Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: stew on October 21, 2015, 12:54:06 AM

Title: Portrush gets the Open
Post by: stew on October 21, 2015, 12:54:06 AM
Royal Portrush will host the British open in 2019, I am delighted for the area as it will be a much needed boost to the  local economy and it will come in an era were we Irish have several players capable of winning the thing on home soil.

I am sure there will be begrudgers and all that but feck them, tens of thousands of people from all over the world will get to witness northern culture at the best time of the year they could possibly do so, they will also get to witness a tremendous venue and great atmosphere that is unique to Ireland and Ireland alone.

Title: Re: Portrush gets the Open
Post by: magpie seanie on October 21, 2015, 11:47:26 AM
Quote from: stew on October 21, 2015, 12:54:06 AM
Royal Portrush will host the British open in 2019, I am delighted for the area as it will be a much needed boost to the  local economy and it will come in an era were we Irish have several players capable of winning the thing on home soil.

I am sure there will be begrudgers and all that but feck them, tens of thousands of people from all over the world will get to witness northern culture at the best time of the year they could possibly do so, they will also get to witness a tremendous venue and great atmosphere that is unique to Ireland and Ireland alone.

The smoke from the bonfires will hardly be cleared when the players start arriving. I hope there are no road closures!!!!
Post by: charlieTully on October 21, 2015, 11:50:04 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 21, 2015, 11:47:26 AM

The smoke from the bonfires will hardly be cleared when the players start arriving. I hope there are no road closures!!!!

and take the flegs down, its a beautiful part of the country with serious potential but the fleggers ruin it. Hopefully they will see the bigger picture but very doubtful.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 21, 2015, 12:07:52 PM
I know it well, have relations from near there. I might have to book in for June 2019! Lovely part of the country.
Post by: doodaa on October 21, 2015, 12:15:03 PM
Time to move back in with the parents and get my house rented out ;D
Post by: thebigfella on October 21, 2015, 04:29:18 PM

It's The Open Championship or The Open.
Post by: screenexile on October 21, 2015, 05:25:15 PM
Would love to go and would also be tempted to fire a room or 2 onto Air BnB to get some value out of it as I only live 40 mins away.

Anybody know what the story is with tickets? Would they be hard to come by?
Post by: thewobbler on October 21, 2015, 05:27:16 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 21, 2015, 04:29:18 PM

It's The Open Championship or The Open.

Normally I'd be a fan of this sort of pedantry. But in this instance, the use of 'British' helps the less-initiated differentiate it from the Irish Open, recently played at Royal County Down.
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 21, 2015, 05:28:02 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 21, 2015, 05:25:15 PM
Would love to go and would also be tempted to fire a room or 2 onto Air BnB to get some value out of it as I only live 40 mins away.

Anybody know what the story is with tickets? Would they be hard to come by?

Went to the Open at Muirfield a couple of years ago. Tickets were easy got (online) for it but I'd imagine this will be tougher!!
Post by: T Fearon on October 21, 2015, 05:35:40 PM
By 2019 Rory will be well past it,and Mc Dowell and Clarke will be faffing about in the Seniors Tour
Post by: muppet on October 21, 2015, 05:57:01 PM
Is the Anchor Bar still going strong in Portstewart?
Post by: dec on October 21, 2015, 06:02:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 21, 2015, 05:35:40 PM
By 2019 Rory will be well past it,and Mc Dowell and Clarke will be faffing about in the Seniors Tour

McDowell will still be ten years from the Seniors Tour in 2019.
Post by: give her dixie on October 21, 2015, 09:31:33 PM
Great news, and I will certainly hope to go to as many days as possible.
It's only 50 mile from me so it would be a shame not to catch it. 

Well done to everyone involved in making it happen.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2015, 09:33:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 21, 2015, 05:57:01 PM
Is the Anchor Bar still going strong in Portstewart?
It will never close.
Post by: ONeill on October 21, 2015, 10:38:37 PM
The foreigners will love Barry's.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2015, 10:40:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 21, 2015, 10:38:37 PM
Especially his Big Dipper.
Post by: T Fearon on October 22, 2015, 06:20:43 AM
You cannot get parked in Portrush on a half decent summer's day as it is.
Post by: omaghjoe on October 22, 2015, 07:46:17 AM
Great news

Golf is shite but should bring some much needed revenue to the area as well as positive coverage.
Post by: pullhard on October 22, 2015, 01:48:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 22, 2015, 06:20:43 AM

I agree this event as it is today will a logistical nightmare. Public transport is poor. lack of accommodation
Post by: NAG1 on October 22, 2015, 02:00:16 PM
Quote from: pullhard on October 22, 2015, 01:48:19 PM

I agree this event as it is today will a logistical nightmare. Public transport is poor. lack of accommodation

3 1/2 years to plan it and I am sure it will be fine. The experience of the Irish Open will stand to the organisers and I am sure the Open Committee has more than enough experience in handling such events.

Most locals who will be attending will take advantage of the shuttle bus system plus there will be more trains laid on etc.

Hotels might be a problem but there are quite a number in that area within a 20/30 minute drive.
Post by: pullhard on October 22, 2015, 02:06:58 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 22, 2015, 02:00:16 PM

3 1/2 years to plan it and I am sure it will be fine. The experience of the Irish Open will stand to the organisers and I am sure the Open Committee has more than enough experience in handling such events.

Most locals who will be attending will take advantage of the shuttle bus system plus there will be more trains laid on etc.

Hotels might be a problem but there are quite a number in that area within a 20/30 minute drive.

like i said on the golf thread i lived by hoylake for years, well connected by road and rail, that was still a nightmare when the open was on.
If I was a local i'd be concerned about the visitors coming in for the golf and leaving without spending in the local shops.

That said Kellys will should be buzzing on the wednesday before!
Post by: thewobbler on October 22, 2015, 02:24:23 PM

The funny thing is that even though the Irish Open was a sellout (there genuinely won't be an awful lot more people at the Open Championship, as the course isn't that extensible), the much feared traffic problems never arose. Unlike the average summer Sunday, the Open will have stewarding, park and rides, one-way systems, plus extended public transport routes. I'm not saying it won't be bad; just not as bad as normal Sunday.

I doubt there'll be that much of a kick-back for the Portush economy itself. It's not like these visitors will have anywhere to stay in the town unless they fact a caravan, so they'll have little reason to venture into it. Belfast will enjoy a considerable boom I reckon.
Post by: Minder on October 22, 2015, 05:13:37 PM
I remember the local businesses in Portrush complaining that spectators weren't going near the town centre in 2012. Mind you there could be people looking for those wee handgun lighters or glow sticks so they might do ok
Post by: Rois on October 22, 2015, 05:21:02 PM
I went to the Ryder Cup in Gleneagles last year.  One train line into the place, and still an hour outside of Edinburgh.  It was so well organised that it coped without too many problems (mad train queues on the way home excepted).  No local accommodation so everyone stayed in Edinburgh/Glasgow. 
Quite similar to the Open being up at Portrush - there's a train line and whilst it may not be as high quality, I'm sure they can increase frequency from Belfast and Derry.
I thought the Irish Open at Newcastle worked really well too.  It can be done!
Post by: armaghniac on October 22, 2015, 06:32:37 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 22, 2015, 05:21:02 PM
I went to the Ryder Cup in Gleneagles last year.  One train line into the place, and still an hour outside of Edinburgh.  It was so well organised that it coped without too many problems (mad train queues on the way home excepted).  No local accommodation so everyone stayed in Edinburgh/Glasgow. 
Quite similar to the Open being up at Portrush - there's a train line and whilst it may not be as high quality, I'm sure they can increase frequency from Belfast and Derry.
I thought the Irish Open at Newcastle worked really well too.  It can be done!

The problem in Ireland is that there isn't the rolling stick to offer extra trains. NIR have a regular train or two that potter back and forth to Derry, they don't necessarily have a couple more to lay on as specials and even if they did the single track line would be quite limiting. But I'm sure plans will be put in place.
Post by: stew on October 23, 2015, 01:55:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 21, 2015, 10:38:37 PM

Whats not to love? ;D
Post by: deiseach on October 23, 2015, 02:02:45 PM
I went to the Ryder Cup in Gleneagles last year.

Going off on a tangent here, but how did you find the crowd? I read suggestions that the concentrated nature of the action - there would only be four matches on the course at any one time, and no expectation that matches would finish at the 18th where lots of people usually congregate - made for a combustible mix.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 23, 2015, 02:08:35 PM
Quote from: deiseach on October 23, 2015, 02:02:45 PM

Going off on a tangent here, but how did you find the crowd? I read suggestions that the concentrated nature of the action - there would only be four matches on the course at any one time, and no expectation that matches would finish at the 18th where lots of people usually congregate - made for a combustible mix.

She just turned around, and there they were.

Boom Boom. I'll get my coat.
Post by: Boycey on October 23, 2015, 02:11:30 PM

What do you mean by combustible??
Post by: Rois on October 23, 2015, 02:15:30 PM

It never felt too congested, apart from at the green.  We picked a hole and stayed there till each game came through, then went on another six or so holes and did the same again.  Meant we had to wait a while in between but that was fine, especially where you managed to get a seat in one of the grandstands.  The first hole on Thursday was mental but made for a brilliant atmosphere.
We applied for tickets for next year but didn't get them  :(
Post by: deiseach on October 23, 2015, 02:21:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 23, 2015, 02:15:30 PM
We applied for tickets for next year but didn't get them  :(

Can't have been that bad then! Thanks for the reply.
Post by: stiffler on July 13, 2019, 04:05:08 PM
Anyone heading up next week?
Post by: Boycey on July 13, 2019, 04:16:02 PM
Will be there Thurs and/or Friday. Anyone with local knowledge about circumventing the park & ride car parks and parking Street side? Worked a treat at County Down a few years back. 
Post by: Rois on July 13, 2019, 04:17:04 PM
Quote from: stiffler on July 13, 2019, 04:05:08 PM
Anyone heading up next week?
Me - Friday (corporate tickets  ;D )and Sat on our own steam. Training it up from Belfast.

Post by: playwiththewind1st on July 13, 2019, 04:28:01 PM
Advice on radio yesterday was to get your NIR tickets online in advance. Don't think you would have much chance if you are hitting the booking office on the day.
Post by: lenny on July 13, 2019, 04:44:31 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 13, 2019, 04:16:02 PM
Will be there Thurs and/or Friday. Anyone with local knowledge about circumventing the park & ride car parks and parking Street side? Worked a treat at County Down a few years back.

Why would you not use the park and rides? Very convenient and well marshalled.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2019, 04:45:05 PM
Would expect the peelers to be directing people away from the main thoroughfares. I've always found the park ride options at Newcastle and Portrush to be excellent when the Irish Open was there. I was actually shocked how efficient they were!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 13, 2019, 04:47:02 PM
Portrush is now on The Open roster. So will be another one there by 2030.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2019, 04:57:04 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 13, 2019, 04:47:02 PM
They've installed all the infrastructure (burying cables etc.) to simplify a return visit.
Post by: TheOptimist on July 13, 2019, 04:59:03 PM
Will be there on Friday, cant wait. Getting train from Derry all booked and paid.

