GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on April 23, 2007, 09:18:35 AM

Poll
Question: Now that the league is over who is going to win it?
Option 1: Carlow
Option 2: Wexford
Option 3: Wicklow
Option 4: Offaly
Option 5: Kildare
Option 6: Meath
Option 7: Laois
Option 8: Longford
Option 9: Westmeath
Option 10: Dublin
Option 11: Louth
Title: Leinster SFC Championship
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 23, 2007, 09:18:35 AM
Will do a poll for each province and All-Ireland in football. Will wait till next week for the hurling...

One rule and one rule only you can't vote for your own county....
Title: Re: Leinster SFC Championship
Post by: Gnevin on April 23, 2007, 09:23:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 23, 2007, 09:18:35 AM
Will do a poll for each province and All-Ireland in football. Will wait till next week for the hurling...

Opps guess i should of read this before voting
Post by: Hardy on April 23, 2007, 09:50:15 AM
I've a wee bet on Louth at 25/1. (Still available with SkyBet).
Post by: his holiness nb on April 23, 2007, 09:54:46 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 23, 2007, 09:23:17 AM

Opps guess i should of read this before voting

:-[ Crap me too!

See two votes for Carlow so far, jaysus!
Post by: Jinxy on April 23, 2007, 10:12:50 AM

Just like the eurovision song contest.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 23, 2007, 11:04:27 AM
Draw please.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 23, 2007, 11:08:21 AM
1.   Louth               v      Wicklow   20.5.2007   Croke Park
2.            1     v     Wexford     3.6.2007   Croke Park
3.   Westmeath   v   Longford   13.5.2007   Longford
4.            3    v    Laois     2.6.2007   Tullamore
5.   Meath   v   Kildare   20.5.2007   Croke Park
6.            5     v     Dublin     3.6.2007   Croke Park
7.   Carlow   v   Offaly   10.6.2007   Portlaoise
8.                2     v    4   24.6.2007   Croke Park
9.                6     v     7   24.6.2007   Croke Park
CRAOBH:           8   v   9   15.7.2007   Croke Park
Post by: AZOffaly on April 23, 2007, 01:46:20 PM
Quote7.   Carlow   v   Offaly   10.6.2007   Portlaoise

Now I'm really nervous. Have we ever won a game that mattered in Portlaoise? Any code? I remember winning an U21 there against Westmeath in 1995, but that's all I can think of? A couple of draws?
Post by: realredhandfan on April 23, 2007, 01:52:29 PM
Ive always been a closet fan of the reggae men and Ive a couple of friends down there. I fancy Carlow for at least a couple of wins here,  Ive heard a couple of rumours about Boylan being involved and things progressing rather nicely.  Ive heard that this team can take the dubs down a post or two but they need to bring them to Carlow. Vive Bob Marley
Post by: AZOffaly on April 23, 2007, 01:53:26 PM
There is now way in the wide ocean world that Carlow should beat Offaly.

Therefore expect Carlow to win by 4 points.
Post by: realredhandfan on April 23, 2007, 01:56:52 PM
If the Carlow offaly game is live on TV including current sponsors on the strip how many diifferent colours are on show?  Please adjust your sets
Post by: SuperSub on April 23, 2007, 11:45:44 PM
Laois for me.I don't think the Dubs are as good as the media hype them up to be.5ive times has it right Laois were best team in Divb 1B
Really think they could go far this year
Post by: INDIANA on April 23, 2007, 11:59:48 PM
"Laois for me.I don't think the Dubs are as good as the media hype them up to be.5ive times has it right Laois were best team in Divb 1B"

but when said and done you've overlooked one thing in your analysis- 1A is of a far better standard of team - after all the league finalists cam from 1A and laois didn't make the semis. we aren't quaking in our boots in dublin.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 12:08:36 AM
I don't think anyone is quaking in their boots over the Dubs either

Laois v Kildare Final
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 12:20:16 AM
Would people please stop voting for Carlow. >:( It's not big or clever. (Vote for us lovable rogues from the royal county :-*)
Post by: tayto on April 24, 2007, 02:18:00 AM
Quote from: SuperSub on April 23, 2007, 11:45:44 PM
I don't think the Dubs are as good as the media hype them up to be.

