GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 11:48:02 AM

Title: Foreign appreciation of GAA?
Post by: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 11:48:02 AM
Hi

I am writing this from Sheffield.  I have no Irish ancestors, as far as I know.  So my only reason for liking GAA is sheer envy of your games, though I find football the more settling on my eye.  And if millions worldwide can adopt Manchester United or Chelsea then why shouldn't I adopt an Irish county in GAA?  Well actually, I already have, but more on that later.  A few years previously, I have taken exploratory day trips to Croke Park and Casements - was a bit too nervous to say too much to reveal my broad Yorkshire accent - was I worrying needlessly?  However, from next year I plan to take up the hobby more seriously.  I will mainly be an armchair fan with plenty of GAA available through Premier Sports and BBC2 NI in the UK.  Then subject to how the fixtures fall and reasonable travel costs a few trips over to Ireland are ON for 2014.  As are trips to London GAA - as a means to supporting the game closer to my front door.

Hoping for your positive comments.

PS. If you like Chelsea or Man.Utd. fair enough.  I wouldn't cross the road to watch them, unless Portsmouth were the opposition.  Born in bred in Sheffield who else would I support :)
Title: Re: Foreign appreciation of GAA?
Post by: deiseach on August 09, 2013, 11:53:11 AM
Quote from: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 11:48:02 AM
A few years previously, I have taken exploratory day trips to Croke Park and Casements - was a bit too nervous to say too much to reveal my broad Yorkshire accent - was I worrying needlessly?

Yes. In a world of increasingly global sporting brands, we're an insecure lot. If you told those around you where you were from, you'd be treated with all the excitement of the second coming of Jesus.
Post by: southdown on August 09, 2013, 12:01:00 PM
Im sure there will be a few AI semi final tickets knocking around, get to Holyhead and jump on the boat as a foot passenger
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2013, 12:08:47 PM
Quote from: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 11:48:02 AM
Hi

I am writing this from Sheffield.  I have no Irish ancestors, as far as I know.  So my only reason for liking GAA is sheer envy of your games, though I find football the more settling on my eye.  And if millions worldwide can adopt Manchester United or Chelsea then why shouldn't I adopt an Irish county in GAA?  Well actually, I already have, but more on that later.  A few years previously, I have taken exploratory day trips to Croke Park and Casements - was a bit too nervous to say too much to reveal my broad Yorkshire accent - was I worrying needlessly?  However, from next year I plan to take up the hobby more seriously.  I will mainly be an armchair fan with plenty of GAA available through Premier Sports and BBC2 NI in the UK.  Then subject to how the fixtures fall and reasonable travel costs a few trips over to Ireland are ON for 2014.  As are trips to London GAA - as a means to supporting the game closer to my front door.

Hoping for your positive comments.

PS. If you like Chelsea or Man.Utd. fair enough.  I wouldn't cross the road to watch them, unless Portsmouth were the opposition.  Born in bred in Sheffield who else would I support :)

Welcome aboard, and welcome to the wacky world of the GAA. We'll crease each other, but if anyone says anything about the GAA from the outside, they'll get a right kicking :)

One of the things you will probably struggle with is the parochial nature of the GAA, most of the primal, gut wrenching joy or disappointment about the GAA is that it is of your place, your people, your friends and neighbours playing. They represent you, you don't just 'support' them, you *are* them.

Also, the club aspect of the GAA is huge, and is even more embedded in the Irish psyche than the Inter County scene, which is what will receive most of the TV and the big crowds obviously.

Having said all that, I think it is great, and should be happening more, that people from abroad, with no previous exposure to the GAA will grow to love (and hopefully play) our games as well. Premier TV etc will be a big help in giving the exposure, and the GAA should try to leverage that. This will, obviously, be very much focussed on the Inter County scene, and thus people's teams (with no connection to the place) will be county teams currently doing well, just like we pick up PRemiership teams as kids here, as you say.

However, if you wish to enjoy the games at more than a superficial level, I think you need to understand the IC scene is the glamourous tip of a huge iceberg which is the community GAA. I would suggest that to know the GAA, you need to understand the role of the GAA in the community, in the form of the clubs in every parish in the country. Then when you see what those clubs mean in those towns, villages and townlands, you'll begin to understand where the county teams slot in when you consider all those parishes coming together under the banner of the county representative team.

As a complete newcomer, I'd recommend a trip around Ireland, a holiday, and in every little town and village you'll see the clubs, you can ask about their games, talk about them in the pubs and ask about those local heros who've pulled on the county jersey. Ask and hear about old triumphs, disasters, rows, splits, reunions, 'that shower of f**kers up the road' (who will be the best teammates at county level) etc etc.

Do that for a couple of weeks, and ignore the county, and *then* from your couch in Yorkshire watch a county game with that background, and you'll really get the enjoyment and understand exactly what the GAA is in Ireland and beyond.

One side effect that I find great is that the smallest towns or clubs in Ireland are identified through the exploits of their players. Cahirciveen, a small town in South Kerry, will always be the home of Jack O'Shea and Maurice Fitzgerald. My town of Ferbane will always be the Lowrys and Tony McTeague. No one would have heard of Moy if it wasn't for the GAA and the Cavanaghs, but now a huge amount of people know exactly where and what it is.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 09, 2013, 12:10:12 PM
Oh, and by the way, not a bit of fear should you have about your accent. You'll be made more than welcome if you are talking to anyone and tell them you are a GAA virgin. Of course they'll immediately try to sway you to their team and county, so avoid them all until you happen to go to an Offaly game. (It may be hard to find them on Premier TV).
Post by: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 12:56:42 PM
And unbelievably GAA is still strictly amateur!  Long may it continue.  Manchester United, Chelsea et al aren't sports clubs anymore!  And it isn't just soccer that has sold it's soul.  That said.  I bet top GAA players cash in from an endorsement or personal appearance here and there. 

For trips over to Ireland.  I would rather pick out opportunities that get me over for the whole weekend.  Prefer 2 or 3 of them a year to 7 or 8 day trips.  Exceptional exceptions are possible though.  From where I live, there are 4 airports within 90 minutes with flights to Ireland.  As long as you have a few weeks notice, you can normally get a good deal.  Even if it is the airline that charge you to use the loo.  Little or no luggage, boarding passes printed at home etc..  Before now I have been unlocking my front door less than 100 minutes after the engines firing up for take off at Dublin.

