GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on March 28, 2017, 05:02:06 PM

Title: Can the Dubs do the 3 in a row?
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2017, 05:02:06 PM
Nobody seems to want to play them in the Division 1 final. 35 games in a row.
Title: Re: Can the Dubs do the 3 in a row?
Post by: Rossfan on March 28, 2017, 06:36:05 PM
Can we have an Intermediate AI championship straight away please?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 28, 2017, 06:41:17 PM
It would be a major shock if they didn't.
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2017, 07:08:22 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 28, 2017, 06:41:17 PM
Donegal stopped the bid in 2014. It can be done
Post by: Syferus on March 28, 2017, 07:08:58 PM
The real question is can anyone stop the five in a row.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 28, 2017, 07:21:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2017, 07:08:22 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 28, 2017, 06:41:17 PM
Donegal stopped the bid in 2014. It can be done

And that was a major shock. It took a tactical masterclass, top class performances from Durcan and McHugh and a bit of luck for that to happen though. Mayo last year didn't have the luck or a fair referee but it would have been a greater shock considering their lack of form.
Post by: mrdeeds on March 28, 2017, 07:22:34 PM
Yes. Next question.
Post by: moysider on March 28, 2017, 11:18:19 PM
Yes.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 11:38:09 PM
And 4 in a row when the Super 8 kicks in!
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2017, 06:59:23 AM
They'll do the 10 in a row.
Post by: ballinaman on March 29, 2017, 08:40:20 AM
Will Dubs actually stop going to watch games is a better question. Attendances in parkhead this year remain high even though basically guaranteed to win every match. When Rangers did 9 leagues in a row in 90s, what were gates like?
Post by: sid waddell on March 29, 2017, 09:40:53 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 29, 2017, 08:40:20 AM
Will Dubs actually stop going to watch games is a better question. Attendances in parkhead this year remain high even though basically guaranteed to win every match. When Rangers did 9 leagues in a row in 90s, what were gates like?
Depends who the matches are against, but from my own point of view, the answer is an emphatic "yes".

Outside of Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal or at a push, Monaghan (away only), there's little point in attending at the moment as you won't see any competitive action.

The only reason you'd go would be for the beer.

Wexford in Wexford will be the only Leinster match worth attending this year just for the day out factor.

Post by: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 09:48:01 AM
A serious question.
If all the other counties were peeved off with the amount of money Dublin were getting and proposed a motion to play the AI without the Dubs, could this motion be passed or would it get thrown out?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 29, 2017, 10:13:05 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on March 29, 2017, 09:40:53 AM
Depends who the matches are against, but from my own point of view, the answer is an emphatic "yes".

Outside of Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal or at a push, Monaghan (away only), there's little point in attending at the moment as you won't see any competitive action.

The only reason you'd go would be for the beer.

Wexford in Wexford will be the only Leinster match worth attending this year just for the day out factor.

Don't rule out a trip to Carlow. Last Sunday could set Wexford back, we'll see how much they can pick it up for the league final, and Carlow are able to bring a one off performance on the big day.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 29, 2017, 10:20:39 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 09:48:01 AM
A serious question.
If all the other counties were peeved off with the amount of money Dublin were getting and proposed a motion to play the AI without the Dubs, could this motion be passed or would it get thrown out?

Sure the Dubs don't steal the money! It's the 'other counties' who are supporting the grants etc, to the Dubs. It would be a bit hypocritical to throw them out of the All Ireland!
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2017, 11:10:39 AM
A serious question.

They'd never let us use their stadium for the final though.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 11:17:59 AM
We could move it to the real capital and their new stadium.

Serioulsy, Imagine how it would reinvigorate the Leinster championship and how Mayo could finally win Sam.
The Dubs are the problem here and taking them out of the equation would also remove the need for the blanket defence and we'd all get our game back.

I was gonna bring my kids to the Dubs v Rossie match on Sat night but my eldest said nah it will be all over after 15 mins and be boring.
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2017, 11:22:19 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 11:17:59 AM

Serioulsy, Imagine how it would reinvigorate the Leinster championship and how Mayo could finally win Sam.
The Dubs are the problem here and taking them out of the equation would also remove the need for the blanket defence and we'd all get our game back.

I was gonna bring my kids to the Dubs v Rossie match on Sat night but my eldest said nah it will be all over after 15 mins and be boring.

Post by: heffo on March 29, 2017, 11:35:47 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 29, 2017, 10:20:39 AM
A serious question.

Sure the Dubs don't steal the money! It's the 'other counties' who are supporting the grants etc, to the Dubs. It would be a bit hypocritical to throw them out of the All Ireland!

Will the Nordies be giving back the 4 z AI's that coincided with the 120m slush fund from the British govt?
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2017, 02:31:28 PM

Wouldn't be an AI without them. It would mean more to lose to them than win an AI without them.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 03:25:05 PM
We'll be giving back nothing but cheek
Post by: mup on March 29, 2017, 04:21:02 PM
A serious question.

You think the GAA would allow such a motion? Their biggest project after Croke Park?

