GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ck on December 11, 2017, 10:57:14 PM

Title: Sigerson Cup 2018
Post by: ck on December 11, 2017, 10:57:14 PM
Sigerson draw has come and gone and hardly arouses any interest anymore. It's a real shame how much this competition is dying a death.

Sigerson Cup Draw 2018
Prem Round
1. AIT v Garda College
2. Trinity v DKIT

Round 1
UCC v Prem 1
NUIG v ITSligo
Queens v ITT
DIT v ITCarlow
St Mary's v UU
UL v CIT
Maynoth v UCD
Prem2 v DCU
Title: Re: Sigerson Cup 2018
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 11, 2017, 11:36:39 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=28349.0
Post by: skeog on December 12, 2017, 05:09:13 AM
Dying a death due to the import scheme some colleges have not real students.
Post by: Rossfan on December 12, 2017, 10:45:00 AM
Good.
Play football with clubs and Counties  (if you're good enough).
Colleges for taxpayer subsidised study/learning not for taxpayer subsidised semi pro football.
Post by: ck on December 13, 2017, 11:54:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 12, 2017, 10:45:00 AM
Good.
Play football with clubs and Counties  (if you're good enough).
Colleges for taxpayer subsidised study/learning not for taxpayer subsidised semi pro football.

Hard to argue with that
Post by: Any craic on January 12, 2018, 09:23:28 PM
UCC appear to be the favorites to win the Sigerson Cup. Here's the views of seven players.. https://youtu.be/1TmDkSMbhhA (https://youtu.be/1TmDkSMbhhA)
Post by: Blowitupref on January 12, 2018, 09:47:32 PM
UCC 9/4
UCD 11/2
DCU 11/2
UUJ 7/1
NUIG 9/1
UL 11/1
Queens 16/1
St Marys 16/1
DIT 20/1
Garda College 33/1
IT Tralee 33/1
NUI Maynooth 33/1
CIT 40/1
IT Carlow 80/1
IT Sligo 80/1
Dundalk IT 200/1
IT Athlone 250/1
Trinity 250/1
Post by: magpie seanie on January 17, 2018, 10:44:00 AM
It was never a competition that did much for me bar one good days drinking after a UCD/Trinity game back in the day. The dodgy eligibility issues over the years have tarnished it a lot. Can be a good standard and enjoyable to watch but impacts too many other aspects of gaelic games. However, I think the history of the competition means it's something that should be preserved but it needs a new place in the calendar where it interferes with no other competitions. Late Nov/early Dec makes sense.
Post by: ck on January 17, 2018, 10:38:33 PM
Yes it has to be pre Christmas to allow it regain some stand alone attention. I would also make it for non county players only
Post by: tippabu on January 17, 2018, 10:44:24 PM
Quote from: ck on January 17, 2018, 10:38:33 PM
Yes it has to be pre Christmas to allow it regain some stand alone attention. I would also make it for non county players only

Taking the county players out would remove all the hype and publicity. 99% of people only follow it to see how lads from their county panel get on.
Post by: Syferus on January 17, 2018, 11:53:23 PM

Say goodbye to GAA scholarships so.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 18, 2018, 12:03:53 AM
Students also have leagues to play which nearly all games are played before Christmas however the Div 1 final is on tomorrow night UCC v UL so i guess that final was pushed back.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 07:05:15 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 17, 2018, 11:53:23 PM

Say goodbye to GAA scholarships so.

Why do GAA players need scholarships? Should they not do as everyone else has to do?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 07:06:31 AM
Quote from: tippabu on January 17, 2018, 10:44:24 PM

Taking the county players out would remove all the hype and publicity. 99% of people only follow it to see how lads from their county panel get on.

How many people attend these games? Bugger all bar a handful of students with nothing better to be doing.
Post by: lenny on January 18, 2018, 07:11:19 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 17, 2018, 10:44:00 AM
It was never a competition that did much for me bar one good days drinking after a UCD/Trinity game back in the day. The dodgy eligibility issues over the years have tarnished it a lot. Can be a good standard and enjoyable to watch but impacts too many other aspects of gaelic games. However, I think the history of the competition means it's something that should be preserved but it needs a new place in the calendar where it interferes with no other competitions. Late Nov/early Dec makes sense.

Let's think of the players for once. Anyone who has played university football will remember it extremely fondly. The players love this competition and as far as I'm concerned it fits nicely into the calendar as it is. Why do we need to cahnge anything? It's over early in the year.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 08:53:49 AM
Quote from: lenny on January 18, 2018, 07:11:19 AM

Let's think of the players for once. Anyone who has played university football will remember it extremely fondly. The players love this competition and as far as I'm concerned it fits nicely into the calendar as it is. Why do we need to cahnge anything? It's over early in the year.

Why?

Because players are being burned out. Most of them will rarely train with university sides as they will be heavily involved with their county at that time. Their only involvement will be turning up at games and the very odd training session close to match day.

If you play senior County football you should not be eligible for university football as a matter of player welfare. Sports scholarships are also wrong. University should be on the basis of academic criteria only. These lads get handed degrees and masters that others have to work hard to both finance and achieve.
Post by: lenny on January 18, 2018, 11:40:57 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 08:53:49 AM

Why?

Because players are being burned out. Most of them will rarely train with university sides as they will be heavily involved with their county at that time. Their only involvement will be turning up at games and the very odd training session close to match day.

If you play senior County football you should not be eligible for university football as a matter of player welfare. Sports scholarships are also wrong. University should be on the basis of academic criteria only. These lads get handed degrees and masters that others have to work hard to both finance and achieve.

Sports scholarships are not exclusive to GAA. Rugby, hockey, soccer, athletics all get scholarships. Why should elite GAA players be disadvantaged by not getting this support for their education. I presume you have evidence that these students don't have to work and are just handed their degrees? I very much doubt that is the case.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 11:47:24 AM
Quote from: lenny on January 18, 2018, 11:40:57 AM

Why?

Sports scholarships are not exclusive to GAA. Rugby, hockey, soccer, athletics all get scholarships. Why should elite GAA players be disadvantaged by not getting this support for their education. I presume you have evidence that these students don't have to work and are just handed their degrees? I very much doubt that is the case.

Sports scholarships are very heavily weighted towards GAA but I never discriminated to begin with, I said sports scholarships are wrong and scholarships should only be awarded on  an academic basis not to benefit those who already benefit enormously from pursuing a hobby.

Plenty of people have to work through and finance themselves while pursuing their studies, many whom also partake in amateur sports teams.

I don't believe people should be given a free pass (literally and figuratively) through university because they are good at a hobby of theirs. I think that is wrong?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 18, 2018, 11:51:36 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 11:47:24 AM

Why?

Sports scholarships are very heavily weighted towards GAA but I never discriminated to begin with, I said sports scholarships are wrong and scholarships should only be awarded on  an academic basis not to benefit those who already benefit enormously from pursuing a hobby.

Plenty of people have to work through and finance themselves while pursuing their studies, many whom also partake in amateur sports teams.

I don't believe people should be given a free pass (literally and figuratively) through university because they are good at a hobby of theirs. I think that is wrong?

It depends on the institution whether the person gets an easier ride or not. I'd suggest that in the better colleges this is not the case.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 11:58:38 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 18, 2018, 11:51:36 AM

Why?

It depends on the institution whether the person gets an easier ride or not. I'd suggest that in the better colleges this is not the case.

I think it will generally depend on how high profile the player is. Guys with big reputations like Joe Canning, Aidan O'Shea, Michael Murphy etc will get their degree, masters etc with no effort required.

The likes of UUJ, DIT, DCU certainly carry lads through on the basis of their sporting ability. I think it's wrong. How much of public money did Aidan Walsh take in order to play football and prioritise his hobby?
Post by: lenny on January 18, 2018, 12:05:10 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 11:58:38 AM

Why?

I think it will generally depend on how high profile the player is. Guys with big reputations like Joe Canning, Aidan O'Shea, Michael Murphy etc will get their degree, masters etc with no effort required.

The likes of UUJ, DIT, DCU certainly carry lads through on the basis of their sporting ability. I think it's wrong. How much of public money did Aidan Walsh take in order to play football and prioritise his hobby?

You're stating this as fact. I don't believe it for a second though. It may be a perception that's out there but I very much doubt it is the reality.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 18, 2018, 12:06:17 PM

Why?

I don't know if what you're saying is true but I'd be shocked if your take is not a major overstatement.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 12:17:47 PM
Quote from: lenny on January 18, 2018, 12:05:10 PM

Why?

You're stating this as fact. I don't believe it for a second though. It may be a perception that's out there but I very much doubt it is the reality.

We don't know but I'm looking at it from a pragmatic view. Does having a Michael Murphy, Aidan O'Shea or Joe Canning as an alumni good PR for a university who invest a lot of money in these university sports teams?

Its generally fairly generic physical education and business courses these guys do in any case.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 12:40:02 PM

The GAA is a much different animal these days. Players do extremely well out of their profile, it's just handout after handout after handout for people who like most people have hobbies they pursue in life.

