€60k a year for a school team

Started by westmayo, June 05, 2008, 04:43:35 PM

westmayo

I don't know if this was raised here already, but I was reading Ray Silke's column in the Galway Advertiser today where he brings up an interview in last Saturday's Irish Times where the manager of De La Salle Waterford team said it cost €60k to run the schools senior hurling team this year. Where did a school get €60k for a sports team, while I'm all in favour of proper preperation for school teams, But €60K for 30 students what could the school do with that money for other things.

They don't have the sports section up so I can't link or paste it, but you can read it in their digital edition on the website

They won the AI schools hurling final after a replay. A number of players were taken down to the cryotherapy chambers in Wexford for treatment betwen the drawn and replayed games. The whole squad was brought over to Sunderland aswell I believe as a bonding/training weekend.

Quotecryotherapy chambers

Jaysus in the good old days, you were just lucky to be on a team so you could duck out of classes for a few hours when a game was on. They are taking this too seriously nowadays.

60k for a school is just madness.

Thats nothing, you Kerry guys had it soft.
We had to attend ALL our classes and then play football after school.

A guy called Derek McGrath he is a teacher in the school I believe, if he is the same fella I'm thinking about he is about 33 and hurled with the Del la Salle club in Waterford city. They are a very big school but I don't know how they raised or spent such a sum of money on a school team. In saying that McGrath pointed ouy that many rugby playing schools go to France etc. for training prior to the start of the school year and tour such far off places as Japan.

Quote from: Zulu on June 05, 2008, 07:29:54 PM
A guy called Derek McGrath he is a teacher in the school I believe, if he is the same fella I'm thinking about he is about 33 and hurled with the Del la Salle club in Waterford city. They are a very big school but I don't know how they raised or spent such a sum of money on a school team. In saying that McGrath pointed ouy that many rugby playing schools go to France etc. for training prior to the start of the school year and tour such far off places as Japan.

Rugby is on a very different scale to hurling. We would need to know much more about how much the rugby team spends and where the money comes from before we could begin compare.

I assume that 60000 is from voluntary contributions ? If not then then it is madness that a school can spend that much money on a sports team.

Quote from: Zulu on June 05, 2008, 06:02:57 PM
The whole squad was brought over to Sunderland aswell I believe as a bonding/training weekend.

There should be no need for a bonding weekend for a school team, sure you see each other every feckin day for years.  Wild money it must be nearly all from a few local entrepreneurs.

the colonel

i heard a rumour from someone that has nephews at the school who said that the Christian Brothers authorised this out of the schools budget and they have went into serious debt at the christian brothers are going to have to take the flak for it.
the difference between success and failure is energy

Absolute madness, it beggars belief

Interesting. We had a lad on here on a different thread bemoaning the lack of effort - as he saw it anyway - in schools in a particular county. You cant have a school team without support of school management but this seems ott. I know a school where challenge games are not allowed by school management [waste of money on transport], any training is done outside school hours, one set of jerseys for all teams and this school competes at A level at all grades down to the  efforts of a few that cherish the game of football. So fair play to school management of De La Salle waterford. I would think so anyway for making a push for a special bunch that they knew had potential and did win the All Ireland. Waterford hurling will reap some benefits as well. Problem is in this country that the state invests damn all in sport which is daft because people who play sport are healthier less troublesome individuals.

No-one has a problem investing in Schools, or spending money on Travelling arrangements,Specialist training,Training/Match Gear, or Hotels the night before big games etc etc

i Dont think anyone has a problem with the specialist cryotherapy treatment or anything similar either as it aids recovery.

The Bonding Trip to Sunderland however would have cost a good precentage of that 60K, That is not a necessity for prepara

I guarantee Omagh CBS didnt spend money on expensive Bonding sessions to other countries the year they won the Hogan Cup.

TYP was on this thread,im sure he can confirm that.

The Subbie

what the fcuk do a team of school kids need a bonding trip for anyway??

They must see/train/talk to each other every day if they go to the same school ???

I can understand it from a county/club team but a schools team doing it, well its a bit much imho.