GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2014, 10:08:29 AM

Title: Counties your county has yet to play in Championship football
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2014, 10:08:29 AM
Seeing as Longford drew Tipp in the Qualifiers got me a' wondering. This is our first joust with Tipp so I think we have only 9 counties left to meet in Championship football after this match.

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare
Waterford (I think)

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

I think that's correct. But can we find out which county has the most notches on its bedpost?
Title: Re: Counties your county has yet to play in Championship football
Post by: blanketattack on July 01, 2014, 10:35:33 AM
Kerry:

All-time:
Munster:0 Connaught:0 Ulster:0 Leinster: Kilkenny

That I've yet to see:
Munster:0
Connaught: Leitrim
Ulster:0
Leinster: Kilkenny, Wexford, Louth, Carlow, Laois
Post by: WT4E on July 01, 2014, 10:38:26 AM
Tyrone: (My guess is - I'm sure someone will correct me)

Ulster
None

Leinster
Kilkenny
Wicklow
Carlow

Munster
Clare
Waterford
Tipperary
Limerick

Connacht
London
Post by: The Bearded One on July 01, 2014, 10:43:17 AM
Laois beat us in 2006
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2014, 10:43:39 AM
A bit of guesswork:

Leinster
Carlow
Kilkenny

Munster
Clare
Waterford

Ulster
Antrim

Sin é?
Post by: Billys Boots on July 01, 2014, 10:45:06 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2014, 10:08:29 AM
Seeing as Longford drew Tipp in the Qualifiers got me a' wondering. This is our first joust with Tipp so I think we have only 9 counties left to meet in Championship football after this match.

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare
Waterford (I think)

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

I think that's correct. But can we find out which county has the most notches on its bedpost?

I think we've played Tipp before (possibly twice) in the qualifiers - I vaguely remember a jaunt to Ardfinnan, vaguely.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2014, 10:46:37 AM
Kildare

Ulster

Armagh surprisingly

Connacht

Mayo likewise surprisingly

Munster

Tipp
Clare
Waterford

Which tells it's own tale.
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2014, 10:51:05 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2014, 10:46:37 AM
Kildare

Ulster

Armagh surprisingly

Connacht

Munster

Tipp
Clare
Waterford

Kildare beat Mayo in 1935. You were probably on a J1 visa that year.  :D
Post by: reddgnhand on July 01, 2014, 10:58:47 AM
Quote from: WT4E on July 01, 2014, 10:38:26 AM

Ulster
None

Leinster
Laois
Kilkenny
Wicklow
Carlow

Munster
Clare
Waterford
Tipperary
Limerick

Connacht
London
Leitrim

Played Leitrim in 2002.  1st game was abandoned due to a downpour I've never seen the likes of.
Post by: WT4E on July 01, 2014, 11:05:34 AM
Knew I would get a few wrong - Updated the post due to the your wise words!!!
Post by: The Bearded One on July 01, 2014, 11:09:54 AM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 01, 2014, 10:58:47 AM

Ulster
None

Leinster
Laois
Kilkenny
Wicklow
Carlow

Munster
Clare
Waterford
Tipperary
Limerick

Connacht
London
Leitrim

Played Leitrim in 2002.  1st game was abandoned due to a downpour I've never seen the likes of.

I remember that, the fire brigade were trying to clear the water from the pitch using pumps. I thought this was a league fixture though, my bad.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on July 01, 2014, 11:12:21 AM
I think Tyrone played Wicklow in 2002, could be wrong though.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2014, 11:41:21 AM
Feck ya SS - I don't have time for this.....!!!!
Post by: LeoMc on July 01, 2014, 11:44:12 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on July 01, 2014, 11:12:21 AM

Quote from: reddgnhand on July 01, 2014, 10:58:47 AM

Ulster
None

Leinster
Laois
Kilkenny
Wicklow
Carlow

Munster
Clare
Waterford
Tipperary
Limerick

Connacht
London
Leitrim

They don't count.

