Quote from: redhandefender on September 07, 2016, 12:41:31 PM
Quote from: longballin on September 07, 2016, 12:21:48 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on September 07, 2016, 12:11:28 PM
Quote from: longballin on September 07, 2016, 12:04:09 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on September 07, 2016, 11:32:26 AM
Quote from: longballin on September 07, 2016, 11:16:48 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on September 07, 2016, 11:14:54 AM
Quote from: longballin on September 07, 2016, 09:27:01 AM
Reliably told Club Tyrone threatened to pull their funding if he wasn't ratified last time. Don't worry the blanket is here to stay...

What a load of rubbish, its not "their" money, all money is the County Boards responsibility.

Firstly, I think Mickey is the only man for the job but why does he need to start this rubbish now and in the media. Surely any position has to be reviewed and he should wait until the end of the year if he is so confident in this team.

Secondly all this chat about a contract. Its an amateur sport so how can there be any legally binding contract?? Give him 10 years and tell him to slide on at the end of the year if we need. Not like hes going to be out on the bread line. Its football not a career!

Who is the monkey and who is the organ grinder?  ::)

Alright Mulder, the alluminatti are transpiring to keep Mickey in the hotseat. Wise up would ye. He isn't the most popular figure with anyone up there. He is still the best option we have

Mulder?

X-files, conspiracy theories, computer jockeys like you

Oh very clever... getting personal. Hows things bout Errigal since yis got dumped out of the championship.. Mickeys minnion

I'm not from Errigal but I was at the match, no doubt you were sitting watching babestation playing donkey kong!

Can see both sides here why he asked and why they refused but stupidity like blaming club Tyrone helps nobody.

Donkey kong  :D no idea what that is but sounds like fun... do you play it on your own or with a live donkey?

WT4E

Does this not show that Mickey doesn't have confidence in himself - Why ask for extension now is he thinking he's in a stronger position now than he would be this time next year?

Uncle Kev

Quote from: WT4E on September 07, 2016, 01:57:59 PM
Does this not show that Mickey doesn't have confidence in himself - Why ask for extension now is he thinking he's in a stronger position now than he would be this time next year?
The only what that Tyrone can win another All Ireland is if we can dump the blonder Thatcher from Eglish and any moron that tries to implant ideas into her vacant brain ! That's all I have to say ! Mickey has done what no other manager could do with thus crop of players ! The man is a genius !

Quote from: Helpline on September 07, 2016, 12:24:55 PM
The past eight years of low or at the very most moderate success, Tyrone cant just sit back and be thankful the good days,.. need to take a punt on something new and push on just like we did 2002/2003.

Don't think appointing Mickey was much of a punt at the time! Mickey just wants the extra year so the players buy into it all. The county board are happy to negotiate the deal later, no harm done with Mickey forcing this issue now! Players don't think Mickeys leaving, so nobody eases up waiting for another manager and Mickey and The County board have an option to renew! Nothing to see here in my view!

Anyway, Mickey will lift Sam next year and walk away himself with his job done! 😃

redzone

Why/how does stuff like this get leaked out.

southtyronegael

Quote from: redzone on September 07, 2016, 07:10:20 PM
who ever said it was supposed to be a secret? the people of tyrone deserve to know whats goin on behind the scenes. after all we are the paying punters who go to games/donate to the cause.

Up The Middle

Quote from: redzone on September 07, 2016, 07:10:20 PM

Micky doesn't seem to mind using the media when it suits him. Its back to the same old crap, if he would just drop the RTE ban there wouldn't be a problem renewing. Has to be pressure from the sponsor, who clearly aren't getting the exposure they were promised.
I'm very important. I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany.

Tyrone Gaa

Everybody is missing the point.  The decision not to extend Mickey's tenure was taken by the County Committee this is a committee made up with a representative of every club (football and hurling).  This is an individual opinion and not necessarily the view of the club they represent.  However the fact remains that off that pool of people Mickey didn't have the full support of those club representatives.  I see Roisin Jordan has been blamed and described as Thatcher, she can only bring it to the committee for them to vote. 

