GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: cornetto on July 19, 2015, 04:14:41 PM

Title: galway v donegal
Post by: cornetto on July 19, 2015, 04:14:41 PM
Am I right in saying Tyrone cannot meet done gal so itl be galway v donegal?
Title: Re: galway v donegal
Post by: StephenC on July 19, 2015, 05:12:10 PM
Capitalised this thread title please.

We took Galway in Castlebar and took them in Sligo. Expect we'll be back in one of those venues.
Post by: joemamas on July 19, 2015, 05:14:58 PM
Quote from: StephenC on July 19, 2015, 05:12:10 PM

We took Galway in Castlebar and took them in Sligo. Expect we'll be back in one of those venues.

Croke Park saturday August 1st doubleheader
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2015, 05:43:17 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 19, 2015, 05:14:58 PM

If they actually do that it's utter madness.
Post by: joemamas on July 19, 2015, 05:46:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 19, 2015, 05:43:17 PM

If they actually do that it's utter madness.

And????
That is the end result of the provincial honchos doing away with the four Qfinals on the one weekend. It is preset, I am a season ticket holder, and tickets are printed.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 19, 2015, 05:52:27 PM
Is the packages not for the quarter and semi finals? None involve round 4 of the qualifiers?
Post by: Sidney on July 19, 2015, 05:52:37 PM

(http://media.giphy.com/media/n1RJwTK8oMD5K/giphy.gif)
Post by: Duine Eile on July 20, 2015, 01:19:28 PM
Game fixed for Croke Park, 1st August at 6pm, double header with Sligo and Tyrone.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 20, 2015, 01:29:08 PM
Suits me down to the ground but I can't see a huge crowd heading to Croke Park for those fixtures.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 20, 2015, 01:30:46 PM
Was hoping for Sligo or Castlebar myself but Croker it is, can't see there being a massive crowd at it.
Post by: joemamas on July 20, 2015, 01:54:58 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 20, 2015, 01:30:46 PM
Was hoping for Sligo or Castlebar myself but Croker it is, can't see there being a massive crowd at it.

Massive crowd :).

20k max, which means an 80k stadium will be 25% occupied. What planning.
Last week I was thinking that if Sligo were playing that weekend, the GAA should give 2k free tickets to all the national schools in Sligo, just to promote football withing the county for the next generation, as they generally only play there every 5-7 years. Now I don't even think that would work.

Not sure how many Tyrone people will travel, as they most likely will be doing the same the week after. ditto for galway and Donegal. Scheduling "committee " and I am being kind with that description, should be named and shamed for this allowing such a scenario to occur.

They have taken away the potential for an incredible weekend of Football with four Q/Finals in 24 hours, where they had the potential to market the living shite out of it, have the stadium filled to the gills with a bit of creativity, and look at what they did.

If you are an independent Thinking GAA executive (if there is such a thing) and you are in a potential ghost town Croke park a week from Saturday, wtf are you really thinking.

Just scratching the surface with this but you get my drift.   
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 20, 2015, 01:57:00 PM
I don't really get the logic of sending two western seaboard teams to play a qualifier in Croke Park. Especially when there are at least two perfectly suitable grounds right in between the two counties.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 02:15:43 PM
I'm happy the games in Croker, will suit Galway better.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 02:20:23 PM
The GAA always sells itself as being of the people. For the local community. But you have to wonder at dragging Donegal an Galway people up to Croker when McHale Park is available. There would be an atmosphere and many would make a weekend of it. Both counties have big ties with Mayo. But it looks like the Corporate boxes need to be accommodated.
Post by: ck on July 20, 2015, 02:21:32 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 02:15:43 PM

Really? How so? Donegal have played in Croke park regularly over the past few years!

From a Sligo point of view I'm delighted to get a Croke Park game. Yeah there are more neutral venues but the double header is attractive and will attract more neutral supporters. I'll be there with bells on, Tyrone hot hot favs. Way to have it.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 20, 2015, 02:23:56 PM
There'll be a poor enough atmosphere at these - should have been fixed for Breffni / Brewster / McHale
Post by: Canalman on July 20, 2015, 02:25:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 02:20:23 PM
The GAA always sells itself as being of the people. For the local community. But you have to wonder at dragging Donegal an Galway people up to Croker when McHale Park is available. There would be an atmosphere and many would make a weekend of it. Both counties have big ties with Mayo. But it looks like the Corporate boxes need to be accommodated.

Fix the match for Mayo or Roscommon/ Tullamore etc and the two counties would go berserk about not playing in CP.
Broohaha  from Mayo about having to suffer playing  a replay in Limerick last year probably fresh in the mind.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 02:32:22 PM
Quote from: ck on July 20, 2015, 02:21:32 PM

Really? How so? Donegal have played in Croke park regularly over the past few years!

From a Sligo point of view I'm delighted to get a Croke Park game. Yeah there are more neutral venues but the double header is attractive and will attract more neutral supporters. I'll be there with bells on, Tyrone hot hot favs. Way to have it.

Donegal all year will have expected to be in Croker for a quarter final appearance on the 2nd weekend in August not for a qualifier on the 1st weekend. They may find it difficult to get up for this game mentally, it depends which way you look at it;it may turn out to be the perfect tonic for them and give them a left as opposed to playing in McHale park. Only time will tell.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 02:36:33 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 20, 2015, 02:25:37 PM

Fix the match for Mayo or Roscommon/ Tullamore etc and the two counties would go berserk about not playing in CP.
Broohaha  from Mayo about having to suffer playing  a replay in Limerick last year probably fresh in the mind.

This is a qualifier game! The game in Limerick was an AI semi-final played in one of the teams province!  As a dub you know nothing about having to travel to Championship matches, so i would not expect you to understand this.
Post by: Canalman on July 20, 2015, 02:53:21 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 02:36:33 PM

This is a qualifier game! The game in Limerick was an AI semi-final played in one of the teams province!  As a dub you know nothing about having to travel to Championship matches, so i would not expect you to understand this.

Except for 1983 AISF replay of course.
Post by: Sidney on July 20, 2015, 03:44:52 PM

We've had three senior championship matches at provincial venues already this year and it'll be four next Sunday.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2015, 03:46:20 PM

Are you serious or just winding up the Rhus?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 03:51:03 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 20, 2015, 03:44:52 PM

We've had three senior championship matches at provincial venues already this year and it'll be four next Sunday.

Wake up! This is the football section of Gaaboard.com Hurling has little or nothing to do with anything here! Jez, talk about throwing in a red herring!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 03:55:00 PM
Quote from: Canalman on July 20, 2015, 02:53:21 PM

Except for 1983 AISF replay of course.

1983, lets see that's 32 years ago! You are going to give me any example 32 years old. Feck you are scraping the bottom of the barrell.
Post by: Sidney on July 20, 2015, 04:02:02 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 03:51:03 PM

Wake up! This is the football section of Gaaboard.com Hurling has little or nothing to do with anything here! Jez, talk about throwing in a red herring!
Somebody from a county which doesn't take hurling seriously like Mayo would say that. I was under the impression that the two games were run by the one organisation, but sure what do I know.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 04:07:15 PM
Quote from: Sidney on July 20, 2015, 04:02:02 PM

Somebody from a county which doesn't take hurling seriously like Mayo would say that. I was under the impression that the two games were run by the one organisation, but sure what do I know.

True, nothing to do with Mayo or this conversation. Move on!
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2015, 05:04:34 PM

Maybe, but its a bit like American Football and Baseball being run by same organisation.
Look I've nothing against hurling. Sometimes I even watch a game.
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2015, 05:56:04 PM

I doubt that.
A match between Donegal and Galway in Castlebar would get thousands of Mayo people alone attending. Altogether would get 20,000+
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 05:56:34 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 20, 2015, 05:04:34 PM

Maybe, but its a bit like American Football and Baseball being run by same organisation.
Look I've nothing against hurling. Sometimes I even watch a game.

I have nothing against hurling either, I bring my kids to play for the parish club. It's a good game, but it is more foreign to me than Soccer.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 06:01:28 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 20, 2015, 05:56:04 PM

I doubt that.
A match between Donegal and Galway in Castlebar would get thousands of Mayo people alone attending. Altogether would get 20,000+

Agreed, Mayo people would go to this to see their potential QF opponent and a lot more would be just GAA heads and go to see a good game. Being honest it's really about the Corporate boxes and Vendors at Croke Park. Even with a small crowd, Burgers and drink have to be sold and profits made. Not all the money earned comes from tickets sales.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2015, 06:15:01 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 06:01:28 PM

I doubt that.

