Quote from: seafoid on January 18, 2022, 08:20:29 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 08:13:01 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 17, 2022, 11:05:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 17, 2022, 09:42:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 17, 2022, 07:18:19 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 17, 2022, 03:45:21 PM
Has Allison Morris weighed in yet? She reckons the weather is misogynistic

Can't stand her. Hate the world.

Good rest that poor girl and her family.

Hey, easy on. She was physically abused by her ex-husband.

I think she is doing a grand job standing up for catholics in the protestant Belfast Telegraph.

Miserable dose of a woman, not a professional at all, we all have been abused in some way sometime in our lives but her hatred of men is blinding her to everything else

If Allison Morris is the issue then we are really up shít creek. I've seen her article and it's based on indisputable facts around abuse levelled towards women.

I think we should deal with that before worrying about the miniscule amounts of cry wolf events in comparison to the real events.

And she's right that education on this should be addressed at school as it can't be left to the parents in a lot of instances...

Think about the top shaggers and have a look at the likes of Jeff Anderson and then come back to what Allison Morris is talking about.
Violence against women is a structural problem that needs a coherent  Govt response. Nothing to do with Allison Morris.

Surely a lot of this comes back to community policing. I cannot remember the last time I saw a guard on the street walking in my local town or the nearby town of 10k where we all go to socialise etc. A few guards spinning around in cars is all you ever see.

I'm no expert but I'd say misogyny is a learned trait from home, on the lesser, menial end of the scale, the girls were required to do all the house work when the boys were lying up on their arses to the higher end of the scale where the mother took a bit of a thump from the father and some more and evidently this would have a lasting effect on all children in normalising this and taking it into their own adult relationships.

Same sex school a big issue, wouldnt have any of my wains at one

Jeff Anderson went to a mixed school, along with two other classmates being found guilty of various criminal acts towards women..

https://tedteamsite.wordpress.com/2020/07/28/james-mcquillan-of-newtownards-jeff-anderson-of-kircubbin-and-dylan-rogers-of-ballywalter-co-down/

A girl a few years younger in the same school who knew them and is now a journalist wrote a blog about the prevailing culture within the school.

Can't seem to find it, but an interesting read on this very subject, I'll keep looking for it.

Gendered microaggressions towards the "only" women coaches in high-performance sport

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/21640629.2021.2021031

Quote from: balladmaker on January 18, 2022, 10:00:04 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 18, 2022, 09:42:56 AM
Were there any witnesses to the attack?

Yes, two women who were walking on opposite side of the canal.

Not sure is that true. I understood they seen the 1st suspect standing over the body and assumed he was attacking while he was actually trying to help

Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 10:04:28 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 18, 2022, 09:36:14 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 09:28:30 AM
Quote from: Itchy on January 18, 2022, 08:23:58 AM

I think she is doing a grand job standing up for catholics in the protestant Belfast Telegraph.

Miserable dose of a woman, not a professional at all, we all have been abused in some way sometime in our lives but her hatred of men is blinding her to everything else

If Allison Morris is the issue then we are really up shít creek. I've seen her article and it's based on indisputable facts around abuse levelled towards women.

I think we should deal with that before worrying about the miniscule amounts of cry wolf events in comparison to the real events.

And she's right that education on this should be addressed at school as it can't be left to the parents in a lot of instances...

Think about the top shaggers and have a look at the likes of Jeff Anderson and then come back to what Allison Morris is talking about.
Violence against women is a structural problem that needs a coherent  Govt response. Nothing to do with Allison Morris.

Surely a lot of this comes back to community policing. I cannot remember the last time I saw a guard on the street walking in my local town or the nearby town of 10k where we all go to socialise etc. A few guards spinning around in cars is all you ever see.

I'm no expert but I'd say misogyny is a learned trait from home, on the lesser, menial end of the scale, the girls were required to do all the house work when the boys were lying up on their arses to the higher end of the scale where the mother took a bit of a thump from the father and some more and evidently this would have a lasting effect on all children in normalising this and taking it into their own adult relationships.

Jeff Anderson went to a mixed school, along with two other classmates being found guilty of various criminal acts towards women..

https://tedteamsite.wordpress.com/2020/07/28/james-mcquillan-of-newtownards-jeff-anderson-of-kircubbin-and-dylan-rogers-of-ballywalter-co-down/

A girl a few years younger in the same school who knew them and is now a journalist wrote a blog about the prevailing culture within the school.

