GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Zulu on August 15, 2008, 11:02:31 PM

Title: www.retrogaa.com
Post by: Zulu on August 15, 2008, 11:02:31 PM
Came across this site today and some of the jerseys are class, anyone any info on the quality before I take the plunge?
Title: Re: www.retrogaa.com
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2008, 11:22:52 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 15, 2008, 11:02:31 PM
Came across this site today and some of the jerseys are class, anyone any info on the quality before I take the plunge?

Not bad at all.

TYP can recall the Polo Grounds game.
Post by: Gaffer on August 15, 2008, 11:51:23 PM
Bought the Dublin '76 jersey couple of weeks ago. Paid £35 quid , I think it was, and I am delighted with it. No regrets. If you fancy one of the jerseys , then go for it. Delivery is quick as well with recorded delivery.
Post by: red hander on August 16, 2008, 11:42:51 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 15, 2008, 11:51:23 PM
Bought the Dublin '76 jersey couple of weeks ago. Paid £35 quid , I think it was, and I am delighted with it. No regrets. If you fancy one of the jerseys , then go for it. Delivery is quick as well with recorded delivery.

Jaysus, Gaffer, and you the boy giving the poor Jackeens all that abuse on another thread  :P
Post by: Hardy on August 16, 2008, 12:57:55 PM
He probably did the same as me - bought it to put his doormat into.
Post by: Gaffer on August 16, 2008, 11:06:34 PM
I loved the 70's Dubs jersey and I have no probs having it. Its just that present day Dub doing all the slabbering about his present rubbish team that I am opposing.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 17, 2008, 12:08:44 PM
I got the sligo 75 jersy for myself and my Dad. Am delighted with them, very good material aswell. You can even suggest a jersey aswell if they dont have it. Great service aswell.
Post by: donelli on May 20, 2009, 09:36:03 AM
20% of all jerseys at the moment.
just availed of it
Post by: T O Hare on May 20, 2009, 11:35:16 AM
Jerseys are great quality, the owner has put a lot of effort into research
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2009, 12:04:29 PM
the yella rectangles (though they should be squares) have worn away from the centre of my Meath '88 jersey, though I suppose it makes it look more authentic.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on May 20, 2009, 01:35:05 PM
I got the '77 Armagh jersey from them and am well pleased with it
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 20, 2009, 10:51:56 PM
Bought the brother a 1947 Cavan replica, he loved it. Was excellent quality.
Title: www.retrogaa.com
Post by: 5 Sams on May 21, 2009, 11:50:24 PM
I know these lads personally and in fairness they are producing top class gear...
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2009, 11:59:41 PM
I asked the feckers to do a 1956 Tyrone geansai. All you needed was a big feckin badly-drawn hand on one side.

Post by: saffron sam2 on May 22, 2009, 12:30:57 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2009, 11:59:41 PM
I asked the feckers to do a 1956 Tyrone geansai. All you needed was a big feckin badly-drawn hand on one side.

Not interested in less than 500 units. I wanted to do jerseys for the surviving members of the 1905 Peadar O'Neill Crowley's championship winning team, but the retro boys wanted me to commit to 500. Didn't deal.
Post by: donelli on May 22, 2009, 09:41:57 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 22, 2009, 12:30:57 AM

Not interested in less than 500 units. I wanted to do jerseys for the surviving members of the 1905 Peadar O'Neill Crowley's championship winning team, but the retro boys wanted me to commit to 500. Didn't deal.

:o surviving players of teh 1905 team??  :o
Post by: meathie on May 22, 2009, 10:58:28 AM
yes got 2 last year, still on the go, great jerseys. thought I was gonna be great with my retro jersey for the season until I turned up and saw every second Meath fan had the same!
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 22, 2009, 02:01:00 PM
Quote from: donelli on May 22, 2009, 09:41:57 AM

Yip, there weren't enough for it to viable for retrogaa (to make the jerseys). I can't remember exactly how many survivors there were, but it was certainly less than the necessary 500.
Post by: armagh leg-end on May 23, 2009, 12:13:58 AM
lads anyone with a jersey can they tell me if they are big fitting?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 28, 2009, 09:49:17 PM
Just took delivery of one today ale (Tyrone '86), and the medium is not particularly big fitting - a smaller fit than the GAA jerseys proper. Other than that it seems to be a top-class product.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on May 29, 2009, 09:39:47 AM
I bought one of the Mayo 1950 ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS jersies, well impressed with it. Can be worn as a jersey or a light jumper. GREAT  :)
Post by: donelli on May 29, 2009, 10:18:27 AM
i bought one. well pleased with it.
size wise, the retros are a size up from teh oneills. an oneills medium would be equivilent to a retro large.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 25, 2009, 10:02:34 PM
Latest product.

The retro hoodie.

http://www.retrogaa.com/index.php?cPath=105 (http://www.retrogaa.com/index.php?cPath=105)

Can be personalised (or clubilised if such a word existed) to any club on production of a valid jpeg. No minimum orders required.