Agreed, Mayo people would go to this to see their potential QF opponent and a lot more would be just GAA heads and go to see a good game. Being honest it's really about the Corporate boxes and Vendors at Croke Park. Even with a small crowd, Burgers and drink have to be sold and profits made. Not all the money earned comes from tickets sales.

I'd go if it was local but thousands would be massively pushing it. A few hundred die-hard GAA neutrals at best would attend.
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2015, 08:04:42 PM

A very attractive tie Sy. Maybe not as much interest amongst Rossies.

Hell I even had a carload go watch Sligo v Roscommon already and they are hardly A listers.
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2015, 08:23:59 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 20, 2015, 08:04:42 PM

A very attractive tie Sy. Maybe not as much interest amongst Rossies.

Hell I even had a carload go watch Sligo v Roscommon already and they are hardly A listers.

I've been at a few of these 'attractive' R4 matches and finding a neutral is like finding a Mayoman with an AI medal.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 20, 2015, 10:16:46 PM
And what about Ros men with AI medals??

Galway will beat Donegal. They have great tradition in Croke Park. (well not recently, but I do think they'll win).
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2015, 10:27:57 PM

Yip. Galway are a Croke Park team.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 20, 2015, 10:33:27 PM
This is definitely Mayo's year lads. Look how they have destroyed everyone in Connacht.

This will be a huge test for Galway. I'm sure if on the off chance Galway win it'll no doubt be the refs fault again. Unfortunately I feel this Donegal team will put an end to our destruction of Ulster football.

Great to have Shane Walsh back, but with Murphy back fully fit I fear we will be on the end of a Donegal return to form.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 10:40:57 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 20, 2015, 10:33:27 PM
This is definitely Mayo's year lads. Look how they have destroyed everyone in Connacht.

This will be a huge test for Galway. I'm sure if on the off chance Galway win it'll no doubt be the refs fault again. Unfortunately I feel this Donegal team will put an end to our destruction of Ulster football.

Great to have Shane Walsh back, but with Murphy back fully fit I fear we will be on the end of a Donegal return to form.

There is one comment that sticks in the throat of Mayo people when we beat Galway - Go on and win an AI now! The subtitle of this is ye may have beat us but ye won't win an AI.

This is definitely Mayo's year lads. Would run that comment close and is a jibe with the same subtitle!
Post by: DJGaliv on July 20, 2015, 10:43:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 10:40:57 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 20, 2015, 10:33:27 PM

There is one comment that sticks in the throat of Mayo people when we beat Galway - Go on and win an AI now! The subtitle of this is ye may have beat us but ye won't win an AI.

This is definitely Mayo's year lads. Would run that comment close and is a jibe with the same subtitle!

Oh no, don't be confused, there is no subtitle. This is purely a jibe
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2015, 11:00:35 PM

Whatever. The reality is though that Galway have been nowhere near a top team since football was reinvented in 2002. However the smugness and superiority will persist for some time yet.

Still this is a game Galway can win. Especially if Murphy is still bandaged up.

The trick will be to be patient enough and disciplined. It can t have been easy for the Galway lads in Salthill listening to some of the fans roaring at them to kick the ball in long and early when they are probing for openings. What are these fans watching and what do they expect to happen if the ball is kicked into a massed defense?? Retaining possession and being patient won the Derry game.

You have to wonder how yon Comer will respond to the er..um.. 'attention' of young McGee. I assume he's a steady chap.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 11:10:30 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 20, 2015, 10:27:57 PM

r

Having not won a game there since 2001 I'd beg to differ.

We've a small chance, I do think Donegal will find it hard to get up for the game though, that's only natural. To what extent we won't know until game day but given certain players have looked tired and the energy that was there against Armagh has disappeared. Mentally they will have prepared for a 3 week break after the Ulster a Final until the quarter final, I'd like to think this will help Galway too.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 11:17:25 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 11:10:30 PM

r

We've a small chance, I do think Donegal will find it hard to get up for the game though, that's only natural. To what extent we won't know until game day but given certain players have looked tired and the energy that was there against Armagh has disappeared. Mentally they will have prepared for a 3 week break after the Ulster a Final until the quarter final, I'd like to think this will help Galway too.

