GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 06:54:44 PM

Title: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3pm Saturday. Live on RTE
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 06:54:44 PM
Its winnable  :)
Title: Re: Wicklow v Down
Post by: downman on July 12, 2009, 06:56:22 PM
we could have got worse draws...
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 07:00:55 PM
Well Wicklow have already beaten 2 Ulster teams. They are hard to beat in Aughrim. Still as big a shithole as it was in the 70's.
Post by: bcarrier on July 12, 2009, 07:01:13 PM
Forget your traditional county prejudice . This is a very tricky fixture for Down.  I would have Wicklow under Micko as marginal favourites.

Post by: bennydorano on July 12, 2009, 07:06:43 PM
Be interesting to see the betting on this one alrite.  Think I'd fancy Wicklow.
Post by: Atticus_Finch on July 12, 2009, 07:07:23 PM
Think that's a good draw for Down.  They surprised a few people when they beat Laois by a comfortable margin. With their confidence up again, they've got a good chance.  I'd say the bookies would have Wicklow as favourites after dispatching Fermanagh and Cavan, depending on the price i'd be tempted to have a wee flutter on Down beating them.
Post by: Pangurban on July 12, 2009, 07:10:47 PM
Another good draw, that we can approach with confidence, we will certainly be favourites, even in  Aughrim Wicklow should not trouble us too much
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2009, 07:27:19 PM
A great opportunity for both counties to progress. Wicklow will be hard beaten in Aughrim with a couple of wins under their belt. They have a few good forwards and plenty of guts.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2009, 07:31:26 PM
As bad as Laois were last night,I don't think Down are much better I'd fancy Wicklow to win this
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2009, 07:45:37 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 12, 2009, 07:10:47 PM
Another good draw, that we can approach with confidence, we will certainly be favourites, even in  Aughrim Wicklow should not trouble us too much

They troubled Fermanagh though. How many points was it that Down beat Fermanagh by?  ::) ::)
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 08:01:39 PM
TAM I know you don't have much else to do these days but that, like youse, is history. Malachy O'Rourke had 6 months to prepare for that match and we know they are a limited but well organised side.They had nothing left after that whereas we have improved.
I don't fall for this great Micko stuff-I've met him and admire his record but he's a grumpy old get who has no respect for what Down achieved in either the 60s or the 90s.Just like yourself TAM.Down to win on the road and a handy draw with a provincial finalist could see us in the quarters .Bring it on.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 08:02:23 PM
Isnt it great that we can still provide a bit of interest for the Armagh posters, when Down go out they`ll have nothing left to complain about  ::)
I suppose they were all cheering for Kildare today.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2009, 08:05:00 PM
If youse can't see how arrogant Pangurban's post was then there's something seriously wrong.

And yes, Trevor I was hoping Kildare would win. At least that's a more positive thing to be at than hoping your own county lose.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 08:08:51 PM
Nothing arrogant about pangurbans post, he is just saying what he thinks. I am sure the bookies may see it differently, but there is nothing wrong with a bit of optimism.
Anyway, you go and enjoy the cricket, at least you have something to keep you occupied during the summer.
Post by: thewobbler on July 12, 2009, 08:11:54 PM
For the 3rd week in a row, if Down had have been able to handpick their opponents they wouldn't have done much better. Obviously we would have preferred it in Newry, but one thing I would say about Down under Ross Carr is that away trips don't seem to bother us one iota.

Having watched the way Cavan played against Antrim, well let's just say that Wicklow beating them at home is no recommendation of their ability as a football team. The Fermanagh scalp was more impressive, but again, an unsusually good shooting day might have been enough; once you hit 12-13 points against the Erne men you are more or less guaranteed victory as they don't have the forwards to keep up.

So like most Down folks I'd be openly confident on this one.  
Post by: JMohan on July 12, 2009, 08:12:47 PM
A few weeks ago Down were in big trouble ... Wicklow are a tough team and tough for anyone to play down there.
I'd be a bit cautious ... it could be an upset if Wicklow get a decent start and drag Down into a dog fight
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2009, 08:17:30 PM
I'd fancy Wicklow in Aughrim against most sides and the mountain men will be out in force for this one.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 08:23:42 PM
Wobbler, any word on Paul Murphy ?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 08:25:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 08:16:20 PM
It wouldn't be an upset if Wicklow won. They are a handy enough outfit. This will be evens apiece.

Spot on and lets be honest it isn't an upset if Down get beat anymore, but we are still in the competition and are in with a shout of making it to the next round. The draw could have be a lot worse.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 12, 2009, 08:28:52 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 08:23:42 PM
Wobbler, any word on Paul Murphy ?

Dead leg...he'll be grand.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 08:36:47 PM

Good news.Must be the same starting 15 then ?Or would Aidan Carr come in to half-forward line ?
Post by: Denn Forever on July 12, 2009, 09:03:22 PM
So Carr can stay now?

Should be a good game but I'd say Mick O will be feeling quietly confident.
Post by: balladmaker on July 12, 2009, 09:03:49 PM
Wicklow will be favourites, would be an upset if Down were to win this one.
Title: Wicklow v Down
Post by: 5 Sams on July 12, 2009, 09:05:00 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on July 12, 2009, 08:36:47 PM

Good news.Must be the same starting 15 then ?Or would Aidan Carr come in to half-forward line ?

I would leave well enough alone...who would Aidan come in for Maginn?

I would worry about this game....cute oul hoor Micko....I'd say he'd be happy enough with the draw.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2009, 09:08:56 PM
Would expect Wicklow to take another scalp. I've played club matches against Wicklow teams in Aughrim and it really is a tough place to go to. They won't fear Down one bit.

You've got to take your hat off to O'Dwyer. The guy is a living legend. I know lads who were under him with Kildare and they'd have ran through brick walls for him.
Post by: Carbery on July 12, 2009, 09:41:05 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 08:08:51 PM
Nothing arrogant about pangurbans post, he is just saying what he thinks. I am sure the bookies may see it differently, but there is nothing wrong with a bit of optimism.
Anyway, you go and enjoy the cricket, at least you have something to keep you occupied during the summer.

Is Armagh not playing Down in the Ulster Minor Final next Sunday?
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:43:49 PM
Ross could be around next year yet !   ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 09:47:25 PM
If Down win this, I think it would be harsh to get rid of Ross Carr to be honest.
[/quote
Definitely.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:12:31 PM
I Fancy Down to take this
Dont kid yourself that Wicklow are anything other than a very average team who beat a Fermanagh team in disarray and one of the worst team in the country,Cavan.
It might be a step too far more Micko, Down have alot more class than what Wicklow have come up against in their last 2 games.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 12, 2009, 10:20:43 PM
If we had found ourselves away to Cavan next Saturday, they would be favourites. Wicklow beat Cavan by eight yesterday, so it's a serious test for us. For those of us who are out of the country, there is presumably very little chance of live tv.

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:26:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 10:22:02 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:12:31 PM
I Fancy Down to take this
Dont kid yourself that Wicklow are anything other than a very average team who beat a Fermanagh team in disarray and one of the worst team in the country,Cavan.
It might be a step too far more Micko, Down have alot more class than what Wicklow have come up against in their last 2 games.
Jaysus, Down have hardly beat the world though and lost to that Fermanagh team in disarray, who in turn lost to "one of the worst teams in the country, Cavan".

Wicklow were equally as terrible against what has turned out to be an absolutely hopeless Westmeath team though.
I think Down have enough quality at Midfield and in attack to shade this.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 10:28:30 PM
My opinion  of the current management is well known and is not going to change after victories over London and Laois and no matter how Down do this year I would still prefer to see a new manager in place next year.
I have been very critical after some very disappointing results against perceived weaker opposition, but I have to say I think Ross did a good job last night. I hope I am saying the same next Saturday night.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 10:35:59 PM
With the draw in Ulster we should have made it to the Ulster final. Fermanagh as has been shown since are no world beaters and if we had got past them I have no doubt we would be playing Tyrone next Sunday.
My opinion on Ross as a manger is not going to change.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:54:24 PM
A last 12 spot last year
Promotion to Division Two.

i would say you're being a little bit harsh Trevor,But then again
1.You Know Down Football probably better than anyone on this board.
2.I was calling for Tommy Carr's removal in March   :D  :D

Down Talentwise
are a borderline top 8 or top 10 team.

Kerry
Tyrone
Dublin
Galway
Cork
Kildare
Derry
Mayo

would be definetly ahead of them in my opinion, and you could make a case maybe for a few other teams, but a Quarter Final spot is  achieveable with this bunch of players,but anything further is asking a bit too much in my opinion.
Post by: supersub on July 12, 2009, 10:57:39 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 08:08:51 PM
Nothing arrogant about pangurbans post, he is just saying what he thinks. I am sure the bookies may see it differently, but there is nothing wrong with a bit of optimism.Anyway, you go and enjoy the cricket, at least you have something to keep you occupied during the summer.

didnt think id hear this from you this season!!  :o

The game is deff winnable, depends which down team turns up on the day to be frank!
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 10:59:10 PM
I think Ross isn't getting enough out of the players and there are some very strange omissions from the panel, but we wont go into that for now. Also I go to the games, you don't. You are getting your opinion on the manager from the Irish News and this discussion board. At times he has simply watched games go by without making changes when they were needed. All mangers are judged by their results and the results haven't been good enough this year.
But this thread is about the upcoming Wicklow v Down game so can we drop the management issue for now and discuss Saturdays game.
Post by: supersub on July 12, 2009, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:54:24 PM
A last 12 spot last year

Down Talentwise

Kerry
Tyrone
Dublin
Galway
Cork
Kildare
Derry
Mayo

would be definetly ahead of them in my opinion, and you could make a case maybe for a few other teams, but a Quarter Final spot is  achieveable with this bunch of players,but anything further is asking a bit too much in my opinion.

thats a bit of a general statement, why do you say that?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 11:09:34 PM
I am glad we are still in it, especially when others arent. ;)
Anyway, good luck on Sunday, we`ll be there to support you. I just havent broke the news to the boss that we have 2 games to go to this weekend. She`ll be delighted  :D
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 11:13:05 PM
Quote from: supersub on July 12, 2009, 11:08:09 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 12, 2009, 10:54:24 PM
A last 12 spot last year

Down Talentwise

Kerry
Tyrone
Dublin
Galway
Cork
Kildare
Derry
Mayo

thats a bit of a general statement, why do you say that?

From reading his reports on the league games on the Down GAA Thread and some of the match threads on the main board,He seems to have seen the team in nearly every game this year,so id imagine he would be a good judge on how the players and management have progressed throughout the campaign.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 12, 2009, 11:18:20 PM
It would be a bigger upset than James winning in Scarva on Tuesday, but if your not in you cant win and I have to say I am glad for Antrim.