Koepka has to be a good bet again with his Caddy being a Portrush man?
Post by: balladmaker on July 13, 2019, 05:33:48 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 13, 2019, 04:47:02 PM

That's if we don't have a border poll in the interim  :)
Post by: Rois on July 13, 2019, 05:46:59 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on July 13, 2019, 04:28:01 PM
Advice on radio yesterday was to get your NIR tickets online in advance. Don't think you would have much chance if you are hitting the booking office on the day.
About 4 wks ago the latest morning train you could get was 5.33 from Belfast, but they released more last week. Wouldn't even think of not pre-booking.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 13, 2019, 05:51:31 PM
I assume shuttle buses will be laid on? Will these take you from Portstewart or Coleraine?
Post by: Rois on July 13, 2019, 05:56:46 PM
Both I believe.
Post by: Boycey on July 13, 2019, 07:51:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 13, 2019, 04:45:05 PM
Would expect the peelers to be directing people away from the main thoroughfares. I've always found the park ride options at Newcastle and Portrush to be excellent when the Irish Open was there. I was actually shocked how efficient they were!

Been the The Open a couple of times before and youre right it'll be brilliantly organised and marshalled but there will be queues and holdups I'd say... I think the work they have done to the course has increased capacity to nearly twice what it was. It'll take me 2-2.5 hours each way driving so anything that might save me another 30/45 mins getting in/out would be great. :)

At the Irish open in Newcastle we went up through Hilltown, came into Newcastle on a back road, parked on side of road walked 10 mins to course... Where there is a will there's usually a way, it's like knowing where to get the handy parking around Clones or Croker  ;D

Where are the park and rides anyway? I looked on the Open website but couldn't find them
Post by: Boycey on July 15, 2019, 04:22:14 PM
Bump, anyone know the locations of the park and rides?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 15, 2019, 05:41:38 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 15, 2019, 04:22:14 PM
Bump, anyone know the locations of the park and rides?

My thinking is that there will be no specific park and rides. There will be changeable signage to direct to you to a particular P and R venue as you approach. As it fills up the signs will change and another P and R venue will be preferred. It allows all the buses to focus on one P and R and then move to the next etc.
Post by: Rois on July 16, 2019, 06:15:54 AM
UU Coleraine is one site I believe.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 16, 2019, 07:14:10 AM
Any idea of tee off times on Saturday? And if so what time you'd needa be down that way, say an hour before?
Post by: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 12:43:13 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 16, 2019, 07:14:10 AM
Any idea of tee off times on Saturday? And if so what time you'd needa be down that way, say an hour before?

Leaders will be out at around 2:45pm on Saturday. I would be there by late morning to avoid rushing and to give myself time to enjoy the atmosphere.
Post by: TabClear on July 16, 2019, 12:50:29 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 12:43:13 PM

Leaders will be out at around 2:45pm on Saturday. I would be there by late morning to avoid rushing and to give myself time to enjoy the atmosphere.

What time do they expect play to be finishing at on the first two rounds?
Post by: Boycey on July 16, 2019, 12:56:21 PM
Quote from: TabClear on July 16, 2019, 12:50:29 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 12:43:13 PM

Last group not out til 4.16 so I'd say you looking at after 9PM
Post by: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 12:58:13 PM

The last match is at 16:16 and the average time to play a round is 4.5-5 hours these days. Most people will be gone home by then though, but if you're staying locally the evening time is a great opportunity to see play up close during the first two rounds

Post by: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 01:00:57 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 12:58:13 PM

The last match is at 16:16 and the average time to play a round is 4.5-5 hours these days. Most people will be gone home by then though, but if you're staying locally the evening time is a great opportunity to see play up close during the first two rounds

It's all about who you want to follow though. Tiger and DJ are out at around 3pm so everyone will be following those matches.
Post by: JimStynes on July 16, 2019, 01:13:19 PM
Anyone selling any tickets for Thursday?
Post by: Boycey on July 16, 2019, 01:48:54 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 01:00:57 PM

It's all about who you want to follow though. Tiger and DJ are out at around 3pm so everyone will be following those matches.

There are 3 Marquee groups out around that time that'll draw most of the crowds of course as we all want to see them but it's worth taking a wander off to a lesser group and follow the action right up close. I picked Matt Fitzpatrick a few years back at Co Down and had a great time following his group for an hour or so, he even acknowledged me a couple of times as I roared  'mashed potato' ;D
Post by: Hound on July 16, 2019, 02:35:30 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 16, 2019, 01:48:54 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on July 16, 2019, 01:00:57 PM

There are 3 Marquee groups out around that time that'll draw most of the crowds of course as we all want to see them but it's worth taking a wander off to a lesser group and follow the action right up close. I picked Matt Fitzpatrick a few years back at Co Down and had a great time following his group for an hour or so, he even acknowledged me a couple of times as I roared  'mashed potato' ;D

Oh yeah, they love that!

https://youtu.be/wnY7wd6cKXc
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 17, 2019, 11:06:26 AM
No fancies up so far for the Open?

Rahm, Koepka and Rose for me

Outside bets on Fleetwood Fowler (bet every major) and Scott
Post by: balladmaker on July 17, 2019, 11:18:59 AM
Only being a TV follower of the game, where does the Dunluce links rate on a scale of difficulty from a professional's perspective?  I guess we'll know by the scoring at the end of it on Sunday.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 17, 2019, 11:31:38 AM
Talk of apartments / houses being rented for week for serious cash in that area.
Post by: lurganblue on July 17, 2019, 12:48:57 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 17, 2019, 11:18:59 AM
Only being a TV follower of the game, where does the Dunluce links rate on a scale of difficulty from a professional's perspective?  I guess we'll know by the scoring at the end of it on Sunday.

depends on the conditions i would say. 
Post by: thewobbler on July 17, 2019, 01:05:33 PM
The difficulty of much all links courses is dependent on the weather. As the ground is usually solid underfoot, pros can expect serious roll, and even a 450 yard par 4 - on a still day - can be taken out with a solid 3 iron and a solid mid iron.

But when the wind gets, up they're often forced to take driver off the tee, and that's when the long rough, deep gorse and unusual stances begin to test their technique. Links golf then tends to suit those with a lower trajectory and a more creative ground game. Absolute ferocious power like Rory or DJ is still a tremendous weapon, as they'll be hitting 7 irons out of the rough instead of 4 irons like many, but stopping a high 7 iron quickly on a green, from out of deep rough is lap of Gods stuff.

Tiger once spent a fortnight in Ireland and Scotland before an Open just training himself to hit the ball lower.
Post by: thewobbler on July 17, 2019, 01:09:49 PM
If the weather forecast holds true, the wind will be up all day Thursday and most of Sunday afternoon. I'd expect maybe -2 to be a good score on either of those days. But damp (soft greens) and relatively still (leave driver in the bag) days on Friday and Saturday could be a few -8s being thrown in.
Post by: trailer on July 18, 2019, 07:29:08 AM
Was up yesterday and heading up this weekend again. Yesterday was a clean washout from 4pm on. If they get that weather it'll stiffen up the scores. It's a tough course and I noticed a lot of players trying to miss short. Expect a putting competition from the front of the greens.
Post by: Rois on July 18, 2019, 08:06:17 AM
Belfast absolutely buzzing with golfers, coaches, car services etc this morning. 

Trying to get a 5.33 train ticket for tomorrow morn, don't suppose anyone has one and wants to swap for an 8.10?
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 18, 2019, 10:22:18 AM
f**k me rors at it again you couldnt make it up
Post by: shark on July 18, 2019, 10:30:09 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on July 18, 2019, 10:22:18 AM
f**k me rors at it again you couldnt make it up

Unreal. Will do really well to get back to level par today. Lowry motoring well.
Post by: Pub Bore on July 18, 2019, 10:33:07 AM
Catholic Irish golfer takes an 8 at the 1st.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 18, 2019, 10:54:34 AM
Oh Rory.

Rory, Rory, Rory...
Post by: Erne Man on July 18, 2019, 10:56:53 AM
Another shot dropped at the 3rd! Horrendous start.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 18, 2019, 10:58:00 AM
He's a cod, Bill.
Post by: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 10:59:39 AM
Is McIlroy worth a punt at 66/1?
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2019, 11:07:07 AM
How did he take an 8 at the first?
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on July 18, 2019, 11:07:45 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 10:59:39 AM

Where you getting that?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 18, 2019, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 18, 2019, 11:07:07 AM

1st shot went out of bounds and then missed a 6foot putt.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 18, 2019, 11:27:57 AM
usual sunday choke appearing on a thursday  ;)
Post by: trailer on July 18, 2019, 11:51:17 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 18, 2019, 11:26:04 AM

Practice round yesterday did the same thing. His goose is probably cooked unless he can get something going pretty quick and even then I doubt it'll be enough.
Post by: trailer on July 18, 2019, 11:55:39 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 18, 2019, 11:27:57 AM
usual sunday choke appearing on a thursday  ;)

No bigger choker than Jack Nicklaus then. Finished 2nd 7 times and a further 8 times in the top ten with only 3 wins. But then he's not a Catholic from NI who doesn't care about identity.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 18, 2019, 12:33:27 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 18, 2019, 11:51:17 AM

Practice round yesterday did the same thing. His goose is probably cooked unless he can get something going pretty quick and even then I doubt it'll be enough.

Apparently he was in the same situation at Birkdale a couple of years ago and finished around the top of the leaderboard, though it will be tough for him to win it now no doubt.
Interesting question on five live:
Name the 11 NI/ROI golfers who have represented Europe in Ryder Cup, since European involvement in 1979. Surprised myself by getting 10 of the 11.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2019, 01:04:57 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 18, 2019, 12:33:27 PM

Apparently he was in the same situation at Birkdale a couple of years ago and finished around the top of the leaderboard, though it will be tough for him to win it now no doubt.
Name the 11 NI/ROI golfers who have represented Europe in Ryder Cup, since European involvement in 1979. Surprised myself by getting 10 of the 11.

Got the tricky ones but missed a couple of easy ones. Good list.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2019, 01:33:55 PM

Disappointed with your partitionist acceptance there BBB....we would have known what you meant if you had just said Irish...Project NI in full swing ;)
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2019, 01:47:28 PM
Rory probably didn't know whether to fade or draw the ball off the first tee.

I normally decide that during my downswing.
Post by: Hound on July 18, 2019, 01:56:19 PM

I've been a pretty big golf watcher since around then so found that reasonably easy. Got a short list of 12 initially and knocked off the right one. He had a Cup appearance before my time, and won a big event in the 80s, but wasnt as consistent as the others.

