GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: joemamas on June 09, 2021, 03:34:07 PM

Title: GAA attendance 2021
Post by: joemamas on June 09, 2021, 03:34:07 PM
With the 2021 Championship about to get underway in both codes, wanted to open the discussion about potential attendances. As of now the "powers to be " are saying that All-Ireland at the end of August may have 25k in attendance.

Don't really want to turn this blog into a pissing contest about shabby vaccine rollout, which looks like it is as much an EU issue as much as an Ireland issue.
However, can somebody explain, that as it stands now, you will be able to go to Castlebar on July 24th, (assuming Mayo are in it) and be able to watch the game in a hotel, restaurant or a pub while having a pint, but you may not be able walk up the town and watch the Connaught final in an outdoor stadium, even though you have been vaccinated.

Has anybody questioned the GAA hierarchy in Croke park, the civil servants/ Govt who are deciding on attendance policies, and more importantly what science are they basing their allowed attendance on.

Not sure of % attendance of UK events.
Current examples of attendances in US. Btw, no masks whatsoever required at in bars and restaurants.
There were 135k at the Indianapolis 500 two weeks ago. Outdoor event.
NBA indoor attendance as of this week.
https://www.sportstravelmagazine.com/which-nba-teams-allow-fans-this-season-covid/

Back to Ireland. Just got this info on line.
As of a few days ago, there were three million vaccines administered, (2MM first doses)one could safely assume that in six weeks' time there will be at least another million plus vaccinated.
Most experts agree .It is pretty much impossible to get the virus if you are vaccinated and in an outdoor environment.

A little more analysis,
Population of Ireland is 5MM
Excluding 1MM under age of 14= 4MM
Right now 2MM have gotten one dose. If in six weeks another Million get a first shot, that would bring total to at least 3MM.
4MM divided by 3MM is = to 75% of population over 14 that will have received one dose.

All puzzling to say the least. Hoping common sense will prevail and let folks who are vaccinated and want to attend games to do so. I have no problem going onto a GAA website and providing proof of same and wearing a mask if that is required also.

Title: Re: GAA attendance 2021
Post by: armaghniac on June 09, 2021, 03:42:40 PM
There is a case for people in big stadia, there should be no TV games allowed in pubs. They have it arseways.
Post by: Rossfan on June 09, 2021, 05:38:18 PM
Am I right in saying currently 500 in 6 Cos and 200 here for Inter County?.
Pilot games here in rugbyball and soccerball seems to be 10% of capacity.
I'd hope, for selfish reasons that would rise to 20 or 25% for Ros/Galway game on 4th July.
Post by: larryin89 on June 09, 2021, 11:21:22 PM
Could we not have provincial finals in croke park to accommodate more supporters ?
Post by: Armagh18 on June 10, 2021, 08:15:40 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 09, 2021, 03:42:40 PM
There is a case for people in big stadia, there should be no TV games allowed in pubs. They have it arseways.
Are you joking? No games in pubs?
Post by: armaghniac on June 10, 2021, 11:55:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 10, 2021, 08:15:40 AM

No, I am not joking.
Post by: Armagh18 on June 10, 2021, 12:20:15 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 10, 2021, 11:55:27 AM

No, I am not joking.
Aw here...
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 10, 2021, 02:29:51 PM

He has a strong point. Packed pubs watching a match is far more likely to spread the virus than outdoors in a 20k plus stadium.
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2021, 02:43:59 PM
Don't disagree Cunny but can't see the GAA pulling the plug on live coverage.
Can't see the Government closing pubs again unless there's major outbreaks of Covid.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 10, 2021, 02:49:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2021, 02:43:59 PM
Don't disagree Cunny but can't see the GAA pulling the plug on live coverage.
Can't see the Government closing pubs again unless there's major outbreaks of Covid.

Which as Armaghniac points outs they have things arseways
Post by: Rossfan on June 10, 2021, 08:03:35 PM
Am I reading it right that there will be no limits to outdoor gatherings in the North from 21st June? ( other than capacity of venue)
Does that include sports fixtures?
Post by: joemamas on June 21, 2021, 06:49:10 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 09, 2021, 03:34:07 PM
With the 2021 Championship about to get underway in both codes, wanted to open the discussion about potential attendances. As of now the "powers to be " are saying that All-Ireland at the end of August may have 25k in attendance.

Don't really want to turn this blog into a pissing contest about shabby vaccine rollout, which looks like it is as much an EU issue as much as an Ireland issue.
However, can somebody explain, that as it stands now, you will be able to go to Castlebar on July 24th, (assuming Mayo are in it) and be able to watch the game in a hotel, restaurant or a pub while having a pint, but you may not be able walk up the town and watch the Connaught final in an outdoor stadium, even though you have been vaccinated.

Has anybody questioned the GAA hierarchy in Croke park, the civil servants/ Govt who are deciding on attendance policies, and more importantly what science are they basing their allowed attendance on.

Current examples of attendances in US. Btw, no masks whatsoever required at in bars and restaurants.
https://www.sportstravelmagazine.com/which-nba-teams-allow-fans-this-season-covid/

As of a few days ago, there were three million vaccines administered, (2MM first doses)one could safely assume that in six weeks' time there will be at least another million plus vaccinated.
Most experts agree .It is pretty much impossible to get the virus if you are vaccinated and in an outdoor environment.

A little more analysis,
Right now 2MM have gotten one dose. If in six weeks another Million get a first shot, that would bring total to at least 3MM.
4MM divided by 3MM is = to 75% of population over 14 that will have received one dose.

All puzzling to say the least. Hoping common sense will prevail and let folks who are vaccinated and want to attend games to do so. I have no problem going onto a GAA website and providing proof of same and wearing a mask if that is required also.

Decided to follow up on this one, especially relevant as the Championship begins next weekend.
so read that as of this morning 3,434,053 doses have been distributed.
The govt stats show this at;
60% one dose
31% fully vaccinated.

