GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: macdanger2 on April 06, 2017, 03:06:07 PM

Title: Connacht senior football championship 2017
Post by: macdanger2 on April 06, 2017, 03:06:07 PM
After a good league for Galway, mixed enough for Mayo & Sligo and fairly disappointing for Roscommon & Leitrim, the current odds are:

Mayo 4/5
Galway 11/4
Roscommon 11/4
Sligo 50/1
Leitrim 80/1
London 200/1
New York 200/1

Connacht GAA Football Senior Championship
Sunday, May 07, 2017 Preliminary Round  -  Gaelic Park, New York
New York  v  Sligo

Sunday, May 21, 2017 Quarter-Final  -  Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar
Mayo  v New York / Sligo

Sunday, May 28, 2017 Quarter-Final  -  Irish TV Grounds, Ruislip
London  v Leitrim

Sunday, June 11, 2017 Semi-Final  -  Pearse Stadium
Galway  v Mayo / Sligo / New York

Sunday, June 18, 2017 Semi-Final  -  Dr Hyde Park
Roscommon  v London / Leitrim

Sunday, July 09, 2017 Final

It looks like a decent draw for Roscommon but unless they learn to defend, chances are they'll lose the Connacht final or even the semi final if Leitrim can get things together.

Sligo were up and down in the league and would need to beat Mayo & Galway away to make the final, hard to see that happening.

Galway are on the up and if they can bring in a couple of their U21s, they'll be hard beat although they're still weak enough at the back so unless they develop a defensive system, they'll struggle to get past a QF.

Mayo will need to improve their forward play between now and hitting Croke Park but even with that, none of the others in Connacht play a very defensive game so it shouldn't hamper us too much here - it might serve us all better if this wasn't the case.

For the match against Sligo, I'd probably go with something like this to try and give us more options in the forwards:

Clarke
Harrison Caff/Newcombe Barrett
Durcan Coen Keegan
AOS Parsons
Higgins Kirby McLoughlin
COC Loftus Reape

Subs: Andy, Boyle, SOS, DOC, Doc, Boland, Nally, Gibbons, Drake

In reality, it'll probably be Andy, Boyle, SOS & DOC in for Loftus, Coen, Kirby & Reape.
Title: Re: Connacht senior football championship 2017
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2017, 03:48:01 PM
Mayo might be like last year when they preferred to peak later in the championship.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2017, 04:11:03 PM
We're not going to win it because that's not in our 3 year plan..... :-[
Post by: larryin89 on April 06, 2017, 04:27:05 PM
Where would a ros v galway final be held?
Post by: westbound on April 06, 2017, 04:49:46 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 06, 2017, 04:27:05 PM

Salthill

Roscommon chose Castlebar as our 'home' match last year.
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2017, 05:00:54 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 06, 2017, 04:27:05 PM
in the rain
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2017, 05:04:38 PM
There's no chance Leitrim win at the Hyde. The only games we've looked decent this year is at home on our lovely fast pitch. It doesn't bode well for Leitrim if we're able to compete with Donegal and Kerry at home despite having feck all work done and then having three months to get ready for a team rooted to the bottom of D4. I'm sure Johnno will have some sort of Any Given Sunday speech prepared about '94 at the Hyde, though..

Mayo will have little trouble navigating the other side of the draw too.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2017, 05:13:53 PM
Predictions by the Syfmeister are usually the kiss of death. Remember his laughing at the suggestion Sligo U21s might beat us?
At least we'll get a Connacht Final in the Hyde anyway.....
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2017, 05:47:11 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2017, 05:13:53 PM
Predictions by the Syfmeister are usually the kiss of death. Remember his laughing at the suggestion Sligo U21s might beat us?

Remember the other predictions that were correct? I guess your memory only works with facts that you like..
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2017, 06:32:42 PM
Like the time in 2914 you spent 4 months lecturing stolen sheep that Kerry wouldn't win the AI for donkeys years :D
Post by: mayo.mick on April 06, 2017, 09:20:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2017, 06:32:42 PM
Like the time in 2914 you spent 4 months lecturing stolen sheep that Kerry wouldn't win the AI for donkeys years :D

Jasus lads, ye're like Marty McFly and the Doc going back to the future  ;D
Post by: Mayo Mick on April 06, 2017, 09:37:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 06, 2017, 05:04:38 PM
There's no chance Leitrim win at the Hyde. The only games we've looked decent this year is at home on our lovely fast pitch. It doesn't bode well for Leitrim if we're able to compete with Donegal and Kerry at home despite having feck all work done and then having three months to get ready for a team rooted to the bottom of D4. I'm sure Johnno will have some sort of Any Given Sunday speech prepared about '94 at the Hyde, though..

Mayo will have little trouble navigating the other side of the draw too.

If you think we will have little trouble navigating our side of the draw then surely we will have less trouble winning Connacht. You are not seriously suggesting are you that Roscommon could trouble us in a CF?

For what it's worth I think Galway will win Connacht. We will again go further though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2017, 09:55:28 PM
His writing off of Galway under Kevin Walsh prior to the Connacht final replay was quite amusing also. For what it's worth, Galway will probably retain the Nestor Cup.
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2017, 10:03:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 06, 2017, 09:55:28 PM
His writing off of Galway under Kevin Walsh prior to the Connacht final replay was quite amusing also. For what it's worth, Galway will probably retain the Nestor Cup.
"Lose on Sunday and you've won two league games, beaten a shot Mayo side that took ye for granted and are likely be be done for the year after the next weekend. Walsh's job will come under serious scrutiny then too. So a lot is riding on the CF for Walsh and the idea this form of football is actually gonig to get a worthwhile result. It might be best for both Roscommon and Galway in the longer run if positive football is what carries the day. Under Walsh I don't think Galway have any intention of offering positive football."
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2017, 11:04:59 PM
Was I wrong about Walsh? He's still taking a hatchet to Galway football and hoping defensive, Ulster football will pay off, but like us they're weak at the back and relatively unable to play that sort of game.

Teams that we make look good tend to go splat in a spectacular manner at the next available opportunity - Sligo and Mayo in 2015, Galway and Tipp last year, Mayo and Dublin this year, Dublin nearly managed it themselves by almost losing up in Monaghan after hammering us so even the best aren't immune to the pheonomon of inflated self-worth after playing our shoddy defence.

I'll never forget Walsh openly sounding out the Roscommon job when things were getting a bit hot north of Gurteen.. I'll take my chances with a lad willing to stick the course.
Post by: weareros on April 06, 2017, 11:23:39 PM
Kevin Walsh managed Sligo teams still beat Mayo and Galway in championship football. I've lost track of the number of well funded Roscommon managers that have failed to achieve that since John Toibin last did in 2001, despite all the successful underage teams we produced compared to Sligo. And Kevin has a couple of All-Ireland medals to boot. Sy, sometimes as the saying goes it's better to say nothing and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2017, 01:04:16 AM
Quote from: weareros on April 06, 2017, 11:23:39 PM
. Sy, sometimes as the saying goes it's better to say nothing and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.
If the present level of expenses was available back in 2012 Kevin Walsh ( and others ) would have been forming a disorderly Queen outside Co Board HQ.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2017, 10:34:10 AM
From a Sligo viewpoint I'm genuinely worried about the New York trip. If they're as good as they were last year I think they'll beat us. I'd assume that would give Mayo a bye into the semi as there's no way they'll travel. You just don't know what NY will be like until well through the game. Will be some bittersweet history made with lads who came up through our underage ranks in the club on opposite sides which never happened before and I hope doesn't again.

We were iffy at best during the league. I couldn't see any evidence of progress or a plan/system. Hard to see that being put in place but having the new blood of several U21's on board might provide a spark.
Post by: ck on April 07, 2017, 10:57:16 AM
Galway 11/4 for Connacht. Easy money
Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2017, 12:39:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 07, 2017, 10:34:10 AM
From a Sligo viewpoint I'm genuinely worried about the New York trip. If they're as good as they were last year I think they'll beat us. I'd assume that would give Mayo a bye into the semi as there's no way they'll travel. You just don't know what NY will be like until well through the game. Will be some bittersweet history made with lads who came up through our underage ranks in the club on opposite sides which never happened before and I hope doesn't again.

We were iffy at best during the league. I couldn't see any evidence of progress or a plan/system. Hard to see that being put in place but having the new blood of several U21's on board might provide a spark.

New York were shite last year. It's just we were very nearly as shite. There will be no repeat this year. Not only are they a makey-uppy team that's thrown together but the churn each year means nothing can or will ever be built upon.

Quote from: ck on April 07, 2017, 10:57:16 AM
Galway 11/4 for Connacht. Easy money

For the bookie.
Post by: rrhf on April 07, 2017, 01:10:59 PM
Can Roscommon finally win a championship game. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 07, 2017, 01:35:40 PM
The last two Galway v Mayo games have been pretty tight affairs. Obviously Galway won in Castlebar last year but the year before in Salthill, only for a crazy own goal scored by Galway in the 2nd half, that game would have gone right down the wire. I'd be surprised if it isn't similar again this year. The Galway full-back line is probably the weakest line on either team but I can't imagine Walsh will leave them exposed so expect another dour defensive battle.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2017, 03:59:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 06, 2017, 11:04:59 PM
Galway like us they're weak at the back and relatively unable to play that sort of game.

If they were like Roscommon at the back they wouldn't have beaten Mayo in MacHale park last year. The key reason why they won was because of the defensive system they had in place. A mere 0-12 is all they conceded. When did Roscommon concede so little in MacHale park against Mayo? 1-19 in the league this year and I would expect a similar or more conceded by a weak Roscommon defence if it's a Mayo v Roscommon final.

Try Sligos defence for closer comparison.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2017, 04:01:06 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 07, 2017, 01:10:59 PM
Can Roscommon finally win a championship game.
Finally?
Won 3 last year
2 in 2015
Haven't played any this year.
Post by: mayo.mick on April 07, 2017, 07:20:07 PM

I'm nearly sure there was something of a rule change for this year, that if New York did win a preliminary match, they would not be able to play. Whoever they beat would play in their place. Roscommon had a lucky escape from the Bronx last year!
Post by: weareros on April 07, 2017, 07:38:06 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on April 07, 2017, 07:20:07 PM

I'm nearly sure there was something of a rule change for this year, that if New York did win a preliminary match, they would not be able to play. Whoever they beat would play in their place. Roscommon had a lucky escape from the Bronx last year!

Very lucky. Saved by Senan Kilbride who came on as a sub and scored a marvelous point from the sideline and Maurice Deegan blowing up a minute early. I felt the management should have encouraged Senan to stay another year, as he is only 31. However, the problems New York exposed in Gaelic Park, and Kerry exposed in the league semi just before that persist to this day. Arguably our defense has gotten much worse as FOD had some idea about defending. I wouldn't read too much into the defensive display against Cavan due to the way Cavan played a team of grannys could have kept the Breffni at bay.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 07, 2017, 08:39:46 PM
The winner of the semi final between Leitrim if they beat London v Roscommon will be only one win away from reaching the last eight. Leitrim are where they are an established div 4 team so out of the two only Roscommon would have the potential to reach the last eight but its hard to see them doing it this year with so many issues on and off the field.

