GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on January 21, 2020, 12:56:24 PM

Title: NFL Div 4 2020
Post by: sligoman2 on January 21, 2020, 12:56:24 PM
Well what can I say.  I'm fairly sure we will win a few games in 2020 unlike last year.  We are missing a few top players this year but hopefully will be in with a chance of promotion.  Crucial to get an away win in London to get the ball rolling.  Galvin seems to be making waves and enemies in Wexford so that should be interesting.  I have no idea how this division will play out, it's uncharted waters for us but I am hoping it will be a short visit.  4 away games does not help.
Title: Re: NFL Div 4 2020
Post by: bannside on January 21, 2020, 01:09:14 PM
London away is a bit of a banana skin for every team in this division....gone are the days of the 8am flight over, most counties treating that fixture with a bit more respect these days! We (Antrim) host Galvins Wexford on Sunday and a good start is important so heres hoping. Should be a good division this year, I'd be surprised if any county goes through unbeaten.
Post by: Give and Go on January 21, 2020, 09:30:42 PM
Davy Burke has made a great impact in Wicklow and they fancy their chances of promotion. Bit of a row over senior manager over ruling Kevin O Brien to prevent U20 players playing v Clare last week. Strong feeling this u20 team can take Dublin...
Galvin made a shrewd move to involve Cian Deely and with anyoiubg squad they can definitely create a big improvement on their 2019 form.
These south east neighbours to surprise during 2020.
Post by: bannside on January 22, 2020, 06:54:43 AM
Of all the teams in this division I'd say Limerick has made the biggest impression pre season. Three wins out of three in the Mc Grath cup, and putting 20 points on Cork in the final is particularly noteworthy. Newcastlewest no pretty place to be either on a wet and windy February day.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 22, 2020, 12:54:04 PM
Quote from: bannside on January 22, 2020, 06:54:43 AM
Of all the teams in this division I'd say Limerick has made the biggest impression pre season. Three wins out of three in the Mc Grath cup, and putting 20 points on Cork in the final is particularly noteworthy. Newcastlewest no pretty place to be either on a wet and windy February day.

Yeah they could be a surprise packet alright.  We play them in the last game at home and I'm hoping there is something at stake at that point.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2020, 03:23:21 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/allianz-football-league-division-4-our-team-by-team-guide-and-predictions-976897.html (https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/allianz-football-league-division-4-our-team-by-team-guide-and-predictions-976897.html)

The above article predicts:

1. Carlow
2. Limerick
3. Antrim
4. Sligo
5. Wexford
6. Wicklow
7. Waterford
8. London
Post by: magpie seanie on January 23, 2020, 04:29:31 PM
Anyway - good luck to Paul Taylor and the lads for Sunday and the season ahead. I'm cautiously optimistic taking into account the big losses of the two lads mentioned earlier.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 26, 2020, 08:03:35 PM
Well we have already won more games this year than we did in all of last year.  2 lucky goals for O'connor And 2 goals for Pat Hughes in a minute kind of sums up the game. Banana skin avoided, next we welcome the boys from the glens.
Post by: bannside on January 26, 2020, 08:43:49 PM
Indeed Sligoman2, we keep meeting up every couple of years. This one could go either way. Niall Murphy retired?? Class act I thought any time he played against us.
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 26, 2020, 09:01:51 PM
Antrim always have fine ballers. Fancy them. and limerick.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 27, 2020, 08:29:43 AM
Quote from: bannside on January 26, 2020, 08:43:49 PM
Indeed Sligoman2, we keep meeting up every couple of years. This one could go either way. Niall Murphy retired?? Class act I thought any time he played against us.

Niall's taking a year out, not retired. He'll be back in white and black for next season.

Job done over in London and a better result than we'd have hoped for. Really big game next week in Markievicz. Hopefully we can get a good crowd to it. 4 Sligo lads started for London against us with another in their panel.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2020, 02:43:05 PM
Good game so far in Markievicz, half time, sligo up by a point 9 to 8.  Great to see so many scores by the younger players O'Connor, Gaughan and Red Og.  Should be a good second half.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 02, 2020, 03:40:45 PM
A one point win for us, came down to the wire as expected.  Patrick O'Connor man of the match, good choice for Captain and certainly justified the selection.  We are a young team and seem to be headed in the right direction.  Cunningham the standout player for Antrim. Tough result for Antrim, I think we deserved the win but need to reduce the amount of wides and easy turnovers.