Before anymore of that.  I do indeed want to learn the whole game from club to county to NFl/NHL ahead of next years All-Ireland Championship.  And it is fair to say looking in on London GAA will satisfy some of the agenda.  Then again, if someone can tell me the nearest club to Dublin Airport I might give it a whirl.  As sometimes I can get to Dublin cheaper than London.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 09, 2013, 12:59:30 PM
Quote from: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 12:56:42 PM
And unbelievably GAA is still strictly amateur!  Long may it continue.  Manchester United, Chelsea et al aren't sports clubs anymore!  And it isn't just soccer that has sold it's soul.  That said.  I bet top GAA players cash in from an endorsement or personal appearance here and there. 

For trips over to Ireland.  I would rather pick out opportunities that get me over for the whole weekend.  Prefer 2 or 3 of them a year to 7 or 8 day trips.  Exceptional exceptions are possible though.  From where I live, there are 4 airports within 90 minutes with flights to Ireland.  As long as you have a few weeks notice, you can normally get a good deal.  Even if it is the airline that charge you to use the loo.  Little or no luggage, boarding passes printed at home etc..  Before now I have been unlocking my front door less than 100 minutes after the engines firing up for take off at Dublin.

Before anymore of that.  I do indeed want to learn the whole game from club to county to NFl/NHL ahead of next years All-Ireland Championship.  And it is fair to say looking in on London GAA will satisfy some of the agenda.  Then again, if someone can tell me the nearest club to Dublin Airport I might give it a whirl.  As sometimes I can get to Dublin cheaper than London.

Not sure about Dublin, but you could fly into Belfast City Airport and watch Glentoran St Patricks beside the airport  ;)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 09, 2013, 01:20:27 PM
QuoteOne of the things you will probably struggle with is the parochial nature of the GAA, most of the primal, gut wrenching joy or disappointment about the GAA is that it is of your place, your people, your friends and neighbours playing. They represent you, you don't just 'support' them, you *are* them.

a fantastic way to sum up the gaa at club level
Post by: Bensars on August 09, 2013, 01:41:30 PM

What about the Irshenin Leeds ?  A few teams up that direction too ( or used to be )
Post by: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:04:01 PM

Welcome aboard 30mog. It would be churlish, indeed disrespectful, to try and improve on AZOffaly's summary.
My advice. Come over to Ireland ANY weekend in the year and you will find something to interest you....let us know on here when you are flying over and you will be pointed in the right direction for that weekend's action. I'd safely say some of the lads on here would be willing to meet you to give you the grand tour. Don't restrict your self to Dublin though. At the risk of getting a kicking from the AJHs on here the Dublin club scene wouldn't necessarily reflect the true parochial nature alluded to by AZOffaly earlier. Have fun and dont disguise the accent....no need.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2013, 02:13:22 PM

I'd suggest catching a Dublin Junior Club match the morning of say the semi between Mayo and Tyrone (prob be no club game the day Dublin playing), stand at the sideline with the 20-100 other hardy souls, then watch as fans, players and management rush to their cars to get to Croke Park asap for the Semi.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2013, 02:36:42 PM

the Dublin club scene wouldn't necessarily reflect the true parochial nature alluded to by AZOffaly earlier. Have fun and dont disguise the accent....no need.

Don't heed that advice though, head out to The Naul, Man O'War, Ballyboughal, Rollestown, Balbriggan, Skerries, Rush, Lusk.  It as Parochial as it gets.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2013, 02:41:59 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on August 09, 2013, 02:36:42 PM

the Dublin club scene wouldn't necessarily reflect the true parochial nature alluded to by AZOffaly earlier. Have fun and dont disguise the accent....no need.

Don't heed that advice though, head out to The Naul, Man O'War, Ballyboughal, Rollestown, Balbriggan, Skerries, Rush, Lusk.  It as Parochial as it gets.

I agree, I was involved in the Dublin GAA scene for several years (a blow-in from Mayo) the Dublin scene is good.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:46:21 PM

Sorry to clarify..."the Dublin City Club scene"..
Post by: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:48:11 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2013, 02:41:59 PM

I agree, I was involved in the Dublin GAA scene for several years (a blow-in from Mayo) the Dublin scene is good.

I have no doubt that it is "good". But is there the same GAA community spirit around Mobhi Road as there would be in Mayobridge????
Post by: rosnarun on August 09, 2013, 04:08:05 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:48:11 PM

I have no doubt that it is "good". But is there the same GAA community spirit around Mobhi Road as there would be in Mayobridge????
I often wondered that , after all Being part of the Gaa is more of a choice in the City that in rural parishes .
As AZ said the Club is us, so much so its not seen as something distinct from the rest of the community . so the people you love/hate on the school board parish council drama group or what ever are the same people in the GAA Club.
Where as in Dublin these are people you chose to be with  and an activity you have choosen to do .so does that lead to better camradaire , maybe so
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2013, 05:08:30 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 09, 2013, 04:08:05 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:48:11 PM

I often wondered that , after all Being part of the Gaa is more of a choice in the City that in rural parishes .
As AZ said the Club is us, so much so its not seen as something distinct from the rest of the community . so the people you love/hate on the school board parish council drama group or what ever are the same people in the GAA Club.
Where as in Dublin these are people you chose to be with  and an activity you have choosen to do .so does that lead to better camradaire , maybe so

I get what ye are saying lads, but how is that any different from the GAA in Castlebar, Ballina, Galway City, Omagh, Wexford Town, Tralee, Cork City, Athlone, Strabane, Mullingar, Ennis, Navan, Cavan Town or Portlaoise?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 09, 2013, 05:12:23 PM
I think the great thing about the GAA is the differences in views on almost everything there is to have a view on, some of us are very very opposed to certain others outlook, but when it comes to the GAA we are all united in wanting to do everything in our power to make the organisation, its sports, its members, and the our wider local communities a better and stronger place.
Post by: fearglasmor on August 09, 2013, 06:24:23 PM
At its core I don't think the GAA in Balbriggan or Bohernabreena is any different to Castlebar or Castleisland. They just operate in a different  social environment. They are different but there is more that binds them than seperates them.
Post by: 30mog on August 09, 2013, 10:41:26 PM
OP here...

As if answering my prayers.  There is a Junior Hurling game in Manchester this Sunday between Lancashire & Cork.  The only place it's mentioned is gaa.ie.  Might nip over The Pennines and take a look.  Especially as there is something else I can do while that way.