Now Down v Wicklow..................
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 12, 2009, 11:46:39 PM
Draw.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 12, 2009, 11:47:59 PM
Hardstation asked earlier what was expected from Ross at the start of the year. It would probably be fairer to ask what was expected of him during his entire term of office. The answer is just the same as it was for his predecessor, Paddy O'Rourke - a place in the AI quarter finals at any stage.  Paddy was a kick of the ball away from achieving it in his first season, but things went downhill thereafter. While Ross fell at the final hurdle in 2008, a path could be opening up this time round. Down have no divine right to reach the quarter finals, but we have lost out every year since the introduction of the qualifiers in 2001. If we could do it once, we would be able to test ourselves against the best and see exactly where we stand and what we need to do. The manager who gets us there will have pulled off a considerable achievement, and Ross is two games away from it.
Post by: wobbller on July 13, 2009, 10:28:50 AM
 http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/em/fr/-/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8146295.stm
Have  a listen!
Post by: AAAA on July 13, 2009, 10:33:46 AM
Has a time and date been set for this yet?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 13, 2009, 10:45:20 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 09:47:25 PM
If Down win this, I think it would be harsh to get rid of Ross Carr to be honest.

I would disagree with that 100%!

We got beat by possibly the poorest team in Ulster in the championship...

Then we beat the mighty.... London.

A decent win over Laios, ok, but with the players available, I'm of the opinion that Down should be fit for Laios anyway.

We'll see when they meet a decent (or organised) team how they do. It seems then, that the lack of tactical nous from the management is shown up.
Post by: bridgegael on July 13, 2009, 10:46:57 AM
Down by 5
Title: Re: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3pm Saturday
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 13, 2009, 05:19:09 PM
The GAA have confirmed the times and venues for next weekend's championship matches in both hurling and football.

On Saturday the All-Ireland Round 3 Football qualifiers take centre stage with Down's visit to face Wicklow in Aughrim opening proceedings at 3.00pm.

Title: Re: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3PM Saturday
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 13, 2009, 05:39:37 PM
RTE has just said that Wicklow/Down is its live tv match for Saturday. Happy days for those of us on holiday,who can look forward to a busy afternoon in an Irish bar.
Title: Re: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3pm Saturday. Live on RTE
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 13, 2009, 05:56:46 PM
RTE always get the big games.
Post by: corn02 on July 13, 2009, 06:02:44 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 13, 2009, 05:56:46 PM

I believe TV3 had the big pick and with no other big teams involved in any meaningful game they prbably went for the game which will be closest.

I expect the odds to be Wicklow 6/5 Down 5/6.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 13, 2009, 06:27:29 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 13, 2009, 06:02:44 PM

I believe TV3 had the big pick and with no other big teams involved in any meaningful game they prbably went for the game which will be closest.

Wrong way round. Wicklow are 5/6, Down 6/5. The outsiders won't be troubled though.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 13, 2009, 06:30:34 PM

If only there was an Armagh match to show... oh thats right.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 13, 2009, 06:32:28 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 13, 2009, 06:30:34 PM

Indeed ONL, fortune did not favour your home county this year.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 13, 2009, 06:34:34 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 13, 2009, 06:32:28 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 13, 2009, 06:30:34 PM

Indeed ONL, fortune did not favour your home county this year.

True, that and an inept management team, which would ultimately nullify any fortune given.
Title: Re: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3PM Saturday
Post by: supersub on July 13, 2009, 08:59:10 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on July 13, 2009, 05:39:37 PM
RTE has just said that Wicklow/Down is its live tv match for Saturday. Happy days for those of us on holiday,who can look forward to a busy afternoon in an Irish bar.

Where you headin MR?
Post by: Caid on July 13, 2009, 09:17:05 PM

Wicklow should win this game.  I fancy them to reach the quarters.  First year they have had a crack at the qualifiers and they have a point to prove.  A real strong second half team (partly due to Micko's motivating team talks).  They have, in my honest opinion, the best set of forwards that a suspect Down defence has faced this year in league and championship (better than Tipp / Offaly / Louth / Roscommon / Cavan / Limerick / Longford / Fermanagh / London / Laois) and regularly score around 15-20 points in a game (not to mention an impressive goals tally).  Wicklow will be difficult to beat in Aughrim.  Their record over the last two years in League/Championship/Tommy Murphy is pretty impressive (although Micko doesn't pay any heed to the NFL in order to approach the Championship low key).  As shown by some of the posts on here, the Down "tradition" may allow a misguided confidence to seep in and result in their downfall.

Forget about Antrim - Wicklow will be the fairytale story of 2009.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 14, 2009, 10:57:12 AM
I see Ross has started his jibberish talk about Fortress Aughrim - he would rather play Kerry in Newry than Wicklow in Aughrim.  Keep her lit lad.
Post by: western exile on July 14, 2009, 03:06:02 PM
Quote from: Caid on July 13, 2009, 09:17:05 PM

Wicklow should win this game.  I fancy them to reach the quarters.  First year they have had a crack at the qualifiers and they have a point to prove.  A real strong second half team (partly due to Micko's motivating team talks).  They have, in my honest opinion, the best set of forwards that a suspect Down defence has faced this year in league and championship (better than Tipp / Offaly / Louth / Roscommon / Cavan / Limerick / Longford / Fermanagh / London / Laois) and regularly score around 15-20 points in a game (not to mention an impressive goals tally).  Wicklow will be difficult to beat in Aughrim.  Their record over the last two years in League/Championship/Tommy Murphy is pretty impressive (although Micko doesn't pay any heed to the NFL in order to approach the Championship low key).  As shown by some of the posts on here, the Down "tradition" may allow a misguided confidence to seep in and result in their downfall.

Forget about Antrim - Wicklow will be the fairytale story of 2009.

I see the point you are making.  But when applied to both sides it does not look  so good.   Wicklow played the league in Division 4 and only won 3 out of 8 games against ( Antrim / Sligo / Leitrim / Waterford / Clare / Carlow / London / Kilkenny ).  Hardly the best defensive teams in Ireland.  They failed to get promoted from Div 4 after playing these teams, whereas Down did gain promotion to Div 2 after playing the teams you mentioned above!   And Wicklow scored 108 points in 8 league games, that is an impressive 13.5 per game, but less than the 15-20 you claim!   And in the  Championship they scored 1-10 (aet) v. Westmeath, 1-11 v. Fermanagh, and 1-12 v. Cavan. 
Also, how many of Wicklow's opponents to date have a set forwards that are vastly superior to Down's? Not many I would suggest.

Having said all that, I think they are evenly matched teams. And a Wicklow victory is by no means a certainly as you claim.

Down to edge it.

Post by: Caid on July 14, 2009, 03:48:34 PM

I didnt say it was a certainty - merely stating that Wicklow should be favourites.  In one of the last league games O'Dwyer brought on a goalkeeper at FF much to the surprise/dismay of everyone. They reckon he doesn't want the league form to be too good going into the championship...

Out of 16 contests in the Championship and Tommy Murphy Cup over the last three years they have won nine, drew three (twice with Louth in 08) and lost four times (once after extra time).

They score a lot from play, they score a lot of goals and they have decent free takers to boot. Mervyn Travers is my shout for goalkeeper on this years Allstar team (you heard it here first)

In this years Championship they have 2-12 (18 points), 1-10 (13 points), 0-17 and 1-12 (15 points).

In the National League this year they scored 153 points in 8 games which I make an average of 19 points (goals / points) a game (http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_4.html)  which sits towards the upper end of my stated range
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 14, 2009, 03:56:14 PM
I would have Wicklow as slight favourites against this ever improving Down side, though a win certainly isn't beyond us. Good to be playing football at this time of year again and with a bit of luck and a favourable draw we could be playing football in August.
Has Micko ever been part of a winning side against Down?

Post by: western exile on July 14, 2009, 07:15:35 PM
Quote from: Cúig huaire on July 14, 2009, 03:56:14 PM
I would have Wicklow as slight favourites against this ever improving Down side, though a win certainly isn't beyond us. Good to be playing football at this time of year again and with a bit of luck and a favourable draw we could be playing football in August.
Has Micko ever been part of a winning side against Down?

In the NFL Div 1 in the '80s I remember Kerry beating Down at the Marshes.  But NEVER in the championship has Micko either played or coached against Down and won.
Post by: western exile on July 14, 2009, 07:57:05 PM

The draw that Down were given in this years Ulster Championship was... to beat Fermanagh and Cavan for a place in the semi final.  Coincidently, that is the same draw that Wicklow got in the Qualifiers!  Wicklow succeeded where Down failed.
A question that a lot of Down supporters are asking themselves is..., "Had they not  tripped up in Enniskillen, would they have beaten Antrim to make the Ulster final?"  This weekend might give a clue to the answer as Wicklow are on the same level as Antrim. They both have been in the last 2 Tommy Murphy cup finals, winning one apiece. And they are both on the rise in this years Sam Maguire chase, Antrim already in the last 12 and Wicklow one game away from the last 12.
So can Down beat Wicklow, a team of Antrim standard ? 
I believe they can.

Post by: ExiledGael on July 14, 2009, 08:09:17 PM
Quote from: western exile on July 14, 2009, 07:57:05 PM

So can Down beat Wicklow, a team of Antrim standard ? 
I believe they can.

They certainly can.
But Down need to believe that this is also a game they could very easily lose. This will be a really good test for Down and if I was over them I'd take your hand off for a 1 or 2 point win in Aughrim right now. Down need a very good performance or they'll be out, simple as that.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 14, 2009, 10:50:58 PM
Kevin O'Brien insists hard work and not home advantage has been the key to Wicklow's march to Round 3 of the All-Ireland football qualifiers.

The Garden County are on their longest championship run since 1986 after beating Fermanagh and Cavan in Aughrim over the past two weekends, and hopes are high of further progress after they were once again handed home advantage for next Saturday's televised clash with Down.

"It isn't just the Aughrim thing, definitely not," said Wicklow selector O'Brien.

"The lads are really competitive at the moment, they're working extremely hard for each other and it's fantastic to see them getting their reward for that. They're all young lads who have definitely met the challenge."

Wicklow's only All-Star added: "Now we've got Down and you can be sure we'll give them a good welcome to Aughrim.

"The last time we played them, I think was back in the league in 1998 in Aughrim when we beat them. I was playing myself and I think Ross Carr (Down manager) was playing that day too.

"You would always be very wary of Down, they're the kind of team who can punish you in an instant in front of goals, but we've got a nice bit of momentum going now and I hope it'll continue."
Post by: Frank Casey on July 14, 2009, 11:23:14 PM
Boyles Sports have Down at even money with Wicklow at 21/20 (draw 7/1). Match has nothing in it.

I'm sure that Micko would like to repay Down for their cheek in re-inventing football in the 60's. Not that he'd bear a grudge.
Post by: downredblack on July 14, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
We were down in  Aughrim under POR 04 0R 05 and were lucky enough to get a draw that day as I remember . I don't know a whole heap about Wicklow but I heard their mid/field are small enough but lightening quick .I read in one paper that the Wickow forwards would cause plenty of problems for the "poor " Down defence , maybe they will . There was no mention of the Down full forward line of Coulter , McComiskey , Hughes , who on there day could cause problems for anyone .
Will be over in england (newcastle) for the game so hoping to find an Irish bar , was over there last year for the Wexford game ,don't want to be getting the bad news txts this year .

Up Down .
Post by: Caid on July 14, 2009, 11:38:20 PM
Quote from: downredblack on July 14, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
There was no mention of the Down full forward line of Coulter , McComiskey , Hughes , who on there day could cause problems for anyone .

