GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on November 14, 2020, 11:36:24 AM

Title: Micky Harte & Tyrone part their ways!!!
Post by: illdecide on November 14, 2020, 11:36:24 AM
Guys this needs it's own thread TBH. What a man, what a manager & what a legend.

Coming from an Armagh man I think Micky should go down as one of the greatest in our games, from underage to senior he done it all. Tragedy after tragedy he came back and put his shoulder to the wheel again and again when many a man would have folded like a deck of cards. He had some terrific players at his disposal there's no doubt about that but so had other great teams but couldn't get over the line but Micky sure did at all levels. Best of luck Micky for whatever else comes your way.

For you Tyrone ones who were looking for a change many years ago that was just silly and I argued against it, maybe the time is right, maybe it's not. Who knows but we'll find out but one thing I will say..."Be careful what you wish for"

Best of luck Micky, some lucky team could get his services next season.
Title: Re: Micky Harte & Tyrone part their ways!!!
Post by: skeog on November 14, 2020, 11:48:30 AM
Couldnt see Mickey taking another county but if he does they will be getting one of the greatest managers the Gaa has seen.
Post by: Main Street on November 14, 2020, 04:15:12 PM
I don't think other counties would be willing to have a full on boycott of RTE, no matter how much they might sympathise with the grievance.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 14, 2020, 04:44:28 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 14, 2020, 11:36:24 AM
For you Tyrone ones who were looking for a change many years ago that was just silly and I argued against it, maybe the time is right, maybe it's not. Who knows but we'll find out but one thing I will say..."Be careful what you wish for"

Post by: grounded on November 14, 2020, 07:00:53 PM

Personally think he's a superb manager. It takes a very special manager to take a team that never won a SFC Alll ireland to not just one but three titles. Yes Tyrone had some unbelievably talented players at that time but he was the guiding influence.
       I suppose given the length of time he was at the helm things to go a little stale and Tyrone could probably do with a little shake up,. Mickey was a fantastic asset and servant for Tyrone. Wish we had of had him in Down.
       I'd love to see him taking another county team but I cant see him doing it.
        All the best Mickey what brilliant times you gave Tyrone
Post by: Itchy on November 15, 2020, 11:09:31 AM
I believe he is in the studio today in bbc for the cavan v down game. Big piece in the irish examiner with Declan Bogue too for those interested. His main reason for looking for an extension was that this year was to be his last yet he felt, due to covid, it wasnt a full year. Doesnt come across as bitter for it.

He was a tremendous manager in my view. Ruthless too in that his teams were no angels and when they came across any team that might threaten to be coming he'd push hard to give them a hammering. Even if it was in the Mckenna cup! However, ill never be able understand how he wrote a court reference for a rapist and that type of hypocrisy from him is a major blotch on his character for me. I think Tyrone will probably go backwards now as a new setup will take time to root, 18 years of doing things a certain way will take time to change.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 12:07:58 PM
Fantastic manager and has kept Tyrone near the top for so long. He has to be one of the best ever.

I do think it's time for a change but ai think it will be very interesting to see what is coming next. The question is did he play defensively the last few years because he think/know he had the forwards or did he just think that was the right way to setup. It has to be considered he didn't play so defensively in the noughties. Tyrone's better club forwards tend to be small in stature - O'Neill, Brennan, Bradley- and I think he knew they'd find it difficult in county football these days. Also he made a good player out of some boys who a lot never thought had the makings of it. Mcshane to full forward, cavanagh to sweeper and McCann to half back have been great bits of management. Also managed the guy who's name escapes me from dromore really well at corner back too.

I guess some criticisms could be seemed to hang on to some errigal boys when they maybe didn't look like they were cutting it and a bit stubborn on change at times.

Is the RTÉ thing purely about the guy and the big job - carty wasn't it? I read some people saying about RTÉ apologising for abuse that they give Tyrone but I don't think that's what it's about at all? Could be wrong but any which way you'll be a while waiting on an apology.
Post by: armaghniac on November 15, 2020, 12:20:45 PM
The RTÉ thing was made much worse when they did a skit on him featuring the song Pretty Little Girl from Omagh"  which was in extremely poor taste owing to the death of his daughter.
Post by: 6th sam on November 15, 2020, 12:37:10 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 12:07:58 PM
Fantastic manager and has kept Tyrone near the top for so long. He has to be one of the best ever.

I do think it's time for a change but ai think it will be very interesting to see what is coming next. The question is did he play defensively the last few years because he think/know he had the forwards or did he just think that was the right way to setup. It has to be considered he didn't play so defensively in the noughties. Tyrone's better club forwards tend to be small in stature - O'Neill, Brennan, Bradley- and I think he knew they'd find it difficult in county football these days. Also he made a good player out of some boys who a lot never thought had the makings of it. Mcshane to full forward, cavanagh to sweeper and McCann to half back have been great bits of management. Also managed the guy who's name escapes me from dromore really well at corner back too.

I guess some criticisms could be seemed to hang on to some errigal boys when they maybe didn't look like they were cutting it and a bit stubborn on change at times.

Is the RTÉ thing purely about the guy and the big job - carty wasn't it? I read some people saying about RTÉ apologising for abuse that they give Tyrone but I don't think that's what it's about at all? Could be wrong but any which way you'll be a while waiting on an apology.

My understanding is that Mickey was offended by a sketch on RTE radio. He was 100% right in my opinion and RTE's response was either woefully inadequate or deliberately anti-Tyrone. It was badly timed and insensitive, and in addition perhaps unmasked an underlining anti-northern bias in RTE GAA coverage . I'm not a Tyrone fan but I believe the view promoted by RTE , that they were more thugs than footballers whilst giving cynical play by others a by-ball, was unfair on them. Spillane and O'rourke were the most obvious but others were more subtle. Joe Brolly didn't help as the sole northern voice.
Watching Sky yesterday and listening to mcguinness, Donaghy and Canavan was so much better. Insightful , analytical , up to date, respectful, as opposed to competing for smartassed sound bites and personalised comments.
I'm sure
RTE could have resolved the issue with Harte with genuine remorse and a different tack regarding their coverage  but they chose not to.
Though some may have understandable criticism of Harte over some issues, you can't but admire the way he dealt with personal trauma and helped others deal with theirs. Regarding his football legacy , he showed incredible leadership , but success depends on the tools available particularly playing and coaching personnel. Regarding his departure , a word of warning for those that wanted him out, be careful what you wish for. O'Dwyer, Boylan, Mcgrath are just 3 examples of long-standing managers whose counties had prolonged dips in success after they were gone. The new Tyrone manager would need to be a seriously talented individual to be a better than Harte.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 12:43:25 PM
Ah ok I maybe didn't know the full depth of the RTÉ thing.

Agreed on the personal tragedy thing. How he dealt with it was remarkable.

RTÉ punditry is becoming a bit of an embarrassment. Watching bbc Clarke and mcconville are much much better. Watching some sky coverage and they are much much better. I can't even listen to RTÉ punditry any more. Record and fast forward on highlights or turn it over at half time.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 15, 2020, 01:05:27 PM
As an Armagh man, definitely not Hartes biggest fan but can't ignore what the man has achieved for his county. Saw a post somewhere the other day that even if he'd only taken over in 09 he'd still be their most successful manager ever. All the very best for the future.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 15, 2020, 01:42:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 12:43:25 PM

RTÉ punditry is becoming a bit of an embarrassment. Watching bbc Clarke and mcconville are much much better. Watching some sky coverage and they are much much better. I can't even listen to RTÉ punditry any more. Record and fast forward on highlights or turn it over at half time.

There is a cosy cartel in RTE.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2020, 01:46:25 PM
Quote from: 6th sam on November 15, 2020, 12:37:10 PM

Though some may have understandable criticism of Harte over some issues

That is quite the understatement.

Is there anyone out there who doesn't think the man is a p***k?
Post by: grounded on November 15, 2020, 02:12:21 PM
Yeah interesting to see him talk there pre-match. He didnt seem at all bitter by the decision, what came across was his passion for the GAA and Tyrone.
      Could there be a possibility that he could take over/be integrated back into the u17 u20
Setup. Its happened in other counties with Jack O Connor/Pete mc Grath coming to mind.
Post by: armaghniac on November 15, 2020, 02:51:08 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2020, 01:46:25 PM

the man has annoyed people over an 18 year period, but plenty of posters here are much worse.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 15, 2020, 02:52:12 PM

I'm an Armagh man and think Harte is an absolute gentleman. What makes you say he's a p***k?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2020, 03:07:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 15, 2020, 02:52:12 PM

I'm an Armagh man and think Harte is an absolute gentleman. What makes you say he's a p***k?