Next we are off to Wickla...

Post by: sligoman on February 02, 2020, 04:02:16 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 02, 2020, 03:40:45 PM
A one point win for us, came down to the wire as expected.  Patrick O'Connor man of the match, good choice for Captain and certainly justified the selection.  We are a young team and seem to be headed in the right direction.  Cunningham the standout player for Antrim. Tough result for Antrim, I think we deserved the win but need to reduce the amount of wides and easy turnovers.

Next we are off to Wickla...

Great result and fair play to the lads as we must have the youngest team in the country right now. I think Cawley and Ewing were the only outfield players over the age of 24.

Division 4 is probably the best thing for these lads at the minute, I said last year that relegation was probably a blessing to allow these lads get some confidence back and find their level given the inexperience they have.

We've about 4/5 players who I believe would be certain starters and probably our main men if available - Murphy, McDonnell, McIntyre, Kelly and Cian Breheny but for various reasons aren't available or in a position to commit.

Wicklow away next will be tough, every game is going to be a grind for us this year, there's no standout team but two from two is all we could ask for and we've now put ourselves in a good position.

Great to see two clean sheets as well after the cricket scores we let in last year.
Post by: bannside on February 02, 2020, 05:46:27 PM
Impressed with Sligo today, I had head that you were in a bit of disarray, but today you looked well organised hungry and have plenty of athleticism. We missed a pure sitter midway through the first half that might have settled us down, but to give you credit, you didnt allow us to settle. We are disappointed, we have never travelled particularly well, but still hopeful of keeping on track.  We will need to be better than today though if we are going be any real threat.
Post by: bannside on February 20, 2020, 09:39:46 PM
Big weekend ahead as we hit Round 4. Wicklows five point victory at home to Sligo shows they are not a soft touch and everyone looks capable of taking points on any given day. Still a lot of football to be played!
Post by: sligoman2 on February 20, 2020, 11:16:09 PM
I agree Bannside.  We made our first of 3 trips to the sunny east/southeast and came away with nothing.  It's wide open.  Sligo making far too many silly mistakes, bad passes, silly fouls Etc.  However we are a very young team and I have no doubt we will get smarter and better.  We need a w against Waterford on Saturday or we are doomed.  Still hopeful however, and he are also in the thick of it.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 22, 2020, 03:38:23 PM
A shock win for Waterford in Markievicz Park. FT Sligo 0-16 Waterford 2-12.
Post by: bannside on February 22, 2020, 03:39:34 PM
Some result for Waterford. This is a tight division alright.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 22, 2020, 06:58:24 PM
Nothing to see here, move along :'(
Post by: sligoman2 on February 22, 2020, 08:15:10 PM
Words fail me.  An all time low for us imo.
Fair play to Waterford.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2020, 08:58:26 AM
Had to look twice on hoganstand at the Sligo result. Are things that bad?
Post by: Itchy on February 23, 2020, 10:05:55 AM
It's not that long ago that waterford came up to breffni and beat cavan and in so doing stopped our promotion to Div 1b. Caused havoc in the county, manager left etc. Taylor has a job on his hands now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 23, 2020, 10:18:57 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 23, 2020, 10:05:55 AM
It's not that long ago that waterford came up to breffni and beat cavan and in so doing stopped our promotion to Div 1b. Caused havoc in the county, manager left etc. Taylor has a job on his hands now.

A bit of a mystery that he's got to manage Sligo again this year after 10 defeats in a row.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 24, 2020, 07:56:56 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2020, 08:58:26 AM

It's impossible to understand the difference in performance levels between the Antrim game a few weeks ago and Saturday v Waterford.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 24, 2020, 02:29:36 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 23, 2020, 08:58:26 AM

Yes!

Post by: Blowitupref on February 29, 2020, 02:40:54 PM
Result London 2-10 Wicklow 5-9

Half time Wexford 0-6 Sligo 2-2.  Sligo have the strong wind 2nd half.

Full time Wexford 1-9 Sligo: 2-7 Sligo hang on after Ben Brosnan injury time goal.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 29, 2020, 11:35:24 PM
Well we are back in the hunt . Good recovery from the disaster last week.  Big game v Carlow on the horizon. This might come down to scoring diffs.
Post by: bannside on March 01, 2020, 07:28:51 AM
Sligo supporters on some rollercoaster ride this year...talk about ups and downs! You need Limerick to keep winning including against us today to set up a race for second place.