Can't seem to find it, but an interesting read on this very subject, I'll keep looking for it.
Gemma McSherry?

https://gemmamcsherry.medium.com/lets-talk-about-regent-rugby-and-rape-e1e1afe48a14

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Animals. Still think all boy schools are worse that mixed-from experience

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 10:38:55 AM

Gemma McSherry?

https://gemmamcsherry.medium.com/lets-talk-about-regent-rugby-and-rape-e1e1afe48a14

Yip, the very one. Thanks.

I'm not getting at the rugby culture directly as that type of culture can happen in any school where young men are feted as something special and blind eyes are turned to their other misdeeds and poor behaviour towards others, girls and also boys deemed to be lesser mortals..

If you are feted as top dog in any school sport it is likely to instil confidence which can easily become cockiness, but it needs something extra for that to spill over into sexual assault. I wouldn't lay that at the door of a school or a sport.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 11:00:31 AM
If you are feted as top dog in any school sport it is likely to instil confidence which can easily become cockiness, but it needs something extra for that to spill over into sexual assault. I wouldn't lay that at the door of a school or a sport.

I get that, but they all have a part to play in defining a culture of what is acceptable and what isn't but IMO home life is the biggest influence on these types of behaviours..
We've all been in changing rooms or nights out where certain things are laughed and joked about in relation to some sexual conquest or other when we really need to grow a set ourselves and call out the bullshit around us rather than play along with it, normalising it.

Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 11:12:02 AM

I get that, but they all have a part to play in defining a culture of what is acceptable and what isn't but IMO home life is the biggest influence on these types of behaviours..
We've all been in changing rooms or nights out where certain things are laughed and joked about in relation to some sexual conquest or other when we really need to grow a set ourselves and call out the bullshit around us rather than play along with it, normalising it.
Would go along with all of that. If parents, schools, teams and mates make it clear what is acceptable then you'd hope it gets the message home.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 11:28:20 AM

Would go along with all of that. If parents, schools, teams and mates make it clear what is acceptable then you'd hope it gets the message home.

Any of us who have been in that changing room or on a team night out have either passively or actively been involved in inappropriate behaviour at some stage and are all 'guilty' to a point. I had this conversation last night with my partner and basically confirmed this to her.  It wasn't called out enough then though if it went too far it was.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 18, 2022, 11:33:42 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 11:28:20 AM

Any of us who have been in that changing room or on a team night out have either passively or actively been involved in inappropriate behaviour at some stage and are all 'guilty' to a point. I had this conversation last night with my partner and basically confirmed this to her.  It wasn't called out enough then though if it went too far it was.

Yep, most of us have played some part, whether actively or by staying quiet.

Those of us who are old enough would also be the same when it came to casual homophobia and other forms of bigotry.

Hopefully the upcoming generations are more enlightened and aware and we who were part of this culture in the past are hopefully teaching our kids that its not acceptable.

HiMucker

Was thinking the very same. Though likely that will be the case in secondary school for my lot.

full moon

Main suspect isn't even Irish it's a Roma gypsy from Slovakia, so what this has to do with Catholic schools, dressing room banter, catcalling, men's golf clubs, WhatsApp groups, education or even Irish men writ large is beyond me.

Just more feminist man hating rubbish from the usual suspects. I doubt said suspect even went to school and isn't even here that long.

It's a terrible tragedy but just been hijacked by the usual interest groups, RTE and other attention seekers like Keith Walsh. They couldn't even give the family and loved ones a couple days privacy which they requested.

Quote from: full moon on January 18, 2022, 12:29:05 PM
Main suspect isn't even Irish it's a Roma gypsy from Slovakia, so what this has to do with Catholic schools, dressing room banter, catcalling, men's golf clubs, WhatsApp groups, education or even Irish men writ large is beyond me.

Just more feminist man hating rubbish from the usual suspects. I doubt said suspect even went to school and isn't even here that long.

It's a terrible tragedy but just been hijacked by the usual interest groups, RTE and other attention seekers like Keith Walsh. They couldn't even give the family and loved ones a couple days privacy which they requested.

You do realise that the murder is a very very small part of what the problem is?  It's is the worst case scenario but male violence and inappropriate behaviour towards women is widespread and endemic. This culture needs to change. The fact that you have men trying to hijack vigils for a murdered woman by exposing them self and trying to masturbate sums the issue up. If you can't see that then you are part of the problem

Quote from: full moon on January 18, 2022, 12:29:05 PM

Ah, he's a foreigner, so everything is all right in the world then.

Tell your daughter/wife to go on out for that walk or run and not to worry herself about taking all those precautions that your son/yourself doesn't even have to consider.