Aside from giving a character refernce to a rapist who dumped a naked victim out of a moving van?

Giving a character reference to a guy who murdered his father?

Giving a character reference for a man who defrauded his own mother out of her life savings?

Helping launch a book that claimed condoms spread AIDS?

Using GAA facilities to campaign in a referendum he couldn't vote in?
Post by: Angelo on November 15, 2020, 03:38:35 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 14, 2020, 04:15:12 PM
I don't think other counties would be willing to have a full on boycott of RTE, no matter how much they might sympathise with the grievance.

Jim Gavin boycotted RTE because they gave out some videos.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 15, 2020, 04:14:18 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2020, 03:07:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 15, 2020, 02:52:12 PM

Aside from giving a charachter refernce to a rapist who dumped a naked victim out of a moving van?

Giving a charachter reference to a guy who murdered his father?

Giving a charachter reference for a man who defrauded his own mother out of her life savings?

Helping launch a book that claimed condoms spread AIDS?

Using GAA facilities to campaign in a referendum he couldn't vote in?

What the fcuk is a "charachter" [sic]?
Post by: PMG1 on November 15, 2020, 04:50:42 PM
Micky had stopped speaking to RTE before the 'pretty little girl from omagh skit' he stopped speaking to them when Brian Carty didn't get the big job, the skit came a few months after as far as I remember, the skit whether it was intentional or not added fuel to the fire but that is not the reason he stopped speaking to RTE
Post by: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 05:10:59 PM
I thought that too.
Post by: Main Street on November 15, 2020, 05:18:28 PM
It wasn't just the song but also the mocking reference about Mickey going to visit a Dalai Lama conference in Limerick (I think).  Mickey had made the journey with the son in law and the theme of that meeting was about overcoming deep personal tragedies. Words don't do justice to describe that 'skit'.

But I can't see how a total boycott could be carried over to another county should Mickey take up the reins there.
Post by: screenexile on November 15, 2020, 06:08:32 PM
The skit was ill advised but I don't think there was anything malicious in it... along with that it was completely shite.

He can forgive murderers but can't forgive RTE??

There's lots of issues I have with Mickey Harte including the above and all the hypocrisy but that doesn't change his impact on the game he was a visionary and bringing 3 All Ireland's to a county that had none will put him up with the greatest managers of all time and he definitely deserves his place in history.

Ok
Post by: armaghniac on November 15, 2020, 06:33:17 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 15, 2020, 06:08:32 PM
He can forgive murderers but can't forgive RTE??

There should be an end to this sh!t about murderers and rapists. Harte did not in any way justify murder or rape, he provided an account of his dealings with the individuals concerned at a point when they had not been convicted of these crimes. It is was not for him to convict them, his proper role was to provide a truthful account of what he knew and let the judge decide, Harte didn't himself know anything about the murders or rapes, he wasn't there, no more than most of people posting about him.

Quote from: PMG1 on November 15, 2020, 04:50:42 PM
Micky had stopped speaking to RTE before the 'pretty little girl from omagh skit' he stopped speaking to them when Brian Carty didn't get the big job, the skit came a few months after as far as I remember, the skit whether it was intentional or not added fuel to the fire but that is not the reason he stopped speaking to RTE

It might be the reason that he continued not talking to RTÉ. Who would blame him?
Post by: Angelo on November 15, 2020, 06:49:00 PM
The issue for Harte and Tyrone was that the apology wasn't even an apology.

The Derry lads lowering themselves to their usual standard of slabbering as usual.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 15, 2020, 07:13:31 PM
Quote from: PMG1 on November 15, 2020, 04:50:42 PM
It wasn't months anyway, think the news about Carthy being overlooked came out in mid/late Summer and he wasn't the only one to criticise it from memory,  but shortly after that came the Murray farce and that was that.
Post by: BennyCake on November 15, 2020, 07:59:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 15, 2020, 12:43:25 PM

Clarke and Oisin are very good. Although to be fair, so were Canavan and Harte today too.
Post by: seafoid on November 15, 2020, 08:40:17 PM
A legendary manager.
His 3 all Irelands with Throne who started off with none was a pretty unique achievement. He brought pride and respect to the county. Kerry never beat them when it mattered

I am sure that football must have sustained him in the dark times after Michaela's brutal murder.

Everything comes to an end. I hope Tyrone choose an adequate replacement.
Post by: illdecide on November 15, 2020, 09:00:58 PM
Holy feck...I started a thread to honour a great manager and people still twist it around to find the worst in someone...This place is worse than Facebook at times...Wise up.
Post by: Rossfan on November 16, 2020, 10:55:42 AM
Farewell Micky.
You led your County from the ranks of gallant losers to AI Champions at 3 grades.
You were some man for 1 man.
Best wishes for the future.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 02:50:57 PM
I see the mods are chopping any discussion of Harte the man.

Which was a point I made before the censorship. He got away with a huge amount because of this misplaced notion of loyalty within the GAA community.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 03:05:53 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 02:50:57 PM

Which was a point I made before the censorship. He got away with a huge amount because of this misplaced notion of loyalty within the GAA community.

You made some disgusting and completely ignorant comments. You're lucky that's all it was.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:13:22 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 03:05:53 PM

You made some disgusting and completely ignorant comments. You're lucky that's all it was.

Again, from you....

I listed things he did. None were disputed.
Post by: grounded on November 16, 2020, 04:20:09 PM
Quote from: illdecide on November 15, 2020, 09:00:58 PM
Holy feck...I started a thread to honour a great manager and people still twist it around to find the worst in someone...This place is worse than Facebook at times...Wise up.

You're dead right. Truth is some posters just want to be the centre of attention. Sad really and best not responding.
      Anyword on the new Tyrone manager?
Post by: five points on November 16, 2020, 04:26:49 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:13:22 PM

Again, from you....

They were disputed.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:35:05 PM

Again, from you....

They are disputed, they were completely and utterly wrong and you don't have the first clue what you're talking about particularly re Sean Hackett.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:45:21 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:35:05 PM

Again, from you....

They are disputed, they were completely and utterly wrong and you don't have the first clue what you're talking about particularly re Sean Hackett.

Was I? I said Harte had a habit of defending henioys behaviour amongst his players and potential players and the actual victim here was also a Gael.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/mickey-harte-gaa-star-sean-hackett-who-shot-father-dead-will-be-able-to-reclaim-his-life-now-31525882.html

Mr Harte said he had his "eye on him" as a future senior county player and that Hackett, both as a club and county footballer had a "lot to look forward to".

Aloysius Hackett, a former chairman of St Macartan's GAC in Augher, was shot twice in the head on the driveway of his Aghindarrah Road home. His son Sean admitted carrying out the shooting but consistently denied murder.

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:48:54 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:45:21 PM

Again, from you....

Was I? I said Harte had a habit of defending henioys behaviour amongst his players and potential players and the actual victim here was also a Gael.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/mickey-harte-gaa-star-sean-hackett-who-shot-father-dead-will-be-able-to-reclaim-his-life-now-31525882.html

Mr Harte said he had his "eye on him" as a future senior county player and that Hackett, both as a club and county footballer had a "lot to look forward to".

Aloysius Hackett, a former chairman of St Macartan's GAC in Augher, was shot twice in the head on the driveway of his Aghindarrah Road home. His son Sean admitted carrying out the shooting but consistently denied murder.

What tense is the word "had"?

Hackett had mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout this so what you're inferring is absolutely untrue and despicable. You are clearly completely ignorant on the matter but it doesn't seem to stop you spewing your bile. Hopefully the mods act more sternly this time.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:56:42 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 04:48:54 PM

Again, from you....

Hackett had mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout this so what you're inferring is absolutely untrue and despicable. You are clearly completely ignorant on the matter but it doesn't seem to stop you spewing your bile. Hopefully the mods act more sternly this time.