Ah sod it, just too many permutations exactly right now....at least 5 runners still mathematically in this steeplechase! Better idea at 3.30pm today!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 01, 2020, 10:11:22 AM
If Antrim were to beat Limerick today it pulls them right back into the mix and keeps Antrim in it. Limerick have Wexford at home and us away in their last two games. Wicklow have to go to Wexford also. Fierce proud of our lads yesterday. Massive one coming up in Carlow.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2020, 03:24:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 01, 2020, 10:11:22 AM
If Antrim were to beat Limerick today it pulls them right back into the mix and keeps Antrim in it. Limerick have Wexford at home and us away in their last two games. Wicklow have to go to Wexford also. Fierce proud of our lads yesterday. Massive one coming up in Carlow.

we are currently 7 up on a Limerick at the minute
Post by: Gold on March 01, 2020, 05:15:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2020, 03:24:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 01, 2020, 10:11:22 AM

we are currently 7 up on a Limerick at the minute

Buzzing!!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 01, 2020, 05:55:24 PM
Cat well and truly amongst the pigeons now! I think there are 5 teams who will get promoted of they win their last two games! And no-one who will be sure of going up with only one more win!

What a great competition the league is.....we simply have to move it to the summer to give every county a serious number of meaningful games at the best time of the year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 01, 2020, 06:50:45 PM
I just looked at the table and did 6 different group permutations from most likely to less. If Sligo win our last 2 games we would all but be promoted.

The main reason is that we all have to play each other and both can't win and draws aren't good enough. I think Antrim are most likely to go up, on 7 pts with Wicklow away and Waterford at home. They should finish on 11pts.

I think Limerick and ourselves finish on 10 pts and we go up on the better head to head.

There is not much chance of any 3-way ties so I don't think score difference will matter but Limerick are 6pts worse than us at the minute.

The head to head win on Wexford could be huge if they win the last 2 matches.

We are better off if Antrim wins both matches because drawing one does bring them to 10 and that could create a 3-way tie with Wexford who have 8pts better score difference.

So basically forget about all this just focus on ourselves, look forward, bring the right attitude and win both games and we have a very very good chance.

But yep it is anyone's. Sligo v Limerick could be winner takes all.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 01, 2020, 09:56:34 PM
At this stage we just have to put all focus into the Carlow game on March 14th. There will be more twists and turns over the last two rounds.
Post by: Gold on March 02, 2020, 12:35:03 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 01, 2020, 06:50:45 PM
I just looked at the table and did 6 different group permutations from most likely to less. If Sligo win our last 2 games we would all but be promoted.

The main reason is that we all have to play each other and both can't win and draws aren't good enough. I think Antrim are most likely to go up, on 7 pts with Wicklow away and Waterford at home. They should finish on 11pts.

I think Limerick and ourselves finish on 10 pts and we go up on the better head to head.

There is not much chance of any 3-way ties so I don't think score difference will matter but Limerick are 6pts worse than us at the minute.

We are better off if Antrim wins both matches because drawing one does bring them to 10 and that could create a 3-way tie with Wexford who have 8pts better score difference.

So basically forget about all this just focus on ourselves, look forward, bring the right attitude and win both games and we have a very very good chance.

Honestly do not count on us winning our last 2. I remember in 08 we only had to win 1 of our last 2 v Waterford and Tipp i think it was to go up....put it this way, we didnt go up!

Great win for us v Limerick though after a poor start....great to have hope and a spring in our step again

As you said though, what a great comp the league is.....look at the Dubs: drawing with monaghan, beating Donegal by a point and then just beaten by Tyrone....all good games for players and fans but unfortunately played in bogs and storms. Basically at this time of year Football is a different sport.. "dont bounce the ball!!" Is roared time and again.

So what do we do? When our sport is potentially beautiful on dry sod we start the championship. Dublin play Louth or Longford etc and hockey them by 25 points, shite for players and fans. They then sit idle and wait a full month and then play Carlow etc, hockey them by 30. It has to stop. No one would pay to see Tyson Fury beat up a 14year old boy....so why do we persist with it? Same in all provinces bar the odd cracker up here.

We should scrap the league and championship as 2 seperate competitions and try this 1 competition:

Tier 1 with 16 teams, 2 groups of 8 should be played End May to end July. Top 2 in each group  go into all ireland semi finals. Semis and final played in August. Same with a Tier 2.