Students who receive scholarships and drive around in sponsored cars worth 30k get it very good out of the GAA. There are plenty of people who enter 3rd level education that have to work 20-30 hr weeks to fund that. Do you think that is fair?
Post by: Minder on January 18, 2018, 01:00:43 PM
Canning was on some ticket at LIT, remember hearing he gave UCD his "wish list" and they couldn't get anywhere near it.
Post by: Syferus on January 18, 2018, 02:24:59 PM
Some here would want to go to the colleges being mentioned and see for themselves how easy any degree is..
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 02:59:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2018, 02:24:59 PM
Some here would want to go to the colleges being mentioned and see for themselves how easy any degree is..

Some people have to take part time jobs and loans out to get through university. Others get sports scholarships and drive around in sponsored cars.

I worked all through my university degree, I also had to get a loan out while working to get through it which I paid back. I got my degree but I didn't get any assistance with it.

Maybe Mammy and Daddy were able to assist you through it but I think the imbalance is very wrong for different sets of people who are doing the same thing. Elitism within the GAA right now is very wrong. Intercounty players get more than enough.
Post by: rosnarun on January 18, 2018, 03:12:20 PM
there seems to be a virulent 'anti GAA strain ' in many of the post here.
the sigerson cup a valuable completion in its own right with the standard some where between the top county teams and middle order ones and like the railway cup of old give players from a weaker county a chance to play at a very high level.
as for the scholarships they are part and parcel of University life and are there to encourage excellent in all of student pursuits which it should do though out the college .
Ireland is in the halfpenny place when it comes to scholarship compared to most countries.
Previously the only option was for athletes to head to often 2nd rate US colleges where most were never heard of again, though their education benefited greatly , surely it a major plus to kepth our top guys at home
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 03:36:10 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 18, 2018, 03:12:20 PM
the sigerson cup a valuable completion in its own right with the standard some where between the top county teams and middle order ones and like the railway cup of old give players from a weaker county a chance to play at a very high level.
as for the scholarships they are part and parcel of University life and are there to encourage excellent in all of student pursuits which it should do though out the college .
Ireland is in the halfpenny place when it comes to scholarship compared to most countries.
Previously the only option was for athletes to head to often 2nd rate US colleges where most were never heard of again, though their education benefited greatly , surely it a major plus to kepth our top guys at home

There seems to be a pro-elitism slant to your post there.

They already make enough our of their hobby, many people lose a lot over pursuing their hobby.
Post by: Syferus on January 18, 2018, 03:41:07 PM

There's just one very loud lad. No GAA members want to make the lives of senior IC players even more difficult to balance than they already are.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 04:02:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2018, 03:41:07 PM

There's just one very loud lad. No GAA members want to make the lives of senior IC players even more difficult to balance than they already are.

Grants
Expenses
Scholarships
Endorseements
Free cars

I think intercounty GAA players do very well out of their hobbies. Most people have to jack their hobbies in due to life.

Its elitism and its wrong, many club players quite rightly have a lot of issues with the GAA on this.
Post by: Therealdonald on January 18, 2018, 06:17:12 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 04:02:07 PM

Grants
Expenses
Scholarships
Endorseements
Free cars

I think intercounty GAA players do very well out of their hobbies. Most people have to jack their hobbies in due to life.

Its elitism and its wrong, many club players quite rightly have a lot of issues with the GAA on this.
I agree with you on alot of things Bomber but this time we are at odds. I don't see the issue of grants or scholarships as a scourge of the GAA. And if you ask alot of club players, they don't really care about their Inter-County friend getting his benefits. Whilst friend a is on the rip through the Bot, friend B is driving home from Owenbeg after being soaked for 2 hours. Whilst friend a is eating spar rolls, friend b is on his cashew nuts and yoghurt. For the sacrifices GAA inter-county players make, in order for us to go see them in Croke Park or Clones and cheer them, having UUJ or DCU offer a scholarship is a small token of appreciation.
Post by: thewobbler on January 18, 2018, 06:31:56 PM
Would any high-level amateur athlete not have to forego a drinker's lifestyle in order to reach the top of their game?

That one isn't a GAA problem.

If we are being really cynical about it, the issue isn't the personal sacrifice, it's the sheer volume of people who would pitch themselves as high-level amateurs. In any other Irish sport, the elite level of amateurs wouldn't run into 100 people. Jordanstown would have that number in GAA alone.

The solution is we (as an association) either accept it as a leisure pursuit and take ourselves back down to earth, or else continue with the concept in which it requires 5,000+ adult males to operate at vocational levels.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 06:45:19 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on January 18, 2018, 06:17:12 PM

Grants
Expenses
Scholarships
Endorseements
Free cars

I agree with you on alot of things Bomber but this time we are at odds. I don't see the issue of grants or scholarships as a scourge of the GAA. And if you ask alot of club players, they don't really care about their Inter-County friend getting his benefits. Whilst friend a is on the rip through the Bot, friend B is driving home from Owenbeg after being soaked for 2 hours. Whilst friend a is eating spar rolls, friend b is on his cashew nuts and yoghurt. For the sacrifices GAA inter-county players make, in order for us to go see them in Croke Park or Clones and cheer them, having UUJ or DCU offer a scholarship is a small token of appreciation.

They make enough of the GAA. It's elitism, in the past few years we have the likes of Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan and Karl Lacey who have jacked in jobs in order to commit themselves to GAA for a year. The question here to me is not is that the level of dedication required for GAA? It's more how can people these guys who presumably have mortgages, young families etc afford to jack in their job to pursue what is meant to be a pastime?

These guys do extremely well out of their profile as intercounty players. I would imagine the likes of Joe Canning and Aidan O'Shea do better than the vast majority of professional athletes earning their crust in Ireland. We consistently are told of the sacrifices the GAA players make, they get an awful lot back:

Grants
Expenses
Scolarships
No-show jobs
Endorsments
Sponsorship deals
Free clothes/equipment/vehicles/holidays/etc

It's a hobby, people wouldn't be doing it if:
a) They didn't enjoy it or
b) They weren't getting something beneficial back out of it

I think it's wrong that people perceive the GAA as a cash cow that you can get something back out of.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 23, 2018, 02:03:02 PM
Maynooth v UCD threw in at 2pm.

Other games today

DIT v IT Carlow, Grangegorman, 7pm (now moved back to Wednesday 31st Jan)
Trinity College v DkIT, Santry Avenue, 7pm
Athlone IT v Garda College, Athlone IT, 7pm

And tomorrow

NUIG v IT Sligo, Dangan, 2.30pm

Post by: Blowitupref on January 23, 2018, 02:40:53 PM
HT MaynoothUni 0-01 UCD 1-08
FT MaynoothUni 1-06  UCD 2-14
Post by: screenexile on January 23, 2018, 03:30:48 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 18, 2018, 06:45:19 PM

Grants
Expenses
Scholarships
Endorseements
Free cars

They make enough of the GAA. It's elitism, in the past few years we have the likes of Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan and Karl Lacey who have jacked in jobs in order to commit themselves to GAA for a year. The question here to me is not is that the level of dedication required for GAA? It's more how can people these guys who presumably have mortgages, young families etc afford to jack in their job to pursue what is meant to be a pastime?

These guys do extremely well out of their profile as intercounty players. I would imagine the likes of Joe Canning and Aidan O'Shea do better than the vast majority of professional athletes earning their crust in Ireland. We consistently are told of the sacrifices the GAA players make, they get an awful lot back:

Grants
Expenses
Scolarships
No-show jobs
Endorsments
Sponsorship deals
Free clothes/equipment/vehicles/holidays/etc

It's a hobby, people wouldn't be doing it if:
a) They didn't enjoy it or
b) They weren't getting something beneficial back out of it

I think it's wrong that people perceive the GAA as a cash cow that you can get something back out of.

It's the new world lads . . .

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/social-media-professional-gaa-player-148201?utm_content=buffera8f54&utm_medium=Social+organic&utm_source=Twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer
Post by: Syferus on January 23, 2018, 04:01:21 PM
It's bad when you're linking to Joe.ie. Huge difference between the dozen or so star players in each province and every other poor fecker playing the sport at IC level.
Post by: screenexile on January 23, 2018, 04:19:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 23, 2018, 04:01:21 PM
It's bad when you're linking to Joe.ie. Huge difference between the dozen or so star players in each province and every other poor fecker playing the sport at IC level.

I've made no comment. IBD asked how these lads are sustaining themselves as full time County Players without working and the social media/brand ambassador thing is one way of doing it rightly or wrongly.