Saw one on Saturday. Looks the part and, if previous testimonials are to be believed, will walk the walk.
Post by: trileacman on November 25, 2009, 11:41:17 PM
Wan of Thon Jedward cubs have an 83 Dublin one that they wore during thon show (seriously) Made me like da wee pukes oddly enough, I mean fair play to him for wearing it.
Post by: ONeill on November 26, 2009, 12:02:51 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 25, 2009, 10:10:51 PM
Still waiting for the aul Rossa jersey to come out. Always wanted one of those.

They come in small, medium and Yash.
Post by: dublinnative on November 26, 2009, 09:51:55 AM
When I ordered a jersey off them, I signed up to the Newsletter.

I was sent this out last week NEWSITE discount code gets you 10% off everything
Post by: whitey on November 27, 2009, 12:17:01 AM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on May 29, 2009, 09:39:47 AM
I bought one of the Mayo 1950 ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS jersies, well impressed with it. Can be worn as a jersey or a light jumper. GREAT  :)

Dont mean to turn a positive thread into a negative one, but who the hell authoruzed the co. board to change the Mayo crest a few years ago. the new crest looks like something that won first prize in a national school art contest.  For a county with such  great tradition and passion for the game I was dunbfounded when I heard about it!!! (PS Its Thanksgiving and I have had a few)
Post by: ballinaman on November 27, 2009, 09:56:47 AM
Quote from: whitey on November 27, 2009, 12:17:01 AM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on May 29, 2009, 09:39:47 AM

Dont mean to turn a positive thread into a negative one, but who the hell authoruzed the co. board to change the Mayo crest a few years ago. the new crest looks like something that won first prize in a national school art contest.  For a county with such  great tradition and passion for the game I was dunbfounded when I heard about it!!! (PS Its Thanksgiving and I have had a few)

Lots of county Crests were changed around the same time. Basically the county boards have the sole rights to the new crest design for printing on merchandise, any tom dick or harry could have slapped it on a flag before and made a few quid.....Changed for money reasons basically.
Post by: dublinnative on December 08, 2009, 04:47:44 PM
Heard these guys are running a competition on Today FM on the Breakfast show, think its every morning this week.  Definately worth an entry...€300 worth of Prizes
Post by: Linda on September 27, 2011, 01:25:15 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on May 22, 2009, 02:01:00 PM
Quote from: donelli on May 22, 2009, 09:41:57 AM

Yip, there weren't enough for it to viable for retrogaa (to make the jerseys). I can't remember exactly how many survivors there were, but it was certainly less than the necessary 500.

My grandfather, John Hughes, was a full-back for the Peadar O'Neill Crowley's from 1902 to 1907.  His obituary said that he was "the greatest Antrim full-back in hurling or football of his generation."  Do you know where can I get more information and maybe photos of the team?  Thank you for any help you can give.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2011, 01:59:37 AM
I just did a quick google there and this link got thrown up

http://www.southantrimgaa.com/The%20Early%20Years.html

(http://www.southantrimgaa.com/Images/crowleys.jpg)
Post by: donelli on February 19, 2016, 10:25:22 AM
have retrogaa now ceased to trade?
link not working
Post by: DoireGael on June 07, 2017, 03:58:45 PM
Is there anywhere you can buy retro jerseys these days? The old Derry jerseys hold a lot better memories  :'(
Post by: themac_23 on June 08, 2017, 10:40:56 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 07, 2017, 03:58:45 PM
Is there anywhere you can buy retro jerseys these days? The old Derry jerseys hold a lot better memories  :'(

Think gaastore.com do some retro jerseys, try eBay or think there is a guy on twitter gaa swap or something, if you mailed him what you were looking I'm sure he'd tweet it out for ya
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 08, 2017, 01:01:37 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on June 08, 2017, 10:40:56 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on June 07, 2017, 03:58:45 PM

Think gaastore.com do some retro jerseys, try eBay or think there is a guy on twitter gaa swap or something, if you mailed him what you were looking I'm sure he'd tweet it out for ya

Tony Fearon has them all and well broken in.  Not sure if he will part with them.
Post by: Itchy on June 09, 2017, 06:10:28 PM
Seems to be no Monaghan retro section, I suppose it's their lack of a GAA heritage and tradition.
Post by: armaghniac on June 10, 2017, 03:33:08 PM
Unlike some places, Monaghan's best days are ahead.
Post by: donelli on May 18, 2018, 12:54:47 PM
Know someone who took stock of a lot of these retro jerseys (must be bankrupt stock).
derry (93), antrim (87), tyrone(86), Kilkenny and Kerry (81) seem to make up the majority of them. Though several counties there

Pm if any1 interested in them. hes selling them off at 10e each
Post by: donelli on May 18, 2018, 03:54:26 PM
got a good few messages on the retro jerseys by pm.
i only took 2 photos of some of the jerseys but dont know how to upload a photo here (tyrone and derry).
whatsapp me on 087 1408562 and i can send on the photos.

Definitely no down, meath, armagh, monaghan or mayo jerseys as i was looking for some of them. dublin but only in small or xxl (think they were '83 and '87)
some clare ('77??) there too i think.
he had the ireland australia compromise rules jersey ('84) which was really goood, but only in xxl

will be with him on monday, so can get some then if needed.