Quinn Insurance in Administration

Started by An Gaeilgoir, March 30, 2010, 12:15:49 PM

Good, now lets see how Willie gets on....  :-\

This afternoon, the Quinn family issued a statement to RTÉ News which is understood to be a reference to Seán Quinn Jr.

It said: "Ireland today is imprisoning people who have been defrauded of millions by banks whom they have never met or never borrowed a penny from, while the real perpetrators continue to walk free."

Meanwhile, the search for Peter Darragh Quinn continues after he failed to turn up in court yesterday and a warrant was issued for his arrest.

Gardaí visited his known addresses in the Republic of Ireland but his home is in Co Fermanagh, which is outside of garda jurisdiction.

He was not at home today when RTÉ called to the house close to Lisbellaw in Co Fermanagh, though locals reported seeing some activity there earlier in the week.

The PSNI say a European Arrest Warrant has not yet been issued for his arrest and for now, the matter lies with the Dublin courts.

Legal sources say that because this is not a criminal offence, a European Arrest Warrant is highly unlikely to be issued leaving Peter Darragh Quinn potentially outside of the reach of the gardaí.

Barrister Paul Anthony McDermott says that when somebody who is in contempt of an Irish court is outside of the jurisdiction, all a foreign police force can do is keep an eye on them and provide intelligence to gardaí here.

A further statement to RTÉ from Peter Darragh's cousin, Ciara Quinn, said she had not spoken to him and did not know where he is.

However she said Peter Darragh Quinn had been asked by a court to do something that he could not do and that had left him in a very frightening position.

Judge Elizabeth Dunne has made it clear that at any time the Quinns can come back into court and purge their contempt by reversing the transactions relating to the multi-million euro asset-stripping scheme.

The threat of prison also remains for Seán Quinn Sr who was given more time yesterday to comply with the court.

Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 23, 2012, 12:10:10 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on July 23, 2012, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 20, 2012, 09:25:05 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on July 20, 2012, 02:51:46 PM
Feck that, give them a medal for putting it up to Anglo.

Free the Teemore three.

You do know any assets recovered don't go to Seanie Fitz but to the Irish tax-payer.

what do you plan on doing with your quota of the assets Leo? what difference do you reckon it will make if these assets eventually get taken out of Quinn's hands?? Sweet FA. Its a witch hunt which is being carried on out the basis of making an example that no-one in Ireland is too big to be taken down to size and made pay... well the ones that it suits they go after anyway.

Sammy things might be changing in that regard
Former Anglo Irish Bank finance director Willie McAteer is due in court this afternoon to be charged in connection with alleged financial irregularities at the bank.

The 56-year-old was the second most senior executive at the bank before his resignation in January 2009.

The arrest is the latest development in the ongoing investigation by the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation and the Director of Corporate Enforcement into alleged financial irregularities.

It is the third time gardaí have detained him. He was questioned twice in 2010 and 2011 by detectives from the Fraud Bureau.

Mr McAteer was charged with 16 counts under Section 60 of the Companies Act, which is the provision in Irish company law that essentially prohibits a private company from giving direct or indirect financial assistance for the purchase of its own shares.
A second man in his 50s was also arrested as part of the same investigation.

This should be a bit of positive news for the Quinns anyway and should help with their claims against Anglo.

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: sammymaguire on July 23, 2012, 12:08:38 PM
I think if the Quinn empire had have been left alone, they would have honoured whatever debt was owed by them. They had the rug pulled from beneath their feet very dramatically right from the beginning of this debacle and the whole situation could and should have been handled much better.

I think they have been unjustly treated by the public authorities in the south of Ireland, a bit of a cash cow to chase after I would say. They have been turned into "lets make some kind of example of these f*ck3rs and we'll pillage them for whatever we can get our hands on too - what's theirs is ours!!"

I dont think the Irish Govt gave much care to the Quinn jobs in the area when most of this has gone on either.

SQ didn't care too much about his employees when he gambled their livlihoods away in the pursuit of a few extra quid, it is greed and egotisim, that has brought the Quinns to this point. How many public services have been cut and "ordinary" peoples lives made miserable by the bail out of these people. Nobody forced Quinn to do what he did, as for the "gombeen" businessman who didn't know what he was doing........ tiresome at this stage and nobody believes it at this stage. They have broken the law, were quite willing to give everything away to others, so the taxpayer in the south i.e me and others can not recoup what they gambled away. They broke the law, stuck two fingers up to the Irish people (filing for Bankruptcy in NI, then ignoring high court orders, skipping off to wherever) and should be treated as criminals the same as every one else, it doesn't matter the colour of their collars happen to be white. If this happened to Quinn in the UK, I'm sure we would all be listening to "its because they are irishmen, they are doing this".  As for the "others been punished before me defence", GTFO!

He didn't gamble their livelihoods. The majority of the 7000 jobs that SQ created are still there. How many services have been paid for by the taxes from these jobs. He made a huge mistake getting involved with Anglo but the jobs he created are still there and the Irish state is still reaping the benefits from this.
I think you'll find they aren't criminals and they didbn't break the law. They broke civil orders, what they were actually doing was legal because of the complete f££k up Anglo made of trying to take over the foreign properties. Yeah they stuck two fingers up at Anglo alright, and I don't blame them for doing that. 

Bollix.  When Quinn was getting hounded by Anglo to re invest  to create the wealth bubble that exploded to gamble.  Anglo for all intense purposes were supposedly being well managed and run.  They sold themselves time and time again to Quinn, and being an investor he took his chances.  Anglo was taken over by Government on behalf of taxpayers (not willingly by tax payers and S Quinn had nothing to do with this politically motivated finacially disastrous move) S Quinn is only answerable to the Irish taxpayer by default and reasoning beyond his control and circumstances have advanced to the point where the taxpayer thinks he owns Quinn and can do what he likes with him.    Thousands of smaller builders and countless businesses have been put out of business by banks who overlent. So feel free to criticise any poor businessman in your area struggling to keep things afloat against the banks because the similarities are there.  The prize kill is much bigger here. 