I'm not 'inferring' anything.

I am outright stating that the repeated character references  where he shouldn't have and all were given to players are a stain on his record.

https://www.hotpress.com/opinion/no-thanks-to-mickey-harte-9960207

No other manager does this.
Post by: JoG2 on November 16, 2020, 04:59:57 PM

Again, from you....

Paul, ffs grow up and give it a rest.

On Micky Harte, incredible achievements throughout his 18 years that most other counties can only dream of. Took them to the top table and has kept them there. Didn't know him personally, but a family member did. Said he is a complete gentleman.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:04:36 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 04:56:42 PM

Again, from you....

I am outright stating that the repeated character references  where he shouldn't have and all were given to players are a stain on his record.

You are clearly inferring something and doing it in a very nasty and poisonous way without knowing anything about the case in hand.

The point you are making about Sean Hackett is absolutely disgusting. There's no foundation to your allegations whatsoever, hopefully the mods step in here now and take the appropriate action.

As for other managers, there are others including a quite high profile one recently.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:05:28 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 16, 2020, 04:59:57 PM

Again, from you....

Paul, ffs grow up and give it a rest.

On Micky Harte, incredible achievements throughout his 18 years that most other counties can only dream of. Took them to the top table and has kept them there. Didn't know him personally, but a family member did. Said he is a complete gentleman.

I was very clear that he will be remembered as one of the greatest managers and tours the country helping clubs out.
But we aren't allowed discuss the mistakes?
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:07:36 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:05:28 PM

I was very clear that he will be remembered as one of the greatest managers and tours the country helping clubs out.

You've repeated completely baseless allegations after your previous ones were deleted.

It's despicable what you're at and tells us all the type of person you are.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:09:28 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:04:36 PM

Again, from you....

You are clearly inferring something and doing it in a very nasty and poisonous way without knowing anything about the case in hand.

The point you are making about Sean Hackett is absolutely disgusting.

As for other managers, there are others including a quite high profile one recently.

Do you know what 'inferring' means? I am outright stating he was wrong to get involved in the manner he did, using the language he did as often as he did.

It is not disgusting to question the manager of a team arguing for a reduction in sentence on the basis the convicted killer might still be of use to him.

I'm not exactly alone in this.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-theres-a-long-line-of-uncomfortable-truths-following-mickey-harte-that-cannot-be-shaken-off-37269637.html

What other manager?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:10:21 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:07:36 PM

You've repeated completely baseless allegations after your previous ones were deleted.

I quoted the man directly. How is that 'baseless'?

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:32:08 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:09:28 PM

Again, from you....

Do you know what 'inferring' means? I am outright stating he was wrong to get involved in the manner he did, using the language he did as often as he did.

It is not disgusting to question the manager of a team arguing for a reduction in sentence on the basis the convicted killer might still be of use to him.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ewan-mackenna-theres-a-long-line-of-uncomfortable-truths-following-mickey-harte-that-cannot-be-shaken-off-37269637.html

What other manager?

You didn't say he was wrong. You outright stated that he gave character references for Sean Hackett so he could play for Tyrone which is a scurrilous allegation. Hackett had well known mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout the trial so the accusation you were making that Harte only set out to get him off so he can play football for Tyrone is absolutely scurrilous and you should take this time to withdraw it now before the mods deal with it.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:33:31 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:32:08 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:09:28 PM

Again, from you....

What other manager?

You didn't say he was wrong. You outright stated that he gave character references for Sean Hackett so he could play for Tyrone which is a scurrilous allegation. Hackett had well known mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout the trial so the accusation you were making that Harte only set out to get him off so he can play football for Tyrone is absolutely scurrilous and you should take this time to withdraw it now before the mods deal with it.

I quoted Harte. You interpreted his quote. Not my problem.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:37:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:10:21 PM

You quoted him and made allegations completely at odds with the quotes. You accused Harte of issuing a character reference because he wanted to have Hackett available for Tyrone. This is why the post was removed. There is absolutely nothing whatsoever to back up that allegations and says a lot about you to try and defame someone about something you clearly know little about.

Hackett never played for Harte. He was supported by his family throughout, he had mental health issues and Harte was approached by his family to do so.

Tony McEntee recently provided a character reference for Aaron Brady.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:38:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:33:31 PM

I quoted Harte. You interpreted his quote. Not my problem.

I didn't misinterpret it. You made a serious and completely baseless allegation that was deleted by the mods and you then came back to make it again.

Show some respect.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:43:31 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:37:58 PM

You quoted him and made allegations completely at odds with the quotes. You accused Harte of issuing a character reference because he wanted to have Hackett available for Tyrone. This is why the post was removed. There is absolutely nothing whatsoever to back up that allegations and says a lot about you to try and defame someone about something you clearly know little about.

Hackett never played for Harte. He was supported by his family throughout, he had mental health issues and Harte was approached by his family to do so.

Mr Harte said he had his "eye on him" as a future senior county player and that Hackett, both as a club and county footballer had a "lot to look forward

His words. Interpret them however you want.

McEntee is a club coach and was for a traffic incident before he was a suspect in the murder of Garda Donohue. But look at how it stacks up now? You proved my point, there is a reason its a rarity.

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:48:14 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:43:31 PM

Mr Harte said he had his "eye on him" as a future senior county player and that Hackett, both as a club and county footballer had a "lot to look forward

McEntee is a club coach and was for a traffic incident before he was a suspect in the murder of Garda Donohue. But look at how it stacks up now? You proved my point, there is a reason its a rarity.

I pointed out to you before to clarify what tense the word "had" is. It's past tense, maybe you are not intelligent enough to make the connection?

Hackett had well known mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout.

Aaron Brady rammed a garda car at high speed and went on to kill a Garda...........so if you want to split hairs about it.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:54:02 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 05:48:14 PM

I pointed out to you before to clarify what tense the word "had" is. It's past tense, maybe you are not intelligent enough to make the connection?

Hackett had well known mental health issues and was supported by his family throughout.

Aaron Brady rammed a garda car at high speed and went on to kill a Garda...........so if you want to split hairs about it.

I'm not splitting hairs. He gave him a reference on a relativity minor offence. How does that look now? Nobody should be daft enough to give a criminal a character reference simply because the criminal is good at football.

How come Harte didn't reference his issues?

A violent rapist got a reduced sentence on the basis of Hartes reference. Said the judge.

But its all baseless. He gave loads of non players the same references.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:01:08 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 05:54:02 PM

I'm not splitting hairs. He gave him a reference on a relativity minor offence. How does that look now? Nobody should be daft enough to give a criminal a character reference simply because the criminal is good at football.

A violent rapist got a reduced sentence on the basis of Hartes reference. Said the judge.

I'm not sure you know how character references work? Given the sheer level of ignorance you are showing across all cases here, it is baffling why you are trying to contribute something here.

Everything is baseless with you.

"Loads of of non-players" - you have absolutely nothing to back that up, it's just slur after slur after slur with you.

Harte was asked to give a character reference for Sean Hackett, he was asked to do so by Hackett's family who supported him throughout. It is well known Hackett had mental health issues and Harte was asked by the family to reference what he knew about the lad in question. There's nothing illegal in a character reference and Harte did nothing wrong here. Do you think the Hackett family were wrong or do you think they genuinely believed that their son and brother's mental state caused him to do what he did?

It's absolutely pathetic what you are trying to do here and I'm going to let the mods come in an do what they have to after this post.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:04:56 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:01:08 PM

I'm not sure you know how character references work? Given the sheer level of ignorance you are showing across all cases here, it is baffling why you are trying to contribute something here.

"Loads of of non-players" - you have absolutely nothing to back that up, it's just slur after slur after slur with you.

Harte was asked to give a character reference for Sean Hackett, he was asked to do so by Hackett's family who supported him throughout. It is well known Hackett had mental health issues and Harte was asked by the family to reference what he knew about the lad in question. There's nothing illegal in a character reference and Harte did nothing wrong here. Do you think the Hackett family were wrong or do you think they genuinely believed that their son and brother's mental state caused him to do what he did?

It's absolutely pathetic what you are trying to do here and I'm going to let the mods come in an do what they have to after this post.

Thats my point you fool.