This week Donegal will feel like shite. But once the week is over and they head toward the game the following week they will be a lot more settled. In the old days the six day turn around was a killer both mentally and physically. Still a great game for Galway. They will learn a lot about themselves playing a team like Donegal.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 11:30:27 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2015, 11:17:25 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2015, 11:10:30 PM

r

This week Donegal will feel like shite. But once the week is over and they head toward the game the following week they will be a lot more settled. In the old days the six day turn around was a killer both mentally and physically. Still a great game for Galway. They will learn a lot about themselves playing a team like Donegal.

Hence my disappointment when McBrearty kicked that wide. I'd have been feeling confident meeting either Monaghan or Donegal if they'd gone to a replay.

Post by: BluestackBoy on July 20, 2015, 11:55:21 PM

I doubt that.

I was under the impression hat Croke Park needed a crowd of 30,000+ to break even.

If that's the case then they may well be on to a loser. I for one will not be travelling to a cavernous 2/3 empty Croke Park, with all the atmosphere of a shopping centre car park, for a game that will see me home at around midnight on a bank holiday weekend.

Croke Park may well have no respect for us but at least I get the chance to say "No way José".
Post by: Rossfan on July 21, 2015, 12:02:37 AM
The 4A games are being held at neutral venues in between the 2 Counties concerned.
Don't know why the same couldn't be done with the 4Bs.
Post by: moysider on July 21, 2015, 12:14:45 AM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 20, 2015, 11:55:21 PM

I doubt that.

I was under the impression hat Croke Park needed a crowd of 30,000+ to break even.

If that's the case then they may well be on to a loser. I for one will not be travelling to a cavernous 2/3 empty Croke Park, with all the atmosphere of a shopping centre car park, for a game that will see me home at around midnight on a bank holiday weekend.

Croke Park may well have no respect for us but at least I get the chance to say "No way José".

Fair play to ye. I wouldn t drive to an empty CP for a qualifier in a fit. It will hardly be watchable on tv either. Full of echoes and pigeons.
Post by: cicfada on July 21, 2015, 12:42:34 AM
Football reinvented in 2002?? Peddling that really makes no sense . Imagine Kerry's all Ireland successes in the 70s and 80s being deemed  irrelevant due to "football being reinvented" as a result of the prevelance of hand passing then?? I don't think so! Galway have had their difficulties for a while but it doesn't make the successes in 98 and 01 any less valuable They beat whoever they came up against at that time. I would put the lack of success down recently to a prolonged stay in Div 2 to be honest and conversely Mayo have prospered in Div 1. in the meantime we wait for Mayo to finally seal the deal in the all Ireland final and I think they have as good a chance as anyone. Donegal will beat Galway and then I feel Mayo will beat them. After that it's the Dubs and  who knows then ? I am in admiration of Mayos resilience and if the full back line is addressed then it could be their year. Good luck to them, it would be great to see it happen, finally !!
Post by: moysider on July 21, 2015, 01:26:58 AM
Quote from: cicfada on July 21, 2015, 12:42:34 AM
Football reinvented in 2002?? Peddling that really makes no sense . Imagine Kerry's all Ireland successes in the 70s and 80s being deemed  irrelevant due to "football being reinvented" as a result of the prevelance of hand passing then?? I don't think so! Galway have had their difficulties for a while but it doesn't make the successes in 98 and 01 any less valuable They beat whoever they came up against at that time. I would put the lack of success down recently to a prolonged stay in Div 2 to be honest and conversely Mayo have prospered in Div 1. in the meantime we wait for Mayo to finally seal the deal in the all Ireland final and I think they have as good a chance as anyone. Donegal will beat Galway and then I feel Mayo will beat them. After that it's the Dubs and  who knows then ? I am in admiration of Mayos resilience and if the full back line is addressed then it could be their year. Good luck to them, it would be great to see it happen, finally !!

Of course they are not irrelevant.
It's hard to do tongue in cheek in print. But stuff won 14/ 17 years ago is about as relevant now as stuff won 70 years ago.
Johnno did grand for ye but by the time we got him second time the game had passed him and others like Boylan, Micko and other legends by. If we had a more 'tactical' manager 07-10 then maybe Horan wouldn t have had to bridge such a gap in preparation and tactics and we might have made it. But we had to go from losing to Sligo and Longford to beating AI champions in one year. And then face Kerry!