Can understand why some Sligo supporters might fear the New York game as New York only lost by 1 point to Roscommon last May and the same Roscommon side went on to beat Sligo by nine points however New York have a big turnover of players each year and and its hard to know what shape New York will be in this year? the last time Sligo played them they hammered them. Mayo in MacHale Park is a fairly daunting game after that. I suppose after the Connacht final mauling of two years ago the main objective is to be competitive

Mayo remain a top three side in Ireland and i would expect them to win Connacht this July again. I don't believe in the myth they peaked themselves for the All Ireland series instead they brought their average league form into the Connacht championship last year and got caught cold. The chances of that happening for a second year in a row is slim, their league form was better this year and can find tune themselves in the Quarter final before the expected semi final against Galway in Salthill.

Regardless of the result in Pearse Stadium i think its important for the development of Galway senior football to go one better than last summer and reach the All Ireland semi final.

Post by: Syferus on April 07, 2017, 09:41:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 07, 2017, 08:39:46 PM
The winner of the semi final between Leitrim if they beat London v Roscommon will be only one win away from reaching the last eight. Leitrim are where they are an established div 4 team so out of the two only Roscommon would have the potential to reach the last eight but its hard to see them doing it this year with so many issues on and off the field.

Can understand why some Sligo supporters might fear the New York game as New York only lost by 1 point to Roscommon last May and the same Roscommon side went on to beat Sligo by nine points however New York have a big turnover of players each year and and its hard to know what shape New York will be in this year? the last time Sligo played them they hammered them. Mayo in MacHale Park is a fairly daunting game after that. I suppose after the Connacht final mauling of two years ago the main objective is to be competitive

Mayo remain a top three side in Ireland and i would expect them to win Connacht this July again. I don't believe in the myth they peaked themselves for the All Ireland series instead they brought their average league form into the Connacht championship last year and got caught cold. The chances of that happening for a second year in a row is slim, their league form was better this year and can find tune themselves in the Quarter final before the expected semi final against Galway in Salthill.

Regardless of the result in Pearse Stadium i think its important for the development of Galway senior football to go one better than last summer and reach the All Ireland semi final.

You're having a laugh if you think Galway are making an AISF. Not even close.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2017, 10:26:37 PM
That's the Herrins guaranteed a Semi spot so ;D
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 07, 2017, 10:30:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2017, 10:26:37 PM
;D ;D ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 13, 2017, 02:22:38 PM
Niall Murphy will not play in New York. Badly tore his hamstring last weekend. It's a huge blow to Sligo. Can't find NY v Sligo odds on Paddypower - anyone see them anywhere else?
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2017, 02:44:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2017, 10:26:37 PM

Quoted in case a little gremlin deletes his post later in the year..
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2017, 03:56:55 PM
Goos childeen.
In the week of your prediction of Dublin hockeying (your term) Kerry.
:-X would be more appropriate for you.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2017, 04:13:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 13, 2017, 02:22:38 PM
Niall Murphy will not play in New York. Badly tore his hamstring last weekend. It's a huge blow to Sligo. Can't find NY v Sligo odds on Paddypower - anyone see them anywhere else?
Must be doing some OTT training to badly tear your hamstring?. New York 11/1 Sligo 1/33 with Boyle sports last time I checked.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2017, 05:32:13 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2017, 05:05:08 PM
NY 3 times more likely to win Connacht than Sligo????
Typed the Sligo odds the wrong way round,amended now. They are match odds as Sligo are 66/1 for Connacht while New York are 300/1
Post by: magpie seanie on April 14, 2017, 10:39:19 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 13, 2017, 04:13:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 13, 2017, 02:22:38 PM
Must be doing some OTT training to badly tear your hamstring?. New York 11/1 Sligo 1/33 with Boyle sports last time I checked.

Wasn't chatting to him but he was in considerable pain on Sunday at our club game. I know relations of his that were intending on travelling are now not going. It's a massive blow to us.
Post by: Mano on April 18, 2017, 11:53:13 AM
McIntyre is doubtful too after pulling his hamstring in training last week. That 11/1 on New York is looking very tempting.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2017, 12:00:06 PM
Quote from: Mano on April 18, 2017, 11:53:13 AM
McIntyre is doubtful too after pulling his hamstring in training last week. That 11/1 on New York is looking very tempting.

Easily parted from your money more like.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 18, 2017, 05:24:14 PM
Darren Freeman and Luke Loughlin who tormented the Roscommon defence last year are apparently no longer with New York and going by their recent scores in challenges of just 1-5 and 0-12 both are badly missed.

Sligos Vinny Cadden who was awarded MOTM last year is still the keeper for New York and this upcoming Connacht championship game is sure to bring mixed feelings for him
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 18, 2017, 06:46:52 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 18, 2017, 05:24:14 PM
Darren Freeman and Luke Loughlin who tormented the Roscommon defence last year are apparently no longer with New York and going by their recent scores in challenges of just 1-5 and 0-12 both are badly missed.

Sligos Vinny Cadden who was awarded MOTM last year is still the keeper for New York and this upcoming Connacht championship game is sure to bring mixed feelings for him
He wouldn't be alone in that, should be in goals for Sligo but then we have form for choosing mediocre keepers and persisting with them.

We'll probably get over the line but not comfortably.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2017, 08:11:18 PM

Vinny won't have any mixed feelings.....he's a man on a mission I can assure you. It's a damn shame and sadly our club is losing out on his services for the second summer in a row (he'd play midfield for us) through no fault of our own. He's a good lad and hopefully Sligo will be under new management next year.

On Murf - it's a really bad tear. 6 to 8 weeks. Supposedly happened as he turned and was in the last minute of a session on the astro pitch in Bekan. He was in absolute agony from the descriptions I've heard. That news on McIntyre is really bad as he has been very good and improving all through the league. What are his chances of playing Mano?

I heard NY have played 3 challenge matches recently and the results haven't been great but I'm pretty sure the last time we went they only played (and lost to) Boston beforehand.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 18, 2017, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 18, 2017, 08:11:18 PM

Vinny won't have any mixed feelings.....he's a man on a mission I can assure you. It's a damn shame and sadly our club is losing out on his services for the second summer in a row (he'd play midfield for us) through no fault of our own. He's a good lad and hopefully Sligo will be under new management next year.

On Murf - it's a really bad tear. 6 to 8 weeks. Supposedly happened as he turned and was in the last minute of a session on the astro pitch in Bekan. He was in absolute agony from the descriptions I've heard. That news on McIntyre is really bad as he has been very good and improving all through the league. What are his chances of playing Mano?

I heard NY have played 3 challenge matches recently and the results haven't been great but I'm pretty sure the last time we went they only played (and lost to) Boston beforehand.

At least its only weeks and not months like Ger Cafferkey last year who apparently tore his hamstring off the bone. The training on the astro pitch is to get ready for the Bronx surface i presume.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2017, 10:45:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 18, 2017, 09:22:19 PM

At least its only weeks and not months like Ger Cafferkey last year who apparently tore his hamstring off the bone. The training on the astro pitch is to get ready for the Bronx surface i presume.

The guy who was updating me on it is close to the setup but he did say it was initially diagnosed as a grade 2 tear but is now supposedly a grade 4 (there's no such thing as a grade 4 tear as far as I know). I'd say the 6-8 week timeframe is accurate though.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 19, 2017, 06:00:24 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 18, 2017, 10:45:53 PM

The guy who was updating me on it is close to the setup but he did say it was initially diagnosed as a grade 2 tear but is now supposedly a grade 4 (there's no such thing as a grade 4 tear as far as I know). I'd say the 6-8 week timeframe is accurate though.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but a Grade 4 muscle tear is a complete sever of the muscle and fascia. Don't know how that could be misdiagnosed as a Grade 2
Post by: Mano on April 19, 2017, 10:08:47 AM

It will keep him out for 2/3 weeks so he would be doubtful enough
Post by: magpie seanie on April 19, 2017, 11:14:33 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 19, 2017, 06:00:24 AM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but a Grade 4 muscle tear is a complete sever of the muscle and fascia. Don't know how that could be misdiagnosed as a Grade 2

Yeah, it made no sense to me especially when I googled hamstring tears and didn't find anything about grade 4 tears.
Post by: Syferus on April 19, 2017, 11:54:06 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 19, 2017, 11:14:33 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on April 19, 2017, 06:00:24 AM

Yeah, it made no sense to me especially when I googled hamstring tears and didn't find anything about grade 4 tears.

Niall Murphy's physician:

http://www.thejournal.ie/omar-hassan-medical-council-2529744-Jan2016/
Post by: ck on April 20, 2017, 05:57:18 PM
Sligo were 50/1 and now are 40/1. A lot of wise heads out there!  ;)
Post by: sligoman2 on April 24, 2017, 04:24:02 PM
Only 2 weeks now till the big apple.  Any update ages on injuries or challenge matches from the sligo camp?

I am expecting a 10 point win for Sligo as I can't see them getting caught on the hop like Roscommon last year.
I certainly hope we're not the first county to lose to NY and London in the Connacht championship.

Murphy is a huge loss but we still have Marren, Kyle Cawley, Pat Hughes, David Kelly, Coen,  Breheny and others who can score with ease.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 24, 2017, 05:04:01 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 24, 2017, 04:24:02 PM
Only 2 weeks now till the big apple.  Any update ages on injuries or challenge matches from the sligo camp?

I am expecting a 10 point win for Sligo as I can't see them getting caught on the hop like Roscommon last year.
I certainly hope we're not the first county to lose to NY and London in the Connacht championship.

Murphy is a huge loss but we still have Marren, Kyle Cawley, Pat Hughes, David Kelly, Coen,  Breheny and others who can score with ease.

I think Leitrim was the first team to lose against London in the Connacht championship back in seventies.

Sligo have plenty of scoring options but at the other end of the field is where Sligos problems are. The odds has got much shorter the last few weeks Sligo 1/8 New York    5/1 with Paddy power now
Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2017, 11:31:27 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 24, 2017, 05:04:01 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 24, 2017, 04:24:02 PM

I think Leitrim was the first team to lose against London in the Connacht championship back in seventies.

Sligo have plenty of scoring options but at the other end of the field is where Sligos problems are. The odds has got much shorter the last few weeks Sligo 1/8 New York    5/1 with Paddy power now

Those odds seem more realistic to me. Everything depends on what they're like. I've no further news bar that Keelan Cawley looked good in our club matches but we're down in Div2 so hard to read much into that.
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 12:01:37 PM
Well lads and lassies it all starts next Sunday night (Irish time) with the annual public service obligation/ junket for officials farce v NY.
Cribbing complaining about the fixture being a week later than usual meaning he can't use the students on his panel.
Any of our Sligo regulars going?
Are ye fearful of a shock?
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 03:26:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 12:01:37 PM
Well lads and lassies it all starts next Sunday night (Irish time) with the annual public service obligation/ junket for officials farce v NY.
Cribbing complaining about the fixture being a week later than usual meaning he can't use the students on his panel.

The only shock they're in for is the price of a pint of Guinness in Manhattan.
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 04:29:27 PM
How much?

Wins for NY and London would be the Connacht Council's worst nightmare.
Prenty would have to seek a bail out.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 02, 2017, 04:59:26 PM

It was known at the beginning of November that this game would be played May 7th. It's a bit late for Carew to be complaining now.
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 05:43:11 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 02, 2017, 04:59:26 PM

It was known at the beginning of November that this game would be played May 7th. It's a bit late for Carew to be complaining now.

