Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:26:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2023, 01:12:37 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:06:13 PMSome hype about Dunloy this last week and hopefully a lot more this coming week.

Understandable seeing they are a div3 team and haven't been in a final for over 80 years?

Would be fair enough, no?

Jeze yous are a bit hard on them lol

In fairness I haven't seen much about it
Absolutely nothing wrong with it, just remarked there had been a lot of hype.

This must be the most secretive hype ever, I'm with MR2 I've not seen any of it on social media either. Think they will be too busy preparing for their hurling semi final this weekend for that.

Was a poor effort at a bit of deflection though EOC  :o

barnish oggie

Quote from: NAG1 on September 29, 2023, 02:02:22 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:26:48 PM
Quote from: EOC1923 on September 29, 2023, 01:06:13 PMSome hype about Dunloy this last week and hopefully a lot more this coming week.

Understandable seeing they are a div3 team and haven't been in a final for over 80 years?

Absolutely nothing wrong with it, just remarked there had been a lot of hype.

This must be the most secretive hype ever, I'm with MR2 I've not seen any of it on social media either. Think they will be too busy preparing for their hurling semi final this weekend for that.

Was a poor effort at a bit of deflection though EOC  :o

I wouldn't say there has been a lot of "hype" either, although there has been a lot of praise in how they have played to get to the final, which I think was well deserved praise.

I think everyone is just glad to watch attacking football rather than 15 men behind the ball.

As said above, they have nothing to lose in the final so I hope they go out and try to play their football and not fall into the trap of trying to nullify Cargin.

Although I can see Cargin being well suited to snuff the attacking threat out in a way that PG1 couldn't,  and they will have the experience and quality to take the win handily enough.

Quote from: Dunsilly King on September 29, 2023, 01:58:16 PM

They are not a division three team. Don't be so insulting to them. They play there best players in the championship, explaining why they are in the final, if they had of played the players they played in the league they would have been stuffed in the first round.

If you can't see how I presented this post, then I can't help you

country bumpkin

Of course Dunloy are not proceeding to a County football final without a chance.
But they really need to up the ante as their form in just getting the better of an out of sorts under strength Creggan or will not be enough.

Cargin have been there and done that and arguably game moved up a gear in the past couple of years.

Cargin will go in as hot favourites and those who look forward to upset put your money down for a good return

Would ye whist

Someone grab the medication he's rambling again

Of course Dunloy are not proceeding to a County football final without a chance.
But they really need to up the ante as their form in just getting the better of an out of sorts under strength Creggan or will not be enough

Cargin have been there and done that and arguably game moved up a gear in the past couple of years.

Cargin will go in as hot favourites and those who look forward to upset put your money down for a good return

Did this kind of thing not happen wrt "the opposition for the semi final too...

Dunloy will be more worried about Loughgiel this weekend than anything and then will go back to it.

It's the same as the St Brigid's game. There's a chance Cargin will be beat but they're strong favourites and it'd be a big surprise if they were.

I did the game they played Creggan and Creggan bate them by 3..

country bumpkin

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2023, 07:12:47 PMI did the game they played Creggan and Creggan bate them by 3..

Right you are ref....should read, 'not able to get the better...........etc, etc.......

Wee Barky

Cargin are 1/4 for the cup with pp.

Hectic

I expect Cargin to come out on top but they won't have it all their own way.

The Dunloy championship team is a top half Div 1 team so no surprise to see them at this stage. 

In fact I was looking forward to seeing them play senior championship as I suspected they would leave a few bloody noses.

As said by others, no way is the occasion getting to these lads, they are stacked with players who have graced bigger occasions than the Cargin boys.

But Cargin just have more depth of footballing talent/experience and I expect that to be the difference.  And expect fouls any time Dunloy turn the ball over within their own 45.

Won't mind being wrong though.

country bumpkin

So rumour has it Cuchullian's lost interest in the hurling championship......

BrendanAntrim

Perhaps not the result today that Cargin would have hoped for or expected

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: BrendanAntrim on October 01, 2023, 05:07:37 PMPerhaps not the result today that Cargin would have hoped for or expected

Totally irrelevant to us about a hurling result tbh means nothing

BrendanAntrim

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on October 01, 2023, 05:14:11 PM
Quote from: BrendanAntrim on October 01, 2023, 05:07:37 PMPerhaps not the result today that Cargin would have hoped for or expected

Totally irrelevant to us about a hurling result tbh means nothing

👍

Quote from: country bumpkin on October 01, 2023, 04:40:09 PMSo rumour has it Cuchullian's lost interest in the hurling championship......

Is that the same rumours that they bate an out of sorts Creggan?  ;D