As regards our fb line, the only way to address that is to completely restructure the way we play. Horan wasn t willing to do that and even though the present management seem more practical I can t see them take the drastic step. If we has the wait could have been over already. Of all the top teams we have the best hand for a counter-attacking running game off a blanket. I'm not sure if its a case of management not wanting to sell out or not seeing it.
Post by: Manning18 on July 21, 2015, 12:30:25 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 21, 2015, 01:26:58 AM

It's hard to do tongue in cheek in print. But stuff won 14/ 17 years ago is about as relevant now as stuff won 70 years ago.
Johnno did grand for ye but by the time we got him second time the game had passed him and others like Boylan, Micko and other legends by. If we had a more 'tactical' manager 07-10 then maybe Horan wouldn t have had to bridge such a gap in preparation and tactics and we might have made it. But we had to go from losing to Sligo and Longford to beating AI champions in one year. And then face Kerry!

As regards our fb line, the only way to address that is to completely restructure the way we play. Horan wasn t willing to do that and even though the present management seem more practical I can t see them take the drastic step. If we has the wait could have been over already. Of all the top teams we have the best hand for a counter-attacking running game off a blanket. I'm not sure if its a case of management not wanting to sell out or not seeing it.

It seemed so at the time. In hindsight, i'd have probably won two AI's with that group of players.

While 14 yrs ago isnt especially relevant today, the smugness stems from the vast majority of us actually being around for those two great performances. It softens the blow of being largely shiite most years since then
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 21, 2015, 01:45:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 21, 2015, 01:26:58 AM

Many of us can remember the triumphs of 1998 and 2001 so its clearly more relevant than something that happened 70 years ago that none of will have seen.

I agree the only way to address it is to restructure your tactical approach. Its admirable that Horan and the 2 fella's now keep faith with the same system, its left you just short in the past although luck certainly evaded Mayo last summer and will likely leave Mayo short again. Looking from the outside I'd certainly agree that Mayo appear to have the players to make a counter attacking running game a success. It would be a hugely odd decision not to give it a go next year it this year ends without success.
Post by: Hound on July 21, 2015, 05:05:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 21, 2015, 12:14:45 AM

Fair play to ye. I wouldn t drive to an empty CP for a qualifier in a fit. It will hardly be watchable on tv either. Full of echoes and pigeons.
Jayz, if all the lads who said they're not going because Croker will be near empty, actually went instead, it wouldn't be so empty!
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2015, 02:45:38 PM
I've seen claims elsewhere that Lacey is certainly out whilst Murphy is very doubtful. What injury does Murphy have?
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2015, 02:54:46 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2015, 02:45:38 PM
I've seen claims elsewhere that Lacey is certainly out whilst Murphy is very doubtful. What injury does Murphy have?

I assume it's his knee. It had more tape on it than Watergate.
Post by: moysider on July 23, 2015, 03:11:25 PM

Big swing to Galway there.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2015, 03:29:37 PM

If Murphy is a a 50/50 call I think that Donegal will probably figure that they might be able to get away with leaving him on the bench for this game, especially given that the Mayo-Donegal match will only be a week later, he does look injured to be fair, very hampered in his movement and was well below his best in the Ulster Final
Post by: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 03:47:57 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2015, 03:29:37 PM

If Murphy is a a 50/50 call I think that Donegal will probably figure that they might be able to get away with leaving him on the bench for this game, especially given that the Mayo-Donegal match will only be a week later, he does look injured to be fair, very hampered in his movement and was well below his best in the Ulster Final

There's no way in hell Donegal will be resting Murphy, unless his leg has come off at the knee, especially when you look at the rest of their squad/their options in terms of replacing him.

They might take him off (unlikely) but there is very little chance they won't start him.

Donegal reaping the "reward" of not doing more to develop players in the league - when you only give 19 players starts in the league, you are always going to be very susceptible to injuries, especially to your top players. Injuries will always happen and Donegal's approach seems to have been a case of cross their fingers, close their eyes and hope against hope.

As a contrast Dublin had 31 different starters in the league.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 23, 2015, 03:53:53 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 03:47:57 PM

There's no way in hell Donegal will be resting Murphy, unless his leg has come off at the knee, especially when you look at the rest of their squad/their options in terms of replacing him.