It is a great achievement that the 11 all got to play in it at least once post the European arrivals.
I remember the Dunhill Cup being a really big team competition in the 80s and 90s (3 man competition), and Ireland winning it twice in the late 80s. The Irish guys from that time were never up there with the best in the world, but on their day they could compete and they were brilliant in those competitions.   
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2019, 02:22:09 PM
Who are the players? My list of 10 which I believe are correct:

Harrington
Rory
GMac
Clarke
COC Jr.
Des Smyth
Darcy
Rafferty
Feherty
McGinley

Lowry (but I don't think he has played Ryder Cup)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2019, 02:25:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2019, 02:22:09 PM

Harrington
Rory
GMac
Clarke
COC Jr.
Des Smyth
Darcy
Rafferty
Feherty
McGinley

You missed Walton.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2019, 02:34:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 18, 2019, 02:25:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2019, 02:22:09 PM

Harrington
Rory
GMac
Clarke
COC Jr.
Des Smyth
Darcy
Rafferty
Feherty
McGinley

You missed Walton.
Cheers. I don't think I'd ever have got him!
Post by: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 02:50:57 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on July 18, 2019, 11:07:45 AM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker
Post by: NotedObserver on July 18, 2019, 02:52:12 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 02:50:57 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

Each way maybe but he wont win this
Post by: shark on July 18, 2019, 02:56:40 PM
Quote from: NotedObserver on July 18, 2019, 02:52:12 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

double bogey on par 3. he's gone.
Post by: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 02:59:11 PM
Quote from: shark on July 18, 2019, 02:56:40 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

100/1 now!  Did you see him putting on 16th?? Missed a 3ft then one from 9 inches!  Lol!
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 18, 2019, 03:13:00 PM
His heads not at it which unfortunately is all too often these days. To think he shot a 61 here 15 years ago
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2019, 03:14:26 PM
Tough day at the office for McIlroy and GMac although the latter still in it. Those tap ins show McIlroy's head was gone by that stage.
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2019, 03:22:36 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 18, 2019, 02:59:11 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

100/1 now!  Did you see him putting on 16th?? Missed a 3ft then one from 9 inches!  Lol!

What an idiot
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 18, 2019, 03:47:00 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 18, 2019, 03:22:36 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

What an idiot

sawdust between the ears
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 18, 2019, 04:02:50 PM
Least if the weather picks up he'll have a decent enough seat with a pint for the last few days.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 18, 2019, 04:10:33 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 18, 2019, 03:47:00 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

What an idiot

sawdust between the ears
But he went to Sullivan Upper.
Post by: highorlow on July 18, 2019, 04:24:09 PM
QuotePractice round yesterday did the same thing.

He didn't play a practice round yesterday
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 18, 2019, 04:35:01 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on July 18, 2019, 03:13:00 PM
His heads not at it which unfortunately is all too often these days. To think he shot a 61 here 15 years ago

Agree about his psychological issues when the pressure is on but the course being used for the Open is virtually a new design with minimal relation to the course used by many before.

McElroy of the last few years shows how much golf is a game played out in the head and not just the physical skills.
Post by: trailer on July 18, 2019, 04:47:05 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 18, 2019, 04:24:09 PM
QuotePractice round yesterday did the same thing.

He didn't play a practice round yesterday

Rory McIlroy talks to BBC Radio 5 Live after shooting an eight-over-par 79:

"I would like to punch myself. I made a couple of stupid mistakes. I was pretty nervous on the first tee and hit a bad shot. I showed some resilience in the middle of the round and was trying to fight back into the championship but then I finished off poorly as well.

"But seven over par combined on the first and last holes makes it very hard for you.

"I hit my first shot out of bounds yesterday but it went right so that might have been in my head a little bit. I turned the ball over a little too much. It was a poor tee shot but not that bad it deserved to go out of bounds.

"If I look back I undid all my good work to recover on the last three holes.

"At the end of the day I play golf to fulfill my ambitions not anyone else's but I wish I could have given the crowd something to cheer about.

"I let myself down more than anyone else and need to pick myself back up."
Post by: Orior on July 18, 2019, 06:16:54 PM
David Duvall takes 13 shots at the par 5 seventh hole. Ouch!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 18, 2019, 07:32:24 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 18, 2019, 06:16:54 PM
David Duvall takes 13 shots at the par 5 seventh hole. Ouch!
David Duval's score on the par five 7th hole has been adjusted to a 14 instead of a 13. His score for the first round is now 91, 20-over-par.

The adjustment was made following an error in reviewing his score on the 7th hole. David lost his first two balls from the tee and then played a wrong ball for the third ball played from the tee. On discovering the mistake at the green he had to return to where the wrong ball was played but the correct ball could not be found. Therefore he had to play again from the tee for a fourth time under penalty of stroke and distance. He played six shots in completing the hole with the fourth ball from the tee. He incurred a two-shot penalty for playing the wrong ball but the strokes played with the wrong ball do not count in his score (Rule 6.3c).

No further penalty was applied for the score adjustment.

Talk about kicking a fella when he's down!!!
Post by: 6th sam on July 18, 2019, 07:36:08 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 18, 2019, 04:10:33 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

What an idiot

sawdust between the ears

Gutted for Rory, that will hurt him. Would love to see him put it behind him and make a charge. He deserves to enjoy the Open on home turf. Great to see Lowry in the mix, might be as good a chance as any to win his first major. Just hope there's an Irish interest in the final stages
Post by: trailer on July 18, 2019, 08:26:10 PM
Quote from: 6th sam on July 18, 2019, 07:36:08 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 18, 2019, 04:10:33 PM

Where you getting that?

Oddschecker

What an idiot

sawdust between the ears

Gutted for Rory, that will hurt him. Would love to see him put it behind him and make a charge. He deserves to enjoy the Open on home turf. Great to see Lowry in the mix, might be as good a chance as any to win his first major. Just hope there's an Irish interest in the final stages

Tough day for Rory and everyone associated with him. At least he was man enough to come out and face the media. Took real balls that.
Post by: An Watcher on July 18, 2019, 10:00:40 PM
Not too bothered about mcilroy, delighted for lowry though. Great start
Post by: Boycey on July 18, 2019, 10:16:16 PM
Just back in the door having left at 6AM this morn, wrecked but happy. Anyone going over the weekend the left hand side of the stand behind the 11th green is a brilliant spot for watching. You have views of 2 fairways and greens and the 12th teebox
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2019, 10:44:13 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 18, 2019, 10:16:16 PM
Just back in the door having left at 6AM this morn, wrecked but happy. Anyone going over the weekend the left hand side of the stand behind the 11th green is a brilliant spot for watching. You have views of 2 fairways and greens and the 12th teebox

Just back too. Phenomenal day. The infrastructure and organisation is incredible!

Boycey maybe we are taking of the same place.

Stand 13 left is brilliant. Watched thern putting at 13 and 17. If you strain you can see them putting at 12 and driving at 14 too. Sit on the right of that stand and you catch them at the dog leg at 18.

Great day
Post by: omochain on July 19, 2019, 02:52:38 AM
Does this mean Offaly are still in the Championship.... Come on Shane. Go on ye boy ya.
Post by: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 08:45:59 AM
Is it easiest getting a bus from Coleraine to Portrush (and is the golf club far from the station when you arrive in Portrush?)
Post by: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 09:08:31 AM
Also - is there a 'safe' pub to watch the GAA in up there?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 19, 2019, 09:12:44 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 08:45:59 AM
Is it easiest getting a bus from Coleraine to Portrush (and is the golf club far from the station when you arrive in Portrush?)

Park and rides run from 5 or 6 places in Coleraine. They have them really well organised. Drops you close to course coming in and coming out there are loads of volunteers directing you to your bus again.
Post by: oakleaf93 on July 19, 2019, 09:17:52 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 09:08:31 AM
Also - is there a 'safe' pub to watch the GAA in up there?
Not sure where in Portrush will show it with the golf on. Portstewart possibly best option
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 19, 2019, 09:47:49 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 18, 2019, 01:33:55 PM

Disappointed with your partitionist acceptance there BBB....we would have known what you meant if you had just said Irish...Project NI in full swing ;)

Snowflake
Post by: toby47 on July 19, 2019, 11:57:51 AM
What score do you reckon Woode/McIlroy will need to get to, to make the cut?
Post by: balladmaker on July 19, 2019, 12:02:41 PM
Quote from: toby47 on July 19, 2019, 11:57:51 AM

Presently sitting around +2, gonna be a struggle for both of them.  Anyone heading Sat/Sun will be disappointed especially if Tiger is not on view.
Post by: square_ball on July 19, 2019, 12:43:48 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 19, 2019, 12:02:41 PM

Presently sitting around +2, gonna be a struggle for both of them.  Anyone heading Sat/Sun will be disappointed especially if Tiger is not on view.

And they've the worst of the weather to come this afternoon particularly McIlroy.

I'd love to see Fleetwood winning it. 
Post by: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 01:06:04 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 19, 2019, 09:12:44 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 08:45:59 AM

Park and rides run from 5 or 6 places in Coleraine. They have them really well organised. Drops you close to course coming in and coming out there are loads of volunteers directing you to your bus again.

Where are the P&Rs? Is there a map for them (as someone who has no clue about Coleraine)
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 19, 2019, 01:06:48 PM
Quote from: square_ball on July 19, 2019, 12:43:48 PM

And they've the worst of the weather to come this afternoon particularly McIlroy.

I'd love to see Fleetwood winning it.
Fleetwood and Mc would be the top draws for the fans.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2019, 01:09:49 PM

I'm going on Sat and initially thought it would be pish if they're not there but now I'm thinking if they are playing shite I'm not missing much. You want to see them when they're ripping it up.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 19, 2019, 01:36:34 PM
What a start by Lowry!!
Post by: shark on July 19, 2019, 01:37:50 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 19, 2019, 01:36:34 PM
What a start by Lowry!!

Unreal. burning it up
Post by: Boycey on July 19, 2019, 01:52:00 PM
Jaysus Tiger is some competitor, be shocking easy to just go through the motions today but he's -3 through 12
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2019, 02:11:42 PM
Lowry is in good form for sure.

Should I stop watching him cos usually, when I do, he falls apart!
Post by: omagh_gael on July 19, 2019, 02:12:58 PM
Quote from: shark on July 19, 2019, 01:37:50 PM
What a start by Lowry!!

Unreal. burning it up

Jaysus, almost chipped in for eagle there. Tied for lead now.

Edit, just left himself with a huge birdie chance on 6 with great shit into par three. Very heavy rain about to move in though looking at radar. Could scupper his run.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2019, 04:04:02 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 19, 2019, 02:12:58 PM
What a start by Lowry!!

Unreal. burning it up

Edit, just left himself with a huge birdie chance on 6 with great shit into par three. Very heavy rain about to move in though looking at radar. Could scupper his run.

:o
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2019, 04:18:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2019, 04:04:02 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 19, 2019, 02:12:58 PM
What a start by Lowry!!

Unreal. burning it up

:o
Can't take a BIFFO anywhere. ..
Post by: Hound on July 19, 2019, 04:54:59 PM
Ah poor Darren just missed a short putt on 18th that will mean he misses the cut. He was extremely upset, practically ran off the course.
Post by: dec on July 19, 2019, 05:01:56 PM
In the US you can watch Lowry's group

http://stream.golfchannel.com/ra-the-open-watch-marquee-group-rd2
Post by: magpie seanie on July 19, 2019, 07:02:37 PM
Hope Rory gets in...still odds against but he's giving it some rattle.
Post by: shark on July 19, 2019, 07:15:57 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 19, 2019, 07:02:37 PM
Hope Rory gets in...still odds against but he's giving it some rattle.