Maybe that's because if you play Hughes and McComiskey as the two inside forwards you have no half forwards worth talking about which, coupled with an inept half back line, means no breaking ball will be won and no ball will be played into the FF line.
Post by: downredblack on July 14, 2009, 11:54:58 PM
All you can judge them on is their last day out , and on a night not suited to football both the half back and half forward lines did rightly . Benny going out the field looking the ball is a far better option than him waiting inside on the long punt .
Post by: western exile on July 15, 2009, 01:32:30 AM
We were down in  Aughrim under POR 04 0R 05 and were lucky enough to get a draw that day as I remember . I don't know a whole heap about Wicklow but I heard their mid/field are small enough but lightening quick .I read in one paper that the Wickow forwards would cause plenty of problems for the "poor " Down defence , maybe they will . There was no mention of the Down full forward line of Coulter , McComiskey , Hughes , who on there day could cause problems for anyone .
Will be over in england (newcastle) for the game so hoping to find an Irish bar , was over there last year for the Wexford game ,don't want to be getting the bad news txts this year .

Up Down .
you remember well. A NFL Div 2B game. I was at that game too. Hugh Kenny was the Wicklow manager at the time
http://www.downgaa.net/downgaa/photos/2004/paulburns/wicklow_nfl/wicklow.htm (http://www.downgaa.net/downgaa/photos/2004/paulburns/wicklow_nfl/wicklow.htm)
Post by: thewobbler on July 15, 2009, 08:51:57 AM
Downredblack - http://www.tynesideirish.com/contact.html

The Irish Centre in Newcastle is your best bet.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 12:02:29 PM
Deal with tough challenge and win game: Carr

By PADDY HEANEY

HAVING experienced Fermanagh's defensive system in the Ulster Championship, Down manager Ross Carr is convinced that he will face a similar challenge in Aughrim at the weekend.

Speaking ahead of Down's Round Three Qualifier game against Mick O'Dwyer's Wicklow side, Carr said: "They will play up to 12 men behind the ball. They will bring their midfielders back and they will play with just two full-forwards."

While Carr has huge respect for Mick O'Dwyer, he was quick to dismiss the idea that the blanket defence was a phenomenon of Ulster football.

The double All-Ireland medallist insisted that the forwards on Micko's legendary Kerry team often withdrew into their own half of the field.

"Pat Spillane and Ger Power and Ogie Moran and John Egan were all great footballers, but more often than not, they picked up the ball in their own defence.

"It's ludicrous to say that the blanket defence is an Ulster thing. Look at the great Dublin team as well.

"Bobby Doyle and David Hickey were great athletes. They never stopped going up and down the pitch," said Carr.

While Carr is conscious that Wicklow will defend in numbers, it hasn't escaped his attention that Micko's men have been chalking up high scores.

Despite being reduced to

13-men, the Garden County still landed 0-17 against Fermanagh. Down could only muster 10 points against the same opposition.

"They have good footballers," said Carr. "Tommy Walsh was playing with Leinster when he was with Carlow. He is a damned good footballer.

"Leighton Glynn has played for Ireland. Seanie Furlong has been a very good footballer during the past four or five years. They have good players and obviously they have the Micko factor.

"He has got the best out of any team he has managed. He gets teams playing to the best of their ability."

But Carr quickly acknowledged that if his team plays to its full potential, then he expects Down to win.

"The fact of the matter is that we are now a Division Two team and Wicklow are still a Division Four team so we should win," he said.

However, the Mourne manager also stressed that raw talent wouldn't be the deciding factor in Saturday's game.

He believes the outcome of the game would hinge on the ability of his players to cope with the partisan support they will encounter in Aughrim.

"Wicklow are always four points a better team when they play in Aughrim," said Carr.

"The fence is just few yards from the sideline and the fence is not that high so you can lean over and whisper sweet nothings.

"I would say umbrellas have been used in the past. I know for a fact that referees have had holidays in the boots of cars.

"It's going to be ferocious. Unless our fellas are ready for the ferocity of that physical and mental challenge we will not win. Ability will have nothing to do with it."
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 12:06:54 PM
Tight match: Bet365, Boyles, Ladbrokes all have Down as faves whilst Paddy Power and Will Hill have Wicklow.
Post by: umpire on July 15, 2009, 12:35:56 PM
Sunday 8th February 2004

Aughrim
NFL DIV 2B
Wicklow 1.5 Down 0.8

Wicklow team and scorers
R Hollingsworth;
C. Hyland, C. Foley, T. Burke;
A. Foley, G. Doran, C. Davis;
C.Clancy, B O hAnnaidh 0.1;
A. Ellis, T. Doyle 0.1, T Harney;
Willie O'Gorman 1.0, Trevor Gill 0.3, A. Furlong;
Subs used
L og Mooney for Harney, S. Hurley for Forlong, B. Sheenan for Davis, S.Byrne for O'Gorman and P. Dalton for Clancy.

Down team and scorers
Michael McVeigh;
Brendan Ward, Alan Molloy, Adrain Scullion;
Ronan Sexton, Sean Ward, Sean Farrell;
Brendan Coulter, Dan Gordon;
Liam Doyle 0.3, John Clarke 0.4, Colm McCrickard;
Eoin McCartan, Aidan O'Prey 0.1, Daniel Hughes;
Subs used
Michael Higgins for B.Ward,  Shane Ward for O'Prey, S. Kearney for McCartan and Martin Cole for McCrickard.
Post by: football-4-life on July 15, 2009, 01:36:56 PM
If down had john clarke, mickey walsh, marty clarke how good would down be?  :-\
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 15, 2009, 02:26:38 PM
Heres the IN match report umpire:

Down held again as Wicklow earn point

NFL Division 2B Round Two Wicklow 1-5 Down 0-8

From Mark Kennedy in Aughrim

09/02/04

Down recorded their second disappointing draw in succession as they came away from Aughrim with a share of the spoils from their Division 2B clash with Wicklow yesterday.

The teams were level four times over the 70 minutes and Hugh Kenny's home side led their opponents on three of those occasions.

Indeed at the final whistle, Kenny was disappointed that he had not taken both league points as he felt that they were the better of the two teams over the 70 minutes.

And Wicklow had their chances to win with Wayne O'Gorman seeing his scorcher of a shot on 52 minutes brilliantly saved at close-range by Down 'keeper Mickey McVeigh.

Two minutes later Brendan O hAnnaidh took off on a great solo run through the Down defence but put his shot wide, while in the last minute Wicklow substitute Stephen Hurley had a chance of a winner but put the ball into the side netting from the edge of the square.

In a dogged and closely fought encounter, there was no score for the last 28 minutes. Wicklow led by 1-4 to 0-6 at half-time.

Aided by the wind in the first-half, the hosts showed they meant business from the word go as Trevor Doyle pointed them ahead after just three minutes. Exchanges were tight and scrappy at times with no quarter asked or given.

In the space of a minute at the end of the first quarter, John Clarke and Liam Doyle, who was also showing well in attack for Down, pointed the Ulster side ahead.

But Wicklow still refused to be cowed by Paddy O'Rourke's side. Less than five minutes later they hit back with the game's only goal.

It was a beauty in its build-up and execution. Trevor Doyle fed a great ball to Tommy Gill on the left wing. Gill picked out substitute Liam Og Mooney in the corner,who passed the ball across the face of the goal for O'Gorman to side-foot to the corner of the net.

Wicklow were back in front, 1-1 to 0-2, after 21 minutes and while Down came back to level in the 27th minute, three smashing points by Gill – two from frees – gave Wicklow a 1-4 to 0-5 lead at the break, Liam Doyle having tacked on another point for Down in the 38th minute.

Down's star centre-forward Clarke pointed the teams level for a third time in the first minute of the second half.

O hAnnaidh restored Wicklow's lead five minutes later and the last score of the game came after just 9 minutes of the second half when full-forward Aidan O'Prey levelled the scores for a fourth and last time with his point.

In the 58th minute Down midfielder Brendan Coulter was provided with an opening but his attempt to sneak a goal was thwarted by an alert Wicklow keeper Robert Hollingsworth.

Down would have expected more than a draw from this match, especially after being held by Tipperary last week, but Wicklow deserved no less than a share of the points from their performance.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 15, 2009, 02:54:17 PM
Quote from: football-4-life on July 15, 2009, 01:36:56 PM
If down had john clarke, mickey walsh, marty clarke how good would down be?  :-\

They would be genuine All Ireland contenders.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 15, 2009, 02:57:00 PM

Up Down .

Not exactly
James Stafford is 6'4 and Thomas Walsh is 6'5
Post by: corn02 on July 15, 2009, 03:13:35 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 15, 2009, 02:54:17 PM

:D :D

Brightened up my day alright.
Post by: full back on July 15, 2009, 03:16:15 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 15, 2009, 02:54:17 PM

You have 2 of them players FFS, either they dont want to play for you or you wont select them
Marty would be playing for NI if he was still at home ;)
Post by: T O Hare on July 15, 2009, 05:09:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 15, 2009, 08:51:57 AM
Downredblack - http://www.tynesideirish.com/contact.html

The Irish Centre in Newcastle is your best bet.

I tried there two weeks ago and they could not show it due to Setantas collapse!!!! its a shithole as well!!!! ;D
Post by: charlie stubbs on July 15, 2009, 06:37:07 PM

i do hope you are on the wind up.  mickey walsh and  j clarke should be in the down panel but have never really cut it for me in championship football.  marty clarke ill give you would be a tremendous addition to any squad, but i think you need a reality check you are arguably in the bottom 3 teams in ulster at the minute.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 15, 2009, 08:18:45 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on July 15, 2009, 06:37:07 PM

i do hope you are on the wind up.  mickey walsh and  j clarke should be in the down panel but have never really cut it for me in championship football.  marty clarke ill give you would be a tremendous addition to any squad, but i think you need a reality check you are arguably in the bottom 3 teams in ulster at the minute.

Mebbe so....but we're still above Armagh at the minute though  :)
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 15, 2009, 10:19:51 PM
Has there been a marked improvement in Down since the Fermanagh game? I haven't been to any of the championship games this year, Saturday will be my first. Just wondering if we had been able to put that defeat behind us. Obviously it is hard to judge the team against London, but I am assuming the performance against Laois was better than what we had seen earlier in the season.
Post by: charlie stubbs on July 16, 2009, 09:14:56 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 15, 2009, 08:18:45 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on July 15, 2009, 06:37:07 PM

Mebbe so....but we're still above Armagh at the minute though  :)

was waiting for that one ::)  a win over london and an awful laois team and you think down are a good side again.  reminds me of the build up to last years ulster semi final.  doubt if your the current ulster champions down can be viewed as a better side after these two wins but ill bow to your superior knowledge
Post by: Lecale2 on July 16, 2009, 09:18:41 AM
Down may not be world beaters but it's still great to be in the Championship in the middle of July.
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 09:48:19 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 16, 2009, 09:18:41 AM
Down may not be world beaters but it's still great to be in the Championship in the middle of July.

A weird thing for you in recent years.