Apparently over 900k new doses are set to arrive here in the next two weeks, with existing 300k current weekly vaccinations, that would give over 1.2MM additional vaccinations in next three + weeks. That would make over 4.6MM that will have been distributed.
At that point close to 70%% of the adult population will have one vaccine, not sure how many will be fully vaccinated.

How can the powers to be, I suppose Dr.T (etc) not acknowledge that it is pretty much impossible to get Covid if you are fully vaccinated, in addition, the chances of you passing it to someone else are similarly low. One small point, someone may mention to the D4 crowd, GAA games last time I checked are in outdoor stadiums.
To summarize, 50% of the population could be fully vaccinated, show proof, wear a mask and the maximum capacity for GAA games is 20-25%, and that is for the All-Irelands nine weeks out from here. You know what, on July 25th five weeks from yesterday, as someone who is fully vaccinated, I would take my chances that if Mayo are in the Connacht final, I would attend.
I would love for some Debbie Downer Dr, or WHO expert to debate me on the subject that it is not safe to attend an outdoor event if you are vaccinated.

Last night at MSG in NY, there was an indoor rock concert, you had to show you were fully vaccinated to attend. As I watched the news reports, I could not but reflect on the asinine rules still in place in Ireland.
"On Monday last , the governor of NY said he would lift virtually all remaining COVID restrictions once 70% of adult New Yorkers have at least one vaccine dose. As of Tuesday, 68.9% of them have had at least one job, Cuomo says CDC data shows.
Baseball stadiums are back to full capacity, i.e. folks can go to a game and have some long missed fun.

Would love to hear some thoughts on this.

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2021, 09:57:44 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 21, 2021, 06:49:10 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 09, 2021, 03:34:07 PM

A little more analysis,

Decided to follow up on this one, especially relevant as the Championship begins next weekend.
so read that as of this morning 3,434,053 doses have been distributed.
The govt stats show this at;
60% one dose
31% fully vaccinated.

Apparently over 900k new doses are set to arrive here in the next two weeks, with existing 300k current weekly vaccinations, that would give over 1.2MM additional vaccinations in next three + weeks. That would make over 4.6MM that will have been distributed.
At that point close to 70%% of the adult population will have one vaccine, not sure how many will be fully vaccinated.

How can the powers to be, I suppose Dr.T (etc) not acknowledge that it is pretty much impossible to get Covid if you are fully vaccinated, in addition, the chances of you passing it to someone else are similarly low. One small point, someone may mention to the D4 crowd, GAA games last time I checked are in outdoor stadiums.
To summarize, 50% of the population could be fully vaccinated, show proof, wear a mask and the maximum capacity for GAA games is 20-25%, and that is for the All-Irelands nine weeks out from here. You know what, on July 25th five weeks from yesterday, as someone who is fully vaccinated, I would take my chances that if Mayo are in the Connacht final, I would attend.
I would love for some Debbie Downer Dr, or WHO expert to debate me on the subject that it is not safe to attend an outdoor event if you are vaccinated.

Last night at MSG in NY, there was an indoor rock concert, you had to show you were fully vaccinated to attend. As I watched the news reports, I could not but reflect on the asinine rules still in place in Ireland.
"On Monday last , the governor of NY said he would lift virtually all remaining COVID restrictions once 70% of adult New Yorkers have at least one vaccine dose. As of Tuesday, 68.9% of them have had at least one job, Cuomo says CDC data shows.
Baseball stadiums are back to full capacity, i.e. folks can go to a game and have some long missed fun.

Would love to hear some thoughts on this.

The 'Delta variant' will put the kibosh on a lot of things. Tony H is already warning about it. ::)
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2021, 10:02:30 PM
Is mask wearing compulsory at matches?
Were an awful lot of unmasked Biffos in Croker Saturday!
Post by: Blowitupref on June 21, 2021, 10:54:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2021, 10:02:30 PM
Is mask wearing compulsory at matches?
Were an awful lot of unmasked Biffos in Croker Saturday!

Yes going by the government guidelines but I'd question why. That was a test event and test events across Europe has no mask wearing instead they test all before and after events. England at the weekend allowed moshing at a 10,000 rock concert and it's a country full of the 'Delta variant I might add.
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2021, 11:56:26 PM
If I get to any match I'll not go near any cnut without a mask shouting and spraying germs all over me.
As for the English.......
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2021, 01:17:51 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2021, 11:56:26 PM
If I get to any match I'll not go near any cnut without a mask shouting and spraying germs all over me.

Long before any covid few wanted any fellow supporter to be spraying his germs on them. The English are having proper 'testing" events. It's a half arsed attempt by us.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2021, 09:16:07 AM

You're going to be nice and quiet yourself so?
Post by: macker15 on June 22, 2021, 10:26:27 AM

You probably have left after 10 minutes when The Galweigans are hammering the shite out of ye 🙄🙄
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2021, 01:48:40 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2021, 09:16:07 AM

You're going to be nice and quiet yourself so?
I'll have me maiscín on ;)
Assuming we don't all get locked down here again....a lot of it in Athlone and Ros Town these days.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2021, 05:03:57 PM
Wembley will have 75% of its capacity for the latter stages of the European championships. All that attend will have follow a number of strict entry requirements, including having a negative Covid-19 test or proof of full vaccination - two doses received, 14 days before the fixture.

The same should be done for Croke Park All Ireland semi finals and finals this August IMO but I don't expect that to happen.  Although the upcoming music concert will have rapid testing and one-metre social distancing if the same is applied for the upcoming GAA matches then more than originally planned will be allowed to attend.
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2021, 05:24:32 PM
I honestly dont know anyone that is following the guidelines at sporting events/games etc - not exclusive to GAA.

I mean all club sports
Post by: joemamas on June 22, 2021, 06:55:48 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2021, 05:03:57 PM
Wembley will have 75% of its capacity for the latter stages of the European championships. All that attend will have follow a number of strict entry requirements, including having a negative Covid-19 test or proof of full vaccination - two doses received, 14 days before the fixture.