Cut could go to +2 yet.
Post by: dec on July 19, 2019, 08:13:35 PM
I thought than within 10 of the lead was also a criteria for the cut but apparently that is only for the Masters.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2019, 09:33:17 PM
He probably regrets giving up yesterday
Post by: thewobbler on July 19, 2019, 09:49:59 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 19, 2019, 09:33:17 PM

He didn't give up yesterday; he was trying to give himself a better chance today. Taking risks.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 19, 2019, 10:48:41 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 19, 2019, 09:49:59 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 19, 2019, 09:33:17 PM

He didn't give up yesterday; he was trying to give himself a better chance today. Taking risks.
He'd have had a better chance today if he had kept his head at 16. It's certainly a risk putting out standing off balance as you prepare to head to the next tee box. 
Post by: under the bar on July 19, 2019, 11:26:33 PM
No-one has let themselves down quite so much on home turf as Rory since Tyrone visited the Athletic Grounds!  ;D
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 20, 2019, 01:25:20 AM
did his usual rory impression today, no pressure on, fire a load of birdies until he needs one at the last, pressure back on, choke  ;)
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 06:04:13 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 20, 2019, 01:25:20 AM
did his usual rory impression today, no pressure on, fire a load of birdies until he needs one at the last, pressure back on, choke  ;)

Do you play golf yourself?
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 06:15:21 AM
Tweet from American golfer Justin Thomas:

QuoteEven as a competitor and trying to beat the guy every week, sometimes I have to step back and realize how great @McIlroyRory is for golf. How he handles the spotlight, the highs, the lows, his social life, the fans, his golf, everything.. it's awesome to watch
Post by: laoislad on July 20, 2019, 06:36:16 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/golf/47315931

That worked out well for him......
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 06:41:41 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 20, 2019, 06:36:16 AM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/golf/47315931

That worked out well for him......

You've been saving that post 😕
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2019, 08:07:01 AM
It's a crowded leaderboard. Some classy Americans 4 and 5 shots back: Kuchar, Fowler, DJ.
Post by: Gold on July 20, 2019, 08:12:16 AM

Agreed
Post by: JimStynes on July 20, 2019, 09:09:04 AM
Why is mcilroy so hated?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 09:15:30 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 20, 2019, 09:09:04 AM
Why is mcilroy so hated?

He called it L*****derry.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 10:43:47 AM

Dumping Wozniaki just for taking a sleeping photo of him was a pretty arsey thing to do in fairness.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 01:08:32 PM
What a tournament to be fair. Royal Portrush have put together a fantastic event that will hopefully bring back the Open sooner rather than later.

Was speaking to various different friends who've been down and they can't fault it.

Hopefully big Shane can push on today and continue with his form from the first two days.

As for Rory he's put huge pressure on himself to win at home that's it's been his undoing. 

To say he's a choker is pure daft, he's won multiple majors and won the players championship very recently picking up $2.5 million (the biggest tournament outside of the majors)

I feel he needs to access his psychology leading up to these tournaments and he's absolutely no need to force his play and let his natural game pan out.

Chokers tag should be for people who never win and blow up on the final day when in front (which he did at the masters, but managed a major win 8 weeks later!)

He'll be a billionaire soon, I'd love to be known as a choker with that account
Post by: TheOptimist on July 20, 2019, 02:54:12 PM
Quote from: Gold on July 20, 2019, 08:12:16 AM

Agreed

On your logic can you name me five players who aren't chokers?
Post by: thewobbler on July 20, 2019, 03:06:12 PM
I'd be interested in how anyone would describe the careers of Holmes, Lowry, Westwood and Fleetwood, if they describe Rory as a choker.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 03:35:03 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 20, 2019, 03:06:12 PM
I'd be interested in how anyone would describe the careers of Holmes, Lowry, Westwood and Fleetwood, if they describe Rory as a choker.

The real reason has nothing to do with golf in fairness
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 07:20:49 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 09:15:30 AM
Why is mcilroy so hated?

When?
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 07:21:58 PM
Let's hope Shane holds it together over the last few holes
Post by: screenexile on July 20, 2019, 07:23:25 PM
Shane shooting the lights out here with the crowd pulling him along hopefully he can do it the weather being bad tomorrow should make it a great watch.

Followed him yesterday and the atmosphere was fantastic.

Great days craic yesterday a phenomenal event organised with military precision hopefully it comes back again!
Post by: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 07:42:32 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 20, 2019, 07:23:25 PM
Shane shooting the lights out here with the crowd pulling him along hopefully he can do it the weather being bad tomorrow should make it a great watch.

Great days craic yesterday a phenomenal event organised with military precision hopefully it comes back again!
Get a few more in before the UI?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 07:43:25 PM
Shane around the greens has been brilliant, tomorrow he just needs to chip away
Post by: small white mayoman on July 20, 2019, 08:22:15 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2019, 07:20:49 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 09:15:30 AM
Why is mcilroy so hated?

When?

When he was doing an interview during the Irish open last year when it was held in Ballyliffin.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:02:22 PM
Such a lead now, in the bag!
Post by: small white mayoman on July 20, 2019, 09:07:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:02:22 PM

Hopefully , what a round of golf. He got some reception at the 18th.
Post by: Orior on July 20, 2019, 09:11:02 PM

He's need that whole lead with the weather forecast for tomorrow.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:12:49 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2019, 09:11:02 PM

Same weather for all players
Post by: mrdeeds on July 20, 2019, 09:13:52 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:12:49 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2019, 09:11:02 PM

Same weather for all players

No it's worse in afternoon.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:15:39 PM
The players that count, will be out when the weather is to be bad also
Post by: Rois on July 20, 2019, 09:38:27 PM
Some atmosphere this eve in the spectator village. Olé ole ole ringing out, and everyone was in super form. A bar owner from Tullamore was showing me a pic of him, Shane and Gooch Cooper. Proud as punch. I have to say it though, there were people there from NI who wouldn't give him so much as a clap just because he is "Irish".
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 09:43:59 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 20, 2019, 09:38:27 PM
Some atmosphere this eve in the spectator village. Olé ole ole ringing out, and everyone was in super form. A bar owner from Tullamore was showing me a pic of him, Shane and Gooch Cooper. Proud as punch. I have to say it though, there were people there from NI who wouldn't give him so much as a clap just because he is "Irish".

No can't believe that! You think he's disliked cause he's Irish? There's no way anyone in Ireland would hate a player from the same island just because of his nationality. You're making this up  ::)
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 09:44:07 PM
Sure you've lads on this board who wouldn't say anything good about McIlroy because he doesn't conform to their idea of what he should be. Vast majority of crowd have been absolutely roaring Lowry on. There'll always be a couple of gobshites wherever you go.
Post by: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 09:48:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 09:44:07 PM
Sure you've lads on this board who wouldn't say anything good about McIlroy because he doesn't confirm to their idea of what he should be. Vast majority of crowd have been absolutely roaring Lowry on. There'll always be a couple of gobshites wherever you go.
The ole, ole, ole might grate with some but looks like everyone is supporting big Shane to me.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/golf/49060320
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 09:52:02 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 09:48:55 PM
Sure you've lads on this board who wouldn't say anything good about McIlroy because he doesn't confirm to their idea of what he should be. Vast majority of crowd have been absolutely roaring Lowry on. There'll always be a couple of gobshites wherever you go.
The ole, ole, ole might grate with some but looks like everyone is supporting big Shane to me.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/golf/49060320

Why would it grate with anyone?
Post by: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 09:57:22 PM
Primarily associated with the ROI footie team, many of who's fans actively dislike the NI football team and want to see them lose.
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 10:05:04 PM
Hahaha, the absolute state of anyone who'd let themselves get upset by that.

Nice try btw on the suggestion that the thinking would be "I associate that chant with the RoI team, and loads of the RoI fans really dislike the NI football team, so f**k them and f**k Lowry" rather than just "I associate that chant with the RoI team, so these lads are obviously Irish. f**k these Irish bastards".
Post by: nrico2006 on July 20, 2019, 10:11:16 PM
Hopefully for some on here Lowry wins tomorrow because if he loses a lead like this he must be a major choker.
Post by: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 10:12:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 10:05:04 PM

Nice try btw on the suggestion that the thinking would be "I associate that chant with the RoI team, and loads of the RoI fans really dislike the NI football team, so f**k them and f**k Lowry" rather than just "I associate that chant with the RoI team, so these lads are obviously Irish. f**k these Irish b**tards".
Have you been watching the tele today?
Post by: JimStynes on July 20, 2019, 10:15:32 PM
Only a matter of time before this thread descended into that sort of shite. Like most other threads on here ffs.
Post by: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 10:21:55 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 10:12:58 PM

Nice try btw on the suggestion that the thinking would be "I associate that chant with the RoI team, and loads of the RoI fans really dislike the NI football team, so f**k them and f**k Lowry" rather than just "I associate that chant with the RoI team, so these lads are obviously Irish. f**k these Irish b**tards".

No, I haven't. I pulled the below out of my f**king hole.  ::)

Sure you've lads on this board who wouldn't say anything good about McIlroy because he doesn't conform to their idea of what he should be. Vast majority of crowd have been absolutely roaring Lowry on. There'll always be a couple of gobshites wherever you go.

You're the one bringing up the laughable suggestion that it might be in some way understandable for people up there to be getting upset by chants of olé olé olé.

My point is that the idea of anyone up in Portrush's thought process goes football chant > Irish football team > Irish football fans > they hate NI > I'm upset rather than simply begrudging the Irishman is nonsense.
Post by: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 10:31:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2019, 10:21:55 PM

You're the one bringing up the laughable suggestion that it might be in some way understandable for people up there to be getting upset by chants of olé olé olé.

My point is that the idea of anyone up in Portrush's thought process goes football chant > Irish football team > Irish football fans > they hate NI > I'm upset rather than simply begrudging the Irishman is nonsense.
As you said, the vast majority of fans are roaring Lowry on.  Was simply suggesting why one or two might be non-plussed.  Doesn't look like there are too many who are "simply begrudging the Irishman".
Post by: BennyCake on July 20, 2019, 10:37:51 PM
What odds Lowry before play started?
Post by: Rois on July 20, 2019, 10:38:11 PM
It was a tiny minority, but I watched two separate groups of fellas around me. They clapped Westwood, Rose (as did I) but kept quiet with their hands in their pockets when Lowry birdied. There were no "ole"s being sung so can't use that excuse. Those came later. I don't usually comment on this stuff, but the insecurity of these specific people saddened me.

Anyway, a super day, and many of the visitors really seem to be enjoying it. A guy from NZ told me he wanted to move here!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2019, 10:52:11 PM
Lowry was minimum 40/1

Backed him the other day at 10's, my initial picks are still hanging about
Post by: BennyCake on July 20, 2019, 11:07:32 PM
Balls. Was going to put money on him
Post by: mrdeeds on July 20, 2019, 11:51:14 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 20, 2019, 10:37:51 PM
What odds Lowry before play started?

I backed him at 45s.
Post by: An Watcher on July 21, 2019, 12:12:36 AM
Have £1 on lowry at 66/1 on wed
Post by: red hander on July 21, 2019, 12:14:43 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 20, 2019, 11:02:46 PM
Quote from: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 07:42:32 PM

The Open Championship as far as I known is not limited by rule that it can only be held in the UK, more that it is just a convention. The tournament organisers have even been insistent on discouraging journalists and broadcasters from calling it "The British Open", preferring just "The Open".

Well, Portrush isn't in Britain. That's a factual, inarguable reality
Post by: red hander on July 21, 2019, 12:20:52 AM
Quote from: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 10:31:34 PM

As you said, the vast majority of fans are roaring Lowry on.  Was simply suggesting why one or two might be non-plussed.  Doesn't look like there are too many who are "simply begrudging the Irishman".