Football only started in 2003 dontcha know.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2014, 11:54:03 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 01, 2014, 10:51:05 AM
Kildare

Ulster

Armagh surprisingly

Connacht

Munster

Tipp
Clare
Waterford

Kildare beat Mayo in 1935. You were probably on a J1 visa that year.  :D

F U Wonderwall. My Dad wasn't even born then  >:(

:-[
Post by: Blue06 on July 01, 2014, 11:55:10 AM
Cavan - 6 missing

Ulster - None

Munster - Waterford, Clare

Leinster - Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny

Connacht - Leitrim

Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2014, 01:44:38 PM

You're probably thinking of Wexford.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 01, 2014, 01:44:57 PM
Sligo haven't met these yet:

Ulster - Antrim, Fermanagh, Monaghan
Leinster - Louth, Meath, Offaly, Laois, Wexford
Munster - Limerick, Waterford

Oddly in the league we've played every team bar Cork, but have met them twice in Championship.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2014, 01:49:36 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 01, 2014, 01:44:57 PM

Oddly in the league we've played every team bar Cork, but have met them twice in Championship.

Good man OMS. I had suspected Antrim and Laois but delighted when you came up with the answer. The Cork stat is a good one too. Best to avoid them though methinks!
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on July 01, 2014, 01:58:37 PM
Offaly -

Have played all Leinster counties.

Have also played all the Munster counties

Connacht - have never played Sligo or Leitrim in championship

Ulster - have yet to play Derry, Fermanagh, Antrim and Armagh
Post by: Stall the Bailer on July 01, 2014, 04:08:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 01, 2014, 01:44:38 PM

You're probably thinking of Wexford.

I think you are right, my mistake.
Post by: panc56 on July 02, 2014, 12:19:14 AM
Jaysus SS!

We have played Tipp before this , the year of our exit in Killarney to the Kingdom. It was also the year we played Waterford, a match I will never forget. I arrived at Fraher Field well on time and thought it was usual that nobody else would be there 30 minutes before throw in. Eventually I turned on the wireless and the BIG game build started on local radio, 'twas just before throw in I realised the game was in Walsh Park in Waterfor
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2014, 12:25:14 AM
On phone so can't quote muppet. But did Mayo play Wicklow in the championship?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 02, 2014, 01:22:11 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2014, 12:25:14 AM
On phone so can't quote muppet. But did Mayo play Wicklow in the championship?

Quite right, Wicklow need to be added to muppet's list. AFAIK they have never won a Leinster and we have not played them in the back door
Post by: LaurelEye on July 02, 2014, 01:41:17 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 01, 2014, 10:45:06 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2014, 10:08:29 AM

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare
Waterford (I think)

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

I think we've played Tipp before (possibly twice) in the qualifiers - I vaguely remember a jaunt to Ardfinnan, vaguely.

We played both Waterford (in Walsh Park) and Tipp (in Pearse Park) as the first two games in the 2006 run. We also played Waterford in 2004 - the match was due to be played in Pearse Park (and Wikipedia gives it as being in Pearse Park) but Waterford refused to travel that far north and the match was played in Portlaoise instead.

Have we ever actually played Kilkenny in championship football?
Post by: T Fearon on July 02, 2014, 05:37:39 AM
Armagh

Ulster:

None.

Leinster:

Have only played Meath,Dublin,Wicklow,Laois and Wexford

Connacht:

Mayo,London,New York.

Munster:

Cork
Clare

Interestingly we've played championship football against all other Ulster counties (apart from Cavan) outside of the Ulster Championship,in qualifiers.
Post by: T Fearon on July 02, 2014, 07:26:46 AM
Oops,and we've never met Tipperary either
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2014, 08:42:27 AM
Laois put Tyrone out of the championship in 06.  Can ye remember the stick sheehan gave poor mc Menamen.
Limerick is ating at me.  Backdoor few years ago or was it league. 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2014, 09:23:56 AM
My mistake fellow Longfordians - time plays tricks on the memory. So to revise:

Leinster
none

Ulster

Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

Can't believe Kerry have played everyone. Can't be right. Is Blanketattack sure of his facts?
Post by: Billys Boots on July 02, 2014, 10:41:21 AM
Are you sure we've played Kilkenny SS; I certainly have no immediate recollection of such tempting fare. 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2014, 11:12:53 AM
Yes Billy.