The same should be done for Croke Park All Ireland semi finals and finals this August IMO but I don't expect that to happen.
  Although the upcoming music concert will have rapid testing and one-metre social distancing if the same is applied for the upcoming GAA matches then more than originally planned will be allowed to attend.

Why not, don't take this personally, but when GAA supporters see this, they surely should make their feelings felt.
The feel good factor of going back to an intercounty football or hurling match will be immeasurable IMO.
It is such a part of our summer heritage.

Post by: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2021, 07:15:14 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 22, 2021, 06:55:48 PM

The same should be done for Croke Park All Ireland semi finals and finals this August IMO but I don't expect that to happen.
  Although the upcoming music concert will have rapid testing and one-metre social distancing if the same is applied for the upcoming GAA matches then more than originally planned will be allowed to attend.

Why not, don't take this personally, but when GAA supporters see this, they surely should make their feelings felt.
The feel good factor of going back to an intercounty football or hurling match will be immeasurable IMO.

Based on the approach that has been taken thus far by NPHET and the government and probably wanting to do it different. I think it will likely be a lot later than August before they realise the UK approach on attendances is the way to go.

Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2021, 07:38:17 PM
The sight of many unmasked Biffos zitting together won't do much to convince NPHET /Government to increase permitted attendances earlier than planned.
Post by: joemamas on June 22, 2021, 09:06:05 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 22, 2021, 07:15:14 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 22, 2021, 06:55:48 PM

Based on the approach that has been taken thus far by NPHET and the government and probably wanting to do it different. I think it will likely be a lot later than August before they realise the UK approach on attendances is the way to go.

Two Q's;
1. Why
2. How come Irish people will accept it when there is no science backing up, that vaccinated people will either give or contract covid in an outdoor setting.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2021, 09:10:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 22, 2021, 07:38:17 PM
The sight of many unmasked Biffos zitting together won't do much to convince NPHET /Government to increase permitted attendances earlier than planned.

Maybe they are all vaccinated.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 22, 2021, 09:25:30 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2021, 09:10:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 22, 2021, 07:38:17 PM

Maybe they are all vaccinated.

Any Offaly supporters sitting together would be likely part of their own social bubble. If vaccinated or tested negative for covid there is a case for no masks. Indoors is the main spreader of the virus and in July we'll have homes or pubs with groups of people watching matches on TV while having near empty stadiums.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2021, 09:03:18 PM
8,000 allowed to the Leinster Hurling semi-finals this weekend. Croker would look awful with 500. Saying that, it'll look awful with only 8,000 too.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2021, 09:14:08 PM
"They" are saying 1,050 at the Hyde next Sunday.
Meanwhile News tonight saying NPHET advice to Cabinet is "sobering".
Post by: johnnycool on July 01, 2021, 03:56:12 PM
The Brits are going balls out with the opening up and exponential growth in the Delta virus at the same time.

It will be interesting if the vaccinations break the infection/hospitalisation chain and then the mutation of new strains..

Nice of Boris to put the life of people at risk in a huge experiment on this..
Post by: dec on July 01, 2021, 04:06:39 PM
Thousands, or even tens of thousands of people, outside watching a sports event is probably not a big risk. Standing around talking to people before or after a game, in a pub or elsewhere is probably a much bigger risk.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2021, 07:33:28 PM
Quote from: dec on July 01, 2021, 04:06:39 PM
Thousands, or even tens of thousands of people, outside watching a sports event is probably not a big risk. Standing around talking to people before or after a game, in a pub or elsewhere is probably a much bigger risk.
It is a much bigger risk indoors especially for those people not fully vaccinated. For now watching a match outdoor is the way to go. Kerry have shown the way already if you aren't attending the match.

(https://i.ibb.co/j8sk80T/E41-Zdk8-WQAEQS4-K.jpg) (https://ibb.co/3TQmT67)

Post by: red hander on July 01, 2021, 07:55:59 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 01, 2021, 03:56:12 PM
The Brits are going balls out with the opening up and exponential growth in the Delta virus at the same time.

It will be interesting if the vaccinations break the infection/hospitalisation chain and then the mutation of new strains..

Nice of Boris to put the life of people at risk in a huge experiment on this..

What they're doing is going for herd immunity, but they haven't the decency or principles to admit it.
Post by: joemamas on August 04, 2021, 02:46:49 AM
So a month later, thought it may be worth revisiting.
As of last Saturday July 31st, according to the government, we had 72.5% fully vaccinated.
To be fair pretty impressive given where we were in terms of vaccinations in June.
However, we should not forget that the restaurant and pub openings and most likely attendances at GAA games were impacted by the doomsday scenarios of us having over 2,000 covid cases per day by late July into August.

Well low and behold, here we are August 3rd, the actually number is closer to 1,000, well I guess the doomsayers were only 50% off in their projections. I was lucky enough to be in Croke Park a week ago last Sunday to see Mayo V Galway. How it came to pass that 18k were only allowed into to an outdoor stadium, all of them wearing masks and most likely given the demographics, 80+% were vaccinated just beggars belief. What science was used that Hill 16 had to be totally empty.
How three weeks later, that number has been generously increased to 24k, at a time where you can finally have a meal or a drink indoors.

You left Croke park, walked up two streets and you could have a pint outside without restrictions rightly so IMO, where again is the science.
The silence from Croke Park and the GAA hierarchy is deafening.
Roll on ten days from now, the incumbent politicians will be squirming that they allowed a health board to dictate policy into outdoor stadiums attendances based on little more than a doomsday case scenario of covid #, that did not even come close to projections.

Post by: viperhiggins on August 04, 2021, 06:55:46 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2021, 07:33:28 PM
Quote from: dec on July 01, 2021, 04:06:39 PM
It is a much bigger risk indoors especially for those people not fully vaccinated. For now watching a match outdoor is the way to go. Kerry have shown the way already if you aren't attending the match.