Look up the dictionary definition of words before using them 're.. Non-plussed
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 12:22:27 AM
Quote from: red hander on July 21, 2019, 12:20:52 AM
Quote from: michaelg on July 20, 2019, 10:31:34 PM

Look up the dictionary definition of words before using them

The English dictionary?  8)
Post by: inthrough on July 21, 2019, 12:40:31 AM
Quote from: red hander on July 21, 2019, 12:14:43 AM

The Open Championship as far as I known is not limited by rule that it can only be held in the UK, more that it is just a convention. The tournament organisers have even been insistent on discouraging journalists and broadcasters from calling it "The British Open", preferring just "The Open".

It isn't the "British" Open, never has been, never will be.

It's The Open Championship.
Post by: LCohen on July 21, 2019, 08:07:54 AM

You must go into a complete meltdown every time the commentators mention Holland in other sports

Most people seem to be able to roll with it
Post by: Boycey on July 21, 2019, 10:10:32 AM
The absolute state of this thread  :o

Keep her lit Shane....
Post by: inthrough on July 21, 2019, 10:27:09 AM

There is no such place as Britain,
Portrush, like the rest of Ireland is part of the British Isles, a geographic description like the Iberian Peninsula, but not part of Great Britain the island which comprises England, Scotland & Wales.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 21, 2019, 10:31:07 AM
Offaly to win Hurling All Ireland? 
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on July 21, 2019, 11:15:01 AM
Quote from: inthrough on July 21, 2019, 10:27:09 AM

There is no such place as Britain,
Portrush, like the rest of Ireland is part of the British Isles, a geographic description like the Iberian Peninsula, but not part of Great Britain the island which comprises England, Scotland & Wales.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britain,_Virginia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britain,_Virginia)
Post by: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 11:40:30 AM
Why do golf fans go to golf tournaments dressed as if they are playing ?
Post by: TabClear on July 21, 2019, 12:02:43 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 11:40:30 AM

Why do football fans go to matches dressed like they are playing?  ;)
Post by: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 12:20:06 PM
Quote from: TabClear on July 21, 2019, 12:02:43 PM

Why do football fans go to matches dressed like they are playing?  ;)

Don't see too many full kit wankers at footballs games
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 21, 2019, 12:20:19 PM
As if being called British wasn't bad enough for Shane - we have this!

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D_-2YzcWwAEHMiF.jpg:large)
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 12:28:45 PM

Weather proof clothes can be quite handy when spectating all day.
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 12:31:47 PM
Saw this on Twitter:

Shane Lowry four clear of fellow Irishman Tommy Fleetwood heading into the final round of #TheOpen 

Another Irishman, JB Holmes in third place on -10, while two more Irish players - Brooks Koepka and Justin Rose - are on nine under.

That's how it works, right? 🇮🇪☘️
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 12:55:32 PM
And one of the great things about Shane is that he doesn't look like a thoroughbred athlete like me. He looks just like an ordinary single figure handicap golfer turning up for a Monthly Medal.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 01:04:49 PM
Will miss much of the action due to club games but hopefully Shane keeps things ticking over. I'd say his start will be crucial, first few holes to get through then hopefully a steady round to see it out
Post by: gallsman on July 21, 2019, 01:11:55 PM
Shane Ross is on his way north I see.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 01:20:53 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 21, 2019, 01:11:55 PM
Shane Ross is on his way north I see.
That's end of that then.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2019, 01:40:37 PM

GeorgeFromTheShankill
@impongo2
·
4h
Replying to
@ShaneLowryGolf
and
@TheOpen
MON SHANE
NO BETTER MAN
GOOD LUCK FROM ALL HERE ON THE SHANKILL ROAD IN BELFAST
#TheOpen
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 02:02:33 PM
The people following Lowry today may end up being a hindrance than a help.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2019, 03:31:15 PM
Fleetwood is finding it harder
Lowry is tipping along nicely
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 03:38:34 PM
Weather is brutal now. Lowry in control so doesn't need to force anything and leave himself with anything too calamitous.
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2019, 03:51:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 03:38:34 PM
Weather is brutal now. Lowry in control so doesn't need to force anything and leave himself with anything too calamitous.
Yep, just take her handy and it should be his.
Post by: GJL on July 21, 2019, 04:26:45 PM
Looks like it is in the bag. Fantastic.
Post by: Boycey on July 21, 2019, 04:32:49 PM
Ah lads ffs
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 04:56:23 PM
Jean vandervelde. Not over till it's over. Especially in golf.
Post by: square_ball on July 21, 2019, 05:26:02 PM
All over now. You almost half want it to be a nail biting finish but at the same time nice to enjoy these last few holes.
Post by: HiMucker on July 21, 2019, 05:28:31 PM
Anyone got a stream? My box has just packed it in there :'(
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2019, 05:35:30 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 04:56:23 PM
Jean vandervelde. Not over till it's over. Especially in golf.
Vandervelde wasn't a Biffo though!

6 clear now.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 05:37:15 PM
You not meant to hate biffos?
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2019, 05:38:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 05:37:15 PM
You not meant to hate biffos?
Ah jaysis how could you dislike Lowry... sure he married a Laois woman so he must be alright.... ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 05:43:57 PM
 ;D didn't know that. He can be excused so ;D Seems a likeable guy. Great to see this.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 05:56:08 PM
Outstanding
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2019, 06:12:23 PM
Brilliant scenes on the 18th ,well done  Shane Lowry 🇮🇪🇮🇪🇮🇪
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2019, 06:12:46 PM
Offaly needed this

Great achievement for Lowry
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 06:13:42 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 21, 2019, 06:12:46 PM
Offaly needed this

Great achievement for Lowry

He scored more than Offaly has this season
Post by: screenexile on July 21, 2019, 06:15:34 PM
Absolutely brilliant and one of the top Irish sporting achievements winning a major on home soil.

The whole thing was first class really enjoyed it hope it comes back soon!!
Post by: highorlow on July 21, 2019, 06:19:05 PM
I was laughed at and slagged here when I said that Lowry would win a major before McIlroy wins his next.

Maybe I got lucky
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 06:23:17 PM
Class. Is he the first Irishman since Harrington to win the Open?
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2019, 06:24:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 06:23:17 PM
I was going to say that but I thought the snowflakes would get upset!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 06:25:27 PM

;D ;D

I'm sure Rory won it 2016  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 06:31:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 06:25:27 PM

;D ;D

So, "yes"?  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 06:31:52 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 21, 2019, 06:19:05 PM
I was laughed at and slagged here when I said that Lowry would win a major before McIlroy wins his next.

Maybe I got lucky

Hopefully you backed him
Post by: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 06:53:12 PM
Great performance from a true Irishman that isn't afraid to embrace his Irishness 
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 06:55:51 PM
From Tony Fearon...

QuoteWith Shane Lowry about to win the British Open Golf title, great to see his father Brendan, an All Ireland Gaelic Football winner with Offaly in 1982, featuring in today's match programme at Croke Park.

Here's another little quirky fact.

Armagh played Offaly in the league in Lurgan in 1982. In the Armagh side was Mickey McDonald, uncle of Rory Mc Ilroy and in the Offaly side was Brendan Lowry father of 2019 Open Champion Shane Lowry. Little did they know!
Post by: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 07:03:00 PM

;D ;D

No major for Rory since 2014
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2019, 07:04:55 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/Darth_Monty/status/1152991069220614144
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 07:06:15 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 07:03:00 PM

;D ;D

No major for Rory since 2014

Well the last Irish player to win was in Liverpool I think, not sure of the year. But it was after Paddy's win
Post by: JimStynes on July 21, 2019, 07:13:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 21, 2019, 06:55:51 PM
From Tony Fearon...

QuoteWith Shane Lowry about to win the British Open Golf title, great to see his father Brendan, an All Ireland Gaelic Football winner with Offaly in 1982, featuring in today's match programme at Croke Park.

Armagh played Offaly in the league in Lurgan in 1982. In the Armagh side was Mickey McDonald, uncle of Rory Mc Ilroy and in the Offaly side was Brendan Lowry father of 2019 Open Champion Shane Lowry. Little did they know!

I miss Tony
Post by: Oraisteach on July 21, 2019, 07:56:06 PM
Where's Fearon when you need him! What was the score of that Armagh vs Offaly match?
Post by: balladmaker on July 21, 2019, 08:07:37 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on July 21, 2019, 07:56:06 PM
Where's Fearon when you need him! What was the score of that Armagh vs Offaly match?

Have a feeling Armagh won it, was the same season Down beat Armagh in the NFL Final.
Post by: gallsman on July 21, 2019, 08:24:06 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 21, 2019, 07:13:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 21, 2019, 06:55:51 PM
From Tony Fearon...

I miss Tony

You'd be the only one. His own mother wouldn't.

Brilliant stuff from Lowry. Think they said of the top 20 on the leaderboard at the start of the day, only Final shooting par went better than him.
Post by: LCohen on July 21, 2019, 09:10:47 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 06:53:12 PM
Great performance from a true Irishman that isn't afraid to embrace his Irishness

We have watched Padraig, Graeme, Rory, Darren and now Shane win majors. I would argue all have embraced their Irishness. Some have had to deal with other people trying to foist their version of Irishness on them. Not everyone's version of irishness is the same. Ask anyone from a "mixed marriage " ( terrible phrase but it conveys my meaning) in Northern Ireland.

Anyway deal with it or be a Tebbitesque knob. Not a difficult choice for most
Post by: gawa316 on July 21, 2019, 09:19:42 PM
10 of the last 50 major winners coming from Ireland...not too shabby that
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2019, 09:21:22 PM
Let's talk about golf? Feck that, let's talk about who's more Irish? What a p***k
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 09:21:52 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 21, 2019, 09:10:47 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 21, 2019, 06:53:12 PM

We have watched Padraig, Graeme, Rory, Darren and now Shane win majors. I would argue all have embraced their Irishness. Some have had to deal with other people trying to foist their version of Irishness on them. Not everyone's version of irishness is the same. Ask anyone from a "mixed marriage " ( terrible phrase but it conveys my meaning) in Northern Ireland.

Anyway deal with it or be a Tebbitesque knob. Not a difficult choice for most

Bigger question - who will be our next Major winner?

Post by: LCohen on July 21, 2019, 09:24:17 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 21, 2019, 09:19:42 PM
10 of the last 50 major winners coming forms Ireland...not too shabby that

A simply staggering statistic. Let's just celebrate. What could be more Irish??
Post by: 6th sam on July 21, 2019, 09:30:28 PM
Quote from: LCohen on July 21, 2019, 09:24:17 PM

What an achievement, world class sportsman in arguably the best individual sports in the world . We're punching above our weight again
Post by: gawa316 on July 21, 2019, 10:12:27 PM

Tis right...don't give a toss about religion or what part of the island they were born...all Irish to me
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 21, 2019, 10:55:02 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on July 21, 2019, 10:12:27 PM

Tis right...don't give a toss about religion or what part of the island they were born...all Irish to me

I also noticed that when it is an international affair, the majority of comments and commentary refer to Ireland, Irish players or on Irish soil.
Looking at the stats, it is obvious that golf is the no. 1 sport we excel at globally.
Maybe boxing gives it a close run, but 10 world champions in the last 50 events is outstanding.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 21, 2019, 10:55:59 PM
Well done to Lowry, always a pleasure watching wins like these
Post by: Rois on July 21, 2019, 11:13:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 21, 2019, 09:21:52 PM

• Paul Dunne
  • Gavin Moynihan
  • Robin Dawson
  • Sugre
  • Michael Hoey
  • Cormac Sharvin
  • Seamus Power
  • Tom McKibbin
  • Someone else?
Leona Maguire?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 21, 2019, 11:14:13 PM
Lowry won it on the first hole today. Or more accurately, didn't lose it on the first hole. If he had double bogeyed (which looked likely) and Fleetwood birdied (which looked doable), it was immediately down to a one-shot match. Psychologically he would have been burst as well.