Coming from Yorkshire I will of course cheer for CORK !!
Post by: Onlooker on August 09, 2013, 10:59:34 PM
I think that is a Junior Football game.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 10, 2013, 04:46:32 AM
Hi 30Mog, good to have you on board.

That game in Manchester is an All Ireland Junior football semi final. The UK champions get to play in this competition each year at the semi final stage as Ulster don't run a junior football championship.
Cork have a strong team and would be heavy favourites, but there has been a dramatic improvement in the GAA in the North of England aswell as the South and Liverpool, Manchester and Leeds in particular have thriving GAA scenes. John Mitchels, a club from Liverpool, reached an All Ireland junior club final a couple of years ago, losing narrowly. I do know quite a few lads involved in Gaelic football in Leeds and you could nip over there to watch a few games if the interest takes you.

I would echo other posters urging you to take a trip when you can to the Gaelic Football heartlands (as you seem more interested in Football?) to get a sense of what its all about.

To my mind in no particular order West Cork, Mayo, Any part of Kerry (but particularly the South and West I have to admit), Tyrone, Down, Derry and some parts of Dublin are the most intense football areas of the country, but there are clubs outside these areas that could be every bit as educational and invigorating to visit. Nemo Rangers in Cork city for example, is as intense and successful a Gaelic Football club as there is on the island. Kilamcud Crokes, Ballyboden-St Enda's or St Vincents in Dublin, Kilmurry-Ibrickane (in the rural area around Quilty in West Clare) are all beacons of Gaelic Football excellence.

The effort put into even fielding teams by volunteers and players in tiny rural areas like Dromid in South Kerry, Aran Islands or the wilds of Donegal would amaze and inspire you...lads making 7 or 8 hour round trips from Dublin or elsewhere several times a year just to ensure the team they grew up with and love continue to exist. Its something I did myself for a good while and it would break your heart at times, but you know what, I'd give anything to go back and do it all again.

Anyway Mog, keep up the interest, keep asking questions, don't be afraid to talk to people here or at games wherever you are. There are idiots around, but you get them everywhere unfortunately. They will be a minority I hope.
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2013, 11:39:22 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 10, 2013, 04:46:32 AM

That game in Manchester is an All Ireland Junior football semi final. The UK champions get to play in this competition each year at the semi final stage as Ulster don't run a junior football championship.
Cork have a strong team and would be heavy favourites, but there has been a dramatic improvement in the GAA in the North of England aswell as the South and Liverpool, Manchester and Leeds in particular have thriving GAA scenes. John Mitchels, a club from Liverpool, reached an All Ireland junior club final a couple of years ago, losing narrowly. I do know quite a few lads involved in Gaelic football in Leeds and you could nip over there to watch a few games if the interest takes you.

I would echo other posters urging you to take a trip when you can to the Gaelic Football heartlands (as you seem more interested in Football?) to get a sense of what its all about.

To my mind in no particular order West Cork, Mayo, Any part of Kerry (but particularly the South and West I have to admit), Tyrone, Down, Derry and some parts of Dublin are the most intense football areas of the country, but there are clubs outside these areas that could be every bit as educational and invigorating to visit. Nemo Rangers in Cork city for example, is as intense and successful a Gaelic Football club as there is on the island. Kilamcud Crokes, Ballyboden-St Enda's or St Vincents in Dublin, Kilmurry-Ibrickane (in the rural area around Quilty in West Clare) are all beacons of Gaelic Football excellence.

The effort put into even fielding teams by volunteers and players in tiny rural areas like Dromid in South Kerry, Aran Islands or the wilds of Donegal would amaze and inspire you...lads making 7 or 8 hour round trips from Dublin or elsewhere several times a year just to ensure the team they grew up with and love continue to exist. Its something I did myself for a good while and it would break your heart at times, but you know what, I'd give anything to go back and do it all again.

Anyway Mog, keep up the interest, keep asking questions, don't be afraid to talk to people here or at games wherever you are. There are idiots around, but you get them everywhere unfortunately. They will be a minority I hope.

Great post, C_t but the bit in bold surprises me a bit, as well as similar references in other posts in the thread here. It simply wouldn't occur to me that a fella could get into any trouble at a GAA match because he has an English (or any other) accent - apart from antagonism between supporters of the teams involved and happily that's rare enough by comparison with some other sports. I just can't imagine it at any club I can think of or at any inter-county game. When I read his original post I smiled to myself when he mentioned that. Then it seemed sad to me that anyone should think that, but I put it down to a possible comparison to English soccer.

My answer to him would have been that it's something to put out of his head completely. It's not a consideration.  What will happen is that he'll find himself adopted by people eager to explain the game to him. We like to show off to strangers. Yes, like any of us, he could get a belt in the gob for something he'd say, but it wouldn't be for the accent he said it in.

(Just joking, 30Mog - that doesn't happen either - not outside the white line anyway and never among casual supporters. There was a celebrated case recently where a handbag-swinging lady came out of the crowd and cut loose on the field of play, but limited damage was inflicted. That was in Kerry and she was from Tyrone, so there was a double derogation from normal practice at work.)
Post by: armaghniac on August 10, 2013, 01:19:28 PM

I think you have to include South Armagh in that list, which has a very successful club that shares its parish with 3 others, all of whom have put in enormous work and with similar good work going on in neighbouring districts. But there are great clubs and setups in every county. Some of the smaller clubs, not well known outside their own area, represent the greatest achieivement given their small base.
Post by: maddog on August 10, 2013, 04:17:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 10, 2013, 11:39:22 AM

Great post, C_t but the bit in bold surprises me a bit, as well as similar references in other posts in the thread here. It simply wouldn't occur to me that a fella could get into any trouble at a GAA match because he has an English (or any other) accent - apart from antagonism between supporters of the teams involved and happily that's rare enough by comparison with some other sports. I just can't imagine it at any club I can think of or at any inter-county game. When I read his original post I smiled to myself when he mentioned that. Then it seemed sad to me that anyone should think that, but I put it down to a possible comparison to English soccer.

My answer to him would have been that it's something to put out of his head completely. It's not a consideration.  What will happen is that he'll find himself adopted by people eager to explain the game to him. We like to show off to strangers. Yes, like any of us, he could get a belt in the gob for something he'd say, but it wouldn't be for the accent he said it in.

(Just joking, 30Mog - that doesn't happen either - not outside the white line anyway and never among casual supporters. There was a celebrated case recently where a handbag-swinging lady came out of the crowd and cut loose on the field of play, but limited damage was inflicted. That was in Kerry and she was from Tyrone, so there was a double derogation from normal practice at work.)

I know plenty of the lads that go every year to the All Ireland football and hurling from Birmingham, plenty of them are 2nd generation Irish with Birmingham accents. Never ever heard of them having a problem apart from the ones they create for themselves. ;)
Post by: Rossfan on August 10, 2013, 04:18:36 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 10, 2013, 11:39:22 AM
[. It simply wouldn't occur to me that a fella could get into any trouble at a GAA match because he has an English (or any other) accent -

I spent an entire game ( v Mayowr U21s) sitting in front of a rhubarb supporter who had a severe dose of Yorkshire accent and spent almost the entire game groaning " Ahhh Freeeeemon !" as one Alan Freeman didn't perform to his expectations.

I'd suggest  mog get in touch with one of the Leeds clubs ( although you might become a rhubarb then) and take it from there.
Post by: neilthemac on August 10, 2013, 04:29:31 PM

intense pockets in every county.
you need to experience a game with two teams from north longford, or south westmeath! bitterness and rivalry don't come close to describing it.

pick a place to holiday, and invariably there will be games on.
That is the beauty of the GAA.
You heard about maybe, 10% of the games in the media?
Post by: 30mog on August 10, 2013, 06:34:41 PM
Soon after posting I realised my mistake.  And that it is a junior football not hurling game tomorrow.  This because on GAA website it is listed immeadiately under tomorrow's hurling semi's.  So no need to take a crash helmet?  I have to say I would be choosy about where in the ground I watched an hurling game from....I bet they hurt!

Anyway, when it says 'junior', it might be interpreted as an age group reference.  However, Am i right it actually means a second tier competition?  Like in Scottish Football where below the professional game clubs are designated as having senior or junior status, with the latter not allowed to play in the Scottish FA Cup while the former are.  But of course in the case of GAA the same teams, as in the counties, field all the different teams.

Whatever, looking forward to it.  Train times noted and on my way barring disasters.
Post by: armaghniac on August 10, 2013, 06:42:22 PM
QuoteLike in Scottish Football where below the professional game clubs are designated as having senior or junior status, with the latter not allowed to play in the Scottish FA Cup while the former are.  But of course in the case of GAA the same teams, as in the counties, field all the different teams.

Junior is a second rank team, like the above. Underage teams are Minor (u-18).
A small GAA club might be a junior club, or a bigger senior club might have second string playing in the junior ranks.
Post by: StephenC on August 10, 2013, 07:49:27 PM
Philip Jordan ‏@PhilipJordan72
"The 4th post on this thread is as a good a description of what the GAA is about as you could get #proudtobeagael "

AZOffally, take a bow.
Post by: eddie d on August 10, 2013, 08:14:12 PM
Quote from: StephenC on August 10, 2013, 07:49:27 PM
"The 4th post on this thread is as a good a description of what the GAA is about as you could get #proudtobeagael "

AZOffally, take a bow.
[/quo
Maybe he is philip jordan..aw u cute tyrone ones
Post by: INDIANA on August 10, 2013, 08:15:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:04:01 PM

Welcome aboard 30mog. It would be churlish, indeed disrespectful, to try and improve on AZOffaly's summary.
My advice. Come over to Ireland ANY weekend in the year and you will find something to interest you....let us know on here when you are flying over and you will be pointed in the right direction for that weekend's action. I'd safely say some of the lads on here would be willing to meet you to give you the grand tour. Don't restrict your self to Dublin though. At the risk of getting a kicking from the AJHs on here the Dublin club scene wouldn't necessarily reflect the true parochial nature alluded to by AZOffaly earlier. Have fun and dont disguise the accent....no need.

Don't be throwing in all clubs in dublin into the one basket. Go to a dublin championship game an odd time
Post by: Syferus on August 10, 2013, 08:55:21 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 10, 2013, 08:15:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 09, 2013, 02:04:01 PM

Don't be throwing in all clubs in dublin into the one basket. Go to a dublin championship game an odd time

It's a lonley road being a Dub, eh Indiana?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 10, 2013, 11:54:47 PM
Very welcome 30mog, great stuff!  :)

As has been mentioned, your accent won't mean anything other than you'll be overwhelmed with well meaning solicitousness - you won't be stuck for a GAA foster home, at whichever level, and from whatever source! ;)

Just last weekend in the aftermath of the Monaghan-Tyrone game (war, whatever!), whilst grabbing a bite, four (very obvious) scousers ensconced themselves right next to me. Turns out that they'll be back for the semi-final, their Mum's a Mayo lass.

And needless to say, they were just as cocky about their relative prospects in that as the weshtern natives themselves are (no matter how they attempt to dissimulate!).  :P ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2013, 10:13:46 AM
Welcome to the family son.  Not a shotgun wedding threat or anything here but for a young English GAA virgin, there is only one place to pop your cherry....  The greatest club team ever!!! (http://www.crossrangers.com/)

Senior and Junior adult teams and a fine underage structure but on top of that we are heavily invested in the actual history of the GAA.  The likes of Nemo etc are very much pretenders to the historical throne, They may have a few more AI's but we were ripping it up when they were still battling with who they were going to steal players from we were making the county championship our own!!!

Seriously though come over any time, you can follow any team, the one guarantee you will have is that you will be made feel welcome and so long as you buy your round then you should be fine ;D
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2013, 10:44:34 AM
Can't let BCB get away with that.

30mog, forget yer Crossmaglens and their brand of hatchet football, get yerself down to East Tyrone and to Derrytresk. It's not far from the M1 so if things cut out rough there's a quick getaway to the airport. On match days you can sample orange, clear and brown mineral with a variety of crisps to complement your tipple.

There's a man with a tin on a table as you drive down the lane. It'll probably say £5 but just throw in any loose change and say 'they'll be hard bate the day" or "that big full forward is a hoor of a lad" or "did ye hear Mary's dead".

You can stand at the rampart side as it's just a quick jump over the sheuk and you can do your business behind the brackens. During the game shout at any given time "travellin for fcuk sake ref" "two bounces for fcuk sake ref" "good man Pat, horse into him, he's yella" or "you'll never get out alive ref".

At half time there'll be women selling tickets for a raffle to win more crisps and mineral.