Harte is and remains perfectly entitled to give character references. I and others are perfectly entitled to question his judgement and motivations. Do you not think it odd he gave three and all three were for players either in his team or knocking on the door? If he was genuinely providing a public service how come his net wasn't wider?

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:07:54 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:04:56 PM

Thats my point you fool.

Harte is and remains perfectly entitled to give character references. I and others are perfectly entitled to question his judgement and motivations. Do you not think it odd he gave three and all three were for players either in his team or knocking on the door? If he was genuinely providing a public service how come his net wasn't wider?

Which three players are you saying he gave character references to?

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:13:15 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:07:54 PM

Thats my point you fool.

Doubt I'll be getting a reply to this.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:13:36 PM

Thats my point you fool.

Hackett, McCusker and McCarron.

The only three charachter references he gave.
Post by: armaghniac on November 16, 2020, 06:13:44 PM

What are you suggesting that he should give references to people he doesn't know? Of course he gives references to people on his team.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:14:14 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:13:15 PM

Thats my point you fool.

Doubt I'll be getting a reply to this.

You are a low grade troll. Stick to the Covid threads.
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:22:32 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:13:36 PM

Who did McCusker play for?

When did he give McCarron a character reference?

Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:22:56 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:22:32 PM

Doubt I'll be getting an answer to this.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:29:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 16, 2020, 06:13:44 PM

What are you suggesting that he should give references to people he doesn't know? Of course he gives references to people on his team.

It is being argued that its sheer coincidence that he only gave references to footballers on or near the panel. Unless you are arguing he knows nobody outside of the Tyrone senior footballers is that statement so contentious to give poor Angelo an aneurysm?
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:30:10 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:29:27 PM

It is being argued that its sheer coincidence that he only gave references to footballers on or near the panel. Unless you are arguing he knows nobody outside of the Tyrone senior footballers is that statement so contentious to give poor Angelo an aneurysm?

Who did Ronan McCusker play for?

Be a man and answer the question.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:34:57 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:30:10 PM

Ballinderry Shamrocks I believe.

Why?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:49:18 PM

In his fraud trial. When he fleeced his mother's life savings
Post by: armaghniac on November 16, 2020, 06:53:42 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:14:14 PM
You are a low grade troll.

(https://twstatic.net/attachments/img_6832-jpg.1389458/)
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 07:11:03 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 16, 2020, 06:34:57 PM

Why?

So how was he close to the Tyrone team?
Post by: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 07:32:43 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 07:11:03 PM

Why?

So how was he close to the Tyrone team?

Still waiting - your words "Do you not think it odd he gave three and all three were for players either in his team or knocking on the door? If he was genuinely providing a public service how come his net wasn't wider?"
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2020, 09:28:04 PM

On a slight tangent, I seen on twitter yesterday this tweet about the Louth chair Peter Fitzpatrick on local radio re McEntee and the Louth manager vacancy https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/1327997632921395202 (https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/1327997632921395202)

Thought it was an unusually blunt rejection in these circumstances, I wonder is that the reason why?
Post by: Snapchap on November 16, 2020, 09:52:09 PM
Any chance the mods could get the finger out and deal with this Baile Brigín lowlife?

Anonymously using the Hackett tragedy to take a dig at Mickey Harte. Absolutley f***ing dispicable.
Post by: JimStynes on November 16, 2020, 10:14:15 PM
I thought there would have been more players giving Mickey a bit of a tribute on their social media accounts.
Post by: restorepride on November 17, 2020, 12:20:29 AM
Quote from: Angelo on November 15, 2020, 06:49:00 PM
The issue for Harte and Tyrone was that the apology wasn't even an apology.

The Derry lads lowering themselves to their usual standard of slabbering as usual.
Says Doctor Death Angelo?!  I'd rather slabber than kill my relative - remember that you stated you would accept that risk? 
Post by: BennyHarp on November 17, 2020, 06:32:58 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 16, 2020, 10:14:15 PM
I thought there would have been more players giving Mickey a bit of a tribute on their social media accounts.

Without really looking too hard I came across these....

Ronan McNamee https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2020/11/17/news/i-owe-mickey-harte-an-awful-lot-tyrone-defender-ronan-mcnamee-2132056/

Cathal McShane - " This man gave me the opportunity to fulfil my childhood dream of pulling on the White & Red at the highest level! His continued belief in myself over the past 5 years has not only improved me as a footballer but as a person also. I will be forever thankful Mickey 🤝🇵🇱 #legend"

Matty Donnelly - "I've won two All-Stars and they're sitting in Mickey's house - and that's where they'll be staying because that's how much I owe to him."

Post by: RedHand88 on November 17, 2020, 08:35:54 AM
Quote from: Angelo on November 16, 2020, 06:22:56 PM

Doubt I'll be getting an answer to this.

Was wondering this myself, because mccarron was never in court or in need of a character reference. He did help him with his gambling issues and supported him when he was in the place in Athy. If anyone has a problem with that, it says more about them than anything.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 17, 2020, 08:37:07 AM

Why?

Because its in Derry and would leave him nowhere near the Tyrone panel. You've just disproved your own point.
Post by: Taylor on November 17, 2020, 09:48:51 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2020, 09:28:04 PM

On a slight tangent, I seen on twitter yesterday this tweet about the Louth chair Peter Fitzpatrick on local radio re McEntee and the Louth manager vacancy https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/1327997632921395202 (https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/1327997632921395202)

Thought it was an unusually blunt rejection in these circumstances, I wonder is that the reason why?

I dont think it takes a genius to work out why he was this blunt
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:00:47 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 17, 2020, 08:37:07 AM

Why?

Because its in Derry and would leave him nowhere near the Tyrone panel. You've just disproved your own point.
No Tyrone player has played for a club outside the county?

Post by: armaghniac on November 17, 2020, 11:11:17 AM

Was this the Peter Fitzpatrick who recently called in the Dáil for the army to be deployed to seal off the border? He sounds like a person whose judgement you would respect. Louth GAA are a disgrace.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:17:27 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 17, 2020, 11:11:17 AM

Was this the Peter Fitzpatrick who recently called in the Dáil for the army to be deployed to seal off the border? He sounds like a person whose judgement you would respect. Louth GAA are a disgrace.

To stop Christmas shoppers no less.
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 11:27:30 AM
Why are Louth GAA a disgrace for saying they won't be asking Tony McEntee to be team manager?
Post by: Angelo on November 17, 2020, 11:31:39 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:00:47 AM

Why?

Why do you think Ronan McCusker was knocking on the door of the Tyrone panel? I asked you that question but you refused to answer.

You see this is the problem, you're a toxic individual who is going around making very serious claims without a shred of credibility to support them.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:35:13 AM
Quote from: Angelo on November 17, 2020, 11:31:39 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:00:47 AM

Why?

Why do you think Ronan McCusker was knocking on the door of the Tyrone panel? I asked you that question but you refused to answer.

You see this is the problem, you're a toxic individual who is going around making very serious claims without a shred of credibility to support them.

There are certain posters I will accept criticism from. You are not one of them.
Post by: armaghniac on November 17, 2020, 12:19:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 11:27:30 AM
Why are Louth GAA a disgrace for saying they won't be asking Tony McEntee to be team manager?

I didn't say they were a disgrace for not asking Tony McEntee to be team manager, I said they were a disgrace generally.
All their neighbours, Meath, Monaghan, Armagh and Down have all made some impact on the GAA, whereas Louth is essentially invisible.
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 12:56:12 PM
Ah now!
They were winning All Irelands when it cost 3d to get in.
Post by: armaghniac on November 17, 2020, 01:14:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 12:56:12 PM
Ah now!

I think it is reasonable to expect something in the last 60 years also.
Post by: Angelo on November 17, 2020, 03:48:34 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 17, 2020, 11:35:13 AM

There are certain posters I will accept criticism from. You are not one of them.

Couldn't give a toss. Just happy to expose your toxic agenda which is based willful ignorance and nastiness.
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 04:10:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 17, 2020, 01:14:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 17, 2020, 12:56:12 PM
Ah now!

I think it is reasonable to expect something in the last 60 years also.
Sure didn't they win Leinster in 2010......
Post by: general_lee on November 17, 2020, 08:29:29 PM
So he didn't give a character reference to McCarron; McCusker is from another county and not good enough for Tyrone regardless; and the Hackett lad suffered from a delusional mental illness so not exactly your run of the mill pre-meditated murder.