Personally I don't have a problem with it at all if you have the exposure why wouldn't you use it? The Gooch's testimonial is a different matter but the liked that Lee Chin etc. receive I think is fine.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 23, 2018, 08:20:05 PM
7pm throw in results

Trinity College 0-10  DkIT 1-18
AIT 0-11 Garda College 7-10
Post by: bloody mary on January 23, 2018, 11:07:22 PM
Here's UCD winning today at Maynooth, very comfortable, and a cracking finish for the second goal by Jack Barry..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qx5oC6RspOs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qx5oC6RspOs)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2018, 07:00:47 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 23, 2018, 04:01:21 PM

If they were poor, they would hardly be playing it. Lee Chin is proof about how some of these players do very well out of the game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 24, 2018, 03:13:34 PM
HT : NUIG 2-06 Sligo IT 0-04
FT :  NUIG 3-15 Sligo IT 1-06

Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2018, 04:25:58 PM
Any team news or report from that game? Result not surprising.....Sligo IT were supposed to be poor this year.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 24, 2018, 05:43:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 24, 2018, 04:25:58 PM
Any team news or report from that game? Result not surprising.....Sligo IT were supposed to be poor this year.
http://www.the42.ie/nui-galway-beat-it-sligo-sigerson-3815070-Jan2018/ Sligo wing back impressive for NUIG.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2018, 06:06:39 PM
Thanks for that. I'd say he'll be playing in Armagh at the weekend if he came through the game ok.
Post by: ck on January 24, 2018, 11:58:11 PM

Possibly the poorest team we've had in some time married to the fact that our key forward was instructed not to play by his county manager due to NFL game at weekend. Incredible the power county managers hold.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 25, 2018, 12:06:15 AM
Quote from: ck on January 24, 2018, 11:58:11 PM

Possibly the poorest team we've had in some time married to the fact that our key forward was instructed not to play by his county manager due to NFL game at weekend. Incredible the power county managers hold.

It has amazed me in recent years how players have been "allowed" play Sigerson on a Tuesday/Wednesday with an NFL game on a Saturday or Sunday......something that would never be allowed for their club. To me the club is the most important of the 3 but money dictates it's seen as the least.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 07:21:49 AM

Proper order, in the case of player burnout, I think its right that players are protected from that sort of schedule. Why should university football take precedence over county?

Post by: galwayman on January 25, 2018, 08:48:26 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 07:21:49 AM

Proper order, in the case of player burnout, I think its right that players are protected from that sort of schedule. Why should university football take precedence over county?
A lot of county lads are on football scholarships in the colleges though - so they would be expected to play with the college.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 04:55:40 PM
Quote from: galwayman on January 25, 2018, 08:48:26 AM

A lot of county lads are on football scholarships in the colleges though - so they would be expected to play with the college.

So? That should be taken out of their hands. I don't think senior intercounty players should be playing university football. I have an issue with sports scholarships.
Post by: tiempo on January 25, 2018, 05:14:48 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 04:55:40 PM

So? That should be taken out of their hands. I don't think senior intercounty players should be playing university football. I have an issue with sports scholarships.

Why not, they are both university and county players by virtue of selection, why would one preclude the other?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 05:32:58 PM
Quote from: tiempo on January 25, 2018, 05:14:48 PM

Why not, they are both university and county players by virtue of selection, why would one preclude the other?

Player burnout.

The u21 competition, which has been brilliant in recent years had to be completely revamped because of Sigerson.
Post by: In hiding on January 25, 2018, 08:11:13 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 05:32:58 PM

Player burnout.

The u21 competition, which has been brilliant in recent years had to be completely revamped because of Sigerson.

Bomber do you think all football should be rearranged to suit county teams. University/College football is much more enjoyable to be part of than county u21football. Did you not get to college or something.
What in your opinion is player burnout
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 08:46:37 PM
Quote from: In hiding on January 25, 2018, 08:11:13 PM

Player burnout.

Bomber do you think all football should be rearranged to suit county teams. University/College football is much more enjoyable to be part of than county u21football. Did you not get to college or something.

I went to university and had to work a 20 hour part time job and take out a student loan that I had to pay back to do so.

I don't think people should be getting handouts because they are good at a hobby that already benefits these guys enough, particularly when it is public money and a number of social crises are prevalent at the minute.

University is for going to educate yourself for your professional career. It's a typical GAA entitlement to think that these lads should get everything handed to them because they are good at a hobby. Many people sacrifice their hobbies for their career.
Post by: slippery dodger on January 25, 2018, 11:30:52 PM
UCD's Jack Barry scores a wonderful goal in Sigerson Cup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLGQGHRB95c
Post by: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 12:53:36 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 25, 2018, 08:46:37 PM

Player burnout.

I went to university and had to work a 20 hour part time job and take out a student loan that I had to pay back to do so.

I don't think people should be getting handouts because they are good at a hobby that already benefits these guys enough, particularly when it is public money and a number of social crises are prevalent at the minute.

University is for going to educate yourself for your professional career. It's a typical GAA entitlement to think that these lads should get everything handed to them because they are good at a hobby. Many people sacrifice their hobbies for their career.
In you learned opinion what percentage of the student population of Ireland are getting a scholarship to play football.
Have you an issue with Peter Canavan getting paid large sums of money from sky mainly because he was a top footballer
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 08:27:17 AM
Quote from: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 12:53:36 AM

Player burnout.

In you learned opinion what percentage of the student population of Ireland are getting a scholarship to play football.
Have you an issue with Peter Canavan getting paid large sums of money from sky mainly because he was a top footballer

I don't see what punditry has to do with Sigerson and neither do I know the money he makes from it. However, Peter Canadian is  yet another classic example of a player who has done very well financially out of a hobby.

I don't think intercounty players who already do very well out of pursuing their hobby, should really be filleting public money to gain even more perks out of pursuing a hobby. 
Post by: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 09:07:51 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 08:27:17 AM

Player burnout.

I don't see what punditry has to do with Sigerson and neither do I know the money he makes from it. However, Peter Canadian is  yet another classic example of a player who has done very well financially out of a hobby.

I don't think intercounty players who already do very well out of pursuing their hobby, should really be filleting public money to gain even more perks out of pursuing a hobby.
A hobby ?
Collecting stamps is a hobby. The amount of time and effort county players put into preparing for and playing football makes it a fair bit more than just a hobby !
Supply and demand is the way things work. The more effort lads put into becoming better footballers the more people/schools/businesses wish to be associated with them. Only a very jealous person would begrudge someone the perks that their huge efforts accumulate
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 09:26:00 AM
Quote from: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 09:07:51 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 08:27:17 AM

Player burnout.

A hobby ?
Collecting stamps is a hobby. The amount of time and effort county players put into preparing for and playing football makes it a fair bit more than just a hobby !
Supply and demand is the way things work. The more effort lads put into becoming better footballers the more people/schools/businesses wish to be associated with them. Only a very jealous person would begrudge someone the perks that their huge efforts accumulate

If its not a hobby then you tell me what is? Is it their professional career?"Amateur" sports are a hobby, whether you like it or not. Intercounty players get loads of financial another benefits from pursuing this past time.

If they don't enjoy it then why are they doing it?
Post by: DuffleKing on January 26, 2018, 10:06:22 AM

That is some example of bitterness and begrudgery
Post by: Mike Tyson on January 26, 2018, 10:16:54 AM
So is it just GAA scholarships you don't approve of or all amateur sports scholarships?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 26, 2018, 10:29:55 AM
He has a point in fairness. Especially when you look at the wider societal view. And deciding on who gets a scholarship is very subjective.....what's the criteria? What's the cutoff?
Post by: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 11:11:01 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 26, 2018, 10:29:55 AM
He has a point in fairness. Especially when you look at the wider societal view. And deciding on who gets a scholarship is very subjective.....what's the criteria? What's the cutoff?
How has he a point ?
If an individual or business wish to give something to somebody then who are we to say it is not right. Getting stuff because you are better at something than most others is the way of the world
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 11:24:19 AM
Quote from: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 11:11:01 AM
How has he a point ?
If an individual or business wish to give something to somebody then who are we to say it is not right. Getting stuff because you are better at something than most others is the way of the world

A lot of it is public money. Player grants, scholarships and now a government minister in the South calling for tax breaks. Not to mention all their other untaxed earnings and benefits such as free cars that a working individual would have to pay tax on in the way of a BIK.

I think its wrong, they're pursuing a hobby, a lot of other people have to pack in their hobbies without any sort of benefit. There's a sense of entitlement there that they are owed a living because they are good at a hobby.

If they get money or benefits in this way, it should be declared and taxable.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 11:26:36 AM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on January 26, 2018, 10:16:54 AM
So is it just GAA scholarships you don't approve of or all amateur sports scholarships?

Sports scholarships in general but I would think GAA players would get the vast bulk of these in most Irish universities and they already get well looked after by the state as it is.
Post by: lenny on January 26, 2018, 11:46:22 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 11:26:36 AM

Sports scholarships in general but I would think GAA players would get the vast bulk of these in most Irish universities and they already get well looked after by the state as it is.

A quick google search reveals DCU as an example gives scholarships in Athletics, Basketball, Boxing, Camogie, Canoe, Gaelic Football, Golf, Handball, Hockey, Hurling, Rugby, Rowing, Sailing, Soccer and Tennis. GAA players should be treated as equals with these other sports. Have you evidence that they are being favoured or is it just your opinion?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 11:53:52 AM
Quote from: lenny on January 26, 2018, 11:46:22 AM

A quick google search reveals DCU as an example gives scholarships in Athletics, Basketball, Boxing, Camogie, Canoe, Gaelic Football, Golf, Handball, Hockey, Hurling, Rugby, Rowing, Sailing, Soccer and Tennis. GAA players should be treated as equals with these other sports. Have you evidence that they are being favoured or is it just your opinion?

