FAI...Spring friendlies for Interim Manager - Belgium/Swiss

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

"There was no contact".
"Keane dives and he's a hero".

Stick to Bogball guys, you do not know the game of Soccer. Not even Ronaldo goes down when about to make contact in the box. Clear clip on Keane's left heel, the defender did not make the slightest complaint when penalty was awarded, did not even say  "ah Ref".
In fact, the only complaints, are the usual self loathing Irish folk who occasionally condescend to watch an Irish international game.

Quote from: Hardy on October 09, 2010, 12:48:57 PM
There was no contact any of the times he went down. He's vying with Duff as the most annoying Irish diver. Tiresome shite to watch. I know this stuff is endemic in the value-free world of professional soccer, but it's still annoying seeing overpaid millionaires purporting to represent our country carrying on like this.

Don't watch it then,quite simple really.
You won't be much of a loss either.

Quote from: Main Street on October 09, 2010, 03:13:33 PM
In fact, the only complaints, are the usual self loathing Irish folk who occasionally condescend to watch an Irish international game.

What in the name of imperial hell is this supposed to mean?

Quote from: ExiledGael on October 08, 2010, 08:37:14 PM
Quote from: thebandit on October 08, 2010, 08:19:26 PM
Incompetence outside the ground and on the pitch :(

What's gone on outside the ground??
Totally outclassed is right. McGeady looks a threat, maybe, but it's hard to see us turning this around. They look like creating chances every time they cross the half way line.

What happened outside ground?
I was at the game,there was a bit of trouble behind the goals alright,a Russian fan had to be escorted out.
I think he was verbally abusing Irish fans around him,everyone clapped when he was removed.
I had 4 Russian guys sitting beside me,very nice fellas had a good laugh with them.
At least something made me laugh on what was a truly awful performance,Kilbane is finished and Green isn't good enough IMHO.
Thought the peno was a bit soft but the free that was given before the first Russian goal looked very soft also from where I was sitting.

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 09, 2010, 03:24:08 PM
There was no contact any of the times he went down. He's vying with Duff as the most annoying Irish diver. Tiresome shite to watch. I know this stuff is endemic in the value-free world of professional soccer, but it's still annoying seeing overpaid millionaires purporting to represent our country carrying on like this.

I wilt in the glare of such wit and wisdom.

Quote from: Hardy on October 09, 2010, 03:28:41 PM

People of a self flagellation nature who cannot look at an incident like this  objectively and come to a rational judgement of what happened and instead use their warped judgement of what happened as a stick to beat with . The rationality gets blinded by prejudice towards Keane, towards soccer, towards Ireland or any combination of the three.
Most times when Ireland get awarded a penalty it is regarded as down to luck by detractors. The last qualification campaign being also an example, Ireland were supposed to have had all the luck in order to finish 2nd, conveniently forgetting that Italy were fortunate to win in Montenegro, fortunate to get 2  incredible own goals in Georgia, a last gasp equaliser against us and a very fortunate last gasp winner against Cyprus.

Quote from: ross4life on October 08, 2010, 09:55:36 PM
Richard Dunne MOTM on RTE?

Really is that who got it?
Are they not allowed to give it to the away team or something?

King Henry

Sure ye know all about cheats in Meath don't ye Hardy so it must be easy for you to spot it in other sports.
I'll think of Molly while sun and moon shine
On the banks of the Suir that flows down by Mooncoin

"There was no contact".
"Keane dives and he's a hero".

Stick to Bogball guys, you do not know the game of Soccer.

I thought Shoccerball was Bogball coz its pure toilet.

paco

Quote from: Main Street on October 09, 2010, 03:38:44 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 09, 2010, 03:28:41 PM

People of a self flagellation nature who cannot look at an incident like this  objectively and come to a rational judgement of what happened and instead use their warped judgement of what happened as a stick to beat with . The rationality gets blinded by prejudice towards Keane, towards soccer, towards Ireland or any combination of the three.

Roy or Robbie?  ;)

anglocelt39

Quote from: Hardy on October 09, 2010, 03:36:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 09, 2010, 03:24:08 PM

I wilt in the glare of such wit and wisdom.

Jaysus Hardy that our Kevin Myers/Fintan O Toole tribute act of yours doesn't cut much ice down Queens County way. One up to the Blue and Whites I think.
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Can't understand how anyone would think it wasn't a penalty. Keane would never have scored in a fit from that position, but the only chance he had of doing so was prevented by a clumsy challenge. That's an infringement and therefore a penalty.

Re why Keane was on the pitch at the end, it's simple really - for the past decade, every other goal Ireland have scored has been as a result of him. He isn't the player he was and he can be infuriating to watch, but he is only Irish player who really knows where the net is. You can't have a man like that on the bench when you need a goal.

Ireland need to do a couple of things quite urgently. One is put Kilbane out to roost; he's been a great servant but his brain just doesn't work quickly enough anymore. The other us get rid of Green entirely, he's a truly awful player. Gibson or Lawrence would be a tremendous improvement in there and that's saying something.

Was very impressed with St Leger and Long, while McGeady was unusually good too.

We must have the poorest central midfield in Irelands history. A shambolic pairing who offer nothing whatsoever beyond a lot of running around.

Dunphy's choice of words may have been OTT but his sentiment was spot on; Gibson is a very poor player. Russia could, should, have won by 5.

It's a shame that only 3 players could make all the difference. A LB and CM x 2.