It is worth noting here that SQ did not gamble Irish taxpayers money, ironically the shambles of an organisation that was Anglo did not either.  The Irish Government took the problem to the taxpayers door, no one else.  Get off your self righteous horses and honestly analyse the situation - imagine the number of investment phonecalls that Anglo were making to Quinn on a daily basis.  He probably only worked with them on a fraction of the amount of investments they were prepared to offer him.  Sean Quinn could not have called in taxpayers money to save himself if his business had collapsed, Anglo had that forced upon themselves by a government policy.  Just like Angle  the Governemtn policy has failed..it was unwanted, is still unwanted.  But anyonewith half a brain and half a titter of wit can see what happened here.

Another "look what you let me do" argument from Tyrone.

Another "hide your head in the sand and take no responsibility" argument from the south.

The taxpayer does not own Seán Quinn. The taxpayer owns Seán Quinn's assets.

Quote from: deiseach on July 23, 2012, 02:49:42 PM

the government will own your house too if you cant afford your property tax in the next year or two if they decide to make it €xxxx .... be careful what you wish for buddy - Your government can do anything they wish, anything at all, no matter how stupid it may be!

Quote from: sammymaguire on July 23, 2012, 03:24:15 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 23, 2012, 02:49:42 PM

the government will own your house too if you cant afford your property tax in the next year or two if they decide to make it €xxxx .... be careful what you wish for buddy - Your government can do anything they wish, anything at all, no matter how stupid it may be!

As straw man arguments go, that has to be one of the best. Well done

Did you pay your household charge??

no sweat sweet cheeks  8) I just love the way this Irish government rolls

A law unto themselves, as I supposed they can be can't they...  :o scary

Quote from: Hardy on July 23, 2012, 02:45:29 PM
Another "look what you let me do" argument from Tyrone.

Meath man playing the man and not the ball.

f**king shocker.  ::)

Quotethe government will own your house too if you cant afford your property tax in the next year or two if they decide to make it €xxxx .... be careful what you wish for buddy - Your government can do anything they wish, anything at all, no matter how stupid it may be!

Bollix. People in Fermanagh have had property taxes all along.
The government does what it was elected to do, which is to recover as much money from billionaires who haven't paid back their loans so that schools and hospitals can get the money that would otherwise go to banks.

anyhow, the action moves along, Quinn will have a few mates to chat to in jail 

GENEVIEVE CARBERY and SIMON CARSWELL

Two former senior executives of Anglo Irish Bank appeared in court this afternoon charged in connection with alleged financial irregularities at the bank.

The bank's former finance director Willie McAteer and executive Pat Whelan are the first people to be charged in the three-and-a-half-year-old Anglo Irish Bank investigation.

Mr McAteer (61), with an address at Auburn Villas, Rathgar, Dublin was charged with 16 counts of giving unlawful financial assistance  to buy shares in Anglo Irish Bank in 2008.

It is claimed the alleged unlawful financial help to buy shares was given between July 10th and July 17th, 2008 to 15 people - which include the so-called "Maple Ten" group of Irish Investors and several members of Sean Quinn's family - and from July 17th until July 30th, of the same year, to Patricia Quinn, the wife of now bankrupt businessman.

The court granted Mr McAteer bail on his own bond of €1,000 and an independent surety of €10,000 in cash or equivalent. The surety was put up by his wife. Mr McAteer also surrendered his passport for the duration of the court proceedings.

Judge Cormac Dunne also ordered him to continue to reside at his home in Auburn Villas, Rathgar and to notify gardaí of a change in address at least 48 hours in advance.

Sgt Catherina Gunne told the court she arrested Mr McAteer at 9.50am this morning on the N7 at Rathcoole. He was taken to the Bridewell Garda station and charged.

He made no reply after each charge was put to him, she said. The case will return to court on October 8th.

Mr McAteer left the Criminal Courts complex at about 2.30 with his family.

Mr Whelan was charged later with the same 16 offences.

Mr Whelan (50), of "Rachra", Coast Road, Malahide, Co Dublin, was arrested today at 12.25pm at his home and brought to the Bridewell Garda station.

Det Sgt Michael Prendergast of the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement told the court that Mr Whelan gave no response when the charges were read to him.

Mr Whelan, the former managing director of Anglo's Irish lending business and a one-time director of the bank, was released on bail on a bond of €1,000 and independent surety of €10,000.

He has agreed to sign on every Sunday at his local Garda station in Malahide and to give 48 hours notice to travel outside the State, other than the UK where he has business interests.

He must also give 48 hours notice of any change of address.

Michael Staines, solicitor for Mr Whelan, asked Judge Dunne could his client sign on every Sunday as he was "over and back" to London during the week.

Mr Whelan will appear before the court again on October 8th. There was no objection to Mr Whelan's bail.

The Quinn family members who allegedly received unlawful financial assistance were named as Seán Quinn jnr; Collette Marie Quinn; Aoife Quinn; Breda Quinn; Ciara Quinn and Patricia Quinn.

The other Anglo Irish Bank customers are Patrick McKillen; Seamus Ross; Brian O'Farrell; John McCabe; Gerard Maguire; Patrick Kearney; Gerard Gannon; Gerard Conlon; Joseph O'Reilly and Sean Reilly.

The charges were made under section 60 (15) of the Companies Act 1963. Penalties under the Act can include up to five years imprisonment or a fine of €3174.25 per offence.