I would suspect GAA players make up the vast bulk of sports scholarships? Have you evidence to suggest otherwise?
Post by: bogball88 on January 26, 2018, 11:57:30 AM

Grants
Expenses
Scholarships
Endorseements
Free cars

I agree with you on alot of things Bomber but this time we are at odds. I don't see the issue of grants or scholarships as a scourge of the GAA. And if you ask alot of club players, they don't really care about their Inter-County friend getting his benefits. Whilst friend a is on the rip through the botfriend B is driving home from Owenbeg after being soaked for 2 hours. Whilst friend a is eating spar rolls, friend b is on his cashew nuts and yoghurt. For the sacrifices GAA inter-county players make, in order for us to go see them in Croke Park or Clones and cheer them, having UUJ or DCU offer a scholarship is a small token of appreciation.
Take me back  8)
Post by: lenny on January 26, 2018, 12:34:18 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 11:53:52 AM

I would suspect GAA players make up the vast bulk of sports scholarships? Have you evidence to suggest otherwise?

No evidence but my opinion is that your opinion is incorrect. I suspect all sports would have to be treated fairly if it's public money. The money is probably shared out based on participation levels so all sports get a fair amount but I'm only speculating.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 12:53:10 PM
Quote from: lenny on January 26, 2018, 12:34:18 PM

No evidence but my opinion is that your opinion is incorrect. I suspect all sports would have to be treated fairly if it's public money. The money is probably shared out based on participation levels so all sports get a fair amount but I'm only speculating.

On what basis?  There is no transparency in these scholarships at all and the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon are by far and away the most illustrious of university sports competitions with numerous universities known for throwing money to get the high profile players. So there is certainly a strong rationale to make educated assumptions.
Post by: Kickham csc on January 26, 2018, 02:26:29 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 12:53:10 PM

On what basis?  There is no transparency in these scholarships at all and the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon are by far and away the most illustrious of university sports competitions with numerous universities known for throwing money to get the high profile players. So there is certainly a strong rationale to make educated assumptions.

Have you done any bit of research before you finalized on your opinion.

From a UUJ perspective, GAA was always the poor relation. The sports department would consider special provisions for elite athletes who had represented their country. So most sports qualified but the GAA didn't (unless you represented your country in int rules when 17.

Regarding sports that qualify for scholarships, the following qualify
Aikido    American Football    Angling  Archery    Athletics & Cross Country    Badminton  Basketball    Bowls - Lawn, Tenpin Boxing Camogie    Canoe    Clay Pigeon Shooting  Climbing    Cricket    Cycling  Diving    Equestrian    Fencing  Football  Futsal Gaelic Football  Golf    Gymnastics    Handball  Hockey    Hurling    Ju Jitsu  Judo    Karate    Karting  Life Saving Modern Pentathlon / Biathlon    Netball  Orienteering    Pool    Rifle Shooting  Rowing    Rugby    Sailing  Snooker    Snow Sports    Squash
Surfing    Swimming    Synchronised Swimming  Table Tennis    Taekwondo    Tennis  Triathlon    Trampolining    Volleyball
Wake Boarding    Water Polo    Water Skiing  Weightlifting    Wind Surfing    Wrestling

Quite a list, but you think the GAA would dominate the amount of scholarships??
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 02:28:21 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on January 26, 2018, 02:26:29 PM

From a UUJ perspective, GAA was always the poor relation. The sports department would consider special provisions for elite athletes who had represented their country. So most sports qualified but the GAA didn't (unless you represented your country in int rules when 17.

Aikido    American Football    Angling  Archery    Athletics & Cross Country    Badminton  Basketball    Bowls - Lawn, Tenpin Boxing Camogie    Canoe    Clay Pigeon Shooting  Climbing    Cricket    Cycling  Diving    Equestrian    Fencing  Football  Futsal Gaelic Football  Golf    Gymnastics    Handball  Hockey    Hurling    Ju Jitsu  Judo    Karate    Karting  Life Saving Modern Pentathlon / Biathlon    Netball  Orienteering    Pool    Rifle Shooting  Rowing    Rugby    Sailing  Snooker    Snow Sports    Squash
Surfing    Swimming    Synchronised Swimming  Table Tennis    Taekwondo    Tennis  Triathlon    Trampolining    Volleyball
Wake Boarding    Water Polo    Water Skiing  Weightlifting    Wind Surfing    Wrestling

In universities across the island, almost definitely.

Post by: magpie seanie on January 26, 2018, 03:19:24 PM
How has he a point ?

Read and weep.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2018, 04:21:35 PM
A Lot more time and effort, blood,sweat and tears put into hobbies nowadays it seems.  :D
Post by: In hiding on January 26, 2018, 04:45:38 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 26, 2018, 03:19:24 PM
How has he a point ?

Read and weep.

Is what I said incorrect
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 04:53:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2018, 04:21:35 PM
A Lot more time and effort, blood,sweat and tears put into hobbies nowadays it seems.  :D

There's plenty of amateur sportsmen who make as much sacrifice as intercounty with not half the return. There's plenty of guys who will spend 10-15 hours a week in a gym at their choice while maintaining full time jobs for personal reasons.

Post by: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2018, 05:42:44 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 04:53:13 PM

There's plenty of amateur sportsmen who make as much sacrifice as intercounty with not half the return. There's plenty of guys who will spend 10-15 hours a week in a gym at their choice while maintaining full time jobs for personal reasons.
What like a lifestyle choice to make oneself fit and healthy? Maybe its just me but from what I recall "hobbies" in the past didn't take as much sacrifice either.
Post by: lenny on January 26, 2018, 08:48:42 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 02:28:21 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on January 26, 2018, 02:26:29 PM

In universities across the island, almost definitely.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/how-students-can-cash-in-by-playing-the-scholarship-game-1.2237659

This is a link to a very interesting article on sports scholarships and general scholarships in Irish universities. GAA doesn't seem to prioritised or given special treatment. These scholarships are available in lots of different areas and it's great to see GAA being treated equally and exceptional talents being given the opportunity to continue their chosen sport without having to work 20 hours a week like bomber. A lot of these players will be entertaining people in their thousands throughout their career and it's only right they get a bit of a leg up given how much they generate for the economy in subsequent years.
Post by: Blowitupref on January 30, 2018, 06:35:55 PM
Results today

Queens 0-11 IT Tralee 2-8
Garda College 2-7 UCC 1-12
UL 2-12 CIT 1-11

Fixtures tomorrow

St Mary's v Ulster University
DIT v IT Carlow
DkIT  v DCU
Post by: MayoBuck on January 30, 2018, 06:51:04 PM
Have DCU released their Sigerson panel for this year?
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 31, 2018, 03:56:07 PM
 Defending champions St Mary's knocked out. UUJ 0-17 St Mary's 1-9
Post by: skeog on January 31, 2018, 05:03:43 PM
No UUJ players allowed to do interviews what a load of nonsense.Is another example of people in charge of teams above their station.
Post by: ck on January 31, 2018, 06:01:59 PM
So Jordanstown have put a media ban on their players! Please!! Maybe they don't want to be asked what course they are doing in case they say BSc Sigerson Studies. Lol
Post by: skeog on January 31, 2018, 06:09:30 PM
I see its a new team every season Paul Rouse who is in charge.
Post by: Itchy on January 31, 2018, 07:18:34 PM
Quote from: ck on January 31, 2018, 06:01:59 PM
So Jordanstown have put a media ban on their players! Please!! Maybe they don't want to be asked what course they are doing in case they say BSc Sigerson Studies. Lol

Or in case they realise these students can't string a sentence together.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 31, 2018, 07:37:37 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 31, 2018, 07:18:34 PM
Quote from: ck on January 31, 2018, 06:01:59 PM

Or in case they realise these students can't string a sentence together.

Bloody Poly students.
Post by: bloody mary on January 31, 2018, 09:35:24 PM
See 5 minutes of the 2nd half from the game in Belfast today.. tinyurl.com/ybv6h4f3 (http://tinyurl.com/ybv6h4f3)
Post by: rosnarun on February 01, 2018, 12:50:41 PM
 COuple of interesting tidbit from UCDs website to introduce a few facts to the conversation.
Looks like The GAA have to provide matching funds for the program . so if your sport is poorly organized or greedy you don't get a grant
but also all other sports have to fully  commit to UCD apart from GAA and Rugby .
reasons for scholarships
1. Encourages talented UCD students to join UCD clubs and compete for UCD.
2. Enhancement of the skills of other club members.
3. Encourages recreational participation, other students want to become involved.
4. All students have access to top class facilities and coaching.
5. Positive effects on health of participation in sport.
6. Role in character formation, team work and leadership skills.
7. Achievement and success of UCD students in competition.
8. Achievement and success of the respective UCD team or Club.

conditions

4. Where a sport wishes to be considered as a scholarship sport for the first time, due to financial constraints
UCD Sport seeks for matching funds from the respective club. These matching funds must be available for the
duration of the scholarship. For example where the scholarship student is entering first year, the club must
show evidence that they are capable of providing the matching funds for the duration of the recipient's
diploma/degree course.