(https://i.ibb.co/j8sk80T/E41-Zdk8-WQAEQS4-K.jpg) (https://ibb.co/3TQmT67)

If you are not vaccinated by now surely you aren't at risk?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 05, 2021, 12:46:28 PM
Quote from: viperhiggins on August 04, 2021, 06:55:46 AM

How do you work that out, ie, why are the COVID-19 cases and hospital admissions continuing to rise, right now, in Ireland and Britain?

'Herd Immunity', is not yet secured, and the scientific community reckon that 90% of the population need to be fully vaccinated in order to have any chance of breaking the infection chain.
Post by: joemamas on August 05, 2021, 03:09:51 PM
From the Irish times today.
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

WTF, match this with the science that says you can only have 24k out of 82k in an outdoor stadium, with everyone wearing a mask.
Post by: armaghniac on August 05, 2021, 03:45:47 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 05, 2021, 03:09:51 PM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

WTF, match this with the science that says you can only have 24k out of 82k in an outdoor stadium, with everyone wearing a mask.

There is no conflict in the science. Even with 24K, if you allow children in then you will have 5k unvaccinated persons, plenty of scope for substantial numbers of cases there.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 05, 2021, 06:18:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 05, 2021, 03:45:47 PM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

There is no conflict in the science. Even with 24K, if you allow children in then you will have 5k unvaccinated persons, plenty of scope for substantial numbers of cases there.

Ask for proof of vaccination/negative covid test and open up fully
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 05, 2021, 06:21:05 PM
I'm far from an anti-vax or lockdown type, in fact I've been quite critical of the government because I think they rushed multiple openings in the past 18 months. But 24k in an 82.5k stadium when 75%+ are vaccinated is a joke. It's just going to cause over crowded pubs anyway!

I suppose it's grand when you're a politician and the mass gatherings rules don't apply to you anyway
Post by: armaghniac on August 05, 2021, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 05, 2021, 06:18:10 PM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

In somewhere the size of Croke park you could do both the present strategy and this. Proof of vaccine could get you a good seat between the 45s and every seat occupied, but those without this could be rather more scattered at the ends of the stadium. Then you could have more in the ground.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 05, 2021, 10:31:08 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 05, 2021, 06:40:54 PM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

In somewhere the size of Croke park you could do both the present strategy and this. Proof of vaccine could get you a good seat between the 45s and every seat occupied, but those without this could be rather more scattered at the ends of the stadium. Then you could have more in the ground.

You can do a b or c, there's so many options, but it's clear that a quarter full Croker is a joke
Post by: JoG2 on August 06, 2021, 12:22:33 AM
Quote from: clarshack on August 05, 2021, 11:13:37 PM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

So a social credit system where the jabbed get better seats.

The jabbed ie those doing their bit to end this virus for all. How would you have viewed, for example, MMR anti-vaxers before Covid? Be honest
Post by: Franko on August 06, 2021, 08:23:48 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 05, 2021, 12:46:28 PM
Quote from: viperhiggins on August 04, 2021, 06:55:46 AM

How do you work that out, ie, why are the COVID-19 cases and hospital admissions continuing to rise, right now, in Ireland and Britain?

'Herd Immunity', is not yet secured, and the scientific community reckon that 90% of the population need to be fully vaccinated in order to have any chance of breaking the infection chain.

Admissions, occupancy and new case numbers are all falling in the six and GB?
Post by: Rossfan on August 06, 2021, 08:41:09 AM
Yesterday was the highest no of cases in the 26 since early in the year. Large no in the 6 as well.
Hospital nos in the 26 around 190 (was about 40 mid June. ICU nos mid 20s.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 06, 2021, 09:05:53 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 06, 2021, 12:22:33 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

The jabbed ie those doing their bit to end this virus for all. How would you have viewed, for example, MMR anti-vaxers before Covid? Be honest
Wouldn't agree with them but wouldn't want them ostracised. Plus covid is far less deadly and the negative effects of the vaccine are far more unclear than with other illnesses. I've got my jab and getting the second soon but I think people should be in no way pressured into getting this vaccine.
Post by: Franko on August 06, 2021, 09:15:22 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 06, 2021, 09:05:53 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

Wouldn't agree with them but wouldn't want them ostracised. Plus covid is far less deadly and the negative effects of the vaccine are far more unclear than with other illnesses. I've got my jab and getting the second soon but I think people should be in no way pressured into getting this vaccine.

Not that I necessarily agree with this plan, there is a lot of hyperbole around this from the anti-vax brigade.

To say someone is being 'ostracised' because they might have to sit in the Canal End is a bit much.

They're not exactly walking up O'Connell street ringing a bell.
Post by: Keyser soze on August 06, 2021, 09:32:12 AM
Quote from: Franko on August 06, 2021, 09:15:22 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

Not that I necessarily agree with this plan, there is a lot of hyperbole around this from the anti-vax brigade.

To say someone is being 'ostracised' because they might have to sit in the Canal End is a bit much.

It's not deadly?? Tell that to the people who are getting their transplants or critical surgery postponed or cancelled because ICUs are full of arseholes who believe some shite on facebook rather than their doctor.

I wouldn't give them hospital treatment let alone a ticket for Croker.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 09:36:14 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

Seriously, and not even to mention the very well documented long covid health complications? https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/04/fit-and-healthy-man-42-from-southport-who-rejected-vaccine-dies-of-covid (https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/04/fit-and-healthy-man-42-from-southport-who-rejected-vaccine-dies-of-covid)
Post by: thewobbler on August 06, 2021, 09:48:38 AM

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 09:36:14 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

Seriously, and not even to mention the very well documented long covid health complications? https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/04/fit-and-healthy-man-42-from-southport-who-rejected-vaccine-dies-of-covid (https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/aug/04/fit-and-healthy-man-42-from-southport-who-rejected-vaccine-dies-of-covid)

I don't like the angle being taken here. Twitter is similarly full to the gills of people using every day occurrences as proof that they're right.

They're not right.

Healthy, fit adults have always died. Always. It just happens.

If one third of the adult population have not been double jabbed, then circa one third of unexpected adult deaths will be from people who are unvaccinated.