They might take him off (unlikely) but there is very little chance they won't start him.

Donegal reaping the "reward" of not doing more to develop players in the league - when you only give 19 players starts in the league, you are always going to be very susceptible to injuries, especially to your top players. Injuries will always happen and Donegal's approach seems to have been a case of cross their fingers, close their eyes and hope against hope.

Jez you can't really compare anyone at the present time to Dublin squad wise? Maybe Kerry, Mayo, Cork?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 23, 2015, 04:24:52 PM
Squad wise no one compares to Dublin. Dublin could very possibly field two teams who'd hold their own in division 1 of the league. If not their 2nd team could definitely challenge most counties. Donegal have a bit more depth this year with the 2 McHugh's so they can have good cover in half backs but they haven't much up front. (No way could they play the two McHugh's up front). McLoone may make a difference though and if McFadden were to get his shooting boots on though he can be very hit and miss - more miss these days.

Twohands you love your stats...
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2015, 04:31:57 PM

He was very hampered in his movement, players breezed past him on several occasion in the first half which led to scores.
Post by: Nihilist on July 23, 2015, 05:01:22 PM
It must be good news that Shane Walsh played the last few mins against Derry as well.
I assume he will be fighting for his place on this team now.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 08:01:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 23, 2015, 04:24:52 PM
Squad wise no one compares to Dublin. Dublin could very possibly field two teams who'd hold their own in division 1 of the league. If not their 2nd team could definitely challenge most counties. Donegal have a bit more depth this year with the 2 McHugh's so they can have good cover in half backs but they haven't much up front. (No way could they play the two McHugh's up front). McLoone may make a difference though and if McFadden were to get his shooting boots on though he can be very hit and miss - more miss these days.

In the league
Dublin 31 starters
Mayo 31 starters
Cork 26 starters
Kerry 23 [significantly with Kerry they rested/had a lot out injured - none of JOD, Gooch, O'Mahony, Marc O'Se, Donncahdh Walsh, Paul Galvin or Darran Sullivan started a league game for them ; basically Kerry are far closer to Dublin/Mayo than they are to Donegal.
Monaghan 21
Donegal 19
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 23, 2015, 09:39:50 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 08:01:15 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 23, 2015, 04:24:52 PM

In the league
Dublin 31 starters
Mayo 31 starters
Cork 26 starters
Kerry 23 [significantly with Kerry they rested/had a lot out injured - none of JOD, Gooch, O'Mahony, Marc O'Se, Donncahdh Walsh, Paul Galvin or Darran Sullivan started a league game for them ; basically Kerry are far closer to Dublin/Mayo than they are to Donegal.
Monaghan 21
Donegal 19

twohands, you need to get out more!!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 23, 2015, 10:18:13 PM
How many did antrim have ;-)

Yeah i notice you continually reference donegal and four subs. Mcloone coming back will add though. If they lose a big player they have no replacement. Gallagher and murphy the main two i think though mcbrearty moving toward irreplaceable. Thompson and a mchugh good replacements. The rest wouldn't have too much of an impact.

I hope what o'se / o'connor did at weekend influences them to at least occassionally play two in the ff line.
Post by: Whitnail on July 24, 2015, 12:30:59 AM
Anyone know if this is a sky or Rte thing yet?
Post by: moysider on July 24, 2015, 12:52:43 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 23, 2015, 03:47:57 PM

They wont be resting him. But he is not going to be anywhere right if he manages to play at any stag.
Post by: Goldengreen on July 24, 2015, 11:25:01 AM
Quote from: Whitnail on July 24, 2015, 12:30:59 AM
Anyone know if this is a sky or Rte thing yet?

SKY have it
Post by: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:04:45 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 25, 2015, 06:21:12 PM
Trouble in Donegal camp with one player who can't handle his drink prompting threats of walkouts from other players.

Big challenge for Rory Gallagher.  Personal friendship with the player's family mean that he is not doing what needs to be done.

Sad to see from a Donegal point of view.
You may as well name names  ::)
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:13:22 PM
Trouble in Donegal camp with one player who can't handle his drink prompting threats of walkouts from other players.

Big challenge for Rory Gallagher.  Personal friendship with the player's family mean that he is not doing what needs to be done.