5) The recipient must be prepared to represent UCD and only UCD in competition and will sign a contract to
that effect. Exceptions to this are made in Gaelic Games where due to the structure of the sport it is possible
for the recipient to compete for their home club and UCD simultaneously and also in Rugby where the
recipient can compete if selected for UCD and a provincial Irish side. Where a clash occurs in such
commitments the final decision will rest with the Director of Sport.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 01, 2018, 01:59:27 PM
Quote from: skeog on January 31, 2018, 06:09:30 PM

No surprise there. 
The majority of the squad will come from undergraduates, so there would only be a few freshers on the squad, and the 3rd year is a placement year, the team will significantly change from one year to the next
Post by: PW Nally on February 01, 2018, 02:16:53 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 01, 2018, 01:59:27 PM

No surprise there. 
The majority of the squad will come from undergraduates, so there would only be a few freshers on the squad, and the 3rd year is a placement year, the team will significantly change from one year to the next
Freshers not permitted to play Sigerson as far as I know.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 02:19:36 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on February 01, 2018, 02:16:53 PM

No surprise there. 

Didn't David Clifford play? He's hardly in second year? This was the case one time but might have changed.
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 01, 2018, 02:36:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 02:19:36 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on February 01, 2018, 02:16:53 PM

No surprise there. 

Didn't David Clifford play? He's hardly in second year? This was the case one time but might have changed.

He is in his second year seanie in a 3 year B.Sc. in  Health and Leisure degree, plus an extra year for the Honours Degree programme in Sports Development.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 04:01:28 PM
Cheers, didn't realise. Perhaps that rule is still in place so.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 01, 2018, 04:09:48 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 04:01:28 PM

Yeah freshers can't play Sigerson currently.
Post by: bennydorano on February 01, 2018, 05:20:29 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2018, 05:42:44 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 26, 2018, 04:53:13 PM

What like a lifestyle choice to make oneself fit and healthy? Maybe its just me but from what I recall "hobbies" in the past didn't take as much sacrifice either.
The commitment of some guys in cycling is unreal. I'm fairly dung and I'd average 12/13/14 hpw on the bike in the good months, 7/8 hpw in the darker months.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 06, 2018, 01:36:07 PM
Sigerson Cup quarter-finals

Today
Ulster University v UL, Jordanstown, 2pm
IT Tralee v DIT, Austin Stack Park, 6.30pm

Tomorrow
DCU v UCD, DCU Sportsgrounds, 3.30pm
UCC v NUIG, Mardyke, 4.30pm
Post by: seanyb1 on February 06, 2018, 02:04:56 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 01, 2018, 04:09:48 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 04:01:28 PM

Yeah freshers can't play Sigerson currently.

Pretty sure St Mary's freshers can play Sigerson ball
Post by: oakleaflad on February 06, 2018, 02:37:16 PM
Ulster University a man up and cruising. 3-04 to 0-02
Post by: bloody mary on February 06, 2018, 03:13:55 PM
 See THREE superb goals by an impressive Ulster University in the first-half of their Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Quarter-final against UL..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uv6oXCo7qg
Post by: oakleaflad on February 06, 2018, 03:25:03 PM
FT: UU 4-06 UL 0-11
Post by: Blowitupref on February 06, 2018, 03:32:42 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on February 06, 2018, 03:25:03 PM

10 scores to 11. Goals wins games.
Post by: Syferus on February 06, 2018, 05:55:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 06, 2018, 03:32:42 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on February 06, 2018, 03:25:03 PM

10 scores to 11. Goals wins games.

Unless you're Roscommon.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 06, 2018, 07:53:02 PM
All too easy for the Dublin college, Tralee scored their goal with 2 minutes to go. IT Tralee 1-7 DIT 3-17
Post by: ck on February 06, 2018, 08:42:54 PM
Is Jordanstown still doing a media ban? lol
Post by: imtommygunn on February 06, 2018, 09:38:28 PM
Ck you really aren't a fan of jordanstown lol.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 07, 2018, 01:38:42 AM
Quote from: ck on February 06, 2018, 08:42:54 PM
Are you pushing another urban myth about UUJ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pg4BmkisiJk
Post by: Hound on February 07, 2018, 09:17:38 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 06, 2018, 07:53:02 PM
All too easy for the Dublin college, Tralee scored their goal with 2 minutes to go. IT Tralee 1-7 DIT 3-17
Not too many Dubs with DIT from what I can see! Howard didn't play. Killian O'Gara came on as sub.

Enda Flanagan from Cavan, with 2-1 from wing back, and Shane Dempsey (from ?) with 5 points from play at full forward getting the plaudits in the short report I read.

Clifford didnt line out for Tralee.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 07, 2018, 09:22:20 AM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 07, 2018, 01:38:42 AM
Quote from: ck on February 06, 2018, 08:42:54 PM
Are you pushing another urban myth about UUJ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pg4BmkisiJk

to be fair the irish news mentioned the media ban last week
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 07, 2018, 09:36:30 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 07, 2018, 09:17:38 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 06, 2018, 07:53:02 PM
Not too many Dubs with DIT from what I can see! Howard didn't play. Killian O'Gara came on as sub.

Enda Flanagan from Cavan, with 2-1 from wing back, and Shane Dempsey (from ?) with 5 points from play at full forward getting the plaudits in the short report I read.

Clifford didnt line out for Tralee.

Dempsey is from Westmeath, played for Lomans in the Leinster Final. Could do with a break after the Sigerson for a few weeks I'd say.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 04:06:18 PM
UCD 0-8 DCU 1-4 at half time. Diarmuid Murtagh with the goal, UCD led 0-7 to no score.
Post by: Orchard park on February 07, 2018, 04:09:03 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 04:06:18 PM
UCD 0-8 DCU 1-4 at half time. Diarmuid Murtagh with the goal, UCD led 0-7 to no score.

he is a serious footballer Diarmuid Murtagh
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 04:58:56 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on February 07, 2018, 04:09:03 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 04:06:18 PM

he is a serious footballer Diarmuid Murtagh
He is indeed. UCD the favourites win. 0-16 to 1-9
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2018, 05:00:22 PM
UCC

Eoghan O'Brien (Kerry)
Fionnain Clifford (Kerry)
Jason Foley (Kerry)
Briain O'Beaglaoich (Kerry)
Michael Flood (Meath)
Kevin Crowley (Cork)
Kevin Flahive (Cork)
Adrian Spillane (Kerry)
Padraig Lucey (Kerry)
Jack Kennedy (Tipperary)
Sean Powter (Cork)
Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
Gary Murphy (Cork)
Conor Geaney (Kerry)
Michael O'Donnell (Kerry)

NUIG

Tadgh O'Malley (Galway)
Stephen Brennan (Mayo)
Sean Mulkerrin (Galway)
Aaron O'Connor (Kerry)
Kieran Molloy (Galway)
Ruairi Greene (Galway)
Gerard O'Kelly-Lynch (Sligo)
Cein Darcy (Galway)
Peter Cooke (Galway)
Adam Gallagher (Mayo)
Owen Gallagher (Antrim)
Enda Tierney (Galway)
Brian Donovan (Limerick)
Damien Comer (Galway)
Sean Kelly (Galway)
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 05:04:41 PM
A shock result on the cards? HT NUIG 1-4 UCC 0-2. And UCC haven't scored from play yet.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on February 07, 2018, 05:42:05 PM
No media ban by Jordanstown. There was a request to concentrate on football first.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2018, 05:49:03 PM
A shock result and NUIG did it with 14 men. FT NUIG 1-9 UCC 0-7. UCC  had a injury time penalty saved.

Semi final line up

UUJ v UCD
DIT v NUIG

Post by: Syferus on February 07, 2018, 06:09:19 PM
I don't know where the idea came from that UUC were that much ahead of the rest but one look at the team sheets of the teams would have told you it was a toss up.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2018, 07:02:32 PM
NUIG 1-9 UCC 0-7

By Denis Hurley at The Mardyke

Despite playing much of the second half with 14 men, NUIG advanced to the Electric Ireland HC Sigerson Cup semi-finals with victory over UCC at the Mardyke on Wednesday afternoon.

The visitors never trailed in this tie, moving three points ahead in the opening ten minutes and registering a total of 1-4 before UCC got off the mark in the 26th minute. Even then, it wasn't a signal for the hosts to eat into the deficit as they never came closer than four points to their visitors.

The home side did have some hope in injury time when Micheál McSweeney was fouled by NUIG goalkeeper Tadgh O'Malley for a penalty, but O'Malley's replacement Maghnus Breathnach had an immediate impact as he saved Killian Spillane's penalty.

