Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

Quote from: Esmarelda on January 21, 2018, 11:15:24 AM
Couldn't agree more. Do the colleges hold some power I'm not aware of? It seems very obvious but in all the small changes that have been made, the colleges never seem to be touched.

The thing is that there is nothing GAA HQ can do to threaten or force the 3rd level institutes to do anything the 3rd level institutes don't want to.

They are as the phrase says a law unto themselves.

The third levels have their own pitches and don't get any money from the GAA.

Quote from: From the Bunker on January 21, 2018, 05:16:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 21, 2018, 04:49:36 PM
They were talking about Joe's latest offering today on the OTB paper review on Newstalk.
Apparently he is lamenting the 'fact' that players don't practice skills on their own anymore and everything is so regimented.
The presenter responded to this by saying that every top player they have on says they DO in fact practice their skills on their own, i.e. heading up to the local field with a bag of balls to practice their shooting etc.
My problem with Joe is his reliance on repetitive anecdotes (many of which are rehashed in today's article) and sweeping generalisations.
He is very selective with the evidence he uses to support his assertions, which is ironic given his line of work.

Here's the thing. Joe is out of the loop! How does he know what players do? He has not been involved in intercounty for 20 years! He's relying on hearsay and soundbites.

Also there are different strokes for different folks. I can understand the Likes of Dean Rock and Cillian spending extra time  practicing their skills on their own,  I'd imagine less of this time is spent by back or a midfielder for that matter.

Joe has two, maybe three, articles that he writes on the specific subject of modern gaelic football.
These are rehashed ad infinitum.
They are usually to do with elitism, players hating intercounty football, or a mish-mash of the two.
If someone had handed me that article to read today, I would have been 90% sure it was an old one I'd read before.
Particularly the stuff about gorillas and his oul lad's lada.

ashman

Wonderful of joe to reveal the Corinthian and minimalist approach of the Dublin footballers.

BarryBreensBandage

Just a thought - that county players cannot strip out for their colleges.

That they train and coach the college team, giving them a bit of insight into the difference between playing and coaching, which they will have in their heads when it comes to club/county setup.

It also opens the door for lads to step up and make a name for themselves at college level.

It's never going to happen obviously, too many names being paid to coach and specialise at this level.

But for what? How many people in Ireland could name the Sigerson cup winners of 2017?
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

BarryBreensBandage

Quote from: Jinxy on January 21, 2018, 08:26:41 PM
They were talking about Joe's latest offering today on the OTB paper review on Newstalk.
Apparently he is lamenting the 'fact' that players don't practice skills on their own anymore and everything is so regimented.
The presenter responded to this by saying that every top player they have on says they DO in fact practice their skills on their own, i.e. heading up to the local field with a bag of balls to practice their shooting etc.
My problem with Joe is his reliance on repetitive anecdotes (many of which are rehashed in today's article) and sweeping generalisations.
He is very selective with the evidence he uses to support his assertions, which is ironic given his line of work.

Here's the thing. Joe is out of the loop! How does he know what players do? He has not been involved in intercounty for 20 years! He's relying on hearsay and soundbites.

Also there are different strokes for different folks. I can understand the Likes of Dean Rock and Cillian spending extra time  practicing their skills on their own,  I'd imagine less of this time is spent by back or a midfielder for that matter.

Joe has two, maybe three, articles that he writes on the specific subject of modern gaelic football.
They are usually to do with elitism, players hating intercounty football, or a mish-mash of the two.
If someone had handed me that article to read today, I would have been 90% sure it was an old one I'd read before.
Particularly the stuff about gorillas and his oul lad's lada

He still gets everyone talking or commenting on what he is saying. What's the line on the people get the government they deserve?
"Some people say I am indecisive..... maybe I am, maybe I'm not".

Esmarelda

Quote from: twohands!!! on January 21, 2018, 08:03:09 PM
Couldn't agree more. Do the colleges hold some power I'm not aware of? It seems very obvious but in all the small changes that have been made, the colleges never seem to be touched.

The thing is that there is nothing GAA HQ can do to threaten or force the 3rd level institutes to do anything the 3rd level institutes don't want to.

They are as the phrase says a law unto themselves.