I once had  a complete list of Longford in the Leinster championship from 1927 (when we first entered) to late 90s and we played Kilkenny a number of times - last time was in the mid-70s

I don't have that list handy anymore - but there is a feeling in me that we actually lost to Kilkenny at some stage when Kilkenny weren't as bad as they became.
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 02, 2014, 10:19:14 PM
Handy little e-book here with all stats up to last year, shows Longford played Kilkenny 3 times in Championship, last time was 1976  when they won 3-21 to 0.5...a little bit before my time!!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Longford-Championship-League-Results-Statistics-ebook/dp/B00ALGTI1K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404335613&sr=8-1&keywords=longford+championship

Post by: blanketattack on July 02, 2014, 10:27:26 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2014, 09:23:56 AM

Leinster
none

Ulster

Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

Can't believe Kerry have played everyone. Can't be right. Is Blanketattack sure of his facts?

Off top of my head...
Sligo 09
Mayo 11
Galway 08
Roscommon 03?
Leitrim, about 100 years ago 1909 maybe?

Antrim 09
Armagh 06
Donegal 12
Tyrone 12
Derry 04
Down 11
Fermanagh 12
Monaghan 07
Cavan 97

Carlow 1943 or 44
Dublin 13
Kildare 02
Longford 09
Laois - no idea of years but I know Tommy Murphy played v Kerry when aged just 16.
Louth - no info just know they've played each other in an all Ireland final.
Meath 09
Offaly 82
Westmeath 12
Wicklow 02
Wexford - played them a bit during Wexford's 4 in a row, which I thought was 1914-1918 but couldn't be as that's 5 in a row.

Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2014, 10:28:49 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 02, 2014, 08:42:27 AM
Laois put Tyrone out of the championship in 06.  Can ye remember the stick sheehan gave poor mc Menamen.
Limerick is ating at me.  Backdoor few years ago or was it league.

Don't remember Limerick in anything apart from underage. 2007 league?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2014, 10:46:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 02, 2014, 07:26:46 AM
Oops,and we've never met Tipperary either

Mayo beat Armagh in 1950 I believe. Blanketattack, Leitrim won Connacht in 1927 for the first time. Must be then ye played them.
Post by: ardtole on July 02, 2014, 11:00:03 PM
I dont remember Down playing Roscommon, Kilkenny or Limerick. I remember seeing Waterford, it may have been the league though.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2014, 11:47:22 PM
Yep - Kerry beat Laytrum by 2 pts in 1927.

Thanks for the link Qwerty. I've downloaded that. Massive for me stats
Post by: panc56 on July 02, 2014, 11:56:08 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 02, 2014, 10:41:21 AM
Are you sure we've played Kilkenny SS; I certainly have no immediate recollection of such tempting fare.
That game in 76, (I was 1) but my insider tells me that at a fixtures meeting early that year the Kilkenny chairman offered to play the game on a Wednesday evening to avoid a clash with the early rounds of the local Junior Hurling championship )
Post by: panc56 on July 02, 2014, 11:59:03 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 02, 2014, 10:27:26 PM

Leinster
none

Ulster

Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

Off top of my head...
Sligo 09
Mayo 11
Galway 08
Roscommon 03?

Antrim 09
Armagh 06
Donegal 12
Tyrone 12
Derry 04
Down 11
Fermanagh 12
Monaghan 07
Cavan 97

Carlow 1943 or 44
Dublin 13
Kildare 02
Longford 09
Laois - no idea of years but I know Tommy Murphy played v Kerry when aged just 16.
Meath 09
Offaly 82
Westmeath 12
Wicklow 02
Wexford - played them a bit during Wexford's 4 in a row, which I thought was 1914-1918 but couldn't be as that's 5 in a row.
Now tell me when Kerry have played either London or New York in the championship?
Post by: Billys Boots on July 03, 2014, 09:06:21 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2014, 11:47:22 PM
Yep - Kerry beat Laytrum by 2 pts in 1927.