In the next play, NUIG launched a counter-attack which ended with Céin D'Arcy scoring his second point to ensure their place in the last four.

It was an excellent all-round performance from NUIG, who gave notice of their intentions in the first minute as Damien Comer drew a save from Eoghan O'Brien.

Enda Tierney, Brian Donovan and D'Arcy all had points as they settled well, Peter Cooke and D'Arcy on top in midfield. Their hopes were increased when Donovan added a goal on 17 minutes when Adam Gallagher set him up.

A super Owen Gallagher score put them seven in front, though two Stephen Sherlock points did open the UCC account before half-time.

Sherlock had two more on the resumption, sandwiching a score by Adam Gallagher, and when Aaron O'Connor was dismissed for an off-the-ball incident, it made the visitors' task harder.

Their defending was dogged though, with full-back Seán Mulkerrin excellent and wing-back Kieran Molloy indefatigable. After Killian Spillane pointed for UCC to leave it 1-6 to 0-5 on 39, it was Molloy who extended the NUIG lead and then set up Tierney for his third.

Kevin Crowley pulled one back with an excellent UCC point and Sherlock's fifth, a free, left four in it as normal time expired.

It was Sherlock who forced the turnover which gave McSweeney a chance, O'Malley's foul resulting in a penalty. Spillane had rescued UCC from the spot against Garda College the previous week but this time Breathnach repelled his effort and D'Arcy secured the win.

Scorers for NUIG: Brian Donovan 1-1, Enda Tierney 0-3, Céin D'Arcy 0-2, Kieran Molloy, Adam Gallagher (free), Owen Gallagher 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC: Stephen Sherlock 0-5 (0-3 frees), Kevin Crowley, Killian Spillane 0-1 each.
Post by: slippery dodger on February 13, 2018, 03:34:43 PM
College Spirit: Why are student populations so detached from third-level GAA?
http://gaawrap.ie/2018/02/college-spirit-student-populations-detached-third-level-gaa/
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2018, 04:13:33 PM
Because apart from the participants nobody gives a damn.
Post by: Syferus on February 13, 2018, 04:44:40 PM
Quote from: slippery dodger on February 13, 2018, 03:34:43 PM
College Spirit: Why are student populations so detached from third-level GAA?
http://gaawrap.ie/2018/02/college-spirit-student-populations-detached-third-level-gaa/

There's no attempt to make the matches big events on campus. Which is all the more strange at the places who throw sports schlorships at players (or worse in the case of some northern colleges) and treat winning a Sigerson as a prestige symbol.

For one if they want the wider community involved like they are in American college sports the matches would need to be played in the evenings or on weekends.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 14, 2018, 07:49:42 AM
its played in the depths of winter

often the games are not played on the campus.
students generally save their money fir socialising

if you wanted the alumni to attend (which is the majority of people at us college sports) then weekend games are the way to go
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2018, 10:52:43 AM
In the US, the college identity, by and large, is associated with their sports teams. (Similar to the way we tend to identify with our county teams). University culture in Ireland doesn't have that element where your whole perception of a college (as a casual observer) is tied up in whether or not they have a good Hurling/Camogie/Football team. Not to mind swimming, athletics, soccer or anything else.

I think Syferus mentioned he went to Auburn. If he did, he was probably totally immersed in the Tigers, and the whole vibe on Campus is set by the sports teams and how they are perceived nationally. It's a huge point of pride.

Over here, nobody in UL, apart from the people involved, really care if the 'Wolves' win the Fitzgibbon. It will be great, but there won't be mad celebrations by the student population, and their sense of identity with the college won't be determined by how the team does.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 02:33:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 13, 2018, 04:13:33 PM

Played in a Fresher's final with approx. 5 thousand attending, played in Casement Park on a Saturday afternoon.

Played in a Sigerson semi final with approx. 5 thousand at the game (Held in  Limerick)
Was involved in a Sigerson final played in Tralee with approx. 10 thousand at the final.

If Sigerson was played in the appropriate venue, people are interested in attending, It is the highest quality of football after senior county.

And the latest offering of playing the finals in November is a farce,

Colleges come back for the new term late Sept...... how to f£$k are you meant to gather a squad and train them when the first round of Sigerson knock outs would have to begin in about 3 weeks
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 02:41:48 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 02:33:12 PM

Played in a Fresher's final with approx. 5 thousand attending, played in Casement Park on a Saturday afternoon.

Played in a Sigerson semi final with approx. 5 thousand at the game (Held in  Limerick)
Was involved in a Sigerson final played in Tralee with approx. 10 thousand at the final.

If Sigerson was played in the appropriate venue, people are interested in attending, It is the highest quality of football after senior county.

Colleges come back for the new term late Sept...... how to f£$k are you meant to gather a squad and train them when the first round of Sigerson knock outs would have to begin in about 3 weeks

It should be played even earlier than November, October weather is still usually halfway decent.

Theee weeks is plenty of time for preparing a team that will be filled with senior and U20 players coming off far harder seasons at those grades.

If the Sigerson wants to be a big deal it needs to stop being so precious about being played in the spring. Doing that already fûcked the U21 AI, a much more enjoyable competition and probably has contributed to even more distain for 3rd level competitions among GAA supporters.
Post by: Orchard park on February 14, 2018, 03:19:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 02:41:48 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 02:33:12 PM

It should be played even earlier than November, October weather is still usually Galway's decent.

Theee weeks is plenty of time for preparing a team that will be filled with senior and U20 players coming off far harder seasons at those grades.

If the Sigerson wants to be a big deal it needs to stop being so precious about being played in the spring. Doing that already fûcked the U21 AI, a much more enjoyable competition and probably has contributed to even more distain for 3rd level competitions among GAA supporters.

well put Syf.

for the overall development of the game intercounty u21 was much more important
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 03:46:55 PM
Most people don't care where you went to school/college in this country.
That's a good thing.
In fact, the only people that give a damn about school/college affiliations are the rugby crowd.
Thus, we don't really have an alumni culture from a college sports perspective.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 03:49:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 03:46:55 PM
That's a good thing.
In fact, the only people that give a damn about school/college affiliations are the rugby crowd.

You haven't met many Trinity snobs so Jinxy.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 04:08:05 PM
I've included them in the rugby crowd.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 05:31:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 03:46:55 PM
That's a good thing.

Maybe in the North it's different, but the gaelic clubs in Queens, St Mary's and UUJ were really strong and each had distinct GAA communities (prob St. Mary's had the strongest community). The derby games were always well attended and I know of people who would go to the games but never attended the colleges.

College football is really the last competition where you get to play with lads from other counties, and in some ways it is a youth version of the Railway Cup. During my time at the Poly, I got to play with lads from all the Ulster counties as well as a few Sligo, Mayo, Louth and a lone Kerryman, and in our league division, we played against Sligo, Althone, DIT, and the Dublin colleges,

That experience was invaluable to me as a player and a person and HE GAA is an organization should be cherished and not degraded.

The fact that it is the county season that is putting pressure on it is not lost on me either. First it was the Railway Cup, then HE GAA and the next and final causality will be club football.

Post by: Rossfan on February 14, 2018, 06:53:44 PM
Your last 6 words is nonsense with all due respect.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2018, 07:18:51 PM
15 mins into tonights Sigerson cup semi finals and not a single tweet from the two matches thus far. Some lack of interest there..
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 07:24:41 PM
Too exciting.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 07:35:14 PM
Did you really go to Auburn, Syf?
Were you there when them Alabama hoors poured roundup on the tree?
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2018, 07:40:22 PM
At least the half times were tweeted.

NUIG 1-6 DIT 0-7
UCD 0-3 Ulster University 0-3
Post by: tippabu on February 14, 2018, 07:40:39 PM
UUJ 0-3 v 0-3 UCD HT
Nuig 1-6 v 0-7 DIT HT
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 14, 2018, 08:00:15 PM
UUJ doing a job on Con?
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 14, 2018, 08:17:53 PM
semi-finals latest NUI Galway 2-11 Dublin IT 0-14 UCD 0-9 UUJ 0-9
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2018, 08:31:02 PM
NUIG won 2-12 to 0-15. UCD UUJ going to extra time 0-12 each FT.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 14, 2018, 08:38:12 PM
Hon the College.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 08:40:36 PM
That's one of our starters gone for Sunday. No offence UCD supporters but from a Sligo perspective I hope the UUJ come through.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 14, 2018, 09:09:26 PM
First Sigerson cup final for NUIG for 15 years well done to them. UUJ 1-13 UCD 0-16 the result AET in the other semi final another period of extra time to follow.
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 14, 2018, 09:26:17 PM
UCD win 0-18 to 1-13.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:27:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 08:40:36 PM
That's one of our starters gone for Sunday. No offence UCD supporters but from a Sligo perspective I hope the UUJ come through.

