Eighth Amendment poll

Started by Farrandeelin, May 01, 2018, 03:36:55 PM

Are you in favour of repealing the 8th amendment?

Yes
47 (21.8%)
Yes but have no vote
73 (33.8%)
No
40 (18.5%)
No but have no vote
36 (16.7%)
Undecided
20 (9.3%)

Total Members Voted: 216

Voting closed: May 24, 2018, 03:36:55 PM

Quote from: Syferus on May 29, 2018, 08:28:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2018, 08:06:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 29, 2018, 06:40:15 PM
If you're elected by the electorate you're elected no matter how obnoxious  people might find you're opinions.
Also is Syfīn to be the arbiter of who can or can't be elected.
I think a lot of people would share Syf's view on him.
And is there anywan in the Dail that is such a gobshite? I think he is out on his own.

Mattie McGrath. Both Healy-Raes.

Lowry.

Orchard park

Quote from: Avondhu star on May 27, 2018, 11:30:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2018, 09:56:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2018, 09:06:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2018, 08:32:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2018, 05:18:29 PM
According to RTE most people made their mind up after Savita H died.
No didn't lose on Friday. The war was lost 5 years ago.

Their poll literally said the opposite of what you just wrote. They had their minds made up before the Savita case even happened. Lay off whatever is it that you're on.

Give it up, Syf. The board is littered with your nonsense. It''s wall to wall ràiméis. If Galway beat Ros in the CF you'll disappear again for 2 months.

I really don't know who you think you're fooling.
Haven't you some sheep need dipping?

Can't dip,the inflatable ones

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 29, 2018, 10:38:26 PM
If you're elected by the electorate you're elected no matter how obnoxious  people might find you're opinions.
And is there anywan in the Dail that is such a gobshite? I think he is out on his own.

Lowry.

Shane Ross in the same boat.

However, none as objectionable as Mullins

His comment on mental health alone should be enough to see him never get another vote. His patronising comments to Saoirse Long were as bad. I think he helped a lot of reluctant Yes voters over the line. Him and the likes of Tommie Banks and the Benbulben crew.

sid waddell

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 29, 2018, 11:09:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 29, 2018, 10:38:26 PM

Lowry.

Shane Ross in the same boat.

However, none as objectionable as Mullins
Mullen is really bad.

Declan Ganley is far worse.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/go-to-war-to-tame-iran-ganley-73178.html

I don't know anything about this Mullen character but Mental Health does not have an (objective) evidence base, it is completely subjective, that's not to say it is not real of course.

Ever hear of someone having a sore back/leg...etc but say "the doctors think Im imagining it?" That's because the doctors cant verify the pain with an actual anatomical condition like a slipped disk, swollen tendon whatever.
Usually you can verify the patients subjective pain with an objective source and you can go about treating the problem which (usually) mends their subjective pain.

The treatment of mental health is way more wishy-washy, many questionable practices, and more difficult to determine causes and outcomes.

The chap was obviously trying to say that someone could easily fake their mental state to use it as grounds to get what they want since there is no way of objectively verifying it. If someone says "I'm suicidal" who can say they aren't?... No one.

Quote from: omaghjoe on May 30, 2018, 12:39:33 AM
I don't know anything about this Mullen character but Mental Health does not have an (objective) evidence base, it is completely subjective, that's not to say it is not real of course.

Ever hear of someone having a sore back/leg...etc but say "the doctors think Im imagining it?" That's because the doctors cant verify the pain with an actual anatomical condition like a slipped disk, swollen tendon whatever.
Usually you can verify the patients subjective pain with an objective source and you can go about treating the problem which (usually) mends their subjective pain.

The treatment of mental health is way more wishy-washy, many questionable practices, and more difficult to determine causes and outcomes.

The chap was obviously trying to say that someone could easily fake their mental state to use it as grounds to get what they want since there is no way of objectively verifying it. If someone says "I'm suicidal" who can say they aren't?... No one.

Oh, I get it now. You're just a troll.

sid waddell

You know, since 2013 you can't move within half a mile of a hospital for all the women queueing up to pretend they're suicidal just so they can have an abortion.

easytiger95

Quote from: armaghniac on May 29, 2018, 10:32:06 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 29, 2018, 01:50:52 PM

Re the point in the Telegraph, there are plenty of common sense proposals for gun controls put forward in America in the aftermath of school shootings, which don't involve blanket bans - background checks, ban on high capacity magazines, bio locks on guns - and guess what? The NRA opposes them all.

There have been plenty of common sense proposals to deal with crisis pregnancies over the years - more and better non-religious sex education, easier availability for contraception, the morning after pill etc - of which the current legislation is just one more example. And guess what? The No side does what the No sides does - it says No.

Having abortion available does not make it compulsory. The No campaigners would be far better employed looking at these other solutions and joining with the Yes side to make their availability a deal breaker.

We didn't vote for abortion, we voted for the choice. If the other services mentioned above make abortion less necessary, than you would have 100% of the population behind you.