Not a chance.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 04:27:45 PM
That's what I'm asking is it possible or are there structures in place to stop it happening?
Post by: tonto1888 on March 29, 2017, 08:00:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 11:17:59 AM

Pretty sure the blanket defence was brought in before this current Dublin team got goong. Around 2003 I think actually
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 29, 2017, 08:22:24 PM

Pretty terrible until Parkhead was redeveloped.
http://www.fitbastats.com/celtic/club_records_league_attendance.php
Post by: seafoid on April 15, 2017, 02:23:53 PM
2 good articles

https://aib.ie/gaa/blog/2017/04/padraic_joyce_give_me_analysis_over_opinion_any_day
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-for-how-long-can-dubs-rely-on-their-leaders-35624213.html
Post by: macdanger2 on April 16, 2017, 12:10:19 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2017, 11:10:39 AM
A serious question.

They'd never let us use their stadium for the final though.

Lovely stadium in Limerick that doesn't get much use
Post by: INDIANA on April 16, 2017, 10:15:41 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 29, 2017, 04:27:45 PM
That's what I'm asking is it possible or are there structures in place to stop it happening?

Tyrone should be omitted from the championship as they are currently the most boring team to watch.

They aren't even good enough to play puke football anymore.

Difficult times ahead for Tyrone. I feel for you.

Chin up kid.
Post by: yellowcard on April 16, 2017, 01:31:27 PM
Can't see the Dubs winning 3 in a row. They have the best side but mental tiredness and a lack of hunger will desert them in the latter stages. Very hard to keep going to the well and most of their best players have their best days behind them.
Post by: seafoid on April 16, 2017, 01:43:42 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2017, 01:31:27 PM
Can't see the Dubs winning 3 in a row. They have the best side but mental tiredness and a lack of hunger will desert them in the latter stages. Very hard to keep going to the well and most of their best players have their best days behind them.
Cluxton made his debut in 2001. Jaysus
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2017, 02:02:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 16, 2017, 01:43:42 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 16, 2017, 01:31:27 PM
Cluxton made his debut in 2001. Jaysus

You are clutching at straws if you think Cluxton is going anywhere soon. He'll be the Dino Zoff of Dublin football.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 16, 2017, 03:24:58 PM
Only been 4 Dublin keepers in the championship since the 70's.   We don't like too much change at that position.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 17, 2017, 07:10:39 PM
Sure the Dubs can play their B team until August like they did in the league. Connolly and Co only need to play a few games in August and September.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 08:40:43 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 17, 2017, 07:10:39 PM
Sure the Dubs can play their B team until August like they did in the league. Connolly and Co only need to play a few games in August and September.
I highly doubt Dublin management are going to have their key players rusty going into highly competitive games in August and September.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2017, 08:45:10 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 08:40:43 PM
I highly doubt Dublin management are going to have their key players rusty going into highly competitive games in August and September.

Beating Longford by 20 points won't take the rust off any player.

Toughest matches they'll see before late August or even the third Sunday in September will be in AvB games. Beyond players attaching prestige to starting for their county and kicking up a fuss Gavin could do exactly what Fuzzman suggests and be just fine.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 09:27:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2017, 08:45:10 PM

Toughest matches they'll see before late August or even the third Sunday in September will be in AvB games. Beyond players attaching prestige to starting for their county and kicking up a fuss Gavin could so exactly what Fuzzman suggests and be just fine.

The only teams Dublin beat by 20 points are the ones that give up after 15 minutes because they know they are horrific defensively.
Post by: Beffs on April 17, 2017, 09:37:01 PM
The ritual killing of the Leinster lambs to the slaughter may just do them some good this year, for a change. Their forwards just aren't firing and, it's a bit late in the year to not have a settled line up. Against Kerry, they looked quite leggy and Gavin almost looked out of ideas, to an extent.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2017, 10:19:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 09:27:12 PM

Toughest matches they'll see before late August or even the third Sunday in September will be in AvB games. Beyond players attaching prestige to starting for their county and kicking up a fuss Gavin could so exactly what Fuzzman suggests and be just fine.

The only teams Dublin beat by 20 points are the ones that give up after 15 minutes because they know they are horrific defensively.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0531/704996-dublin-longford/
Post by: Rossfan on April 17, 2017, 10:50:23 PM
Quote from: Beffs on April 17, 2017, 09:37:01 PM
The ritual killing of the Leinster lambs to the slaughter may just do them some good this year, for a change. Their forwards just aren't firing and, it's a bit late in the year to not have a settled line up. Against Kerry, they looked quite leggy and Gavin almost looked out of ideas, to an extent.

Syfīn predicted Dublin would "hockey" Kerry in the League Final.
Now he thinks Dublin won't get a serious game till the AI Final.
Be very afraid Jim Gavin.....
Post by: From the Bunker on April 17, 2017, 11:03:00 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 16, 2017, 03:24:58 PM
Only been 4 Dublin keepers in the championship since the 70's.   We don't like too much change at that position.

