Battle of the Boyne - Meath Vs Louth - Leinster Final 11/7/2010

Started by thejuice, June 29, 2010, 06:21:56 PM

Quote from: hardstation on July 11, 2010, 11:54:33 PM
No sympathy for Louth after watching those scumbags. Slap it up them.

4 or 5 idiots who are really pissed off should not be lumped into representing 25,000 Louth people.

It's like saying all Meath players are cheats for what sheridan did!

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 12, 2010, 12:02:19 AM

4 or 5 idiots who are really pissed off should not be lumped into representing 25,000 Louth people.

True but at some point in the future I will use this goal to attack meath posters ;D

I counted 6, at least. Try again  ;)

Quote from: muppet on July 11, 2010, 11:52:35 PM
http://www.tribune.ie/archive/article/2005/dec/25/brawls-falls-and-a-slew-of-bad-calls/

1999 MUNSTER FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP, FIRST ROUND KERRY v TIPPERARY

The Kerry goal that never was If the GAA ever produce an umpiring handbook, it would be fair to say one of the first ground rules would be: 'Don't duck when a player takes a shot'. Pretty obvious really. Or not, if you're standing in a white coat behind the goal at Austin Stack Park in Tralee for a Munster championship first round encounter between Kerry and Tipperary. Gerry Murphy's championship debut was a memorable one for one reason only . . . 'the goal that never was' in May 1999.

Eight minutes in, Maurice Fitzgerald leapt high outside the small parallelogram and cleverly broke a high ball down to Murphy. The Kerry corner-forward rushed his shot though (the umpire ducking as it sailed past) only to see it rebound off the back stanchion straight back into the same player's arms. Murphy didn't need a second invitation to find the back of the net.

Captured in vivid technicolour by the RTE cameras, then Munster Council chairman . . . a certain Kerryman called Sean Kelly . . . informed referee Michael Collins at half-time that a mistake had been made. To no avail. Trailing by 1-6 to 0-3, Tipperary quashed rumours of a noshow after the break and went down by the same margin as Kerry squandered two second half penalties. Tipperary's appeal for a replay was turned down by the Munster Council with Kelly left to apologise for what he described as "human error".

The mother of all umpiring blunders.

Sorry boys, hands up. I remember that game now.

I was mixing it up with a Munster Final when Tipp played Cork. Cork won it but there was speculation that they used to six subs, rather than five. Frank looked into it, discovered one was a blood sub, and there was no more said about it. Didn't realise that Tipp got hosed twice in ten years though. That's the way it goes I guess. As my father used to say, God rest him, when the bad luck is on you, it's on your dog and your cat.

Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2010, 12:07:26 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 12:01:45 AM
No awarding the trophey to Louth and no replay. THe game is over and Meath won it.
I agree.
Btw, Sludden may as well have had a 5 year old escorting him off. Thon Garda was a fat, useless b**tard. His job needs looked at.

Wasn't Pillar was it?

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 12:09:40 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2010, 12:07:26 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 12:01:45 AM
No awarding the trophey to Louth and no replay. THe game is over and Meath won it.
I agree.
Btw, Sludden may as well have had a 5 year old escorting him off. Thon Garda was a fat, useless b**tard. His job needs looked at.

Wasn't Pillar was it?

Just what I was wondering. He wasn't slow about getting stuck into John Morrison that time in 2006.

Give the "cheats" stuff a rest would you.  ::)
He rolled over the line with the ball, threw it in the general direction of his foot, swung a leg at it and missed.
Hardly the crime of the century.

Actually from looking at footage of the Louth Fans and the Referee, most of it is hand-bags stuff! Mis-timed shoulders, finger waving, fist waving and pushing. All part of the Manliness of our games! :P

No worse than Pllar on Morrison before the Mayo / Dublin Match 2006.

mckieran

QuoteBtw, Sludden may as well have had a 5 year old escorting him off. Thon Garda was a fat, useless b**tard. His job needs looked at.

There was very poor protection for the ref. But in fairness to that guard, he was the wuickest one there; Where were his colleagues? Fans were running from all sides at the ref and it wasnt easy for the guard. There should have been 4 or 5 guards protecting theref, not just 1

QuoteWhere were his colleagues?

Down in Oxygen getting serious O/T.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2010, 12:13:44 AM
QuoteWhere were his colleagues?

Down in Oxygen getting serious O/T.

A couple of the feckers have been following me about this half hour to and from the job. THey might pull me in some day.

mckieran

QuoteGive the "cheats" stuff a rest would you. 
He rolled over the line with the ball, threw it in the general direction of his foot, swung a leg at it and missed.

He also spoke to the referee and umpire afterwards. I can only assume he was claiming it was a legitimate goal.

His smiling at the end when the Louth players were clearly upset didnt exactly calm the situation and did not show Sheridan in a good light. Was he happy he scored an illegal goal? If so, that is cheating.

Quote from: Jinxy on July 12, 2010, 12:11:24 AM

Give the "cheats" stuff a rest would you.  ::)

I think you will find that he was pused over the line as he said. ;D And as for him being the innocent party he was stuck in alot of faces when the decision of allowing the goal was to be made.

mckieran

QuoteHe wasn't actually.

Eh, He was. When the ref was running towards the umpire, He was sayings omething to him. He was standing right beside the ref & umpire during their brief interaction.

At the end, We can clearly see him grinning during "handbags" with a Louth player. If I had been in Sheridans position, I would have been embarassed on not going around with a big smile on my face.

I dont know Sheridan personally. Maybe he is a great guy but he cheated today and certainly showed no remorse for it. It was certainly a long way from sporting behaviour