Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on September 10, 2012, 05:04:23 PM

Title: Barking Dogs
Post by: Lecale2 on September 10, 2012, 05:04:23 PM
The neighbours bought a new pup and the wee bollocks barks like feck night and day when they're out.

It there anything I can do to shut him up?
Title: Re: Barking Dogs
Post by: spuds on September 10, 2012, 05:08:11 PM
Neighbours got a rescue dog 10 years ago and still barks anytime we go out the back, use back bathroom, open/close front door etc.
Terminate the little blighter before you go mad.
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2012, 05:21:53 PM
First step is to let the neighbours know. They won't know he's barking when they're not there because  ... well they're not there. You could suggest that they get a bark collar - they work very well. But if they're like a large proportion of dog owners, they're likely to take umbrage at your approach, in which case you have a number of options.

1. Go the legal route. Formally complain. If you don't get satisfaction - escalate - Document instances of barking., report the nuisance to the authorities, send a solicitor's letter, etc. etc. Probably a huge pain in the arse all round.

2. Retaliate. Make noise when they're trying to sleep. Let them know this is how it works. Stressful and confrontational.

3. Do what has worked for me recently. I work from a home office. Next door's dog started to develop a distracting barking habit. Anything moved, she barked. So I befriended her. Went over to her a few times a day and talked to her. Spoke to her every time I came in and went out, etc. She now thinks I'm one of her family/pack. In fact, she probably thinks I'm the leader. When she can see I'm around (which I let her know by letting her see me in the mornings) she doesn't bark. If she does bark, not knowing I'm there, all I have to do is open the window and speak to her. Works great.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on September 10, 2012, 05:23:48 PM
Shoot him!
Only joking. Rat poison is better.

Post by: Orior on September 10, 2012, 05:42:20 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 10, 2012, 05:04:23 PM
The neighbours bought a new pup and the wee bollocks barks like feck night and day when they're out.

Hire a nanny  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keeping_Mum (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keeping_Mum)

Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 10, 2012, 07:54:38 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 10, 2012, 05:21:53 PM
First step is to let the neighbours know. They won't know he's barking when they're not there because  ... well they're not there. You could suggest that they get a bark collar - they work very well. But if they're like a large proportion of dog owners, they're likely to take umbrage at your approach, in which case you have a number of options.

1. Go the legal route. Formally complain. If you don't get satisfaction - escalate - Document instances of barking., report the nuisance to the authorities, send a solicitor's letter, etc. etc. Probably a huge pain in the arse all round.

2. Retaliate. Make noise when they're trying to sleep. Let them know this is how it works. Stressful and confrontational.

3. Do what has worked for me recently. I work from a home office. Next door's dog started to develop a distracting barking habit. Anything moved, she barked. So I befriended her. Went over to her a few times a day and talked to her. Spoke to her every time I came in and went out, etc. She now thinks I'm one of her family/pack. In fact, she probably thinks I'm the leader. When she can see I'm around (which I let her know by letting her see me in the mornings) she doesn't bark. If she does bark, not knowing I'm there, all I have to do is open the window and speak to her. Works great.

I usually go with option 1.  I have no time for dogs and I'm not into making friends with them.  Depending on where you live there's probably laws against making that kind of noise all night. An owner is responsible for their dog.  If they aren't going to take their responsibilities seriously, force the issue.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 10, 2012, 08:45:16 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 10, 2012, 07:54:38 PM

I usually go with option 1.  I have no time for dogs and I'm not into making friends with them.  Depending on where you live there's probably laws against making that kind of noise all night. An owner is responsible for their dog.  If they aren't going to take their responsibilities seriously, force the issue.

If I had a neighbour like you that goes the legal route as first choice I'd put dog shite in your letter box!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 10, 2012, 09:09:03 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 10, 2012, 08:45:16 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 10, 2012, 07:54:38 PM

If I had a neighbour like you that goes the legal route as first choice I'd put dog shite in your letter box!

In all fairness he did not suggest going down the legal route first, rather he suggested speaking to the neighbours as they wouldn't be aware that the pup was barking while they were out. He is right to also say that some dog owners may take umbrage at this approach but if you know them well and they're not dyed in the wool dog owners, then hopefully they will take heed and do something about it. Good luck
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 10, 2012, 10:25:43 PM
My reply was addressed to Eamonn, it was hardy who gave the more reasoned approach.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 10, 2012, 10:29:09 PM
Fair enough. Proceed with the dog shite
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 11, 2012, 07:21:31 AM

Can't do that here, mate. Only USPS postmen can open our mailboxes to put stuff in them.

Try again.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 11, 2012, 11:22:07 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 11, 2012, 07:21:31 AM

Can't do that here, mate. Only USPS postmen can open our mailboxes to put stuff in them.

Try again.