End of the day come the middl of August you will not be in it, which will just be as bad as going out as the start of June.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:13:10 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 09:48:19 AM

End of the day come the middl of August you will not be in it, which will just be as bad as going out as the start of June.

No we were still in the Championship til July last year as well, August in fact.

And your second statement is ridiculous, you are saying wou would rather Armagh got put out by Monaghan than get another couple of games? Complete lie.

If the thread antagonises you so much don't read it!! Go put on the 2002 DVD again.
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 11:15:35 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:13:10 AM

No we were still in the Championship til July last year as well.

And your second statement is ridiculous, you are saying wou would rather Armagh got put out by Monaghan than get another couple of games? Complete lie.

If the thread antagonises you so much don't read it!! Go put on the 2002 DVD again.

Yes in recent years, I did not say last year, read again.

Not a complete lie. I wouldn;t rather it but I wouldn;t rather getting another few games either. Perhaps Down's aspirations are lower over the last few years but getting to a qf or sf is no consolation. If you don;t win the big prize you may as well go out in the first round. So not a complete lie at all. If your not first your last.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:19:45 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 11:15:35 AM

Not a complete lie. I wouldn;t rather it but I wouldn;t rather getting another few games either. Perhaps Down's aspirations are lower over the last few years but getting to a qf or sf is no consolation. If you don;t win the big prize you may as well go out in the first round. So not a complete lie at all. If your not first your last.

Last year is the most recent of the recent years.

Typical bullshit post as well of a team out of the championship, your bitterness is worse than any smugness. Why do most of the teams show up these days seeing as if you're not first you're last. They should just give the cup to Tyrone now.
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 11:27:43 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:19:45 AM

Typical bullshit post as well of a team out of the championship, your bitterness is worse than any smugness. Why do most of the teams show up these days seeing as if you're not first you're last. They should just give the cup to Tyrone now.

Sadly you don't seem to understand that years is plural, but hopefully you can grasp that concept to join in this debate properly.

Not bitter in the slightest. If Down reach the last 12 or 8 and you are are celebrating for that reason, well then, that says it all.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:37:00 AM
Quote from: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 11:27:43 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:19:45 AM

Sadly you don't seem to understand that years is plural, but hopefully you can grasp that concept to join in this debate properly.

Not bitter in the slightest. If Down reach the last 12 or 8 and you are are celebrating for that reason, well then, that says it all.

Of course I understand plural, I make refernce to plural in my post with the word 'years' . I was just saying your argument isn't any good as last year Down were playing championship football in July, as they were the year before that and as they are this year.

I wouldn't be celebrating if they reached that stage, I would be celebrating that they have gone further than Armagh, which they already have but sure no matter.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 11:39:10 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:37:00 AM

Of course I understand plural, I make refernce to plural in my post with the word 'years' . I was just saying your argument isn't any good as last year Down were playing championship football in July, as they were the year before that and as they are this year.

I wouldn't be celebrating if they reached that stage, I would be celebrating that they have gone further than Armagh, which they already have but sure no matter.

Why would you celebrate a neighbouring team doing better than your own county?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:44:31 AM
At least we can take some comfort that we are providing an interest for Armagh fans in the remainder of the championship. It must be very hard for them to have to sit at home this weekend with nothing to do, while Down play on Saturday and Tyrone win another Ulster on Sunday. It must be even worse for the Dromintee posters like Corn02 who had to watch Armagh crash out so early in the year when one of their players was apparently "managing" the team.  ;)
Anyway, this thread is about 2 teams that still have an interest in this years All Ireland, can we stick to that please and we`ll leave the Armagh posters to talk about the minor.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:49:11 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 11:39:10 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 11:37:00 AM

Why would you celebrate a neighbouring team doing better than your own county?

I know ridiculous isn't it, that my parents brought me up going to Down matches, buying me Down tops etc... What right have I to support my parents county when I live right on the border of Armagh and Down.

Nearly as ridiculous as these Irish people claiming to support a foreign team playing a foreign sport, talking about them as if they are part of the backroom team.

'Who are we going to get to replace Ronaldo'

'Now that Ronaldo has gone, we have a chance of closing the gap on them'

As Trevor Hil said I am glad you and corn are getting so much pleasure out of this thread, good on yes.
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 11:52:27 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:44:31 AM
At least we can take some comfort that we are providing an interest for Armagh fans in the remainder of the championship. It must be very hard for them to have to sit at home this weekend with nothing to do, while Down play on Saturday and Tyrone win another Ulster on Sunday. It must be even worse for the Dromintee posters like Corn02 who had to watch Armagh crash out so early in the year when one of their players was apparently "managing" the team.  ;)
Anyway, this thread is about 2 teams that still have an interest in this years All Ireland, can we stick to that please and we`ll leave the Armagh posters to talk about the minor.

Oh boom, boom. The anti-Carr comes up with an unsubstansiated and bullshit jibe in the hope it will rattle me.

Of course it is hard not being involved and seeing Tyrone win. Not hard watching Down because I know we have still probably a better chance of winning Sam this year than they do, and if you don't win it what difference does it matter when you go out?

A poster said it was great being involved in mid-July, I simply pointed out that it doesn;t matter if you go out n Mid July or the start, if you are not walking up the steps of the Hogan in Septemeber then what does it matter?

I would say, at a guess, that Armagh have went further than Down in eight of the last 10 years. That was not a source of celebration for us.

Post by: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:57:33 AM
In light of the last 10 years? Can you explain that one please, my calculator must be broke, I thought you only won 1 All Ireland  ;)

Oh I forgot, football was invented in 2002.  :D
Post by: nrico2006 on July 16, 2009, 11:59:09 AM
Nail, are you not an Armagh man?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 12:00:49 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 16, 2009, 11:59:09 AM

Well he's from Armagh but supports Down. Quite understandable he seems to think. Its alright though because he lives "right on the border".
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:03:09 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:57:33 AM
In light of the last 10 years? Can you explain that one please, my calculator must be broke, I thought you only won 1 All Ireland  ;)

Oh I forgot, football was invented in 2002.  :D

I fixed it for you, I didn;t say light I meant to say eight.

Football may have only been invented in Armagh in 2002 but it hasn't existed in Down since 1994.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 12:05:27 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 12:00:49 PM

Well he's from Armagh but supports Down. Quite understandable he seems to think. Its alright though because he lives "right on the border".

Both my parents are from Down, I was brought up going to Down matches supporting Down. So you are saying I should just start supporting Armagh then?

I think its very understandable for parents to want their children to support the county they are from. Maybe if you inbred South Armagh f**kers ever left your villages you would understand.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 16, 2009, 12:06:40 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 16, 2009, 12:05:27 PM

Both my parents are from Down, I was brought up going to Down matches supporting Down. So you are saying I should just start supporting Armagh then?

I think its very understandable for parents to want their children to support the county they are from. Maybe if you inbred South Armagh f**kers ever left your villages you would understand.

yep...definitely a Down man :D
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:07:14 PM

Ohhh getting ratty, TAC I think you hit a nerve. Those north Armagh ones have always disliked us South Armagh ones. Don;t worry ONL, we're all one county.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 12:10:57 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:07:14 PM

Ohhh getting ratty, TAC I think you hit a nerve. Those north Armagh ones have always disliked us South Armagh ones. Don;t worry ONL, we're all one county.

Ach I don't care any more. I'm away off to support Monaghan. I'm only a mile from the border ya know and sure I sometimes go to Mass in Oram before getting the petrol so I'm pretty much a Monaghan man anyway.

Now where are those Bradley f**kers?!
Post by: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:19:29 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 12:10:57 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 16, 2009, 12:07:14 PM

Ach I don't care any more. I'm away off to support Monaghan. I'm only a mile from the border ya know and sure I sometimes go to Mass in Oram before getting the petrol so I'm pretty much a Monaghan man anyway.

Now where are those Bradley f**kers?!

I went to Trabolgan on holidays when I was a young pup so I might see if I can fish out a Crok jersey. Go on the Rebels!

Post by: Lecale2 on July 16, 2009, 12:21:23 PM
Is there anyway to get to Aughrim avoiding Dublin? How do the tolls on the M1 & M50 operate now?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 12:26:35 PM
Not really, the quickest way is M1, M50, M11/N11. There is no toll bridge on the M50 anymore and you will not have to pay if you are in a northern car, the toll on the M1 is as it was. Think its €1.90
Post by: nrico2006 on July 16, 2009, 12:26:58 PM
I understand the parent influence but I would say it was more a case of Down being successful while ONL was growing up so it wasn't a difficult choice to start following them then, he wasn't to know what was to happen over the years from 99 on
Post by: 5 Sams on July 16, 2009, 12:31:17 PM
You pay cash on the M1 Lecale and pay online for the M50 although that must be done by 8pm the following evening...I think. You can also buy vouchers in some shops in Dundalk. Just a matter of handing over the dough and your Registration details and sin é. Details here http://www.payzone.ie/outlets/

The other way is to do what most Nordies are doing and don't pay at all and hope they dont chase you for the 6 yo yos.

As for a road to Aughrim avoiding Dublin...I'd say that would mean a 3 day camel journey through Kildare or West Co Dublin :-\
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 12:32:41 PM
Nordies pay for something in the South ???
Post by: western exile on July 16, 2009, 05:33:27 PM
16/07/2009 - 15:29:22
Wicklow have named an unchanged side for their All-Ireland SFC qualifier with Down at Aughrim on Saturday.

WICKLOW (SFC v Down): M. Travers; C. Hyland, D. O'hAnnaidh, S. Kelly; P. McWalter, B. McGrath, D. Hayden; J. Stafford, T. Murphy; L. Glynn, T. Hannon, J. P. Dalton; D. Odlum, S. Furlong, P. Earls.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2009, 05:50:27 PM
Poor old Ciaran Hyland won 124K on the National Lottery's television game show a couple of weeks ago and he had holidays booked to Oz but Wicklow keep on winning so he can't spend the money  ;D
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 16, 2009, 09:48:10 PM
Ross Carr has named the same 15 that started against Laois for this Saturdays clash against Wicklow.

The following is the Down team to take on Wicklow on Saturday:

Brendan McVeigh
Ciaran McGovern
Kevin McKernan
Damian Rafferty
Timmy Hanna
Paul Murphy
Conor Garvey
Dan Gordon
Stephen Kearney     
Ambrose Rogers
Conor Maginn
Brendan McArdle
Brendan Coulter
Paul McCumiskey
Daniel Hughes
Post by: swagger on July 16, 2009, 11:30:11 PM
good to see that paul murphy has recovered from injury, also good to see timmy hanna retaining his place after his performance against laois
Post by: swagger on July 16, 2009, 11:39:00 PM
and another thing, wont be able to make it down to the game but the advantage of watching it on tv is that you can turn it over!!! :P
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:49:24 PM
I thought Aidan Carr may have started, wouldn't mind seeing him in the half forward line.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 17, 2009, 12:18:52 AM
A winning team was never likely to be changed, but Carr will be involved at some stage. The problem is deciding his best position.
There was a good case for switching him back to the half forward line until he had a disaster in Enniskillen. By all accounts, he had a stormer against Laois when he come on at centre half. In response to Supersub, I hope to catch the game in a bar somewhere around Cannes.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 17, 2009, 12:27:37 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 16, 2009, 11:49:24 PM
I thought Aidan Carr may have started, wouldn't mind seeing him in the half forward line.

