Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

InnocentByStander

Having the minor final at 1 o'clock in Davit's with the senior final at 2:30 in Corrigan stinks of greediness.
Instead of giving the young lads some respect and having them as the curtain raiser to the big one.
They horse them down the road so they can make money from people going to the minor final and then maybe some people going to the senior final.

Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 09:38:41 AMHaving the minor final at 1 o'clock in Davit's with the senior final at 2:30 in Corrigan stinks of greediness.
Instead of giving the young lads some respect and having them as the curtain raiser to the big one.
They horse them down the road so they can make money from people going to the minor final and then maybe some people going to the senior final.

you reckon ?

Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 09:38:41 AMHaving the minor final at 1 o'clock in Davit's with the senior final at 2:30 in Corrigan stinks of greediness.

Were you at Corrigan last year? Do you think it would have taken 2 games? rain due Wed, Thurs, and Friday in Belfast and to rain on Sunday..

Who's making money here? You know the association is a charity? The money 'made' goes back into the game..

The pitch at Ballycastle at the weekend would not have taken two games, supporters going to the minor final will only care on how their club does, if they want to head up to Corrigan then grand but I know if my club is playing a final I'll only be concerned for that game, should they win back to the club, should they lose I'd be in no mood to watch another game in the rain!

But sure you keep having the digs  ::)

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2023, 09:58:25 AM

Were you at Corrigan last year? Do you think it would have taken 2 games? rain due Wed, Thurs, and Friday in Belfast and to rain on Sunday..

Who's making money here? You know the association is a charity? The money 'made' goes back into the game..

The pitch at Ballycastle at the weekend would not have taken two games, supporters going to the minor final will only care on how their club does, if they want to head up to Corrigan then grand but I know if my club is playing a final I'll only be concerned for that game, should they win back to the club, should they lose I'd be in no mood to watch another game in the rain!

Casting lines and getting bites.

You make it too easy MR2  :-*  :-*

Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 10:02:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2023, 09:58:25 AM

Casting lines and getting bites.

You make it too easy MR2  :-*  :-*

Ah sorry, my bad, I thought you thought it was a bad idea! Silly me, I've no idea how I came to that

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Would ye whist on October 02, 2023, 02:17:24 PMI'd question 2 of them to be honest

I know for a fact Scremer didn't turn down a game do you know if the other's did

As for Burns he is as much of a Belfast man as any up there #click

i'm Interested, which 2?

you think Mcdermott is capable of a senior final?

Would ye whist

I would question Tumelty and McCotter, I don't think they are there on merit, however on being 'pals' with the the decision makers

As for McDermott, I haven't seen enough of him, however did watch him in the Cargin v Rossa game and thought he didn't do too bad. He must really have pissed on your chips going by your historic posts as it seems you loose sleep thinking about him

Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 01:21:05 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on October 02, 2023, 02:17:24 PMI'd question 2 of them to be honest

I know for a fact Scremer didn't turn down a game do you know if the other's did

i'm Interested, which 2?

So based on the 'on merit' comment

What would be your criteria on picking referee's?

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Would ye whist on October 03, 2023, 02:14:00 PMI would question Tumelty and McCotter, I don't think they are there on merit, however on being 'pals' with the the decision makers

As for McDermott, I haven't seen enough of him, however did watch him in the Cargin v Rossa game and thought he didn't do too bad. He must really have pissed on your chips going by your historic posts as it seems you loose sleep thinking about him

i'm Interested, which 2?

McDermott is renowned worst ref in the county. He isn't even bad. The word bad to compliments his refereeing too much, i would lean more towards totally rancid. He also treats the players with zero respect and always trys his best to have his say on any game I've watched him. You must have seen him enough to put his name forward to a senior final. He is not capable to ref games at a senior level never mind a senior final, maybe u15 level if he's lucky but u13 is his standard, even saying that puts some disrespect on u13 football.

I think the selection on refs for the final is fair don't really think it matters where they come from to be honest I've seen enough of tumelty and collie this year to definitely say they are there "on merit" for McCotter on the other hand i have not seen much of.

antrimman667

Absolute disgrace the format for the weekends events why could they not have a double header on the sunday? As for the referees, McCotter and Tumelty two good referees as for mcDermott. Not too many lads in this Forum putting the hand up to do the refereeing.

I'm going to say weather would be one reasoning, also 4 different sets of fans at Corrigan with changing rooms and so on it might not be able to do that. That said it has held double headers before..

If its for revenue well so be it, its not like we have a pile of cash and if looking new facilities and the like it needs to be paid for

Again I've no inside track on these things.

I'm old school and lucky enough to play a minor final before our seniors, though both results that day didn't go as plan it was a great occasion at Casement so I would like a double header too

Do stand tickets go on sale for these matches or just go to the clubs? I was looking there and notice none available. I've seen that a lot for county matches too when I've been going up there.

NorthAntrim

Double headers are fantastic. Granted the rain expected probably puts the thought to bed. Im sure if either Cargin or Dunloy were in the final it would happen. The IFC is a double header on Saturday with the minor B as All Saints are involved in both

Would ye whist

Christ almighty, I didn't think he was that bad to be honest, perhaps he has really done something bad on you personally, I know in the past he had a run in or two with Cargin perhps that is clouding your judgment, anyway cold flannel and lay down in a darken room
Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 02:45:47 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on October 03, 2023, 02:14:00 PMI would question Tumelty and McCotter, I don't think they are there on merit, however on being 'pals' with the the decision makers

i'm Interested, which 2?

McDermott is renowned worst ref in the county. He isn't even bad. The word bad to compliments his refereeing too much, i would lean more towards totally rancid. He also treats the players with zero respect and always trys his best to have his say on any game I've watched him. You must have seen him enough to put his name forward to a senior final. He is not capable to ref games at a senior level never mind a senior final, maybe u15 level if he's lucky but u13 is his standard, even saying that puts some disrespect on u13 football.

I think the selection on refs for the final is fair don't really think it matters where they come from to be honest I've seen enough of tumelty and collie this year to definitely say they are there "on merit" for McCotter on the other hand i have not seen much of.

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Would ye whist on October 03, 2023, 02:59:03 PMChrist almighty, I didn't think he was that bad to be honest, perhaps he has really done something bad on you personally, I know in the past he had a run in or two with Cargin perhps that is clouding your judgment, anyway cold flannel and lay down in a darken room
Quote from: InnocentByStander on October 03, 2023, 02:45:47 PM

i'm Interested, which 2?

Truth hurts  :-X  :-X