969071_7741131_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs014.snc6/166483_1781937671510_1331500316_1969083_3256135_n.jpg)

(http://l30.sphotos.l3.fbcdn.net/hphotos-l3-snc4/hs1360.snc4/163270_1781941511606_1331500316_1969106_4872736_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1386.snc4/163882_1781944271675_1331500316_1969121_7705016_n.jpg)

(http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs015.snc6/166552_1781946591733_1331500316_1969130_5396153_n.jpg)
Post by: CiKe on January 15, 2011, 10:30:38 AM
Just spent half an hour trying to upload photos from Imageshack, but they ended up being massive - could not see all the photo without scrolling down and across. How do I sort that?
Post by: Square Ball on February 10, 2012, 09:27:16 PM
World Press Photo winner 2011

some good ones in here, not impressed with some of them

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-16979784 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-16979784)
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 10, 2012, 10:12:09 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 10, 2012, 09:27:16 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-16979784 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-16979784)

I see Ray McManus founder of Sportsfile won 2nd prize in the sports category for this effort

(http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2012/02/sportsfile-630x426.jpg)
Post by: Denn Forever on February 10, 2012, 10:23:52 PM
Wow.  That looks like a still from a Video game.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 10, 2012, 11:07:37 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 10, 2012, 10:23:52 PM
Wow.  That looks like a still from a Video game.
It's a great shot.
Post by: ONeill on February 10, 2012, 11:12:00 PM
Obviously fake. There's no way yer man's arm can stretch that length.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 10, 2012, 11:15:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 10, 2012, 11:12:00 PM
Obviously fake. There's no way yer man's arm can stretch that length.
No Hill photoshop entries?
Post by: ross4life on February 10, 2012, 11:30:14 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 10, 2012, 09:27:16 PM

Good stuff SB, Maria the drug addict and Never Let You Go Alzheimer's disease pictures were particularly striking.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 10, 2012, 11:39:47 PM
Maria is a sex worker too. You'd need to be in a bad way to get up on Maria.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 10, 2012, 11:56:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 10, 2012, 11:39:47 PM
Maria is a sex worker too. You'd need to be in a bad way to get up on Maria.
Some of Sinead O'Connor ex husbands/partners?
Post by: muppet on March 09, 2012, 05:05:18 PM
Funnel cloud over Clew Bay:

(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/463239_3478863254209_1350099270_3293180_726292960_o.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on March 09, 2012, 07:23:24 PM
You didn't take this Minder...  ???
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2012, 08:26:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 09, 2012, 07:23:24 PM
Muppet. You and him.
Post by: muppet on March 09, 2012, 08:29:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 09, 2012, 07:23:24 PM

Eh, no Ted.

I couldn't find the other photo thread so I put it here.
Post by: ross4life on April 27, 2012, 04:56:34 PM
A cloud photo published in our local newspaper this week, was taken in Strokestown i understand.

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/581351_10150842521464188_611059187_11957821_1554586098_n.jpg)

Post by: ziggysego on April 27, 2012, 05:27:55 PM
The north looks pretty dark.
Post by: armaghniac on April 27, 2012, 05:43:29 PM
QuoteA cloud photo published in our local newspaper this week, was taken in Strokestown i understand.

I like the way that Mayo is basically white space.

QuoteThe north looks pretty dark.

The Black North.

Post by: Gazzler on April 27, 2012, 06:05:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 27, 2012, 05:27:55 PM
The north looks pretty dark.
It also looks that way in the above picture.
Post by: Fluffy Che on April 28, 2012, 10:33:38 AM
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/716/032rv.jpg/

Antrim Coast.
Post by: muppet on April 29, 2012, 01:10:39 AM
(http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/385572_400100226691096_111400652227723_1262618_1696423269_n.jpg)
Post by: moysider on May 03, 2012, 11:41:55 AM
Quote from: ross4life on April 27, 2012, 04:56:34 PM
A cloud photo published in our local newspaper this week, was taken in Strokestown i understand.

