TV Show recommendations

Started by Archie Mitchell, June 23, 2009, 11:32:19 PM

Finished Season 2 of Mr. Mercedes.

Jesus - Gleeson is in top form here. Love they way the character was written as Irish so that Gleeson could slip into the vernacular at time, especially when swearing.

Some fine acting all through but Gleeson and the chap who plays the villain, Harry Threadaway, are in a class of their own.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 06, 2018, 09:39:10 AM

Jesus - Gleeson is in top form here. Love they way the character was written as Irish so that Gleeson could slip into the vernacular at time, especially when swearing.

Some fine acting all through but Gleeson and the chap who plays the villain, Harry Threadaway, are in a class of their own.

I like it too; it's the only thing in the house that all of us will watch. 

Quote from: Billys Boots on November 06, 2018, 01:13:23 PM

is it on netflix?

Frank_The_Tank

Rewatching Love/Hate at the minute - it is quality stuff from RTE.  The missus had never seen it so I suggested it after we watched Power on Netflix.  Just on too Season 2 last night - forgot how funny old Franno is... ;D

On a side note on train in to work this morning over heard few uni students chatting about watching Friends for first time - getting old  :'(
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

HiMucker

Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on November 06, 2018, 02:26:42 PM
Rewatching Love/Hate at the minute - it is quality stuff from RTE.  The missus had never seen it so I suggested it after we watched Power on Netflix.  Just on too Season 2 last night - forgot how funny old Franno is... ;D

On a side note on train in to work this morning over heard few uni students chatting about watching Friends for first time - getting old  :'(
Where can you get Love Hate to watch? I haven't seen this or Gomorrah on any of the apps I have like Cartoon Hd, and they are both on list to watch.

Frank_The_Tank

Quote from: HiMucker on November 06, 2018, 02:38:30 PM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on November 06, 2018, 02:26:42 PM

Where can you get Love Hate to watch? I haven't seen this or Gomorrah on any of the apps I have like Cartoon Hd, and they are both on list to watch.

should have stated - paid for it on Amazon Video App on the smart TV and stream it then - 5 quid for season 1 and 6 quid for season 2 - not sure what prices are for remaining seasons.  Could have prob found it to stream for free on the laptop or downloaded it but couldnt be bothered with the hassle - not a massive amount of money in grand scheme of things - price of a few pints for the 2 seasons Ive bought so far
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on November 06, 2018, 02:22:04 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 06, 2018, 01:13:23 PM

is it on netflix?

Not that I am aware of. Season 2 being shown on RTE at the moment but I saw it all from my, eh, dodgybox.

MoChara

Watched the latest walking dead there yesterday, some shift at the end. Funny when they did the in the next 3 episodes blurb they put up reviews and one of them was "The Walking Dead back to its best" they must of realised it'd gone to shite lol

mrdeeds

Quote from: MoChara on November 07, 2018, 03:54:52 PM
Watched the latest walking dead there yesterday, some shift at the end. Funny when they did the in the next 3 episodes blurb they put up reviews and one of them was "The Walking Dead back to its best" they must of realised it'd gone to shite lol

Think this season is good. Rick's ending should have being different though.

MoChara

Quote from: mrdeeds on November 07, 2018, 05:07:20 PM

All that delirium state stuff made little sense to me, especially when his own wife or son didn't pop in for a chat lol

Quote from: MoChara on November 08, 2018, 06:52:54 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on November 07, 2018, 05:07:20 PM

All that delirium state stuff made little sense to me, especially when his own wife or son didn't pop in for a chat lol

True.  Don't think Rick ever spoke to Sasha when she was alive either.

Ok so I'm a few years behind. Have 4 series of Breaking Bad on dvd. Currently in series 2, but sweet jaysus, it's an absolute chore to sit through. Im finding it so slow and bland. I'm really resisting the urge to fling it into the back of the fire, but I keep at it hoping it becomes this great show everyone has talked about

Am I the only one who thinks this?

Quote from: BennyCake on November 14, 2018, 11:10:12 AM
Ok so I'm a few years behind. Have 4 series of Breaking Bad on dvd. Currently in series 2, but sweet jaysus, it's an absolute chore to sit through. Im finding it so slow and bland. I'm really resisting the urge to fling it into the back of the fire, but I keep at it hoping it becomes this great show everyone has talked about

Funny, I took 2 or 3 goes at it before I got hooked and then couldn't get enough of it. Although I think if I was in the 2nd season and still not enjoying it I think I'd have given up  ;D

Ethan Tremblay

Persevere with it BennyCake, I was similar at the beginning watching it, but although it's the type of show they don't make anymore.  I've finally gotten around to Better Call Saul and find it to be stacks better IMO. 

Also finished off the sinner season 2, very good watching for a weekend binge. 
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

tyrone girl

Quote from: BennyCake on November 14, 2018, 11:10:12 AM

I found it the same. I kept trying to stick with it as everyone raved about the deadly show it was. It was feeling like a chore to get through it so i think halfway through season 3 we just left it and watched no more.