Towards the end there will probably be a boxing match on the field involving all 40 players and subs, both sets of management, officials, local hard men, women with accessories - feel free to join in. The brawl will probably spill out across the bog and maybe up the road towards the chapel. Head in to the bar for a pint and say things like "flip, they were come cnuts alright" or "Typical west Tyrone basterds".

A much more cultured experience than your Crossmaglen and their corned beef sandwiches.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 11, 2013, 10:53:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 11, 2013, 10:44:34 AM

30mog, forget yer Crossmaglens and their brand of hatchet football, get yerself down to East Tyrone and to Derrytresk. It's not far from the M1 so if things cut out rough there's a quick getaway to the airport. On match days you can sample orange, clear and brown mineral with a variety of crisps to complement your tipple.

There's a man with a tin on a table as you drive down the lane. It'll probably say £5 but just throw in any loose change and say 'they'll be hard bate the day" or "that big full forward is a hoor of a lad" or "did ye hear Mary's dead".

You can stand at the rampart side as it's just a quick jump over the sheuk and you can do your business behind the brackens. During the game shout at any given time "travellin for fcuk sake ref" "two bounces for fcuk sake ref" "good man Pat, horse into him, he's yella" or "you'll never get out alive ref".

At half time there'll be women selling tickets for a raffle to win more crisps and mineral.

Towards the end there will probably be a boxing match on the field involving all 40 players and subs, both sets of management, officials, local hard men, women with accessories - feel free to join in. The brawl will probably spill out across the bog and maybe up the road towards the chapel. Head in to the bar for a pint and say things like "flip, they were come cnuts alright" or "Typical west Tyrone basterds".

A much more cultured experience than your Crossmaglen and their corned beef sandwiches.

Never mind AZ's post on the first page - that's the GAA right there!  ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2013, 07:45:38 PM

I'll bow to that, there is no finer example of the GAA as described by our midget friend from Tyrone, the work going on in the Bushes is far and away better than anywhere else in the country though I would see your brown lemonade and raise you a bottle of Maine American Cream soda and curse you and your foul culinary 'expertise', there is nothing quite like a Corn Beef and brown sauce sandwich with a cup of sweet tea out of a Tartan Thermos. 
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 11, 2013, 09:49:55 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2013, 07:45:38 PM

I'll bow to that, there is no finer example of the GAA as described by our midget friend from Tyrone, the work going on in the Bushes is far and away better than anywhere else in the country though I would see your brown lemonade and raise you a bottle of Maine American Cream soda and curse you and your foul culinary 'expertise', there is nothing quite like a Corn Beef and brown sauce sandwich with a cup of sweet tea out of a Tartan Thermos.

Ah be jaysus O'Neill, how is a wet behind the ears English gent going to know what a mineral is. He'd be better off in Cross.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 11, 2013, 10:06:29 PM
Quote from: StephenC on August 10, 2013, 07:49:27 PM

AZOffally, take a bow.

Always liked him :D
Post by: Syferus on August 11, 2013, 11:27:20 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2013, 10:13:46 AM
Welcome to the family son.  Not a shotgun wedding threat or anything here but for a young English GAA virgin, there is only one place to pop your cherry....  The greatest club team ever!!! (http://www.crossrangers.com/)

Senior and Junior adult teams and a fine underage structure but on top of that we are heavily invested in the actual history of the GAA.  The likes of Nemo etc are very much pretenders to the historical throne, They may have a few more AI's but we were ripping it up when they were still battling with who they were going to steal players from we were making the county championship our own!!!

Seriously though come over any time, you can follow any team, the one guarantee you will have is that you will be made feel welcome and so long as you buy your round then you should be fine ;D

BC1, who's that club that beat ye in February again? What mighty county do they represent? My memory's a little foggy. You'd want to be turning him onto the best around today and not the best from a year ago, you know, in my opinion.
Post by: armaghniac on August 12, 2013, 01:16:06 AM
Syferus, there is no point in him wasting time on a one in a row club.
Post by: Syferus on August 12, 2013, 01:28:02 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 12, 2013, 01:16:06 AM
Syferus, there is no point in him wasting time on a one in a row club.

A hodge-podge Brigids team beat the Roscommon Intermediate champions (who themselves have made the senior county QFs) by 19 points in the championship today. Would be making any proclamations just yet  :-*
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2013, 10:02:02 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 10, 2013, 11:54:47 PM
Very welcome 30mog, great stuff!  :)

As has been mentioned, your accent won't mean anything other than you'll be overwhelmed with well meaning solicitousness - you won't be stuck for a GAA foster home, at whichever level, and from whatever source! ;)

Just last weekend in the aftermath of the Monaghan-Tyrone game (war, whatever!), whilst grabbing a bite, four (very obvious) scousers ensconced themselves right next to me. Turns out that they'll be back for the semi-final, their Mum's a Mayo lass.

And needless to say, they were just as cocky about their relative prospects in that as the weshtern natives themselves are (no matter how they attempt to dissimulate!).  :P ;)

(http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/liverpoolecho/mar2012/3/3/enfield-scousers-620-257812546.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 12, 2013, 11:39:26 AM
 ;D Not too wide of the mark!  :D
Post by: western exile on August 14, 2013, 09:50:48 AM
@30mog. How did you get on on Sunday?
Any match reports?
Post by: BennyHarp on August 14, 2013, 10:52:54 AM
Quote from: western exile on August 14, 2013, 09:50:48 AM
@30mog. How did you get on on Sunday?
Any match reports?

Hope he wasn't involved in this! http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=198681
Post by: 30mog on August 15, 2013, 06:23:57 PM
OMG!!   Yes I was there!  What's more.  With the venue hidden down a secluded lane in a marshy and wooded area near Manchester Airport, I am shocked that this happened!  I may now contact Greater Manchester Police and ask if anyone has given a description of me just in case.  Not guilty I promise!