Exam timetables don't come out until a few weeks beforehand, ladeen..
Post by: magpie seanie on May 03, 2017, 10:22:40 PM
I hope ye all listened to Uncle Seanie and backed NY @ 11/1. They're now 11/4. Anyone with a bit of cop on would realise that those of us who know what's happening in Sligo aren't give to the "yerra poor mouth act". I haven't cashed out and taken my tidy profit yet because the news that Kevin McDonnell is not travelling is seriously bad for us. The other two players mentioned are for me not difference makers. Carew's cribbing in the media and his general ineptitude are worries. Any word on McIntyre or other players?

I think Conor McGraynor has knocked us out of the championship before (for Wicklow). Ross Wherity is seriously talented (cousin of a lad in my club whose is/was also laden with talent but perhaps not the Jimmy McGuinness type dedication required). Tom Cuniffe obviously. There are several more good, recognisable players and of course Vinny Cadden. I genuinely think we're in trouble.
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 10:26:06 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 03, 2017, 10:22:40 PM
I hope ye all listened to Uncle Seanie and backed NY @ 11/1. They're now 11/4. Anyone with a bit of cop on would realise that those of us who know what's happening in Sligo aren't give to the "yerra poor mouth act". I haven't cashed out and taken my tidy profit yet because the news that Kevin McDonnell is not travelling is seriously bad for us. The other two players mentioned are for me not difference makers. Carew's cribbing in the media and his general ineptitude are worries. Any word on McIntyre or other players?

I think Conor McGraynor has knocked us out of the championship before (for Wicklow). Ross Wherity is seriously talented (cousin of a lad in my club whose is/was also laden with talent but perhaps not the Jimmy McGuinness type dedication required). Tom Cuniffe obviously. There are several more good, recognisable players and of course Vinny Cadden. I genuinely think we're in trouble.

I hope you didn't waste too much money on that pointless bet.

Hang on, I take that back.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 03, 2017, 10:35:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 10:26:06 PM

As of now my bet is worth 3 times the original stake. You really do not understand the most basic things do you? Are you related to Donald Trump?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2017, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 05:43:11 PM

The general calendar would have though you'd have thought?
Post by: Syferus on May 03, 2017, 10:50:59 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 03, 2017, 10:35:04 PM

As of now my bet is worth 3 times the original stake. You really do not understand the most basic things do you? Are you related to Donald Trump?

Oh, right. You're really rolling in that imaginary money, a bit like the stuff ye tried to pay for Scarden with..

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 03, 2017, 10:50:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 05:43:11 PM

The general calendar would have though you'd have thought?

It's not so long ago that I don't remember how it works, the academic calendar will usually have a week and a half to two weeks allotted for summer exams but the exact times of the exams can be anything within that window - those lads could easily have had no exam that Monday and been just fine it they fell that way.

It should be also noted before Cunny Funt tries to be glib again that a few weeks before the exams a provisional timetable comes out, but this changes up until nearly the week before exams start.
Post by: shark on May 03, 2017, 11:04:02 PM
It's not imaginary money. If he has backed NY at 11/1 and they are now 11/4 then he will be able to hedge both Sligo and the draw and still be guaranteed a profit.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 04, 2017, 01:32:55 AM

You know you could have just deleted the sentence?
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 01:43:21 AM
Quote from: shark on May 03, 2017, 11:04:02 PM
It's not imaginary money. If he has backed NY at 11/1 and they are now 11/4 then he will be able to hedge both Sligo and the draw and still be guaranteed a profit.

Read the part I bolded. Thanks.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 04, 2017, 02:24:51 PM
Quote from: shark on May 03, 2017, 11:04:02 PM

Exactly.

Generally I bet for fun and sometimes to hedge against the unthinkable. Infrequently and for small amounts. I'd rarely advise people as they may have different objectives, leaning more towards making money. In this case I still believe there's a strong chance of NY winning but regardless - this was good advice because if someone had done as I did they are no in a position to take a guaranteed profit. Taking the cash out option is actually more beneficial than hedging as it happens (unless my calculations are wrong). I may or may not cash out before the game. Sligo may or may not win. What is beyond dispute is that the bet as advised was "pointless". The market has corrected itself from a ridiculous opening position and those wise enough to follow my advice can profit.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 04, 2017, 03:55:20 PM
Galway manager Kevin Walsh looks set to be without the services of one of the county's brightest prospects this summer as U21 ace Séan Andy Ó Ceallaigh has seemingly decided to spend the next couple of months Stateside.

The Leitir Móir defender was thought to be in line for a call up to Walsh's squad ahead of the opening round of their Connacht SFC title defence after some phenomenal displays for the Tribesmen in their run to the All-Ireland U21 final, but reports have indicated that he will be spending this summer in the US.   

Last Saturday's final defeat to Dublin saw Ó Ceallaigh put in a mammoth performance at full-back, reducing Dubs danger man Con O'Callaghan to just a goal from play, with Tribe boss Gerry Fahy going as far to brand it "as good a display as I've seen in a Gaelic jersey anywhere".

The praise spread wide for Galway's no 3 after the 2-13 to 2-7 defeat in Tullamore but it looks like Tribe fans will now have to wait until next year before seeing him in a maroon jersey again.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 04, 2017, 06:26:45 PM
New York team named:

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Mayo)
3. David Cunnane (Galway)
4. Peter Witherow (Donegal)

5. Gerard McCartan (Down)
6. David Culhane (Kerry)
7. Keith Quinn (Down)

8. Brian Gallagher (Mayo)
9. Shane Hogan (New York)

10. Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)
11. Conor McGraynor (Wicklow)
12. Ross Wherity (Donegal)

13. Daniel McKenna (New York)
14. Shane O'Connor (Dublin)
15. Eugene McVerry (Armagh)

Subs

16. Jer O Sullivan
17. Paddy Boyle
18. Ronan McGinley
19. Paul Lambe
20. Eoin Flanagan
21. Keith Scally
22. Kevin Connolly
23. Eoin Ward
24. David Freeman
25. Niall McFeeley
26. Paul McGinley
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 06:50:39 PM
I'm sure it's doing New York GAA the power of good playing a bunch of blow-ins for the summer (well compensated, in most cases) for an exhibition match they're sure to get kicked around in anyways. At least London are trying to build something.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 04, 2017, 06:55:58 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on May 04, 2017, 06:26:45 PM
New York team named:

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Mayo)

6. David Culhane (Kerry)
7. Keith Quinn (Down)

14. Shane O'Connor

Subs

16. Jer O Sullivan
17. Paddy Boyle
18. Ronan McGinley
19. Paul Lambe
20. Eoin Flanagan
21. Keith Scally
22. Kevin Connolly
23. Eoin Ward
24. David Freeman
25. Niall McFeeley
26. Paul McGinley

Does anyone know - is the Eoin Flanagan listed in the subs there the same lad who played for Sligo the last few years from St Johns?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2017, 08:10:35 PM
New York team named:

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Mayo)

6. David Culhane (Kerry)
7. Keith Quinn (Down)

14. Shane O’Connor

What county is Shane O Connor from or is he New York born?

Only 4 of that New York team started last year against Roscommon 1,5,7 and 8.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 04, 2017, 08:42:17 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2017, 08:10:35 PM
New York team named:

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Mayo)

6. David Culhane (Kerry)
7. Keith Quinn (Down)

14. Shane O'Connor

What county is Shane O Connor from or is he New York born?

Only 4 of that New York team started last year against Roscommon 1,5,7 and 8.

From Dublin I think.
Post by: Duine Eile on May 05, 2017, 12:26:13 AM
David Cunnane was on the extended Galway panel the last couple of years, St. Michael's man.
Post by: Mano on May 05, 2017, 10:49:05 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 04, 2017, 06:55:58 PM
New York team named:

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Mayo)

6. David Culhane (Kerry)
7. Keith Quinn (Down)

14. Shane O’Connor

Subs

16. Jer O Sullivan
17. Paddy Boyle
18. Ronan McGinley
19. Paul Lambe
20. Eoin Flanagan
21. Keith Scally
22. Kevin Connolly
23. Eoin Ward
24. David Freeman
25. Niall McFeeley
26. Paul McGinley

Does anyone know - is the Eoin Flanagan listed in the subs there the same lad who played for Sligo the last few years from St Johns?
Yea its Eoin Flanagan from St John's. He can't make the New York team yet has been a starter for Sligo the last number of years.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2017, 07:19:02 PM
Sligo team named.

Aidan Devaney

Ross Donovan, Charlie Harrison, Eoin McHugh

Keelan Cawley, Brendan Egan, John Kelly

Cian Breheny, Adrian McIntyre

Neil Ewing, Mark Breheny, Kyle Cawley

Stephen Coen, Pat Hughes, Adrian Marren

In Donovan,Harrison,Egan,McIntyre,M Breheny,Marren Sligo should be enough experience in that team not to get caught cold and looking at that forward line they should have too much firepower for New York.
Post by: ck on May 05, 2017, 09:13:14 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 05, 2017, 07:19:02 PM
Sligo team named.

Aidan Devaney

In Donovan,Harrison,Egan,McIntyre,M Breheny,Marren Sligo should be enough experience in that team not to get caught cold and looking at that forward line they should have too much firepower for New York.

This is a very strong Sligo side. It wont be the team that starts IMO but close to it. I am concerned as the NY side is as strong as Ive seen it but i do think Sligo will squeeze through
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2017, 09:16:09 PM
Quote from: ck on May 05, 2017, 09:13:14 PM
Sligo team named.

Aidan Devaney

This is a very strong Sligo side. It wont be the team that starts IMO but close to it. I am concerned as the NY side is as strong as Ive seen it but i do think Sligo will squeeze through

You have a short memory ck.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2017, 09:47:28 PM
Quote from: ck on May 05, 2017, 09:13:14 PM
Sligo team named.

Aidan Devaney

What changes do you expect to the Sligo team? New York lacking scorers in their team this year. Darren Freeman,Luke Loughlin are gone back to Ireland and Brian Connor of Offaly who scored 3 or 4 points against Roscommon last May did his ACL recently.

I think Sligo will win comfortably but i am not sure which margin of victory is the best to place money on?

Sligo 1-3 pts
11/4

Sligo 4-6 pts
7/2

Sligo 7-9 pts
11/2

Sligo 10-12 pts
10/1

Sligo 13-15 pts
14/1

Sligo 16 pts or more
20/1
Post by: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:14:01 AM
Blowitupref - have you seen much of Sligo recently? 4 of the 6 you name shouldn't be on the team any more if you ask me so I wouldn't be relying on them to pull us out of the fire.

Ewing has played at 6 all year and I'd say he'll start there. Patrick O'Connor must start if he's fit, probably not named to avoid debut hullabaloo in the media. Not sure who will partner McIntyre (is he over his injury) at midfield.....Cian, for all his good attacking attributes would be a big risk. Other options in short supply so maybe a risk worth taking. Not sure who'll drop out of the forwards if O'Connor comes in....MB or Marren for me....John Kelly will push up to HF line.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 06, 2017, 10:23:16 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:14:01 AM
Blowitupref - have you seen much of Sligo recently? 4 of the 6 you name shouldn't be on the team any more if you ask me so I wouldn't be relying on them to pull us out of the fire.

Ewing has played at 6 all year and I'd say he'll start there. Patrick O'Connor must start if he's fit, probably not named to avoid debut hullabaloo in the media. Not sure who will partner McIntyre (is he over his injury) at midfield.....Cian, for all his good attacking attributes would be a big risk. Other options in short supply so maybe a risk worth taking. Not sure who'll drop out of the forwards if O'Connor comes in....MB or Marren for me....John Kelly will push up to HF line.
is that the same Ewing that cost Sligo the 2010 final by constantly fouling lads?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:25:37 AM
Mano - in my book Eoin Flanagan is a very good man marker and if the lads they have starting are better than him our forwards will struggle.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:29:03 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 06, 2017, 10:23:16 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 06, 2017, 10:14:01 AM

is that the same Ewing that cost Sligo the 2010 final by constantly fouling lads?