That's not a very original thought on the dubs. Did you come up with it yourself after reading the paper today was it?
Every news atricle I've read about our league campagin has said we'd a poor league with very patchy form. Is that hype? I must be reading the wrong papers.
I'd be very wary of Laois, but unless we improve in a big big way from our league form we should be wary of anyone.
Post by: Hound on April 24, 2007, 08:30:45 AM
Dublin are still the best team in Leinster, but not unbeatable especially if we take a game a little bit lightly.

Kildare's rebuilding process seems to be going well. I had them written off at the beginning of the year, but I've been impressed with their league performance. Meath too are going well, in particular a very good win against Monaghan. The winner of Kildare v Meath will be well primed to have a right go at the Dubs, who will be going in cold.

Similarly I think the winner of Westmeath v Longford could give Laois a shock.
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 09:01:21 AM
We would love another go at Laois after Navan last year when I think we left it behind us. Just have to get past the Lillies and those pesky dubs first. At least we should have a settled 15 going into the championship compared to last year when Barry kept chopping and changing during the league.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 24, 2007, 10:08:32 AM
We'll beat Carlow after a replay, and then Meath will beat Kildare, and launch a 5 game series against Dublin, whereupon savage injury problems are visited upon both teams.

The Dubs win by 3 points to 2 in the 5th game with a virtuoso performance from the resurgent Jimmy Keaveny as both teams are forced to trawl back through the years to find 15 fit players. Colm O'Rourke hits two points for Meath, but Pat O'Neill hits him and his leg falls off, thus eliminating Meath's biggest threat.

The Dubs hobble on to face a fresh Offaly, who have had a six week break because of the replays, and due to Jimmy Keaveny being unable to play because he lost his bus pass and couldn't get to the ground in time, Offaly hold on for a dramatic 1-11 to 0-12 win. It would have been a much greater margin, but some of Ciaran McManus' shots were so wayward they ended up sailing over the Offaly Crossbar. It looks as if Tony Hanahoe has won the game for Dublin with a fine fisted point, but Niall McNamee saves the day with a fine goal which gives Stephen Cluxton (back from Suspension) no chance.

After the game the Dubs object on the grounds that they only had 14 players present, but the GAA inform them that it is nobody else;'s fault that Ciaran Whelan goes missing so much.

The Leinster final is played under lights in October and to absolutely nobodies surprise, Wexford beat Offaly by 6 points.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 10:29:17 AM
I like everyone else in Kildare are delighted with our build-up to the Meath game and hope Meath win the Division 2 title which will add a little bit of media hype to the Royal machine. Although delighted I'm amazed how the media have seemingly written off Kildare's chances even though we gave Donegal probably their hardest game of the year without, wait for it, 4 midfielders who were side-lined (  Dermot Earley, Daryl Flynn, Mick Foley and Ross Glavin) and Killian Brennan who went off injured pretty early. So while not blow awaying opposition our only loss was to our bogey side Galway on a pitch that was unplayable. We have a young side, a side that are use to beating the Dubs and Meath at u/21 level so won't be afraid of either side. My own prediciton for Kildare is that we will beat Meath, draw with the Dubs and lose the replay and go out in the qualifiers to yet another Connacht side.....

AZ,

Good to see you're as optimistic as ever about the Biffo's. We got the auld blood rule tightened up at conference so you won't be playing that card this year....
Post by: Gnevin on April 24, 2007, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 24, 2007, 10:08:32 AM
We'll beat Carlow after a replay, and then Meath will beat Kildare, and launch a 5 game series against Dublin, whereupon savage injury problems are visited upon both teams.

The Dubs win by 3 points to 2 in the 5th game with a virtuoso performance from the resurgent Jimmy Keaveny as both teams are forced to trawl back through the years to find 15 fit players. Colm O'Rourke hits two points for Meath, but Pat O'Neill hits him and his leg falls off, thus eliminating Meath's biggest threat.

