Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 09:46:37 AM

Title: Price of a Pint
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 09:46:37 AM
The price of a pint is away mad in Belfast.

I was in both Belfast & Dublin over the weekend.

Belfast Friday night I ordered 2 pints of Guinness - £11.20
2 Guinness in Dublin  on Saturday was €10.80 (£9.15)

£5.60 for a pint in Belfast (not in the city centre) is mad. Surely this can't be the norm? Belfast has historically never been near Dublins prices, never mind a pound a pint more expensive.

What would the price of a pint be in everyone's locals be at the minute? Mine is £3.90 which I thought was bad enough.
Title: Re: Price of a Pint
Post by: lurganblue on October 13, 2021, 09:50:20 AM
I have been to Belfast for pinting twice since restrictions have been lifted and the prices are nothing short of a disgrace. I would be in no rush to go on a session there again for a right while.

Variety of prices in Lurgan.  I go to weekly pub quiz and it's £3.50 a pint or 3 for £10. Some places will be £4 or more.
Post by: bogball88 on October 13, 2021, 10:02:58 AM
Quote from: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 09:46:37 AM

£5.60 for a pint in Belfast (not in the city centre) is mad. Surely this can't be the norm? Belfast has historically never been near Dublins prices, never mind a pound a pint more expensive.

What would the price of a pint be in everyone's locals be at the minute? Mine is £3.90 which I thought was bad enough.
Name and shame? Not the old Chester by any chance? Still around 3.50 in the Rock Bar anyway  :)
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 10:08:24 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on October 13, 2021, 10:02:58 AM

Name and shame? Not the old Chester by any chance? Still around 3.50 in the Rock Bar anyway  :)

A bar at the lower end of Stranmillis road. All pints were £5.60 except peroni which was £6.00. A bottle of Coors was £4.90. I thought we were still 25 years away from £6 pints lol
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 13, 2021, 10:10:23 AM

Chester on the Antrim Road?  Pint of Guinness pint of Heverlee £10.20. Haven't been down to Cassidy's since re-opened but would imagine it's cheaper. Ben Madigans slightly cheaper, 2 pints less than £10 but not much less
Post by: Keyser soze on October 13, 2021, 10:16:03 AM
The [alleged] robbing hoors in the Harbour in Portrush charging £5.90 a pint.   
Post by: StPatsAbu on October 13, 2021, 10:18:40 AM
Quote from: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 10:08:24 AM

A bar at the lower end of Stranmillis road. All pints were £5.60 except peroni which was £6.00. A bottle of Coors was £4.90. I thought we were still 25 years away from £6 pints lol

Well there's only one bar on Stranmillis Road so that narrows it! The Jeggy Nettle previously the House?
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 10:28:48 AM
Quote from: StPatsAbu on October 13, 2021, 10:18:40 AM
Quote from: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 10:08:24 AM

Well there's only one bar on Stranmillis Road so that narrows it! The Jeggy Nettle previously the House?

The very one! Yeah used to be called The House, couldn't remember the new name of it.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 13, 2021, 10:37:40 AM
Thats a disgrace. Pints were £4.50 in Belfast 3 or 4 years ago, since reopening prices have gone mad. Most local pints £3.80 to £4.

My rule is if you're not getting 3 pints for a tenner its too dear.
Post by: general_lee on October 13, 2021, 10:47:50 AM
When have you ever seen a bar lower their prices? And once one bar does it, they all do it. Belfast city centre is fast becoming a joke. I know the manager of a certain cathedral quarter establishment who tells me they lifted £26k the other Friday night so it's not like people aren't silly enough to pay the prices.
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 10:48:27 AM
I remember drinking in The House & pints were £3 during Euro 2016 games. Now they are £5.60-£6. Doubled in the space of 5 years.

Hopefully in another 5 years they aren't £12
Post by: Louther on October 13, 2021, 11:11:36 AM
Pub trade has changed.

In those urban centres the pubs will charge what they like as they know their clientele aren't necessary locals in 2/3 nights a week. It's people out for a big night out once a month or people on weekend breaks where they don't really bother about the prices. They looking at people spending when they out and maybe not seeing them again for another few weeks or months. They'll be busy and provide the atmosphere because a crowd follows a crowd. They'll know they will get a good run for year or so before a new place opens and it will be the in place to go. They'll close and revamp after a while and you go again.

Your paying for the location and all that comes with it.

Locally, you could lose a years drinking for 5c a pint  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on October 13, 2021, 11:12:24 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 13, 2021, 09:53:39 AM
Belfast has rocketed. Plenty of people happy to pay it so they're filling their boots.

Don't they even give you a glass at that price!!

There seems to be a certain buoyancy in Belfast, perhaps the Protocol is really working, while you might pay that for a pint in London I suspect that places in Britain of Belfast's size charge less.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2021, 11:13:09 AM
£3.50 at the weekend, though it was a GAA pub, wife wasn't too happy when she picked me up, the Guinness was great
Post by: gallsman on October 13, 2021, 11:32:14 AM
When I moved to Dublin on 2005, the price of a pint in a bar in town, or certainly in a nightclub, was 4.50 to 5e. The average price in Belfast was £2.50.

Now drinks in Belfast are £5-6 and the price in Dublin is still in and around 5e. Crazy. A friend over here is home at the minute and reported paying £5.20 in the Errigle the other night. One of my favourite pubs but apparently has gone downhill a lot?

EDIT: have just seen someone has made the exact same point.
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 11:52:04 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 13, 2021, 11:32:14 AM
When I moved to Dublin on 2005, the price of a pint in a bar in town, or certainly in a nightclub, was 4.50 to 5e. The average price in Belfast was £2.50.

Now drinks in Belfast are £5-6 and the price in Dublin is still in and around 5e. Crazy. A friend over here is home at the minute and reported paying £5.20 in the Errigle the other night. One of my favourite pubs but apparently has gone downhill a lot?

Yeah the Errigal would be one of my favourites too, haven't been since before Covid. Just took a quick look at their online menu

Guinness
Stout | 4.2%
Pint £5.20

Harp
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Carlsberg
Lager | 3.8%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Heverlee
Lager | 4.8%
Pint £5.70

Peroni
Lager | 5.1%
Pint £6.00

Hop House 13
Lager | 4.1%
Pint £5.20

Smithwicks
Red Ale | 4.5%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore Light
Light Lager | 3.5%
Pint £5.20

Guinness Zero
Stout | 0.0%
Pint £5.20

Angry Orchard
Cider | 5.0%
Pint £5.70

Post by: thewobbler on October 13, 2021, 12:00:19 PM
A group of Belfast pub chain owners - let's be honest, it's only 3-4 that matter at this stage - would seem to have come together and agreed to implement the old pricing strategy ie one third of the final price to the wholesaler, one third for staff, spillage and running costs, one third for profit or reinvestment.

In some ways it's a clever move. People are so eager to get out and about again and will spend heavily. Belfast (city centre) is predominantly a one night a week town for bars to make money, and they would seem likely to have full houses if they charge twice again. Those same patrons aren't taking as many holidays and trips elsewhere, so can't price gauge as accurately. Plus, if every other major pub is also in on the racket, it becomes normalised.

As a strategy it will succeed for as long as Belfast's Saturday night trade holds up. Which shows signs it will do.

——

In one way they're right to do this. Making money out of a pub these days is exceptionally risky and volatile.

But what the greedy f**kers seem to have forgotten is that for the past 15 years, when they allowed their margins to slide on draught beer, they've been doubling their margins on spirits, wine and soft drinks, to the point that they're making 80% for profit and reinvestment off those sales.

So the customer is losing out. And as the resultant cost of a night has grown to more than the weekly disposable income of lots of folk, sooner or later the customer will step off.

——

Personally I'd have preferred the same publicans had joined together to lock horns against Diageo and take them down a peg.

In 1995 a pint of Carlsberg in the City centre Belfast was £1.50. Id assume publicans were buying it at around 50p per pint including VAT.

12 tins of the same beer at the time, in any off licence was £7.99.

For a publican to buy in a pint of Carlsberg in 2021, it's about £1.95 inc VAT.

Yet in an off licence it is roughly £8.99 for 12 tins.

Anyone can do the maths on that and work out that there's a price fixing scam in place.

——

Diageo has been trying to destroy the pub trade for 20 years.

Now the Belfast publicans are joining in.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on October 13, 2021, 02:25:06 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 13, 2021, 12:00:19 PM
A group of Belfast pub chain owners - let's be honest, it's only 3-4 that matter at this stage - would seem to have come together and agreed to implement the old pricing strategy ie one third of the final price to the wholesaler, one third for staff, spillage and running costs, one third for profit or reinvestment.

In some ways it's a clever move. People are so eager to get out and about again and will spend heavily. Belfast (city centre) is predominantly a one night a week town for bars to make money, and they would seem likely to have full houses if they charge twice again. Those same patrons aren't taking as many holidays and trips elsewhere, so can't price gauge as accurately. Plus, if every other major pub is also in on the racket, it becomes normalised.

As a strategy it will succeed for as long as Belfast's Saturday night trade holds up. Which shows signs it will do.

——

In one way they're right to do this. Making money out of a pub these days is exceptionally risky and volatile.

But what the greedy f**kers seem to have forgotten is that for the past 15 years, when they allowed their margins to slide on draught beer, they've been doubling their margins on spirits, wine and soft drinks, to the point that they're making 80% for profit and reinvestment off those sales.

So the customer is losing out. And as the resultant cost of a night has grown to more than the weekly disposable income of lots of folk, sooner or later the customer will step off.

——

Personally I'd have preferred the same publicans had joined together to lock horns against Diageo and take them down a peg.

In 1995 a pint of Carlsberg in the City centre Belfast was £1.50. Id assume publicans were buying it at around 50p per pint including VAT.

12 tins of the same beer at the time, in any off licence was £7.99.

For a publican to buy in a pint of Carlsberg in 2021, it's about £1.95 inc VAT.

Yet in an off licence it is roughly £8.99 for 12 tins.

Anyone can do the maths on that and work out that there's a price fixing scam in place.

——

Diageo has been trying to destroy the pub trade for 20 years.

Now the Belfast publicans are joining in.

this is it

the prices are the wrong way round

pints should be cheaper than off sales

Post by: JoG2 on October 13, 2021, 02:54:01 PM
£5.20 for a Rockshore light, my god. A few of us now have wee rooms / spaces for a night's supping the odd weekend. Half a dozen men, some music and a box of beer for £12.
Local builders are up to their ears renovating home bars and spaces for folk.
Post by: maddog on October 13, 2021, 03:02:30 PM
Quote from: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 11:52:04 AM

Yeah the Errigal would be one of my favourites too, haven't been since before Covid. Just took a quick look at their online menu

Guinness
Stout | 4.2%
Pint £5.20

Harp
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Carlsberg
Lager | 3.8%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Heverlee
Lager | 4.8%
Pint £5.70

Peroni
Lager | 5.1%
Pint £6.00

Hop House 13
Lager | 4.1%
Pint £5.20

Smithwicks
Red Ale | 4.5%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore Light
Light Lager | 3.5%
Pint £5.20

Guinness Zero
Stout | 0.0%
Pint £5.20

Angry Orchard
Cider | 5.0%
Pint £5.70

Should this not be in the WTF thread?

here in Brum my local £3.60 for lager (carling) £3.80 for pretty decent Guinness (for England).
Post by: JoG2 on October 13, 2021, 03:12:10 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 13, 2021, 02:58:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 13, 2021, 02:54:01 PM
£5.20 for a Rockshore light, my god. A few of us now have wee rooms / spaces for a night's supping the odd weekend. Half a dozen men, some music and a box of beer for £12.
The £5.20 for the Guinness Zero caught my attention.... :-\

A dear hit!
Post by: gawa316 on October 13, 2021, 03:43:26 PM
$6.50 here in California and that's at a local brewery. Happy hours are a godsend though, we're your are paying $4-$5. There's a Mexican place just down the road and you can get a 20oz modelo for $4.75
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 03:59:27 PM
Quote from: maddog on October 13, 2021, 03:02:30 PM
Quote from: toby47 on October 13, 2021, 11:52:04 AM

Guinness
Stout | 4.2%
Pint £5.20

Harp
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Carlsberg
Lager | 3.8%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore
Lager | 4.0%
Pint £5.20

Heverlee
Lager | 4.8%
Pint £5.70

Peroni
Lager | 5.1%
Pint £6.00

Hop House 13
Lager | 4.1%
Pint £5.20

Smithwicks
Red Ale | 4.5%
Pint £5.20

Rockshore Light
Light Lager | 3.5%
Pint £5.20

Guinness Zero
Stout | 0.0%
Pint £5.20

Angry Orchard
Cider | 5.0%
Pint £5.70

Should this not be in the WTF thread?

here in Brum my local £3.60 for lager (carling) £3.80 for pretty decent Guinness (for England).

The Scary thing is the above isn't the worst prices. Many on down in the city are slightly more expensive
Post by: screenexile on October 13, 2021, 09:06:24 PM
Crazy stuff going for a night out in Belfast is it really worth it??