Yeah def think he should be in place off Maginn. Maginn was poor against Laois.
Post by: Pangurban on July 17, 2009, 01:22:54 AM
Would prefer Fitzpatrick partnering Dan at MF
Post by: Lazer on July 17, 2009, 10:15:16 AM
Is the match all ticket?

Post by: Lecale2 on July 17, 2009, 10:58:58 AM
Quote from: Lazer on July 17, 2009, 10:15:16 AM
Is the match all ticket?

Doubt it very much!
Post by: Lazer on July 17, 2009, 11:16:23 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 17, 2009, 10:58:58 AM
Quote from: Lazer on July 17, 2009, 10:15:16 AM
Is the match all ticket?

Doubt it very much!

Thanks, I doubted it 2. Might head down tomorrow then
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 17, 2009, 07:24:44 PM
A Chara,
Aughrim, Co.Wicklow hosts the Third Round of the Football Qualifiers on Saturday 18th July as Wicklow take on Down.
To gain entry please bring your Season Ticket to the Season Stile – Located at the Stand Turnstiles. Look out for the Season Ticket signs.
There is unreserved seating in the stand for this fixture so it's first come, first served.
Best of luck to you and your county this weekend.
Le Meas,
GAA Ticket Office.
Title: Wicklow v Down. Aughrim 3pm Saturday. Live on RTE
Post by: 5 Sams on July 17, 2009, 08:45:35 PM
Absolutely EVERYONE tipping Wicklow for this one...Brolly on the wireless, the pundit and the expert on The Road to Croker, the Gaelic Life, all other newspapers I have read....all because of the Micko factor....
If Wicklow do it it will be Micko's first ever victory against the red and black in any capacity...alright he never met them in the championship as a manager....but is it being over hyped????....fuel for Ross I think....chifimid.
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 17, 2009, 10:15:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 17, 2009, 08:45:35 PM
Absolutely EVERYONE tipping Wicklow for this one

That suits us.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 17, 2009, 11:35:08 PM
Looking like rain for tomorrows game. I hear the "stand" may not be the driest place in the ground.
Post by: BaileChoinnleoraPlayer on July 18, 2009, 01:13:24 AM
theres not a back in the country that can contain coulter and mccomiskey nevermind in wicklow
Post by: Class of 99 on July 18, 2009, 02:13:32 AM
Supposed story from the wicklow people get there early and stand your ground. Obviously a wind up I hope, but told to me by a Wicklow man. Surely they don't think we r made of sugar, and by the way is this not a game of football that is being played. If true quite sad!!!

Post by: Class of 99 on July 18, 2009, 03:07:21 AM
P.S  to the obviously deluded quick mick r whatever he calls himself over on the hogan, let it go use r out don't b bitter what do u expect? Talk me through the history of Laois fb !!!!!!!!!

Post by: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:44:13 AM
Quote from: BaileChoinnleoraPlayer on July 18, 2009, 01:13:24 AM
theres not a back in the country that can contain coulter and mccomiskey nevermind in wicklow

That's why Down are in the Ulster Final on Sunday and Benny Coulter has been top scorer in the Championship for the past five years? Go back to Hoganstand and catch yerself on  ::)
Post by: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:59:22 AM
all because of the Micko factor....

I haven't read those articles but I feel you are talking BS. Wicklow are a good team with quality forwards, a strong midfield, and a class goalkeeper. Micko has done a fine job but he can't kick the points for them or make the tackles if they havent the ability. Typical Down chat. I'm starting to think Down fans are as bad as Tyrone

If Wicklow do it it will be Micko's first ever victory against the red and black in any capacity...alright he never met them in the championship as a manager.

Down had never lost to Fermanagh in the USFC, Wicklow had never beaten Fermanagh bla bla - unless statistics are based on meaningful data then they are just meaningless statistics. If Down and Micko's teams have hardly played in the Champ then it can hardly be a voodoo Down holds over him or something he will use as motivation. He's hardly going to stand up in the dressing room and say "jaysus lads I've love it if we beat them Down one's, love it"

How many defeats to "weaker" teams will it take before Down fans realise that they are no longer in the top 10, nay 15, teams in the Country. Maybe we'll see after tomorrow. But I doubt youse will admit it regardless. It'll be Aidan Carr did this, or Ross Carr should have played him, or if only Benny was fit, or where was Fitzpatrick, or the Aughrim pitch was shocking. But godforbid that the team with five Sams might not the same talent, drive and determination as lowly Wicklow. Sure that couldn't be right - could it?
Post by: goldenyears on July 18, 2009, 08:55:58 AM
Caid relax, we aren't all walking around with red + black tinted glasses!

Wicklow will no doubt be a decent proposition but ross is right

You are a 4th division team, we will be plying our trade in div 2, on that basis we should be looking to win this game on talent alone

Yes wicklow have beaten 2 ulster teams already and I think there will only be a kick of the ball in this game but am def looking + expecting down to come through

Micko is a media factor only

The game will depend on down,s defence producing a similar display to that v laois

And the forward line managing to cope with a blanket style defence

If there is some variety in their play then I think all down supporters fully expect down to win.

That isn't arrogance just a fair level of expectancy v div4 side who have never ever been this far before
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 18, 2009, 09:27:26 AM
Quote from: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:59:22 AM
Down had never lost to Fermanagh in the USFC,

Down lost to Fermanagh in the first round of the Ulster championship in 1982.
Post by: slievegullion on July 18, 2009, 02:18:21 PM
Has anyone got any links where I can watch this online? I cant get it on the RTE website.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 18, 2009, 02:21:47 PM
http://iraqgoals.net/ch1.html

all 3 matches should be on here, cant wait for all 3.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 02:25:07 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 18, 2009, 02:21:47 PM
http://iraqgoals.net/ch1.html

all 3 matches should be on here, cant wait for all 3.

Hope so, thanks
Post by: laoisgaa on July 18, 2009, 02:59:07 PM
Wicklow v Down Live
http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/live/32gb/rte2-450.asx
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 18, 2009, 03:07:15 PM
Fair play to tohill on Walshe, and the dara in commentary the "Carlow man on the ball"

great goal wicklow
Post by: laoisgaa on July 18, 2009, 03:07:21 PM
For anyone using Realplayer
rtsp://89.207.56.50/broadcast/rte2np-450.rm
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 03:21:24 PM
Wicklow look a good bit better than Down. No midfield and no defense. FF line doesn't help them much with that...

Still, might turn around yet.
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 03:32:26 PM
Down are dangerous going forward, Mc Comiskey and Hughes in particular, poor at the back though.  Coulter has been anonymous.
Post by: maldini on July 18, 2009, 03:33:38 PM
anyone know a link to watch the match from outside ireland

Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 03:34:30 PM
If I were a betting man I'd put money on McComiskey to get a goal before that game's over.

Down are picking up a bit. Still not looking as sharp though.

Would the link not be on that other thread?

Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 18, 2009, 03:37:17 PM
Great 1st half, 1-9 to 9, entertaining stuff
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 03:37:28 PM
Quote from: maldini on July 18, 2009, 03:33:38 PM
anyone know a link to watch the match from outside ireland

http://iraqgoals.net/ch1.html (http://iraqgoals.net/ch1.html)
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 03:39:37 PM
Pat having a good whinge I see. I mean its an open game of football between a div 3 and div 4 team. Is this man ever happy. Quite enjoyed it personally.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 03:42:14 PM
It depends on what you enjoy Indiana, it's open and free flowing but it's very poor quality.

Wicklow dont have the class but they're well organised and working hard.  Down are seriouly disorganised, how many of Wicklow's scores have come from silly mistakes?  and is it me or do they keep running in to each other? Coulter doing nothing out the field they may put him in the full forward line. Down would have the beating of Wicklow if they can get the ball in, maybe the wind in the second half will help.   
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 03:45:40 PM
There has been plenty of poor quality from the so called stronger counties, Cork v Limerick, Dublin v Meath, Kerry v Longford etc etc

Big Tohill is well up for a joust with Mrs Doubtfire today.
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 03:49:15 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 03:42:14 PM
It depends on what you enjoy Indiana, it's open and free flowing but it's very poor quality.

Wicklow dont have the class but they're well organised and working hard.  Down are seriouly disorganised, how many of Wicklow's scores have come from silly mistakes?  and is it me or do they keep running in to each other? Coulter doing nothing out the field they may put him in the full forward line. Down would have the beating of Wicklow if they can get the ball in, maybe the wind in the second half will help.   

Its div 3/4 football POG. I don't know what youre expecting- but you aren't going to get top quality football with teams from these levels.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 03:55:28 PM
how was that not a penalty???

your man was dragged down!
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 03:57:02 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 03:55:28 PM
how was that not a penalty???

your man was dragged down!
The ref has is a homer.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 04:01:18 PM
That no 13 has thrown the elbow twice now...
Post by: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:03:30 PM
Down won't win with this ref
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:03:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 04:01:18 PM

He has, I think the ref has been desperate for Down
Post by: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:04:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:03:45 PM

He has, I think the ref has been desperate for Down

That foul against Danny Hughes was an awful decision
Post by: WaterBoy on July 18, 2009, 04:08:21 PM

Couldn't be the case, the commentator says it is a good clean game with none of that stuff! Id say if it was a Down man who threw the elbow twice it would be a different story!
Post by: Shortso79 on July 18, 2009, 04:09:36 PM
Ref has def been more biased towards to Wicklow
Post by: FermPundit on July 18, 2009, 04:10:57 PM
A shocking refereeing performance
Post by: Atticus_Finch on July 18, 2009, 04:12:39 PM
At work here lads,  looking at BBC Sport for the score

WICKLOW 1-12 0-13 DOWN

Is that up to date,  how long to go ?

Cheers
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:14:20 PM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on July 18, 2009, 04:12:39 PM
At work here lads,  looking at BBC Sport for the score

WICKLOW 1-12 0-13 DOWN

Is that up to date,  how long to go ?

Cheers
1-13 to 0-13 to Wicklow
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 18, 2009, 04:15:11 PM
1.13 to 0.14 now.  14 minutes left.

