Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: geezer on September 26, 2023, 02:36:35 PMWhere has Ciaran Bradley been at? Injured i take it?

A class act, wondered where he had gone. Gone for good?

Quote from: ck on September 27, 2023, 06:07:22 PM
Quote from: belfastsaff on September 26, 2023, 02:15:09 PMSt brides are a laugh. Pull men from here, there and tim buck fecking 2!!! If the downeys head back to lavey at any stage they will find themselves relegated with out a doubt. The sledging i heard on sunday from them was nothing short of embarrassing.

They must have put there b*lls under their skirts before the cargin game!!!

rant over. Makes for an interesting final.

The paddies also ran glenravel close on saturday - glenravel should finish the job now a good blend of age in the team.

Does sledging not go on in most games these days? Maybe Sunday was worse? Yes take the Downeys out of that team and there isnt much else. I can't see them going back to Lavey tbh as they've truly shafted their former clubmates.

Happens in every game, be it goading yehoooooing scores/frees/tackles or your ma jokes!!

I'm a bit old for that shite in my playing days, had you said anything it would have been followed by a punch in the gub! And the ref would have said "you asked for that"

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 27, 2023, 07:29:10 PM
Quote from: ck on September 27, 2023, 06:07:22 PM
Quote from: belfastsaff on September 26, 2023, 02:15:09 PMSt brides are a laugh. Pull men from here, there and tim buck fecking 2!!! If the downeys head back to lavey at any stage they will find themselves relegated with out a doubt. The sledging i heard on sunday from them was nothing short of embarrassing.

They must have put there b*lls under their skirts before the cargin game!!!

rant over. Makes for an interesting final.

The paddies also ran glenravel close on saturday - glenravel should finish the job now a good blend of age in the team.

Does sledging not go on in most games these days? Maybe Sunday was worse? Yes take the Downeys out of that team and there isnt much else. I can't see them going back to Lavey tbh as they've truly shafted their former clubmates.

Happens in every game, be it goading yehoooooing scores/frees/tackles or your ma jokes!!

I'm a bit old for that shite in my playing days, had you said anything it would have been followed by a punch in the gub! And the ref would have said "you asked for that"

Is there any rules on it? i know there was big talk about it on the county scene a few years back, but if you were to overhear anything (which is unlikely) have you any powers to do anything?

antrimman667

Any new call ups for the Antrim panel this year? any people should get the buzz?

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: antrimman667 on September 29, 2023, 11:50:30 AMAny new call ups for the Antrim panel this year? any people should get the buzz?

Surely the whole Dunloy team should get a call up they set football ablaze in the county by all accounts

NorthAntrim

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on September 29, 2023, 11:54:53 AM
Quote from: antrimman667 on September 29, 2023, 11:50:30 AMAny new call ups for the Antrim panel this year? any people should get the buzz?

Surely the whole Dunloy team should get a call up they set football ablaze in the county by all accounts

They have a few standout players but their sucess is built off letting the handbrake off and trying to play football. Not every team does that

Seann Elliott would be an excellent addition to the panel. As far as i know D Smyth has been asked before an refused

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on September 29, 2023, 11:54:53 AM

Taking div 3 footballers would certainly raise a few eyebrows

saffron123

Seann Elliott would be an excellent addition to the panel. As far as i know D Smyth has been asked before an refused

That is incorrect.

EOC1923

Some hype about Dunloy this last week and hopefully a lot more this coming week. Hype in the media, social media that is.

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:06:13 PMSome hype about Dunloy this last week and hopefully a lot more this coming week.

Understandable seeing they are a div3 team and haven't been in a final for over 80 years?

Would be fair enough, no?

Jeze yous are a bit hard on them lol

In fairness I haven't seen much about it

antrimman667

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2023, 01:12:37 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:06:13 PMSome hype about Dunloy this last week and hopefully a lot more this coming week.

Understandable seeing they are a div3 team and haven't been in a final for over 80 years?

Cargin will get their fill of it

EOC1923

Absolutely nothing wrong with it, just remarked there had been a lot of hype.

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:26:48 PM

Absolutely nothing wrong with it, just remarked there had been a lot of hype.

Can't see them being too worried about the hype considering most the panel were involved in an All Ireland Club final. They've nothing to lose either. All the pressure is on Cargin really. And all their players have been here before too so I can't see the occasion getting the better of any team.

SaffronSports

The Dunloy lads couldn't be feeling much more confident than they do atm. Win or lose they've achieved something nobody outside Dunloy thought they could. If they lose this it will be purely because Cargin are a better football team. Can't see it being about fitness, desire or the occasion, purely football ability. Cargin should win, they have a great team but they'll no doubt have to play well to beat this team. They're more than capable of it and 9 out of 10 times they'd  win it but Dunloy will have no fear whatsoever.

Dunsilly King

They are not a division three team. Don't be so insulting to them. They play there best players in the championship, explaining why they are in the final, if they had of played the players they played in the league they would have been stuffed in the first round.