Make that two. Delighted to hear Kevin McDonnell started.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 09:29:55 PM
At least the professionals have been removed from the equation now. It's bad when the most excitement to be had in the competition is hoping the colleges trying to game the system don't succeed.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:30:23 PM
And UCD winning makes that 3 I think. Great for the lads but pretty unfair on a county like us with limited resources to have to play without 3 starters and a couple of other panellists in a crucial league game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 14, 2018, 09:32:30 PM
3 Sigerson cup finals in a row for UCD without a doubt the best college side in Dublin now
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:39:06 PM
Delighted to see Kevin McDonnell back. Our captain this year and has had a terrible time with injury.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 09:43:55 PM
Two proper colleges in the final.
Post by: bigtogs on February 14, 2018, 09:44:17 PM
Another year UUJ not the team they think they are.....
Post by: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 09:46:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 09:29:55 PM
At least the professionals have been removed from the equation now. It's bad when the most excitement to be had in the competition is hoping the colleges trying to game the system don't succeed.

I'm struggling with your line of thought.

UCD were the first college to bring "professionalism" into Sigerson, and have the most expansive program. But you call UUJ the professionals? Why ignore UCD professionals?
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 10:00:33 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 09:46:40 PM

UCD were the first college to bring "professionalism" into Sigerson, and have the most expansive program. But you call UUJ the professionals? Why ignore UCD professionals?

Interesting that you correctly guessed I meant UUJ and not DIT.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 14, 2018, 10:01:32 PM
great to see ucg back in the final

Post by: Duine Eile on February 14, 2018, 10:02:37 PM
Kieran Molloy (NUIG) and Liam Silke (UCD) going to miss out on a Sigerson final and medal now seeing as its on the same day as the club semi finals, probably no chance of it being moved at this late stage.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 10:03:27 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on February 14, 2018, 10:02:37 PM
Kieran Molloy (NUIG) and Liam Silke (UCD) going to miss out on a Sigerson final and medal now seeing as its on the same day as the club semi finals, probably no chance of it being moved at this late stage.

I'm sure they'll still get a medal. It's be mad to rearrange it for two players though.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 10:04:05 PM
Play the Sigerson next Wednesday
Post by: Therealdonald on February 14, 2018, 10:04:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 09:43:55 PM
Two proper colleges in the final.

I'd like you to name the players you suspect are doing ''flower arranging'' courses as used to be the stick to beat Ulster University with.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 14, 2018, 10:05:25 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on February 14, 2018, 10:02:37 PM

Real shame for them alright but club comes first.
Post by: Duine Eile on February 14, 2018, 10:07:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 10:04:05 PM
Play the Sigerson next Wednesday

Or even Sunday, wouldn't be ideal but at least the 2 lads would get a chance to be part of the panel. Club comes first though as you said GBB, I doubt it was a tough decision for them to make, just a pity they had to make it at all.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 10:09:47 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 10:00:33 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 14, 2018, 09:46:40 PM

Interesting that you correctly guessed I meant UUJ and not DIT.

Just following your consistent critique of UUJ.

But you didn't answer the question.

Why are UCD and NUIG not professionals when they run the same schemes are UUJ? Just interested
Post by: mouview on February 14, 2018, 10:13:16 PM
The final on TV Saturday? Be superior fare to the club matches I'd wager.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 10:15:32 PM
Quote from: mouview on February 14, 2018, 10:13:16 PM

Someone would seriously prefer pro watch the Sigerson final than the four best clubs in Ireland going head-to-head?
Post by: mouview on February 14, 2018, 10:52:17 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 10:15:32 PM

Someone would seriously prefer pro watch the Sigerson final than the four best clubs in Ireland going head-to-head?

To win a Sigerson final is a feather in the cap for many footballers and I'm sure they'll be be going all-out for the victory, even more so than the glorified friendly that is the Inter-Pros. Both colleges will boast a large complement of inter-county players, some of whom are senior AI medal winners. Do you think it will be of inferior standard to the club games?
Post by: bloody mary on February 14, 2018, 11:16:56 PM
NUIG win.. https://youtu.be/yrfKxBrE694 (https://youtu.be/yrfKxBrE694)
and UCD win.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3mkHomRU1o (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3mkHomRU1o)
Post by: Therealdonald on February 14, 2018, 11:21:06 PM

I've watched alot of Slaughtneils games over the last three or four years, and whilst hugely effective, they don't tend to be that exciting. (Kilcar was a flash in the pan game)
Post by: oakleaflad on February 14, 2018, 11:25:49 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on February 14, 2018, 11:21:06 PM

I've watched alot of Slaughtneils games over the last three or four years, and whilst hugely effective, they don't tend to be that exciting. (Kilcar was a flash in the pan game)
Their game against Scotstown was also one of the best I've ever seen.
Post by: MayoBuck on February 14, 2018, 11:28:24 PM
Quote from: bloody mary on February 14, 2018, 11:16:56 PM
NUIG win.. https://youtu.be/yrfKxBrE694 (https://youtu.be/yrfKxBrE694)
and UCD win.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3mkHomRU1o (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3mkHomRU1o)

They didn't kill themselves putting together those highlights
Post by: bloody mary on February 15, 2018, 09:56:24 AM
See 15 minutes of highlights from the UCD-UU extra-extra time game.. https://youtu.be/cMgvq3uAwJY (https://youtu.be/cMgvq3uAwJY)
Post by: spuds on February 15, 2018, 01:45:22 PM
Quote from: bloody mary on February 15, 2018, 09:56:24 AM
See 15 minutes of highlights from the UCD-UU extra-extra time game.. https://youtu.be/cMgvq3uAwJY (https://youtu.be/cMgvq3uAwJY)
Fantastic coverage and some great team scores. All that is good about Sigerson cup.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 15, 2018, 02:17:34 PM
Quote from: mouview on February 14, 2018, 10:52:17 PM

To win a Sigerson final is a feather in the cap for many footballers and I'm sure they'll be be going all-out for the victory, even more so than the glorified friendly that is the Inter-Pros. Both colleges will boast a large complement of inter-county players, some of whom are senior AI medal winners. Do you think it will be of inferior standard to the club games?

Who cares though? Bar the players and those involved in the clubs and a few former players it's pretty meaningless stuff. Competitive and of a good standard granted but of importance to very few. I'd imagine far, far more people in Galway will be interested in Corofin winning that NUIG.
Post by: An Watcher on February 16, 2018, 02:30:39 PM
Looked like some very soft trees against UU after they got the goal
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 03:03:50 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on February 16, 2018, 02:30:39 PM

Maybe UUJ need to branch out and forget about trying to buy Sigersons.
Post by: Kickham csc on February 16, 2018, 03:17:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 03:03:50 PM

You never answered my previous question about UCD and NUIG with reference to scholarships

Are they tying to buy a Sigerson? They all have scholarships. In fact, UCD were the first college to bring them in, and have the most expansive program.

So why do you focus on UUJ and leave out the other colleges?
Post by: Taylor on February 16, 2018, 03:21:00 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 16, 2018, 03:17:39 PM

You never answered my previous question about UCD and NUIG with reference to scholarships

Are they tying to buy a Sigerson? They all have scholarships. In fact, UCD were the first college to bring them in, and have the most expansive program.

Stand down Kickham. He is only trying to get a reaction
Post by: Jinxy on February 16, 2018, 03:26:58 PM
Don't mind Syferus.
His bark is worse than his bite.
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 03:29:07 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 16, 2018, 03:21:00 PM
Quote from: Kickham csc on February 16, 2018, 03:17:39 PM

Stand down Kickham. He is only trying to get a reaction

Like hell I am.
Post by: mouview on February 16, 2018, 08:34:43 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 15, 2018, 02:17:34 PM

Who cares though? Bar the players and those involved in the clubs and a few former players it's pretty meaningless stuff. Competitive and of a good standard granted but of importance to very few. I'd imagine far, far more people in Galway will be interested in Corofin winning that NUIG.

Not necessarily. Bit of Corofin-fatigue setting in amongst Galway supporters. They'd like to see the win for sure, but there's no novelty factor with them, it's not as if they're there for the first time. On the other hand, with Galway's fortunes improving, there'd be a good interest in how NUIG fare, as there's a good number of potential/actual county players on board.
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 09:22:06 PM
Quote from: mouview on February 16, 2018, 08:34:43 PM

Not necessarily. Bit of Corofin-fatigue setting in amongst Galway supporters. They'd like to see the win for sure, but there's no novelty factor with them, it's not as if they're there for the first time. On the other hand, with Galway's fortunes improving, there'd be a good interest in how NUIG fare, as there's a good number of potential/actual county players on board.

Let's compare attendances at the two games and see if that's BS or not.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 03:40:30 AM
Quote from: mouview on February 16, 2018, 08:34:43 PM

As you said there is potentially more future Galway footballers playing for NUIG than Corofin tomorrow. Albeit minus Kieran Molloy now.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 17, 2018, 10:24:02 AM
TG4.ie will show the UCD v NUIG Sigerson Cup final at 3.30 today.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 17, 2018, 12:24:29 PM
?
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on February 17, 2018, 10:24:02 AM
TG4.ie will show the UCD v NUIG Sigerson Cup final at 3.30 today.