Paul McGrath in the crowd.
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:17:53 PM
Did you see the Wicklow tr**p flicking the Down player in the balls?
Post by: Midman on July 18, 2009, 04:18:52 PM

Carney " Wicklow trying to cut out the all to Benny Tierney" ;D
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:20:14 PM
Yip dirty bastard.ref been really poor for down but they aren't doing themselves any favours.would like to see down get a goal here make it exciting
Post by: fred the red on July 18, 2009, 04:20:58 PM
its a 1 point game now
Post by: tyroneboi on July 18, 2009, 04:22:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:17:53 PM

Should be getting his four week suspension this week if past cases or anything to go by. Commentators never even mentioned it hope Tohill highlights it after the game.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 04:22:33 PM
game on now, can't see wicklow holding on
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:24:08 PM
level.good score benny.not been in the game at all really
Post by: fred the red on July 18, 2009, 04:24:14 PM
classic benny
Post by: Schkite on July 18, 2009, 04:24:44 PM
What a point by Benny, Down finishing the game out well. Level with a few mins left.
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:28:52 PM
3 mins of injury time.could we see extra time?
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 04:29:53 PM
Terrible play-acting to get the free.
Post by: Atticus_Finch on July 18, 2009, 04:30:03 PM
Who's been doing the lions share of the scoring for Down,  Hughes or Mc Comiskey chipped in with any (they are on my dream team).  Did Aidan Carr come on,  what stage did he come on at ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 04:30:19 PM
Jeeze, big miss by Carr but that was no free.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2009, 04:31:36 PM
Balls , these guys can hit frees...
Post by: WaterBoy on July 18, 2009, 04:31:57 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on July 18, 2009, 04:22:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:17:53 PM

Should be getting his four week suspension this week if past cases or anything to go by. Commentators never even mentioned it hope Tohill highlights it after the game.

When Dan Gordon Fielded the ball and hurt his ankle while landing, the wicklow man kicked him on his standing leg, not a word said!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 04:32:11 PM
Jesus why didnt he tip it over the bar
Post by: Schkite on July 18, 2009, 04:32:42 PM
Why on earth didn't he go for the point? Great save though.

Great kick under pressure to win it though, the other fella will be very relieved.
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:32:57 PM
Stafford must be feeling pretty relieved now!
Post by: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:33:24 PM
The auld fella will be going mad, he hates O'Dwyer
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
Seems Micko, not Wicklow has won in Aughrim. Such shite.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2009, 04:34:29 PM
How come the ref signalled three minutes extra, there were no subs, no injuries, but he played 4 1/2 minutes?
Post by: Minder on July 18, 2009, 04:34:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
Seems Micko has won in AUghrim, not Wicklow. Such shite.
He just does it for the love of the game...........€€€€€€€€€€€€€
Post by: Bogball XV on July 18, 2009, 04:34:59 PM
timekeeping is a total joke, it's high time that this was taken out of the referee's hands.
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 04:35:07 PM
Well done Wicklow. Nerves of steel for the winning 45, especially after the guy went for goal when a point would have won it.
Post by: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:35:47 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2009, 04:34:29 PM
How come the ref signalled three minutes extra, there were no subs, no injuries, but he played 4 1/2 minutes?

Should he not have blown up before the 45 (as the Down goalie saved it)?
Post by: tyroneboi on July 18, 2009, 04:36:45 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
Seems Micko, not Wicklow has won in Aughrim. Such shite.

But don't you know Micko just sends his teams out to play with no tactics, blanket defences etc ::)
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2009, 04:37:05 PM
Hannon stood up and was counted today. Love him or loathe him, Micko has doe it again. You just cannot keep a good man down.
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:37:14 PM
Quote from: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:35:47 PM

Should have as it was the last play during the alotted time
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 04:37:34 PM

Anyone willing to give Wicklow some credit?
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2009, 04:38:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2009, 04:37:34 PM

Fair play Wicklow. Another massive result.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 04:38:41 PM
Quote from: glens73 on July 18, 2009, 04:33:24 PM
The auld fella will be going mad, he hates O'Dwyer

I cant stand him either.

That was a great kick at the end.  Down's chance was an easier one too.  

Such shite being talked on RTE, no one will want Wicklow in the next round? (Fair play to them and all that, but C'mon!!) Down were "superb throughout" wtf?  ::)   :D
Post by: WaterBoy on July 18, 2009, 04:39:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 18, 2009, 04:37:34 PM

Yip, they have a great manager  ;D
Post by: laoisgaa on July 18, 2009, 04:41:06 PM
QuoteYip, they have a great manager 

A manager by the name of Arthur French which everyone seems to forget - Micko is only there in an advisory capacity
Post by: CityGael on July 18, 2009, 04:41:22 PM
Thought the only players for down who were anyway good were gordon,ambrose,hughes and mc comiskey. The rest were average at best. Fair play to wicklow, they stood up when under pressure at the end. A lot of good performances from them. Will we see any action taken on the flick of the balls by the wicklow man?
Post by: WaterBoy on July 18, 2009, 04:42:34 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on July 18, 2009, 04:41:06 PM

A manager by the name of Arthur French which everyone seems to forget - Micko is only there in an advisory capacity

Thats who I was referring to, heres to big Artie!
Post by: fred the red on July 18, 2009, 04:45:21 PM
I thought Glynn and Hannon had a good game for Wicklow.
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 04:46:11 PM
Hard to know where Down go after that. Carr will surely go but Down remind me of Laois- can't translate underage form into senior success. Great day for Wicklow - possibly an all time low for Down. If Wicklow got the likes of Limerick they'f fancy their chances bigtime.
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2009, 04:47:28 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on July 18, 2009, 04:41:06 PM

Looks like he is a good advisor then.

I thought he was manager ????? No ??
Post by: D4S on July 18, 2009, 04:49:14 PM
Couldn't get to the game with work! Exciting stuff heart in mouth stuff!

At least they went down fighting, you couldn't call it a lacklustre display, wicklow's workrate was phenomenal...got the feeling the whole way through the game it wasn't goin to be Down's day, certain breaks of the ball and decisions seemed to go wicklow's way.  However I have to add we had many chances goals + point chances to win the game!  Fella's tried hard and there was a gameplan+workrate which was missing in enniskillen.  Hard luck lads, but back to the drawing board for next year again.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2009, 04:52:15 PM
Some nonsense being talked about the effectiveness of Mickos conditioning regime.
Wait till they come up against a team with a bit of pace and power.
They'll be blown out of the water.
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 04:54:22 PM
Very enjoyable game, and will deflate a few Down posters who came out of the woodwork recently.

Both sides kicked good scores.

Down had four changes in their back six from Fermanagh, the lack of a settled side has been a major contributor.

McComiskey could have had  a couple of goals if he had of kept his composure.
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2009, 04:55:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 18, 2009, 04:52:15 PM
Some nonsense being talked about the effectiveness of Mickos conditioning regime.

You are right but they are already punching ay above their weight.

And remember they beat Kildare last year who had a bit of pace and power.
Post by: mountainboii on July 18, 2009, 04:56:58 PM
Down definitely got shafted a couple of times by the ref there, that said they got a free that probably should've won it for them from a pretty blatant dive.

Enjoyable enough game though, despite having to listen to rent-a-cliché Martin Carney constantly getting the names of players, teams and places wrong and generally talking complete nonsense.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2009, 04:57:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 18, 2009, 04:55:00 PM

You are right but they are already punching ay above their weight.

And remember they beat Kildare last year who had a bit of pace and power.

Not back then they didn't.
Geezer was only getting started with them.
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2009, 05:01:08 PM
Big day for Wicklow football
and fxck the Micko begrudgers.

Would have left a bit of a bad taste if Down got it with that over elaborate reaction to win that free.
Great effort by both teams, kept up a championship level of intensity throughout.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 18, 2009, 05:04:28 PM
Down had enough chances to win that game. Im cannot believe the subsitution off Timmy Hanna. totally wrong.  Its a bad day when Down loose to Wicklow in the championship but fair play to the garden county and Micko.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:06:14 PM
Timekeeping is a joke, though, with referees afraid to blow the whistle during play, even after time is up. But giving a 45 to the home team a minute and a half after time up is a new low. I'm amazed the Down people are not sitting on the pitch. Maybe they are - there's only about fifteen of them there, by the sound ofit.
Post by: Bud Wiser on July 18, 2009, 05:08:30 PM
The Wicklow lads gave interviews after the game. Great game.
Post by: corn02 on July 18, 2009, 05:11:49 PM

I detest a disliking?

Doesn't matter what happens from here on in, they have been brilliant.

Antrim, Wicklow, Limerick and possibly Sligo in last 12 - all in or out of Div 4 this year, great stuff.

After a horrible start the Championship is turning into a very good one.
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 05:13:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:06:14 PM
Timekeeping is a joke, though, with referees afraid to blow the whistle during play, even after time is up. But giving a 45 to the home team a minute and a half after time up is a new low. I'm amazed the Down people are not sitting on the pitch. Maybe they are - there's only about fifteen of them there, by the sound ofit.

Had 4 chances to win it Hardy though. Down lost that game themselves. They struggle badly in the backs- especially in the half backs today. Gordon has no real partner. they have good forwards though and they just short passed the ball playing with the wind.
Root and branch analysis required in Down football.

Couple of very soft draws in the quarter finals for the big guns.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:14:34 PM
TV3 at it now. "What a result for Mick O'Dwyer" is Cooper's comment on Wicklow's win. The media would give you a f'n headache sometimes.
Post by: Pangurban on July 18, 2009, 05:15:47 PM
Congrats to Wicklow, overall probably deserved it, despite being aided by some dodgy refereeing, and loose time-keeping. The  substitaition of Hanna and the failure to deploy Fitzpatrick when Dan was clearly struggling following injury, were mistakes, by Down management, hopefully now the last they will be in position to make
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:17:00 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 05:13:03 PM

Had 4 chances to win it Hardy though. Down lost that game themselves. They struggle badly in the backs- especially in the half backs today. Gordon has no real partner. they have good forwards though and they just short passed the ball playing with the wind.
Root and branch analysis required in Down football.

Couple of very soft draws in the quarter finals for the big guns.

No argument with that.  I wasn't commetning on the game or who should have won, just the farce of creative timekeeping that allows refs to f*** about with the laws of space and time as they feel like it.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 18, 2009, 05:21:02 PM

In fairness, the 45 was taken a minute-and-a-half after the three minutes injury time--it was awarded about a minute before it was taken.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2009, 05:23:25 PM
Lads give the Wicklow team credit.  For what it is worth I actually think that 3 minutes was too short and that the ref probably played the correct injury time.  The ref formerly known as Kinneavey is not the greatest ref but he is not the worst either.  Wicklow are a decnt side and will give any team they meet next week a decent game.  Imagine a draw between Wicklow and Antrim, at least 1 minnow guaranteed in the quarters.

The two lads in th middle got through huge amounts of work as did the number 12.  Odlum in the corner is a tasty fecker, I wonder did he do some boxing in his days?  The half forward line in general played well and Seanie Furlong is my kind of full forward ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:25:38 PM
Jello - Still shouldn't have been given, though, if I'm not wrong about the rules.

BC - not taking anything away from Wicklow (otherwise known as Micko). They deserved the win. Just commenting on timekeeping. Whatever was the right anount of injury time, he announced 3 minutes and played 4.5, with no delays during injury time.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 18, 2009, 05:26:44 PM
Absolutely delighted for Wicklow football to see them winning again...First time in their history they have won 3 championship games, first time in the last 12 - absolutely brilliant and considering he had to beat 3 Northern counties to do so considering how appalling Leinster football is and how his tactics and abilities are lightyears behind the scientific game up North is a bonus.....

To play 3 games in 3 weeks without making a subsitition and still come through to win it at the end says it all...

If they get Limerick or Antrim they have a decent chance of making the qtr-finals....