I wouldn't blame Ewing for that debacle but his tendency to give away a lot of frees has been curbed. He has matured into one of our better defenders with an outrageous appetite for work. Did well at 6 all League but was even better (in my opinion) as a defensive half back at 10 in previous years. He's a good lad.
Post by: seafoid on May 06, 2017, 02:12:23 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0505/872965-o-se-gives-new-york-good-chance-of-shocking-sligo/
Post by: T Fearon on May 07, 2017, 09:55:19 AM
This is an acid test of Trump's pledge to make America great again.If Sligo win,will Trump ban all Irish GAA county teams from entering the states in future.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 08:30:26 PM
14 mins gone New York 0-03 Sligo 0-07
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 08:40:29 PM
24 mins gone New York: 0-4 Sligo 0-8. Good saves by both goalkeepers to prevent goals.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 08:55:52 PM
Half time New York 0-09 Sligo 0-11. Sligo experienced players kicking important scores from play and Sligo have the wind advantage in the 2nd half now.
Post by: weareros on May 07, 2017, 09:05:24 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 08:55:52 PM
Half time New York 0-09 Sligo 0-11. Sligo experienced players kicking important scores from play and Sligo have the wind advantage in the 2nd half now.

According to Ocean FM, NY have the wind advantage in second half.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 07, 2017, 09:22:02 PM
Goal for NY, all square ten mins into 2nd half
Post by: highorlow on May 07, 2017, 09:22:41 PM
Goal NY. I think they are ahead now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 09:24:29 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 07, 2017, 09:05:24 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 08:55:52 PM

According to Ocean FM, NY have the wind advantage in second half.
RTE radio saying the opposite. Sligo back in front 0-14 to 1-10 now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 09:27:51 PM
New York lead. 1-12 to 0-14.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 09:28:28 PM
According to the Sligo commentary the ref gough is riding us, he has form with us, in big trouble now 1pt down
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 09:32:14 PM
16 mins of torture left 1pt up
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 09:34:16 PM
Lots of injuries for Sligo today, Hughes, o Connor, egan so far now Mark breheny
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2017, 09:34:39 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMX1sc3eOTE
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 09:38:00 PM
Great reaction to the goal 3 pts up now, cian breheny making a big impact
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 09:38:36 PM
New York 1-12 Sligo 0-18. with 10 mins to go.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 09:41:39 PM
Sligo goal that should be it.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 09:42:09 PM
f**king get in
Post by: From the Bunker on May 07, 2017, 09:42:49 PM
New York 1-12 Sligo 1-20. Done and dusted!
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2017, 09:44:59 PM
Fair play to the Yanks. They put in a great effort.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 07, 2017, 09:48:45 PM
Kyle Cawley some man to get a goal. Phew!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 07, 2017, 09:49:56 PM
Brining Cian on for last quarter was a good decision. Has made a telling impact. NY just ran out of juice.

Bullet dodged.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 07, 2017, 09:56:10 PM
Was said on the radio that Sligo are staying on in New York until Wednesday to train at Rockland GAA facilities. New York play Leitrim next year which should give the home side another decent chance to get the first ever championship win.
Post by: Syferus on May 07, 2017, 10:02:01 PM
What did I tell ya.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 10:14:36 PM
Great win delighted, alot of pressure on us and we didn't panic especially when we went a 1pt down second half, hopefully put in a big performance against mayo now but injuries look tough on us
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2017, 10:26:29 PM
How many u21s were on the Sligo team?
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 07, 2017, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 07, 2017, 09:48:45 PM
Kyle Cawley some man to get a goal. Phew!
He wasn't going to give a Coolera man the satisfaction of keeping a clean sheet  ;)

Was looking dodgy for a while in the second half but we finished it strongly, relief all round.
Post by: ck on May 07, 2017, 10:59:05 PM
Spoke to man who was at the game who said Sligo wete just tgat bit more economical in front of goal. NY made hard work of some of their attacks. Im very relieved to be honest. It was tough listening to it for first 55mins
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 07, 2017, 11:19:44 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 07, 2017, 10:14:36 PM
Great win delighted, alot of pressure on us and we didn't panic especially when we went a 1pt down second half, hopefully put in a big performance against mayo now but injuries look tough on us
It was indeed. Sligo county population of 65,000 while New York state with a population of 19 million.

Seriously though MacHale park next for Sligo to face Mayo. It gets the live RTE coverage i would hope that Sligo are able to give a better account of themselves than their last championship meeting against Mayo.

Post by: Rossfan on May 07, 2017, 11:49:46 PM
That ye may bate the hoors ......
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 08, 2017, 02:55:14 AM
From what i seen today sligo will have to improve a hell of a lot to give Mayo a game.
Todays game turned on a NY sub(20) giving a ball straight to a sligo man which resulted in a goal and from the kick out one of the NY defenders was fouling and resulted in a 14 yard free. New York had looked tired at that point but that seemed to kill of any fight in them.
The Dublin hurler was the best player on the field followed closely by Marron who New York couldn't handle.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 08, 2017, 04:21:03 AM
Look we avoided the banana skin most outsiders predicted and wanted to happen, listening to the NY manager they were confident and better prepared than ever so give us some slack to be relieved with the win. We are not expecting to win Connacht or beat Mayo, we are not at full strength nor do we have good manager in charge and I feel we would need a clean bill of health and shrewd manager for us to beat mayo and capable of winning Connacht, but a good performance would suffice this yr given the draw
Post by: sligoman2 on May 08, 2017, 12:15:59 PM
I was at the match and it's fair to say that Sligo were a much better and professional team.  New York were winning all the aerial battles around the middle in the first half but lacked a killer instinct.  They only scored twice (I think) from play in the first half and were given a lot of soft frees in my opinion.

New York had a good period for 15 minutes in the second half and got some nice scores, sligo did look a bit rattled and had some poor wides and bad passes etc.  For the last 15 minutes it was all sligo and they picked off some fine scores.  I predicted a 10 point win and would have been wrong by one point if marren didn't try to send a free to manhattan from 14 yards out last kick of the game.
Heard  Hughes pulled a hamstring, which is not good news. Great to see David Kelly back, he had some good flashes and a Cian Breheny made a big difference when he came in.
We will need big improvement for Mayo but having the benefit of a championship game will be a help.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 12:24:55 PM
All these hamstring injuries bound to be related to the astroturf pitches.

Look - for all their talk of their prep and work they did NY are really a thrown together outfit so it shows you where we are when we're trailing with 19 minutes left. I'm worried about a big hammering the next day.

Someone asked how many U21's played for Sligo. O'Connor and Kyle Cawley started and one more came in as sub, Cummins.
Post by: ballinaman on May 08, 2017, 12:35:07 PM
I would hesitate on making that link. They had been training in Bekan on the Astro consistently over the last number of weeks. What would have a bigger affect would be the volume of high speed running they may or may not have done. Getting that balance is key.

It would be interesting to see the number and types of injuries Connacht teams have suffered during games in Gaelic park, if you could track those you may be able to see a pattern.
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 12:46:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 12:24:55 PM
All these hamstring injuries bound to be related to the astroturf pitches.

Look - for all their talk of their prep and work they did NY are really a thrown together outfit so it shows you where we are when we're trailing with 19 minutes left. I'm worried about a big hammering the next day.

Someone asked how many U21's played for Sligo. O'Connor and Kyle Cawley started and one more came in as sub, Cummins.

Sure Roscommon coulda won Comnacht last year after a tighter call in NYC and Mayo won it after drawing with London. Don't dispair young lad.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 12:56:35 PM
No they didn't.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2017, 05:58:02 PM
Looks like most of the experienced heads played a big part in Sligos win yesterday.

GAA.ie Football Team of the Week

1: Vinny Cadden (New York)

2: Ross Donavan (Sligo) 3: Tom Cunniffe (New York) 4: Charlie Harrison (Sligo)

5: John Kelly (Sligo) 6: David Culhane (New York) 7: Eoin McHugh (Sligo)

8: Paddy O'Connor (Sligo) 9: Shane Hogan (New York)

10: Neil Ewing (Sligo) 11: Mark Breheny (Sligo) 12: Conor McGraynor (New York)

13: Kyle Cawley (Sligo) 14: Adrian Marren (Sligo) 15: Eugene McVerry (New York

For what its worth a had money on Sligo to win by 7-9 pts
at 11/2. I didn't buy the possible upset in this game at all.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 10:19:10 PM
You were confident enough with 19 minutes to go when Sligo were losing, were you? Fair play to you.
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 10:39:48 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 10:19:10 PM
You were confident enough with 19 minutes to go when Sligo were losing, were you? Fair play to you.

Very confident. Teams like New York don't have anything close to the full 70 in them. It's a makey-uppy team that never have before played a championship match together, and indeed never will again either.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 01:08:11 AM
Were you confident last year when he were lucky to be level last year with 2 minutes to go?
Post by: Duine Eile on May 09, 2017, 06:48:09 PM
Lads what do ye make of Niall Carew up there? He's coming across as a real moaner at the moment, he spent all last week giving out out about the fixing of the match even though its always played on the first Sunday in May, it just happened that this year it didn't fall on the bank holiday and now he's claiming Sligo were disrespected all last week by people tipping New York to win even though he was talking them up big time himself, sounds like there's no pleasing him!
Post by: From the Bunker on May 09, 2017, 07:34:53 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on May 09, 2017, 06:48:09 PM
Lads what do ye make of Niall Carew up there? He's coming across as a real moaner at the moment, he spent all last week giving out out about the fixing of the match even though its always played on the first Sunday in May, it just happened that this year it didn't fall on the bank holiday and now he's claiming Sligo were disrespected all last week by people tipping New York to win even though he was talking them up big time himself, sounds like there's no pleasing him!

He was taking the pressure off the players - talking them down and highlighting problems. That's what a Manager has to do!
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 09, 2017, 07:37:32 PM

Sligo really should have cut ties with him 2015. A lot of good young footballers looking to establish themselves at senior level for Sligo right now in Paddy O Connor,Kyle Cawley,Niall Murphy,Kevin McDonnell,Cian Breheny,Gerard O'Kelly,Darragh Cummins and the two Henrys they all deserve a better manager over them than Carew if they are to fulfill their potential.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 09:16:18 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 01:08:11 AM
Were you confident last year when he were lucky to be level last year with 2 minutes to go?

Of course I was. They were still gassed. Only difference is we kept them in the match longer.

And to the above, Sligo are playing to their potential under Carew. He's not a great manager but he doesn't have too much to work with. When lads like Breheny and Egan still have to stick around to fill the breach it says enough.
Post by: Hound on May 10, 2017, 07:15:57 AM
Carew actually said that New York showed Sligo disrespect by claiming they could win!

I'd hazard a guess that he's a tool
Post by: DJGaliv on May 10, 2017, 01:27:06 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 09, 2017, 07:34:53 PM

He was taking the pressure off the players - talking them down and highlighting problems. That's what a Manager has to do!

I don't mind that before a game, but what is the point of moaning after you win about NY showing disrespect. Especially when you're playing up their chances beforehand.

