Author Topic: McKenna Cup 2018  (Read 752425 times)

never kickt a ball

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2485
  • hypocRiTEs
    • View Profile
Re: McKenna Cup 2018
« Reply #6390 on: February 17, 2018, 09:43:27 PM »
Dr McKenna Cup final: Donegal deny Red Hands

February 17, 2018

Donegal's first-half goal is chipped in by Martin McElhinney against Tyrone in the Dr McKenna Cup final
Donegal finished strongly to thwart Tyrone's bid for a seventh successive Dr McKenna Cup title at the Athletic Grounds this evening.

Declan Bonner's side have nothing to show for three promising performances in the Allianz FL Division 1 to date but they got their hands on some silverware thanks to a 1-16 to 1-12 victory over the Red Hand County.

A lively encounter saw Harry Loughran (Tyrone) and Martin McElhinney trade goals in the opening quarter and the Tir Chonaill oufit led by 1-9 to 1-6 at the change of ends.

Michael Murphy came off the bench to replace McElhinney early in the second-half and he contributed three points to his county's cause.

Niall O'Donnell and Paul Brennan also made an impression on the scoresheet while the Donegal defence did well to hold Mickey Harte's men scoreless in the closing stages.

It represents Donegal's first success in the competition since 2010 and is a timely boost ahead of next weekend's must-win league fixture against Kildare.

Donegal - Shaun Patton; Stephen McMenamin, Conor Morrison, Frank McGlynn (0-1); Eamonn Doherty, Paul Brennan (0-2), Dáire O'Baoill (0-2); Odhrán Mac Niallais (0-1), Hugh McFadden; Ciaran Thompson (0-1), Martin McElhinney (1-1), Mark McHugh; Caolan McGonagle, Stephen McBrearty, Marty O'Reilly (0-2, 1f). Subs: Niall O'Donnell (0-3) for S McBrearty (24); Michael Murphy (0-3, 2f) for McElhinney (41); Nathan Mullins for O'Reilly (45); Caolan Ward for McGlynn (53); Brendan McCole for McGonagle (64); Neil McGee for Doherty (70)

Tyrone - Mickey O'Neill; Aidan McCrory, Cathal McCarron (0-1), Brendan Burns; Michael Cassidy, Ronan McNabb, Kieran McGeary (0-1); Padraig Hampsey, Ben McDonnell; Declan McClure (0-1), Harry Loughran (1-1), Conal McCann (0-1); Darren McCurry (0-1), Ronan McHugh, Ronan O'Neill (0-6, 5f). Subs: Matthew Donnelly for McClure (40); Cathal McShane for Cassidy (41); Peter Harte for McGeary (42); Hugh Pat McGeary for McCrory (50); Conor Meyler for McDonnell (53); Niall Sludden for Loughran (60)

Ref: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

never kickt a ball

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2485
  • hypocRiTEs
    • View Profile
Re: McKenna Cup 2018
« Reply #6391 on: February 17, 2018, 09:48:21 PM »

Bonnar happy

Dr McKenna Cup final: Donegal 1-16 Tyrone 1-12

1 hour ago
Donegal manager Declan Bonner is pleased with his side's McKenna Cup win
Donegal have ended Tyrone's dominance of the McKenna Cup after coming out on top an entertaining final at the Athletic Grounds.

Tyrone were denied a seventh straight title as Donegal registered their first McKenna Cup success since 2010.

Harry Loughran and Martin McElhinney exchanged first-half goals as Donegal won out by 1-16 to 1-12.

Donegal's Michael Murphy came off the bench to score three points and steer his side to a deserved win.

Tyrone finished the game with just 14 men after captain Matthew Donnelly was shown a second yellow card during a tense finish.

The two neighbours will renew their rivalry in just two week's time when they meet in round five of the National League.

Forward dominance

Martin McElhinney's first-half goal gave Donegal a three point lead at half time
Martin McElhinney's first-half goal gave Donegal a three point lead at half time
Colm Cavanagh's expected return to action for Tyrone was postponed as the All Star midfielder was one of several late changes made by both managers before throw-in.

The two sides have struggled during the opening rounds of the league and took advantage of the change of competition to showcase their attacking threat.

In free flowing start, the teams combined to score a total of 2-8 during the opening 12 minutes.

Donegal had the better of the early exchanges as Declan Bonner's side used their speed of movement to cut through the Tyrone defence with Ciaran Thompson landing the opening score in the first minute.

Tyrone also showed plenty of attacking ambition and took the lead against the run of play when Loughran grabbed the first goal in the seventh minute.

The centre forward got onto Conal McCann's clever pass and kept his composure to side foot his shot under Shaun Patton.

Donegal regained the lead just two minutes later when McElhinney cut through the Tyrone ranks and dinked a clever finish over the on-rushing Mickey O'Neill to score.

Donegal midfielders Odhran MacNiallais and Hugh McFadden were dominating in the centre of the field, which allowed their side to keep the Red Hands at arm's length throughout the first half.

Wing-back Daire O'Baoill scored two points from play and Marty Reilly also converted a free as Donegal moved into a four point lead after half an hour.

Tyrone found some momentum after Kieran McGeary's long-range effort dropped just under the crossbar and Donegal did well to scramble the ball away.

Mickey Harte's men finished the half strongly as a point by Cathal McCarron and a free by Ronan O'Neill meant there was just three between the teams at the break.

Impact substitutes

Hugh McFadden lifts the McKenna Cup for Donegal for the first time since 2010
Hugh McFadden lifts the McKenna Cup for Donegal for the first time since 2010
Tyrone began the second half strongly as McGeary forced a turnover and Declan McClure scored an excellent long-range point.

Niall O'Donnell restored Donegal's three-point lead with the first of three second-half points by the substitute forward.

Harte turned to his bench with the introduction of Matthew Donnelly, Cathal McShane and Peter Harte, while Bonner responded by springing Murphy off the bench in the 41st minute.

O'Neill's free taking was keeping Tyrone in contention and the corner forward briefly drew his side level on 1-10 apiece in the 45th minute after he added three quick scores.

O'Donnell responded with a rapid-fire brace before Murphy showed his class with a superb point that restored Donegal's three-point cushion.

O'Neill and Murphy exchanged further frees before Donnelly was dismissed for a late hit on Thompson that allowed Donegal to clinch the insurance score in injury time.

Tyrone: M O'Neill; A McCrory, C McCarron, B Burns; M Cassidy, R McNabb, K McGeary; P Hampsey, B McDonnell; D McClure, H Loughran, C McCann; D McCurry, R McHugh, R O'Neill.

Replacements: N Morgan, M Donnelly, R Brennan, P Harte, C McAliskey, HP McGeary, C McLaughlin, D Mulgrew, C McShane, C Meyler, N Sludden.

Donegal: S Patton; S McMenamin, C Morrison, F McGlynn; E Doherty, P Brennan, D O'Baoill; O MacNiallais, H McFadden; C Thompson, M McElhinney, M McHugh; C McGonigle, S McBrearty, M Reilly.

Replacements: P Boyle, C McGinley, N O'Donnell, B McCole, N McGee, J McGee, J Brennan, C Ward, M Murphy, D O'Connor.