Is it really a surprise young people are turning to the much cheaper and more dangerous buzz?!
Post by: armaghniac on October 13, 2021, 09:17:27 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 13, 2021, 09:06:24 PM

Is it really a surprise young people are turning to the much cheaper and more dangerous buzz?!

we need a United Ireland for more reasonable prices.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2021, 09:18:24 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 13, 2021, 09:17:27 PM

Just stay out of the centre of town pint local, they'll get the hint
Post by: red hander on October 13, 2021, 11:31:44 PM
Rarely drink in city centre now. Was in Mulligans on Saturday to watch Ireland game and then Hercules, both places were under fiver for pint. Looking forward to £3.50 pints of excellent Guinness at Solitude this Saturday. I got myself a Phillips Perfect Draft machine during lockdown and it's best thing I've ever bought. Top quality German and Belgian kegged beer at my fingertips, why line the pockets of those rip off bastards.
Post by: Silver hill on October 14, 2021, 07:59:21 AM
Any truth that a pint of Tennents in the Harbour Bar in portrush was £7+ over the Summer?
If true, one more good reason to avoid that town
Post by: toby47 on October 14, 2021, 08:40:31 AM
Another few

Lavery's

GUINNESS £5.10
HARP £5.10
CARLSBERG £5.10
ROCKSHORE £5.10
HOP HOUSE 13 £5.10
ROCKSHORE LIGHT £5.10
SMITHWICKS £5.10

Northern Lights - Ormeau Road

Pints range from £4.50-£6.00

The Perch Rooftop bar

Cobra .......................................£5.20
Pravha .......................................£5.20
Staropramen ..............................£5.20
Punk IPA ...................................£5.40
Coors .......................................£5.20
Chieftain IPA .............................£5.20
Rebel Red .................................£5.20
Guinness ..................................£5.30
Orchard Theives ........................£5.20
Blue Moon ................................£5.40

Fibber Magees

Harp £5.20
Carlsberg £5.20
Rockshore Irish Lager £5.35
Guinness £5.40
Smithwicks £5.20
Hop House 13 £5.35
Coors Light £5.35
Pravha £5.35
Tennents £5.20
Clonmel £5.20
Heverlee £5.35

The Felons

Pints - £3.50

The Rock Bar

Happy Hour 4pm-7pm on a Monday all pints £3

The Grand Central Hotel

Bottle Beer (330ml)
Estrella Damm £7
Menabrea £7
Corona £7
Peroni £7

Draught (Pint)
Inedit Damm £10
Observatory Pale Ale £10

Nancy Mulligans - Castle Street

Pints - £3.90 (My guess would be cheapest in city centre)
Post by: themac_23 on October 14, 2021, 08:45:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2021, 09:18:24 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 13, 2021, 09:17:27 PM

Just stay out of the centre of town pint local, they'll get the hint

This is it, ive had a big change the last few years, me and my mates would always have went into town for a few pints on a sat night at least twice a week, usually go somewhere like the Garrick to watch the late kick off then round the cathedral quarter. but its getting too much, 5 or 6 of us and you're talking over £30 for a round, now with the more subdued atmosphere in bars and the hassle of getting home its really not appealing at all.

Our local club is £3.70 a pint and the pints are top drawer, £3.20 a pint if you use your membership card. Always live sport on, Juke box going and great craic. the bar never used to be overly busy at the weekends, usually older lads in for pints but since Covid its been really busy with people clearly fed up with the town.
Post by: NAG1 on October 14, 2021, 08:47:57 AM
No sympathy for these big bars in the town especially with this price gouging.

There should have been a collective will between the hospitality sector in Belfast to make it an attractive night out and pricing is a big part of that. But instead they have gone for short termism and it is going to cost them.

Hopefully the locals are thriving in their place.
Post by: Dire Ear on October 14, 2021, 09:42:56 AM
Any difference in Derry prices?
Post by: snoopdog on October 14, 2021, 10:14:52 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 13, 2021, 02:58:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 13, 2021, 02:54:01 PM
The £5.20 for the Guinness Zero caught my attention.... :-\
I agree . Why is alcohol free beer the same price as a normal pint. Publicans and vintners association always blame tax on beer for the price. Surely there should be no or lower tax on a beer with no alcohol  . A shandy same price as a pint is also ridiculous. If they want people to drink responsibly where is the incentive to replace the odd round with an NA.
Post by: bogball88 on October 14, 2021, 10:30:54 AM
Quote from: red hander on October 13, 2021, 11:31:44 PM
Rarely drink in city centre now. Was in Mulligans on Saturday to watch Ireland game and then Hercules, both places were under fiver for pint. Looking forward to £3.50 pints of excellent Guinness at Solitude this Saturday. I got myself a Phillips Perfect Draft machine during lockdown and it's best thing I've ever bought. Top quality German and Belgian kegged beer at my fingertips, why line the pockets of those rip off bastards.
Don't forget the cans of Red Stripe  :-*
Post by: JoG2 on October 14, 2021, 10:34:19 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on October 14, 2021, 09:42:56 AM

Tbh Dire Ear its been pre Covid since I was last in town for a beer. Just asked a couple of friends, both said £3.80 / £3.90

Couldn't agree more with Snoop. Non Alcoholic beers (I'll often drive to functions, nights out) should be taxed much much lower.
Post by: Estimator on October 14, 2021, 10:47:21 AM
There is a Belfast fella on twitter who has created a Pint Census Google Doc that you can access. He has pints prices from a whole range of places. He started it after a night out in a few bars post Covid.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 14, 2021, 11:40:21 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on October 14, 2021, 09:42:56 AM

£3.50 on outskirts(locals bars), not sure up the town
Post by: bogball88 on October 14, 2021, 01:08:14 PM
£3.20 St Malachys Old Boys Club on the Antrim Road in Belfast. Great spot. Think its even cheaper if you are a member
Post by: gallsman on October 14, 2021, 02:32:02 PM
7 quid for a bottle of Estrella Damm!!!! "Imported Beer" ffs. It's absolute piss that anyone above the age of 17 would look down their nose at over here.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on October 14, 2021, 03:37:43 PM
I saw those and was thinking about getting one. Which kegs would you recommend with it? I like German and Belgian beers so I thought it would be a good job. I never go out for a pint anymore so it's been mostly cans through beer hawk etc I'd be getting.
Post by: Franko on October 14, 2021, 04:31:32 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 14, 2021, 02:32:02 PM
7 quid for a bottle of Estrella Damm!!!! "Imported Beer" ffs. It's absolute piss that anyone above the age of 17 would look down their nose at over here.

Inedit Damm

Different stuff entirely and not bad at all

7 quid is still an absolute robbery
Post by: toby47 on October 14, 2021, 04:58:22 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 14, 2021, 04:31:32 PM

Inedit Damm

£7 for a Corona is the worst i've ever seen. Likely charge you £2 for the lime too
Post by: gallsman on October 14, 2021, 06:46:47 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 14, 2021, 04:31:32 PM

Inedit Damm

I'm familiar with Inedit. It's the same company and I love in Barcelona but his post clearly says 7 quid for a bottle of Estella Damm in the Grand Central.
Post by: red hander on October 15, 2021, 01:57:46 AM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on October 14, 2021, 03:37:43 PM
I saw those and was thinking about getting one. Which kegs would you recommend with it? I like German and Belgian beers so I thought it would be a good job. I never go out for a pint anymore so it's been mostly cans through beer hawk etc I'd be getting.

Lowenbrau and Spaten very good for the German, Jupiler and Stella (not the shite ruined under licence in the UK, the real gear) for the Belgian. Really nice Dutch one I can't recall name of too. Basically you can't go wrong with any of their beers, apart from the Tennents, obviously. Which is same price as few of the premier beers  ;D
Post by: naka on October 15, 2021, 08:39:39 AM
To be fair bought myself a sub and no longer have the wish to pay dearly for pints in a pub.
Was walking through newry and Saturday night at say 11/30
Was shocked at how quiet it was, nowhere busy.
Prices are killing pubs.
Post by: lurganblue on October 15, 2021, 11:49:21 AM
Quote from: naka on October 15, 2021, 08:39:39 AM
To be fair bought myself a sub and no longer have the wish to pay dearly for pints in a pub.
Prices are killing pubs.

Have the sub machine myself. Near time to stock up again.  Do you order direct from Beerwulf?

I hope the ass falls out of a load of those places in Belfast but i would doubt that will happen.  I wonder what a stein in the Christmas market will set ya back now.
Post by: toby47 on October 15, 2021, 03:13:24 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2021, 11:49:21 AM
Prices are killing pubs.

Have the sub machine myself. Near time to stock up again.  Do you order direct from Beerwulf?

I hope the ass falls out of a load of those places in Belfast but i would doubt that will happen.  I wonder what a stein in the Christmas market will set ya back now.

Oktoberfest is on at Custom House square at the minute. Looks similar to the xmas market, a  big marquee/tent, £10 entry & £11 for a stein = £21 for your first litre of beer
Post by: red hander on October 15, 2021, 04:07:54 PM
Quote from: toby47 on October 15, 2021, 03:13:24 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 15, 2021, 11:49:21 AM
Prices are killing pubs.

Oktoberfest is on at Custom House square at the minute. Looks similar to the xmas market, a  big marquee/tent, £10 entry & £11 for a stein = £21 for your first litre of beer

Walked passed it last night coming home from work. Looked virtually empty and fairly miserable. Had pint of Guinness in The American yesterday during my break. Creamy goodness at £4.10.
Post by: Truth hurts on April 01, 2022, 02:26:47 PM
whats the current price in your local,, £3.60 in mine
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 02:35:31 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on April 01, 2022, 02:26:47 PM

Be around that price in the club, but the local pub are charging £4.50 a pint.

So the price of 2 pints is a nice bottle of red  ;) in the offy, STAY AT HOME SAVE YOUR MONEY
Post by: RedHand88 on April 01, 2022, 02:57:23 PM

Must be a shebeen!
Post by: imtommygunn on April 01, 2022, 02:58:39 PM
3.60 - it's not been that in a decade!!
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 01, 2022, 03:14:25 PM
(https://i.postimg.cc/PNY1fwds/Screenshot14.png) (https://postimg.cc/PNY1fwds)

should prob be in the belfast rip off thread too  :-[
Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:18:37 PM
The Errigal is £5.20 if I'm having a stout or if drinking beer £5.70 for Heverlee/ £6 for Peroni.
Post by: thebar on April 01, 2022, 03:21:36 PM

Please share details! :)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:31:03 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 01, 2022, 03:14:25 PM

Delayed 10 hours? why not just hit the local pub? some people are just dafties
Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:32:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:31:03 PM

Alot of pubs in Belfast would charge that anyway.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:34:23 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:32:18 PM

Shorts social club very close, up over bridge, £3.60 a pint

Post by: screenexile on April 01, 2022, 03:36:43 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 01, 2022, 02:58:39 PM
3.60 - it's not been that in a decade!!

Think the local bar is £4.40 and the last time I was at our Club it was £3.80 but that was last year.
Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:38:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:34:23 PM

Yeah but it's a dungeon  ???
Post by: Saffrongael on April 01, 2022, 03:46:31 PM

That fella is the recently retired head of the NICS, he was probably on about £180k a year so heart not exactly bleeding for him 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:48:06 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:38:54 PM

Beggars can't be choosers ..

But shocker someone complaining about the price of anything in an airport.... Honestly, like what were they expecting?
Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:50:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 03:48:06 PM

But shocker someone complaining about the price of anything in an airport.... Honestly, like what were they expecting?

Yeah I agree, once you are part of a captive audience (Airports, Concerts etc) you should be prepared for these prices, it's not a new thing.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 01, 2022, 04:34:52 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:50:14 PM

Yeah I agree, once you are part of a captive audience (Airports, Concerts etc) you should be prepared for these prices, it's not a new thing.

Airports bars and restaurants have costs that usual establishments don't due to security restrictions. People sometimes forget this. That's not to say they don't put the hand in as well.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 01, 2022, 09:00:12 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 03:50:14 PM

Doesn't justify it or make it right!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on April 01, 2022, 09:24:32 PM
£3.30 in my local club for members, £3.60 for non-members.
Post by: Square Ball on April 01, 2022, 09:30:31 PM
Europa, £19.75 for a pint, a Bacardi and 2 7ups
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 01, 2022, 11:29:41 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 01, 2022, 09:30:31 PM
Ouch! If you take 6 quid for the pint and 2.50 each for the minerals that's the guts of 9 quid for the Bacardi  :o Robbing hoors.
Post by: general_lee on June 07, 2022, 01:36:58 PM
https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/northern-ireland-most-expensive-uk-24155715

Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 07, 2022, 01:40:13 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 07, 2022, 01:36:58 PM

Was just outside Dublin Friday before last, price of a pint £7.50.. Carton house. Luckily ours were free, but can you imagine paying that on top of your room?
Post by: Saffrongael on June 07, 2022, 01:41:13 PM

Have we blamed it on the troubles yet ?
Post by: johnnycool on June 07, 2022, 01:42:56 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on June 07, 2022, 01:41:13 PM

Protocol obviously.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 07, 2022, 01:43:37 PM

I'm expect Seafoid to come on with a cryptic post about it any minute now
Post by: trailer on June 07, 2022, 03:02:12 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 07, 2022, 01:43:37 PM

Price of drink and hotel rooms in Belfast is scandalous. They'll get a rude awakening. Was charged £4 for a Coke in the Europa recently. f**king ridiculous.
Post by: Franko on June 07, 2022, 03:38:31 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 07, 2022, 03:02:12 PM

Price of drink and hotel rooms in Belfast is scandalous. They'll get a rude awakening. Was charged £4 for a Coke in the Europa recently. f**king ridiculous.