The Dubs hobble on to face a fresh Offaly, who have had a six week break because of the replays, and due to Jimmy Keaveny being unable to play because he lost his bus pass and couldn't get to the ground in time, Offaly hold on for a dramatic 1-11 to 0-12 win. It would have been a much greater margin, but some of Ciaran McManus' shots were so wayward they ended up sailing over the Offaly Crossbar. It looks as if Tony Hanahoe has won the game for Dublin with a fine fisted point, but Niall McNamee saves the day with a fine goal which gives Stephen Cluxton (back from Suspension) no chance.

After the game the Dubs object on the grounds that they only had 14 players present, but the GAA inform them that it is nobody else;'s fault that Ciaran Whelan goes missing so much.

The Leinster final is played under lights in October and to absolutely nobodies surprise, Wexford beat Offaly by 6 points.
Due too all the delays Dublin as last year winners are nominated to playing the quarter final and go on to win the All-Ireland  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 10:46:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 10:29:17 AM
I like everyone else in Kildare are delighted with our build-up to the Meath game and hope Meath win the Division 2 title which will add a little bit of media hype to the Royal machine. Although delighted I'm amazed how the media have seemingly written off Kildare's chances even though we gave Donegal probably their hardest game of the year without, wait for it, 4 midfielders who were side-lined (  Dermot Earley, Daryl Flynn, Mick Foley and Ross Glavin) and Killian Brennan who went off injured pretty early. So while not blow awaying opposition our only loss was to our bogey side Galway on a pitch that was unplayable. We have a young side, a side that are use to beating the Dubs and Meath at u/21 level so won't be afraid of either side. My own prediciton for Kildare is that we will beat Meath, draw with the Dubs and lose the replay and go out in the qualifiers to yet another Connacht side.....

AZ,

Good to see you're as optimistic as ever about the Biffo's. We got the auld blood rule tightened up at conference so you won't be playing that card this year....

Dinny, Ross Glavin is not an intercounty midfielder (dunno if he's even in your best 15) and Mick Foleys best position is centre-back. Brennan is a big loss for ye however. I was at the Donegal semi-final and I thought Kildare were flattered a bit by the final scoreline (after getting a very dubious penalty). Not saying we're any world beaters but I think it will be a good close game and if johnny Doyle can be kept to 5/6 points I think we will come out on top.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 10:53:58 AM
QuoteRoss Glavin is not an intercounty midfielder (dunno if he's even in your best 15) and Mick Foleys best position is centre-back.

Ross was the best midfielder in the Kildare SFC last year, he had an awful lot of football commitments and on top of that he was in his final year of his Army cadetship, he was also Moorefields player of the season, he hasn't had much opportunity but he I believe he is inter-county midfield standard, also I left out Roly Sweeney who can play midfield either. Foley is probably our centre-back elect but has played a lot of county football at midfield hence his inclusion.

As for a Donegal game, that was a stone wall penalty, a sure sign was the lack of complaints from the Donegal players, the result was in doubt to the end, Kildare are very dogged this year and no team will pull away from them (cue a 15 point hammering from Meath).....

I like the fact that Meath are favourites and won't put money on Kildare but would fancy the winners to gave the Dubs a right rattle...
Post by: AZOffaly on April 24, 2007, 10:56:14 AM
where's Willie Heffernan this year? That's the lad for Dublin.
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 10:58:51 AM
Feck off, we're not favourites, YE are! (Cue a pointless round of hot potato throwing :D) Whats the story with Sweeney by the way? I thought he didn't look himself in the games against Dr Crokes. He's a great option around wing forward/centre-field.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 11:03:47 AM
Quotewhere's Willie Heffernan this year? That's the lad for Dublin.

A fit Willie would be, he's carrying an awful lot weight and missed a lot off early season training though..

Roly Sweeney picked up a groin stain in the Leinster club final, near full fitness and wasn't risked against Dongeal although had a cameo as a water boy, should be available for the Meath game...