Baile brigin you're a bit of a díck.
Post by: Angelo on November 19, 2020, 03:33:46 PM
https://www.the42.ie/mickey-harte-legacy-tyrone-5270186-Nov2020/

'A lot of those Tyrone players had been through tragedies. Unfortunately it was at his own door this time'
Former Tyrone players Cathal McCarron and PJ Quinn give an insight into Mickey Harte the man.

"[The last 48 hours have] been very busy on the phone. Every minute you set it down there's another beep on the phone, but generally it was all good anyway. That was the nice thing about it. But I'm very happy with the decision that's been made and it's time to let somebody else have a go at the reins and I wish them all the very best. Whoever that is that takes over I hope they continue to keep Tyrone at the top table and as high up the table as possible."

WHEN MICKEY HARTE reflected on the end of his lengthy tenure as Tyrone senior football manager on the BBC's Ulster championship coverage on Sunday afternoon, he looked like a man content with his decision. The events of last week brought an end to Harte's 30 unbroken years as manager of the county's minor, U21 and senior teams.

It was a remarkably successful period in Tyrone's history. The great team of the noughties changed the game forever, landing the Sam Maguire three times in 2003, '05 and '08. Even discounting all that and taking his reign from '09 onwards, with four Ulster titles and an All-Ireland final appearance, he'd go down as the greatest Tyrone manager of all-time.

Two men who sent through text messages congratulating Harte on his career over the weekend were former Red Hand defenders Cathal McCarron and PJ Quinn, both members of the '08 All-Ireland winning squad. Speaking to The42, they discuss Harte in glowing terms, offering insight into his greatness as a manager and a man.

First and foremost, McCarron was relieved to see the Harte era end without a fallout between him and the county board.

"I was hoping for that myself, that things would go smoothly and there wouldn't be bitterness," he says. "Thank God that's the way it has went and it has been a smooth process. He deserves that for all he's done with Tyrone but it could have went a bit better and it could have went the other way as well just as easily.

"So I'm delighted that it didn't go that way, he can go to games and be held as one of the best managers in the game.

"I can see now that he seems to be happy. I don't think he wanted to walk away but I kind of feel just even messaging him the other night, and from listening to him on TV, he actually seems to be in a better place. He seems to be happy with his decision, with nearly a wee bit of a weight lifted off his shoulders."

He was tactically innovative, typified by his reinvention of several key players. He converted Sean Cavanagh and Cathal McShane into devastating full-forwards a decade apart, Joe McMahon to full-back for an All-Ireland final against Kerry's twin towers and Cormac McAnallen to one of the game's best full-backs before his untimely death.

McAnallen's passing showcased how Harte handled the various tragedies that came his way with immense dignity and grace. Arthur Mallon, Paul McGirr, Kevin Hughes's brother and sister, McAnallen, Harte's daughter Michaela and, most recently, Jonny Curran were all heartbreaking losses to overcome.

"He's been through his fair share of problems, personally himself and for other people as well. You could say he's probably lived two or three lives because all he's been through, manys a person wouldn't have seen half the stuff he's seen," McCarron says.

"From where I was there in '08 I didn't see his passion drop one bit if anything it just got greater, and that was with tragedy in the middle of all that. I couldn't speak highly enough of him as a manager and as a person. He's first class."

He selflessly travelled the length and breadth of the country for speaking arrangements over the years, offering words of hope to others dealing with unspeakable misfortunes and looking for nothing in return.

John Connellan recently tweeted that he "would never forget" Harte's speech to the 2006 Westmeath minor panel after they lost team-mate Darren Price in a car accident just days after lining out with the side in the Leinster championship.

"Mickey was more than just a manager," says Quinn.

"I can only personally speak for myself. There were different things I was going through...Mickey personally stood by me in different situations that I don't need to disclose in the media. I know of other players that he helped in the background and went out of his way to help. Mickey was always there to defend his players first and foremost."

McCarron's crippling gambling addiction saw him sink to horrific depths, but through it all Harte never gave up on him. At the worst moments, he offered a beacon of hope, delivered without judgment.

There was the January afternoon in 2010 when McCarron was two months into his first stint in Cuan Mhuire treatment centre when Harte paid an unexpected visit.

He brought the player's Celtic Cross from the 2008 victory – McCarron had missed the All-Ireland winners' banquet as his life had started to spiral out of control. Midweek visitors were not permitted, but as McCarron wrote in his book "they weren't going to turn Mickey Harte away."

Recalling that day now, McCarron says: "I remember it very well. He just landed in, I wasn't aware he was coming at all. It was kind of a surprise. We went into a room anyway. He landed with a medal and gave me a bit of a talk."

Harte offered words of encouragement. He told McCarron the book wasn't closed on his Tyrone career, not by a long shot.

"If you focus on life, and on living life well, just think of all the possibilities out there," Harte said. "Look at the football you were playing, with all that hell in your life. Imagine, just imagine, what you really could do if you got all of this sorted out."

"It was a great moment for me being a young fella," says McCarron. "It was a wee driving point for me in my life at that stage. I was saying to myself that I wanted to get back to where I was and make a name for myself playing for Tyrone and have a good career. I'll always be thankful for him doing that because he obviously didn't have to do it but that's the kind of man he is.

"I just heard Peter Canavan speak on Sunday about how he's done an awful lot for people that nobody knows about and continues to do so. I would second that. I do know a lot of stuff he has done for people that people don't know about. You really couldn't say a bad word about the man because he'd go out of his way to help anybody."

McCarron fell off the wagon again and endured an even more tumultuous period of his life. Living in London, such was the extent of his downfall he appeared in a gay pornographic movie in order to pay off gambling debts.

But after completing rehabilitation in Cuan Mhuire in Newry in 2014, the call came from Harte to rejoin the Tyrone panel. A year later he was an All-Star nominee.

"Again in 2014 when a lot of people mightn't have given me the chance. That's who he is and I suppose I owe him a lot for igniting my career.

"As a man, a person and manager I couldn't speak highly enough of him. Even taking away the sentimental value, he's very good at what he does. As a person as well, his faith and belief is powerful."

That faith was never more important to Harte when he lost Michaela in tragic circumstances in January 2011. Almost ten years on from her murder while on honeymoon, McCarron and Quinn marvelled at Harte's strength to soldier on in the darkest of days.

"I was there on the panel," recalls McCarron. "I was in utter shock, complete and utter shock. I remember even the couple of weeks after that, before Michaela had even come home, we were up at the house. I think I was up there twice. We were just up with Mickey and that as players and it was a bit surreal. It was a real mad time. It was really hard to know what to say.

"All wakes and funerals are hard to talk to people that have lost loved ones but I think it was worse there given the circumstances that had happened him. I think he just buried himself in football. It wasn't really mentioned to us when we went to training. We all knew but nobody really said much about it. It just continued on.

"Obviously if Mickey needed time or anything we were there to support him. But I think the energy he got from being at training kept him going and that's what drove him forward. He learned to deal with it because he had the football. I do believe if he didn't have the football it would have been a lot harder for him."

Quinn remembers the days and weeks that followed as "very, very tough."

"I can't believe the character of the man that he was fit to come through it," he says. "It was an awful tragedy. It hit the team, the community and more importantly forgetting everything else, it hit Mickey and his family. I remember us playing Donegal in the first game Mickey came back, we played up in Edendork.

"We were getting ready for the game when Mickey came in and everybody just gave him a round of applause. It just really showed there's so much more important things than football. It's not about medals and trophies, it's about memories and Mickey has given the GAA some amount of memories.

"The GAA was very good to Mickey at that time too and stood by him. He said it openly in interviews as well that only for it, it gave him the strength to help him get through. It was a tough time. I know a lot of those Tyrone players had been through tragedies before.

"Unfortunately it was at his own door this time. Nobody can speak highly enough about the man. People sympathised with Mickey over the tragedy of Michaela but at the same time they quickly forget about that and relate it back to football, but sometimes you just have to look a little bit deeper than football every now and again."

If all that wasn't enough, Harte had a serious illness of his own to deal with. He was diagnosed with bladder cancer in early 2015 and received ongoing treatment up until December '17 when he got the all-clear.