Belfast is disgraceful.

Hotels / Food / Pints - the prices are scandalous

There are lean times coming for these people and after the way they've gouged the shite out of punters post covid, I've no sympathy.

Colin Neill should be hit with some of these stats every time he comes on the air begging for another taxpayer handout
Post by: tyrone08 on June 07, 2022, 03:41:41 PM
It's strange as people are obviously out every weekend paying these crazy drink and hotel prices. I make a decent living and have no idea where these people are getting the money at.

Price a hotel in Belfast for 1 night with the partner. Over 200 quid. Went down to an apartment in a popular town down south and got 2 nights for 160 quid. Pints were cheaper as well.
Post by: trailer on June 07, 2022, 03:42:37 PM
Quote from: Franko on June 07, 2022, 03:38:31 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 07, 2022, 03:02:12 PM

Belfast is disgraceful.

Hotels / Food / Pints - the prices are scandalous

There are lean times coming for these people and after the way they've gouged the shite out of punters post covid, I've no sympathy.

Colin Neill should be hit with some of these stats every time he comes on the air begging for another taxpayer handout

A complete stain
Post by: thewobbler on June 07, 2022, 05:59:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 01, 2022, 11:29:41 PM
Ouch! If you take 6 quid for the pint and 2.50 each for the minerals that's the guts of 9 quid for the Bacardi  :o Robbing hoors.

This is my single biggest gripe with modern pubs.

I can understand them charging £5.50 a pint to keep their traditional (60-70%) margins in place. I don't think they should charge it, but the robbing bastards that are Diageo are a little forcing their hand here.

But this mindset/principle  should then see a rub the other way for punters. But no, instead astonishing greed is in display.

If working on the 60-70% margin basis, pubs should be sending out:

Coke and similar at around £1.20
Smirnoff and Gordon's at around £2.10
Jameson and JD at around £2.90
Bottles of Coors at around £2.25
Bottles of Corona at around £2.70

But they don't. Instead they absolute lot fleece man, woman and child for these products, charging somewhere between 100% and 200% margins. For opening a bottle, or squirting into a glass.

We are absolute f**king eejits for paying this.

Post by: Square Ball on June 07, 2022, 07:10:27 PM
But we do. It's £5.10 in the Parador Lodge/Parador/The P. Sure come on down watch the GAA, and it's even cheaper when you have the loyalty card 🍻.
Post by: johnnycool on June 08, 2022, 08:18:20 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 07, 2022, 07:10:27 PM
But we do. It's £5.10 in the Parador Lodge/Parador/The P. Sure come on down watch the GAA, and it's even cheaper when you have the loyalty card 🍻.

Paul would be proud of the free advertising.  ;)

I'm almost certain our club sells pints at £3.50 (Members get another 10% off) and if the breweries had put the keg price up we'd follow suit based on whatever margins we've set on each drink, so evidently it's not driven by the breweries.

Price gouging indeed.
Post by: lurganblue on June 08, 2022, 11:35:05 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 07, 2022, 05:59:46 PM

I can understand them charging £5.50 a pint to keep their traditional (60-70%) margins in place. I don't think they should charge it, but the robbing bastards that are Diageo are a little forcing their hand here.

But this mindset/principle  should then see a rub the other way for punters. But no, instead astonishing greed is in display.

But they don't. Instead they absolute lot fleece man, woman and child for these products, charging somewhere between 100% and 200% margins. For opening a bottle, or squirting into a glass.

I assume Diageo etc charge all bars the same price per keg.  So a bar in Belfast is buying kegs at the same price as the local rural pub say?  The margins they then put on the drink in Belfast City Centre is scandalous. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2022, 11:38:39 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 08, 2022, 11:35:05 AM

I assume Diageo etc charge all bars the same price per keg.  So a bar in Belfast is buying kegs at the same price as the local rural pub say?  The margins they then put on the drink in Belfast City Centre is scandalous.

Rates, insurance costs, wages, and other City prices will drive up the price of a pint in a city pub over a rural one.. But yes they are still ripping us off
Post by: Truth hurts on June 08, 2022, 12:09:42 PM
Its 3.70 in the local
Post by: Armagh18 on June 08, 2022, 12:21:18 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 08, 2022, 11:35:05 AM

I'd say your big pub in Belfast is paying a whole pile less per keg than your small rural pub if they're buying in bulk although other expenses will drive the price up in Belfast obviously.
Post by: bogball88 on June 08, 2022, 12:26:44 PM
£3.50 in Casement Park social the day of Ulster Final
Post by: thewobbler on June 08, 2022, 12:30:49 PM
It would be less per keg, but it wouldn't be much less. Diageo aren't fond of sharing their margins with anyone.

——

The reason why local pubs are able to charge £3.70 is they are effectively foregoing the one third of each sale that used to be gathered up into a combination of profit, savings, reinvestment funds, rainy day funds. It was kind of perceived that one third of a sale went on the brewer/distiller, one third to cost of sale (staff, rent, rates, entertainment).

A local pub that trades basically only in pints at £3.70 a touch wouldn't pay a man a wage. Viable for a club. Viable for a man looking some pin money from a property paid for years ago. Not viable as a career.
Post by: Truth hurts on June 08, 2022, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 08, 2022, 12:30:49 PM
It would be less per keg, but it wouldn't be much less. Diageo aren't fond of sharing their margins with anyone.

——

The reason why local pubs are able to charge £3.70 is they are effectively foregoing the one third of each sale that used to be gathered up into a combination of profit, savings, reinvestment funds, rainy day funds. It was kind of perceived that one third of a sale went on the brewer/distiller, one third to cost of sale (staff, rent, rates, entertainment).

A local pub that trades basically only in pints at £3.70 a touch wouldn't pay a man a wage. Viable for a club. Viable for a man looking some pin money from a property paid for years ago. Not viable as a career.

Is it true there is not much profit on pints and that the profit in bars is in spirits, splits and diluted drinks?
Post by: general_lee on June 08, 2022, 12:51:12 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on June 08, 2022, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 08, 2022, 12:30:49 PM

——

Is it true there is not much profit on pints and that the profit in bars is in spirits, splits and diluted drinks?
Yes. Worth also noting that Diageo, Tennents etc pump £1000s into the big bars round Belfast. The breweries also took back £1000s worth of kegs when the bars shut for covid (around St Patrick's 2020). So they now have the bars by the short and curlys to a certain extent. All it takes though is for one of the cabal of chain pub owners to put their prices up to something ridiculous and the rest follow suit
Post by: oakleaflad on June 16, 2022, 12:27:40 PM
Going to be in Dublin shortly with a few relatives doing some touristy type things. Where's decent for a few pints in or near the city centre that's reasonable as Dublin prices go?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2022, 12:51:22 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 16, 2022, 12:27:40 PM
Going to be in Dublin shortly with a few relatives doing some touristy type things. Where's decent for a few pints in or near the city centre that's reasonable as Dublin prices go?

Plenty of talk about the price of a pint in Belfast but you'd be hard push to find a cheap pint in Dublin, especially south of the Liffey, plenty of put that I like O'Donoghues Bar, McDaids good few on or near Dame street Keoghs pub good old fashioned pub..

Ah, need to get down for some Guinness soon
Post by: Armagh18 on June 16, 2022, 12:57:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2022, 12:51:22 PM

Plenty of talk about the price of a pint in Belfast but you'd be hard push to find a cheap pint in Dublin, especially south of the Liffey, plenty of put that I like O'Donoghues Bar, McDaids good few on or near Dame street Keoghs pub good old fashioned pub..

Dublins always been known to be dear for a pint though, Belfast seems to have went totally bonkers price wise since lockdown.
Post by: rosnarun on June 17, 2022, 09:28:22 AM
i was charge €3.50 for a ballygowan and a dash,
pints seem cheap next to that
Post by: Franko on June 23, 2022, 12:47:27 AM
https://www.newsletter.co.uk/business/consumer/a-triple-threat-to-the-hospitality-sector-warns-chief-executive-3739573

As expected

Colin Neill has the begging bowl out again

'Intervention is needed' he says.

In 2021, in the middle of a pandemic, when hospitality was supposedly 'on it's knees', the Beannchor Group posted net profits of over 1.8million.

This represents a net margin of over 14% (gross margin over 80%)

Insane numbers.

Can't wait for 2022's accounts.
Post by: trailer on June 23, 2022, 10:00:46 AM
Saw your man from Mourne Seafood Bar on the TV last night complaining about drug use in Belfast outside his establishment. It felt like he just didn't want a hostel for vulnerable people beside his restaurant.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 23, 2022, 10:03:30 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 23, 2022, 10:00:46 AM
Saw your man from Mourne Seafood Bar on the TV last night complaining about drug use in Belfast outside his establishment. It felt like he just didn't want a hostel for vulnerable people beside his restaurant.

Neither would most of us.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 10:28:50 AM
There shouldn't be hostels for drug/alcoholics in the centre of a busy Belfast centre
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on June 23, 2022, 10:40:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 10:28:50 AM
There shouldn't be hostels for drug/alcoholics in the centre of a busy Belfast centre

So where do they go? Residential areas?
Post by: gallsman on June 23, 2022, 11:37:18 AM
Quote from: Franko on June 23, 2022, 12:47:27 AM
https://www.newsletter.co.uk/business/consumer/a-triple-threat-to-the-hospitality-sector-warns-chief-executive-3739573

As expected

In 2021, in the middle of a pandemic, when hospitality was supposedly 'on it's knees', the Beannchor Group posted net profits of over 1.8million.

Insane numbers.

"Have to to close some days to give staff some well deserved rest"

Eh, hire more staff?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 11:43:16 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on June 23, 2022, 10:40:34 AM

I don't know, I'm not paid to look after this problem, what I do know is having drug addicts lying in the middle of shopping centers or high streets or out in front of the fast food places where kids are with their parents shooting up is not on. maybe you're ok with that in Dublin, but having worked in Belfast for many years and seeing it first hand, its not how you bring people back into the town after the pandemic..

The problem needs to be addressed at source proper money put into rehabilitation and aftercare.. just putting them all together in hostels and hoping that it goes away won't work
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2022, 11:45:13 AM
There are a few down by the docks in belfast.
Post by: toby47 on June 23, 2022, 12:16:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 11:43:16 AM

I don't know, I'm not paid to look after this problem, what I do know is having drug addicts lying in the middle of shopping centers or high streets or out in front of the fast food places where kids are with their parents shooting up is not on. maybe you're ok with that in Dublin, but having worked in Belfast for many years and seeing it first hand, its not how you bring people back into the town after the pandemic..

The problem needs to be addressed at source proper money put into rehabilitation and aftercare.. just putting them all together in hostels and hoping that it goes away won't work

Out the front of the McDonalds on Donegal place is madness this weather.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on June 23, 2022, 01:29:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 11:43:16 AM

So if they aren't in the city they are in the suburbs. And there are a lot more kids there.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 01:31:14 PM
Didn't realise town centres are adult only
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2022, 01:59:46 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 23, 2022, 10:03:30 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 23, 2022, 10:00:46 AM

Neither would most of us.
Absolutely and I would feel mightily aggrieved if my business was there for years and these drop-in centres etc. were opened up beside me. That wee square has turned into a right kip (as has a lot of Belfast city centre) so I'm sure he, and other business owners, are wondering what they are getting for their hefty city centre business rates. Belfast is bogging.
Post by: general_lee on June 23, 2022, 09:26:49 PM

As expected

Insane numbers.

Probably a bit unfair to base this on one the biggest hospitality groups in Ireland (and when you break it down 1.8m isn't that much across 20 odd outlets)

What were once two popular bar/restaurants near me are down to a 4 day week because it isn't financially viable to open Monday-Wednesday. The cost of cooking oil, poultry, fish, fuel, fresh produce is continually going up. Colin Neill is insufferable but he's just lobbying on behalf of his industry.
Post by: haranguerer on June 24, 2022, 11:19:15 AM
He has come out with utter rubbish at various times that has been fact checked, so has zero credibility. Was all over the media with this gem lately

"Larne's business rates on the main street are the same as Regent Street in London."
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 12:38:35 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 24, 2022, 11:19:15 AM
He has come out with utter rubbish at various times that has been fact checked, so has zero credibility. Was all over the media with this gem lately

"Larne's business rates on the main street are the same as Regent Street in London."

Larne collectively would be still cheaper than one shop in Regent street
Post by: Armagh18 on June 24, 2022, 12:42:05 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 24, 2022, 11:19:15 AM

Must be a few tough guys up round Larne charging big big protection money!
Post by: toby47 on June 27, 2022, 09:12:02 AM
Was in a bar in Belfast Friday evening. A pint and a packet of Tayto.

£7.60!!

Asked the barman was that correct he said Yeah -  £6.05 for the pint and £1.55 for a bag of Tayto.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 27, 2022, 09:15:58 AM
What bar??
Post by: Franko on June 27, 2022, 09:28:19 AM
Quote from: general_lee on June 23, 2022, 09:26:49 PM

As expected

Insane numbers.