What exactly happened?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:30:48 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 25, 2015, 08:28:35 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:04:45 PM

You don't need to be a brain surgeon to figure it out.

I meant who was involved
Post by: Sidney on July 25, 2015, 10:31:43 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 25, 2015, 10:17:20 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 25, 2015, 08:30:48 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 25, 2015, 08:28:35 PM
Quote from: general_lee on July 25, 2015, 07:04:45 PM

You don't need to be a brain surgeon to figure it out.

I meant who was involved

The answer stays the same, you don't need to be a brain surgeon to figure it out.
Does the player also have a brother on the team?
Post by: StephenC on July 25, 2015, 11:48:31 PM

Some lad publicising rumours and the like on a public message board.
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2015, 11:58:28 PM
Perhaps a few posts could be deleted.
Awful stuff to be posting.
Post by: J70 on July 27, 2015, 05:44:58 PM
Lacey confirmed out for this game. Murphy and McBrearty, according to Rory Gallagher (in the Times) are fit.

Presumably Thompson into the half-back line and Frank McGlynn moves to centre back. Simplest, most obvious switch.
Post by: cornetto on July 27, 2015, 11:49:17 PM
Murphy will be like o shea thrown in at full forward,think galway will have a plan in place.hope galway forwards can win the day.big ask. But hoping!
Post by: rrhf on July 28, 2015, 07:17:03 AM
The battle of the cornetto counties.
Post by: ck on July 28, 2015, 04:40:42 PM

I doubt that.

What a loyal supporter you are Bluestack. ..I'd say you'd take a different attitude if All-Ireland final tickets were being handed out.
Post by: onlooker11 on July 28, 2015, 04:51:29 PM
What do people think the attendance will be for the double header? If they get 30k Ill be amazed
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2015, 07:00:33 PM
Quote from: ck on July 28, 2015, 04:40:42 PM

I doubt that.

What a loyal supporter you are Bluestack. ..I'd say you'd take a different attitude if All-Ireland final tickets were being handed out.

Loyalty is one thing! Stupidity is another! As BSB says it will be virtually midnight when he gets home from headquarters. I'm sure he'd love to be there. But the round trip is madness for a last 12 game! A Bank Holiday weekend should not be taken up spending most of your time on the road. It should be relax time. This fixture is for the convenience of the Sky TV cameras. Not for the Fan. So If i was a fan I'd take full advantage of Sky TVs Cameras!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 28, 2015, 07:15:30 PM
Quote from: onlooker11 on July 28, 2015, 04:51:29 PM
What do people think the attendance will be for the double header? If they get 30k Ill be amazed

I'll go for 14 thousand or so. In Croker that will mean lots of empty space.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 28, 2015, 10:00:29 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 27, 2015, 05:44:58 PM
Lacey confirmed out for this game. Murphy and McBrearty, according to Rory Gallagher (in the Times) are fit.

Presumably Thompson into the half-back line and Frank McGlynn moves to centre back. Simplest, most obvious switch.

Whatever the knee injury he had coming into the Monaghan game I doubt playing 70 minutes helped it. I'd be amazed if 2 weeks later he's managed to get himself fully fit.

I've seen a few comments elsewhere that suggest there's a few problems in the Donegal camp although it's funny how we never hear of problems when a team is winning, a defeat seems to bring out all the negatives.

As for the game I'm hoping Comer is switched to centre half forward, he will provide more of a physical edge than Conroy.

I do think it's a tough game for Donegal mentally, it's a game they weren't expecting and I'd imagine they'd have been preparing for a 3 week break after beating Monaghan not a 2 week break after a defeat. I'm hoping this may give Galway the edge.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 28, 2015, 10:47:44 PM
Shane Walsh is back right?
Post by: Duine Eile on July 28, 2015, 11:38:11 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 28, 2015, 10:47:44 PM