Thanks for the link Qwerty. I've downloaded that. Massive for me stats

Was that the Packie McGarrity (Man with the cap) game?
Post by: blanketattack on July 03, 2014, 05:08:47 PM
Quote from: panc56 on July 02, 2014, 11:59:03 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 02, 2014, 10:27:26 PM

Leinster
none

Ulster

Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

Off top of my head...
Sligo 09
Mayo 11
Galway 08
Roscommon 03?

Antrim 09
Armagh 06
Donegal 12
Tyrone 12
Derry 04
Down 11
Fermanagh 12
Monaghan 07
Cavan 97

Carlow 1943 or 44
Dublin 13
Kildare 02
Longford 09
Meath 09
Offaly 82
Westmeath 12
Wicklow 02
Now tell me when Kerry have played either London or New York in the championship?

Kerry beat London in their first All-Ireland in 1903.

Wasn't there home and foreign finals at one stage as well? Kerry would have played London a fair bit in that case. Don't know about NY, presume never played in c'ship, have in league.
Post by: panc56 on July 03, 2014, 07:55:33 PM
In that case Kerry have not completed the full set!
Post by: armaghniac on July 03, 2014, 08:20:22 PM
New York and London are not serious and not in Ireland, who cares whether Kerry played them or not?
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2014, 08:38:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 03, 2014, 08:20:22 PM
New York and London are not serious and not in Ireland, who cares whether Kerry played them or not?

Tell that scutter to Leitrim and Sligo.
Post by: armaghniac on July 03, 2014, 08:42:08 PM
Leitrim and Sligo may have lost the odd game, but they do not field teams of blow-ins.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2014, 08:45:23 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 02, 2014, 10:19:14 PM
Handy little e-book here with all stats up to last year, shows Longford played Kilkenny 3 times in Championship, last time was 1976  when they won 3-21 to 0.5...a little bit before my time!!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Longford-Championship-League-Results-Statistics-ebook/dp/B00ALGTI1K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404335613&sr=8-1&keywords=longford+championship
That e-book may replace the sorrowful mysteries of the Rosary during a Solemn Novena in the diocese of Ardagh. 
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2014, 09:01:52 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 03, 2014, 08:42:08 PM
Leitrim and Sligo may have lost the odd game, but they do not field teams of blow-ins.

Most counties would fail the blown-in test. I wonder what the majority of birth certs say.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 03, 2014, 10:17:06 PM
I think we would not have played anyone from Munster except Cork or Kerry and limerick. I don't think we played Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny or Offaly  in Leinster but I do recall back door games against Longford, Wicklow, Westmeath & Louth. I know we played Meath a good bit, including 3 AI finals and once in the backdoor. We also played Kildare in a final and Wexford in a semi final.

In Connacht we played Ros, Galway and Mayo in AI finals. We even played Sligo in an AI semi. Leitrim we didnt play I'm fairly sure. London or New York possibly as there were home finals etc but can't say.

So by my reckoning Cavan never played Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny, Offaly, Tipp, Waterford, Clare or Leitrim.
Post by: Blue06 on July 10, 2014, 01:12:39 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 03, 2014, 10:17:06 PM
I think we would not have played anyone from Munster except Cork or Kerry and limerick. I don't think we played Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny or Offaly  in Leinster but I do recall back door games against Longford, Wicklow, Westmeath & Louth. I know we played Meath a good bit, including 3 AI finals and once in the backdoor. We also played Kildare in a final and Wexford in a semi final.

In Connacht we played Ros, Galway and Mayo in AI finals. We even played Sligo in an AI semi. Leitrim we didnt play I'm fairly sure. London or New York possibly as there were home finals etc but can't say.

So by my reckoning Cavan never played Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny, Offaly, Tipp, Waterford, Clare or Leitrim.

Cavan played Tipp in 1935 AISF & Offaly in 1969 AISF.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2015, 11:30:06 AM
Revision to my list cos of tomorrow's match

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

So down to 7 now.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 03, 2015, 01:36:02 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2015, 11:30:06 AM
Revision to my list cos of tomorrow's match

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster
Cork
Clare

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London

So down to 7 now.
And we've scrubbed Limerick off ours too since. Plus no longer have a 0% record vs Wicklow so that's good.
Post by: muppet on July 03, 2015, 01:54:23 PM
The Rest of Ireland team

(Is the Goal challenge still on these days?)
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 02:03:27 PM
I can remember playing everybody except Sligo, Clare and Tipp.
Post by: screenexile on July 03, 2015, 02:31:25 PM
Derry

Ulster
None

Leinster
Wicklow
Carlow
Offaly
Kilkenny
Meath??

Munster
Waterford
Clare
Limerick
Tipperary

Connacht
New York
London
Roscommon
Leitrim

I am not sure about Mead... I seem to remember a stat about Sean Boylan having never beaten Derry but I can't remember us ever playing in the Championship
Post by: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 03:04:59 PM
I can remember NFL and u-21 games against Derry but no championship encounters to my knowledge.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2015, 03:11:29 PM
Waterford, Carlow, Wicklow. I'll think of more I'm sure.
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2015, 03:17:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 03, 2015, 03:04:59 PM
I can remember NFL and u-21 games against Derry but no championship encounters to my knowledge.

1987 AISF
Post by: shark on July 03, 2015, 03:36:46 PM
Westmeath have never played:

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Think that's correct. 100% win record against Connacht opposition.
Post by: Sidney on July 03, 2015, 05:27:25 PM
Quote from: shark on July 03, 2015, 03:36:46 PM

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Did Westmeath not play Down in the qualifiers recently?
Post by: shark on July 03, 2015, 05:36:04 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 03, 2015, 05:27:25 PM

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Not that I recall.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2015, 05:53:23 PM
Down played Tipperary in Westmeath.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 03, 2015, 08:01:12 PM
Quote from: shark on July 03, 2015, 05:36:04 PM

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Not that I recall.

Shark is spot on. Played Cavan last year,  Fermanagh the year before. Ulster teams before that were Antrim in 2011, Derry in 2010, Tyrone in 2008 and Donegal in 2007. Lost to them all by the way.
Post by: shark on July 03, 2015, 08:34:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 03, 2015, 08:01:12 PM
Quote from: shark on July 03, 2015, 05:36:04 PM

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Monaghan
Down
Armagh

Not that I recall.

Shark is spot on. Played Cavan last year,  Fermanagh the year before. Ulster teams before that were Antrim in 2011, Derry in 2010, Tyrone in 2008 and Donegal in 2007. Lost to them all by the way.

On second thoughts, did Monaghan put Westmeath out in the 2003 qualifiers? I think they did. Was Fermanagh in 2002 I think. Derry obviously beat Westmeath in 2004 too.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 03, 2015, 10:39:42 PM
Jaysus, you're right. That year ended in Portlaoise for me.
Post by: Schkite on July 04, 2015, 08:49:12 AM
Monaghan have definitely played Westmeath, in 2003.
Post by: The Insider on July 04, 2015, 06:55:57 PM
Longford will be down to 6 sides on Monday,  will face either Roscommon, Kildare or winner Fermanagh or Antrim. Don't know what will happen if we come out first against Rossies or Kildare . The whole stand remains closed and basically only 1 side of the ground is fully open with limited cover on the town end terracing. Hard to say what the capicity is , but it would not be sufficient for a game against Roscommon unless its made all ticket . With the local angle might even make the telly
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2016, 09:05:26 AM
With Longford facing Cork we are now down to

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster

None

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 11, 2016, 09:54:10 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2016, 09:05:26 AM
With Longford facing Cork we are now down to

Leinster
none

Ulster
Fermanagh
Antrim
Armagh

Munster

None

Connacht
Galway
Roscommon
London
I doubt there'll be a big Cork following up in Longford for this?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 11, 2016, 10:00:31 AM
QuoteI doubt there'll be a big Cork following up in Longford for this?

