Offaly - The year gone by.

Started by AZOffaly, December 22, 2008, 12:04:17 PM

2008 was the year we all said
the Faithful would surely rise up from the dead
The Taoiseach in situ, the Pres on the way,
And Offaly's teams would come out and play

In football alas, bitter tastes we soon found
as the good ship Pat Roe ran sharply aground.
Division 4 matches were all cat malojeon
but that doesn't excuse the summers implosion.

Westmeath up first, in old Tullamore,
The faithful decided we'd rather not score.
'It looks just like rugby', loud were the cries,
But the Maroon and White plundered the tries.

On to the Qualifiers, at least this time we'd try,
You must be joking, we made some grown men cry.
Prancing and dancing without fear of a wallop
Down were flying and we ne'er raised a gallop.

Embarassment reigned in this proud County's homes,
As scapegoats were looked for wherever we'd roam.
Pat Roe on his sword, did with honesty fall
But in truth twas the players who tried sweet f*ck all.

In hurling at least there was a sliver of light
As Joe Dooley's men at least put up a fight.
Kilkenny were tamed, well, until nearly half ways,
Not great, some might say, but we've seen many worse days

Limerick were tamed without any great fuss,
The last runners up never got off the bus.
We clung to our hope that it was no flash in the pan,
But up next were Waterford and their own big Dan.

Dan did not much, but Eoin Kelly made wreck,
As Davy Fitz's team damn near hit the deck.
Disappointment once more, but different this day
As pride was retored, and we're on our way.

The underage lads had some success in both codes,
But we came up just short, as has been our mode,
But it's not in our nature to grumble or whine,
So f*ck the begrudgers, bring on zero nine.

Good man AZ, nothing like the positive.