I don't think this playing down your chances always works anyway. Say it often enough and the players start to believe it. It'll work for a couple of games, but not a great long term tactic. And I certainly wouldn't waste it by using it against New York.

Sligo have done quite well in schools football, and imagine they've a good batch coming through now again.
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 01:52:56 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on May 10, 2017, 01:27:06 PM

I don't mind that before a game, but what is the point of moaning after you win about NY showing disrespect. Especially when you're playing up their chances beforehand.

I don't think this playing down your chances always works anyway. Say it often enough and the players start to believe it. It'll work for a couple of games, but not a great long term tactic. And I certainly wouldn't waste it by using it against New York.

Sligo have done quite well in schools football, and imagine they've a good batch coming through now again.

Schools success barely has any influence at minor IC, why would it be relevant in any way to a senior IC team? That's clutching at straws to be honest.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 10, 2017, 02:40:28 PM

I think Carew is the worst manager (and that's saying something!) we've had and a total bluffer. The fact that two lads played for New York that should have been starting for us tells its own story. It's bad enough he's managing the team but if you have the read the drivel he writes in the local paper then you'd be convinced he's clueless. His biggest recommendation seems to be "he worked with McGeeney" who has failed badly everywhere he has been. My biggest gripe is that he has persisted with veterans who are long past it but has fallen out with lads who are at or about to reach their peak. For a county like us that's not overburdened with talent, with a good U21 side this season who were up there with the best in the country, you'd expect more lads to be involved at senior level, especially with some players missing. He seems to prefer playing tried and repeatedly failed option that young lads. 

In his defence, guys coming in to Sligo to manage the team are slaves to who is giving them advice and the same people always seem to find a way in to be able to influence managers. That's a long standing Sligo problem and needs to be solved pronto.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 10, 2017, 02:44:28 PM

You'd wonder how important schools football actually is anymore. Galway are dominating at underage in Connacht in recent years despite none of their schools sides being any great shakes. Even Jarlath's. Be interesting to see the schools breakdown of those teams.

That said you could look at Kerry and say the that their current underage success has come from  Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne and St Brendan's having won the last 4 Hogan Cups between them.
Post by: DJGaliv on May 10, 2017, 02:58:10 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 10, 2017, 02:44:28 PM

You'd wonder how important schools football actually is anymore. Galway are dominating at underage in Connacht in recent years despite none of their schools sides being any great shakes. Even Jarlath's. Be interesting to see the schools breakdown of those teams.

That said you could look at Kerry and say the that their current underage success has come from  Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne and St Brendan's having won the last 4 Hogan Cups between them.

I hear you, but I think that having successful schools can only be helpful. Just like the link from u21 to senior success can be hard to pin down. I do believe though successful schools and underage teams only help to increase the standard of club football in the county and should help the county team in some shape or form.

It's very hard for many counties to compete any more, and I feel things are getting worse. Net migration to the bigger centres are hitting everyone so you've got to work with what you have. Two nice examples recently are from the u21 all ireland final. The son of Mayo man Anthony Finnerty playing for Galway and Dublin playing with the son of Galway man Fergal Gavin.
Post by: Mano on May 10, 2017, 03:44:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 01:52:56 PM

Schools success barely has any influence at minor IC, why would it be relevant in any way to a senior IC team? That's clutching at straws to be honest.
Sligo have had good minor teams over the last number of years powered mostly by players from the 2 schools playing in the A grade. Cummins, O'connor, Cawley have already made the breakthough to senior level with hopefully a few more to follow. The problem is all the other schools from west and east of the county are playing in the D grade.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 10, 2017, 03:48:27 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2017, 02:40:28 PM

I think Carew is the worst manager (and that's saying something!) we've had and a total bluffer. The fact that two lads played for New York that should have been starting for us tells its own story. It's bad enough he's managing the team but if you have the read the drivel he writes in the local paper then you'd be convinced he's clueless. His biggest recommendation seems to be "he worked with McGeeney" who has failed badly everywhere he has been. My biggest gripe is that he has persisted with veterans who are long past it but has fallen out with lads who are at or about to reach their peak. For a county like us that's not overburdened with talent, with a good U21 side this season who were up there with the best in the country, you'd expect more lads to be involved at senior level, especially with some players missing. He seems to prefer playing tried and repeatedly failed option that young lads. 

In his defence, guys coming in to Sligo to manage the team are slaves to who is giving them advice and the same people always seem to find a way in to be able to influence managers. That's a long standing Sligo problem and needs to be solved pronto.

How many of the u21 lads are on the senior panel?
Post by: Mano on May 10, 2017, 05:04:30 PM
5 I think. 4 I've already mentioned and Nicholson, and O'Kelly-Lynch.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 10, 2017, 05:53:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 09:16:18 PM
When lads like Breheny and Egan still have to stick around to fill the breach it says enough.
Will you say the same about Roscommon if Sean McDermott and Ian Kilbride are given starts this summer?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 10, 2017, 05:59:19 PM
I think Sligo football is in (or about to be in) as strong a position as it has been in years, we have the U21's ye spoke about here and some other great potential including Sean power, Liam gaughan, Eddie Mcguinness ,the lad from Molasie (who's name escapes me), Carrabine, Michael Gordon and others.

We have potential to be good in my opinion....
Post by: sligoman on May 10, 2017, 06:54:41 PM
It was good to get the NY banana skin out of the way.

I think Carew takes a little too much stick from some of us, he's taken the job at a bad time. A group of players which served us very well under Tommy Breheny and Kevin Walsh came to the end of their tenure and what was left are a rather mediocre group of players with all due respect.

Breheny, Harrison, Egan, Marren, Donovan are all in their mid 30s now and are all starters and I think we should be very grateful for these guys hanging on as I don't think there is much genuine hope of success in their twilight years and they could have easily just decided to walk away. I think certainly without them we'd be fighting it out in Div 4 with the likes of Carlow and Waterford.

There's very little in the way of talent in the 25-30 age bracket in Sligo football, from my viewings of club football in Sligo over the past few years and their performances in Connacht I think it's fair to say we have one of the worst club championships in the country which is a big worry as clubs like Johns, Marys, Harps and Coolera Strandhill have very big picks and should be good enough to make an impact at Connacht level.

Thankfully we seem to bringing in some quality young footballers at the moment so the future looks reasonably bright with guys like McDonnell, Murphy, Breheny, O'Connor, Cawley, Cummins etc giving the team a solid backbone.

I've been disappointed with the lack of opportunities afforded to Cathal Henry this year, thought he was the best club player in Sligo last year and would give a side very lacking in size some presence.

I'd be happy if we can take a 10 point defeat in Mayo. I feel we could get destroyed in midfield and at the back.

Any updates on the injuries to Murphy and Hughes?
Post by: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 06:55:41 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 10, 2017, 05:53:02 PM
When lads like Breheny and Egan still have to stick around to fill the breach it says enough.
Will you say the same about Roscommon if Sean McDermott and Ian Kilbride are given starts this summer?

Adrian Marren, Ross Donovan, Charlie Harrison. You cannot seriously be comparing the make-up of the Roscommon and Sligo starting lineups seriously and trying to make we're taking the same tact as Sligo are.

Too quick with the jab and leaving yourself exposed on the counter, CF.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 10, 2017, 07:40:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 10, 2017, 06:55:41 PM

Adrian Marren, Ross Donovan, Charlie Harrison. You cannot seriously be comparing the make-up of the Roscommon and Sligo starting lineups seriously and trying to make we're taking the same tact as Sligo are.

Too quick with the jab and leaving yourself exposed on the counter, CF.

No i wouldn't seriously compare as McStay has decided to replace the experience of Collins,S Kilbride,Keenan,C Cregg etc with inexperience which so far has brought one win against a county team this year.

As for the Sligo 30 year olds you named. Marren has been Sligos most consistent forward over the last number of years. Harrison their last All Star and Donovan arguably their best defender is back after taking a year out.

Now that i have filled you in don't come out for round 2 as the towel was already thrown in for you.
Post by: seafoid on May 10, 2017, 07:41:40 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnPlJxet_ac
Post by: magpie seanie on May 11, 2017, 03:22:23 PM
Quote from: sligoman on May 10, 2017, 06:54:41 PM

I think Carew takes a little too much stick from some of us, he's taken the job at a bad time. A group of players which served us very well under Tommy Breheny and Kevin Walsh came to the end of their tenure and what was left are a rather mediocre group of players with all due respect.

Breheny, Harrison, Egan, Marren, Donovan are all in their mid 30s now and are all starters and I think we should be very grateful for these guys hanging on as I don't think there is much genuine hope of success in their twilight years and they could have easily just decided to walk away. I think certainly without them we'd be fighting it out in Div 4 with the likes of Carlow and Waterford.

There's very little in the way of talent in the 25-30 age bracket in Sligo football, from my viewings of club football in Sligo over the past few years and their performances in Connacht I think it's fair to say we have one of the worst club championships in the country which is a big worry as clubs like Johns, Marys, Harps and Coolera Strandhill have very big picks and should be good enough to make an impact at Connacht level.

Thankfully we seem to bringing in some quality young footballers at the moment so the future looks reasonably bright with guys like McDonnell, Murphy, Breheny, O'Connor, Cawley, Cummins etc giving the team a solid backbone.

I've been disappointed with the lack of opportunities afforded to Cathal Henry this year, thought he was the best club player in Sligo last year and would give a side very lacking in size some presence.

I'd be happy if we can take a 10 point defeat in Mayo. I feel we could get destroyed in midfield and at the back.

Can you give me some tips and I'll gladly bring them back to the club? Or is this just unfounded pub talk? We were well fit to rattle a Connacht title in the early to mid 2000's but having 7 or 8 lads on a county panel mucked us up totally. We barely won one county senior title, never mind a Connacht. We were too good to the county. Pointing the finger of blame at us is bullshit of the highest order. Even when others turned their backs on the county our lads played. You've a cheek to make that comment. The last 20 odd years have been undoubtedly the most successful in our clubs history despite the emergence of St Mary's beside us a few decades beforehand.

If you only knew the work people do in those clubs and what challenges they face every day you might have the cop on to not post such rubbish. You also left out one or two other clubs with massive populations and/or areas that wouldn't have supplied the same number of players to county teams as Harps, John's, Mary's or ourselves. I'd love to know why.

As for Cathal Henry - did you see the hoops Niall Murphy had to jump through over the years to finally establish himself in the side? When it was patently obvious he was going to be brilliant. He carried barrels of sand up and down dunes the evening before a county U-21A final - another example of the shit we've had to suffer as a club over the years. I know the lad you mention is highly rated in some parts but he'll never get a chance while Carew, who you constantly defend, persists with lads who are over the hill, repeatedly tried and failed or have no workrate.

The biggest problem in our county is politics, closely followed by club structures.
Post by: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 06:49:07 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 11, 2017, 03:22:23 PM
Quote from: sligoman on May 10, 2017, 06:54:41 PM

Can you give me some tips and I'll gladly bring them back to the club? Or is this just unfounded pub talk? We were well fit to rattle a Connacht title in the early to mid 2000's but having 7 or 8 lads on a county panel mucked us up totally. We barely won one county senior title, never mind a Connacht. We were too good to the county. Pointing the finger of blame at us is bullshit of the highest order. Even when others turned their backs on the county our lads played. You've a cheek to make that comment. The last 20 odd years have been undoubtedly the most successful in our clubs history despite the emergence of St Mary's beside us a few decades beforehand.

