Galway GAA-Qualifier Draws

Started by Duine Eile, March 05, 2007, 09:50:53 PM

MaroonAndWhite

I made it to the double-headers in Tuam on Sat evening and on Sunday evening. All four matches were poor enough.....granted the weather didnt help with a gale on Sunday and a very wet Saturday evening. One thing i noted in two of the four games - the pure diabolical nature of the umpiring! Whats the use of having umpires if they are unwilling to make a call? Killererin twice yesterday evening came on the wrong end of umpiring decisions....once from Nicky Joyces miss of the season (seriously, ya wouldnt believe it if ya saw it!) and again from an Annaghdown "wide" which was given as a point. The ref (Nally from Galway) left the players on the pitch for 3/4 mins before starting the second half and was tripe apart from that! He was bad for both teams though. No complaints, Annaghdown were way better - hadnt as much ball but used it very well when they got it. Killererin lads didnt know where they were going or what they were at....dunno what the game plan was but if you're a point down with 2/3 mins to go im not convinced left half back is where the bould Nicky should be loitering! They spent their time mouthing at the manager and each other. Worst Ive ever seen from a Killererin team.

Duine Eile

No Duine Eile was far from a happy bunny this morning, more of a raging lunatic!Where the hell was that stupid bollocks of an umpire lookin, we could even see it was a point from behind the town goal and that wasn't even the first point signaled wide when it was actually over, the goal Nicky missed ended up over the bar and was waved wide even though the umpire gave the nod to put up the flag he changed his mind and said it was wide and an Annaghdown wide was given as a point! I'd love to know where they find these geniuses. >:( That said we had ourselves nearly beaten. We were f*****g diabolical. Declan Kelly at no.2 and Tom Hughes and Micheal Keane at mid field were about the only ones to come out of the game with their heads held high. We dominated mid field but no matter what we did we couldn't score in the first half. It wasn't Annaghdown that beat us, we beat ourselves. (With the help of the unpires of course.) Padraic had an unusually bad game, hardly ever has a bad club game, Nicky had about 5 players on him whenever he got a sniff of the ball so where were the lads to help him when he got into trouble?That said, he didn't exactly wear himself out trying to get the ball and what the hell was he at that he missed that open goal, it would have been easier score it than what he did with it. Like I said the only positives from the game was the performance of our midfield, Hughes in particular, caught an awful amount of ball. Besides that,they were like a team playing together for the first time. They looked fit but that's feck all good to them if they don't know where they're supposed to be playing or who they're marking. Absolutely brutal!Anyway, back door draw on tonight, unfamiliar territory for us, never been in this situation before. It's about ten years since we were beaten in a first round match.

PadraicHenryPearse

was at the Salthill match on sunday, they looked good. didn't win enough clean or breaking ball in midfield but backs were very stong although they gave away to many scoreable frees. taxi from dublin to galway at 12 staurday night €280 Sathill match €10 getting back to my bed in dublin after weekend of madness priceless.

GalwaySham

QuoteNo Duine Eile was far from a happy bunny this morning, more of a raging lunatic!Where the hell was that stupid bollocks of an umpire lookin, we could even see it was a point from behind the town goal and that wasn't even the first point signaled wide when it was actually over, the goal Nicky missed ended up over the bar and was waved wide even though the umpire gave the nod to put up the flag he changed his mind and said it was wide and an Annaghdown wide was given as a point! I'd love to know where they find these geniuses.  That said we had ourselves nearly beaten. We were f*****g diabolical. Declan Kelly at no.2 and Tom Hughes and Micheal Keane at mid field were about the only ones to come out of the game with their heads held high. We dominated mid field but no matter what we did we couldn't score in the first half. It wasn't Annaghdown that beat us, we beat ourselves. (With the help of the unpires of course.) Padraic had an unusually bad game, hardly ever has a bad club game, Nicky had about 5 players on him whenever he got a sniff of the ball so where were the lads to help him when he got into trouble?That said, he didn't exactly wear himself out trying to get the ball and what the hell was he at that he missed that open goal, it would have been easier score it than what he did with it. Like I said the only positives from the game was the performance of our midfield, Hughes in particular, caught an awful amount of ball. Besides that,they were like a team playing together for the first time. They looked fit but that's feck all good to them if they don't know where they're supposed to be playing or who they're marking. Absolutely brutal!Anyway, back door draw on tonight, unfamiliar territory for us, never been in this situation before. It's about ten years since we were beaten in a first round match.

In fairness, there was an incident in the second half though where Annaghdown had the ball near their own goal, were coming out of defence, under no pressure, starting to build and the ref blew as there were a couple of players injured in the middle of the field. Match resumed with a hop ball down near the Annaghdown goal and Kilererin scored a point from it. I thought that was very harsh on Annaghdown and evened the point that wasnt.

Duine Eile

Senior Draw:

An Cheathru Rua v Barna

Micheal Breathnach v Killanin

Tuam Stars/Claregalway v Dunmore McHales

Caherlistrane v Menlough

Kilkerrin-Clonberne/ St.Brendan's v NUIG

Killererin get a bye to the next round.......woohoo! (the extra game could have done them good but sure what harm)

Intermediate:

Winners Group:
Corofin v Oranmore-Maree

Carna-Caiseal v Litir Mór

Clonbur v Monivea-Abbey

Kilconly v Moycullen

Losers Section:

Williamstown v Clifden

St.Michaels v An Spideal

St.James v Headford

Duine Eile

Senior Championship Replays: Bank Holiday Monday: