Championship Draw 2019

Started by Farrandeelin, October 11, 2018, 09:24:05 AM

Imagine the craic out of syf if Roscommon beat mayo in castlebar in the championship . 

Lave him alone Larry.
Poor felleen is still in therapy after McStay's flight ;D

Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 11:02:14 AM
Lave him alone Larry.

What did you make of Smits tone last night in relation to mcstays departure?

Smurfy123

Give over slating Mulligan for telling the truth. You are the same men that slag off Dublin players for saying they are in for a tough first game. Anything to complain. Mulligan give an honest interview and you are at him. Moron

Quote from: larryin89 on October 12, 2018, 11:51:43 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 12, 2018, 11:02:14 AM
Lave him alone Larry.

What did you make of Smits tone last night in relation to mcstays departure?
An intelligent educated young sportsman saying nice things on a bland sports show ;D

Manning18

Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 11, 2018, 01:56:09 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 11, 2018, 11:05:56 AM
Why not? Your losing nothing by having it as early as possible and if nothing else, can allow fans to book holidays safe in the knowledge they wont miss a game, or club players to book weekends away or weddings knowing that they won't have league games clashing with when the county is playing

It's October ffs  ::)

Yeah, and for this club player planning a wedding next summer it's a godsend because ive a fair idea how fixtures will work now. As I said, it causes no harm having it early

Quote from: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 01:08:23 PM
Why not? Your losing nothing by having it as early as possible and if nothing else, can allow fans to book holidays safe in the knowledge they wont miss a game, or club players to book weekends away or weddings knowing that they won't have league games clashing with when the county is playing

Yeah, and for this club player planning a wedding next summer it's a godsend because ive a fair idea how fixtures will work now. As I said, it causes no harm having it early

It's a bit late planning a wedding this late is it not?

Quote from: Smurfy123 on October 12, 2018, 12:38:34 PM
Give over slating Mulligan for telling the truth. You are the same men that slag off Dublin players for saying they are in for a tough first game. Anything to complain. Mulligan give an honest interview and you are at him. Moron

If I was Terry Hyland, Id be wondering is a lad like him worth the hassle in the dressing room. If the going gets tough you know he will go hiding. Example, roscommon are similar to Kildare. Leitrim are similar to Carlow. Carlow beat Kildare last year.
Its not impossible for Leitrim to get organised, motivated and be competitive with Roscommon. With a bit of luck who knows. But its only possible if you have belief and buy in from your players.

dublin7

Quote from: Itchy on October 12, 2018, 01:57:51 PM

If I was Terry Hyland, Id be wondering is a lad like him worth the hassle in the dressing room. If the going gets tough you know he will go hiding. Example, roscommon are similar to Kildare. Leitrim are similar to Carlow. Carlow beat Kildare last year.
Its not impossible for Leitrim to get organised, motivated and be competitive with Roscommon. With a bit of luck who knows. But its only possible if you have belief and buy in from your players.

If you watched the draw you will know the only team Leitrim have beat in the connaght championship (excluding London & New York) since Mulligan joined the panel is Sligo. They have been well beaten by Roscommon in recent years. It's also a div 1/2 side against a div 4 side. It's easy for you to slag off the man, but you're not the one who has to put in all the training for what is going to be a pointless task. The Clare manager made the same point point about having to play Kerry every year.

The super 8s are a good idea, but they should be at the start of the championship, not the end, an open draw and the provincial championship structure should be scrapped at this stage. Unfortunately you have all the committee men in their provincial roles who will do everything in the power to fight this as they don't want to give up their power/positions as they believe that it worked 50/60 years ago so it should be perfectly fine today

Carlow beating Kildare is a good point and comparison. I have a lot of time for Mulligan the footballer an outstanding talent but If Carlow players had the same negative attitude like Mulligan they would have got well beaten by Kildare this summer.

On Leitrim they have appointed arguably their best manager in years who should have them organised, meanwhile its hard to know where Roscommon will be? still no manager and could end up appointing a pure dud and by the sounds of it whoever is appointed they will have a weaker hand to choose from due to lads retiring or going traveling.

Quote from: dublin7 on October 12, 2018, 02:23:57 PM

If you watched the draw you will know the only team Leitrim have beat in the connaght championship (excluding London & New York) since Mulligan joined the panel is Sligo. They have been well beaten by Roscommon in recent years. It's also a div 1/2 side against a div 4 side. It's easy for you to slag off the man, but you're not the one who has to put in all the training for what is going to be a pointless task. The Clare manager made the same point point about having to play Kerry every year.

The super 8s are a good idea, but they should be at the start of the championship, not the end, an open draw and the provincial championship structure should be scrapped at this stage. Unfortunately you have all the committee men in their provincial roles who will do everything in the power to fight this as they don't want to give up their power/positions as they believe that it worked 50/60 years ago so it should be perfectly fine today

I did watch and I am well aware of Leitrim and their limitations, i was born a stone throw from the county. Roscommon were in Div 3 a couple of years ago, they are not Kerry. A complacent Roscommon team almost lost to New York. A complacent Roscommon team are worth targeting by Leitrim. What is Mulligans point, he wants to draw Sligo every year as they are the only team they can beat? Whats the point in even playing the game if you think like that?
Imagine going into a dressing room full of players beaten as soon as the draw was made. At the very least he should have kept that negative opinion to himself as that negativity can infect other players.

Chap was just being  realistic and probably fed to the back teeth of meeting our lads.
I think it's the other time in 11 seasons they've drawn Ros.
We obviously weren't too complacent on the 7 occasions to date ;)

He would still have been annoyed, you'd imagine if it was Mayo or Galway. Division 1 teams. It isn't like there loads of teams in Connacht, so there was a good chance of being drawn with Roscommon. Even if Leitrim had got Sligo and had Roscommon in the following game what would he be saying.?

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 12, 2018, 05:05:52 PM
He would still have been annoyed, you'd imagine if it was Mayo or Galway. Division 1 teams. It isn't like there loads of teams in Connacht, so there was a good chance of being drawn with Roscommon. Even if Leitrim had got Sligo and had Roscommon in the following game what would he be saying.?

There's not many teams in Connacht, yet Mayo haven't played Leitrim since 2013ish. Before that was 06. Before that 97.

Manning18

Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 12, 2018, 01:51:12 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on October 12, 2018, 01:08:23 PM

It's a bit late planning a wedding this late is it not?

Oh yeah it's done ages, more to do with whether the lads from the club can come and drink or not! Stag night a big consideration too!