Re timekeeping - the 45 was awarded after 3 mins 15 seconds of extra-time (extra-time being a MINIMUM of 3 mins)....
Post by: dodgy umpire on July 18, 2009, 05:36:58 PM
if the game had have been in newry that 45 would not have been awarded
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 05:38:02 PM

The rest are at home getting ready for the lynching.  
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:39:55 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 18, 2009, 05:26:44 PM
Absolutely delighted for Wicklow football to see them winning again...First time in their history they have won 3 championship games, first time in the last 12 - absolutely brilliant and considering he had to beat 3 Northern counties to do so considering how appalling Leinster football is and how his tactics and abilities are lightyears behind the scientific game up North is a bonus.....

To play 3 games in 3 weeks without making a subsitition and still come through to win it at the end says it all...

If they get Limerick or Antrim they have a decent chance of making the qtr-finals....

Re timekeeping - the 45 was awarded after 3 mins 15 seconds of extra-time (extra-time being a MINIMUM of 3 mins)....
I made it about 4 minutes.  The "minimum" proviso is to account for any delays within injury time. There were none.
Post by: DownFanatic on July 18, 2009, 05:42:31 PM
Any suggestions where Down go from here?

Thats 15 barren years we have endured now.
Post by: Jinxy on July 18, 2009, 05:44:57 PM
Should Wicklow be renamed Micklow?
Post by: dodgy umpire on July 18, 2009, 05:50:06 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on July 18, 2009, 05:42:31 PM

fresh approach needed. no matter what anyone says the talent is there. look at the effect liam bradley has had on antrim
Post by: buglebhoy on July 18, 2009, 05:53:23 PM
I don't really know what to say about that result....Dissappointed obviously but Down had the chances to win this. Took them a long time to get over the goal. Dee Raff was unfornuate to be dispossessed but as Tohill quite rightly stated; it was a foul on him. You can't tackle with a closed fist.

Down Team Ratings

McVeigh- 5- Thought he was caught flat footed for the goal and kickouts and general play was dodgey

McGovern-6/7 Solid enough display in corner back- scored a great point too

McKernan- 5 Nowhere near his performance of last week- gave his man too much space in 2nd half and only for dee raffs blocking would have got roasted altogether

Rafferty-7- Unforntuate to be the cause of the goal- gave a good honest display though with vital blocks and good tackling.

Garvey-6- not as good as we've seen from garvey, couldn't keep up with his man. Chipped in with a great score

Murphy-5- Not the most commanding presence we've seen of murf this year. Gave away a few frees and was generally dissappointing. Would prefer to see him at wing half back where you're sure of 2 scores a game.

Hanna- 7- Don't know why he was taken off- was doing nothing wrong and chipped in with a great score. Clearly the management wanted aidan on from the start at the sacrifice of timmy hanna.

Dan- 8 Some excellent fielding and a great opening score- Was hurt and faded gradually before giving a burst in the final 10

Kearney 8- Best i've seen kearney all year. Some great work from him and great tackling with some good ball in. No fielding from him though and the switch between him and ambrose was inevitable

McCardle 6- Great opening 20 mins and then made a few mistakes and like Hanna i personally feel Ross hasn't the faith in him to keep him on for the full 70 when things aren't going well

Maginn 7- Super first half but faded in the second. A super prospect for the future

Ambrose 6- I personally feel he should have started midfield but ambrose worked hard and chipped in with 2 great scores.

Benny 5- Couldn't get going at all today and really if he had have been in it Down would have been playing next saturday. A dissappointing day for Benny

McCommiskey 7- Out infront and a real handful for his man- just unlucky at times with the goal chances.

Danny 7- was playing a blinder throughout but went into old habits by trying to point from 55-60 yards that became very frustrating.

Subs

Carr 5- not a massive impact from aidan and will be dissappointed with his performance.
Sexton 7- scored a great point and really should have scored a goal
murtagh6- personally would have had him starting but i'm not the manager- brilliant for break ball and gives his all for the jersey.
Boyle- not on long enough

Management- I imagine this would have been their last game in charge so no point in sticking the knife in. They're as biga down men as you'll find and have put in tremendous effort but really fell short when it came to picking our strongest team and coming up with the tactics that are required to progress in provincial and all ireland championships. A change from outside the county is required and like the england side are doing with stuart pearce under capello bring in a potential long term manager who will deliver the success that this county is desperatley seeking. Best of luck to Wicklow.
Post by: heffo on July 18, 2009, 06:01:33 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 05:14:34 PM
TV3 at it now. "What a result for Mick O'Dwyer" is Cooper's comment on Wicklow's win. The media would give you a f'n headache sometimes.

How many championship games did they win under Hugh Kenny/John O'Leary/Dave Foran et al??
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 06:12:42 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 18, 2009, 06:01:33 PM

How many championship games did they win under Hugh Kenny/John O'Leary/Dave Foran et al??

How many points did O'Dwyer score today?
Post by: fred the red on July 18, 2009, 06:13:37 PM
Quote from: wobbller on July 18, 2009, 06:11:52 PM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on July 18, 2009, 05:50:06 PM

fresh approach needed. no matter what anyone says the talent is there. look at the effect liam bradley has had on antrim

Dodgy,
     what or who would you suggest could get us out of this mess?

I would suggest joe kernan
Post by: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:14:33 PM
Quote from: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:59:22 AM
I haven't read those articles but I feel you are talking BS. Wicklow are a good team with quality forwards, a strong midfield, and a class goalkeeper. Micko has done a fine job but he can't kick the points for them or make the tackles if they havent the ability. Typical Down chat. I'm starting to think Down fans are as bad as Tyrone

How many defeats to "weaker" teams will it take before Down fans realise that they are no longer in the top 10, nay 15, teams in the Country. Maybe we'll see after tomorrow. But I doubt youse will admit it regardless. It'll be Aidan Carr did this, or Ross Carr should have played him, or if only Benny was fit, or where was Fitzpatrick, or the Aughrim pitch was shocking. But godforbid that the team with five Sams might not the same talent, drive and determination as lowly Wicklow. Sure that couldn't be right - could it?

[/quote author=Caid link=topic=12966.msg596052#msg596052 date=1247896762]
Post by: heffo on July 18, 2009, 06:18:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 06:12:42 PM

O'Dwyers influence was a sideshow so?
Post by: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:18:50 PM
Quote from: Caid on July 14, 2009, 03:48:34 PM

Out of 16 contests in the Championship and Tommy Murphy Cup over the last three years they have won nine, drew three (twice with Louth in 08) and lost four times (once after extra time).

10 wins and 4 draws now for Wicklow in 17 games in the last three years Champ/Tommy Murph.  Not many teams with a comparable record and certainly not Down
Post by: Highlander3 on July 18, 2009, 06:19:13 PM
Gutted that we lost today, do think that we have to change the management as i do believe that we have some good players but still badly need to solve our problems in the centre of defence, until we do this we will go no were.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 18, 2009, 06:20:42 PM
Quote from: Caid on July 18, 2009, 06:14:33 PM

Nail on the head there caid, I actually think it's one of their main problems, they dont recognise how limited they now are.
Post by: Sandy Hill on July 18, 2009, 06:21:40 PM
Quote from: wobbller on July 18, 2009, 06:11:52 PM
Quote from: dodgy umpire on July 18, 2009, 05:50:06 PM

Dodgy,
     what or who would you suggest could get us out of this mess?

Peter McDonnell ........ please!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: fred the red on July 18, 2009, 06:30:29 PM
Has Paul McGrath wicklow connections? seen him at the game today.
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 18, 2009, 06:18:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 06:12:42 PM

O'Dwyers influence was a sideshow so?

How did you draw that inference from my post?

If Sligo win today, will TV3 report it as " a great result for Kevin Walsh"?
Post by: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 06:39:52 PM
No but its dis-ingenous to imply Kevin Walsh hasn't had a huge impact on Sligo football. Good managers generally make good teams  out of little raw talent. I don't like Micko but he's done some job in Wicklow.
Post by: JMohan on July 18, 2009, 06:52:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 06:39:52 PM
No but its dis-ingenous to imply Kevin Walsh hasn't had a huge impact on Sligo football. Good managers generally make good teams  out of little raw talent. I don't like Micko but he's done some job in Wicklow.
That's fair enough

Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 06:58:26 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 18, 2009, 06:39:52 PM

I don't know what that means, but I didn't imply anything of the sort. My point (overdone at this stage)was about the media's lionising of O'Dwyer. Like Roykeanesunderland, you hear them talking about Mickodwyerswicklow. How often do you hear about Kevinwalshesligo or Jasonryanswexford?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 18, 2009, 07:01:28 PM
and how often did we hear about the miraculous Sean Boylan when Meath were winning ?
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 07:04:08 PM
I never once heard Seanboylansmeath.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 18, 2009, 07:08:26 PM
btw I'm not having a go at Sean Boylan, great man and a great manager but when meath were winning the media tended to go overboard about him as well. Not his fault of course but there you go.

Post by: Yes I Would on July 18, 2009, 07:17:25 PM
From neutral perspective a couple of points.
1. Enjoyable game, 2 average but evenly matched sides. Wicklow bit hungrier and direct with ball. Hughes/Mc Cumiskey could have had a field day against that full back line, particularly 2nd half, but little direct ball. In fact Hughes seemed to be withdrawn and played far too deep. He can score from inside 30 yards all day, but couple of pot shots very wasteful. No15 for Wicklow immense in last 15 mins. Hannon had balls of steel for the 45. Carr didnt for his.
2. Who was calling shots on Down sideline. Too much chit chat amongst the 4 of them. Would have been better watchin the game??  Ross super player. Out of his depth as manager imo.
3. Martin Carney diabolical commentary. Call a spade a spade man ffs. Couple of unsavoury incidents . Wicklow 13 lucky to stay on the field with raised arms, but next to nothin said. Aidan Carr left footed free taker?? Had the wrong man hung for optin for goal in last minute!!

Fair dues to Micko. He is one lucky whore. Had they lost it without introducing more fresh legs, surely hed have been slated!!  The joy amonst Wicklow fans was great to see!
Post by: 5 Sams on July 18, 2009, 07:20:29 PM

A few points...

No1. I have to give our boys credit for playing football today. They were unlucky. They really did play some fabulous football.

No 2. Why was Timmy Hanna taken off????

No 3. It nearly choked Pat the Bollix to say that both teams played football today.

No 4. WHY WAS TIMMY HANNA TAKEN OFF?????????
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2009, 07:21:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2009, 07:04:08 PM
I never once heard Seanboylansmeath.

But I have heard of Seanboylansshowerofdirtyhallions :D  The point you are aking about the media portraying certain managers as bigger than their reality is true but I would say that some of it is justified.  A good manager, eg Micko, can get more of of a group of players than an average manager.  That is why they are good managers and that is why they are successful.  Armagh would never have won an All Ireland under the two Brians if they were still at it today.  Joe came in any brought a different way of doing things, hence the All Ireland win will alwasy be associated with him.  The impact of an iconic figure can make ordinary players do extraordinary things and therefore this "impact" should be recognised.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 18, 2009, 07:49:21 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 18, 2009, 07:20:29 PM

A few points...