Mayo have had half that amount in last years AI Final!  ;D
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2017, 11:37:11 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2017, 11:03:00 PM

Mayo have had half that amount in last years AI Final!  ;D

What's this craic about Rochford keeping Kirby but dropping Gibbons about, Bunker? Seems like it's out of the Hennelly for Clarke playbook..
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 11:52:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2017, 10:19:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 17, 2017, 09:27:12 PM

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0531/704996-dublin-longford/
A link to go along with point I was making.  Good point by Beffs I might add also.
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2017, 11:24:11 AM
Have we another dose of media manipulation?
Diarmuid Connolly interviewed and plastered all over the place.
"I'm a nice chap really" or in other words "Refs  please stop picking on me"
Post by: Greenabovethered on April 21, 2017, 12:40:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 21, 2017, 11:24:11 AM

The cash rich Dublin GAA PR machine in full flow. Irish Times, Irish Independent and Examiner.
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2017, 12:56:32 PM
Quote from: Greenabovethered on April 21, 2017, 12:40:40 PM

The cash rich Dublin GAA PR machine in full flow. Irish Times, Irish Independent and Examiner.

You don't need to pay journos to write about Dublin player interviews..
Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2017, 12:59:22 PM

In fairness De Paper is hardly a Dublin media organ.
Post by: Greenabovethered on April 21, 2017, 01:11:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 21, 2017, 12:59:22 PM

In fairness De Paper is hardly a Dublin media organ.

Don't be so naïve, Dublin GAA have all these journalists on a short leash. They do what they're told.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2017, 01:13:39 PM
Naive? Moi? I'm the most cynical fecker you could meet :)
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2017, 01:16:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 21, 2017, 01:13:39 PM
Naive? Moi? I'm the most cynical fecker you could meet :)

Tyrone.
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2017, 01:29:23 PM

And Morrissey on RTÉ  TV yesterday evening
Post by: moysider on April 22, 2017, 01:17:03 AM

Unbelievable stat. really.

I only remember 3 or 4 Dub. 'keepers since 1974 in Championship. Paddy Cullen (and he possibly was around a lot earlier) Mick Kennedy (briefly), O'Leary and Cluxton. Who am I forgetting? Are you including the 70's Jell? Like since the 70s is 1980?
Anyway it is some doing.
Post by: Gael85 on April 22, 2017, 09:52:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 22, 2017, 01:17:03 AM

I only remember 3 or 4 Dub. 'keepers since 1974 in Championship. Paddy Cullen (and he possibly was around a lot earlier) Mick Kennedy (briefly), O'Leary and Cluxton. Who am I forgetting? Are you including the 70's Jell? Like since the 70s is 1980?
Anyway it is some doing.

Davy Byrne played in goal 98-01. Brian Murphy who played with minor with Kerry played 2 championship games in 03/04 when Cluxton was sent off/suspended
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 22, 2017, 04:49:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 22, 2017, 01:17:03 AM

Anyway it is some doing.

I was counting from towards the end of Cullen's era, Moysider, say late 70's.  I had Cullen, O' Leary, Davy Byrne and Cluxton.

I'd forgotten about Brian Murphy, Gael.  That pushes it up to 5.  We're more fickle than I thought.
Post by: Syferus on April 22, 2017, 05:18:32 PM
~672,500 human males to chose from makes finding a good one a bit easier in fairness.
Post by: thejuice on April 22, 2017, 06:40:21 PM
I don't think the Dubs only pick humans.
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 09:21:12 AM
I see questions being raised about Wexford Park's ability to host the Dublin game if they beat Carlow ::)
Post by: seafoid on May 02, 2017, 10:25:09 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 09:21:12 AM
I see questions being raised about Wexford Park's ability to host the Dublin game if they beat Carlow ::)
They should play Dublin away games in Claralara
Post by: armaghniac on May 03, 2017, 12:18:11 PM
Aiming for the mythical 5 in row?
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-agrees-two-year-extension-to-remain-in-charge-of-dublin-until-end-of-2019-championship-35676828.html
Post by: orangeman on May 04, 2017, 09:02:57 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 03, 2017, 12:18:11 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-gavin-agrees-two-year-extension-to-remain-in-charge-of-dublin-until-end-of-2019-championship-35676828.html

And then blames the referee for losing the league final.
Post by: Buttofthehill on May 04, 2017, 09:06:37 AM
Quote from: orangeman on May 04, 2017, 09:02:57 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 03, 2017, 12:18:11 PM

And then blames the referee for losing the league final.

That's exactly what he doesn't do. He says that Kerry played better, end of.

What he does say is that referees have been explaining why decisions were made that benefited Dublin - no free for Kerry in the AISF but asks why arnt they explaining why Dublin didnt get a penalty in the league final or why Connolly got a Black up in Clones.
Post by: Hound on May 07, 2017, 07:37:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 02, 2017, 09:21:12 AM
Those questions being asked by members of the Wexford County Board. The Leinster Council have fixed the game for Wexford Park, it will only be moved if the Wexford County Board request a move.

Of course , Carlow could get yet beat them