A surgical procedure to remove cancerous cells in his bladder caused him to miss his only Tyrone game in 30 years, a league tie against Kerry where a draw wasn't enough to spare the Red Hand from relegation to Division 2. Harte's diagnosis and 30-month treatment never made its way into the public domain until he spoke about it before the 2018 All-Ireland final.

"We knew about it," reveals McCarron. "He missed a game because of it [surgery], the only game he's missed in 30 years. It was weird because he wasn't with us on the bus that day. We all knew about it. We also knew that he got good news when he got the all-clear as well. He's a real good one to keep going."

Despite all the tough days there were plenty of great ones too. His teams played with a hunger and spirit that made them very difficult to play against. He continually kept things fresh by mixing up his backroom team.

He had the man management skills to handle a maverick like Owen Mulligan, to recall Stephen O'Neill before the '08 All-Ireland final and to plant a seed into the back of Conor McKenna's mind by inviting him to train with the seniors shortly before he departed to Australia to pursue an AFL career.

Within weeks of his return, McKenna rejoined the Tyrone panel and quickly became their main man in the absence of McShane.

"I remember training that night well when Conor McKenna came up. I ran over and welcomed him into the team and a few weeks late he was away again," recalls Quinn.

While some outside the camp speculated that Harte kept his distance from players, it's clear that he was able to continually relate with the younger generations with each passing year.

"I saw Richie Donnelly had a photograph up away on a team holiday of Mickey Harte on the back of a scooter with him!" laughs Quinn. "Them things are priceless.

Screenshot 2020-11-17 at 5.34.13 p.m.'Driving that scooter was real pressure,' wrote Richie Donnelly in his Instagram caption.
Source: Richie Donnelly/Instagram

"It shows the character of Mickey Harte, the way the thing has transformed and players are of a different generation now. They're all wearing tight jeans and no socks. Rave music beating through the changing rooms.

"I found that weird when I came back from injury one time and Darren McCurry and them boys had the speaker pumped up full blast. I said, 'Jesus Mickey's gone wile soft in his old age.' He reinvented himself along with the new generations and he has to be given great credit for that."

McCarron agrees. "In his early days he was more prone to just wanting to do his ways and ideas, whereas as the years went on he opened up to changing this. I suppose you have to change with the times.

"The likes of [Brian] Dooher and them boys when I came through as a young fella, like I hardly spoke to them lads. Nearly sitting with fear and looking up in aye in the changing room. Whereas you have young lads coming in now and they'd be nearly slagging you off.

"Just different generations, with a bit of cockiness and arrogance. But you have to move with the times. Music in the changing room and all this, he's seen an awful lot from '03 till now. If he didn't move with the times he probably would have been gone a while ago, but he did and he changed things up. He brought Gavin Devlin and all into his backroom team."

Both men warn that those who hoped for Harte's departure should be careful of what they wish for. They point out how he kept Tyrone competing at the top table when he didn't have the same quality of player available to him as he did in the noughties.

"Maybe we were punching a wee bit above our weight certain years and I believe it was down to him as manager bringing us to that level," says McCarron.

"It's a hard one to call. A new fresh face and voice could change things up but the record he set and expectations for the county, if you weren't winning an All-Ireland – even if you won an Ulster title – it was probably seen as a failed year."

And it may not be long before he finds himself on the sideline in some capacity again.

"I can see him going into a management job really soon. That's just the way he is. I can't see him sitting still. Whether it be a club management job, I can't see him taking another county – I just can't see him doing it.

"But I can see him taking a club or being involved in a club in some way. But no the man will not sit down and just stay still. He's just that type. He loves his football so he'll be on the sideline somewhere pretty soon I'd say."
Post by: lenny on November 19, 2020, 07:07:58 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 19, 2020, 03:33:46 PM
https://www.the42.ie/mickey-harte-legacy-tyrone-5270186-Nov2020/

'A lot of those Tyrone players had been through tragedies. Unfortunately it was at his own door this time'
Former Tyrone players Cathal McCarron and PJ Quinn give an insight into Mickey Harte the man.

"[The last 48 hours have] been very busy on the phone. Every minute you set it down there's another beep on the phone, but generally it was all good anyway. That was the nice thing about it. But I'm very happy with the decision that's been made and it's time to let somebody else have a go at the reins and I wish them all the very best. Whoever that is that takes over I hope they continue to keep Tyrone at the top table and as high up the table as possible."

WHEN MICKEY HARTE reflected on the end of his lengthy tenure as Tyrone senior football manager on the BBC's Ulster championship coverage on Sunday afternoon, he looked like a man content with his decision. The events of last week brought an end to Harte's 30 unbroken years as manager of the county's minor, U21 and senior teams.

It was a remarkably successful period in Tyrone's history. The great team of the noughties changed the game forever, landing the Sam Maguire three times in 2003, '05 and '08. Even discounting all that and taking his reign from '09 onwards, with four Ulster titles and an All-Ireland final appearance, he'd go down as the greatest Tyrone manager of all-time.

Two men who sent through text messages congratulating Harte on his career over the weekend were former Red Hand defenders Cathal McCarron and PJ Quinn, both members of the '08 All-Ireland winning squad. Speaking to The42, they discuss Harte in glowing terms, offering insight into his greatness as a manager and a man.

First and foremost, McCarron was relieved to see the Harte era end without a fallout between him and the county board.

"I was hoping for that myself, that things would go smoothly and there wouldn't be bitterness," he says. "Thank God that's the way it has went and it has been a smooth process. He deserves that for all he's done with Tyrone but it could have went a bit better and it could have went the other way as well just as easily.

"So I'm delighted that it didn't go that way, he can go to games and be held as one of the best managers in the game.

"I can see now that he seems to be happy. I don't think he wanted to walk away but I kind of feel just even messaging him the other night, and from listening to him on TV, he actually seems to be in a better place. He seems to be happy with his decision, with nearly a wee bit of a weight lifted off his shoulders."

He was tactically innovative, typified by his reinvention of several key players. He converted Sean Cavanagh and Cathal McShane into devastating full-forwards a decade apart, Joe McMahon to full-back for an All-Ireland final against Kerry's twin towers and Cormac McAnallen to one of the game's best full-backs before his untimely death.

McAnallen's passing showcased how Harte handled the various tragedies that came his way with immense dignity and grace. Arthur Mallon, Paul McGirr, Kevin Hughes's brother and sister, McAnallen, Harte's daughter Michaela and, most recently, Jonny Curran were all heartbreaking losses to overcome.

"He's been through his fair share of problems, personally himself and for other people as well. You could say he's probably lived two or three lives because all he's been through, manys a person wouldn't have seen half the stuff he's seen," McCarron says.

"From where I was there in '08 I didn't see his passion drop one bit if anything it just got greater, and that was with tragedy in the middle of all that. I couldn't speak highly enough of him as a manager and as a person. He's first class."

He selflessly travelled the length and breadth of the country for speaking arrangements over the years, offering words of hope to others dealing with unspeakable misfortunes and looking for nothing in return.

John Connellan recently tweeted that he "would never forget" Harte's speech to the 2006 Westmeath minor panel after they lost team-mate Darren Price in a car accident just days after lining out with the side in the Leinster championship.

"Mickey was more than just a manager," says Quinn.

"I can only personally speak for myself. There were different things I was going through...Mickey personally stood by me in different situations that I don't need to disclose in the media. I know of other players that he helped in the background and went out of his way to help. Mickey was always there to defend his players first and foremost."

McCarron's crippling gambling addiction saw him sink to horrific depths, but through it all Harte never gave up on him. At the worst moments, he offered a beacon of hope, delivered without judgment.

There was the January afternoon in 2010 when McCarron was two months into his first stint in Cuan Mhuire treatment centre when Harte paid an unexpected visit.

He brought the player's Celtic Cross from the 2008 victory – McCarron had missed the All-Ireland winners' banquet as his life had started to spiral out of control. Midweek visitors were not permitted, but as McCarron wrote in his book "they weren't going to turn Mickey Harte away."

Recalling that day now, McCarron says: "I remember it very well. He just landed in, I wasn't aware he was coming at all. It was kind of a surprise. We went into a room anyway. He landed with a medal and gave me a bit of a talk."