How about I fill an envelope full of dog shite and post it to you then?
Post by: Hardy on September 11, 2012, 11:35:13 AM

You couldn't have asked for a better lead-in, Myles.
Post by: Hashtag on September 11, 2012, 01:41:04 PM
Cost of a sirloin steak: £7.00
Cost of high strength poison: £10.00
Price of a good nights sleep...............your soul

Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 11, 2012, 02:56:49 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 10, 2012, 05:04:23 PM

If you live in the North, ring the local council.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 11, 2012, 02:58:02 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 11, 2012, 11:35:13 AM

You couldn't have asked for a better lead-in, Myles.

Very droll.
Post by: Forever Green on September 11, 2012, 03:27:44 PM
Throw softmints at them
Post by: Lecale2 on September 12, 2012, 08:08:07 AM
Thanks for all the advice. The dogs still barking away for hours on end. Do they never get horse?

Anyway I called around to see the new neighbour and they came to the door stripped to the waist and carrying a large knife. I explained the problem with the barking and they told me they 'd "cut my b*lls off with this f**king bread knife and feed them to the dog" if I came to their door again.

I'll maybe try talking to the husband. He might be more seasonable. Or maybe I could fit one of the barking collars myself and fit it very tightly?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 12, 2012, 08:20:44 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 11, 2012, 11:22:07 AM

Try again.

Knock yourself out. In America they have this "return to sender" service. By the time your letter gets back to you I'd say it'd be in brave shape.  Although it'd be a waste of money since you've already talked plenty of shite on this thread so far and that was all delivered electronically.
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2012, 11:48:18 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 12, 2012, 08:20:44 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 11, 2012, 11:22:07 AM

Try again.

Knock yourself out. In America they have this "return to sender" service. By the time your letter gets back to you I'd say it'd be in brave shape.  Although it'd be a waste of money since you've already talked plenty of shite on this thread so far and that was all delivered electronically.

This America sounds like a mighty place, they've thought of everything!
Post by: Aerlik on September 13, 2012, 04:11:26 PM
Cheap cuts of meat "drizzled" in anti-freeze.  Ahem, I've been "told" it works.  Permanently.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 13, 2012, 04:19:19 PM
Eamonnca, you're an awful c**k.

Lecale, if it is pup it will settle down.  Frustrating at the minute but it will settle down.  If it doesn't settle then just the auld anti freeze is your only job.
Post by: stew on September 13, 2012, 04:37:40 PM

Try again.

People mess with the mail all the time, tweakers make a living off of it ffs, just because the USPS deliver it does not mean the intended recipient is the first one to get it or other items added after the USPS guy leaves.
Post by: stew on September 13, 2012, 04:54:48 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 13, 2012, 04:19:19 PM
Eamonnca, you're an awful c**k.

Lecale, if it is pup it will settle down.  Frustrating at the minute but it will settle down.  If it doesn't settle then just the auld anti freeze is your only job.

If you tried to talk to her and she responded like that then you have tried to reason with them, the next step would be to file a nuisance report and see it that works, if not shoot the fcuker!
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 13, 2012, 07:06:34 PM
Quote from: stew on September 13, 2012, 04:37:40 PM

Try again.

People mess with the mail all the time, tweakers make a living off of it ffs, just because the USPS deliver it does not mean the intended recipient is the first one to get it or other items added after the USPS guy leaves.

That's good. I'd rather shovel it in the letter box than pay the price of a stamp like any good Cavan man.
Post by: Larry Duff on September 14, 2012, 11:41:17 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 12, 2012, 08:08:07 AM
Thanks for all the advice. The dogs still barking away for hours on end. Do they never get horse?

Anyway I called around to see the new neighbour and they came to the door stripped to the waist and carrying a large knife. I explained the problem with the barking and they told me they 'd "cut my b*lls off with this f**king bread knife and feed them to the dog" if I came to their door again.

I'll maybe try talking to the husband. He might be more seasonable. Or maybe I could fit one of the barking collars myself and fit it very tightly?

Don't tell any other disgruntled neighbours you did this. It will leave them free to go down the steak antifreeze route Aerlik has heard of (or even something less subtle), knowing that you will get the blame.
Post by: Larry Duff on September 14, 2012, 01:26:37 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 14, 2012, 01:09:45 PM
Yep, some steak & anti-freeze to deal with a dog that makes a bit of noise. A nice measured response to a problem that can be dealt with a talk hopefully, or at worst with the local council.  ::)
If some dog or cat this halloween gets a lit bottle rocket shoved up their backsides by local knuckledraggers somehow I'd doubt they'd be looked upon as cute hoors.

I'm certainly not condoning it. I'm just stating that by speaking to the owner Lecale has made himself number one suspect/target should the dog end up dead.

Talking to these people is pointless. You only have to look at the amount of dog shite on the pavements to know most dog owners couldn't give a toss about anyone else.