No1. I have to give our boys credit for playing football today. They were unlucky. They really did play some fabulous football.

No 3. It nearly choked Pat the Bollix to say that both teams played football today.

I really cant believe his substitution. Thats some way to give one off our most promising talents confidence. After how good he was last week. Really annoyed for the lad.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 18, 2009, 08:13:26 PM
Really disappointed with this. Listened on radio in Corfu and hard to get a perspective but some observations ;
Don't know why Timmy Hanna came off.Don't know why Ambrose hit a crucial 45 when I can't remember when he last scored a 45 for Down.Don't know why that bollox Kinneaveny or whatever he's calling himself this week played the extra time.According to RTE he blew up  Down 4 or 5 times for over-carrying in the first half - at least one led to a point- why ? No-one calls for these -pure stupidity from a ref.

Anyway, I'm really pissed off but nowhere near as bad as what Ross and the players will feel.No criticism from me as I still believe he is the right man to call the shots.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 18, 2009, 08:40:34 PM
The ref signalled 3 minutes of injury time yet the 45 sailed over the bar 4.5 mins into injury time. I'm surprised no one is making a deal out of that cos if I was a down fan I'd be well pissed of with that.
Post by: muppet on July 18, 2009, 08:42:27 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 18, 2009, 08:40:34 PM
The ref signalled 3 minutes of injury time yet the 45 sailed over the bar 4.5 mins into injury time. I'm surprised no one is making a deal out of that cos if I was a down fan I'd be well pissed of with that.

Did you read any of the thread? That is the only thing some people are talking about.
Post by: balladmaker on July 18, 2009, 08:46:08 PM
Controversy seems to follow that ref today, not the first time he has been in the middle of post game controversy. 

When will the GAA implement the common sense approach of an independent time keeper and take the responsibility away from the ref.  Surely it would allow referees to concentrate on patrolling the game rather than running around controlling two stop watches.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2009, 08:56:09 PM
Fair play to Wickla and the great man Micko..
Delighted for them both
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 18, 2009, 09:17:00 PM
First and foremost well done to Wickow and Micko on a deserved victory, lets take nothing away from them, they were worthy winners. Credit must also go to both teams for a cracking game of football. I don't know how it looked on the TV, but it was exciting from where I was sitting. Also I have to say Wicklow people have to be among the nicest, most sporting people I have ever met and I hope they get a favourable draw in the next round. Also it was great to see the entire team leave the ground on foot, to go to the hotel for the after match meal, the fans really enjoyed spending time with their team.

Right on to the match itself, it was a game we could have won, we had the chances, but just couldn't take them. We could have done with a left footed free taker on a number of occasions, its something that has to be looked at. The old saying that goals win games was particularly true today, and it seemed like a soft goal where I was sitting, but lets not dwell on the negative, we were beaten by the better team on the day and this is not a time for post mortems.
Timmy Hanna can feel very aggrieved at being substituted early on, that is possibly my only gripe.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 18, 2009, 09:28:09 PM
I should also have added that the referee certainly didnt do us any favours today and not for the first time either. Even the Wicklow people around us were surprised by some of the decisions. D Raff took a punch to the face in front of the ref and the linesman yet no action was taken, then in the next passage of play he received a yellow card. Also the game maybe should have been blown up before the 45 was taken.
Gerry Kinneavy/Gearoid O'Conamha, in any language he is a c**t.
Post by: Main Street on July 18, 2009, 09:43:23 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 18, 2009, 08:40:34 PM
it must have been that the 45 was awarded within the refs time limit.

It's a moot point for people to be counting the time after the 45 was awarded in order to exaggerate the amount of time added on.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 18, 2009, 09:48:07 PM
The 45 was awarde after the 3 minutes were up, but its all water under the bridge now.
Post by: mountainboii on July 18, 2009, 10:06:29 PM
Did Timmy Hanna start on Leighton Glynn? Glynn ran riot in the early stages, perhaps this was a factor in Hanna's early departure.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 18, 2009, 10:09:30 PM
No, Connor Garvey.
Post by: downgirl on July 18, 2009, 11:04:23 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on July 18, 2009, 07:49:21 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 18, 2009, 07:20:29 PM

A few points...

I really cant believe his substitution. Thats some way to give one off our most promising talents confidence. After how good he was last week. Really annoyed for the lad.

Yea where I was sitting when this was called out the few Down supporters around me were all like 'What?!!!' and he was only after scoring a point wasn't he??  IMO definitely the wrong decision.  Especially when his replacement did not seem to play that well at all....

That punch on Rafferty happened right in front of me and the linesman was right there and ref was looking over and not one of them said a word...wtf like????
Post by: Mid Down Gael on July 18, 2009, 11:12:27 PM
I think Damian Rafferty deserves great credit. He lost possession for the goal, got punched and no action taken but he played the shirt off his back. He remained very disaplained and put some great blocks in. Aidan Carr was poor alongside Murphy IMO. Timmy Hanna is a far better player, Carr gives possession away too cheaply. Why did Ross not start him if he couldnt wait to get him on. He made a fool off himself taking timmy off just to get Aidan on.
Post by: Mourne Rover on July 18, 2009, 11:38:19 PM
Unless Hanna had an injury which no one has spotted, the only logical explanation is that he did not follow specific instructions in the early stages. The problem is that most of the Down defence were struggling at the time, and Aidan Carr had a poor game when he came on. Someone will surely be able to tell us whether or not this was an enforced or a tactical switch, even though it is all a little academic now.

Post by: No1 on July 19, 2009, 12:09:34 AM
Nothing to add on the match, it's all been said already.  Congrats to Wicklow and best of luck in the next round.

Caid, I think your gloating is poor form and out of order.  I am sure you have had as many bad days out in the championship as the rest of us.  Fair enough, you got your prediction correct and well done but fer fucks sake just leave it at that.  Yer near as bad as those Armagh hoors.   :-[
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on July 19, 2009, 12:11:08 AM
Quote from: No1 on July 19, 2009, 12:09:34 AM
Nothing to add on the match, it's all been said already.  Congrats to Wicklow and best of luck in the next round.

Caid, I think your gloating is poor form and out of order.  I am sure you have had as many bad days out in the championship as the rest of us.  Fair enough, you got your prediction correct and well done but fer f**ks sake just leave it at that.  Yer near as bad as those Armagh hoors.   :-[

Nah, no way, He couldnt be ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 19, 2009, 12:44:21 AM
Delighted for Cill Mháintain, great display of grit and no little determination and skill. The Micko legend grows and grows.
Post by: Town Gael on July 19, 2009, 10:51:50 AM
Ross has proved to be tactically inept, I've no idea what was going on in his mind yesterday. Kevin Duffin sitting on the line cost us as we had 3 scoreable frees that would been chipped over by Duffins left foot. Why take off Hanna as well?  Aidan Carr was awful against Fermanagh and just as bad yesterday.
The ref too was a disgrace- he shouldn't even be allowed to take charge of an u-8 game
Post by: bcarrier on July 19, 2009, 12:02:15 PM
The timekeeping issue was a disgrace and refereeing in general had a hometown quality. Still wicklow took their chance to win while Down bottled theirs. Fitzpartick's continued absence was baffling.
Post by: norabeag on July 19, 2009, 12:49:37 PM
Still cannot believe that Kinneavy still gets games on the national stage. He is only concerned about being the centre of attention with his big demonstrations of eccentricity in aplying technical fouls but missing the blatantly obvious.
That said we cannot take away from Wicklow's performance.
They battled to the end and their midfield were immense, particularly for the first 3/4 of the game.
Would not be one to have a major issue with Carr but the subs were baffling yesterday and thought Hanna and McArdle were very baffling calls.
However our big players were the ones who let us down yesterday. McKernan and Murphy were dreadful.
Micko read it very early that McKernan was struggling and you could se that Wicklow were going route 1
Ambrose was as Ambrose is, he is not he finished article for county football, with so many handling errors and incomplete passes. No-one can doubt his heart and commitment but this continual deifying of him is odd.
Dan was there in fits and starts and Benny though starved of decent ball was way off the pace.
Anyone who has watched Down over the years would note that when Hughes starts fumbling and "footering" like he did yesteray then he only ets worse as the game goes on and that was borne out yesterday.
Rafferty despite his early fluff was outstanding but there could have been a case at anytime for bringing in Turley and Duffin into a defence that was bullied all afternoon.
Was also impressed as I have been for some time with Maginn. He will be around for a long time along with McComiskey who tried all afternoon.
Can only look forward now to next year with a team that in all honesty is very young and will get better

Post by: Highlander3 on July 19, 2009, 04:26:01 PM
Norabeag i think that you are being a bit hard on Ambrose, he is only just getting back from a  serious injury and i think that impacted on his ball play, but he still added a physicial present for use, something that we need. Kearney also gives us this but i think he should be a wing half forward for us next year with Fitzpatrick into midfield. Duffin should be given a chance next year and McKernan should be moved out the field he is just not a full back
Post by: charlie stubbs on July 19, 2009, 06:22:26 PM
thought the hanna change was a joke had been doing ok and scored a great point i thought,  was obvious this sub was made before the game started. 
rafferty recovered well after a terrible mistake for the goal though think garvey could have done better initially, didnt think he had best of games, murphy was also bad in defence and nothinh went for aidan carr gave the ball away a few times missed a few frees and made substuitution of hanna seem even worse.  in mf thought gordan did well though that ankle knock prob didnt help!kearneys tackle when your man was in 4 a goal was great i thought.  mcardle didnt do 2 much wrong, scored the opening point and could have did the job taking frees that carr was taking from the right.  thought rodgers did well and maginn showed some of the promise he has shown at underage and for qub.  coulter was an annonymous,hughes and mccomiskey did well inside though think mccomiskey could have caught the ball and rounded keeper in 1st half.  think ross carr a horrible manager and should go. 
Post by: Cúig huaire on July 19, 2009, 09:03:03 PM
At the time of the substitution I thought we need a midfielder, we weren't winning any clean ball and Kearney was anonymous. I thought Ross was going to bring on Jackie Lynch, but he took off Hanna who had just scored and brought on Aidan. On the subject of Aidan I would prefer to see him playing as a half forward. Thought Paul Murphy had a bad game yesterday, I would prefer to see him on the wing, with McKernan as a centre half back. Cannot believe that we lost that game, it was there for the taking and we had more than enough chances to win it, but we over complicated things too many times and took too much out of the ball. Also think Coulter was pulled back when Sextons shot was blocked, a stone wall penalty in my eyes.
Post by: Caid on July 22, 2009, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: No1 on July 19, 2009, 12:09:34 AM

Caid, I think your gloating is poor form and out of order.  I am sure you have had as many bad days out in the championship as the rest of us.  Fair enough, you got your prediction correct and well done but fer f**ks sake just leave it at that.  Yer near as bad as those Armagh hoors.   :-[

Where in my post was I gloating? I reposted that comment as it was still applicable and Down fans will continue to think they are among the top 10 teams in the country.

Being from Fermanagh I have had lots of bad days out (I am not from Wicklow nor have I anything to do with the County) but I have struggled to fathom a lot of the comments by Down posters this year.