Probably a bit unfair to base this on one the biggest hospitality groups in Ireland (and when you break it down 1.8m isn't that much across 20 odd outlets)

What were once two popular bar/restaurants near me are down to a 4 day week because it isn't financially viable to open Monday-Wednesday. The cost of cooking oil, poultry, fish, fuel, fresh produce is continually going up. Colin Neill is insufferable but he's just lobbying on behalf of his industry.

I've always said it - some small rural venues are struggling.  But there's no mention of targeted support.

The big Belfast cartels will be dipping their noses in the trough too, at the expense of the taxpayer.

And I don't agree that 1.8million is small fry across 20 outlets.  Total nonsense.

This figure was during the pandemic - when the industry was supposedly crippled???

Any business that can produce a 14% net margin, when it is 'crippled' is in no need of public handouts.

Post by: Rudi on June 27, 2022, 09:46:33 AM
Apologies for using this thread. Staying at the Gal gorm soon. Restaurant is booked out except for fine dining scutter. Anybody recommend a decent restaurant near by as in 15 miles. Good bar & grill type, ribs, steak etc. Dont want any bother with me big Taig head, if you know what I mean.
Post by: thewobbler on June 27, 2022, 09:48:10 AM
Galgorm golf club is about a mile away.
Post by: Rudi on June 27, 2022, 09:49:41 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 27, 2022, 09:48:10 AM
Galgorm golf club is about a mile away.

Thank you
Post by: marty34 on June 27, 2022, 09:56:14 AM
Quote from: Rudi on June 27, 2022, 09:46:33 AM
Apologies for using this thread. Staying at the Gal gorm soon. Restaurant is booked out except for fine dining scutter. Anybody recommend a decent restaurant near by as in 15 miles. Good bar & grill type, ribs, steak etc. Dont want any bother with me big Taig head, if you know what I mean.

Maybe The Wild Duck in Portglenone?

About 10 mins drive.
Post by: Rudi on June 27, 2022, 10:01:00 AM
Quote from: marty34 on June 27, 2022, 09:56:14 AM
Quote from: Rudi on June 27, 2022, 09:46:33 AM

Maybe The Wild Duck in Portglenone?

About 10 mins drive.

That sounds good to, heard of Portglenone, never there. 2 birds & all that! Thanks
Post by: ONeill on June 27, 2022, 10:56:44 AM
Portglenone is a wonderful place to visit.

You can watch the monks power their electricity in the monastery with their own dung. It's a brilliant sight.
Post by: God14 on June 27, 2022, 12:34:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 27, 2022, 10:56:44 AM
Portglenone is a wonderful place to visit.

You can watch the monks power their electricity in the monastery with their own dung. It's a brilliant sight.

that made me laugh LOLOL
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 27, 2022, 04:51:15 PM
Great river walk down there too.
Post by: Silver hill on June 27, 2022, 05:24:07 PM
Go another 5 miles up the road to the Tap House in Bellaghy, just beside the Seamus Heaney Centre. Good food, decent portions, reasonably priced.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2022, 10:30:12 PM
So due to head to friends holiday home near Dunfanaghy at the weekend, might be off now as unfortunately for her she's tested positive for covid..

So was looking at other homes around that area, obviously some decent priced places, but came across one, 2 nights, 3 bedroom £2,120!!!  ;D
Post by: clarshack on June 27, 2022, 10:55:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2022, 10:30:12 PM
So due to head to friends holiday home near Dunfanaghy at the weekend, might be off now as unfortunately for her she's tested positive for covid..

So was looking at other homes around that area, obviously some decent priced places, but came across one, 2 nights, 3 bedroom £2,120!!!  ;D

Surely nobody would pay that?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 27, 2022, 11:02:42 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 27, 2022, 10:55:18 PM

I hope not, was on booking.com
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2022, 04:22:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 16, 2022, 12:57:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 16, 2022, 12:51:22 PM

Dublins always been known to be dear for a pint though, Belfast seems to have went totally bonkers price wise since lockdown.
Had Guinness in Kehoe's in Dublin recently - €5.90 a pint.
Harbour Master in IFSC was €6.20.
Post by: Jim Bob on July 04, 2022, 06:00:04 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 27, 2022, 10:55:18 PM

Do they stick with that price in the hope that some sucker will pay it?
Can't see idea of these ridiculous prices if they can't get what they re asking
Post by: An Watcher on July 04, 2022, 06:21:09 PM
Anyone been to Galway recently?  Expensive?  Hopefully not dublin prices!
Post by: markl121 on July 04, 2022, 08:19:07 PM
a Guinness and a Heineken in the auld triangle the other week for the quarter final was 10.50euro  Surprised me tbh for Dublin prices. was paying 12 sterling in Belfast later on in the night
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2022, 08:31:59 PM
Quote from: markl121 on July 04, 2022, 08:19:07 PM
a Guinness and a Heineken in the auld triangle the other week for the quarter final was 10.50euro  Surprised me tbh for Dublin prices. was paying 12 sterling in Belfast later on in the night
If this thread is correct, Belfast is more expensive for pints than Dublin
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2022, 08:35:03 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 04, 2022, 08:31:59 PM

What establishment in Belfast you paid £12
Post by: Saffrongael on July 04, 2022, 08:41:20 PM
Was in Dublin couple of weeks ago and it's similar to Belfast
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2022, 08:43:14 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 04, 2022, 08:41:20 PM

Was in Dublin 2 beers and club sandwich (room service) €52
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 04, 2022, 08:44:32 PM
The whole accommodation sector  is away to f*ck and now up here is just as bad as "down south", previously it would also have been dear.

One night in Galway for the races, anything left on booking.com is looking £400+ for the Friday night,  for two people lol. Some craic

The fact that pints in Belfast can be as dear as Dublin says it all. The two cities don't compare at all.

Ireland is just simply undo-able and I would not give over 150 a night to any establishment. Maybe Dublin for special occasions but that's cos it has a lot going for it.

Places like Donegal charging this is just hilarious. If it rains you're f*cked. And don't tell me anything different. Put on your rain coat surely and go for a hike / walk but sure it's miserable as.
Post by: general_lee on July 04, 2022, 09:12:12 PM
Saw a place in Kerry charging €3.90 for a Guinness! I'd near drive the length of the country to give them my custom!
Post by: shantygael on July 04, 2022, 09:30:13 PM
Was there too after derry and dub games last  week,stayed there most of the night as was reasonable enough for dub prices before  heading to temple bar and paying 7 euro  for  a pint. Some establishments in that area charge over 8 euro.
Post by: markl121 on July 05, 2022, 12:26:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2022, 08:35:03 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 04, 2022, 08:31:59 PM

What establishment in Belfast you paid £12
Fibber Magees, even the Hatfield last week was 5.90
Post by: red hander on July 05, 2022, 02:33:07 AM
Taking the piss now. Their greed will finish them, and then what will that w**ker Colin Neill say?
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2022, 08:04:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2022, 08:43:14 PM

Yep, if compare Dublin hotel prices to Belfast pub prices, Belfast will be cheaper. Well done!

I don't know what Temple Bar prices but have heard that you could pay up to €7 if you picked the 'right' spot. But otherwise dearest place in Dublin is around Grafton St and Baggot st areas, where I do frequent and  Guinness ranges from around €5.50 to €6.50, averaging at about €6 in my experience. Going solely on this thread that seems to compare favourbly to similar Belfast pubs.

Of course if you enjoy being ripped off like MR, there are plenty of hotels willing to oblige!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2022, 09:21:51 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2022, 08:04:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 04, 2022, 08:43:14 PM

Yep, if compare Dublin hotel prices to Belfast pub prices, Belfast will be cheaper. Well done!

I don't know what Temple Bar prices but have heard that you could pay up to €7 if you picked the 'right' spot. But otherwise dearest place in Dublin is around Grafton St and Baggot st areas, where I do frequent and  Guinness ranges from around €5.50 to €6.50, averaging at about €6 in my experience. Going solely on this thread that seems to compare favourbly to similar Belfast pubs.

Of course if you enjoy being ripped off like MR, there are plenty of hotels willing to oblige!

I can only give you experience of what was charged. These are Dublin hotel prices, at no point am I saying Belfast isn't expensive I also posted what I paid in Donegal at the weekend for a meal for 6 with a double round and two other drinks (14 drinks) €144 that was great value
Post by: gallsman on July 05, 2022, 09:25:31 AM

The key point is that those prices in Dublin haven't changed much in the guts of 20 years.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2022, 09:29:33 AM
Quote from: gallsman on July 05, 2022, 09:25:31 AM

The key point is that those prices in Dublin haven't changed much in the guts of 20 years.

Which is great... was in our club last week, £3.15
Post by: Franko on August 23, 2022, 01:41:35 PM
Here we go

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-62644653

A group of Northern Ireland trade organisations have published an action plan aimed at tackling the crisis in the cost of doing business.

The 15 industry bodies said a "perfect storm" was causing devastation for the retail and hospitality sectors.

Businesses are seeing a fall in trade and customers, as a knock-on effect of the cost-of-living emergency....
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2022, 01:45:59 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 23, 2022, 01:41:35 PM
Here we go

A group of Northern Ireland trade organisations have published an action plan aimed at tackling the crisis in the cost of doing business.

The 15 industry bodies said a "perfect storm" was causing devastation for the retail and hospitality sectors.

Businesses are seeing a fall in trade and customers, as a knock-on effect of the cost-of-living emergency....

When it comes the price of a pint I'd be VERY surprised if the price came down if all these measures were introduced.
Post by: Franko on August 23, 2022, 02:35:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2022, 01:45:59 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 23, 2022, 01:41:35 PM
Here we go

When it comes the price of a pint I'd be VERY surprised if the price came down if all these measures were introduced.

When it comes to the larger groups here - you can be absolutely certain it will not

Over the past few years they've demonstrated that they will gouge punters to the absolute maximum amount possible at every opportunity

This brazen profiteering when times were good should not be forgotten
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2022, 02:44:48 PM
We'd all love to be paying less tax and get benefits during this period of inflation, but looks like I'll be down a few quid when I'm out!
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 04, 2022, 07:17:32 PM
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/12-dublin-pubs-that-sell-a-pint-of-guinness-for-a-fiver-or-less-42192808.html
Post by: MK on December 04, 2022, 07:31:27 PM
Heineken  pints up by up to 50c from Dec 1st.....which includes Coors,Bierra Moretti and Orchard Thieves.

Happy Christmas from Heineken.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 08:22:24 PM
7 quid in Belfast for a pint , not good
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 04, 2022, 08:33:39 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 08:22:24 PM
Was in Belfast yesterday, Garrick pub, place was jammed packed inside out the back upstairs and outside. 3 Guinness 2 Harp £27 quid, thought that was reasonable

Is that an average price you found or Grand Central  bar?
Post by: mrdeeds on December 04, 2022, 08:35:32 PM
How much is a pint in Paris?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 09:05:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 04, 2022, 08:33:39 PM
Was in Belfast yesterday, Garrick pub, place was jammed packed inside out the back upstairs and outside. 3 Guinness 2 Harp £27 quid, thought that was reasonable

I wish . The maldron. Hardly your high end hotel . Too dear. Belfast packed, but shopping not my thing.Couldn't believe amount of people up from Dublin and further down. I suppose you can get from Dublin to Belfast quicker than from Derry these days.

North west getting squeezed to death
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2022, 10:21:50 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 09:05:03 PM

I wish . The maldron. Hardly your high end hotel . Too dear. Belfast packed, but shopping not my thing.Couldn't believe amount of people up from Dublin and further down. I suppose you can get from Dublin to Belfast quicker than from Derry these days.

Was out in Belfast myself and town was as rammed alright. Every gaff I passed was full - good to see. I was driving so on the Guinness 0.0 but may need to change my approach as it's a f**king nightmare when drinking with other Guinness drinkers and you get a standard glass  :-\
Post by: Dougal Maguire on December 04, 2022, 10:38:23 PM
Was in Glasgow last night. Pint of peroni in a restaurant £5.95. Pint in most pubs £5.00 or less. We're being ripped off over here
Post by: WT4E on December 04, 2022, 10:55:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2022, 10:21:50 PM

Was out in Belfast myself and town was as rammed alright. Every gaff I passed was full - good to see. I was driving so on the Guinness 0.0 but may need to change my approach as it's a f**king nightmare when drinking with other Guinness drinkers and you get a standard glass  :-\

They shouldn't be serving it in a standard glass. It has to be a 0.0 glass. U should alert them or Diageo. For the common good if nothing else.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 11:05:10 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on December 04, 2022, 10:38:23 PM
Was in Glasgow last night. Pint of peroni in a restaurant £5.95. Pint in most pubs £5.00 or less. We're being ripped off over here

Finny that's what i got in maldron - peroni.

Staff good ,food decent , pints like pish water and too dear
Post by: thewobbler on December 04, 2022, 11:11:00 PM
Quote from: WT4E on December 04, 2022, 10:55:43 PM

They shouldn't be serving it in a standard glass. It has to be a 0.0 glass. U should alert them or Diageo. For the common good if nothing else.

