The Christmas Thread

Started by Square Ball, October 15, 2007, 01:58:21 PM

Big fan of sprouts, have them when we can. Now butter beans are rank, hate them.

This is my sprout recipe.

Peel and allow to soak overnight
Bring a large pan of water to the boil and put your sprouts in
Simmer for 10 - 15 mins
Cook some streaky bacon
Chop up bacon and add to a pan and then add in your sprouts
Stir fry for a 5 mins
Put into a large serving bowl
Throw directly into the bin, making sure that none of the disgusting vegetable touches your skin
Enjoy your Christmas dinner

A right shower of grinches here.

GetOverTheBar

Today is the first real day I've started to look forward to Xmas, found myself humming that old Darkness Christmas song there awhile ago. All is sorted, couple of handy bluff days to Thursday and that'll be me, going back to work on the 30th, it's over for me at that stage.

Looking forward to a few pints Thursday night, avoiding the mayhem that will follow the night after.

Read at lunchtime Mariah Carey's song was never Xmas #1 in the states, but it will be this year. She must make some cash off that one in royalties.

Quote from: trailer on December 16, 2019, 09:09:42 AM
This is my sprout recipe.

Peel and allow to soak overnight
Bring a large pan of water to the boil and put your sprouts in
Simmer for 10 - 15 mins
Cook some streaky bacon
Chop up bacon and add to a pan and then add in your sprouts
Stir fry for a 5 mins
Put into a large serving bowl
Throw directly into the bin, making sure that none of the disgusting vegetable touches your skin
Enjoy your Christmas dinner

Philistine.

Suppose you've the brown sauce on the table for your christmas dinner.

Instead of a turkey this year  we had a capon which is a bigger version of a chicken and has way more flavour than a turkey.

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/food-and-wine/recipes/recipe-roasted-capon/article32229885/

So you chickened out of Christmas.

Quote from: armaghniac on December 25, 2019, 06:31:42 PM
So you chickened out of Christmas.
When did the common people  begin to afford turkey ? Earliest in the 60s I bet

DickyRock

We went for Chicken ourselves. f**k eating a dry bird for the sake of tradition.

Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2019, 04:55:02 PM
Instead of a turkey this year  we had a capon which is a bigger version of a chicken and has way more flavour than a turkey.

A castrated c**k.
Sounds lovely.

Quote from: laoislad on December 25, 2019, 08:17:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2019, 04:55:02 PM

A castrated c**k.
Sounds lovely.
Do ye eat turkey balls in the midlands?

Pub Bore

Heading up to Belfast at the weekend.  I've tried to avoid Amazon and the big chains so far, and buy as much 'local' stuff as poss. Any recommendations for a good independent bookshop in the Belfast area?  Ideally would like to pick up a few books for herself and two 'children' in their 20s.

JohnDenver

Quote from: Pub Bore on December 08, 2020, 01:26:06 PM
Heading up to Belfast at the weekend.  I've tried to avoid Amazon and the big chains so far, and buy as much 'local' stuff as poss. Any recommendations for a good independent bookshop in the Belfast area?  Ideally would like to pick up a few books for herself and two 'children' in their 20s.

Others might be able to offer more options, but there is one on Botanic https://noalibis.com/