Harte offered words of encouragement. He told McCarron the book wasn't closed on his Tyrone career, not by a long shot.

"If you focus on life, and on living life well, just think of all the possibilities out there," Harte said. "Look at the football you were playing, with all that hell in your life. Imagine, just imagine, what you really could do if you got all of this sorted out."

"It was a great moment for me being a young fella," says McCarron. "It was a wee driving point for me in my life at that stage. I was saying to myself that I wanted to get back to where I was and make a name for myself playing for Tyrone and have a good career. I'll always be thankful for him doing that because he obviously didn't have to do it but that's the kind of man he is.

"I just heard Peter Canavan speak on Sunday about how he's done an awful lot for people that nobody knows about and continues to do so. I would second that. I do know a lot of stuff he has done for people that people don't know about. You really couldn't say a bad word about the man because he'd go out of his way to help anybody."

McCarron fell off the wagon again and endured an even more tumultuous period of his life. Living in London, such was the extent of his downfall he appeared in a gay pornographic movie in order to pay off gambling debts.

But after completing rehabilitation in Cuan Mhuire in Newry in 2014, the call came from Harte to rejoin the Tyrone panel. A year later he was an All-Star nominee.

"Again in 2014 when a lot of people mightn't have given me the chance. That's who he is and I suppose I owe him a lot for igniting my career.

"As a man, a person and manager I couldn't speak highly enough of him. Even taking away the sentimental value, he's very good at what he does. As a person as well, his faith and belief is powerful."

That faith was never more important to Harte when he lost Michaela in tragic circumstances in January 2011. Almost ten years on from her murder while on honeymoon, McCarron and Quinn marvelled at Harte's strength to soldier on in the darkest of days.

"I was there on the panel," recalls McCarron. "I was in utter shock, complete and utter shock. I remember even the couple of weeks after that, before Michaela had even come home, we were up at the house. I think I was up there twice. We were just up with Mickey and that as players and it was a bit surreal. It was a real mad time. It was really hard to know what to say.

"All wakes and funerals are hard to talk to people that have lost loved ones but I think it was worse there given the circumstances that had happened him. I think he just buried himself in football. It wasn't really mentioned to us when we went to training. We all knew but nobody really said much about it. It just continued on.

"Obviously if Mickey needed time or anything we were there to support him. But I think the energy he got from being at training kept him going and that's what drove him forward. He learned to deal with it because he had the football. I do believe if he didn't have the football it would have been a lot harder for him."

Quinn remembers the days and weeks that followed as "very, very tough."

"I can't believe the character of the man that he was fit to come through it," he says. "It was an awful tragedy. It hit the team, the community and more importantly forgetting everything else, it hit Mickey and his family. I remember us playing Donegal in the first game Mickey came back, we played up in Edendork.

"We were getting ready for the game when Mickey came in and everybody just gave him a round of applause. It just really showed there's so much more important things than football. It's not about medals and trophies, it's about memories and Mickey has given the GAA some amount of memories.

"The GAA was very good to Mickey at that time too and stood by him. He said it openly in interviews as well that only for it, it gave him the strength to help him get through. It was a tough time. I know a lot of those Tyrone players had been through tragedies before.

"Unfortunately it was at his own door this time. Nobody can speak highly enough about the man. People sympathised with Mickey over the tragedy of Michaela but at the same time they quickly forget about that and relate it back to football, but sometimes you just have to look a little bit deeper than football every now and again."

If all that wasn't enough, Harte had a serious illness of his own to deal with. He was diagnosed with bladder cancer in early 2015 and received ongoing treatment up until December '17 when he got the all-clear.

A surgical procedure to remove cancerous cells in his bladder caused him to miss his only Tyrone game in 30 years, a league tie against Kerry where a draw wasn't enough to spare the Red Hand from relegation to Division 2. Harte's diagnosis and 30-month treatment never made its way into the public domain until he spoke about it before the 2018 All-Ireland final.

"We knew about it," reveals McCarron. "He missed a game because of it [surgery], the only game he's missed in 30 years. It was weird because he wasn't with us on the bus that day. We all knew about it. We also knew that he got good news when he got the all-clear as well. He's a real good one to keep going."

Despite all the tough days there were plenty of great ones too. His teams played with a hunger and spirit that made them very difficult to play against. He continually kept things fresh by mixing up his backroom team.

He had the man management skills to handle a maverick like Owen Mulligan, to recall Stephen O'Neill before the '08 All-Ireland final and to plant a seed into the back of Conor McKenna's mind by inviting him to train with the seniors shortly before he departed to Australia to pursue an AFL career.

Within weeks of his return, McKenna rejoined the Tyrone panel and quickly became their main man in the absence of McShane.

"I remember training that night well when Conor McKenna came up. I ran over and welcomed him into the team and a few weeks late he was away again," recalls Quinn.

While some outside the camp speculated that Harte kept his distance from players, it's clear that he was able to continually relate with the younger generations with each passing year.

"I saw Richie Donnelly had a photograph up away on a team holiday of Mickey Harte on the back of a scooter with him!" laughs Quinn. "Them things are priceless.

Screenshot 2020-11-17 at 5.34.13 p.m.'Driving that scooter was real pressure,' wrote Richie Donnelly in his Instagram caption.
Source: Richie Donnelly/Instagram

"It shows the character of Mickey Harte, the way the thing has transformed and players are of a different generation now. They're all wearing tight jeans and no socks. Rave music beating through the changing rooms.

"I found that weird when I came back from injury one time and Darren McCurry and them boys had the speaker pumped up full blast. I said, 'Jesus Mickey's gone wile soft in his old age.' He reinvented himself along with the new generations and he has to be given great credit for that."

McCarron agrees. "In his early days he was more prone to just wanting to do his ways and ideas, whereas as the years went on he opened up to changing this. I suppose you have to change with the times.

"The likes of [Brian] Dooher and them boys when I came through as a young fella, like I hardly spoke to them lads. Nearly sitting with fear and looking up in aye in the changing room. Whereas you have young lads coming in now and they'd be nearly slagging you off.

"Just different generations, with a bit of cockiness and arrogance. But you have to move with the times. Music in the changing room and all this, he's seen an awful lot from '03 till now. If he didn't move with the times he probably would have been gone a while ago, but he did and he changed things up. He brought Gavin Devlin and all into his backroom team."

Both men warn that those who hoped for Harte's departure should be careful of what they wish for. They point out how he kept Tyrone competing at the top table when he didn't have the same quality of player available to him as he did in the noughties.

"Maybe we were punching a wee bit above our weight certain years and I believe it was down to him as manager bringing us to that level," says McCarron.

"It's a hard one to call. A new fresh face and voice could change things up but the record he set and expectations for the county, if you weren't winning an All-Ireland – even if you won an Ulster title – it was probably seen as a failed year."

And it may not be long before he finds himself on the sideline in some capacity again.

"I can see him going into a management job really soon. That's just the way he is. I can't see him sitting still. Whether it be a club management job, I can't see him taking another county – I just can't see him doing it.

"But I can see him taking a club or being involved in a club in some way. But no the man will not sit down and just stay still. He's just that type. He loves his football so he'll be on the sideline somewhere pretty soon I'd say."

He'll be impossible to replace. It's a disgrace the way he was shafted by the tyrone county board.
Post by: rrhf on November 20, 2020, 08:05:36 AM
Different opinions should always be welcome. Dosent mean they are right and sometimes decisions taken based on opinions  can be wrong, such is life. To term correct process as shafting is incorrect. There is also a cruel to be kind scenario here. In comparison what you guys did to Eamon Coleman 1 year after winning Sam over losing 1 championship game against the eventual champions was the worst single action done in Derry GAA history, but as you know it left Derry football divided, self loathing and uncompetitive for 3 generations now. You guys are still under serving a sentence for that and feed off the morsels and scraps of real life that goes on around you, you haven't been even able to agree where your home pitch should be...
Post by: Taylor on November 20, 2020, 08:24:25 AM
Quote from: rrhf on November 20, 2020, 08:05:36 AM
Different opinions should always be welcome. Dosent mean they are right and sometimes decisions taken based on opinions  can be wrong, such is life. To term correct process as shafting is incorrect. There is also a cruel to be kind scenario here. In comparison what you guys did to Eamon Coleman 1 year after winning Sam over losing 1 championship game against the eventual champions was the worst single action done in Derry GAA history, but as you know it left Derry football divided, self loathing and uncompetitive for 3 generations now. You guys are still under serving a sentence for that and feed off the morsels and scraps of real life that goes on around you, you haven't been even able to agree where your home pitch should be...