Anyway, an update on my plans.  Don't expect to make a trip over to Ireland this year.  For one thing I can't fly over at the moment because my passport is expired and renewal will take a few weeks.  When I do come over I am looking at making Cork my next irish destination.  Looks a nice place to visit for things other than Gaelic games.  While I was at that game, and alas crime scene, in Manchester.  The first hurling semi was taking place at Croke Park.  I avoided any knowledge of the result until I had time to watch it in full, on Tuesday.  Now please tell me, on a scale of 1 to 5 [1= waste of time watching, 5= nomination for all time classic] was Dublin v Cork a 4.7 or 4.8?  It was actually the first hurling game I have ever watched in full.  Somehow the code never appealed to me till now.  But after that, if its half decent football OR hurling happening in Cork and when I can get there for a weekend, I AM COMING.  I will also be keeping an eye on activity with London GAA, Warwickshire GAA and may adopt St.Baranabas of Nottingham as my local club. [I live only 35 mins from Nottingham, my paternal grandfather was born there and in a bit of family tree research we have had hints of connection to Irish immigrants two or three generations before him - there must be some reason I have always felt 'half at home' in both Dublin & Nottingham].
Post by: armaghniac on August 15, 2013, 09:35:10 PM
Assuming that you are British, you only need a passport on Ryanair.
Post by: JUst retired on August 15, 2013, 10:48:07 PM
30Mog i was in your neck of the woods up until yesterday.Thurgoland, not much GAA though.
Post by: SkillfulBill on August 16, 2013, 09:27:29 AM
30Mog, Thon oul hurling game at the weekend was a 1 on your scale, sure the Dubs have only taken up the sticks in the last year or two to qualify for the grants.
Post by: waterfordlad on August 17, 2013, 02:59:33 PM
Dublin v Cork was about 4.5 out of 5 I'd say. As a hurling fan I thought it was a fantastic game, real end to end stuff with the goal near the end deciding it. It was anyones up to then.
Don't be raising his expectations too much sayig it was 1 out of 5!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 22, 2013, 05:28:45 PM
30mog, you'll have a great time in Cork, its a fantastic city to see and some of the finest pubs in Ireland, check out Mutton Lane, the Castle or the Oval when you're over. And get up to Nemo to watch some football, they have an unreal set-up and if you give them a shout beforehand I'm sure they'd organise something for you.

I was at a Mayo Down league match a couple of years ago with 5 or 6 yanks in front of me, they had me in stitches, Aidan O'Shea burst some lad with a shower "ya thats right down you've just been Mayo'd" was the pick of the bunch, everyone around them were interacting well with them, both Mayo and Down, great to see
Post by: emmetryan on August 22, 2013, 05:31:26 PM
We've a French lad in our office, only moved to Ireland in December, totally converted to Gaelic Games now. Didn't require much of a push at all.
Post by: Rossfan on August 22, 2013, 05:34:32 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 22, 2013, 05:28:45 PM
Cork, its a fantastic city to see and some of the finest pubs in Ireland, check out Mutton Lane, the Castle or the Oval when you're over.
For something different try the Hibernian or Charlies - two quirky places if ever there were such.
Post by: Any craic on August 22, 2013, 05:41:50 PM
This is certainly foreign appreciation of GAA.. I'm in Italy at the moment for a Gaelic Football tournament on Saturday and a handball exhibition on Sunday. The local hosting team is all-Italian as you can see from last night's training session - http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/video/European-GAA/Italy/Italian-GAA-History-makers-1221 (http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/video/European-GAA/Italy/Italian-GAA-History-makers-1221)
Post by: Denn Forever on September 03, 2013, 05:51:19 PM
Hope you were watching the Dublin/Kerry semi on Sunday. 

Most enjoyable game I've seen in a while.  Both sides using the new type of tactics (high intensity, pressure on the ball etc.) but still very fluid.  Hard hitting and both teams getting on with things.

Both sides take a bow.

The final will have a lot to live up to.
Post by: Any craic on September 12, 2013, 09:05:44 PM
Italian Job - here's what happens when you mix the tune of the Summer with a great GAA story from Rovigo in northern Italy. Click on the main video box on the home page to view - http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com  (http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com)
Post by: seafoid on September 12, 2013, 09:31:13 PM
Quote from: Any craic on September 12, 2013, 09:05:44 PM
Italian Job - here's what happens when you mix the tune of the Summer with a great GAA story from Rovigo in northern Italy. Click on the main video box on the home page to view - http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com  (http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com)
The Italian who said he preferred GF to soccer because the atmosphere was better- that could be a great selling point on the continent.
Post by: Any craic on September 26, 2013, 09:41:31 AM
Meet new GAA referees Andrea, Lorenzo and Alessandro & see how these fully trained up Italians got on at reffing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwRehSpIdfE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwRehSpIdfE)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 26, 2013, 05:56:08 PM
Quote from: Any craic on September 26, 2013, 09:41:31 AM
Meet new GAA referees Andrea, Lorenzo and Alessandro & see how these fully trained up Italians got on at reffing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwRehSpIdfE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwRehSpIdfE)

Great stuff. Is Italy becoming another hotbed of GAA activity like Galicia and Brittany then?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 26, 2013, 05:58:50 PM
Re-posting here in case anyone missed it in all the excitement of the All-Ireland:

2013 North American GAA finals in Cleveland (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHI9PRMOS-o) - Not available on mobile platforms, working on a version that is.

2013 North American senior football final, full match (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DE-UzjPN1L8) - Boston Connemara Gaels v San Francisco Ulster.
Post by: armaghniac on September 26, 2013, 07:37:29 PM
QuoteMeet new GAA referees Andrea, Lorenzo and Alessandro & see how these fully trained up Italians got on at reffing:

Apparently they get most of the calls right!
Andrea, Lorenzo e Alessandro, abbiamo bisogno di te qui in Irlanda!
Post by: ballinaman on September 28, 2013, 12:37:26 PM
(https://scontent-b-ams.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/1237079_548773118525769_560602724_n.jpg)
Post by: muppet on September 28, 2013, 12:46:58 PM
Quote from: Any craic on September 12, 2013, 09:05:44 PM

I enjoyed watching that. Keep it up Any craic.
Post by: Look-Up! on September 30, 2013, 03:49:07 PM

Hi 30mog , saw your post and thought I'd reply . I would say to you that the All-Ireland Club finals on St. Patricks Day are an absolute must and tailor made for someone with your interest . They're on in Croke Park every year on this day - Hurling is on at 2pm , Football at 3:45pm . Expect around 25,000 - 30,000 people attending . Great and special atmosphere . You will see just what it means to the local communities involved . 4 parishes/clubs fighting it out for the honour of 2 best clubs in Ireland . It truly is the heart of the GAA . This year the hurling champions had 5 sets of brothers on the team - about as tribal as it gets! The standard is of a very high quality as well . No problem getting tickets . They cost 25 euro and you just show up and buy them there and then from the ticket offices/vans outside Croke Park . You could make a weekend of it or just make it a day trip (falls on Monday next year) , maybe catch some of the parade in Dublin as well (starts at 12 I think) . You'll be out of the stadium shortly after 5 , no reason why you couldn't catch a 7pm or later flight back home . Not sure what the flights will cost being Paddy's weekend and all but I'm sure you'll get a good deal if you book in plenty of time . As I said , they're on religiously every year on this day so you could book the flights today if you like!