They might still be idiotic for not taking the vaccine. They might still be selfish bastards for not taking the vaccine.

But a small percentage of healthy adults will always die in their forties. It is not a victory for the vaccinated when it happens to the "other side".

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 09:59:44 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 06, 2021, 09:48:38 AM

I don't like the angle being taken here. Twitter is similarly full to the gills of people using every day occurrences as proof that they're right.

They're not right.

If one third of the adult population have not been double jabbed, then circa one third of unexpected adult deaths will be from people who are unvaccinated.

They might still be idiotic for not taking the vaccine. They might still be selfish bastards for not taking the vaccine.

But a small percentage of healthy adults will always die in their forties. It is not a victory for the vaccinated when it happens to the "other side".

Yes, no argument there, but are you actually saying that COVID-19 is not a deadly affliction, potentially?
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2021, 11:29:43 AM

This type of spin continually appears. If you were going to divide your stadium into sections then of course you would try and put the biggest crowd in the seats where most people who prefer to sit.
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 06, 2021, 11:46:20 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 09:36:14 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

They're not right.

This is true with individual cases and I wouldn't be in favour of using them as proof. However the proof of around 17% unvaccinated causing up to 60-70% of hospital admissions is a different matter. One that spells a very clear larger picture than any individual case.
Post by: BennyCake on August 06, 2021, 12:49:05 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on August 06, 2021, 09:32:12 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

It's not deadly?? Tell that to the people who are getting their transplants or critical surgery postponed or cancelled because ICUs are full of arseholes who believe some shite on facebook rather than their doctor.

Just because some people are sceptical about vaccines, doesn't mean they're not following the right advice as regards masks, distancing etc, and keeping themselves and others safe.

I've noticed a vast difference in the behaviour of  a lot of people who are double jabbed, in recent weeks. All advice, mask wearing, etc have been totally abandoned .

So,  who are the  arseholes?
Post by: thewobbler on August 06, 2021, 01:33:29 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 09:59:44 AM

They're not right.

Yes, no argument there, but are you actually saying that COVID-19 is not a deadly affliction, potentially?

No I'm not. Covid would seem to have a knack of speeding things up in terms of exploiting a preexistihg, possibly dormant condition. How quickly is hard to say.

My main point is that the ultra-vaccers (those who spend their days harping on about it) can't seem to help using any death that crops up, to score points for their "team". They're basically ignoring the simple, uncontrollable fact that some humans will die young, and some of those will have shown no signs of weakness right up to the point of dying. It's abhorrent.
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 06, 2021, 02:10:43 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 06, 2021, 01:33:29 PM

They're not right.

No I'm not. Covid would seem to have a knack of speeding things up in terms of exploiting a preexistihg, possibly dormant condition. How quickly is hard to say.

My main point is that the ultra-vaccers (those who spend their days harping on about it) can't seem to help using any death that crops up, to score points for their "team". They're basically ignoring the simple, uncontrollable fact that some humans will die young, and some of those will have shown no signs of weakness right up to the point of dying. It's abhorrent.
It was a strategy used by anti-vaccers as well, highlight individual cases of clotting etc. It's not unique to one side of the debate. Most logical people will look at the bigger picture that eliminates these outliers.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 06, 2021, 04:14:54 PM

Technically, a 'co-morbidity', which is a minority of deaths attributable to greater or lesser degrees to Covid.

There is no shortage of deaths directly attributable to Covid, unfortunately, so it's not like there is any difficulty in finding cases, particularly those who have succumbed having stridently rejected the efficacy of vaccines. Right now, hospital wards in Florida are full of them, for example.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 06, 2021, 04:26:02 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 06, 2021, 02:10:43 PM

They're not right.

It was a strategy used by anti-vaccers as well, highlight individual cases of clotting etc. It's not unique to one side of the debate. Most logical people will look at the bigger picture that eliminates these outliers.

Exactly. Our fallen comrade used to put articles on of low numbers of cases of the vaccine going wrong. It's the same in any of these arguments. I would get the vaccine but I can understand some reasons why some wouldn't (not the tin foil hat theories like they're all trying to control us and the vaccine is part of a bigger picture etc).
Post by: Hound on August 06, 2021, 10:42:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 06, 2021, 12:49:05 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on August 06, 2021, 09:32:12 AM
88% have had first dose
75% fully vaccinated.

Just because some people are sceptical about vaccines, doesn't mean they're not following the right advice as regards masks, distancing etc, and keeping themselves and others safe.

I've noticed a vast difference in the behaviour of  a lot of people who are double jabbed, in recent weeks. All advice, mask wearing, etc have been totally abandoned .

So,  who are the  arseholes?
How many times have you repeated this nonsense over the last few weeks Benny??

I love the way you are able to pick out the vaccinated from the unvaccinated so you can compare their behaviours 😀

Or maybe you've come up with a complete fabrication to further your nonsense theory?
Post by: joemamas on August 13, 2021, 02:16:34 PM
from RTE this morning via the Govt

"He said 6.28 million vaccines have now been administered here, with over 80% of adults fully vaccinated and almost 90% partially vaccinated"

Given the above numbers, and that everyone admitted to Croke Park is wearing a mask, how on earth is the attendence limited to 24k, and 40k for the football final (btw 3 weeks from now)
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:03:25 PM
Address your questions to here  https://www.gov.ie/en/organisation-information/63b3b3-office-of-the-chief-medical-officer/.
As for mask wearing....99% obviously take off the mask when they get in the gate ::)
Post by: joemamas on August 13, 2021, 03:39:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:03:25 PM
Address your questions to here  https://www.gov.ie/en/organisation-information/63b3b3-office-of-the-chief-medical-officer/.
As for mask wearing....99% obviously take off the mask when they get in the gate ::)

Not true,
I was there at Mayo V Galway, people were for the most part respectful, there were also people walking around telling to you put it on if did not have it on.
Outside they did not wear them.
inside yes.
BTW, it is an outdoor stadium.
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:46:26 PM
Connacht people do the right thing.
There was hardly a mask to be seen at the other 2 Finals or at that Cork Hurley stuff!
Post by: viperhiggins on August 13, 2021, 03:47:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:46:26 PM
Conbacht people do the right thing.
There was hardly a mask to be seen at the other 2 Finals or at that Cork Hurley stuff!