The third levels have their own pitches and don't get any money from the GAA.
Sort of obvious when you put it like that. Maybe they could still outline to players that if you play for your college then you can't represent your senior county team in that same year. Maybe a little unfair to pressurise the players admittedly.

Avondhu star

Maybe its time for the players to tell these coaches to "feck off. I'm going to play and train with my club and generally limit my involvement so that I have a life"
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 21, 2018, 04:39:32 PM
Quote from: lenny on January 21, 2018, 11:31:08 AM

How about university players play for their college until they get put out of the sigerson. Then they rejoin their county side. The sigerson could be brought forward a week or 2 to first week in February. That way the players may only miss 1 or 2 league games. That way everyone, particularly the players, is happy and the players get to play in the more important competition at that stage of the season.

Why should universities get preference?
The Sigerson is the primary competition for colleges. The league is a secondary competition for Counties. If it was Ryan cup v Championship the primacy would be reversed.

Aye, it seemed to be a few stock anecdotes pulled out to pad out a dig at Poacher.

Seany

...a few unpleasant digs at Poacher alright, who is by all accounts a really good coach, works hard at developing his abilities and is a decent guy.  Last week he had a dig at Bernard Brogan.  Each week he picks another person to hit, while throwing a few others under the bus with totally out of context quotations by them that backs up his point.

Surely everyone has caught on to him by now.  A very clever fella, but a  bit nuts.

They're always framed with name-dropping from encounters at Grade 1 grassroots occasions.
His schtick about older football being better craic, usually involves an anecdote about some caveman full back committing GBH and how they all still get a great laugh about it.

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on January 22, 2018, 12:33:10 PM

They're always framed with name-dropping from encounters at Grade 1 grassroots occasions.
His schtick about older football being better craic, usually involves an anecdote about some caveman full back committing GBH and how they all still get a great laugh about it.

I did laugh to myself about this when listening to the GAA hour podcast as Joe reached for his phone to read out the text message from Peter Quinn who had text him to say what a great job Joe was doing.

Seany

Another version of his single transferable rant this week. He's the Chris de Burgh of opinion writers. Chris had about three good songs and all his other songs were versions of those three songs. But none of his songs had a message that was genuine or thought out.

Sounds like the Dubs have him on speed-dial.

'The day after it was written I got the following text: "I enjoyed your scientific gobbledegook piece today Joe. I cannot believe a fella is getting paid to coach defensive transition. F*** me (I will not include the colour he added). This is what's wrong with the game. You don't need to transition unless you've brought everyone back. Pathetic."

The text just happened to come from one of the best players in the country and a key member of the four-time All-Ireland-winning Dublin senior team.

Shortly afterwards, I got another text, from another member of that same team. It reads as follows: "Pissing myself here. Blast off transition? WTF? We push up and make teams kick long, so we don't need to transition. Fellas are 1 v 1. When we win the ball back, we move the ball to the attackers at speed. If Philly or Jonny win the ball they move it to the half-backs and they move it on. Transition is bollox."

What would those two boys know? They only have eight All-Irelands between them. Living in the bloody dark ages.'

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-lets-stop-players-dying-of-boredom-36537929.html

Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:22:41 PM
Sounds like the Dubs have him on speed-dial.

'The day after it was written I got the following text: "I enjoyed your scientific gobbledegook piece today Joe. I cannot believe a fella is getting paid to coach defensive transition. F*** me (I will not include the colour he added). This is what's wrong with the game. You don't need to transition unless you've brought everyone back. Pathetic."

The text just happened to come from one of the best players in the country and a key member of the four-time All-Ireland-winning Dublin senior team.

Shortly afterwards, I got another text, from another member of that same team. It reads as follows: "Pissing myself here. Blast off transition? WTF? We push up and make teams kick long, so we don't need to transition. Fellas are 1 v 1. When we win the ball back, we move the ball to the attackers at speed. If Philly or Jonny win the ball they move it to the half-backs and they move it on. Transition is bollox."

What would those two boys know? They only have eight All-Irelands between them. Living in the bloody dark ages.'

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-lets-stop-players-dying-of-boredom-36537929.html

Yea because the Dublin media officer would allow the players send unsolicited messages to Joe Brolly of all people, still his fanboys lap it up.