Yes and further to that, the bar keep should then stand beside the purchaser for the rest of the evening to ensure that no potential for cross contamination can arise

Honestly, I do wonder.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2022, 11:12:50 PM
Quote from: WT4E on December 04, 2022, 10:55:43 PM

Same happened in The Thirsty Goat a few months ago. Pints in the standard glass - 4 of us drinking Guinness and me the odd one out. I had to hold my glass the whole time! I may get back on the proper stuff or buy a breathalyser!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 04, 2022, 11:45:37 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 11:05:10 PM

First off you didn't drink in a Belfast pub, and secondly you order an expensive shit beer. Slap it up ya.

Like I said 5 pints in central Belfast pub 27 quid, no food as eating is cheating
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 11:55:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 04, 2022, 11:45:37 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 04, 2022, 11:05:10 PM

First off you didn't drink in a Belfast pub, and secondly you order an expensive shit beer. Slap it up ya.

Like I said 5 pints in central Belfast pub 27 quid, no food as eating is cheating

Went up to the jeggy nettle today, 6.80 for a stout and skag heads everywhere
Post by: RedHand88 on December 05, 2022, 09:14:21 AM
4.90 in the Hatfield. There are half sensible prices in some places.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2022, 09:29:04 AM
Went to Cassidy's for a pint the other night on the way home from a gig. Ordered 2 pints and went to pay by card. Young lad says £10 minimum charge so took the £10 off the card and handed me change back of £2.60. £3.70 a pint. Couldn't complain about that
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2022, 09:38:21 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2022, 09:29:04 AM
Went to Cassidy's for a pint the other night on the way home from a gig. Ordered 2 pints and went to pay by card. Young lad says £10 minimum charge so took the £10 off the card and handed me change back of £2.60. £3.70 a pint. Couldn't complain about that

Thats what id be used to in Derry. Northern Ireland has the highest pint prices in UK(yuk) and Belfast naturally highest in north.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 05, 2022, 09:51:55 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2022, 09:38:21 AM

Thats what id be used to in Derry. Northern Ireland has the highest pint prices in UK(yuk) and Belfast naturally highest in north.
Belfast would be as bad as Dublin now would it? A fiver is loads for a pint imo
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 05, 2022, 10:00:16 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 05, 2022, 09:51:55 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2022, 09:38:21 AM

Belfast would be as bad as Dublin now would it? A fiver is loads for a pint imo

If you are drinking 10 pints then good luck to ya.....

6/7 pints is plenty and going to cost you less than £40 quid, if you haven't £40 quid then stay in and watch Strictly
Post by: Truth hurts on December 05, 2022, 10:05:05 AM

5.40 a pint when its 3.50 or so in the casement?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 05, 2022, 10:09:06 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on December 05, 2022, 10:05:05 AM

5.40 a pint when its 3.50 or so in the casement?

As much as i love a pint in Casement or my club, which would be same price, heading into town is better craic
Post by: Gmac on December 24, 2022, 02:59:01 AM
$26 for a pint of Stella in a plastic cup at the 49er game a couple of weeks ago , club level though
Post by: gawa316 on December 24, 2022, 07:23:28 AM
Quote from: Gmac on December 24, 2022, 02:59:01 AM
$26 for a pint of Stella in a plastic cup at the 49er game a couple of weeks ago , club level though

Feck me I hope you didn't pay that...Was at Levi a few years back and at regular concession, it was $13.

Buffalo Wild Wings has Wild Herd beer, 20 ouncer for $3, you couldn't beat that with a big stick. Wouldn't be my usual choice but at that price, you can't lose.
Post by: Gmac on December 25, 2022, 05:59:28 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 24, 2022, 07:23:28 AM
Quote from: Gmac on December 24, 2022, 02:59:01 AM

Feck me I hope you didn't pay that...Was at Levi a few years back and at regular concession, it was $13.

Buffalo Wild Wings has Wild Herd beer, 20 ouncer for $3, you couldn't beat that with a big stick. Wouldn't be my usual choice but at that price, you can't lose.
was down to $23 yesterday
Post by: 5times5times on December 27, 2022, 04:58:59 PM
Any recommendations for good pints in belfast? Missus and I leaving the kids at the inlaws tomorrow morning.

Irish trad would be a bonus too! Tks
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2022, 05:25:42 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on December 27, 2022, 04:58:59 PM
Any recommendations for good pints in belfast? Missus and I leaving the kids at the inlaws tomorrow morning.

Kelly's cellars will have traditional music on from 7.30, Mourne food next door for grub, can't go wrong
Post by: Upandover on December 27, 2022, 08:21:53 PM

Maddens is a decent pint, round the corner from kellys cellars.
Post by: bogball88 on December 28, 2022, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: Upandover on December 27, 2022, 08:21:53 PM

Cant emphasise this enough. Pretty cheap in comparison as well
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 12:09:33 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on December 28, 2022, 12:06:29 PM

Thought it was a bit rough last time I was there...
Post by: bogball88 on December 28, 2022, 12:56:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 12:09:33 PM

Really?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 01:08:24 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on December 28, 2022, 12:56:15 PM

Really?

Was during the covid time, few alcoholics hanging around outside, could be different now, don't get me wrong I've drank in plenty shit holes, just wouldn't bring my wife to it
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 02:16:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 01:08:24 PM

Really?

Was during the covid time, few alcoholics hanging around outside, could be different now, don't get me wrong I've drank in plenty shit holes, just wouldn't bring my wife to it
It's not a reflection on Maddens as that part of the city is a shithole. It has always been fairly shabby round Smithfield but it has got worse since the Primark fire as a lot of the access roads were closed off so presuambly alcoholics and druggies were out of sight. We were at Mourne Seafood before Christmas and even the wee square outside it looks like shit.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 28, 2022, 02:26:21 PM

Really?

Was in Maddens before Christmas there and it was great craic. Good pints and great music upstairs. It's not the most salubrious but Bamber runs a great spot. As good a place as any to mix pints and Trad.   

5 Points is good for music but can be rough. The Deers Head is good too. Kelly's is a good spot and if it's decent weather it's nice to sit outside it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 02:27:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 02:16:36 PM

Really?

It's not a reflection on Maddens as that part of the city is a shithole. It has always been fairly shabby round Smithfield but it has got worse since the Primark fire as a lot of the access roads were closed off so presuambly alcoholics and druggies were out of sight. We were at Mourne Seafood before Christmas and even the wee square outside it looks like shit.

Yeah would agree with that, lads were actually shooting up in plain sight during the day, just not somewhere I'd take the missus, is what I'm saying, or recommend to someone to take their missus, taking the girlfriend is ok though 8)
Post by: WT4E on December 28, 2022, 04:22:22 PM
Slightly off topic.  In Belfast for night out with the other half well earned break away from kids.

Mid to late 30s the pair of us. What bars would u recommend after dinner.
Post by: bogball88 on December 28, 2022, 04:46:11 PM
Quote from: WT4E on December 28, 2022, 04:22:22 PM
Slightly off topic.  In Belfast for night out with the other half well earned break away from kids.

Mid to late 30s the pair of us. What bars would u recommend after dinner.
Harp Bar?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 04:54:15 PM
Jailhouse, Rita's if you're looking cocktails, The tipsy bird also, been a while but decent, Muriel's small so always busy, Duke of York, Harp bar busy but right age group, or Hewitts around the corner, Love and Death the Deers head... plenty about depends where you are eating and dander too..

The new Apartment was ok, Maggie's something

Wanted to head In tonight but she's not up for it!! Too cold for the older ones ;D
Post by: WT4E on December 28, 2022, 07:48:16 PM
Cheers will let u know how I go
Post by: MK on December 28, 2022, 08:19:50 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 04:54:15 PM
Jailhouse, Rita's if you're looking cocktails, The tipsy bird also, been a while but decent, Muriel's small so always busy, Duke of York, Harp bar busy but right age group, or Hewitts around the corner, Love and Death the Deers head... plenty about depends where you are eating and dander too..

The new Apartment was ok, Maggie's something

Wanted to head In tonight but she's not up for it!! Too cold for the older ones ;D
Dirty Onion lively.Cloth Ear a bit quieter..spaniard a bit more intimate 
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 10:38:51 PM
Called into the old Basement Bar for one before Christmas and it was a nice spot for a drink.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 10:52:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 10:38:51 PM
Called into the old Basement Bar for one before Christmas and it was a nice spot for a drink.

The old busman's pub
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 11:56:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2022, 10:52:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2022, 10:38:51 PM

The old busman's pub
Is that what it was? I remember when it opened up as the Basement 20 odd years ago. It was a good spot back in the day. Looked it up and it's called Margot now. I remember a time when the only place you could get a cocktail was Chicago Pizza Pie Factory on Dublin Road!
Post by: An Watcher on December 29, 2022, 01:00:27 AM
CCC £3.30 a pint, shopping how it should be
Post by: WT4E on December 29, 2022, 10:54:05 AM
Was in harp. Was decent crowd there. Managed to get a seat.

Had guinness in garrick 5.60, bittles 5.20 and harp 6.00

Bittles the best by far. Harp the worst by far.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 29, 2022, 10:57:42 AM
Quote from: WT4E on December 29, 2022, 10:54:05 AM
Was in harp. Was decent crowd there. Managed to get a seat.

Had guinness in garrick 5.60, bittles 5.20 and harp 6.00

Bittles the best by far. Harp the worst by far.
Anywhere charging over a fiver for a pint could go bust tomorrow and get zero sympathy from me. Crazy money but judging by how booming Belfast has been the last few nights i've been in it people dont mind
Post by: general_lee on December 29, 2022, 11:19:11 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on December 29, 2022, 01:00:27 AM
There's a lot to be said for the 3Cs!
Would avoid Muriel's & Spaniard (begrudgingly). Muriel's has gone downhill by all accounts. Same crowd that have ruined the Chester on Antrim Rd. I always liked the Spaniard but I now avoid out of principle.
Also avoid all the Beannchor bars (Ulster Sports Club, Dirty Onion, The National, Merchant/Cloth Ear/Bert's) unless overpriced shite surrounded by w@nkers is your vibe. Both JK & Beannchor have been known to treat staff like shit.
Thirsty Goat is a hit or miss. Drinking in a beer garden is grand for the summer but for the other 363 days it's grim. Awful for food.
Bootleggers is a no - hipster shite. Grannie Annie's actually not bad and would appeal to the culchie clientele.
Tipsy Bird is good if you want somewhere intimate for cocktails, only good when it's dead though (unless you like waiting ages for a drink).Love & Death is a bit livelier but good cocktails, younger crowd so be warned. The Perch - shite, I imagine Rita's isn't much better.
Harp Bar is what it is, Duke of York same, two decent  spots.
Jailhouse & Henry's are good (partly owned by Devenish crowd), Northern Whig a good stopping point for food & cocktails, White's Tavern (also part owned by Devenish crowd) has had big money pumped into it and have heard good reports.
Revolucion de Cuba is a big no, it's the McDonald's equivalent of a bar, it's a shame Cafe Vaudeville was replaced with that crap.
McHugh's is so-so, never hear much about it these days.
What I will say about Belfast, there is not one establishment in the city worth queuing up for, and there's a huge selection of bars to cater for most tastes.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2022, 12:09:44 PM
I'm not particularly fussed on who owns the pubs to be fair, we'd end up avoiding most places with that approach, if you want a cheap pint go to your local social club or GAA club. If you want a night out with some atmosphere then you'll spend more than you should in any city pub.
Post by: Franko on January 04, 2023, 05:16:15 PM
Colin has the begging bowl out again  ::)

Short story
We had a great Christmas, back to pre covid levels of footfall
But we've had increased costs with energy etc
Totally neglected to mention the fact that they've also hiked the prices to account for these increased costs
So therefore we need a taxpayer/ratepayer handout cos we're worried about the next few months

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-64161559

He must have some mates in BBC NI that get free stays in the Merchant, cos there's no other industry lobbyist that gets anywhere close to the airtime this tool gets
Post by: From the Bunker on January 04, 2023, 05:28:47 PM
Paid €9.40 for a Shot of Captain Morgan and 200ml of Coke in the west of Ireland at a Wedding!