On their youtube channel if I am not mistaken?
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 04:04:04 PM
Game live on here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bUgBM8SeGw HT NUIG 0-8 UCD 1-5 good game so far.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:07:13 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 04:04:04 PM
Game live on here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bUgBM8SeGw HT NUIG 0-8 UCD 1-5 good game so far.

Big turning point when NUIG should have scored a goal but hit the post when they were 4 points ahead. UCD cleared it and went straight down the field and scored their own goal.
Post by: mouview on February 17, 2018, 04:15:23 PM
Better quality game than the Corofin one. Not sure how viewing figures are measured Syferus.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:17:55 PM
Kieran Molloy got a Garda escort to the game after Corofin match. He may feature yet for NUIG. Liam Silke won't. He picked up a finger injury.
Post by: Schkite on February 17, 2018, 04:26:46 PM
What a howler by the UCD keeper!
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 04:27:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:07:13 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 04:04:04 PM

Big turning point when NUIG should have scored a goal but hit the post when they were 4 points ahead. UCD cleared it and went straight down the field and scored their own goal.
Goal now for NUIG from a keeper mistake that could be a big turning point.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 04:32:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:17:55 PM
Kieran Molloy got a Garda escort to the game after Corofin match. He may feature yet for NUIG. Liam Silke won't. He picked up a finger injury.
He's on now. Player welfare my arse.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:37:19 PM
Quality game of football here. NUIG goal. Lead now 2-8 to 1-9.
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2018, 04:43:14 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 04:32:34 PM

If the players have no interest in their own welfare they can't have any complaints.
They just played an All-Ireland club semi-final.
No one would hold it against them if they left it at that.
If they decide they want to be involved in another game that's up to them.
Post by: Schkite on February 17, 2018, 04:44:36 PM
Two good responses from UCD to the goals, but they've taken the wrong option in front of goal a few times now which could cost them.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 04:53:26 PM
Good advert for College football, enjoyable final. UCD did a Dublin on it late on when they took the lead.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 04:53:41 PM
UCD win by a fisted point almost on 60 minutes.

1-13 to 2-9
Post by: Schkite on February 17, 2018, 04:55:40 PM
Very enjoyable game of football. UCD showed great patience at the end to work the winning point and then holding possesion after.
Post by: whitey on February 17, 2018, 05:14:09 PM
How did Stephen Coen play?

Post by: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 05:15:02 PM
Best Sigerson cup final for many a year credit to both sides. A draw may have fair result and i don't think many would complain if there was extra time. Well done to UCD 2 titles in 3 years and only lost the other final narrowly.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 05:18:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 17, 2018, 04:43:14 PM

If the players have no interest in their own welfare they can't have any complaints.
The fixture schedule is the main problem, players will play no matter what. How hard would it be to avoid matches clashing.
Post by: Maroon Manc on February 17, 2018, 05:41:07 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 17, 2018, 05:14:09 PM

One of the better times I saw him although wasn't taking too much notice of him. Adam Gallagher did ok, can't see him playing any championship football for Mayo though.

Comer looked very tired in the 2nd half but NUIG didn't get enough ball to him in the 2nd half, was brilliant in the first half as was Conor McCarthy.

NUIG carrying a couple of passengers whilst UCD's free taker O'Carroll I think was woeful from placed balls. Jack Barry who was very influential for UCD should have had a black card in the first half but got a yellow.

From a Galway point of view Mulkerrin isn't ready for senior football yet which is understandable given he was a minor last year. Greene won't play Senior football for Galway and despite a good first half don't think Tierney is good enough. Cooke did well but like Comer looked tired late on but is always capable of one stupid long ball a  game. I really like D'Arcy but he did ok today up against older and more experienced Kerry panel, he'll be u20 this year for Galway.

Sean Kelly did well but has a fair bit of filling out to do but will be a Galway regular of the future as will Molloy. Good to see Michael Daly make his comeback coming on with a few minutes to go.
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2018, 05:52:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 05:18:29 PM

The fixture schedule is the main problem, players will play no matter what. How hard would it be to avoid matches clashing.

When you have some lads playing two different sports for multiple teams at various stages during the year, it can be pretty hard.
I just don't believe fixtures should be scheduled in such a way that accommodates these players.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 17, 2018, 06:24:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 17, 2018, 05:52:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 05:18:29 PM

When you have some lads playing two different sports for multiple teams at various stages during the year, it can be pretty hard.
I just don't believe fixtures should be scheduled in such a way that accommodates these players.

Agreed, the GAA can't be pandering to those who are too greedy/stupid in the amount of teams and competitions they choose to play in.
Post by: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 06:26:15 PM
A lad playing for his college and his club is greedy! Now I've heard it all.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 17, 2018, 06:40:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 06:26:15 PM

Playing one game after the other is stupid and reckless.
Post by: mrdeeds on February 17, 2018, 06:45:45 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 17, 2018, 06:40:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 06:26:15 PM

Playing one game after the other is stupid and reckless.

Forcing a player to choose a Sigerson final or an All Ireland Club semi is stupid.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 06:52:24 PM
The other senior football club semi final is on next weekend i'm sure Corofin or Moorefield wouldn't be too bothered if their semi final was pushed back a week.
Post by: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 07:05:40 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 06:52:24 PM
The other senior football club semi final is on next weekend i'm sure Corofin or Moorefield wouldn't be too bothered if their semi final was pushed back a week.

Slaughtneil played their hurling AISF last weekend. Not that simple.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 07:12:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 07:05:40 PM

Pushing back todays semi final by one week to avoid a clash with the Sigerson cup final and to have both semi finals on the same day would be that simple however sensible fixture scheduling is rarely done with the GAA.
Post by: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 07:16:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 07:12:43 PM

Pushing back todays semi final by one week to avoid a clash with the Sigerson cup final and to have both semi finals on the same day would be that simple however sensible fixture scheduling is rarely done with the GAA.

So punish an entire club to suit two lads? I'm sure all the dual players in Slaughneil wouldn't be at 100% this weekend after playing such a big game the weekend before while Nemo were sitting on their hands.

Robbing Peter to pay Paul.
Post by: mrdeeds on February 17, 2018, 07:30:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 07:16:28 PM

So punish an entire club to suit two lads? I'm sure all the dual players in Slaughneil wouldn't be at 100% this weekend after playing such a big game the weekend before while Nemo were sitting on their hands.

The Slaughtneil game wouldn't be moved with this suggestion.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 17, 2018, 07:35:02 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on February 17, 2018, 07:30:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 17, 2018, 07:16:28 PM

The Slaughtneil game wouldn't be moved with this suggestion.
Exactly.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 08:07:47 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on February 17, 2018, 05:41:07 PM
Quote from: whitey on February 17, 2018, 05:14:09 PM

Sean Kelly did well but has a fair bit of filling out to do but will be a Galway regular of the future as will Molloy. Good to see Michael Daly make his comeback coming on with a few minutes to go.

Didn't even realise Daly was with NUIG this year. His injury was a major loss to them really.

Thought Comer looked very tired the last 15 minutes or so. He hardly touched the ball during that time. Mulkerrin probably needs a year more development at U-20. UCD had some big units in there in O'Callaghan and your man from Laois. Impressed with Sean Kelly. He's a bit light yet but has some engine on him and an eye for a goal.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 17, 2018, 08:39:43 PM
Comer needs to wrapped in cotton wool for a couple of weeks! All these games in such a short period will see him pick up an injury or he'll run out of steam when the real stuff starts!
Post by: galwayman on February 17, 2018, 08:42:48 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 17, 2018, 08:39:43 PM
Comer needs to wrapped in cotton wool for a couple of weeks! All these games in such a short period will see him pick up an injury or he'll run out of steam when the real stuff starts!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 08:43:26 PM

Wouldn't be against him being rested for a couple of the remaining league games alright.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 17, 2018, 08:53:34 PM
Agreed but Kevin Walsh will probably play him again in tomorrows FBD final.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on February 17, 2018, 09:06:07 PM
I was at the final earlier, good game of football and UCD were deserved winners, there wasn't that much between them but UCD better overall.
To reiterate the points made here already, there's a few of the Galway lads that need a couple of weeks off, easy to see that a few of them, particularly Comer, are running on fumes at the moment.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 17, 2018, 09:43:38 PM
Just saw on Twitter that Comer's grandfather passed away before the game. Tough old day for the lad.
Post by: Jinxy on February 19, 2018, 03:33:50 PM
I see young Molloy was driven from Tullamore to Dublin in a Garda car.
There could be trouble over that yet.
Post by: Orchard park on February 19, 2018, 03:36:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 19, 2018, 03:33:50 PM
I see young Molloy was driven from Tullamore to Dublin in a Garda car.
There could be trouble over that yet.

a garda escort wasnt it
Post by: Jinxy on February 19, 2018, 03:45:25 PM
https://twitter.com/coilinduffy/status/964889074694868994 (https://twitter.com/coilinduffy/status/964889074694868994)
According to this reporter he was in the car.