Why should you have to wear a mask when sitting if allocated with a pod of 5 people maximum?
Post by: rosnarun on August 13, 2021, 04:09:52 PM
because it the rules and when Government are deciding how many can enter this is one of the considerations
Post by: viperhiggins on August 13, 2021, 04:16:07 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 13, 2021, 04:09:52 PM
because it the rules and when Government are deciding how many can enter this is one of the considerations

Why isn't croker classified as outdoors? Surely it the precautions of separation through the use of pods, surely that will suffice?
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 04:47:58 PM
Other Stadia, much more open than the Croke pk Stands are only allowed 500, or around 10% for specified events.
Public Health Regulations ;)
Post by: armaghniac on August 13, 2021, 05:00:46 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 13, 2021, 02:16:34 PM
from RTE this morning via the Govt

"He said 6.28 million vaccines have now been administered here, with over 80% of adults fully vaccinated and almost 90% partially vaccinated"

Given the above numbers, and that everyone admitted to Croke Park is wearing a mask, how on earth is the attendance limited to 24k, and 40k for the football final (btw 3 weeks from now)

Not only adults are admitted, there could be 10,000 there not vaccinated, some of these with Covid. You might not be so bad in your seat, but everyone will pile into the bog at half time and surge out the gates at the end.
However, as I said before, they need not be restricting the stadium if they are allowing people gather indoors in pubs to watch games. I suppose the problem is all of these 40k going to pubs, restaurants, going on buses etc.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 13, 2021, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 04:47:58 PM
Other Stadia, much more open than the Croke pk Stands are only allowed 500, or around 10% for specified events.
Public Health Regulations ;)

Once Croke has got the go ahead for increased capacities the same should have happened for other stadiums but as ever the government are making it up as they go along.
Post by: BennyCake on August 13, 2021, 06:55:27 PM
Quote from: viperhiggins on August 13, 2021, 03:47:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:46:26 PM
Conbacht people do the right thing.

Why should you have to wear a mask when sitting if allocated with a pod of 5 people maximum?

Even if mask wearing was enforced at the match, those pods of 5 are probably traveling together from different households in the same car without masks.
Post by: joemamas on August 17, 2021, 02:55:36 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 13, 2021, 03:39:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2021, 03:03:25 PM

Not true,
I was there at Mayo V Galway, people were for the most part respectful, there were also people walking around telling to you put it on if did not have it on.
Outside they did not wear them.
inside yes.
BTW, it is an outdoor stadium.

"From the HSE today,
Now over 6.4M vaccines administered here with 82% of adults fully vaccinated & 90% partially. Continued great progress too on the 12-15 year olds, with almost 100,000 registered & 47,000 administered. The vaccines are working & give us a pathway to a brighter future."

This is great news on the vaccination front, but can anybody explain the rational behind continued draconian rules behind outdoor sporting events.
How can the powers to be only allow 40k at an all-Ireland final 25 days from now, when the fully vaccinated numbers should have approached 90% ??.
I happened to watch the highlights of some of the Premier league games just checked the attendance 72k at Man Utd, less than 200 miles from Dublin.
Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2021, 03:00:18 PM
Perhaps the GAA should ask for more numbers but state that they will only admit vaccinated people?
Post by: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 03:49:45 PM
Would love to see a full capacity All Ireland final. Surely by that point everybody that wants to, would be fully vaccinated.
Post by: Rossfan on August 17, 2021, 04:52:27 PM
Play it in England for Joe!
From 1 -16th August inclusive
25,836 cases in 26 Cos
21,343 in 6 Cos.
Around 600 in Hospitals and near 100 in ICUs.
I don't see any increase in AI Final crowd limits.
Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2021, 05:34:18 PM
However, for this year at least, the GAA could facilitate the counties involved by not distributing tickets to every Tom, Dick and Harry in other counties.
Post by: hoynevalley on August 17, 2021, 08:06:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 17, 2021, 04:52:27 PM
Play it in England for Joe!
From 1 -16th August inclusive
25,836 cases in 26 Cos
21,343 in 6 Cos.
Around 600 in Hospitals and near 100 in ICUs.
I don't see any increase in AI Final crowd limits.

Joe who?
Post by: Blowitupref on August 19, 2021, 02:51:26 PM
Can anyone make sense of this.

Only 1,800 will be allowed to attend the All Ireland Minor football final scheduled for August 28th while 40,000 will attend the senior All-Ireland hurling final this Sunday.
Post by: joemamas on August 19, 2021, 03:00:38 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 19, 2021, 02:51:26 PM

Only 1,800 will be allowed to attend the All Ireland Minor football final scheduled for August 28th while 40,000 will attend the senior All-Ireland hurling final this Sunday.

If Tyrone are in it surely it would be a double header at Croke Park with Tyrone V Kerry semi-final.
The sh*t will hit the fan after that if the HSE keep the all-ireland football attendance at 40K, with 90% of adults fully vaccinated, (it is 84% today,) meanwhile full crowds at soccer matches in England.

The GAA hierarchy or lack thereof also deserve some blame for not pushing this.
IMO completley over the top if as stated above, we will be at 90% fully vaccinated on September 11th and only allow 50% attendance, the majority of who will be wearing masks.

Post by: armaghniac on August 19, 2021, 03:10:16 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 19, 2021, 03:00:38 PM

If Tyrone are in it surely it would be a double header at Croke Park with Tyrone V Kerry semi-final.
The sh*t will hit the fan after that if the HSE keep the all-ireland football attendance at 40K, with 90% of adults fully vaccinated, (it is 84% today,) meanwhile full crowds at soccer matches in England.

IMO completley over the top if as stated above, we will be at 90% fully vaccinated on September 11th and only allow 50% attendance, the majority of who will be wearing masks.