Seemed like a lot?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 04, 2023, 05:40:30 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 29, 2022, 11:19:11 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on December 29, 2022, 01:00:27 AM
There's a lot to be said for the 3Cs!
Would avoid Muriel's & Spaniard (begrudgingly). Muriel's has gone downhill by all accounts. Same crowd that have ruined the Chester on Antrim Rd. I always liked the Spaniard but I now avoid out of principle.
Also avoid all the Beannchor bars (Ulster Sports Club, Dirty Onion, The National, Merchant/Cloth Ear/Bert's) unless overpriced shite surrounded by w@nkers is your vibe. Both JK & Beannchor have been known to treat staff like shit.
Thirsty Goat is a hit or miss. Drinking in a beer garden is grand for the summer but for the other 363 days it's grim. Awful for food.
Bootleggers is a no - hipster shite. Grannie Annie's actually not bad and would appeal to the culchie clientele.
Tipsy Bird is good if you want somewhere intimate for cocktails, only good when it's dead though (unless you like waiting ages for a drink).Love & Death is a bit livelier but good cocktails, younger crowd so be warned. The Perch - shite, I imagine Rita's isn't much better.
Harp Bar is what it is, Duke of York same, two decent  spots.
Jailhouse & Henry's are good (partly owned by Devenish crowd), Northern Whig a good stopping point for food & cocktails, White's Tavern (also part owned by Devenish crowd) has had big money pumped into it and have heard good reports.
Revolucion de Cuba is a big no, it's the McDonald's equivalent of a bar, it's a shame Cafe Vaudeville was replaced with that crap.
McHugh's is so-so, never hear much about it these days.
What I will say about Belfast, there is not one establishment in the city worth queuing up for, and there's a huge selection of bars to cater for most tastes.
The Deers Head was a new one for me over Christmas, enjoyed it to be honest  and will be back again
Post by: red hander on January 04, 2023, 07:35:57 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 04, 2023, 05:16:15 PM

Short story
Totally neglected to mention the fact that they've also hiked the prices to account for these increased costs
So therefore we need a taxpayer/ratepayer handout cos we're worried about the next few months

He must have some mates in BBC NI that get free stays in the Merchant, cos there's no other industry lobbyist that gets anywhere close to the airtime this tool gets

He'd sicken your shite, that whining ballix. Michael Deane is another one.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2023, 08:25:57 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 04, 2023, 07:35:57 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 04, 2023, 05:16:15 PM

Short story

He'd sicken your shite, that whining ballix. Michael Deane is another one.
I was in Deane's before Christmas and he was being interviewed at the table next to us and it was a whole long crying match.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2023, 08:48:57 PM
The biggest problem now is staffing in restaurants. Definitely in Belfast anywhere we seem to go near is understaffed and it's a struggle getting food. Even the higher end places.
Post by: thewobbler on January 04, 2023, 09:02:28 PM
Re financial returns, all the bastard publicans of Belfast got together during Covid and agreed to minimum pricing / overcharging.

If they were to all be swallowed up by the Lagan, it would be a great day for the city.

——

Re staffing. There aren't any. Why would any teenager / student work minimum wage til 3-4am for those bastard publicans, when mammy and daddy have already paid for their car and insurance, digs and fees, and they only need a shift a week in a cushy shop for a little pin money?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 09:57:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 04, 2023, 09:02:28 PM
Re financial returns, all the bastard publicans of Belfast got together during Covid and agreed to minimum pricing / overcharging.

If they were to all be swallowed up by the Lagan, it would be a great day for the city.

——

Re staffing. There aren't any. Why would any teenager / student work minimum wage til 3-4am for those bastard publicans, when mammy and daddy have already paid for their car and insurance, digs and fees, and they only need a shift a week in a cushy shop for a little pin money?

My daughter is a student living in Belfast and loving her bar job, while having her digs phone the odd shop and whatever else is going on behind my back financially paid for lol!!

The other one now knows she needs a job to pay for her extras!! Otherwise it's rice and beans
Post by: general_lee on January 10, 2023, 05:32:08 PM
Diageo putting their prices up by 12c per pint...
Post by: toby47 on January 17, 2023, 01:06:09 PM
Called into The National last night with a mate, 2 pints of Clonmel each. £24.40, £6.10 each.

On Sunday I was in Common Market in Belfast, (a 2 minute walk from The National) and had 3 pints which cost me £9, they are doing a January sale with selected pints £3.
Post by: general_lee on January 17, 2023, 01:20:14 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 17, 2023, 01:06:09 PM
Called into The National last night with a mate, 2 pints of Clonmel each. £24.40, £6.10 each.

On Sunday I was in Common Market in Belfast, (a 2 minute walk from The National) and had 3 pints which cost me £9, they are doing a January sale with selected pints £3.
The National is a pretentious kip aimed at wankers.
Post by: Saffrongael on January 17, 2023, 01:42:52 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 17, 2023, 01:20:14 PM

That's why it does so well in Belfast
Post by: toby47 on January 18, 2023, 08:47:31 AM
Quote from: general_lee on January 17, 2023, 01:20:14 PM

;D ;D ;D I have to agree, didn't enjoy it one bit. Food menu crap too, took a look at it & decided against ordering.
Post by: tc_manchester on January 18, 2023, 02:59:10 PM
Went into Richard Corrigan's new place 'The Park Cafe' in Ballsbridge last week. A pint at the bar was 7.81 - when I got the receipt the actual price was 7.10 and a 'discretionary service charge' of 10% had been added. If it was discretionary I'd like to have been asked about it before I had to pay it
Post by: toby47 on January 19, 2023, 08:24:36 AM
Places used to always do deals when there was live football or rugby on.

I saw on social media last night a place 'Haymarket' (never been) in belfast doing a few deals for the upcoming 6 Nations. 4 pints for £17 or Pizza/Burger & a pint for £10.

I remember my local was doing a deal a few years back during the 6 Nations (I'd guess around 2018) it was a Burger & pint for £5, crazy that its doubled in that space of time.
Post by: general_lee on January 19, 2023, 12:07:52 PM
Read that Buba (St Anne's Sq) have had to rebrand as a burger/takeaway joint as they hadn't the demand for eastern Mediterranean cuisine. Not sure i have a massive amount of sympathy as their owners also own one of its competitors Coppi across the way...
Post by: lurganblue on January 19, 2023, 12:40:44 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on January 18, 2023, 02:59:10 PM
Went into Richard Corrigan's new place 'The Park Cafe' in Ballsbridge last week. A pint at the bar was 7.81 - when I got the receipt the actual price was 7.10 and a 'discretionary service charge' of 10% had been added. If it was discretionary I'd like to have been asked about it before I had to pay it

What's this? So you ordered while up at the bar. They didn't even come to your table and take your order and bring it to you for that 10%?
Post by: tc_manchester on January 19, 2023, 12:44:44 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 19, 2023, 12:40:44 PM

What's this? So you ordered while up at the bar. They didn't even come to your table and take your order and bring it to you for that 10%?
Exactly - I took a seat at the bar and ordered a pint. She poured it and handed it to me and that was it. Pouring and handing me the pint was 71 cents worth
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 12:56:43 PM
Not exactly a pint, but went into the local Spar and lifted a can of Heinz veg soup!! WTF thread maybe but £1.90 for canned soup?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 19, 2023, 02:42:42 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on January 19, 2023, 12:44:44 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 19, 2023, 12:40:44 PM

Exactly - I took a seat at the bar and ordered a pint. She poured it and handed it to me and that was it. Pouring and handing me the pint was 71 cents worth

https://www.irishtimes.com/food/restaurants/2023/01/14/regrettable-staff-departures-from-high-octane-new-corrigan-restaurant-in-dublin-4/ - doesn't sound great there
Post by: Truth hurts on April 27, 2023, 12:46:54 PM
£4.40 in Downpatrick in most places
Post by: screenexile on April 27, 2023, 04:48:28 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 27, 2023, 03:20:05 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on April 27, 2023, 12:46:54 PM

Went to Lavery's comedy club last night, £5.90 a Guinness. 4 of us, a round was £23.60, steep for 4 pints.

Belfast City Centre has gotten stupid. We'd have went up at least 5-6 times a year for a session but that's down to 1-2 now it's far too expensive!
Post by: Taylor on April 27, 2023, 04:56:37 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 27, 2023, 04:48:28 PM
Quote from: toby47 on April 27, 2023, 03:20:05 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on April 27, 2023, 12:46:54 PM

Went to Lavery's comedy club last night, £5.90 a Guinness. 4 of us, a round was £23.60, steep for 4 pints.

Belfast City Centre has gotten stupid. We'd have went up at least 5-6 times a year for a session but that's down to 1-2 now it's far too expensive!

If you are intending on staying over it is similar to going to Liverpool for a night
Post by: toby47 on July 04, 2023, 09:12:41 AM
4 of us went to the Errigal on Ormeau road on Saturday.

3 Drinking & 1 driver. 3 x Guinness and 1 x 0.0% Guinness was £23.80.

£5.95 for a pint, 0.0% was the same price.
Post by: JohnDenver on July 04, 2023, 09:39:09 AM
Quote from: toby47 on July 04, 2023, 09:12:41 AM

You'd think they'd be able to sell the 0% alcohol a bit cheaper, assuming there is no duty on it for a start?
Post by: TabClear on July 04, 2023, 09:39:23 AM

Think its about 50p per pint beer duty.
Post by: Truth hurts on July 04, 2023, 09:46:34 AM
The bullit hotel have a fecking service charge on food, 10%
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 10:32:31 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on July 04, 2023, 09:46:34 AM
The bullit hotel have a fecking service charge on food, 10%

Does it say "discretionary"? If so, ask them to take it off and tip in cash.

If it's not, ask the servers whether they get that service charge or if it's going to the house.
Post by: lurganblue on July 04, 2023, 10:44:34 AM

Yeah it's the same in town. I cant understand that pricing for a non alcoholic drink at all. Also, in most places in Lurgan it's a tin put through the dispenser.
Post by: Square Ball on July 04, 2023, 11:03:11 AM

I stick to the PARADOR 100 meters up the road £5.40 a pint, Oh and £5.00 Monday to Thursday.
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 11:18:05 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 04, 2023, 10:44:34 AM

Yeah it's the same in town. I cant understand that pricing for a non alcoholic drink at all. Also, in most places in Lurgan it's a tin put through the dispenser.

To the manufacturer, in most cases production costs for alcohol free beer will be higher, as the most common method of producing it is dealcoholisation.
Post by: Truth hurts on July 04, 2023, 12:00:21 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 04, 2023, 11:03:11 AM

I stick to the Parador 100 meters up the road £5.40 a pint

Is that the norm in the city? drinking is a dear hobbie
Post by: WT4E on July 04, 2023, 12:51:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 11:18:05 AM

To the manufacturer, in most cases production costs for alcohol free beer will be higher, as the most common method of producing it is dealcoholisation.

U beat me to it. The process is more expensive as an extra stage is added people assume there is less of a process as there is 0 alcohol

Also they are absorbing expenses on smaller volumes whereas for beers like Guinness they have huge vol to absorb cost
Post by: maddog on July 04, 2023, 01:06:16 PM
£7 in Belfast international airport yesterday  :o
£4.70 in Kellys for carlsberg  :o
£3.80 in the club  ;D :)
Post by: toby47 on July 04, 2023, 02:17:39 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on July 04, 2023, 12:00:21 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 04, 2023, 11:03:11 AM

I stick to the Parador 100 meters up the road £5.40 a pint

Is that the norm in the city? drinking is a dear hobbie

Yeah in round town £6 is standard enough.

Just took a quick look -

The National - £6.15
Lavery's - £5.90
Bullit - £6.20
Town Square - £5.80
The Bowery - £6

Crazy prices. Croke Park was 6.10Euro at the weekend, works out about £5.20.

A few cheaper spots in Belfast obviously. But most of the main city centre bars that ones are going to visit are the same prices as above.
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 02:28:44 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 04, 2023, 12:51:03 PM

U beat me to it. The process is more expensive as an extra stage is added people assume there is less of a process as there is 0 alcohol

Also they are absorbing expenses on smaller volumes whereas for beers like Guinness they have huge vol to absorb cost

Irish people are conditioned too think about paying for the alcohol rather than the drink. Default assumption is that it "should" be cheaper, simply because it won't help get you hammered.
Post by: NAG1 on July 04, 2023, 02:35:53 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 02:28:44 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 04, 2023, 12:51:03 PM

Irish people are conditioned too think about paying for the alcohol rather than the drink. Default assumption is that it "should" be cheaper, simply because it won't help get you hammered.

That might be the case in some but not all instances I would have thought. I think it's more the point that if the government wants to promote people drinking less and increasing the attractiveness of 0% drinks, the price point is going to be key in doing so.
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 03:07:28 PM
The duty is relatively f**k all in a pint anyway. The price is the manufacturer cost + margin and the pub's markup.

What should the government do about it, subsidise alcohol free beer?
Post by: NAG1 on July 04, 2023, 03:37:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 03:07:28 PM
The duty is relatively f**k all in a pint anyway. The price is the manufacturer cost + margin and the pub's markup.

What should the government do about it, subsidise alcohol free beer?

Yeah I'd imagine as a health/ crime intervention idea that would probably be a very cost effective initiative. Taking into account the problem-alcohol related costs across so many sectors of society.
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2023, 05:03:29 PM
Pretty easy to drink something without alcohol in it. Why should taxpayer money subsidise someone drinking beer vs someone drinking, say, tomato juice?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 05, 2023, 03:16:25 PM
In the Parlour, beside Student union, (pre graduation drinks) Tennents is £4 not a great pint but cheap for city.. loads of other drink offers too, double vodka with mixer is a fiver!
Post by: snoopdog on July 05, 2023, 04:43:37 PM
Pint of heineken in Marley park( only lager on sale) 7.50 euro.
Post by: Olly on July 09, 2023, 08:33:02 PM
Is there anything to stop a 5-year-old walking into a pub and ordering pint after pint of non-alcoholic Guinness?
Post by: toby47 on July 25, 2023, 03:48:26 PM
Not exactly a pint...but worth a mention.

Fella in work went to that new 'The Avenue' cinema in Belfast last night. Was showing us the receipt this morning - £60 to go to the cinema!

A ticket , 1 drink each, 1 x pack of sweets for his missus & 1 x burger from him as he was rushing from work.