;D ;D ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on November 20, 2020, 08:43:54 AM
Different opinions should always be welcome*. Dosent mean they are right and sometimes decisions taken based on opinions  can be wrong, such is life. To term correct process as shafting is incorrect. There is also a cruel to be kind scenario here. In comparison what you guys did to Eamon Coleman 1 year after winning Sam over losing 1 championship game against the eventual champions was the worst single action done in Derry GAA history, but as you know it left Derry football divided, self loathing and uncompetitive for 3 generations now. You guys are still under serving a sentence for that and feed off the morsels and scraps of real life that goes on around you, you haven't been even able to agree where your home pitch should be...

* Unless you're from those pesky rivals Derry ;D

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 20, 2020, 08:49:52 AM
Methinks someone needs to learn what a generation is

"Single worst action in GAA history"......i have no words
Post by: GJL on November 20, 2020, 09:07:43 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 20, 2020, 08:43:54 AM
Different opinions should always be welcome*. Dosent mean they are right and sometimes decisions taken based on opinions  can be wrong, such is life. To term correct process as shafting is incorrect. There is also a cruel to be kind scenario here. In comparison what you guys did to Eamon Coleman 1 year after winning Sam over losing 1 championship game against the eventual champions was the worst single action done in Derry GAA history, but as you know it left Derry football divided, self loathing and uncompetitive for 3 generations now. You guys are still under serving a sentence for that and feed off the morsels and scraps of real life that goes on around you, you haven't been even able to agree where your home pitch should be...

Derry are hardly rivals....  Couldn't beat eggs.
Post by: square_ball on November 20, 2020, 09:09:59 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 20, 2020, 08:49:52 AM
Methinks someone needs to learn what a generation is

"Single worst action in GAA history"......i have no words

In fairness he did say Derry GAA history.
Post by: clarshack on November 20, 2020, 10:07:52 AM
Quote from: GJL on November 20, 2020, 09:07:43 AM

The Tyrone / Derry rivalry was probably at it's height from 1991-2006. Don't think we've been worried about Derry since as Donegal then took on the mantle.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 20, 2020, 10:25:06 AM
Quote from: clarshack on November 20, 2020, 10:07:52 AM

The Tyrone / Derry rivalry was probably at it's height from 1991-2006. Don't think we've been worried about Derry since as Donegal then took on the mantle.

Tyrone and Derry are rivals in the way that Liverpool and Tranmere Rovers are rivals. Geographically close, but thats where the comparisons end. Good for a once a year pre-season game to help get lads a run out and get them match fit.
Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on November 20, 2020, 12:50:22 PM
I think we should fine out who the members are of the County Board involved in this decision, because in 5 years time we will look back and say these were the people that delivered our  Arsne Wenger moment when Mickey was forced out.
Post by: JoG2 on November 20, 2020, 01:11:24 PM

Probably true, but if we got a run at Tyrone in the wide open spaces of the 03 Arena...

For a county so dismissive of their neighbours, we're never too far away for your thoughts

*enter Tyrone poster boy Angelo stage left....
Post by: delgany on November 20, 2020, 05:25:04 PM
Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on November 20, 2020, 12:50:22 PM
I think we should fine out who the members are of the County Board involved in this decision, because in 5 years time we will look back and say these were the people that delivered our  Arsne Wenger moment when Mickey was forced out.

https://tyronegaa.ie/county-board/
Post by: In hiding on November 20, 2020, 05:46:44 PM
Quote from: delgany on November 20, 2020, 05:25:04 PM
Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on November 20, 2020, 12:50:22 PM

https://tyronegaa.ie/county-board/

CRUCIFY THEM!!
Post by: Angelo on November 20, 2020, 06:29:15 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 20, 2020, 01:11:24 PM

Probably true, but if we got a run at Tyrone in the wide open spaces of the 03 Arena...

For a county so dismissive of their neighbours, we're never too far away for your thoughts

You're kidding yourself there, we are constantly having to run the Derry voyeurs from the Tyrone forums.
Post by: JoG2 on November 20, 2020, 08:13:07 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 20, 2020, 06:29:15 PM

You're kidding yourself there, we are constantly having to run the Derry voyeurs from the Tyrone forums.

Ah ha ha! 'Derry On My Mind' - Angelo
Post by: JimStynes on November 20, 2020, 08:32:53 PM
Mickey Harte was a busted flush, Angelo
Post by: Olly on November 20, 2020, 10:56:27 PM
rrfh raises a lethal point.

Why are Derry ones so obtuse?
Post by: restorepride on November 20, 2020, 11:16:24 PM
Quote from: Olly on November 20, 2020, 10:56:27 PM
rrfh raises a lethal point.

Why are Derry ones so obtuse?
Because the oul doll is from Tyrone?!
Post by: sid waddell on November 21, 2020, 01:07:48 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 20, 2020, 10:25:06 AM
Quote from: clarshack on November 20, 2020, 10:07:52 AM

Tyrone and Derry are rivals in the way that Liverpool and Tranmere Rovers are rivals. Geographically close, but thats where the comparisons end. Good for a once a year pre-season game to help get lads a run out and get them match fit.
Ah that's a ridiculous comparison now - I wouldn't compare Tyrone to Tranmere Rovers at all

Tyrone v Derry is more like Norwich v Ipswich or maybe Portsmouth v Southampton

Post by: Angelo on November 21, 2020, 10:25:59 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 20, 2020, 08:13:07 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 20, 2020, 06:29:15 PM

Ah ha ha! 'Derry On My Mind' - Angelo

You're kidding yourself, we're regularly having to run Lenny and Screen from the Tyrone forums. It's sad that Derry men take more interest in Tyrone football than their own county.
Post by: screenexile on November 23, 2020, 08:27:29 PM
Louth!!!  :o :o
Post by: Targetman on November 23, 2020, 08:28:56 PM
Him and Horse!!
Post by: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:33:23 PM
Deep pockets in Louth
Post by: clarshack on November 23, 2020, 08:34:28 PM
So that's Louth GAA not talking to RTE now?
Post by: Main Street on November 23, 2020, 08:37:39 PM
Quote from: clarshack on November 23, 2020, 08:34:28 PM
So that's Louth GAA not talking to RTE now?
That wouldn't be too hard, Louth haven't talked to RTE since Sluddengate.
Post by: screenexile on November 23, 2020, 08:46:18 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:33:23 PM
Deep pockets in Louth

What do you mean sure it's all about Mickey's love of the game he truly is a saint!!
Post by: lenny on November 23, 2020, 09:08:26 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:33:23 PM
Deep pockets in Louth

They're hoping all the smuggling after Brexit will pay his salary.
Post by: BennyCake on November 25, 2020, 10:39:56 PM
Fergal Logan and Brian Dooher the new Tyrone managers.

They have big boots to fill. It's not going to be easy for them with only one shoe each.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 25, 2020, 10:50:41 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 25, 2020, 10:39:56 PM

They have big boots to fill. It's not going to be easy for them with only one shoe each.

Huge boots to fill, was there a need for joint managers?
Post by: sid waddell on November 25, 2020, 11:01:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 25, 2020, 10:39:56 PM

Who's Art and who's Eugene?

Or who's Evans and who's Houllier?
Post by: Rossfan on November 25, 2020, 11:48:06 PM
Joint managers haven't a great record.
Post by: johnnycool on November 26, 2020, 09:25:08 AM
Depends on their dynamic.

Have they not worked together with the U20's/U21's?
Post by: Rois on November 26, 2020, 10:51:55 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 26, 2020, 09:25:08 AM
Depends on their dynamic.

Have they not worked together with the U20's/U21's?

They are very complementary in terms of personalities and roles within the team. Perhaps the joint appointment is to differentiate Brian's role from the rest  of the back room team?

Both played under Art and Eugene in their careers so have seen how joint managers work.
Post by: Seaney on November 26, 2020, 10:56:48 AM
Least they will have the best legal advice on how to drop a knee on someone's throat legally.