The GAA are doing OK, considering that music events are not being allowed, they don't want to press their luck. However, I think GAA HQ just want a quiet life, if the authorities said they could have more if they check vaccination status then they wouldn't bother, the suits will get All Ireland tickets anyway.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 19, 2021, 03:19:53 PM

Currently set for two stand alone fixtures.

The minor Semi finals this weekend.

Tyrone v Cork in Tullamore 1,800 capacity
Sligo v Meath in Breffni Park 2,000 allowed

Post by: joemamas on August 19, 2021, 04:00:32 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 19, 2021, 03:10:16 PM

The GAA are doing OK, considering that music events are not being allowed, they don't want to press their luck. However, I think GAA HQ just want a quiet life, if the authorities said they could have more if they check vaccination status then they wouldn't bother, the suits will get All Ireland tickets anyway.

Agree, but is it all not a bit daft, you can now eat inside, drink in an outdoor beer garden or inside a pub at a table (despite the best efforts of )
why not increase the capacity to 60k, stagger the entrance of supporters, I feel for one game they would be happy to comply.
It is three weeks away, but with only 40k or 50% attendance, there will be mayhem looking for tickets.
it could very well be another PR disaster for the GOVT, especially if a lot of them go to the game and truly year round supporters do not get tickets.
Post by: Rossfan on August 19, 2021, 06:04:04 PM
Don't know where Joe is getting the "vast majority wearing masks" at games in Croke Park.
I was almost the only one wearing a mask in the Section I was in. Any crowd scenes has about 5% wearing them.
I think the GAA are happy to get enough crowds to pay the bills for the year at the bigger games with no hassle or enforcement.
80k at 2 Finals at €90 each (mostly some terrace cheaper)
96k at Semis €50 (€35 terrace)
24k at u 20 Final most at €25.

About €12m there.
Post by: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 09:31:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 17, 2021, 05:34:18 PM
However, for this year at least, the GAA could facilitate the counties involved by not distributing tickets to every Tom, Dick and Harry in other counties.

A very good point. Keep tickets to competing counties for final this year.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2021, 10:04:41 PM
Is the bar open at the ground?
Post by: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 10:06:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2021, 10:04:41 PM

From what i heard food only. No alcohol.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2021, 10:08:47 PM
Quote from: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 10:06:19 PM

Covid is rife in the beers!!

I'll have to dash from Meaghers later than normal on Sunday
Post by: Rossfan on August 19, 2021, 11:44:11 PM
Quote from: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 10:06:19 PM

That's what it was last Sunday. The way it should be!!
Post by: yellowcard on August 20, 2021, 01:36:43 PM
I can see a situation where a lot of people will either travel to Dublin in the hope of getting a ticket, travel just for the atmosphere or just congregate in pubs within the competing counties so will it actually be safer with a reduced capacity? I'm not so sure it actually will.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 20, 2021, 02:21:46 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 20, 2021, 01:36:43 PM
I can see a situation where a lot of people will either travel to Dublin in the hope of getting a ticket, travel just for the atmosphere or just congregate in pubs within the competing counties so will it actually be safer with a reduced capacity? I'm not so sure it actually will.
Don't think it'll make much difference, like you say, plenty will go to Dublin on the off chance they get a ticket and drink in the pubs for the craic and plenty more will go out to watch the game in pubs countrywide.
Post by: Rossfan on August 20, 2021, 11:42:10 PM
Football Final to be 40k limit.
Post by: larryin89 on August 21, 2021, 05:58:08 PM
Is the Tyrone v kerry game despite been after the hurling final where 40k is allowed back to 24k only , hahahahaha you just couldn't make it up ,clowns .
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 21, 2021, 06:03:28 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 21, 2021, 05:58:08 PM
Is the Tyrone v kerry game despite been after the hurling final where 40k is allowed back to 24k only , hahahahaha you just couldn't make it up ,clowns .

Tyrone full of Covid, you wouldn't want to bring down much more
Post by: Blowitupref on August 21, 2021, 06:16:48 PM

Yes just 24k.  Dublin v Meath ladies AI final will have  also 40k at it and hill 16 open
Post by: BennyCake on August 21, 2021, 08:01:09 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 21, 2021, 06:16:48 PM

Yes just 24k.  Dublin v Meath ladies AI final will have  also 40k at it and hill 16 open

What's the point selling stand tickets in blocks, designed to keep people spaced out, when the Hill crowd will be bunched on top of each other?
Post by: pjm on August 21, 2021, 08:27:44 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 20, 2021, 01:36:43 PM

Yes, they should open it up, but they have gone too far down the rabbit hole at this stage to reverse - the fact that there will be no minor game to get the crowd in a bit quicker and earlier will also be a consideration, but there will be massive parties in Cork and Limerick tomorrow, which will be replicated in 3 weeks
Post by: larryin89 on August 22, 2021, 10:11:48 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 21, 2021, 08:01:09 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on August 21, 2021, 06:16:48 PM

What's the point selling stand tickets in blocks, designed to keep people spaced out, when the Hill crowd will be bunched on top of each other?

Nothing makes sense , a lot of theee restrictions are illogical . 
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2021, 12:24:50 PM
It will be interesting if the GAA go with Tony on only allowing fully vaxed people to the football final. Can't see it happening, but IF it did there would be no reason for it to be less than a full house then.
Post by: Rossfan on August 25, 2021, 12:43:21 PM
https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0825/1242694-coronavirus-ireland/
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 25, 2021, 01:41:55 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2021, 12:24:50 PM
It will be interesting if the GAA go with Tony on only allowing fully vaxed people to the football final. Can't see it happening, but IF it did there would be no reason for it to be less than a full house then.

Won't because the pressure would be on to allow more than 40,000 for the upcoming All-Ireland final.
Post by: Halfquarter on August 25, 2021, 03:07:20 PM

If only fully vaxed people are allowed to go to the All Ireland Final, does that mean that half the Tyrone team  will have to stay at home……providing they beat Kerry of course.
Post by: yellowcard on August 25, 2021, 03:34:20 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on August 25, 2021, 03:07:20 PM

If only fully vexed people are allowed to go to the All Ireland Final, does that mean that half the Tyrone team  will have to stay at home......providing they beat Kerry of course.