At no point did Fleetwood ever give off the air of being a man who was hunting Lowry down. He created chances but was hoping the door would open rather than kicking it down.

Lowry is very much in the mould of the great Offaly hurling and football players of glory days past. Modest, doesn't take himself too seriously, enjoys his sport but keeps it in perspective.

Should be a few great nights in Clara.
Post by: podge on July 21, 2019, 11:15:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 02:02:33 PM
The people following Lowry today may end up being a hindrance
Tosser
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2019, 12:23:31 AM
Quote from: podge on July 21, 2019, 11:15:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2019, 02:02:33 PM
The people following Lowry today may end up being a hindrance
t**ser
Rule 1 infraction 9 hours later.

Lay off the drink podge as it can easily get the better of you  ;)
Post by: highorlow on July 22, 2019, 06:24:48 AM
Quote[/
It was the Ref that did it!!
View Profile

Re: The Official Golf Thread
« Reply #5304 on: February 22, 2019, 06:25:15 PM »
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 22, 2019, 02:11:39 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 22, 2019, 10:16:20 AM
Attitude now he reckons has fixed our Rory. Lowry will win a major before he wins another one, if he ever does. He is lacking heart because he has no allegiance to anything meaningful and doesn't have any inbuilt belief.

"Some of the times, it will go wrong, and so you have to be that character to, you know, you're going to take a shot on, it won't work out, but you can't second guess yourself afterwards.

"You have to have that mentality that you have to believe that your strategy is it, that you are the man, that 100% it's all about your strategy. You've got to believe in yourself." P.H

Shane?

Shane McGowan has a better chance ffs

No I backed Shane McGowan on your advice!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 22, 2019, 08:44:24 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 22, 2019, 06:24:48 AM
Quote[/
It was the Ref that did it!!
View Profile

Re: The Official Golf Thread
« Reply #5304 on: February 22, 2019, 06:25:15 PM »
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 22, 2019, 02:11:39 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 22, 2019, 10:16:20 AM
Attitude now he reckons has fixed our Rory. Lowry will win a major before he wins another one, if he ever does. He is lacking heart because he has no allegiance to anything meaningful and doesn't have any inbuilt belief.

"Some of the times, it will go wrong, and so you have to be that character to, you know, you're going to take a shot on, it won't work out, but you can't second guess yourself afterwards.

"You have to have that mentality that you have to believe that your strategy is it, that you are the man, that 100% it's all about your strategy. You've got to believe in yourself." P.H

Shane?

Shane McGowan has a better chance ffs

No I backed Shane McGowan on your advice!

Don't take the advice of a person who plays once a year! I'm glad I didn't take mine.
Post by: Franko on July 22, 2019, 08:55:35 AM
What a great day he gave us yesterday.  The weather tried it's best to dampen the spirits but couldn't manage it. In truth, he won it on Saturday and at the first hole yesterday.

Watching him come up the 18th was spine tingling stuff.

Hopefully the expressions of support from the Irish population for Lowry will dispel the myth of the 'typical Irish begrudgery' that some empty vessels love to spout around here.  He couldn't have been better supported by his own people.

Some cracking posts on the golf thread about Lowry's chances from the usual board know-it-alls.  Better to remain silent... and all that...  ;D
Post by: Orior on July 22, 2019, 09:05:20 AM
Quote from: Franko on July 22, 2019, 08:55:35 AM
What a great day he gave us yesterday.  The weather tried it's best to dampen the spirits but couldn't manage it. In truth, he won it on Saturday and at the first hole yesterday.

Hopefully the expressions of support from the Irish population for Lowry will dispel the myth of the 'typical Irish begrudgery' that some empty vessels love to spout around here.  He couldn't have been better supported by his own people.

Some cracking posts on the golf thread about Lowry's chances from the usual board know-it-alls.  Better to remain silent... and all that...  ;D

Rich Beam said in an interview yesterday, that that was probably the pinnacle of Lowry's career.
Post by: johnnycool on July 22, 2019, 09:37:58 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 21, 2019, 11:13:30 PM

• Paul Dunne
  • Gavin Moynihan
  • Robin Dawson
  • Sugre
  • Michael Hoey
  • Cormac Sharvin
  • Seamus Power
  • Tom McKibbin
  • Someone else?
Leona Maguire?

Beth Coulter.   ;)

Pity she'll have to give up the camogie though!
Post by: Hound on July 22, 2019, 09:51:10 AM
Last 13 Open winners came from:

Ireland 5
USA 4
South Africa 2
Sweden 1
Italy 1
Rest of World 0

Post by: Rudi on July 22, 2019, 10:06:35 AM
Good to see a real Irishman win the open.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 22, 2019, 10:08:14 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 22, 2019, 10:06:35 AM

He's as Irish as Rory. He just embraces it more.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2019, 10:12:10 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 22, 2019, 09:51:10 AM

Ireland 5
USA 4
South Africa 2
Sweden 1
Italy 1
Rest of World 0

Pretty random number to use 13....

Great achievement and was real exciting stuff. Don't buy into the 'more irish' shite....makes no f**king odds.
Post by: Hound on July 22, 2019, 10:20:23 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2019, 10:12:10 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 22, 2019, 09:51:10 AM

Ireland 5
USA 4
South Africa 2
Sweden 1
Italy 1
Rest of World 0

Pretty random number to use 13....

Wasn't random at all  8)
Post by: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 10:42:17 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 22, 2019, 10:08:14 AM

Have never seen an Irishman describe himself as British and calls Derry "Londonderry" but hey ho
Post by: Franko on July 22, 2019, 11:29:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 22, 2019, 09:05:20 AM
Quote from: Franko on July 22, 2019, 08:55:35 AM

Rich Beam said in an interview yesterday, that that was probably the pinnacle of Lowry's career.

Without doubt, it currently is.
Post by: screenexile on July 22, 2019, 11:37:18 AM
Best line I've read of all the articles to do with yesterday...

Lowry is what McIlroy would love to be (wholly unfiltered) and what Darren Clarke pretends to be (a cheerful, beer-drinking bon vivant).
Post by: imtommygunn on July 22, 2019, 11:41:04 AM
They're 3 different people - don't see the need to compare them on a personal level....

Not much into golf but recorded and watched the highlights of it yesterday. Great to see an Irishman achieve at the top level.

I really do think given the size of our nation we do great things globally on a sporting front.
Post by: gallsman on July 22, 2019, 12:26:08 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 10:42:17 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 22, 2019, 10:08:14 AM

Have never seen an Irishman describe himself as British and calls Derry "Londonderry" but hey ho

I know and know of loads of Irishmen who call themselves British and call it Londonderry

Do you not believe our unionist and Protestant brethren are Irish?

Hey ho indeed.
Post by: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 12:34:07 PM
Proper oddmark behaviour.

Celebrating an Irish player winning a major by using it as an opportunity to have a pop at  other Irish players who've won majors.

I just can't comprehend this.
Post by: Orior on July 22, 2019, 01:14:00 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 12:34:07 PM

Celebrating an Irish player winning a major by using it as an opportunity to have a pop at  other Irish players who've won majors.

Has anyone mentioned Rory McIlroy yet?

Whilst he may have whisked himself off home to Florida, I thought he would have tweeted congratulations to his fellow Irishman.
Post by: stephenite on July 22, 2019, 01:24:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 22, 2019, 01:14:00 PM

Whilst he may have whisked himself off home to Florida, I thought he would have tweeted congratulations to his fellow Irishman.

He did post on social media, thought it was a nice touch too
Post by: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 01:26:40 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 22, 2019, 01:14:00 PM

Doubt he even runs that Twitter account, probably someone doing it for him, it's just ads for Golfpass
Post by: square_ball on July 22, 2019, 01:28:47 PM
He put a fantastic post up on Instagram about Lowry.

Haters gonna hate.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2019, 01:38:27 PM
GMAC was crying like a baby when Lowry won. A good cratur and stayed to greet him at the end.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2019, 01:40:22 PM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/golf/2019/07/22/open-2019-breakdown-shane-lowry-conquered-royal-portrush-left/

The Open 2019 breakdown: How Shane Lowry conquered Royal Portrush and left the field trailing

Shane Lowry is Ireland's fifth major champion
•    Daniel Zeqiri
22 JULY 2019 • 11:29AM

Shane Lowry had missed the last four Open Championship cuts, not breaking 70 in eight attempts, prior to his dominant six-shot victory at Royal Portrush - the first major championship of his career.
Having skipped the Scottish Open and finished T-35 at the Irish Open a fortnight ago, Lowry's form offered little sign that he would trouble the Claret Jug engraver.
So how did he turn the 148th Open Championship into a procession? In the decade since he won the Irish Open as an amateur in driving rain at Baltray, Lowry has been a difficult player to categorise. 
Lowry's A-game has long been considered good enough to trouble the world's best fields, as victories in Abu Dhabi this season and the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone in 2015 attest.
The Irishman certainly has no trouble handling the pressure of being in contention, but finding the consistency to put himself there more frequently has been the problem. Lowry's seasons tend to follow a pattern of sharp peaks and long troughs - the biggest slump coming after his 2016 US Open disappointment.
Technique and temperament might explain this boom and bust cycle. Like a batsman who relies on timing, Lowry has a slightly old-school, syrupy swing based on rhythm and the feel in his wonderfully soft hands.
These are fantastic attributes with the short clubs but can lead to inaccuracy with the longer ones, especially driver. When Lowry's timing is on it looks glorious, but any loss of rhythm can lead to the club face pointing in unwanted directions.
It all came together at Portrush, so how exactly did he manage it?

Fast starts with the wind behind him
Lowry finished the week as the only player in the field at double figures under-par at -15. It was on Royal Portrush's opening stretch that Lowry accrued credit in the bank: he was nine-under for the first five holes across the championship. Statistically, three of those holes featured in the five easiest for the week.
As ever with links golf, the elements decided which holes were scoreable and which had players hanging on for dear life. According to Portrush specialist Darren Clarke, the players were presented with an unusual wind direction on the first three days with the first five holes playing downwind and from the right. This allowed players to hit an iron off the first tee, brought the par-five second well within range and made the par-four fifth driveable.
Lowry took full advantage, making three twos on the par-three third and birdieing the fifth in all four rounds. This also negated the need to take risks on the harder holes to come - a theme of the week was that once players fell over par it was difficult for them to make shots up, but Lowry never had to chase.
Despite this barrage of red numbers, arguably his most important putt on the opening section of the course was the 10-footer he holed for bogey on the first on Sunday. The wind had turned into the players for the final round, with Jon Rahm and Rickie Fowler both making double bogey sixes on the first. Lowry salvaged a five, Tommy Fleetwood missed a presentable birdie chance and his lead stayed at three when it could easily have been one.
Playing iron shots from the rough
Lowry's short game is masterful, his chipping and pitching technique the facet of his game that draws most admiration from other pros. His short game explains why he has excelled at courses with small greens, such as Harbour Town and Valderrama, when greens in regulation numbers are low across the field.
You do not associate Lowry with relentlessly finding fairways and greens in the manner of a Francesco Molinari or a Colin Montgomerie, but he found more greens in regulation that any player at Portrush. Lowry found a stunning 79.17 percent of greens - for context, his previous best GIR number on the PGA Tour this season was 66.67 percent - and this on a links course with humps and bumps that repel balls wickedly.
Those numbers suggest a ball-striking exhibition from Lowry, and the fact he was four-under on the par-threes for the week hammers home just how good his iron-play was. More interestingly however, Lowry achieved his field-best GIR numbers while only finding 62.5 percent of the fairways, the 49th best driving accuracy in the field.
Given that going for the green from Portrush's pot bunkers is rarely a realistic option, Lowry hit some magnificent recovery shots from rough to account for the disparity between fairways and greens found. Was he fortunate with some lies or did he receive handy assistance from the partisan home crowd?
Perhaps, but Lowry demonstrated immense skill in escaping from Portrush's tangly long grass. Many a player comes unstuck by trying to bite off more than they can chew from the thick stuff, but Lowry took extra club and played his approaches from rough like long pitch and run shots. There was no finer example than his shot into the 10th on Saturday on his way to a 63, and he took charge of the tournament after the resulting birdie.