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/581351_10150842521464188_611059187_11957821_1554586098_n.jpg)

Typical Rossie. Dismissing Mayo from the picture :'(
Post by: ziggysego on July 05, 2012, 12:25:41 AM
Took this in Omagh this evening. It was 7.30 and still very bright, but I tried experiencing with the camera settings.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/IMG_5029.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 12:33:09 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 05, 2012, 12:25:41 AM
Took this in Omagh this evening. It was 7.30 and still very bright, but I tried experiencing with the camera settings.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/IMG_5029.jpg)

And what did you and the settings experience together?
Maybe you should just try experimenting with them next time.
Post by: ziggysego on July 05, 2012, 12:42:42 AM
I think I should just head to bed laoislad  ;D
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 12:55:25 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 05, 2012, 12:42:42 AM
I think I should just head to bed laoislad  ;D
So you can experience some more with your camera settings.
Dirty bastard.
Post by: Minder on October 17, 2013, 10:14:36 PM
Not really the correct thread but.......

http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/winners-of-the-wildlife-photographer-of-the-year-2013

Best wildlife photographs of the year
Post by: orangeman on March 04, 2015, 12:56:42 AM
Again not the correct thread but have a look at this remarkable picture.

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/incredible-photo-captures-weasel-riding-on-the-back-of-a-flying-woodpecker-31036156.html
Post by: Orior on March 04, 2015, 12:42:22 PM
Circle of life.

Do those that cheer the escape of the woodpecker consider the fate of the cute baby weasels that will starve tonight?
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2015, 01:45:49 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 04, 2015, 12:42:22 PM
Circle of life.

Do those that cheer the escape of the woodpecker consider the fate of the cute baby weasels that will starve tonight?

I looks more like a great metaphor for the banks and the burdened (should that be birdbrained?) taxpayers.
Post by: theskull1 on March 04, 2015, 10:31:04 PM
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8089/8452287602_7635fcb1fd_c.jpg)

Handheld long exposure
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2015, 10:49:52 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on March 04, 2015, 10:31:04 PM
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8089/8452287602_7635fcb1fd_c.jpg)

Handheld long exposure
Chapeau sir.
Post by: moysider on June 30, 2015, 10:16:47 PM

Probably asked this before. How does one post photos on this board?
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2015, 11:09:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 30, 2015, 10:16:47 PM

You can't upload photos directly the this forum so you'd need a host, let's say http://www.photobucket.com (http://www.photobucket.com). Just sign-up, upload the picture(s) there and then copy the 'direct' link (both services call it) from the photo's page on PhotoBucket. It's on the right-hand side of the page. Once you have that all you have to do here is paste what you copied into an [i mg]LINK HERE[ /img]tag (I put spaces in that one so it would show). There's a little icon on the post page with a picture on it that will auto-generate the tag for you.
Post by: moysider on June 30, 2015, 11:12:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2015, 11:09:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 30, 2015, 10:16:47 PM

You can't upload photos directly the this forum so you'd need a host, let's say http://www.photobucket.com (http://www.photobucket.com). Just sign up to either, upload the picture(s) there and then copy the 'direct' link (both services call it) from the photo's page on PhotoBucket. It's on the right-hand side of the page. Once you have that all you have to do here is paste what you copied into an [i mg]LINK HERE[ /img]tag (I put spaces in that one so it would show). There's a little icon in the post page with a picture on it that will auto-generate the tag for you.

Why so complicated?
Post by: give her dixie on November 07, 2015, 11:10:17 PM
Thought I would post a few photos from Bolivia seeing as Evo Morales is in town, the President of Bolivia.