If you only knew the work people do in those clubs and what challenges they face every day you might have the cop on to not post such rubbish. You also left out one or two other clubs with massive populations and/or areas that wouldn't have supplied the same number of players to county teams as Harps, John's, Mary's or ourselves. I'd love to know why.

As for Cathal Henry - did you see the hoops Niall Murphy had to jump through over the years to finally establish himself in the side? When it was patently obvious he was going to be brilliant. He carried barrels of sand up and down dunes the evening before a county U-21A final - another example of the shit we've had to suffer as a club over the years. I know the lad you mention is highly rated in some parts but he'll never get a chance while Carew, who you constantly defend, persists with lads who are over the hill, repeatedly tried and failed or have no workrate.

The biggest problem in our county is politics, closely followed by club structures.

This is my exact point.

A lot of valid criticism can be directed towards Carew your post is just nonsense and you're tyring to pin the blame on him for everything wrong with Sligo football today. You look at the mess he took Sligo over in, what were the best prospects he could have?

We have secured Division 3 football in both seasons at his helm which I think has been a positive.

We appeared in a Connacht final in 2015, the Mayo performance was shameful and he rightly deserves criticism for that.

We should have beaten Roscommon again last year and he rightly deserves criticism for the way we crumbled in the second half.

But apart from that there is not really a lot more he could have done, the resources in Sligo are pretty poor. Club standard in the county is an absolute joke, I stated this earlier which you seem to have completely misunderstood and taken it as some sort of dig at your own side. You seem to be pinning Niall Murphy not getting a game in previous years on Carew? Carew was the first manager that trusted Murphy and he's been a regular since Carew came in, he's one of our key men.

I'm very much on the fence about Carew but your over the top criticism are absolute nonsense. He came into Sligo football when it has been at a low ebb, I don't think many managers would have fared an awful lot better. You can look at the standard of footballer in Sligo at the 25-30 age bracket and it's pretty awful which is why our side is mainly comprised up of 30 + veterans and a bunch of young lads. We don't seem to be able to produced any good footballers with a bit of size to them in the past 10 years.

The biggest problem with Sligo is not politics or anything like that. I can't think of too many players in Sligo who are currently playing that should be on the panel, we have a very promising batch of young lads coming through from the minor team of 2 years ago, many whom played for the u21s this year so it's very important we keep them involved and progress them in the coming years.

The biggest problem with Sligo football is just the appalling level of  club football at the minute. We don't have too many clubs in Sligo but a lot of them are pretty big clubs with good cachement areas. If you contrast us with a county like Monaghan, who have a similar population to us. Monaghan have 50 odd GAA clubs, I think there are 26 in Sligo. You've got clubs like Johns, Marys, Harps and Coolera/Strandhill, clubs with big picks and you look at how they've performed in recent years - dreadful. Johns and Harps have one county man each, both in their mid 30s. There is no reason why Sligo club champions shouldn't be able to come out of Connacht and be competitive but it looks to be embarrassment after embarrassment for the last 10 years for Sligo clubs at all levels and this points back to poor standard of player in the county at the minute.

There's so much waste in the county regarding talent. Ballymote down in Junior, Ballysadare not fielding a side, Owenmore Gaels for the past 20 years being stuck in the lower reaches. No West Sligo side in the senior championship. It's a sad state of affairs and it really needs to be addressed. For what its worth I think we have far too many amalgamations of clubs in this county, lads too greedy for short terms success and to take their barren years and rebuild.

For me there is absolutely no reason that Harps, Shamrock Gaels, Molaise Gaels, Coolera Strandhill all shouldn't be able to have multiple clubs in their area able to stand on their own. How do they manage it in counties like Monaghan? The logic in Sligo seems to be that if you're not good enough to play senior then you need to join up with your neighbouring county.

That's the biggest malaise of Sligo football, not Niall Carew as you try to keep informing us.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 12, 2017, 09:26:23 AM
Get your facts straight before you start putting such bullshit on a message board. The area known as "Coolera" was always the entire peninsula and was always served by one club bar a period in the 70's when a second club was established in the village. The name change/extension was part of the reunification. It is not an amalgamation. In fact, St Mary's pitch is located in the historical area known as "Coolera" and they draw very few players from closer to O'Connell Street than that historical boundary. So there are two clubs in our area.

I never said Carew was to blame for everything. He has put no shape on the team and he should be doing better with the players he has and you're in a small minority if you think otherwise. His treatment of certain players leaves a lot to be desired too.

If you think politics is not a problem in Sligo you must be living on the moon. Politics and closed minds. Rubbish arguments about club sizes like you're putting up. What % of people in Monaghan actually hate GAA? Very low I'd say. It's extremely high in Sligo town, the major population centre of the county. Do Monaghan Town sign all the best young players up on "contracts" forbidding them from playing other sports? I'd have my doubts but that's the reality clubs in and around Sligo town are facing. There should be more GAA clubs in the town but huge areas are simply no go areas for GAA and when you have a club like City Gaels set up, with lads playing GAA who wouldn't normally do so, politics comes into it and they're shut down. Just in case they'd get a few players down the line that otherwise would play elsewhere.

Everyone knows we have big problems and that's precisely why bringing in and presumably paying an (at best mediocre) outside manager is such a waste of time. Spend the money on coaching, development squads etc. and let someone who knows the scene have a go. They'd probably do fine you know.
Post by: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 10:07:06 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 12, 2017, 09:26:23 AM
Get your facts straight before you start putting such bullshit on a message board. The area known as "Coolera" was always the entire peninsula and was always served by one club bar a period in the 70's when a second club was established in the village. The name change/extension was part of the reunification. It is not an amalgamation. In fact, St Mary's pitch is located in the historical area known as "Coolera" and they draw very few players from closer to O'Connell Street than that historical boundary. So there are two clubs in our area.

I never said Carew was to blame for everything. He has put no shape on the team and he should be doing better with the players he has and you're in a small minority if you think otherwise. His treatment of certain players leaves a lot to be desired too.

If you think politics is not a problem in Sligo you must be living on the moon. Politics and closed minds. Rubbish arguments about club sizes like you're putting up. What % of people in Monaghan actually hate GAA? Very low I'd say. It's extremely high in Sligo town, the major population centre of the county. Do Monaghan Town sign all the best young players up on "contracts" forbidding them from playing other sports? I'd have my doubts but that's the reality clubs in and around Sligo town are facing. There should be more GAA clubs in the town but huge areas are simply no go areas for GAA and when you have a club like City Gaels set up, with lads playing GAA who wouldn't normally do so, politics comes into it and they're shut down. Just in case they'd get a few players down the line that otherwise would play elsewhere.

Everyone knows we have big problems and that's precisely why bringing in and presumably paying an (at best mediocre) outside manager is such a waste of time. Spend the money on coaching, development squads etc. and let someone who knows the scene have a go. They'd probably do fine you know.

Pure baloney about the clubs there. It's nothing to do with hating the GAA. Johns and Marys have huge picks and while there is a big draw with soccer in the town, they usually have very good underage teams before they disband and a lot of them are lost for various reasons after underage. This is a big problem here. The club scene is the biggest problem in Sligo football at the minute, it's a pathetic standard, we have few clubs as they take the easy route out and join forces rather than put the effort in at grassroots level. Even with other sports, there is enough of a pick for those clubs to compete on a national level if they get their house in order. Marys really seem to have got their act together in recent years but Johns look to be a complete mess, a club of their size down in intermediate is a joke. They seem to have fallen completely by the wayside in recent years.

If you read back through my post you'll realise I never mentioned anything about Coolera/Strandhill being an amalgamated club so you should get your facts right. I did say that Coolera Strandhill are one of a number of GAA clubs in Sligo that have a big enough cachement area to be able to have two clubs within that area stand by itself. I think given the size of these clubs and the playing numbers available to them they do a shocking job, the club championship is an embarrassing, I'd say it's easily one of the worst if not the worst in the whole of Ireland.

If Monaghan can sustain 50 clubs then there is no reason Sligo can't.

Drumcliffe
Rosses Point
Cliffoney
Grange
Keash
Gurteen
Strandhill
Ransboro
Riverstown
Sooey

That's an example of 10 clubs who could replace an existing 5 there and I'm sure there are other examples as well.

The town is a side issue, we could be doing better from there for sure and Johns collapse is very worrying but it's a widespread issue at the minute - basically the only decent showings in Sligo football at the minute is South Sligo and in and around the town. Look at the senior Championship this year, no clubs from West Sligo, 1 club from East Sligo in Harps who are on life support as regarding senior status when the likes of Donovan, McGovern and Tony Taylor call it quits.

If a club like Bunnanadden can win a senior championship and remain competitive at senior level for a long period of time then there's no reasons why any of those clubs on their shouldn't be able to do that on their own.

The outlook for clubs in Sligo is that when things aren't going great for a few years then they look at joining with a struggling neighbour as a quick fix. It's detrimental to the game in Sligo.

Post by: Mano on May 12, 2017, 12:53:10 PM
Quote from: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 10:07:06 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 12, 2017, 09:26:23 AM

Pure baloney about the clubs there. It's nothing to do with hating the GAA. Johns and Marys have huge picks and while there is a big draw with soccer in the town, they usually have very good underage teams before they disband and a lot of them are lost for various reasons after underage. This is a big problem here. The club scene is the biggest problem in Sligo football at the minute, it's a pathetic standard, we have few clubs as they take the easy route out and join forces rather than put the effort in at grassroots level. Even with other sports, there is enough of a pick for those clubs to compete on a national level if they get their house in order. Marys really seem to have got their act together in recent years but Johns look to be a complete mess, a club of their size down in intermediate is a joke. They seem to have fallen completely by the wayside in recent years.

If you read back through my post you'll realise I never mentioned anything about Coolera/Strandhill being an amalgamated club so you should get your facts right. I did say that Coolera Strandhill are one of a number of GAA clubs in Sligo that have a big enough cachement area to be able to have two clubs within that area stand by itself. I think given the size of these clubs and the playing numbers available to them they do a shocking job, the club championship is an embarrassing, I'd say it's easily one of the worst if not the worst in the whole of Ireland.

If Monaghan can sustain 50 clubs then there is no reason Sligo can't.

Drumcliffe
Rosses Point
Cliffoney
Grange
Keash
Gurteen
Strandhill
Ransboro
Riverstown
Sooey

That's an example of 10 clubs who could replace an existing 5 there and I'm sure there are other examples as well.

The town is a side issue, we could be doing better from there for sure and Johns collapse is very worrying but it's a widespread issue at the minute - basically the only decent showings in Sligo football at the minute is South Sligo and in and around the town. Look at the senior Championship this year, no clubs from West Sligo, 1 club from East Sligo in Harps who are on life support as regarding senior status when the likes of Donovan, McGovern and Tony Taylor call it quits.

If a club like Bunnanadden can win a senior championship and remain competitive at senior level for a long period of time then there's no reasons why any of those clubs on their shouldn't be able to do that on their own.

The outlook for clubs in Sligo is that when things aren't going great for a few years then they look at joining with a struggling neighbour as a quick fix. It's detrimental to the game in Sligo.

Sligoman is absolutely spot on with regard to club football at the moment in the county. There are very few clubs going in the right direction. Johns were once the standard bearers at underage level are not struggling at both underage and senior. Mary's seem to have got their house in order lately but then couldn't field at team in the league last week. Ballymote conceded a walkover in the relegation play-off last year as the players decided to play a soccer game instead. Coolera whether you like it or not Seanie have fallen down the pecking order also due to retirement of a lot of the better players of late and players not of required standard to replace them. Tourlestrane second team beat the Enniscrone lately. Its a shambles. 4/5 competitive teams (4 from South of the county and St Marys) in the county.