Bottom in both Tier 1 groups automatically relegated to tier 2 next year. 2nd bottom in each play off against losing tier 2 semi finalists (finalists from tier 2 both promoted authomatically)

Club football can start mid to end March and run for 2 months with county players and league continue without them through inter county championship. Club championship commence end july/start August (if county out of championship/relegation playoff) or end August if county does well (maybe 1st round at start May)

Appreciate be some dead rubbers if teams dont win 1st few, especially in Tier 2....but defo better than the product we have now

Potentially reduce county season to 7 matches or 9 if you play in Tier 1 or 2 final (better than for example the dubs strolling the o byrne cup, playing in hailstones and bogs in the league then dead rubbers v louth etc before the real championship starts 2 months later)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 02, 2020, 08:18:50 AM
There's no need to invent structures - the proposals are there and will be voted on in a special congress later in the year. Get into your clubs....get on to your county board reps....and get this change in. For us in division 3/4 especially, it's essential to get more games in summer to promote gaelic football in our counties. Players really want it too. The amount of training they do to play 2 games in summer is a joke.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 02, 2020, 12:00:30 PM
Quote from: Gold on March 02, 2020, 12:35:03 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 01, 2020, 06:50:45 PM

Honestly do not count on us winning our last 2. I remember in 08 we only had to win 1 of our last 2 v Waterford and Tipp i think it was to go up....put it this way, we didnt go up!

Great win for us v Limerick though after a poor start....great to have hope and a spring in our step again

As you said though, what a great comp the league is.....look at the Dubs: drawing with monaghan, beating Donegal by a point and then just beaten by Tyrone....all good games for players and fans but unfortunately played in bogs and storms. Basically at this time of year Football is a different sport.. "dont bounce the ball!!" Is roared time and again.

So what do we do? When our sport is potentially beautiful on dry sod we start the championship. Dublin play Louth or Longford etc and hockey them by 25 points, shite for players and fans. They then sit idle and wait a full month and then play Carlow etc, hockey them by 30. It has to stop. No one would pay to see Tyson Fury beat up a 14year old boy....so why do we persist with it? Same in all provinces bar the odd cracker up here.

We should scrap the league and championship as 2 seperate competitions and try this 1 competition:

Tier 1 with 16 teams, 2 groups of 8 should be played End May to end July. Top 2 in each group  go into all ireland semi finals. Semis and final played in August. Same with a Tier 2.

Bottom in both Tier 1 groups automatically relegated to tier 2 next year. 2nd bottom in each play off against losing tier 2 semi finalists (finalists from tier 2 both promoted authomatically)

Club football can start mid to end March and run for 2 months with county players and league continue without them through inter county championship. Club championship commence end july/start August (if county out of championship/relegation playoff) or end August if county does well (maybe 1st round at start May)

Appreciate be some dead rubbers if teams dont win 1st few, especially in Tier 2....but defo better than the product we have now

Potentially reduce county season to 7 matches or 9 if you play in Tier 1 or 2 final (better than for example the dubs strolling the o byrne cup, playing in hailstones and bogs in the league then dead rubbers v louth etc before the real championship starts 2 months later)

I think the majority of us agree that the best format competition the GAA have at county level is the NFL. It's the tier level competition already in place and the objective should be trying to make the NFL more popular and important.

The idea of flipping the season on its head of playing the championship in the spring and NFL in the summer could be a possible solution but I can't see those in congress voting on that.
Post by: Rossfan on March 02, 2020, 12:59:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 02, 2020, 08:18:50 AM
There's no need to invent structures - the proposals are there and will be voted on in a special congress later in the year. Get into your clubs....get on to your county board reps....and get this change in. For us in division 3/4 especially, it's essential to get more games in summer to promote gaelic football in our counties. Players really want it too. The amount of training they do to play 2 games in summer is a joke.
Agree 100% ( I know....this will have to stop :D).
Only tweak I'd make would be to keep the Provincials as knock out with rounds interspersed with the League Rounds. Needs 11 weekends.
Also let Provincial Champions into the AI series.
Playing 75% of Inter County games in 9 weeks in Jan/Feb/March is madness.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 02, 2020, 06:16:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 02, 2020, 12:59:25 PM
Only tweak I'd make would be to keep the Provincials as knock out with rounds interspersed with the League Rounds. Needs 11 weekends.