£14 a ticket
£3.80 for a 330ml can of Diet Coke. (surely the biggest rip off on this list??)
£6.95 for a strawberry and lime cider
£4.00 for a bag of Haribo.
£13.50 a burger.

Post by: lurganblue on July 25, 2023, 03:58:07 PM
Quote from: toby47 on July 25, 2023, 03:48:26 PM

Fella in work went to that new 'The Avenue' cinema in Belfast last night. Was showing us the receipt this morning - £60 to go to the cinema!

A ticket , 1 drink each, 1 x pack of sweets for his missus & 1 x burger from him as he was rushing from work.

£14 a ticket
£13.50 a burger.

Mad stuff.  That being said, I brought the wife and 2 kids to the cinema recently and it was over 40 quid. Not a burger in sight.  Just sh*tty popcorn.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 25, 2023, 04:01:49 PM
That's crazy. I don't see how those prices are sustainable in Belfast.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2023, 04:38:23 PM

£14 a ticket
£13.50 a burger.

Those prices are well known before you go to the Avenue Cinema, so I wouldn't be too concerned about people going there and expecting a cheap night out.

You are paying for a different experience, also what grown man buys fecking Haribo?
Post by: AustinPowers on July 25, 2023, 04:41:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2023, 04:38:23 PM

£14 a ticket
£13.50 a burger.

Those prices are well known before you go to the Avenue Cinema, so I wouldn't be too concerned about people going there and expecting a cheap night out.

You are paying for a different experience, also what grown man buys fecking Haribo?

One that wants to  talk  with a squeaky child's voice , of course  ;D
Post by: Ed Ricketts on July 26, 2023, 12:30:51 AM

£14 a ticket
£13.50 a burger.

Dunno what your mate was expecting. The whole USP of The Avenue is a 'premium' experience at a premium price point.

He could've had everything on his list for less the half the price if he had been willing to slum it out at Yorkgate. 9 quid tickets, a Burger King, and Tesco for the cider, haribo and coke.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 26, 2023, 09:20:34 AM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on July 26, 2023, 12:30:51 AM

£14 a ticket
£13.50 a burger.

Dunno what your mate was expecting. The whole USP of The Avenue is a 'premium' experience at a premium price point.

He could've had everything on his list for less the half the price if he had been willing to slum it out at Yorkgate. 9 quid tickets, a Burger King, and Tesco for the cider, haribo and coke.

£3.80 is still ridiculous for a can of diet coke whatever way you dress it up
Post by: AustinPowers on July 26, 2023, 09:31:28 AM
Surely   if you want refreshments while watching a film , a visit to the pound shop  is essential beforehand?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 26, 2023, 10:08:33 AM
Have heard similar from a few who have been. Insane that people fall for this fad. Who wants to sit beside someone eating a chippy in the cinema anyway?!
Post by: urbangael on July 26, 2023, 10:40:19 AM
Pint in the local now £4.50 but expected to rise 10p.  That means it'll be £5 as it only goes up in 50p's!!!

12 bottles of good beer in the off licence is a tenner..... But it's not the same drinking at home!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 12:22:13 PM
Quote from: urbangael on July 26, 2023, 10:40:19 AM
Pint in the local now £4.50 but expected to rise 10p.  That means it'll be £5 as it only goes up in 50p's!!!

12 bottles of good beer in the off licence is a tenner..... But it's not the same drinking at home!

Drink from Tesco or wherever you get it hasn't really changed, You can still get £5 quid bottles of wine and 20 bottles of beer for £11

So the price of drink hasn't changed, its just the cost of having a pint in a pub that has changed for the suppliers/publicans due to rates/fuel/wages/energy costs and on

The price of dog food is through the roof, its still the same crappy food put into it but not sure why its doubled!

Post by: Saffrongael on July 26, 2023, 12:28:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 12:22:13 PM
Quote from: urbangael on July 26, 2023, 10:40:19 AM

Drink from Tesco or wherever you get it hasn't really changed, You can still get £5 quid bottles of wine and 20 bottles of beer for £11

So the price of drink hasn't changed, its just the cost of having a pint in a pub that has changed for the suppliers/publicans due to rates/fuel/wages/energy costs and on

The price of dog food is through the roof, its still the same crappy food put into it but not sure why its doubled!

The energy costs to make it & transport and distribute it I'm guessing
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2023, 12:43:17 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 26, 2023, 09:39:19 AM
Hope he wasn't whinging about it. I've just had a look at their menu and he has bought the dearest burger, drink and if he's buying Diet Coke and Haribo at that price then fcuk him.

if you really want to eat a bag of haribo in the cinema just buy it in a local shop at a 1/4 of the price before you head in!
Post by: screenexile on July 26, 2023, 12:57:15 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2023, 12:43:17 PM
Hope he wasn't whinging about it. I've just had a look at their menu and he has bought the dearest burger, drink and if he's buying Diet Coke and Haribo at that price then fcuk him.

if you really want to eat a bag of haribo in the cinema just buy it in a local shop at a 1/4 of the price before you head in!

Haribo are £1.25 a bag now... and a smaller bag at that!!
Post by: TabClear on July 26, 2023, 01:13:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 26, 2023, 12:57:15 PM

This. Think shrinkflation annoys me more than prices going up. If the can size reduces by 10% or a Multipacks move from 6 to 5 units I'm less inclined to notice than a simple price hike.

Only a matter of time before pubs start moving to 500ml beers on draught for an easy 10% margin improvement.  (I think there might be some legal red tape around this so maybe its not that straightforward).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 01:57:53 PM
Quote from: TabClear on July 26, 2023, 01:13:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 26, 2023, 12:57:15 PM

This. Think shrinkflation annoys me more than prices going up. If the can size reduces by 10% or a Multipacks move from 6 to 5 units I'm less inclined to notice than a simple price hike.

Only a matter of time before pubs start moving to 500ml beers on draught for an easy 10% margin improvement.  (I think there might be some legal red tape around this so maybe its not that straightforward).

I don't mind the shrinking, its less crap going in, we eat way too much anyways
Post by: red hander on July 26, 2023, 03:15:40 PM
Just had a wagon wheel there with mug of tea. It's probably more than half the size of them in the 1970s when I was growing up.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2023, 03:28:11 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 26, 2023, 03:15:40 PM
Just had a wagon wheel there with mug of tea. It's probably more than half the size of them in the 1970s when I was growing up.
Had one about a year ago and I could hardly bear the sweetness of them. As I've got older I've definitely turned off sweet stuff. Had a Tunnocks Snowball last week for the first time in 20+ years and it was like eating a tablespoon of sugar.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 26, 2023, 03:40:52 PM
Are yous all retired or lost your minds or is this an echo chamber

Some delightful conversations on this forum on a Wednesday afternoon, wagon wheels and tea
Post by: red hander on July 26, 2023, 04:13:22 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 26, 2023, 03:40:52 PM

Some delightful conversations on this forum on a Wednesday afternoon, wagon wheels and tea

So, what are you doing here, Mr Angry?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 04:28:18 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 26, 2023, 04:13:22 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 26, 2023, 03:40:52 PM

So, what are you doing here, Mr Angry?

Not sure he understands the term echo chamber means
Post by: gawa316 on July 26, 2023, 06:33:24 PM
Noticed the multi-pack shrinkage when I was home in May...my quid now only gets me 5 bags as opposed to 6...well ye can stick them!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 14, 2023, 12:02:58 PM
What bar?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 14, 2023, 12:11:16 PM
Not that familiar with it but won't be drinking there anywhere lol
Post by: 5times5times on November 14, 2023, 12:29:13 PM
Quote from: toby47 on November 14, 2023, 12:14:10 PMI like Stix and Stones, its a stone throw away & they charge £5.50 for a pint of Heverlee - and I'm sure they are making a right profit at that. £7.50 is an absolute piss take.

It's the first time I was nearly tempted to not order a pint - it near killed me to pay it.

Charge you less for a pint, cause they get it back with you cooking your own food.. Another fraud
Post by: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 01:43:25 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on November 14, 2023, 12:29:13 PM
Quote from: toby47 on November 14, 2023, 12:14:10 PMI like Stix and Stones, its a stone throw away & they charge £5.50 for a pint of Heverlee - and I'm sure they are making a right profit at that. £7.50 is an absolute piss take.

It's the first time I was nearly tempted to not order a pint - it near killed me to pay it.

Charge you less for a pint, cause they get it back with you cooking your own food.. Another fraud
Don't think its a fraud. Hot stone is a novelty and the main feature of the restaurant and a selling point for most I imagine.
Post by: gallsman on November 14, 2023, 02:07:23 PM
It's not a fraud, merely a pointless gimmick.
Post by: general_lee on November 14, 2023, 02:11:34 PM
£5.20 for a stout in Kelly's Cellars
Post by: TyroneOnlooker on November 14, 2023, 03:46:00 PM
Quote from: toby47 on November 14, 2023, 12:05:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 14, 2023, 12:02:58 PMWhat bar?

Was more of a restaurant, Cafe Persian right at the city hall.

Food was great, and not overly pricey - around £20 for most main courses. But I couldn't believe a Guinness was £7.20 & the only other option on draft was a Heverlee for £7.50.

Owned by Galgorm Resort outfit, charging Galgorm Resort prices. They also own pizza place opposite Europa, wonder is it similar prices?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 14, 2023, 03:51:11 PM
$13 for a Guinness in one of the downtown Toronto Irish pubs at the weekend - before tax and tip 
Post by: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 04:05:05 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 14, 2023, 03:51:11 PM$13 for a Guinness in one of the downtown Toronto Irish pubs at the weekend - before tax and tip
Whats that in punt or pound
Post by: gawa316 on November 14, 2023, 04:57:48 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 04:05:05 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 14, 2023, 03:51:11 PM$13 for a Guinness in one of the downtown Toronto Irish pubs at the weekend - before tax and tip
Whats that in punt or pound

About a tenner, then another couple of quid at least for tax and tip. Hope you didn't pay it GH!!
Post by: screenexile on November 14, 2023, 06:16:47 PM
It's getting that you have to save up for a night in a City now. Sure if you take the Mrs it's £10 a G&T or £15 for a cocktail. It's just not that worth it anymore!

Home is getting as bad too and the price isn't coming down anytime soon! The Govt seem happy enough for all the bars to disappear.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 06:34:13 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 14, 2023, 06:16:47 PMIt's getting that you have to save up for a night in a City now. Sure if you take the Mrs it's £10 a G&T or £15 for a cocktail. It's just not that worth it anymore!

Home is getting as bad too and the price isn't coming down anytime soon! The Govt seem happy enough for all the bars to disappear.
Perfect reason not to take her lol
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 14, 2023, 10:37:30 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 14, 2023, 06:16:47 PMIt's getting that you have to save up for a night in a City now. Sure if you take the Mrs it's £10 a G&T or £15 for a cocktail. It's just not that worth it anymore!

Cocktails are some racket.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 10:58:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 14, 2023, 10:37:30 PM

More juice than alcohol. Only thing is the time it takes making them the bar person could pull a pile of pints. Word of warning, be careful if you're ever making cocktails at home, one minute you're drinking what tastes like fruit juice the next you are full drunk!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 08:35:02 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 14, 2023, 10:58:41 PM

More juice than alcohol. Only thing is the time it takes making them the bar person could pull a pile of pints. Word of warning, be careful if you're ever making cocktails at home, one minute you're drinking what tastes like fruit juice the next you are full drunk!

Use the measuring jiggers and you'll be fine, the problem with 'home' measurements will mean you'll end up hammered! Plus you'll lose the right combo of alcohol and mixer and the flavour or look of it will be shite!

Make the odd cocktail after the daughter got me bits and pieces required to make them for xmas!
Post by: toby47 on November 15, 2023, 09:41:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 08:35:02 AM

Use the measuring jiggers and you'll be fine, the problem with 'home' measurements will mean you'll end up hammered! Plus you'll lose the right combo of alcohol and mixer and the flavour or look of it will be shite!

Make the odd cocktail after the daughter got me bits and pieces required to make them for xmas!

Never would have put you down as a cocktail man MR2. What's you cocktail of choice when you are making them?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 10:01:14 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 15, 2023, 09:41:43 AM

Never would have put you down as a cocktail man MR2. What's you cocktail of choice when you are making them?

I generally stick with two, a whiskey sour and an espresso martini, not to difficult to make but they'd be my go to drinks
Post by: general_lee on November 15, 2023, 10:07:48 AM
Espresso martinis are rocket fuel to be fair. 2 or 3 of those and I'm rubbered
Post by: toby47 on November 15, 2023, 10:17:55 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 10:01:14 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 15, 2023, 09:41:43 AM

I generally stick with two, a whiskey sour and an espresso martini, not to difficult to make but they'd be my go to drinks

Good taste, whisky sour or old fashioned for me when it comes to cocktails.
Post by: lurganblue on November 15, 2023, 12:51:11 PM
Does it matter what whiskey used for a whiskey sour really? Normally i just put  a few ice cubes in whiskey but I was gifted a bottle of Jack D and I wouldnt be a fan. Might be useful for the cocktails though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 12:59:24 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 15, 2023, 12:51:11 PMDoes it matter what whiskey used for a whiskey sour really? Normally i just put  a few ice cubes in whiskey but I was gifted a bottle of Jack D and I wouldnt be a fan. Might be useful for the cocktails though.