I'd say there would be more Cork people in Killarney for a Kerry All Ireland home coming!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2018, 03:40:52 PM
Time to bump this thread methinks.

We still have to meet:

Fermanagh, Antrim, Armagh, Galway, Roscommon and London.

Post by: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2018, 03:44:46 PM
Kildare

Ulster

Armagh surprisingly

Connacht

Munster

Tipp
Clare
Waterford

Just Tipp and Waterford left. Think we will be meeting Tipp this year.
Post by: Itchy on May 22, 2018, 06:10:44 PM
Quote from: Blue06 on July 10, 2014, 01:12:39 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 03, 2014, 10:17:06 PM

Cavan played Tipp in 1935 AISF & Offaly in 1969 AISF.
Cavan have since played Carlow in back door. That me and Waterford, Clare and leitrim left.
Post by: Plain of the Herbs on May 22, 2018, 07:53:18 PM
No change for Offaly in the meantime.
Quote from: Plain of the Herbs on July 01, 2014, 01:58:37 PM
Offaly -

Have played all Leinster counties.

Have also played all the Munster counties

Connacht - have never played Sligo or Leitrim in championship

Ulster - have yet to play Derry, Fermanagh, Antrim and Armagh
Post by: Dubhaltach on May 22, 2018, 08:29:08 PM
For Mayo, the counties we have yet to play in championship are:

Munster
Waterford

Ulster
Antrim
Monaghan

Leinster
Wicklow
Carlow
Kilkenny

There's a good chance one of these counties will be dropping off this list in a couple of weeks time.
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 23, 2018, 08:59:35 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 01, 2014, 01:44:57 PM

That's our updated list I think.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 23, 2018, 09:18:32 AM
Quote from: Dubhaltach on May 22, 2018, 08:29:08 PM

Ulster
Antrim
Monaghan

I may have to plead old age on this one, but off the top of my head, I don't recall Armagh playing Mayo in the Championship.   
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2018, 10:55:13 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 23, 2018, 09:18:32 AM

Ulster
Antrim
Monaghan

I may have to plead old age on this one, but off the top of my head, I don't recall Armagh playing Mayo in the Championship.

1950 All Ireland semi-final.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 23, 2018, 11:45:34 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2018, 10:55:13 AM

Thanks Farrandeelin.  I should have known that!!  :-[
Post by: westbound on May 23, 2018, 12:23:49 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 23, 2018, 11:45:34 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2018, 10:55:13 AM

Thanks Farrandeelin.  I should have known that!!  :-[

You can plead youth!  :P
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 23, 2018, 12:58:59 PM
Quote from: westbound on May 23, 2018, 12:23:49 PM
You can plead youth!  :P

Ha ha - a very rare scenario indeed!   ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 30, 2018, 09:39:35 AM
Updated Westmeath list, we have never played:

Roscommon
Leitrim

Cork
Waterford

Down

Wouldn't have minded playing Leitrim or Waterford this year...

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DeTYQFoX4AEWTZJ.jpg:large)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 30, 2018, 03:26:34 PM

Munster
Waterford

Ulster
Antrim
Monaghan

Leinster
Wicklow
Carlow
Kilkenny

There's a good chance one of these counties will be dropping off this list in a couple of weeks time.

Hopefully we'll scratch that Carlow itch. And a good chance we'll be meeting Monaghan in the Super 8s
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 30, 2018, 04:15:36 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on May 30, 2018, 03:26:34 PM

Munster
Waterford

Ulster
Antrim
Monaghan

Leinster
Wicklow
Carlow
Kilkenny

Hopefully we'll scratch that Carlow itch. And a good chance we'll be meeting Monaghan in the Super 8s
Not ifs buts or maybes there...