Post by: twohands!!! on March 02, 2020, 06:41:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 02, 2020, 12:59:25 PM

This year in the league 148 games will be played over 10 weeks from January to March.

This year in the provincial championships 29 games will be played over 8 weekends from May to June.
Post by: sligoman2 on March 02, 2020, 07:45:22 PM
Isn't it funny how we all sing the praises of the league system that is designed to have teams of similar skill/quality play against each other, yet there is outrage when a similar proposal is made for the championship (tier2). 
Anyway all to play for now in this division, very interesting at this point.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 02, 2020, 08:23:54 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 02, 2020, 07:45:22 PM
Isn't it funny how we all sing the praises of the league system that is designed to have teams of similar skill/quality play against each other, yet there is outrage when a similar proposal is made for the championship (tier2). 
Anyway all to play for now in this division, very interesting at this point.

Was going to post the exact same thing, hi-ho there ya go.

Teams in Div 4 still feel they have a right to win an All Ireland, nonsense really but, the feeling of getting a run in the championship, get to a Pro Final and see what the draw gives you after that, even Antrim managed a final a few years ago and managed to give the mighty Kerry a run for their money in the qualifiers
Post by: bannside on March 11, 2020, 10:05:12 PM
This is one tight league. 5 teams still in it with chances of promotion. Theres Waterford down near the bottom but still with a pts difference of just minus ten, an average loss of just two points a game. Theres no whipping boys in this league this year, everyone capable of a result on any day.

I'm looking forward to our game with Wicklow on Sunday, the picture will all be a bit clearer by Sunday evening. I wouldn't rule out a draw or two this weekend either just to thicken the plot!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2020, 02:01:35 PM
Quote from: bannside on March 11, 2020, 10:05:12 PM
This is one tight league. 5 teams still in it with chances of promotion. Theres Waterford down near the bottom but still with a pts difference of just minus ten, an average loss of just two points a game. Theres no whipping boys in this league this year, everyone capable of a result on any day.

I'm looking forward to our game with Wicklow on Sunday, the picture will all be a bit clearer by Sunday evening. I wouldn't rule out a draw or two this weekend either just to thicken the plot!

Might not get finished now.  :-[
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 13, 2020, 09:36:25 AM
Hopefully Sligo will mind Peter Naughton if as rumoured he is training with them now.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 13, 2020, 10:00:30 AM
Good Castleconnor blood!
Post by: sligoman2 on October 15, 2020, 03:19:04 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 13, 2020, 10:00:30 AM
Good Castleconnor blood!
Can anyone confirm whether or not he has joined the panel?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 15, 2020, 09:21:31 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 15, 2020, 03:19:04 PM
Good Castleconnor blood!
Can anyone confirm whether or not he has joined the panel?

I believe he has.
Post by: Crete Boom on October 15, 2020, 10:07:49 PM
Good Castleconnor blood!

Which part of Castleconnor though, the good(Mayo) part or the bad (Sligo) part??  ;D
Good pickup for Sligo, he was quality any time I saw him play for Knockmore. Very skillful, two footed and always seem to do the basics perfectly as well the skilful stuff.
Post by: bannside on October 16, 2020, 08:42:06 PM
We will all be a bit wiser about this division this weekend. Our game away to Wicklow is a huge game for us, there is never much between us. It will come down to who wants it the most, both teams will feel that promotion is in their grasp if they grab 2 points in this fixture.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 16, 2020, 08:48:25 PM
Huge weekend in this division. Permutations are almost endless....
Post by: sligoman2 on October 16, 2020, 10:36:10 PM
I agree Magpie,  I'm delighted that Sligo v Carlow is on GAAGO tomorrow...
Post by: Cunny Funt on October 16, 2020, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on October 16, 2020, 10:36:10 PM
I agree Magpie,  I'm delighted that Sligo v Carlow is on GAAGO tomorrow...