A decent Bourbon, but yeah a JD can work
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 01:18:18 PM
Some savings doing it at home. Was in the Merchant recently and it was 16.50  :-* .

Do like a whiskey sour or old fashioned but no fan of whiskey.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 01:30:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 01:18:18 PMSome savings doing it at home. Was in the Merchant recently and it was 16.50  :-* .

Do like a whiskey sour or old fashioned but no fan of whiskey.

Upstairs in the Grand Central its £20 but you get to keep the glasses  ;)
Post by: gallsman on November 15, 2023, 04:51:51 PM
You'd want to be at a minimum alright with whiskey to enjoy an old fashioned that's made properly.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 06:00:37 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 15, 2023, 04:51:51 PMYou'd want to be at a minimum alright with whiskey to enjoy an old fashioned that's made properly.
I must be minimum alright then as I like a strong Old Fashioned. Can't take the stuff straight, rocks or even with a bit of water in it. I blame my granny as we were given it for toothache as children.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 07:32:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 06:00:37 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 15, 2023, 04:51:51 PMYou'd want to be at a minimum alright with whiskey to enjoy an old fashioned that's made properly.
I must be minimum alright then as I like a strong Old Fashioned. Can't take the stuff straight, rocks or even with a bit of water in it. I blame my granny as we were given it for toothache as children.

I'll have a whisky sour when out, at home, with friends round for dinner I would finish up with some single malt stuff, neat, no water no ice!

But properly measured as it's the only drink that gets me in the morning, though probably more to do with the beers/wine combo at dinner ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 15, 2023, 07:36:19 PM
Eldest son worked in a few places where he mixed cocktails. New Years Eve he took into the drinks cupboard....wasn't right for about a week!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 07:50:04 PM
https://fb.watch/okRRf4RwsK/

Joke!
Post by: Londoner89 on November 15, 2023, 09:58:35 PM
People shouldn't be surprised when one company raises their prices and the others follow shortly after. 80% of the beers on tap in most pubs are made by two companies.

Diageo - Harp, Guinness, Smithwicks, Rockshore and Carlsberg (under licence).
Heineken - Heineken, Coors (under licence), Murphys, Beamish and Moretti.
Asahi - Peroni
C&C - Tennants (if you live in Ulster).

That's the ones available in my locals. We don't have tied houses like the UK but it might as well be.
Post by: lurganblue on November 15, 2023, 10:20:32 PM
Just watched a video on making whiskey sours... egg whites an all. Quare handling making them every 30/40 mins of an evening :)

Old fashioned looks easier
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 10:38:38 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 15, 2023, 10:20:32 PMJust watched a video on making whiskey sours... egg whites an all. Quare handling making them every 30/40 mins of an evening :)

Old fashioned looks easier

Egg whites separating isn't that difficult tbf.. it's a great wee drink though
Post by: ONeill on November 15, 2023, 10:57:11 PM
How do you make it?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 15, 2023, 11:01:37 PM
Kraken Dark n Stormy is the handiest one you'll make in the house. Rum, lime juice, ginger beer.
Post by: Puckoon on November 15, 2023, 11:35:05 PM
Jesus Christ will ye lads f**king tighten up. Beer and a whiskey. Down the hatch. If you're out for a fancy dinner pass yourself with a swift martini or an old fashioned. End the night with an espresso martini and 3 or 4 ports.

Fuggin all ireland winners in here separating egg whites.  ;D  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 11:36:04 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 15, 2023, 10:57:11 PMHow do you make it?

Whack your bourbon syrup lemon juice all into one cup, egg white into another.

Pour all into the one mix cup and shake it for good 40 seconds or so, make nice a frothy  ;)

Add the ice and shake it again for about 30 seconds

And use the strainer to pour into glass.. job done.

You can add some Angostura bitters once settled on top
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 11:36:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 15, 2023, 11:35:05 PMJesus Christ will ye lads f**king tighten up. Beer and a whiskey. Down the hatch. If you're out for a fancy dinner pass yourself with a swift martini or an old fashioned. End the night with an espresso martini and 3 or 4 ports.

Fuggin all ireland winners in here separating egg whites.  ;D  ;D

Post by: ONeill on November 15, 2023, 11:38:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 11:36:04 PM

Whack your bourbon syrup lemon juice all into one cup, egg white into another.

Pour all into the one mix cup and shake it for good 40 seconds or so, make nice a frothy  ;)

You lost me with bourbon syrup lemon juice
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 15, 2023, 11:38:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 15, 2023, 11:36:04 PM

Whack your bourbon, syrup and lemon juice all into one cup, egg white into another.

You lost me with bourbon syrup lemon juice
Post by: gawa316 on November 16, 2023, 12:38:28 AM
An oul pina colada around the pool on a hot day goes down a treat!

Buck some frozen pineapple, rum and coconut water in a blender and hey presto!
Post by: Blowitupref on March 15, 2024, 01:48:50 AM
 Cheltenham Festival prices.

(https://i2-prod.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article32342296.ece/ALTERNATES/s1200e/3_64fbc7a2-8cc0-46cf-91a5-4a9d63b22fd8.jpg)
Post by: toby47 on March 26, 2024, 01:51:12 PM
Work event last week in Fratelli Belfast, sweet lord I haven't saw prices like it! Obviously we weren't paying, but looking at the drinks menu gave me a shiver down my back. Absolutely disgraceful prices in Belfast (or anywhere) Apparently the same group that own The Galgorm & Cafe Parisian who both apparently charge over £7.50 for a Guinness.

From Memory - (Their Drinks Menu is online too for anyone wanting to see it)
Pint Lager - £8.50
Pint Stout - £7.50
Gin & Tonic - £13.40

Post by: 5times5times on March 26, 2024, 02:11:07 PM
Quote from: toby47 on March 26, 2024, 01:51:12 PMWork event last week in Fratelli Belfast, sweet lord I haven't saw prices like it! Obviously we weren't paying, but looking at the drinks menu gave me a shiver down my back. Absolutely disgraceful prices in Belfast (or anywhere) Apparently the same group that own The Galgorm & Cafe Parisian who both apparently charge over £7.50 for a Guinness.

From Memory - (Their Drinks Menu is online too for anyone wanting to see it)
Pint Lager - £8.50
Pint Stout - £7.50
Gin & Tonic - £13.40

BOTTLED BEER  :o  :o  :o  :o

CORONA / Mexico / £7.40
PERONI / Italy / £7.40
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 02:51:59 PM
Out for a meal on Sat afternoon.. bill was £80 a head! Is what it is, had a great time and decent food..Ya only live once!
Post by: bannside on March 26, 2024, 03:16:50 PM
Had a pint in the O'Dees on Sunday afternoon after Antrim beat Wicklow to stay up. £3.70 Rockshore, that's not a special promotion, that's the usual price.
Post by: gallsman on March 26, 2024, 03:29:36 PM
Fratellis is a jumped up and slightly more modern Villa Italia. Spend that in Coppi and you'll have a far better meal.
Post by: Franko on March 26, 2024, 03:35:00 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 02:51:59 PMOut for a meal on Sat afternoon.. bill was £80 a head! Is what it is, had a great time and decent food..Ya only live once!

Anyone else baffled as to the point of this post?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2024, 04:01:49 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 26, 2024, 03:35:00 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 02:51:59 PMOut for a meal on Sat afternoon.. bill was £80 a head! Is what it is, had a great time and decent food..Ya only live once!

You know the point.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on March 26, 2024, 04:26:05 PM
Hospitality sector in Belfast city centre is almost entirely priced for the tourist market now. International tourism is strong, and domestic tourism is through the roof since the pandemic.

The city centre is quite small, and, due to obvious historical reasons, few non-locals venture far from the middle of town. So this funnels all those visitors towards a relatively small number of businesses, who in turn can charge almost whatever they want.

They'll say it's the cost of fuel, food, wages, tax, etc. But it's really just a scarcity problem.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2024, 04:55:53 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on March 26, 2024, 04:26:05 PMHospitality sector in Belfast city centre is almost entirely priced for the tourist market now. International tourism is strong, and domestic tourism is through the roof since the pandemic.

The city centre is quite small, and, due to obvious historical reasons, few non-locals venture far from the middle of town. So this funnels all those visitors towards a relatively small number of businesses, who in turn can charge almost whatever they want.

They'll say it's the cost of fuel, food, wages, tax, etc. But it's really just a scarcity problem.
Got an Uber in the city the other night and the driver was saying the big cruise ship season is due to start soon so demand will be higher than ever. There is still plenty of good quality places at reasonable prices in the city. It's the shitty places charging big money that's the problem.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 06:15:57 PM

The point is.. people complaining about going out and spending money in Belfast when they are aware of the cost!

Go out, enjoy it and stop your gurning.

Or just sit in

Post by: Franko on March 26, 2024, 10:46:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 06:15:57 PM

The point is.. people complaining about going out and spending money in Belfast when they are aware of the cost!

Or just sit in

Lol, case #1467 of MR2 posting on a thread on the board with the sole reason being to tell people not to be talking about the thread topic.

Coincidentally, also case #47562 of MR2 posting on a thread about his incredible wealth

£80 a plate ye say ;D ;D

Settle down Rockefeller

When a bald man takes a redner, does the whole dome change colour?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 11:28:04 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 26, 2024, 10:46:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 26, 2024, 06:15:57 PM

Or just sit in

Lol, case #1467 of MR2 posting on a thread on the board with the sole reason being to tell people not to be talking about the thread topic.

Coincidentally, also case #47562 of MR2 posting on a thread about his incredible wealth

£80 a plate ye say ;D ;D

Settle down Rockefeller

When a bald man takes a redner, does the whole dome change colour?

Yeah. Sole reason was to tell people I paid 80 quid..

Calm yourself.

This thread is three years old, it's not a new thing, over 300 posts on how expensive Belfast is, but hey ho people still heading in!

Hopefully you are still well, post brexit
Post by: toby47 on March 27, 2024, 09:05:54 AM

£80 a head is a blind statement though. I've no problem paying £80 (or more) a head in a place that's worth it. However a pizza restaurant charging £8.50 a pint in Belfast is absolutely taking the piss.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2024, 09:17:19 AM
Quote from: toby47 on March 27, 2024, 09:05:54 AM

£80 a head is a blind statement though. I've no problem paying £80 (or more) a head in a place that's worth it. However a pizza restaurant charging £8.50 a pint in Belfast is absolutely taking the piss.

I can remember, not that long ago, taking family out for meal, starters and mains and drinks for £80 in Belfast, past 3 years.. £80 quid is scandalous, but the place was packed and people still willing to pay over the odds for food and drink.

My club, the pints are £3-30 or so with the discount card, so there are places charging reasonably enough for drinks.

Friend lives New York, $16 dollars for pints, London similar prices for premium' beers.

Was the pizza place busy?

The only rational must be the rising costs for the drinks trade industry with regards to rising rates within the city centres.

The same pints for half the price though in the same city seems at odds with this too.
Post by: ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight on March 27, 2024, 10:00:41 AM
Would I be rightly berated in saying I had a pint and a feed out of Weatherspoon's for £10.10?  ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on March 27, 2024, 10:12:28 AM
It's grand - as long as you can avoid getting beaten up  ;D 
Post by: clarshack on March 27, 2024, 11:43:49 AM

how many drinks with the meal?

Post by: clarshack on March 27, 2024, 11:45:51 AM
can mind the days back in the mid 90's when you could get a pint in Queens Student Union for £1. Going by the BOE Inflation calculator that would be just under £2 now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2024, 11:55:35 AM
Quote from: clarshack on March 27, 2024, 11:43:49 AM

how many drinks with the meal?

I'd say the drinks would have been 5 bottles of red and 5 bottles of white and some expressos, now I or her didn't have that much but most in group of 11 would have finished that off no problem

The drinks would have been most of the costs I'd say looking at it. Birthday parties are few and far between. Place called Roam, at the back of Marks&Sparks, defo recommend
Post by: gallsman on March 27, 2024, 12:00:57 PM
3 course meal and near enough a whole bottle of wine for £80? You're hardly boasting about your Michelin star experience the way some folk are suggesting.
Post by: Franko on March 27, 2024, 12:46:31 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 27, 2024, 12:00:57 PM3 course meal and near enough a whole bottle of wine for £80? You're hardly boasting about your Michelin star experience the way some folk are suggesting.

The bit in bold is exactly what I'm suggesting
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2024, 01:11:13 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 27, 2024, 12:46:31 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 27, 2024, 12:00:57 PM3 course meal and near enough a whole bottle of wine for £80? You're hardly boasting about your Michelin star experience the way some folk are suggesting.

The bit in bold is exactly what I'm suggesting

Aye boasting or chatting about the price of food drink in Belfast, as in the topic? You love an aul vendetta. Nothing you or I say makes a difference to each other. Getting yourself worked up on a discussion board is a bit odd.

Splashed out today and having beans on toast, though the price of beans is staggering ;D
Post by: johnnycool on March 27, 2024, 01:27:25 PM
Quote from: ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight on March 27, 2024, 10:00:41 AMWould I be rightly berated in saying I had a pint and a feed out of Weatherspoon's for £10.10?  ;D

Wouldn't give that cúnt the skin of my shíte...