I would advise you to contact your clubs county representative for further perspective on why Mickey was declined an extension. 

Personally I think it was the correct decision. Mickey masked 6 years of failure by winning the Anglo Celt this year but then looked tactically lost against a Poor Mayo team. (Dublin will expose how poor they are).  Mickey has 2017 which I think is right but he has to show that this team is making progress and that should include the league.
Living the dream!!!

Interesting look at the success rate from frees from Dean Rock and Cillian O'Connor below
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-statistics-the-duel-of-the-dead-ball-specialists-1.2783320

I wonder how Michael Murphy, Conor McManus and Tyrone rate. I understand a lot of the ones Morgan hits are difficult or far out but I think we've missed a lot of ones inside the 40 this year too.

Helpline

I see a lot of people on here now see 2017 as a 'limbo' year, IE. be nice to Mickey for 12 months and then wave bye bye and wait for euphoria
The first half was even, the second half was even worse

WT4E

I feel Mickey is in the top three football managers of all time and the people of Tyrone will always be indebted to him for what he has delivered and how he has raised standards within our county.
However I think his reign can be compared to that of many dictators and their general cycle:

LIBERATION 2002 – 2007: From the dark times of nearly men to winners and genuine contenders

COMPLACENCY 2007-2010: The image that Tyrone would dominate in Ulster forever and deliver more Ulster titles

DEPENDANCE 2010 -2012: Dependant on the old guard to make things happen but not quite working

TYRANNY 2012 – 2017: Ruling the squad with an iron fist, implementing media bans (RTE), letting players walk and then discussing in the media.

But what is the final step in the cycle of a dictator...... REVOLUTION! Has it already started?

Tyrone Gaa

Quote from: WT4E on September 08, 2016, 11:57:20 AM
I feel Mickey is in the top three football managers of all time and the people of Tyrone will always be indebted to him for what he has delivered and how he has raised standards within our county.
However I think his reign can be compared to that of many dictators and their general cycle:

LIBERATION 2002 – 2007: From the dark times of nearly men to winners and genuine contenders

COMPLACENCY 2007-2010: The image that Tyrone would dominate in Ulster forever and deliver more Ulster titles

DEPENDANCE 2010 -2012: Dependant on the old guard to make things happen but not quite working

TYRANNY 2012 – 2017: Ruling the squad with an iron fist, implementing media bans (RTE), letting players walk and then discussing in the media.

But what is the final step in the cycle of a dictator...... REVOLUTION! Has it already started?

Love this logic....

I believe that opinion in the county is divided on the best way forward.  Probably 60/40 in favour of Mickey remaining as Tyrone manager.  Just a question did Mickey need 50% County Committee support to get the extension or did he require a 70% majority??  Like the brexit issue if the day actually comes that there is no Mickey, is there a back up plan or an exit strategy.  I cant think of a candidate in waiting.  I don't feel Fergal Logan is the man.
Living the dream!!!

Helpline

The first half was even, the second half was even worse

southtyronegael

i think the county board or committee should get their heads together now and plan for a future without harte in 2018. compile a list of potential managers and work from there. plenty of men good enough to the job. my preference would be first mattie mc gleenan, then malachy o rourke then current u21 team[logan,canavan dooher] and only if they agree to play more attacking football instead of the muck i seen in this yrs u21 ulster final.

jp2020

Quote from: longballin on September 07, 2016, 09:27:01 AM
Reliably told Club Tyrone threatened to pull their funding if he wasn't ratified last time. Don't worry the blanket is here to stay...
Getting bored with this, we waste our well earned money going to watch the muck we are producing and he still gets to stay! So if he was to go what would Club Tyrone do with the money?   

MH is obviously becoming more deluded than Wenger, its not his county team / county board it belongs to us all! Thanks for the memories Mickey but please go with dignity!