It good whatever the division that people can watch their county in action, hopefully after the virus is gone that the streaming service remains in place.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 17, 2020, 04:04:30 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1017/1172166-rampant-wicklow-rout-antrim-to-boost-promotion-hopes/
Post by: macdanger2 on October 17, 2020, 10:18:02 PM
No gametime for Naughton today for the neighbours??
Post by: magpie seanie on October 22, 2020, 10:09:25 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1022/1173131-waterford-concede-league-game-against-antrim/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1022/1173131-waterford-concede-league-game-against-antrim/)

Very poor from Waterford in my opinion.
Post by: Estimator on October 22, 2020, 10:26:02 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 22, 2020, 10:09:25 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1022/1173131-waterford-concede-league-game-against-antrim/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1022/1173131-waterford-concede-league-game-against-antrim/)

Definitely. The statement is embarrassing to all involved. People in Waterford are under tighter restrictions than people in Antrim. I'd like to know the list of employers requiring a 14 day self-isolation for players and management returning Antrim, and where to find a legislation for this.
Post by: bannside on October 22, 2020, 10:41:35 AM
They were having a dig about Ballymena which is in the borough council of Mid and East Antrim, which ironically is the best performing NI council area in terms of positive Covid Cases. The statement is a waffle, ok Waterford, save the €6k costs of travel and overnight stay, but just come right out and and say that. Your statement is against the spirit of the competition and if every underdog took that approach then we might as well scrap all games. Antrim endured the same risk last weekend away in Aughrim, and other counties are doing the same.
Post by: Taylor on October 22, 2020, 11:07:13 AM
Saving the money for the hurlers no doubt
Post by: magpie seanie on October 22, 2020, 11:45:34 AM
It wasn't going to happen for us most probably but Waterford aren't mugs and Antrim must have been shocking last weekend. A lot of counties still in contention getting screwed by this.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 22, 2020, 09:49:46 PM
Antrim have offered to play it in Dundalk now.
Post by: bannside on October 22, 2020, 10:09:06 PM
Ball back in Waterford court. Antrim offering to play it in Dundalk, no overnight stay needed, in fact Waterford dont even have to even set foot in that other country.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2020, 10:19:01 PM
I'd have taken it to Ballycastle!
Post by: magpie seanie on October 22, 2020, 10:26:53 PM
Fair play to Antrim.
Post by: general_lee on October 22, 2020, 10:56:47 PM
Fair play to Antrim hope they stuff Waterford! Absolutely shocking from them
Post by: imtommygunn on October 23, 2020, 08:44:33 AM
Game happening at 2 p.m. saturday now.

Have to say this is horrendous from waterford. I hope we hammer them now >:( (Though with the way we played last weekend I wouldn't be so sure!!)
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 23, 2020, 08:50:19 AM
Best of luck to Antrim. Shocking statement from the Déise. It might be the thing to spur Antrim on to win.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2020, 09:34:04 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 23, 2020, 08:44:33 AM
Game happening at 2 p.m. saturday now.

Have to say this is horrendous from waterford. I hope we hammer them now >:( (Though with the way we played last weekend I wouldn't be so sure!!)

Jesus.... I hope we play better, the win would be nice but a 100% improvement from last week, hopefully the lads will put that game behind them and move on
Post by: Lazer on October 23, 2020, 10:38:39 AM
Quote from: Estimator on October 22, 2020, 10:26:02 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 22, 2020, 10:09:25 AM

Definitely. The statement is embarrassing to all involved. People in Waterford are under tighter restrictions than people in Antrim. I'd like to know the list of employers requiring a 14 day self-isolation for players and management returning Antrim, and where to find a legislation for this.

Its legal - as long as they pay them when they are off -otherwise illegal - can't realistically control what poeple do outside of work, if there is no legal requirement to self isolate, then if your employer insists on it, they have to pay you (or request you take annual leave - but they need to give appropriate notice for this)

Its completely disgraceful that Waterford and Leitrim were refusing to play their games in the North! Refusing to play is one thing, refusing to play simply because the game is in the North is another..and both have mentioned employers requiring staff to isolate - like you i would love to know who these employers are!
Post by: Angelo on October 23, 2020, 10:43:00 AM
I don't buy the employer line.