(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10398815_12006294313_3398_n.jpg?oh=a39e306134399266e286b99fab6ad444&oe=56B82CC1)

(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10398815_12006304313_4260_n.jpg?oh=7cd5c11770466eefd436d582187334e7&oe=56C8C8AD)

(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/10398815_12006314313_4844_n.jpg?oh=acfda0a3b1c21adde960c7d536b035c9&oe=56C338CC)

(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/v/t1.0-9/396773_10150606795634314_1215071742_n.jpg?oh=378a5aec1b3c39da1a757dd9a2b9caac&oe=56AEAE93)

(//)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2015, 11:19:11 PM
Very nice dixie. Apart from the last one obviously  ;D
Post by: give her dixie on November 07, 2015, 11:50:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2015, 11:19:11 PM
Very nice dixie. Apart from the last one obviously  ;D

Well the least he could have done was come to Tyrone and returned the visit.....

Post by: moysider on March 01, 2017, 08:57:32 PM

Thinking of buying a new camera. Wildlife my main interest so I know the lens will probably be the costliest bit. Any suggestions? I'm prepared to spend a bit.
Post by: theskull1 on March 02, 2017, 01:13:50 PM
Id go to a digital photography site (e.g https://www.dpreview.com/ (https://www.dpreview.com/) ) and read the forums to build a sense of what will suit your needs and budget

Post by: Sandino on April 04, 2017, 03:06:48 PM
What's the craic  is this value for money?

12 Megapixel Digital SLR camera
3X Optical Zoom
ISO range 100-6400

canon-eos-1100d.cfm

Like new condition!
Comes with 8GB Sandick Ultra SD card and a Canon Bag!
£180. Thinking of buying for my son, he's trying to step up to SLR's.
Post by: GJL on January 06, 2019, 12:53:53 AM
An unashamed plug. My kids made this video with their playmobil toys last night and I'm trying to increase their views for them. Have a wee look. Thanks.

https://youtu.be/3C3DkQq2mDs (https://youtu.be/3C3DkQq2mDs)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2019, 12:59:49 AM
Quote from: GJL on January 06, 2019, 12:53:53 AM
An unashamed plug. My kids made this video with their playmobil toys last night and I'm trying to increase their views for them. Have a wee look. Thanks.

Very good  ;D A lot of work in that.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 06, 2019, 01:03:54 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2019, 12:59:49 AM

Very good  ;D A lot of work in that.
Good stuff well done.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 06, 2019, 01:12:35 AM

;D Love it. Well done to your kids. Plenty of time spent by them on that. My kids get glued to animated videos on YouTube, plenty of which are not as good quality as that.

Do any of your kids watch the videos  with Spider-Man or the Hulk wondering around getting in and out of various vehicles to the tune of "muffin Man"?
Post by: laoislad on January 06, 2019, 12:30:08 PM
That's excellent well done to your kids.
Post by: GJL on January 06, 2019, 02:15:50 PM
Thank lads. I must say it was enjoyable setting it up and getting them going. We used an app called stop motion studio pro. Great app that makes editing easy.

Benny, not sure if they watch that but some of the crap they watch is mind numbing so I figured it would be more constructive to make videos that just watch them.
Post by: armaghniac on January 06, 2019, 03:44:57 PM

Good job and great to get them making something like this.
Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2019, 04:33:05 PM
That would get an A in Moving Images GCSE!
Post by: Over the Bar on January 06, 2019, 07:30:16 PM
Tony Hart would've been proud of that! 
Post by: trailer on January 06, 2019, 08:57:37 PM

Iontach maith.
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2019, 09:11:13 PM

Great stuff. Well done.
Those hospital porters look like they were trained by Ryanair.
Post by: GJL on January 06, 2019, 09:22:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2019, 04:33:05 PM

Thanks for all the positive comments. It was done by a P7 and a P5. They did 90% of it themselves. I just helped set up the camera etc. Id say they will do a few more in the coming weeks. I'd recommend the app to any of you that have kids this age. Great fun.
Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2019, 09:29:11 PM
This could be a series. Can they recreate Conor Gormley's block in '03?
Post by: GJL on January 06, 2019, 09:50:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2019, 09:29:11 PM
This could be a series. Can they recreate Conor Gormley's block in '03?