I don't think they will bring that rule in, it looks like 40k similar to the hurling final.

Looking at the Covid incidence rate in Tyrone at the minute (which is the highest incidence rate anywhere in Ireland at the minute) you would think that the GAA would have considered some form of crowd segregation for this Saturdays match. Or is this already in place?
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 25, 2021, 03:41:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 25, 2021, 03:34:20 PM

If only fully vexed people are allowed to go to the All Ireland Final, does that mean that half the Tyrone team  will have to stay at home......providing they beat Kerry of course.

I don't think they will bring that rule in, it looks like 40k similar to the hurling final.

Looking at the Covid incidence rate in Tyrone at the minute (which is the highest incidence rate anywhere in Ireland at the minute) you would think that the GAA would have considered some form of crowd segregation for this Saturdays match. Or is this already in place?

Are the seats not all socially distanced anyway? As in, their pods? Not really sure how it works as wasn't down at the Monaghan game.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 25, 2021, 03:48:08 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 25, 2021, 03:41:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 25, 2021, 03:34:20 PM

Are the seats not all socially distanced anyway? As in, their pods? Not really sure how it works as wasn't down at the Monaghan game.

Not sure but I stayed in my seat and others got up and moved to better seats that were available on Sunday last
Post by: joemamas on August 26, 2021, 01:27:55 PM

Bingo,

My exact thoughts, let 75k or 80k vaccinated people in.
Post by: rosnarun on August 27, 2021, 02:31:20 PM
Mayoo gaa banter reporting 500 tickets  ro be put into a draw for season ticet holders
i think there are 3.600 holder nas rickts will have to ve in pairs at least the odds begin to broaden a bit
if my sums are right about 15/1      or so,
Still its the best offer i got yet
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 27, 2021, 03:44:45 PM
How many tickets do every club in other non-competing counties get? Is it one or two?
Post by: joemamas on August 30, 2021, 04:57:54 PM
Got my two premium tickets today. Very lucky.
However, I feel so bad for really genuine GAA supporters from both Mayo and Tyrone who have followed their teams through thick and thin.
From the Irish Times today,
88% of Adults fully vaccinated, Truly wonderful news , but on the other hand
WTF, it will most likely 93-95% on Saturday Sept 11th, but yet the attendance will only be 50%.
Shameful.

Post by: larryin89 on August 30, 2021, 06:25:46 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 30, 2021, 04:57:54 PM
However, I feel so bad for really genuine GAA supporters from both Mayo and Tyrone who have followed their teams through thick and thin.
WTF, it will most likely 93-95% on Saturday Sept 11th, but yet the attendance will only be 50%.
Shameful.

It's a ridiculous cautious approach , it's insane tbh . Full crowds in uk into their third week now .similar vaccine rollout . 

It's hard to understand the reasoning when croke park reported zero covid transmission from all the games up till yesterday .

Mindboggling stuff when you consider that vaccinated percentage ain't going to ever be a lot higher.
Post by: joemamas on September 01, 2021, 04:05:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 30, 2021, 06:25:46 PM
Shameful.

It's a ridiculous cautious approach , it's insane tbh . Full crowds in uk into their third week now .similar vaccine rollout . 

It's hard to understand the reasoning when croke park reported zero covid transmission from all the games up till yesterday .

Mindboggling stuff when you consider that vaccinated percentage ain't going to ever be a lot higher.

On RTE increased BY 1,150 unbelievable.
it should be minimum 60k
Post by: JoG2 on September 01, 2021, 04:08:34 PM
Quote from: joemamas on September 01, 2021, 04:05:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 30, 2021, 06:25:46 PM
Shameful.

On RTE increased BY 1,150 unbelievable.
it should be minimum 60k

60k if showing a vaccine passport... Wouldn't want to be jammed amongst a crowd of anti-vaxers surely, boys roaring at Joe Mcquillan etc
Post by: Rossfan on September 01, 2021, 04:21:19 PM
Ah sure he wouldn't be a proper Rhubarb if he wasn't moanin  ::)
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2021, 04:41:07 PM
Hill 16 open today for the ladies All-Ireland final and filled with Dubs next weekend for the men's final its closed because Dublin aren't playing?
Post by: Rudi on September 05, 2021, 05:07:07 PM
The women's final is very exciting,  Meath very well drilled & well coached.
Post by: clarshack on September 05, 2021, 05:55:45 PM
Good game of football in the ladies final but why are the umpires wearing masks but in the men's games they aren't. Because science?
Post by: larryin89 on September 05, 2021, 05:59:30 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2021, 04:41:07 PM
Hill 16 open today for the ladies All-Ireland final and filled with Dubs next weekend for the men's final its closed because Dublin aren't playing?

Its open next week
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2021, 06:01:27 PM
Quote from: clarshack on September 05, 2021, 05:55:45 PM
Good game of football in the ladies final but why are the umpires wearing masks but in the men's games they aren't. Because science?

Either the association or the referee has asked
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2021, 09:04:42 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on September 05, 2021, 05:59:30 PM

Its open next week

A change of mind/plans?

GAA president Larry McCarthy the other day.

"This year, Mayo and Tyrone are getting 11,450 tickets each. The difference is in the quality of the tickets - they're getting much more stand tickets this time because we're not using the terraces.
Post by: larryin89 on September 05, 2021, 09:11:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2021, 09:04:42 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on September 05, 2021, 05:59:30 PM

Its open next week

A change of mind/plans?

GAA president Larry McCarthy the other day.

"This year, Mayo and Tyrone are getting 11,450 tickets each. The difference is in the quality of the tickets - they're getting much more stand tickets this time because we're not using the terraces.

Dint mind that ditthery fook , he hasn't a clue , see him get the club team of limerick Capt wrong whilst handing over Liam mcarthy,  absolute balloon