What line of industry are these employers in?
Post by: square_ball on October 23, 2020, 10:51:13 AM
Quote from: Angelo on October 23, 2020, 10:43:00 AM

I don't buy it either. They probably seen Leitrim use it as an excuse about crossing the border last week and getting away without much criticism so thought that was the line to go with. Embarrassing statement.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 23, 2020, 12:12:34 PM
The whole thing with this is lack of communication and understanding. The guidelines are designed in such a way that no one ends up being a close contact due to intercounty GAA participation. If they're followed that's the case. The employer thing might have some but it's just wrong. Everybody's first instinct is to panic which is somewhat understandable. Glad that game is going ahead anyway......a 1% chance is better than 0% anyway!
Post by: imtommygunn on October 23, 2020, 12:16:37 PM
Antrim have had to give up home advantage in a camogie match at the weekend too. Pathetic.
Post by: Rossfan on October 23, 2020, 12:25:05 PM
Fair play to Antrim for agreeing to go to Dundalk for the game.
Post by: Blowitupref on October 23, 2020, 12:38:32 PM
Quote from: square_ball on October 23, 2020, 10:51:13 AM
Quote from: Angelo on October 23, 2020, 10:43:00 AM

I don't buy it either. They probably seen Leitrim use it as an excuse about crossing the border last week and getting away without much criticism so thought that was the line to go with. Embarrassing statement.

Leitrims main excuse was they had covid issues, rapid testing done has found another two positive cases and players that were deemed close contacts are not anymore they claim. Waterford simply didn't want to travel to Antrim.
Post by: armaghniac on October 23, 2020, 12:42:06 PM
Counties making up requirements that don't exist needs to be clamped down on, otherwise we will have chaos.
A neutral venue has merit where long journeys are required in the present situation, but it has to be same rule for everyone.
Post by: Taylor on October 23, 2020, 12:45:24 PM
The Ulster Cship will be fun.
What if a game for Mon/Cav winners or Donegal games (if they win) is scheduled for the North.

Are we now saying they can refuse to cross the border
Post by: johnnycool on October 23, 2020, 12:54:34 PM
Quote from: Taylor on October 23, 2020, 12:45:24 PM
What if a game for Mon/Cav winners or Donegal games (if they win) is scheduled for the North.

Not being an expert on this Tier 5 in the South but is there anything about quarantining for 14 days if someone goes to the black North or are Waterford making that one up?
Post by: Godsown on October 23, 2020, 01:52:09 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 23, 2020, 12:54:34 PM

Not being an expert on this Tier 5 in the South but is there anything about quarantining for 14 days if someone goes to the black North or are Waterford making that one up?

Absolute bullshit
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2020, 02:08:13 PM
They've opened a door on this and Dublin will run with it.. they canny leave the confines of Croke, they'll block book the Croke Park hotel and quarantine there for the championship, all games will be played there!!

In the real world would Waterford have done the same? if boot was on the other foot?  Like I said, I'd have moved the game to Ballycastle and left it at that
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 23, 2020, 02:30:06 PM

Making it up.
Post by: johnnycool on October 23, 2020, 02:33:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 23, 2020, 02:30:06 PM

Making it up.

Antrim should have told them and Croke Park to fúck right off then
Post by: Taylor on October 23, 2020, 05:28:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 23, 2020, 02:38:30 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 23, 2020, 02:33:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 23, 2020, 02:30:06 PM

Making it up.

Antrim should have told them and Croke Park to fúck right off then
Antrim didn't have to play. Waterford conceded the game because they didn't want to play. Antrim decided to move the game to back Waterford into a corner, calling their bluff and being a general nuisance to them.

That's what I'm reading from it anyway.

And they are dead right for doing so
Post by: bannside on October 23, 2020, 06:06:39 PM
Antrim footballers knew that the points had been conceded, but had a meeting and decided that whatever small chance there still remains of being promoted (still need three variables to happen) they wanted to do it on the pitch. That, plus its an opportunity to put last weeks woeful display behind them.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2020, 11:20:27 AM
Fair play to Westmeath coming over the 'border' and putting their lives on the line to play Antrim. Big thank you to their employers for allowing them to have two weeks off after the game!
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 12:35:42 PM
I see according to the Irish News "many Gaels are angered" because Waterford said "Northern Ireland " instead of the "6 Counties".
Will these "Gaels" refuse to accept money from the Northern Ireland Executive and the Dept of Sport NI?
Have those "Gaels" heard of the Good Friday Agreement and its acceptance by a huge majority of the Irish people?
Post by: armaghniac on October 26, 2020, 12:38:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 12:35:42 PM
I see according to the Irish News "many Gaels are angered" because Waterford said "Northern Ireland " instead of the "6 Counties".
Will these "Gaels" refuse to accept money from the Northern Ireland Executive and the Dept of Sport NI?
Have those "Gaels" heard of the Good Friday Agreement and its acceptance by a huge majority of the Irish people?