Lukas Weese@Weesesports

What a SHOT from co-leader Shane Lowry from a difficult lie on the 10th hole.

That's how you start the Back 9 at Portrush. #TheOpen #TheOpenChampionship

Holing out to avoid frittering shots away
Fleetwood, Lee Westwood and Brook Koepka will look back with regret at a cold putter in the final round at Royal Portrush, and while Lowry did not need to putt the lights out he excelled at holing out from short-range and avoiding three putts. Dropped shots were certain as the wind gusted and the rain lashed down on Sunday at Portrush, but Lowry did not throw any cheap shots away through losses of nerves or concentration on the greens. It was quite the contrast to the final round of the 2016 US Open, when Lowry's hopes faded with three consecutive three-putts at the Oakmont's 14th, 15th and 16th. Bar a three-putt at the 11th, Lowry's pace was spot on.
Winning golf tournaments involves a fairly simple equation: combining greens in regulation with putts holed, and Lowry found the perfect formula at Portrush. Though his velvety touch around the greens was in evidence throughout the week, Lowry's Open was founded on well-flighted, crafty approach play.
Post by: trailer on July 22, 2019, 02:20:39 PM
A brilliant open championship, with a brilliant winner. That 63 on Saturday was something else. I followed him for a few holes at Wednesday practice and he was great with the kids. Comes across a real sound fella. I hope he enjoys every minute of his victory.

Thought McIlroy showed real class on Friday with a super round of golf. He really gave his all and if possible went up in my estimation. Another great fella.

A brilliant Open Championship and can't wait for it to come back.
Post by: dec on July 22, 2019, 02:25:08 PM
Quote from: square_ball on July 22, 2019, 01:28:47 PM

Haters gonna hate.

https://www.instagram.com/p/B0NyOchoFp-/
Post by: Mario on July 22, 2019, 02:31:30 PM
Quote from: dec on July 22, 2019, 02:25:08 PM

Haters gonna hate.

People just hate McIlroy no matter what he does. He blew the biggest weekend of his life, was done by Friday and obviously devastated yet people thought he should hang about until Sunday just in case Shane Lowry managed to put together 2 good days on Sat and Sun to win the open.
Post by: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 02:33:47 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 22, 2019, 02:31:30 PM

Haters gonna hate.

People just hate McIlroy no matter what he does. He blew the biggest weekend of his life, was done by Friday and obviously devastated yet people thought he should hang about until Sunday just in case Shane Lowry managed to put together 2 good days on Sat and Sun to win the open.

Then they'd have hated him for trying to take the spotlight away from Lowry.

People are c***ts
Post by: imtommygunn on July 22, 2019, 02:39:53 PM
Exactly. I despair at the hate for him. Not sure how people who hate him for his views have friends that don't have exactly the same views as themselves. If so rather hypocritical.
Post by: trailer on July 22, 2019, 02:42:10 PM
Some of the stuff on here and other social media is embarrassing. Like I said he actually went up in my estimation.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 22, 2019, 02:46:04 PM
I quite like Rory but I lament the fact he seems to get in his own way and fails to get the most out of his amazing talent. I think he's ill equipped for the fame his career brings and often falls between stools trying to please people and not being himself.

Shane is an extremely likeable character. I felt really sorry for him after the US Open but always felt he would see it out if the same opportiunity arose again and did he ever. It actually suited him to a tee yesterday. Showed exactly how to play links golf, especially with a lead. The Americans just can't function in those conditions.

It's a great moment.
Post by: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 02:48:52 PM

Haters gonna hate.

why shouldn't he support Portrush which probably helped him get where he is today?
Post by: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 02:52:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 02:48:52 PM

Haters gonna hate.

why shouldn't he support Portrush which probably helped him get where he is today?

He's from Hollywood. He probably played Portrush a dozen times in his formative years.

That lad a few years older than him in school who stopped for a chat once, would have had as much influence on his career.
Post by: JimStynes on July 22, 2019, 02:54:57 PM
This thread is embarrassing.

Great seeing Shane Lowry winning yesterday and good seeing Portrush getting good reports.
Post by: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 03:15:05 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 02:52:42 PM
He's from Hollywood. He probably played Portrush a dozen times in his formative years.

That lad a few years older than him in school who stopped for a chat once, would have had as much influence on his career.

I know feck all about golf, so I am in no position to make a case, but I had the impression that the Open in Portrush was something of a showpiece for golf generally and likely supported by Ulster golf generally. If this impression is wrong then fair enough.
Post by: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 03:27:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 03:15:05 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 02:52:42 PM

I know feck all about golf, so I am in no position to make a case, but I had the impression that the Open in Portrush was something of a showpiece for golf generally and likely supported by Ulster golf generally. If this impression is wrong then fair enough.

That might be fair enough.

What's not fair enough is attempts to turn any tenuous, misunderstood, badly-researched thought processes into ammunition to use on McIlroy. All because he was brought up in a part of Ireland that doesn't think the same way as other parts.

If McIlroy had have spent the next 2 days in Portrush, it would either have been in restricted company - when he would have been described as an arrogant, pompous **** - or else surrounded by the media and/or fans who would have had the same conversation on repeat with him about the first hole, the 16th hole putt, and whether he has the cojones for major golf - which would have driven him mad and filled the papers too, which then would been misconstrued as him stealing Lowry's thunder.

He can't win with some people. It's brutally unfair.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 22, 2019, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 22, 2019, 03:27:05 PM

What's not fair enough is attempts to turn any tenuous, misunderstood, badly-researched thought processes into ammunition to use on McIlroy. All because he was brought up in a part of Ireland that doesn't think the same way as other parts.

He can't win with some people. It's brutally unfair.

He's from only place in Ireland to have a May pole!

Like us all he is a product of his background and upbringing which makes him very different from 99% of posters on this Board.
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2019, 06:07:21 PM
Newstalk sports report after the hourly news this afternoon told us Shane Lowry was back on Irish soil after his victory and celebrating in Dublin.
Post by: Main Street on July 22, 2019, 06:54:29 PM
He's just been over the moon.
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2019, 07:00:37 PM
Good point.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 22, 2019, 07:09:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 22, 2019, 06:07:21 PM
Newstalk sports report after the hourly news this afternoon told us Shane Lowry was back on Irish soil after his victory and celebrating in Dublin.

Christ.
Post by: dec on July 22, 2019, 08:18:44 PM
https://twitter.com/golfdigest/status/1153266116086652928

Fields of Athenry, Claret jug in one hand, pint in the other.
Post by: laoislad on July 22, 2019, 08:36:54 PM
Quote from: dec on July 22, 2019, 08:18:44 PM
https://twitter.com/golfdigest/status/1153266116086652928

Fields of Athenry, Claret jug in one hand, pint in the other.
Brilliant.
Post by: square_ball on July 22, 2019, 09:55:45 PM
Wee Sheamy Bryson getting his 2p worth in on twitter now too. Not sure who's comment is worse Bryson or MacKenna.
Post by: Orchard park on July 22, 2019, 10:23:43 PM
A thorough gentleman won the major his talent deserved. Had worked hard to get back to where his ability should have always had him..

My views on Rory and his backroom team are well noted here and equally well founded but I still feel if he didn't manage to f**k up so often Thursday he would have finished up 2nd on Sunday afternoon. What he did Friday took more than most players are capable of.

But this tournament is all about Shane Lowry and his humble family and backroom team
Post by: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 22, 2019, 10:23:43 PM
A thorough gentleman won the major his talent deserved. Had worked hard to get back to where his ability should have always had him..

My views on Rory and his backroom team are well noted here and equally well founded but I still feel if he didn't manage to f**k up so often Thursday he would have finished up 2nd on Sunday afternoon. What he did Friday took more than most players are capable of.

But this tournament is all about Shane Lowry and his humble family and backroom team

McIlroy would have shot a very high score on Sunday, academic and hypothetical but he would not have thrived in those conditions
Post by: Main Street on July 22, 2019, 10:38:07 PM
I guess that beats traveling to Minnesota hands down.

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 22, 2019, 10:48:14 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 10:26:07 PM

McIlroy would have shot a very high score on Sunday, academic and hypothetical but he would not have thrived in those conditions
When he saw the weather he was probably delighted he was back in Florida.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 22, 2019, 10:51:01 PM
Rory was out of tournament on Friday evening and they are still talking about him! Let it go, let it go
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 22, 2019, 11:17:29 PM
With Portrush being such a success other than the weather it's almost certain the open will be back. Which makes me think if Portrush can host it after some course adjustments then why not add county down to the rota as well. If anything it is an even better course.
Post by: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 11:30:33 PM
With Portrush still be in 'Britain' in 10 years time, or will the Open be up there with the iPlayer in the final settlement?
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on July 23, 2019, 12:07:56 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 22, 2019, 11:30:33 PM
With Portrush still be in 'Britain' in 10 years time, or will the Open be up there with the iPlayer in the final settlement?

More emphasis these days seems to be on the open rather than british open so dont see why not even after a UI. Sure there was even talk of having the US PGA at Portrush at one point
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2019, 12:15:04 AM
UI in ten years?
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2019, 01:03:20 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 23, 2019, 12:15:04 AM
UI in ten years?

Boris might announce it tomorrow.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2019, 08:30:21 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on July 23, 2019, 12:07:56 AM

More emphasis these days seems to be on the open rather than british open so dont see why not even after a UI. Sure there was even talk of having the US PGA at Portrush at one point
Harrington was saying the other day that the Open could feasibly be in Portmarnock (for example) as they are under the auspices of the R&A.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 23, 2019, 08:43:51 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 21, 2019, 11:13:30 PM

• Paul Dunne
  • Gavin Moynihan
  • Robin Dawson
  • Sugre
  • Michael Hoey
  • Cormac Sharvin
  • Seamus Power
  • Tom McKibbin
  • Someone else?
Leona Maguire?

Coached by her dad who was an excellent under age camogie coach in Fermanagh as well.
Post by: Hound on July 23, 2019, 10:58:12 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 22, 2019, 10:26:07 PM

Exactly. If +2 had happened to be the cut line, Rory would have been well under par by Saturday night, but would have been back to around even by Sunday night.