I'm not sure who exactly opposed easier availability for contraception, the morning after pill etc, but even if they did they would presumably be in a minority. Yet, somehow, none of these things were done, in order to create more demand for abortion on demand.
You're really not sure who opposed these things? Let me give you some clues- they were led by guys who wore black, carried bibles and managed to have the 8th amendment inserted into our constitution on a 2-1 majority. I'm no statistician but that is the opposite of a minority. That was in 1983.

People were still getting arrested in the early 90s for buying condoms at the Virgin Megastore. Homosexuals were being arrested for expressing their sexuality. Teenage rape victims were being escorted off ferries by guards.

It took two refererendums a decade apart to get divorce. They campaigned against the right to travel and information, stood against marraige equality and the protection of life during pregnancy act.

They refused to confront the torture and rape factories known as industrial  schools.They stood against and delayed, even as their majority slipped away in the new century, every attempt to live up to the ideals of a secular fraternal republic.

They and their craw thumping proxies in the establishment did all this, even as mass graves of toddlers turned up under "mother and childrens" homes, detritus they gave no thought to, as they painted their placards on their way to their next pro-life march. If i read your post correctly, am I to believe that they didn't do these things, block these paths, destroy these lives on the altar of absolutism?

The progress we see in our society came from the sacrifice of generations of activists who saw that monolith in 1983 and knew the weight of it would crush our country- with women and children first.

I'm all for being gracious in triumph, but that doesn't extend to being asked to indulge in a malign collective amnesia about what religious conservatives did to our country over decades.

For you to offer that theory displays ignorance that is either baffling or wilful. I have some memory of that time and i won't indulge it. No has meant what it has alwayds meant- No. Only if they abandon their absolutism.can we work for what we all should want- abortions becoming increasingly rare in a atmosphere of respect and care for women.

Yet they were outside the Dail today with graphic pictures of foetuses 6 feet high. Colour me sceptical.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 30, 2018, 01:30:46 AM
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/abortion-referendum/opinion-are-we-to-replace-decades-of-religious-tyranny-with-a-new-secular-intolerance-36958338.html

Paper doesn't refuse ink. These sorts of against-the-grain articles are a blatant attempt to try to appeal to the disaffected who voted No and simply can't accept the fact the Ireland they knew does not exist anymore, including Mr. Doran. One dying institution sticking up for another.

There's nothing 'trendy' about basic and fundamental womens' rights that those in nearly every other western country have taken for granted for decades. What you linked is exactly the sort of commentary piece that will age absolutely horribly. Freedom of speech is not freedom from criticism - although those of Doran's ilk grew up in a world where they were free from criticism so his antiquated views might not come as much of a surprise.

Speaking of intolerant secular posters.... ....   

Quote from: Syferus on May 30, 2018, 12:47:40 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 30, 2018, 12:39:33 AM

Oh, I get it now. You're just a troll.

Just pointing out a few facts Sy.

If you wish to refute them go ahead
or
Continue with a personal attack against a faceless anonymous post.

Im cool with either 8)

Dolph1

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 29, 2018, 08:51:03 AM
Quote from: Dolph1 on May 29, 2018, 06:13:44 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 28, 2018, 11:15:44 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/catholics-who-voted-yes-should-consider-confession-says-bishop-1.3511127

Any catholic who voted yes really should not darken the door of the church again but  the hypocritical nature of the irish public will make them oblivious of what they are doing. I'll guarantee you that all these young ladies backing the yes campaign will demand their weddings in the church.

I did find it bewildering that there were yes campaigners crying  with happiness regarding the outcome of the vote. Tears of joy due to being granted the opportunity to murder your baby is a pretty sick state of mind. The new ireland is fast becoming a haven for slogan following, politically correct sheep.

You have absolutely no clue what's going on.

I could say exactly the same of yourself.
I hope the government will afford the people of the country the opportunity to repeal the repeal of the 8th in 10 years time when they see the chaos unlimited abortion will cause.

Trump 2020. Making America Greater Again

Dolph1

Quote from: sid waddell on May 29, 2018, 09:48:29 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 29, 2018, 09:38:09 AM
Quote from: Dolph1 on May 29, 2018, 06:13:44 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 28, 2018, 11:15:44 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/catholics-who-voted-yes-should-consider-confession-says-bishop-1.3511127

Any catholic who voted yes really should not darken the door of the church again but  the hypocritical nature of the irish public will make them oblivious of what they are doing. I'll guarantee you that all these young ladies backing the yes campaign will demand their weddings in the church.

I did find it bewildering that there were yes campaigners crying  with happiness regarding the outcome of the vote. Tears of joy due to being granted the opportunity to murder your baby is a pretty sick state of mind. The new ireland is fast becoming a haven for slogan following, politically correct sheep.

Yis are finished Father. The end of child rape, women abuse, control. Thank God
Now, now - get with the programme - if you don't blindly follow the rigid fundamentalist dogma of a bunch of sky fairy-believing old men who have never had sex in their lives and yet who demand control of women's wombs, you're engaging in "groupthink" and are a "politically correct sheep" or something.  ;D

Anyone with a hint of morality knows murdering babies is wrong - you don't need a priest to tell you that.

Trump 2020. Making America Greater Again