P.S Hope you caught the hurling final replay over the weekend!
Post by: Any craic on October 10, 2013, 11:14:31 AM
There is a massive GAA event this weekend in Kuala Lumpur. Bernard Brogan will be there (not playing) and Donegal's Ryan Bradley (playing) and hundreds of others from the Middle East, Asia and northern Australia. Have a look at 10 photos here on their Facebook page to see the professional preparations and effort going into the event, and please 'Like' the page: https://www.facebook.com/AsianGAA?ref=ts&fref=ts (https://www.facebook.com/AsianGAA?ref=ts&fref=ts)
Post by: Any craic on October 12, 2013, 07:42:31 AM
Good Morning from Kuala Lumpur at the massive Asian Gaelic Games - 700 players, 58 teams, 120+ games being played today with more tomorrow. This is a short video of Donegal's Ryan Bradley scoring a goal today for Qatar against Abu Dhabi Na Fianna. It was set up by Armagh's Michael Stevenson.  https://vimeo.com/76744345 (https://vimeo.com/76744345) You can follow it all on the Fexco Asian Gaelic Games Facebook page.
Post by: Jinxy on October 12, 2013, 03:59:06 PM
http://travel.cnn.com/explorations/play/outdoor-adventures/10-sporting-events-you-have-see-live-281805 (http://travel.cnn.com/explorations/play/outdoor-adventures/10-sporting-events-you-have-see-live-281805)

They could have picked a more recent photo though.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 12, 2013, 06:08:01 PM
Nice piece of skill in the Oulu Irish Elks v Helsinki Harps game.

(http://s2.thejournal.ie/media/2013/10/zebogaa.gif)

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/oulu-elks-gaa-1121480-Oct2013/
Post by: Any craic on October 14, 2013, 03:04:10 PM
Take 5 minutes and do your ole GAA heart some good. This is a video from a fantastic event in Asia, on the official GAA website:
http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1410131324-fexco-asian-gaelic-games-review/ (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1410131324-fexco-asian-gaelic-games-review/)
Post by: North Longford on October 15, 2013, 12:27:32 PM
Was at the games last weekend. Just incredible to see so many irish out here playing the game. Our 2 boys had a great time. Incredible the amount of non irish playing. One young lad from kl could kick frees as good as you'd ever see. Great to see bernard brogan, brian mullins and mark rohan out celebrity bainisteoring. Also martin skelly who gave a lot of time presenting medals and meeting people etc. The legend michael o'muircheartaigh is a patron of the asian gaa as well and did some commentating on jeromes videos and presenting medals and spoke to anyone that spoke to him. He's probably in about 5000 photos after the weeekend. A real legend. Oh malaysia is crazy spot though!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 18, 2013, 04:11:55 AM
Accept no imitations, this is the real thing!

2014 NCGAA National Championship to be Held in New York (http://ncgaa.org/?p=491)

The NCGAA has announced that the US national collegiate GAA championships for the 2013/2014 academic year will be hosted in New York. The tournament will take place over the Memorial Day weekend, May 24 and 25. This will be the fourth year's running of the national college hurling championship and its first appearance on the East coast. It will also be the first running of the national college Gaelic football championship.

"The NCGAA is committed to developing the collegiate GAA system on the East coast, particularly to bolster the Gaelic football movement that has been taking root there," said Eamonn Gormley, NCGAA Chairman. "The Northeast Collegiate GAA is a new regional committee under strong leadership, we have the utmost confidence in their ability to host this event, and our ambition to develop the northeast region is underlined by our hosting this event in New York."

Simon Gillespie, Chairman of the NECGAA, has welcomed the decision. "We are delighted to get to host this growing movement in New York," he said. "New York has a long and proud GAA tradition, but we also recognize the importance of the collegiate system in securing our future growth and keeping underage players engaged with the GAA as they get older. It protects our investment in youth."

A total of three bids were submitted from collegiate clubs eager to host the tournament, two of which came from the northeast. The bid to host it in New York came from the University of Connecticut Hurling Club. The NCGAA selected New York due to "a combination of the impressive facilities and the enthusiastic support for the bid that came from the local GAA community."

The hurling club at the University of California, Berkeley, (Cal) are the current holders of the national collegiate hurling championship title and will now face a challenging journey across the country to retain the title. Meanwhile the national title in Gaelic football is yet to be claimed.
Post by: Maroon Manc on October 18, 2013, 12:21:51 PM
I worry about the future of GAA in the UK especially in my own county Lancashire.

We have great games that could grow and grow all over the world but I'm not sure the powers that be fully understand how to do that.

Its great to see GAA been played in different countries all over Europe but i'm not sure how sustainable this is going forward. Can't rely on emigration for the future of our games.

Sometimes in life you have to take a step backwards to go 2 steps forwards. 

The UK is such a huge market, there are millions of second and third generation Irish. There are no language barriers, were only an hour away in the air at most and we already have a strong foothold.

There has been no real development in the sports in the last 25 years, in face we've regressed.

Post by: Zulu on October 18, 2013, 12:35:38 PM
I think there has been some progress to be fair and a few important steps have been taken, e.g. the All Britain Championships. I believe that the GAA has finally recognised that sustainable growth of the GAA has to be through British born kids and not with the transient Irish immigrant community. The problem is there is no overall plan or even regional development plans in place and inadequate funding which may even be reduced further. I would suggest the GAA should look to develop city by city in Britain and should start with smaller cities where there are already GAA clubs and look to develop new underage clubs with the necessary funding to allow this to happen.
Post by: Any craic on October 22, 2013, 10:07:25 AM
'The new GAA' - Asia is now up there with the USA, GB and Australia. See new Video from the 2013 Asian Gaelic Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egpfPIvv5ys (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egpfPIvv5ys)
Post by: Any craic on November 11, 2013, 04:38:18 PM
You certainly can't fault their ambition - http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1111131225-dallas-gaa-chase-american-dream/ (http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/1111131225-dallas-gaa-chase-american-dream/)
Post by: ballinaman on November 26, 2013, 11:57:30 AM
Ken Early posted this from a German soccer magazine he got in Berlin last week after the Irish game in Poznan..."Blood,Sweat and Whiskey" ???