Tourlestrane meanwhile with a small population relative to Marys, Johns, Harps, Shamrock Gaels, Coolera, Ballymote have 6 players on the county panel (7 if you include Brendan Egan) are top of the league and are still hammering teams on a weekly basis in the league. Albeit rural clubs don't have competition from soccer, rugby and other sports than the urban clubs have. Coolaney/Mullinabreena, Drumcliff are probably the only other teams that have improved in recent years.

Disagree with Sligoman on Carew. He has done well to keep Sligo in divison 3 but he got very lucky this year in the Armagh game. Only for that point we could have been down. Tactically he is clueless highlighted by the heavy scores conceded against Mayo in final in 15, Roscommon second half last year. He doesn't seem to change his game plan depending upon the opposition.
Post by: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 02:36:07 PM
Quote from: Mano on May 12, 2017, 12:53:10 PM
Disagree with Sligoman on Carew. He has done well to keep Sligo in divison 3 but he got very lucky this year in the Armagh game. Only for that point we could have been down. Tactically he is clueless highlighted by the heavy scores conceded against Mayo in final in 15, Roscommon second half last year. He doesn't seem to change his game plan depending upon the opposition.

Listen, they are certainly very valid criticisms of Carew and I agree with you on those.

What I don't like is what seems to be the constant sniping that Carew is somehow the root of all the wrongs in Sligo GAA. There are far bigger issues at play here and while tactical criticism of him is very valid, I think he has worked very well with overturning of nearly a full squad.

The Breheny/Walsh era had pretty much a nucleus of players at the heart of it who were around the same age - Johnny Davey, Mark Breheny, Alan Costello, Tony Taylor, Ross Donovan, Paul McGovern, Adrian Marren, Michael McNamara, Brendan Egan, Johnny Martyn, Brian Curran, Kenneth Sweeney, Philip Greene, Charlie Harrison and possibly a few others around that.

The best way to assess Carew is the shape he leaves the county team in for his successor and I think he has handled the introduction of new blood into the squad very well. Some of the collapses in games and our inability to turn the tide when it goes against us is very worrying but there were always going to be big problems with this team for whoever took the job. Right now I'm hoping we can avoid a trimming against Mayo and have a decent run in the qualifiers.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 13, 2017, 10:15:07 AM
Quote from: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 02:36:07 PM
Quote from: Mano on May 12, 2017, 12:53:10 PM

Listen, they are certainly very valid criticisms of Carew and I agree with you on those.

What I don't like is what seems to be the constant sniping that Carew is somehow the root of all the wrongs in Sligo GAA. There are far bigger issues at play here and while tactical criticism of him is very valid, I think he has worked very well with overturning of nearly a full squad.

The Breheny/Walsh era had pretty much a nucleus of players at the heart of it who were around the same age - Johnny Davey, Mark Breheny, Alan Costello, Tony Taylor, Ross Donovan, Paul McGovern, Adrian Marren, Michael McNamara, Brendan Egan, Johnny Martyn, Brian Curran, Kenneth Sweeney, Philip Greene, Charlie Harrison and possibly a few others around that.

The best way to assess Carew is the shape he leaves the county team in for his successor and I think he has handled the introduction of new blood into the squad very well. Some of the collapses in games and our inability to turn the tide when it goes against us is very worrying but there were always going to be big problems with this team for whoever took the job. Right now I'm hoping we can avoid a trimming against Mayo and have a decent run in the qualifiers.

I'm afraid that's all in your head so because I've never heard anyone say that. On this board we tend to discuss the county senior football team and in my view he's no addition to it at all. We don't tend to discuss the other aspects of Sligo GAA. I've agreed completely that club structures are a huge problem but politics and the feeling of helplessness a lot of clubs have is worse. There's a general feeling of apathy about in many clubs and while I think the club structures contribute to that the levels of mistrust that exist between clubs and the county board need addressing. Also - when you have county board meetings dominated by permits for 40 year old hurlers from clare who have never lived in the county it doesn't help matters.

I used to believe that county boards would assist and guide struggling clubs but that does not seem to be a function they think they need to fulfil. For the first time in my memory I've seen some real assistance through the coaching and games manager and it's very encouraging. It's not all bad. Regards my club, we had a difficult year last year where survival in the SFC was achieved in such difficult circumstances it was almost miraculous. I think we will be decent this year but our underage has been less than satisfactory for a long time. It's improved but has a good way to go. We will get back to challenging for "A" titles and soon hopefully. But to go back to the politics/structures thing - you have a club win a provincial "B" championship and then next year they're graded "B" again? How does that happen?
Post by: Duine Eile on May 14, 2017, 09:43:33 PM
Mike Meehan got injured playing for Caltra today so looks like that will keep him out of the Mayo/Sligo game. Mike Farragher played very deep for Corofin today and had a blinder, looking likely he'll be no 6 for the semi final with Bradshaw injured.
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2017, 10:11:35 PM
Ultan Harney has a fractured vertebrae in his back and will be out for about two months. Apparently he's had it for at least a year or two but was only picked up in tests this week. I really am speechless as to what the holy fúck team doctors and physios are at in this sport.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 14, 2017, 10:21:21 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on May 14, 2017, 09:43:33 PM
Mike Meehan got injured playing for Caltra today so looks like that will keep him out of the Mayo/Sligo game. Mike Farragher played very deep for Corofin today and had a blinder, looking likely he'll be no 6 for the semi final with Bradshaw injured.

You have to feel for the lad!  :(
Post by: Duine Eile on May 14, 2017, 11:19:40 PM
He has absolutely rotten luck. No idea what the injury is or anything but apparently it looked serious enough whatever happened.
Post by: Mano on May 16, 2017, 10:52:46 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 13, 2017, 10:15:07 AM
I used to believe that county boards would assist and guide struggling clubs but that does not seem to be a function they think they need to fulfil. For the first time in my memory I've seen some real assistance through the coaching and games manager and it's very encouraging. It's not all bad. Regards my club, we had a difficult year last year where survival in the SFC was achieved in such difficult circumstances it was almost miraculous. I think we will be decent this year but our underage has been less than satisfactory for a long time. It's improved but has a good way to go. We will get back to challenging for "A" titles and soon hopefully. But to go back to the politics/structures thing - you have a club win a provincial "B" championship and then next year they're graded "B" again? How does that happen?

Don't understand what you are getting at here. Its likely that they were in the wrong grade last year as they won a provincial 'B' championship. Does winning a provincial championship automatically mean that they should be in 'A' grade the following year - don't think that's how it works Seanie. The quality of an underage team can vary from year to year especially in clubs of smaller population. Many of the last years players including the best young player in Sligo are overage for minor this year.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 16, 2017, 12:54:08 PM
Quote from: Mano on May 16, 2017, 10:52:46 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 13, 2017, 10:15:07 AM

Don't understand what you are getting at here. Its likely that they were in the wrong grade last year as they won a provincial 'B' championship. Does winning a provincial championship automatically mean that they should be in 'A' grade the following year - don't think that's how it works Seanie. The quality of an underage team can vary from year to year especially in clubs of smaller population. Many of the last years players including the best young player in Sligo are overage for minor this year.

Their results and reports I've heard suggest they're obviously in the wrong grade this year. Our minors are not bad - we were in B championship finals at minor and U-16 last year - and they gave us a serious whaling in the league.

Probably not the best example of what I'm trying to highlight though in fairness.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 17, 2017, 03:39:14 PM
The 2017 Galway Senior Football Championship Panel has been announced

- Ruairí Lavelle (Renvyle)
- Maghnus Breathnach (An Spidéal)
- Bernard Power (Corofin)
- Gareth Bradshaw (Maigh Cuilinn)
- Luke Burke (Caltra)
- Michael Farragher (Corofin)
- Johnny Heaney (Killannin)
- Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)
- Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
- Gary O'Donnell (Tuam Stars)
- Liam Silke (Corofin)
- Cathal Sweeney (Killannin)
- David Wynne (Maigh Cuilinn)
- David Walsh (Killannin)
- Paul Conroy (St. James')
- Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
- Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Mícheál Breathnach)
- Ronan Steede (Corofin)
- Enda Tierney (Oughterard)
- Seán Armstrong (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
- Eamonn Brannigan (St. Michael's)
- Ian Burke (Corofin)
- Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
- Danny Cummins (Claregalway)
- Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
- Micheál Lundy (Corofin)
- Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey)
- Barry McHugh (Mountbellew/Moylough)
- Michael Meehan (Caltra)
- Gary Sice (Corofin)
- Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 17, 2017, 05:00:15 PM
This summers Connacht championship will be without one of its best forwards and footballers.

Emlyn Mulligan‏ @emlynmulligan

QuoteOnce was bad, never mind twice, but 3 times.... Someone is punishing me from up above. More cruciate's torn than trophies won in my career

Post by: Syferus on May 17, 2017, 05:48:53 PM
Horrible. Such a fantastic footballer too, one so few have even ever go to see outside Connacht.

He's never even kicked a ball in anger at Croke Park in his career.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 17, 2017, 06:50:17 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 17, 2017, 03:39:14 PM

No surprises there given the FBD and league squads this year, only two from the U21 panel but the other likely candidates in Peter Cooke and Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh are off to the States for the Summer. Good to see McDaid in there given the rumours of Aussie Rules interest, how true that is I don't know though.
Post by: galwayman on May 17, 2017, 07:22:03 PM
Thought Kieran Molloy might make the cut as well.
Possibly a bit lightweight yet maybe.
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2017, 09:27:32 PM
Congrats to the Laythrum Juniors who won the Connacht Final tonight beating Rhubarbia in their own backyard.
Post by: Duine Eile on May 17, 2017, 09:55:01 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 17, 2017, 07:22:03 PM
Thought Kieran Molloy might make the cut as well.
Possibly a bit lightweight yet maybe.

Off to the states as well I believe.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 17, 2017, 10:02:14 PM

- Luke Burke (Caltra)
- Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
- Liam Silke (Corofin)
- Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
- Ronan Steede (Corofin)
- Ian Burke (Corofin)
- Gary Sice (Corofin)
11 lads from clubs west of the Corrib.
that's mad
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 17, 2017, 11:29:34 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 17, 2017, 10:02:14 PM

- Luke Burke (Caltra)
- Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
- Liam Silke (Corofin)
- Thomas Flynn (Athenry)
- Ronan Steede (Corofin)
- Ian Burke (Corofin)
- Gary Sice (Corofin)
11 lads from clubs west of the Corrib.
that's mad

Would have been 2 more only for Cooke and Sean Andy taking off for the US.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 18, 2017, 10:23:46 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 17, 2017, 06:50:17 PM

No surprises there given the FBD and league squads this year, only two from the U21 panel but the other likely candidates in Peter Cooke and Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh are off to the States for the Summer. Good to see McDaid in there given the rumours of Aussie Rules interest, how true that is I don't know though.

From what I've read McDaid has had two trials in the last year, I don't watch AFL but I'd thought he's a bit lacking with his physical stature but someone might put me right on that.

Post by: mouview on May 18, 2017, 02:49:06 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 18, 2017, 10:23:46 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 17, 2017, 06:50:17 PM

From what I've read McDaid has had two trials in the last year, I don't watch AFL but I'd thought he's a bit lacking with his physical stature but someone might put me right on that.