He's a great chance in the WGC this weekend though.
Post by: stephenite on July 23, 2019, 01:32:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2019, 08:30:21 AM

Harrington was saying the other day that the Open could feasibly be in Portmarnock (for example) as they are under the auspices of the R&A.

Did they resolve their 'issue' with allowing females in the door?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2019, 01:36:41 PM
Quote from: stephenite on July 23, 2019, 01:32:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2019, 08:30:21 AM

Did they resolve their 'issue' with allowing females in the door?
The article I read (think it was the Irish Times) said that there was consultation ongoing. It would be appear to be mad not to change the status quo if they are going to be blacklisted from all major R&A events.
Post by: thebigfella on July 23, 2019, 05:11:16 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on July 22, 2019, 11:17:29 PM
With Portrush being such a success other than the weather it's almost certain the open will be back. Which makes me think if Portrush can host it after some course adjustments then why not add county down to the rota as well. If anything it is an even better course.

RCD don't want to host The Open. It's been shot down numerous times.

They would need to spend quite a bit and have a loss of revenue while they make the necessary changes which would be necessary. There is no appetite for that in RCD.
Post by: NAG1 on July 24, 2019, 09:45:45 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 23, 2019, 05:11:16 PM

They would need to spend quite a bit and have a loss of revenue while they make the necessary changes which would be necessary. There is no appetite for that in RCD.

What happened between RCD and St Andrew's heard on the radio at the weekend that there is a sign up St Andrew's (at least I think it was there) to say everyone welcome bar members of RCD?
Post by: Stevie Nicks on July 24, 2019, 10:36:30 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 24, 2019, 09:45:45 AM

What happened between RCD and St Andrew's heard on the radio at the weekend that there is a sign up St Andrew's (at least I think it was there) to say everyone welcome bar members of RCD?

The story goes that a society of St Andrew's members arrived at RCD and were refused access to course years ago. If you believe all you hear ;)
Post by: JimStynes on July 24, 2019, 10:53:34 AM
Played RCD a number of years ago and a group of lads were heading out. All dressed in proper golf gear but one lad got a telling off by an older lady. 'Tuck that shirt in, this is Royal County Down!' And off she walked. w**ker
Post by: thewobbler on July 24, 2019, 11:30:46 AM
I've played RCD a half dozen times. Never found them anything but civilised.
Post by: thebigfella on July 24, 2019, 01:26:01 PM
Played it quite a bit and never had any issues myself to be honest.
Post by: Downtothewire on July 24, 2019, 01:35:39 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on July 24, 2019, 09:45:45 AM

I heard they were refused entry to the bar
Post by: JimStynes on July 24, 2019, 07:24:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 24, 2019, 11:30:46 AM

Well to be fair the inncident that I saw was a one off as we hadn't an issue the rest of the day. The good thing with golf in Ireland is it seems to be pretty accessible to most people, whereas England seems to be more elitist. Though we do have some clubs who have members who are full of shit.
Post by: Jim Bob on July 24, 2019, 07:46:30 PM
Is the K Club golf course still operating ?
Never hear any talk about it these days!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2019, 08:05:46 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 24, 2019, 07:24:40 PM

Well to be fair the inncident that I saw was a one off as we hadn't an issue the rest of the day. The good thing with golf in Ireland is it seems to be pretty accessible to most people, whereas England seems to be more elitist. Though we do have some clubs who have members who are full of shit.
Is here really any different though. We have green fees from 20 quid to 200 quid and the upper option isn't "accessible to most people". I'd wager Scotland and England are no different but I'd say you are right that the golf club w**ker is likely to be more prevalent in England.
Post by: highorlow on July 25, 2019, 10:16:25 AM
QuoteIs the K Club golf course still operating ?
Never hear any talk about it these days!!

Just about, it's not in great condition from what i hear.
Post by: screenexile on July 25, 2019, 10:32:51 AM
Ryder Cup 2026. . . when are the tickets out??!!
Post by: thewobbler on July 25, 2019, 11:01:40 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2019, 08:05:46 PM

Is here really any different though. We have green fees from 20 quid to 200 quid and the upper option isn't "accessible to most people". I'd wager Scotland and England are no different but I'd say you are right that the golf club w**ker is likely to be more prevalent in England.

Golf in Ireland is more accessible than anywhere in the world. You might baulk at a £200 green fee, but you will pay 50-100% more than that for any course on the Open rota (St Andrews excepted) and the majority of these courses really don't want you unless you fit the profile. Other famous courses in England and Scotland will require a fancy handshake or a £400 fee before they'll admit you.

Head to America, and the majority of highly ranked courses are completely private, to members, guests and people of influence.

There are attempts to make Ireland like this. Adare Manor being the latest to price anyone "normal" out of the market. Hogs Head is trying to be exclusive like an American course. Old Head makes no bones about its target market. Others like K Club and Killeen Castle simply had to adapt to the market and be played for a fraction of their projected exclusive club price nowadays.

We have it pretty good in Ireland, we really do.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:21:22 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 25, 2019, 10:32:51 AM

Why are the cabinet involved in this? Are we as a country going to dole out yet more money to rich people?
Post by: trailer on July 25, 2019, 11:57:07 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:21:22 AM

Why are the cabinet involved in this? Are we as a country going to dole out yet more money to rich people?

You do understand they have to pay for this and provide infrastructure etc? You do understand how these big events work? Formua 1, Olympics, European Cups, World Cups etc.
Post by: thewobbler on July 25, 2019, 12:33:39 PM
The adare bypass might be the best thing to come out of this
Post by: An Watcher on July 25, 2019, 12:37:34 PM
Yes but the money it brings in as a result of hosting these events is crazy too
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 25, 2019, 01:21:01 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 25, 2019, 11:01:40 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 24, 2019, 08:05:46 PM

Golf in Ireland is more accessible than anywhere in the world. You might baulk at a £200 green fee, but you will pay 50-100% more than that for any course on the Open rota (St Andrews excepted) and the majority of these courses really don't want you unless you fit the profile. Other famous courses in England and Scotland will require a fancy handshake or a £400 fee before they'll admit you.

Head to America, and the majority of highly ranked courses are completely private, to members, guests and people of influence.

There are attempts to make Ireland like this. Adare Manor being the latest to price anyone "normal" out of the market. Hogs Head is trying to be exclusive like an American course. Old Head makes no bones about its target market. Others like K Club and Killeen Castle simply had to adapt to the market and be played for a fraction of their projected exclusive club price nowadays.

We have it pretty good in Ireland, we really do.
Challenge accepted! £ prices below for summer play. Apart from (Trump Turnberry) most are in the ~£200 - £250 bracket.

Portrush      220
Muirfield      270
Turnberry    325
St. Andrews 190
Carnoustie   210
Troon          250
Lytham        200
Hoylake       200
St. Georges 230
Birkdale       265
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 04:13:28 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 25, 2019, 11:57:07 AM

You do understand they have to pay for this and provide infrastructure etc? You do understand how these big events work? Formua 1, Olympics, European Cups, World Cups etc.

There are people in this country without a roof over their head and we're going to shell out to help a billionaire (who made a lot of money driving our country further into the shit in the 80's) promote his venue and ego? Absolutely I understand how these things work. And it f**king stinks.
Post by: trailer on July 25, 2019, 07:28:09 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 04:13:28 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 25, 2019, 11:57:07 AM

There are people in this country without a roof over their head and we're going to shell out to help a billionaire (who made a lot of money driving our country further into the shit in the 80's) promote his venue and ego? Absolutely I understand how these things work. And it f**king stinks.

Well the idea is that this will generate money. I've never been to limerick mostly because I fear being stabbed but I might go to this. In fact, if the good Lord spares me, I will go.
Post by: thewobbler on July 25, 2019, 07:44:18 PM
I'm not sure JP will never live long enough to see a financial return from this venture. But yes it will be good for his ego.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 25, 2019, 10:37:18 PM
I hate this shite. Some gobshite minister was on earlier saying how wonderful this was for rural Ireland and how it will affect people for generations to come.

Eff off!
Post by: armaghniac on July 25, 2019, 10:47:39 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 25, 2019, 10:37:18 PM
I hate this shite. Some gobshite minister was on earlier saying how wonderful this was for rural Ireland and how it will affect people for generations to come.

Eff off!

Romantic encounters at the 19th could affect people for generations to come.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2019, 12:05:23 AM

Eff off!
That will stop depopulation in North Riscommon, North Leitrim, North West Mayo etc etc .
F off is right.
Post by: armaghniac on July 26, 2019, 12:23:12 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 26, 2019, 12:05:23 AM

Eff off!
That will stop depopulation in North Riscommon, North Leitrim, North West Mayo etc etc .
F off is right.

yous can caddy for golf tourists.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2019, 09:39:35 AM

Eff off!

Yes exactly. Keep your tourism and your money. We'd much rather be poor and miserable!!
Post by: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 09:57:06 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 26, 2019, 09:39:35 AM

Eff off!

Yes exactly. Keep your tourism and your money. We'd much rather be poor and miserable!!

Thats not what he said, put your own lefty spin on it anyway  ::)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 26, 2019, 10:09:42 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 09:57:06 AM

Eff off!

Exactly. I am not against the few bob coming in. I am against the shoneenism being display by Brendan Griffin and the over-egging of a jasesing golf game between squillionaires that most people in this clown's beloved rural Ireland couldn't give 2 fucks about.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2019, 10:12:59 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 26, 2019, 10:09:42 AM
Quote from: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 09:57:06 AM

Eff off!

Exactly. I am not against the few bob coming in. I am against the shoneenism being display by Brendan Griffin and the over-egging of a jasesing golf game between squillionaires that most people in this clown's beloved rural Ireland couldn't give 2 f**ks about.

Yet working class Ireland will fawn over Celtic, Liverpool and Manchester United and there's never a word about it. Funny how some people see things.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 26, 2019, 11:21:17 AM
Unfortunately Swiss JP doesn't need to pay a cent in tax in Ireland. Our next best hope is to strip some of his cash away from him on local projects.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2019, 11:26:09 AM
If everyone contributed to Ireland what JP has then the place would be a hellva lot better off.

Post by: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 12:09:10 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 26, 2019, 11:26:09 AM
If everyone contributed to Ireland what JP has then the place would be a hellva lot better off.

I agree, therefore I will stop paying the mandatory 40% tax, instead I will give 1-2 % back to charity.
Post by: t_mac on July 26, 2019, 12:15:11 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 26, 2019, 12:09:10 PM

I agree, therefore I will stop paying the mandatory 40% tax, instead I will give 1-2 % back to charity.

Oh and make sure you claim the VAT back on any donation, sure he's a great man!
Post by: APM on July 26, 2019, 12:17:30 PM

Rudi, it will be great.  You will feel brilliant because you can decide what different charitable causes are worthy of your support.  You can choose these causes at your own discretion based on where your passions lie and maybe too, those causes that will bring you a return financially, socially, politically or posterity. This will be brilliant for you, great for the projects you deem worthy and those people who benefit will say you are a great fella + you pay less tax.  Sure isn't it a win-win!

And don't worry, because me and the others will keep paying our taxes to fund healthcare, education and criminal justice. And we're gullible bastards, so every time you spend your 1-2% on charity, we will cheer you from the rooftops. 
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2019, 12:46:14 PM

What about the employment he provides and the tax that's raised through that?
You hate the game but blame the player. Typical Irish begrudgery. Such a shame.