Lol. Leave that with me. I might do the disputed point from the 95 final first and clear up that argument.
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2019, 10:41:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2019, 04:33:05 PM

I know you teach in La Salle (still?) but that can't be a real course ffs.
Post by: Tyrdub on January 07, 2019, 10:16:32 AM

Brilliant 10/10
Post by: Hound on November 15, 2021, 07:45:15 AM
The belly duel is superb!
Post by: tbrick18 on November 16, 2021, 03:53:47 PM
I have a 14year old who has an interest in photography (well as interested as you can be at 14).
I was thinking of getting him a camera of some description for christmas, but I haven't the first clue about what makes a decent camera and what makes a rubbish camera.
Can anyone give any recommendations? Something under £100 that's not pure rubbish?
Or am I aiming to high with that budget?

TIA

Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 16, 2021, 03:57:57 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 16, 2021, 03:53:47 PM
I have a 14year old who has an interest in photography (well as interested as you can be at 14).
I was thinking of getting him a camera of some description for christmas, but I haven't the first clue about what makes a decent camera and what makes a rubbish camera.
Can anyone give any recommendations? Something under £100 that's not pure rubbish?

TIA

Its all about the lens!!

Ive a decent camera, takes cracking photos but head down to the pitch and try taking some pics of a game or so its doesn't look as good. Bigger lens will allow to get a better shot, might invest in a better lens and attach t to the Nikon camera I have.

mine was over £250
Post by: JoG2 on November 16, 2021, 06:25:17 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 16, 2021, 03:53:47 PM

TIA

I'm assuming the 14 year old has a smart phone? A camera under a 100 wouldn't be any better I wouldn't have thought. Entry level SLRs are £300 and up. Lens a Kings ransom on top
The Kodak PixPro AZ421 is a bridge camera that looks the part,  like a small SLR but with a permanent lens. Cheaper in Curry's than Argos after a quick check there.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 18, 2021, 12:34:58 PM
Cheers for all the info!
As I suspected, my budget is a bit light for anything semi-decent.

I happened to see a wee 2nd hand camera for sale on Facebook Marketplace near were we live. It's a Canon Powershot SX500 IS and had good reviews online for what it is.
I got it for £50. It looks like its hardly been used and seems to be working fine as expected.
My thinking is, let him get a feel for it with this Camera, if it's not just a passing notion we can always look for something decent. If, as I suspect might happen, he looks at it for day then it disappears behind a bed never to be seen again then at least I haven't spent a fortune.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 18, 2021, 12:55:41 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 18, 2021, 12:34:58 PM
Cheers for all the info!
As I suspected, my budget is a bit light for anything semi-decent.

I happened to see a wee 2nd hand camera for sale on Facebook Marketplace near were we live. It's a Canon Powershot SX500 IS and had good reviews online for what it is.
I got it for £50. It looks like its hardly been used and seems to be working fine as expected.
My thinking is, let him get a feel for it with this Camera, if it's not just a passing notion we can always look for something decent. If, as I suspect might happen, he looks at it for day then it disappears behind a bed never to be seen again then at least I haven't spent a fortune.

Yes that's the best approach, I'm looking to get a new lens for mine, which will probably cost more than the camera!

I've a good mate who was a freelance photographer now works for the Mirror group (though I'm entirely sure how it works tbh) any way he makes a clean fortune! Obviously during the troubles there was plenty opportunity to get the 'right' picture and so on but with NI becoming a directors locations for films we get plenty of stars, which make photos very profitable.

He manages to get the breakfast in bed shot of Miss NI in the hotel the next day after they win, he's also did a promo for De Niro when he was promoting Nobu chain with celebrity chef Nobu Matsuhisa and film producer Meir Teper,  The trio now co-own scores of Nobu restaurants and hotels across five continents, so he was basically flying around in their private jet taking photo's!!

Obviously these are the best things about the job, the day to day mundane shots standing outside the courts can be boring as feck!