No, he's a good big strong lad, and still physically developing. Very find of football despite winning a Minor in hurling. Missed Monivea's match at the weekend due to a finger injury, so that might curtail him for a few weeks yet.

No Eddie Hoare on panel I notice also.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 25, 2017, 09:38:32 PM
London v Leitrim on Sunday at 3pm in the redeveloped Ruislip.

The teams.

London: Gavin McEvoy; Philip Butler, Colin Dunne, Conor O'Neill; Marc Jordan, Ryan Jones, Ciaran Dunne; Cathal Óg Greene, Liam Gavaghan; Eoin Murray, Mark Gottsche, Jarlath Branagan; Rory Mason, Conor Doran, Killian Butler

Leitrim: Brendan Flynn; Michael McWeeney, Ronan Gallagher, Paddy Maguire; James Rooney, Donal Wrynn, Oisín Madden; Shane Moran, Damien Moran; Jack Heslin, Brendan Gallagher, Ryan O'Rourke; Keith Beirne, Conor Gaffney, Darragh Rooney

Last five championship meetings.

30/06/2013    London 2-11    1-13 Leitrim Dr Hyde Park
23/06/2013    London    2-7  0-13 Leitrim    Sean mac Diarmada park
03/06/2012    London    1-8  0-12 Leitrim    Ruislip
27/05/2007    London    2-5   1-12  Leitrim  Ruislip
26/05/2002    London    0-10  0-15  Leitrim Ruislip

Odds London (13/8) Draw (8/1)  Leitrim (4/5)

Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2017, 10:19:17 PM
With no Emlyn Mulligan could we have another London win?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 26, 2017, 05:15:58 PM
Keith Beirne,Jack Heslin,Conor Gaffney, Darragh Rooney have been good scoring forwards for Leitrim at underage level it will be interesting to see how those young players now fare at senior championship level.

Extra time or straight to replay if this game ends in draw? Mayo v London 2011 went to extra time but Leitrim v London game in Carrick 2013 didn't have extra time.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2017, 05:29:29 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 26, 2017, 05:15:58 PM
Keith Beirne,Jack Heslin,Conor Gaffney, Darragh Rooney have been good scoring forwards for Leitrim at underage level it will be interesting to see how those young players now fare at senior championship level.

Extra time or straight to replay if this game ends in draw? Mayo v London 2011 went to extra time but Leitrim v London game in Carrick 2013 didn't have extra time.

Probably ET seen as it's in Ruislip.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 26, 2017, 07:09:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 26, 2017, 05:15:58 PM

That game in Carrick was a SF so maybe that's why there was no ET?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 03:39:58 PM
Eoin Mulligan started for London eventhough their manager said he would play no part. Leitrim 0-1 London 0-1 10 mins gone.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2017, 03:51:49 PM
20 mins gone London 0-3 Leitrim 1-4 D Rooney just after scoring a goal.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2017, 04:09:39 PM
All to play for at the half time break. Leitrim 1-6 London 0-7.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 04:28:06 PM
John Prenty has said at HT that if this game ends in a draw there will be no extra time. A replay in Carrick on Shannon next weekend instead. Its like the Connacht GAA are making these things up as they go along?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 04:36:04 PM
latest Leitrim 1-6 London 0-10
Post by: Syferus on May 28, 2017, 04:36:27 PM
The two Leitrim-London games the last time were fantastic entertainment, obviously not great quaility but two teams really going at it and both with a belief they could win. Wouldn't mind a replay in Carrick to venture up to.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 04:42:44 PM
Second goal for Leitrim.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 04:45:33 PM
3rd goal for Leitrim. They lead by 4 points
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2017, 04:57:36 PM
London 0-15 Leitrim 3-8 just 3 mins to go.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2017, 05:06:27 PM
FT London 0-16 Leitrim 3-10. Those two Leitrim goals in as many mins the difference
Post by: mouview on May 28, 2017, 08:45:06 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 04:28:06 PM
John Prenty has said at HT that if this game ends in a draw there will be no extra time. A replay in Carrick on Shannon next weekend instead. Its like the Connacht GAA are making these things up as they go along?

Sounds like par for the course for Prenty. Living in a world of his own he is
Post by: magpie seanie on May 30, 2017, 11:06:30 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 28, 2017, 08:45:06 PM

Absolutely. The unquestioned dictator of Connacht. It's incredible.
Post by: Rossfan on May 31, 2017, 12:04:45 AM
I take it the rule about replays in Finals only doesn't come in till 2018?
It was always a case of extra time in the NY and London games.
Post by: PW Nally on May 31, 2017, 12:23:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2017, 11:06:30 PM

He gets an awful hard time of it here, done a lot more for GAA than most here. If not for him there's no Connacht centre of excellence in Bekan.
Post by: Rossfan on May 31, 2017, 04:18:53 PM
No, but the 5 Counties would have got their slice of the Croke Park Soccer and rubby rent and would have provided their own.
Post by: Syferus on May 31, 2017, 04:30:05 PM
You could say he brought home the Bekan.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 31, 2017, 04:33:17 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on May 31, 2017, 12:23:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2017, 11:06:30 PM

He gets an awful hard time of it here, done a lot more for GAA than most here. If not for him there's no Connacht centre of excellence in Bekan.

Did Galway,Leitrim,Sligo or Roscommon ever wanted a Connacht centre of excellence and would that centre now be considered value for money?
Post by: Rossfan on June 12, 2017, 11:17:00 AM
Now that Galway have won the Connacht Championship the Division 2 Final is on next Sunday in the Hyde.
I presume no one is giving Laythrum a hope in Hell and expect us to win pulling up.
I wonder would our bean counter be happier to see Laythrum win so we could get some badly needed €€€€€s from a Connacht Final in the Hyde?
We should win by 8 or 9 but why am I feeling wary?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 12, 2017, 02:20:57 PM
The Roscommon 26 for Sunday. Injury ruling Ultan Harney,Cathal Compton,Fergal Lennon,Tom Corcoran,Kevin Higgins,Ciaran Cafferky out of action

1 Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)
2 David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
3 John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
4 Niall McInerney (St Brigids)
5 Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
6 Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
7 Conor Devaney (Kilbride)
8 Tadgh O'Rourke (Tulsk Lord Edwards)
9 Enda Smith (Boyle)
10 Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11 Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
12 Brian Stack (St Brigid's)
13 Ciaráin Murtagh (Captain) (St Faithleach's)
14 Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach's)
15 Donie Smith (Boyle)

Subs

16 Darren O'Malley (Michael Glavey's)
17 Brian Murtagh (St Faithleach's)
18 Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
19 Colin Compton (Strokestown)
20 David Rooney (St Faithleach's)
21 Gary Patterson (Michael Glavey's)
22 Henry Walsh (Kilbride)
23 Ian Kilbride (St Brigid's)
24 Ronan Stack (St Brigid's)
25 Shane Killoran (Elphin)
26 Thomas Featherston (Oran)
Post by: weareros on June 12, 2017, 02:52:53 PM
Based on what we have at our disposal, think that is as good as we could put out and a good balance to the team. Think we'll win comfortably enough and hope we come through it without any injuries - because between retirements, injuries, absentees, we don't have a lot of depth.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 12:04:52 PM
Absentees aged 30 or under
Carty, Collins, Keenan, Higgins, Shine X2, Daly x3, Cregg........
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2017, 12:31:10 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 12:04:52 PM

Most of the county are long past these wistful nonsense posts about who isn't there, but it's not surprising you're not.

Lord help us if we win a few games because you might end up suicidal.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 14, 2017, 01:00:40 PM
Out of interest how many of that Roscommon starting 15 have at least 3 years of senior championship experience under their belts?
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 01:07:08 PM
No more than 6 if even that I'd say.
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 14, 2017, 12:31:10 PM

Most of thew county are long past these wistful nonsense posts about who isn't there, but it's not surprising you're not.

Lord help us if we win a few games because you might end up suicidal.
Stop interfering in adult discussions .
I'm adding to weareros's point about lack of strength in depth exacerbated by  so many absentees.
5 or 6 of those are down to your cool clean superhero.
I'll be supporting my team as usual but would feel we'd have a better chance of winning a few games if we had a stronger panel.
We've only one competitive win against a County team and 8 defeats so apart from batin our smelly neighbours on Sunday I haven't much hope beyond that.
Post by: oliverkelly on June 14, 2017, 03:31:47 PM

Ah here how can you count Carty in that list the fella had to retire from county due to injury, He couldnt train and has since done his achilles tendon with the club. Unfortuanaly he will struggle to play football again at any level.

Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 03:42:14 PM
Sorry to hear that Oliver.
I suppose retiree might be more accurate but he's still absent anyway.
Of course there's Harney, Cathal Compton, Corcoran and Cafferkey too.
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2017, 03:53:36 PM
Without injuries we'd had depth on the bench in most positions this year. People are comparing this year's panel to last but last year's panel was massive, and indeed its size was identified as one of the problems that had to be addressed this year. There's no talk of ructions this year.
Post by: oliverkelly on June 14, 2017, 04:11:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2017, 03:42:14 PM
Sorry to hear that Oliver.
I suppose retiree might be more accurate but he's still absent anyway.
Of course there's Harney, Cathal Compton, Corcoran and Cafferkey too.

Doubt any of them will be back for Final if we do get over Leitrim

Corcoran is in the US. He left panel after breaking his collar bone which would have ruled him out of any county action for the year anyway.
Compton

Harney fracture on his back does not seem to be healing with current rehab and is due for another scan soon. He might not kick a ball for the rest of the year but hopefully the scan will shed more light.

Compton needs a break from football although he technically could be fit if we reach final he has had a number of hamstring tares in last few months and really need to mind himself for the future hes only 21/22
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2017, 12:05:07 AM
Thank fúck the championship is finally starting.
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2017, 03:01:35 PM
Did the Leitrim players buy a job lot of bright orange boots or something?
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2017, 04:30:18 PM
Ros 2-09 Leitrim 1-02 HT

Dev with both goals. Match is over as a contest.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2017, 05:23:07 PM
So it's El claisicín for the final. Ros v Gaillimh.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2017, 12:38:03 AM
Hope ye'll go airy on us Seaf.
Awful handy oul win today but the Laythrums were bloody awful.
We have a lot to do to be able to give Galway a game.
What was Prenty at - official attendance 8,844.
There was 11k at least there.
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2017, 12:39:25 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 19, 2017, 12:38:03 AM
Hope ye'll go airy on us Seaf.
Awful handy oul win today but the Laythrums were bloody awful.
We have a lot to do to be able to give Galway a game.
What was Prenty at - official attendance 8,844.
There was 11k at least there.

What the tax man doesn't know won't hurt him.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2017, 05:34:00 PM
Did Enda Smith play at midfield?
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:35:21 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2017, 05:34:00 PM

Ya. He's played midfield more than wing-forward the last two years.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2017, 05:52:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:35:21 PM

Cheers, were any kickouts coming in his direction?
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:57:44 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 20, 2017, 05:52:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:35:21 PM

Cheers, were any kickouts coming in his direction?

Usually the aimless kind from Leitrim as they'd dropped two sweepers back and we could spray the ball short with impunity on our kick-outs. He drifted in and won a few high balls against the Leitrim backs.

Enda is more the attack-minded fielder while TOR is the workhorse midfielder doing the dirty work around the middle. TOR has been making a quietly impressive debut season at a position of a lot of need for us.