They has no business referring to either NI or the 6 counties, which has nothing to do with their game. What you call it is neither here nor there.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 26, 2020, 01:54:05 PM

What a clown
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 26, 2020, 01:56:41 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on October 26, 2020, 01:54:05 PM

What a clown
A special breed.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 02:01:53 PM

I know its difficult to accept that the north of Ireland is part of Ireland when you left it behind and turned your back on it so many years ago. With Irishmen like you about we'll never become a United country.

As for Waterford and their statement, its plain to see how their CB looks at the North, on another note, Westmeath never made a complaint and managed to find their way to the second city and play, We'll be in Carlow next week, with no complaints either
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:15:23 PM
So someone (not me I usually refer to the 6 Counties) says "Northern Ireland"  they somehow think it's not part of Ireland??

Then the likes of trueblue and duffleking come ploughing into the fray.
If some "Gaels" are so sensitive to Waterford using the official name of the 6 Counties I presume they wouldnt sully themselves by touching any money coming from the "NI Executive" or the "Dept of Sport NI".
They'd also want to get rid of that Ulster Council of the GAA who were issuing statements mentioning the 2 jurisdictions and different restrictions etc.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 02:25:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:15:23 PM
So someone (not me I usually refer to the 6 Counties) says "Northern Ireland"  they somehow think it's not part of Ireland??

If some "Gaels" are so sensitive to Waterford using the official name of the 6 Counties I presume they wouldnt sully themselves by touching any money coming from the "NI Executive" or the "Dept of Sport NI".
They'd also want to get rid of that Ulster Council of the GAA who were issuing statements mentioning the 2 jurisdictions and different restrictions etc.

Stop talking shite and stick to the topic..

Stop bringing in nonsense to try and suit your post and ideas...
Post by: magpie seanie on October 26, 2020, 02:43:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:15:23 PM

How do you refer to the city John Hume was from?
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:58:12 PM
Derry or Doire Colmcille.

I have a problem with hypocritical extremists though.

Post by: trueblue1234 on October 26, 2020, 03:12:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:58:12 PM

Do you think people in the North should be calling it Londonderry?
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 04:29:54 PM
They can call it whatever they want as long as they don't think they have a right to tell me what to call it.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 26, 2020, 04:55:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 02:58:12 PM

I'm not sure that's the official name though so why do you make and exception given your earlier position on "Northern Ireland"?
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 05:12:01 PM
I call the place the 6 Cos usually.
I was making an issue of "some Gaels" being annoyed by Waterford CB saying "Northern Ireland".
Poor Sean Cavanagh got abuse earlier in the tear for saying "Northern Ireland", some of it ironically from a Member if the Beitish Parliament.
By the way there were 2 advertising signs behind the goals in Healy Park, Omagh with "www.tyrone.co.uk" on them
Hope those "Gaels" dont find out.
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 06:02:24 PM
You're right....he said an even worse phrase....

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/reaction-to-se%25C3%25A1n-cavanagh-remark-is-nothing-short-of-bizarre-1.4251911%3fmode=amp
Post by: marty34 on October 26, 2020, 07:47:39 PM

We've had this discussion before.

As already stated, there are loads of northern 'gaels' who use the term ni...muppets the lot of them.  Then when they got pulled up on it they got all defensive.  No better to me then the west brits of the 26 counties.

Very disappointed that Waterford GAA used the term, and rightly so, they got a serious slating for it.  Unfortunately, that the way a lot of people in the 26 counties think of the 6 counties.  For them Ireland stops at Louth right around to Donegal.  They, from history, might have an excuse, but the so called 'nationalists' in the north who use that phrase have no excuse.

By the way, fair play to Westmeath - they came to Antrim with no hassle.
Post by: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 08:10:50 PM
Maybe ye could impose a 12 month ban on any GAA people saying "Northern Ireland".
Maybe force them to go through a re education process before they can renew membership.
We have to keep GAA people pure and untainted.

In the meantime ye need to get rid of those ads from Healy Park.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 08:17:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 26, 2020, 08:10:50 PM
Maybe ye could impose a 12 month ban on any GAA people saying "Northern Ireland".
Maybe force them to go through a re education process before they can renew membership.
We have to keep GAA people pure and untainted.

In the meantime ye need to get rid of those ads from Healy Park.
[/quote

Deal with what Waterford county board did first, then we can talk about Healy Park