A victory for football and fair play - Well done Dublin

Started by Minder, August 06, 2011, 08:37:38 PM

Fair play? You're stretching that a bit the Dubs systematic fouling was hardly a mark of fair play.

Good victory no doubt and they will be hard stopped!!

Another Ref would have bat least 3 of them on the line for deliberate fouling ...so leave out the fair play bit.

Quote from: screenexile on August 06, 2011, 08:42:00 PM
Fair play? You're stretching that a bit the Dubs systematic fouling was hardly a mark of fair play.

Just copying the Tyrone tactics regarding fouling to slow things down

still bitter about 03, 05, 09 & 11?
We were well beat but I hope I am not crying about it in 8 years time.

ardal

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 06, 2011, 08:46:01 PM

Just copying the Tyrone tactics regarding fouling to slow things down

Read the title again.

Fair play is doing what is just, no need to take into account any other element (other team etc)

Minder why don't you like your neighbours from Tyrone?

Well done Dublin.  Should be interesting against Donegal.

When was the last time the 4 provincial winners were in the AI semis?

WeePeteIsALegend

LMAO

If you think Tyrone are cynical, wait til Jim McGuiness's men get a houl of them

Donegal will out-work, out-battle and out-negative Dublin in a few weeks:

Donegal 0-02 vs 0-01 Dublin
''Im very glad you won dat fight Matt, but Im a not imprezzed by your performance''

Quote from: Denn Forever on August 06, 2011, 08:49:07 PM
Well done Dublin.  Should be interesting against Donegal.

When was the last time the 4 provincial winners were in the AI semis?

2000.  Before the qualifiers.

I agree that Dublin got involved in some real negative defensive shite ...but they played some sublime football to make at least 4 goal chances...could have won by 15 points..bye bye Tyrone.

I'll give you one of the lads Fyffes bananas to shove up your a***.

borderfox

Dubs could of won by 12+. An outstanding performance. Thats the end of the road for that Tyrone team, welcome to transarmaghition :-\
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

Whishtup

The cynical fouling has to be clamped down on by the GAA.  Teams like Dublin know that they will get away with at most a yellow for a two handed drag-back.  At critical points of a game it should be a red card, full stop-that would end it.  Kildare adopted these tactics in extra time against Donegal which was understandable at that stage of a game but also disappointing.  The Dubs adopted it today with twenty minutes to go in a tactical move, knowing that if anyone will get away with it, they will.  Has Leinster being Heineken cup champions got anything to do with this skill?! ;)
  Indisciplined tackling cost them dearly last year and could prove to be their downfall again in a year where they have a great chance to lift Sam.  People saying the ref gave Tyrone a lot today are right but he could have given a lot more considering the high tackles and drag-backs.  No need to do it when they clearly had the beating of them.  Beware the fussy ref and good luck...