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BZ_lHIeIAAAMHxI.jpg:large)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 05, 2013, 03:43:12 AM
"Our players have come from various backgrounds. We have a professional bull-fighter, two wrestlers, a body-builder, a lacrosse player to name but a few, and we have players from Ireland, USA, Finland, Austria, Germany and Denmark. The challenge is to make them into a team who can play hurling."

Hurling at the University of Montana (http://punditarena.com/2013/12/04/hurling-montana-new-frontier/).
Post by: AZOffaly on December 05, 2013, 03:39:23 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 05, 2013, 03:43:12 AM
"Our players have come from various backgrounds. We have a professional bull-fighter, two wrestlers, a body-builder, a lacrosse player to name but a few, and we have players from Ireland, USA, Finland, Austria, Germany and Denmark. The challenge is to make them into a team who can play hurling."

Hurling at the University of Montana (http://punditarena.com/2013/12/04/hurling-montana-new-frontier/).

Sounds just like the Clare team of the mid 90s.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 10, 2013, 07:54:00 AM
2013 North American GAA finals, extended edition. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjqIcuG80is)  Includes new footage, more interviews, and an extensive interview with Liam O'Neill on his vision for the future of Gaelic games in North America. Should play on mobile platforms.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 10, 2013, 11:29:20 AM
Brilliant.  Take a bow.
Post by: ardal on December 10, 2013, 11:43:59 AM
Tony Bass,

a great man for the GAA in Europe. Wild craic into the bargain
Post by: Zulu on December 10, 2013, 12:03:00 PM
Just watched it there and it was brilliant so well done Eamonn on filming and editing such a great video. The US sets the bar for all international sections in many ways, though Aisa seem to do a top class job too. The different international bodies have different challenges and where challenges are similar sometimes the solutions have to be different but I firmly believe that there has to be an element of joined up thinking between international bodies. Europe and Britain need to link up better for example.

What I will say is that the president seems to say all the right things at these events but is doing little to back them up with real initiatives. Furthermore, I don't think the GAA (at home) engages well with international bodies in terms of developing a pathway for the games future. I'm heavily involved in my club and county and would have spoken to those administrating at high levels and nobody seems to have a blue clue what the GAA abroad is meant to look like  in 3 or 5 years time.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 16, 2013, 08:24:26 AM
Here's a little montage of Camogie from the NACB nationals (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyyJsSxMqnE).
Post by: theticklemister on December 16, 2013, 12:04:04 PM
Emyvale and Ballinderry managers came out openly and said the putch was a mess and so were the facilities. I think this is a bit harsh and down right disrespectful to the respective county boards.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2013, 12:16:28 PM
I see Michael Duignan said Fullen Gaels were deserved winners against Ballinamere in the intermediate semi final (hurling). Well done to them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2013, 02:09:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 16, 2013, 12:16:28 PM
I see Michael Duignan said Fullen Gaels were deserved winners against Ballinamere in the intermediate semi final (hurling). Well done to them.
*He says through gritted teeth*. I think they were beaten finalists last year (well, this year!) so obviously no whipping boys.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 16, 2013, 02:11:02 PM
Yeah, I'd have liked to see an Offaly team progressing, but the british teams are not easy beat in these lower tier competitions, so fair play to them. How do you solve lockjaw?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2013, 04:15:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 16, 2013, 02:11:02 PM
Yeah, I'd have liked to see an Offaly team progressing, but the british teams are not easy beat in these lower tier competitions, so fair play to them. How do you solve lockjaw?
Waiting for Laoislad to arrive in telling us that 2 British teams playing each other in the next round...
Post by: muppet on December 18, 2013, 06:03:04 PM
Well done to all involved.

I'd love to hear Micheál commentating live on these names:

L-R Back Row: Morgan Thurman, Gary Moloney, Haydn Wooster, Kevin Moore, Naoise Waldron, Bjorn Reininghaus, Tanner Sholey, Matt Larson.
Front Row: Brian Barry, Laine Lynes, Kaleb Barrett, Seán 'Terrior' Blomhardt, Michael Eibl.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 20, 2013, 02:26:36 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/american-hurlers-speak-of-deep-love-for-ancient-irish-game-in-new-documentary-29855166.html
Post by: Any craic on December 28, 2013, 02:41:28 PM
Here's my Top Six Overseas GAA Videos from 2013 - see great stories from Texas, Kuala Lumpur, Rome, Philadelphia & Zurich.
http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/video/Overseas-GAA-2013 (http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/video/Overseas-GAA-2013)
Post by: thejuice on December 29, 2013, 03:45:06 PM
A friend of mine who is from New Zealand is considering introducing Gaelic football to his primary school where he teaches in England. Is there any useful links or ways he can get support. He has no experience of the game other than he enjoyed the few games he saw and thinks it would be a great game for kids.
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2013, 05:19:44 PM
Whht county is he in? Find out if there is a GPO that county by contacting county board. If not find out what he nearest club to him is and im sure they would end over coaches to help him if the school is near. You never onow the school might be close to a GAA club.
Post by: thejuice on December 29, 2013, 06:03:06 PM
He's in North Central London, that's as much as I know
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2013, 07:08:50 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 29, 2013, 06:03:06 PM
He's in North Central London, that's as much as I know

32 clubs in London bound to be close to one. Get the secretary of Londons email address and tell him to tell the secretary exactly where the school is and i have no doubt the secretary of county board will put him in the right direction.
Post by: thejuice on December 29, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Grand, cheers for the help.
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 07, 2014, 10:37:56 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 12, 2013, 06:08:01 PM
Nice piece of skill in the Oulu Irish Elks v Helsinki Harps game.

(http://s2.thejournal.ie/media/2013/10/zebogaa.gif)

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/oulu-elks-gaa-1121480-Oct2013/

Just watching that on Setanta at the minute, despite that great point Helsinki went on to win 4-8 to 0-9.

MORE THAN 1300 miles away from Croke Park, the world's most northerly GAA game took place near the Arctic Circle earlier this year.
Raati Stadium in Oulu was the venue when the Oulu Elks and the Helsinki Harps met in the All-Finland Gaelic football finals.
The match is the subject of a new documentary, The Northernmost Point, which tells the story of Finland's growing GAA community, the players, the clubs and their place in history.