Meath are definite favourites, you can't play that card jinxy.....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 11:05:30 AM
Really? I'd have Kildare as favourites over Meath
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 11:08:30 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 11:03:47 AM
Quotewhere's Willie Heffernan this year? That's the lad for Dublin.

A fit Willie would be, he's carrying an awful lot weight and missed a lot off early season training though..

Roly Sweeney picked up a groin stain in the Leinster club final, near full fitness and wasn't risked against Dongeal although had a cameo as a water boy, should be available for the Meath game...

Meath are definite favourites, you can't play that card jinxy.....

Nasty business that! Also thanks for the back-up Laoislad. There is no doubt now that Kildare are overwhelming favourites.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 24, 2007, 11:12:41 AM
Bit early to be smoking out the Westmeed lads I s'pose  ;)

Confidence high in Longford of shoeing the mini-Dubs on May 13 and then all to play for agin Laois
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 24, 2007, 01:06:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 24, 2007, 11:12:41 AM
Bit early to be smoking out the Westmeed lads I s'pose  ;)

Confidence high in Longford of shoeing the mini-Dubs on May 13 and then all to play for agin Laois

See Maroon Heaven is stoking up AZ on another thread, must be that time of year again. What's de exact capacity of Slasher Park and how hard exactly was it to get tickets for the Doublin game last year???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 01:15:33 PM
Dublin  6 - 5    Kildare  16 - 1           Longford  40 - 1   
Laois  7 - 2      Westmeath  18 - 1   Wicklow  50 - 1   
Offaly  7 - 1     Wexford  20 - 1       Carlow  200 - 1   
Meath  8 - 1     Louth  20 - 1     
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2007, 01:47:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 01:15:33 PM
Dublin  6 - 5    Kildare  16 - 1           Longford  40 - 1   
Laois  7 - 2      Westmeath  18 - 1   Wicklow  50 - 1   
Offaly  7 - 1     Wexford  20 - 1       Carlow  200 - 1   
Meath  8 - 1     Louth  20 - 1     

Where did them odds come from? ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2007, 01:54:03 PM
paddypower.ie
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2007, 01:58:17 PM
In fairness Kildare will have to beat Meath, Dublin and probably Offaly and Laois to win, so that price is a fair reflection but you'd probably get better value if you just backed each match individually. Meath are a terrible price and should be out to 14s in my opinion...
Post by: Billys Boots on April 24, 2007, 02:03:13 PM
Quoteour only loss was to our bogey side Galway

Now now Dinny, do ye not remember losing in Pearse Park in January?   :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 24, 2007, 10:19:03 PM
Jesus Billy, even I don't remember that  :o
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 25, 2007, 10:45:04 AM
QuoteNow now Dinny, do ye not remember losing in Pearse Park in January? 

Damn you Boots I had wiped that traumatic experience from my memory, we'll get revenge in the Leinster Final  ;D
Post by: thejuice on April 25, 2007, 12:55:00 PM
Those odds are unbelievable, wonder what they're like for beating Rossies at the weekend. We just scrapped our way out of Div 2B. Very few of our performances were what you'd call impressive. If Monaghan had their shooting boots with them they'd have won that game.  On the other hand Kildare have put up some impressive performances in Div 1, a huge gap in qualitiy of opposition compared to Div 2. Theres no way that we could be realistic favourites.

Also I never heard Carlow being called Reggae Boys before, thats cool, would be cool to have Carlow fans bringing a Jamaican influence to Croker,

only problem they'd have to go out to the steps to light up their bongs  :D
Post by: bennydorano on April 25, 2007, 12:57:30 PM
If I'm reading that draw correctly Laois seem to have a the 'handy' route to the final, but they have consistently shown that they are as soft as sh1te when hardies come to hardies so the Dubs will probably take them in the final, and if not someone will tank Laois in the QF.
Post by: haze on April 25, 2007, 01:10:47 PM
i believe meath have not got a prayer and their odds are an absolute disgrace...
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 25, 2007, 01:33:43 PM
Well as long as Dublin win but hopefully we get some tough games this year thats all that can be asked for... ;D