Dublin V Mayo, Saturday 29th March2014. Croke Park 7.00 pm.

Started by moysider, March 19, 2014, 12:08:57 AM

Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 19, 2014, 02:10:17 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 19, 2014, 12:16:03 PM
Yearrah stop muddying the waters Lar with all that stuff.
Nobody is saying JH is not the best man to manage the team. At least I m not.

You say you know next to nothing about some young fella and then say it s in nobody's interest if he refuses to rejoin the panel! Have you ever even seen him play?

I would suggest it is a lot of people's interest he rejoin. Anybody that cares about Mayo football anyway.
Just get the best players involved period. Do you really think that a lad that played on one leg for his county U21 team last week would refuse to be involved in the senior set up?
It doesn t take a Henry Kissinger to work this out.
C'mon moy, you should know by now that I'm not trying to stir anything up.
I'm afraid you are very wide of the mark with everything you've said about me above.
I did say "it's in nobody's interest if he refuses to re-join the panel" and you retort by saying, "I would suggest it is a lot of people's interest he rejoin."
So where's the difference?
According to my concept of logic, we're both saying exactly the same thing.
If you think we're not, maybe you'd tell me why.
I mean if it' in nobody's interest if he refuses to re-join then it logically follows that it's in everyone's interest that he should.

BTW, I was at pains to say he wasn't dropped because of injury but the bro felt this could well have been the reason-that's all.

You say, "Just get the best players involved period." And here am I scratching my butt and trying to figure out where I said anything to the contrary. I cant spot it but if you can, let me know.
Am I saying that, "Do you really think that a lad that played on one leg for his county U21 team last week would refuse to be involved in the senior set up? "
Well, I am or at least I was but I'm going by what you and a few others have had to say on the  subject on (very) numerous occasions in the past.
Take what maigheo had to say at the beginning of his last post, "Jeez Moy I know you are probably only hopping balls  but you have to let the Regan thing go.The simple fact is that it is his own choice that he is not on the panel."
I notice you have not contradicted this.
So, will you do so now or will you accept that the bolded bit is true?

I interpreted that to mean that it was nobody s interest or business if he was in the panel or not.
I accept that I picked you up wrong there.
I do not accept that the bold bit is true. He was cut from the panel when he was fit and well. In fact he was flying. The Sunday before he was dropped he scored 3 goals from play and there was speculation that he was going to start next championship match. Somebody decided to teach him a lesson or something and here we are.

Unlike Rosnarun (who hates everything Ballina and would have Cafferkey cooling his heels) this is not a parochial thing. Doesn t matter to me where a lad is from as long as he can play.

Crete Boom

Quote from: rosnarun on March 19, 2014, 02:21:26 PM
Waste of breath talking to ballina men about regan as untill he plays Senior Championship football for mayo they can consider him the best player in the county and there will be no proof other wise. who know he could be the next Austin o Malley.
I would alway reckon Mark butler was the most skilful player I have seen play for Mayo and God bless him he never Played enough to prove me wrong.
but then im a Glass  half full type of Guy

Says the man who would probably argue that Liam O' Malley/ Keith Conroy/Billie Joe/Connor Moran would all deserve a starting place at no.3 ahead of Ger Caff and Fintan Ruddy is still probably better than David Clarke! ;D ;D ;D
Bring  back John Healy I say , still the best keeper in Mayo bar none! ;D ;D ;D
Also since when did Austie O Malley become a Ballina man? ::) Also Evan has played senior intercounty football in the national league for Mayo in 2012 and 2013 so yes his status as our saviour is finite and reducing by the day which Horan should know!!! ::) ::)

On a serious note while I think Evan is better than at least three inside men in the squad that could feature later on in the summer I think he would find it hard if he rejoined now to put himself ahead of Cillian , Freeman , Mikey Sweeney , Andy and Jason Doc but it would still be nice to have him because there is a real chance he would make an impact in case of loss of form or injuries to any of the above. Hopefully we won't have to find this out with a bit of luck.

Crete Boom

Quote from: moysider on March 19, 2014, 03:42:14 PM
Unlike Rosnarun (who hates everything Ballina and would have Cafferkey cooling his heels) this is not a parochial thing. Doesn t matter to me where a lad is from as long as he can play.

He doesn't seem to like men from Louisburgh either! ;)

Quote from: Crete Boom on March 19, 2014, 04:32:39 PM

Ya Ros, you need to let it go. Whatever might have happened, be it a dodgy curry chip from Tastymacs, getting kicked out of the pulse, shifting a Spanish student on fireworks night that turned out to be a Maughan from behind the font , a clip in an U14 blitz..these things happen, we're sorry.

Crete Boom

Quote from: ballinaman on March 19, 2014, 04:41:01 PM

Ya Ros, you need to let it go. Whatever might have happened, be it a dodgy curry chip from Tastymacs, getting kicked out of the pulse, shifting a Spanish student on fireworks night that turned out to be a Maughan from behind the font , a clip in an U14 blitz..these things happen, we're sorry.

I would say he's more from the era of Archies , Mr Chips , Caffollas , the Deanwood , Rugby Club Disco and Belleek castle. ;D
I as Ballina man Ros am not sorry by the way so quit your whinging! ;D

Quote from: Crete Boom on March 19, 2014, 04:51:35 PM

I would say he's more from the era of Archies , Mr Chips , Caffollas , the Deanwood , Rugby Club Disco and Belleek castle. ;D

A night out in Balinyaaa would traumatise any man. Going to "the north Mayo capital"  ::) ::) ::) is our personal Vietnam.

"North-Mayo Capital" always gives me a chuckle, what next, Belmullet self styling itself the North-West Mayo capital!

Crete Boom

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 19, 2014, 05:01:11 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 19, 2014, 04:51:35 PM

A night out in Balinyaaa would traumatise any man. Going to "the north Mayo capital"  ::) ::) ::) is our personal Vietnam.

"North-Mayo Capital" always gives me a chuckle, what next, Belmullet self styling itself the North-West Mayo capital!

Fellas from south Mayo always make me chuckle especially when they are trying to play football ;D

squire_in_navy_slacks

Any truth in the murmurings of David Brady coming back as a FF off the bench ????

Oh the old days, I remember football before it became netball.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: muppet on March 19, 2014, 05:56:10 PM

Indeed clothes lines and lads getting eyes gouged out  ;)

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: muppet on March 19, 2014, 06:08:16 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 19, 2014, 06:06:07 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D never gets old ...................................any vids of whelan and brady lumping each other ???
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgTQzy7VDtY

The commentary on this is brilliant:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc9VY7BKKCw

David Brady quotes: http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-features/mayo-v-dublin-some-of-the-very-best-david-brady-quotes/

"As a man says..."
The line David begins practically every sentence with.
"It was GAA porn yesterday without a doubt."
The quality of some games is enough to get David excited. Very excited.
"I'd wear a pink g-string if Mayo were to win the All-Ireland."
Be afraid Mayo people, be very afraid.
"Every man, woman and monkey didn't give them a chance."
Reacting to Mayo beating Cork in the 2011 Championship.
"I sought an extra ticket from the Mayo County Board last year and my letter and blank cheque were returned with the request denied!"
Apparently a previous Brady blank cheque had bounced (in case the bank ask, we're only joking).
"I've been a loser all my life but today, Hogan Stand boy, pick up the cup."
A breathless Brady after winning an All-Ireland club title with Ballina in 2005.
"Before the game, through constant reminders from John Maughan, that cheer had become a samba dance with added whooping and hollering."
Allegedly there was a big cheer in the Tyrone dressing room after they drew Mayo in the 2004 All-Ireland quarter-final, so it was used as a motivation ploy by John Maughan before a game that Mayo would go on to win.
"They've probably slept together but they've never played together (in midfield), the two O'Shea brothers."
It's obviously not as relevant this season but it was before the O'Shea siblings played in midfield together in the 2011 Championship.

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 19, 2014, 05:46:08 PM
Any truth in the murmurings of David Brady coming back as a FF off the bench ????

You do realise that that picture is what happened after Whelan tried to front up to and push Brady.

Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 19, 2014, 06:06:07 PM

They ruined hurling with those helmet yokes.