Scousers and "You can't buy History" crap

Started by T Fearon, May 02, 2007, 01:19:57 PM

Someone should enlighten them that with a history that includes Heysel 1985 and Hillsborough 1989, there are not too many prospective buyers about. >:(

Meanwhile it looks like we will have to suffer the Mancs giving the Scousers an additional beating this year (on top of the customary annual league double and the occasional FA Cup and League Cup as well) in the Champions League Final, though I am still praying that the trophy ends up in the home of the best team left in the competition - Milan

Syd The Sailor

Get yourself a hobby and stop pretending to be Tony Fearon........
"I coulda been a contender.....i could've been somebody"

sureyouwill

Quote from: Syd The Sailor on May 02, 2007, 01:31:12 PM
Get yourself a hobby and stop pretending to be Tony Fearon........

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Edit - in fairness there must be some amount of people with multiple names on here - 1415 members - aye right!!

Spurs Honours

Football League First Division
1950-51, 1960-61

Football League Second Division 2
1919-20, 1949-50

FA Cup 8
1900-01, 1920-21, 1960-61, 1961-62, 1966-67, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1990-91

Football League Cup 3
1971, 1973, 1999

FA Community Shield 7
1920-21, 1951-52, 1961-62, 1962-63, 1967-68, 1981-82, 1991-92

Southern League 1
1899-1900

Western League 1
1903-04

Football League North and South 2
1943-44, 1944-45

UEFA Cup 2
1971-72, 1983-84

European Cup Winners' Cup 1
1962-63

Anglo-Italian League Cup 1
1971-72

Peace cup

That Peace Cup is a great honour alright :D :D

Liverpool FC honours(hope i don't run out of space)

League[72] titles: 18
1900-01, 1905-06, 1921-22, 1922-23, 1946-47, 1963-64, 1965-66, 1972-73, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86, 1987-88, 1989-90

European Cups and UEFA Champions League[2] titles: 5
1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005

UEFA Cups: 3
1973, 1976, 2001

FA Cups: 7
1965, 1974, 1986, 1989, 1992, 2001, 2006

League Cups: 7
1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003

Community Shields[73]: 15
1964 (shared), 1965 (shared), 1966, 1974, 1976, 1977 (shared), 1979, 1980, 1982, 1986 (shared), 1988, 1989, 1990 (shared), 2001, 2006

UEFA Super Cups: 3
1977, 2001, 2005

Screen Sport Super Cup

Now in fairness we never won the Peace Cup so fair play to Spurs on that one :D

tayto

So you picked a very successful team off the telly. Well done. 99% of Irish premiership fans support the 3 or 4 most successful sides and then gloat about their trophy haul.  ???

An Fear Rua

you cant pull spurs for the Peace Cup and then list Screen Sport Super Cup as an "honour", a few years back you couldnt put your tea down for a few mins or Houllier would have the lads round playing you for it..
Its Grim up North

overdabar

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on May 02, 2007, 02:38:00 PM
Quote from: tayto on May 02, 2007, 02:12:41 PM
So you picked a very successful team off the telly. Well done. 99% of Irish premiership fans support the 3 or 4 most successful sides and then gloat about their trophy haul.  ???

I hate f**kers like you who begrudge someone supporting another sport outside Gaa,So what if someone supports Liverpool or Man U etc what harm if they boast about their trophy haul i wish people like you would cop and and get rid of the chip on your shoulders,Its a short life we lead and if this supporting something other than GAA brings joy to it then what f**king odds does it make

Rant over

totally agree.

Quote from: An Fear Rua on May 02, 2007, 02:35:06 PM
you cant pull spurs for the Peace Cup and then list Screen Sport Super Cup as an "honour", a few years back you couldnt put your tea down for a few mins or Houllier would have the lads round playing you for it..

Feck off, if it hadn't have been for Geds crap buys we would have won the thing more than once. The Screen Sport Super Cup was part of his Five year plan and when he didn't win it, he paid fir it with his job.

I dont recall tayto saying you shouldnt support anything outside of the GAA  :-\

His point was nothing to do with the GAA

WeAreBlueWeAreWhite

I was reading between the lines.I believe his comment "so you picked a successfull team off the telly,Well done" is a dig at people who follow a team from another country unlike supporting your home town GAA club or your county.Im sure he'll deny this but that's what i took from his post
AND A BOTTLE OF RITZ FOR ME LAC

But you can support your local soccer club too ! ?  :-\

Why you felt the need to mention the GAA there confuses me. Paranoia perhaps  ;)

SuperSub

Quote from: tayto on May 02, 2007, 02:12:41 PM

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on May 02, 2007, 02:38:00 PM

I hate f**kers like you who begrudge someone supporting another sport outside Gaa,So what if someone supports Liverpool or Man U etc what harm if they boast about their trophy haul i wish people like you would cop on and get rid of the chip on your shoulders,Its a short life we lead and if this supporting something other than GAA brings joy to it then what f**king odds does it make

Rant over

Quote from: his holiness nb on May 02, 2007, 02:47:46 PM
I dont recall tayto saying you shouldnt support anything outside of the GAA  :-\

His point was nothing to do with the GAA

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on May 02, 2007, 02:54:52 PM
I was reading between the lines.I believe his comment "so you picked a successfull team off the telly,Well done" is a dig at people who follow a team from another country unlike supporting your home town GAA club or your county.Im sure he'll deny this but that's what i took from his post

Its not for me to say what Tayto was implying by his post but i do agree with one thing Weareblue says and thats about certain people having a chip on their shoulders about someone following a team that they have no connection too other than following them for a number of years or as Tayto says picking them off the telly
I think it's wrong that these people feel this way,so what if they follow a team from Liverpool or London or anywhere else?
Im a massive Gaa fan and it will always come first to me and nothing compares to winning an All Ireland and i know more about my county winning All Irelands than most  posters here,But im also a lifelong Liverpool fan and the joy i felt last night was almost as good as seeing Cork win yet another All Ireland,So am i meant to feel gulity or did i somehow betray my country because i support Liverpool FC like f**k i did, move on lads it's only sport at the end of the day

And thats my rant over :-*

Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on May 02, 2007, 02:54:52 PM
So WeAre...do you follow a team or support ?

It's an interesting thing following. The traditional way to follow is to buying a jersey and watching generally with their back to the tv the game in a pub. If the game isnt on TV you get the score of the news and look slightly disappointed if they lose

Where  as i support Dublin and Leinster and go to 95% of home games 95% of dublin away games and as many leinster away as i can afford .To support a team you need to be able to go their games