He is but I think he'll start this game on the bench, he's only had about ten minutes game time since his injury. If he was to start it would probably involve completely restructuring the half and full forward line. The most likely player to be dropped is probably Ó Griofa (personally I think I'd drop Conroy, but that won't happen) so do management put Lundy back in the corner and move Conroy to the wing? Hard to know!
Post by: Nihilist on July 29, 2015, 08:26:31 AM
Walsh was Galway's best player last year. If he is fit enough he should start. I understand the theory about it being his first proper game back etc. but Galway should start with their strongest possible 15 and I would include Walsh in that. Personally I would move Conroy back to the edge of the square. I think that's his most dangerous position and he is a good target man. I would put Comer to the corner  with a somewhat free role and Lundy going to 1/2 fw line with his pace.
Post by: onlooker11 on July 29, 2015, 12:28:51 PM
The lack of goal chances Donegal are making is a big worry for me. Not even a sniff against Monaghan. The O'Reilly goal against Derry was well taken and our only chance iirc. Goals win games!
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2015, 12:54:52 PM
When are the teams set to be announced?
Post by: Duine Eile on July 29, 2015, 01:20:05 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2015, 12:54:52 PM

Galway team is to be announced Thursday evening, usually around half 8 or 9 o'clock. Can't see too many changes from the team that was named to play Derry, one change at most I'd imagine if Shane starts.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2015, 01:56:24 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 28, 2015, 11:38:11 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 28, 2015, 10:47:44 PM

He is but I think he'll start this game on the bench, he's only had about ten minutes game time since his injury. If he was to start it would probably involve completely restructuring the half and full forward line. The most likely player to be dropped is probably Ó Griofa (personally I think I'd drop Conroy, but that won't happen) so do management put Lundy back in the corner and move Conroy to the wing? Hard to know!

I agree about Walsh.

Conroys form is a worry, he's been very average so far in the championship. His free taking is very hit and miss too, Sice has done a good job with the frees from right hand side and has started to take the frees that are central too.

Post by: Conallach on July 29, 2015, 02:03:28 PM
Galway could sneak this one. They're not a bad team at all, have an excellent set of forwards and pretty good midfielders to boot.

Even if the lads grind out a win, I'd fear a horrible outing against Mayo the next day. I can't see them ramping the performance levels up enough in that time.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2015, 02:07:05 PM
Quote from: Conallach on July 29, 2015, 02:03:28 PM
Galway could sneak this one. They're not a bad team at all, have an excellent set of forwards and pretty good midfielders to boot.

Even if the lads grind out a win, I'd fear a horrible outing against Mayo the next day. I can't see them ramping the performance levels up enough in that time.

If we beat Donegal we won't be playing Mayo unless Sligo beat Tyrone which is very difficult to see happening.
Post by: rosnarun on July 29, 2015, 02:17:56 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 29, 2015, 02:07:05 PM
Quote from: Conallach on July 29, 2015, 02:03:28 PM

If we beat Donegal we won't be playing Mayo unless Sligo beat Tyrone which is very difficult to see happening.

Maybe in the Final . now that would be a game for the Ages
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2015, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 29, 2015, 01:20:05 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2015, 12:54:52 PM

Galway team is to be announced Thursday evening, usually around half 8 or 9 o'clock. Can't see too many changes from the team that was named to play Derry, one change at most I'd imagine if Shane starts.

Is it not a Wednesday for a Saturday game?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 29, 2015, 02:46:43 PM
I think that is correct, unless the county board is willing to take a hit with the fine, both Galway and Mayo got fined for the late release of the starting 15 before the Connacht S-F.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 29, 2015, 03:05:23 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 29, 2015, 02:46:43 PM
I think that is correct, unless the county board is willing to take a hit with the fine, both Galway and Mayo got fined for the late release of the starting 15 before the Connacht S-F.

So it should be today?
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 29, 2015, 03:19:29 PM
I looked this up as I'm getting confused myself, this is the motion that was passed at congress:

Motion 29: This proposes a new rule, whereby, for senior inter-county championship games, a panel of 26 players (team plus subs) be registered no later than 9am on the Thursday before a weekend game. The penalty for breaking the rule is the withdrawal of sideline privileges for the manager and/or a €1000 fine. No players may be added to the registered team or panel after it has been submitted (with the exception of a goalkeeper or sub-goalkeeper) and the penalty for breaking this rule is forfeiture of the game. On the day of the match itself, a prescribed team list (as issued by the Committee-in-Charge from time to time), confirming the 15 starting players and maximum 11 additional panel members, shall be submitted to the referee not later than 20 minutes before the official starting time. A fine of €1000 will be issued for every minute after the prescribed time.

They actually don't have to publish the team to the public at all before the match, just ensure that it's registered with the GAA before 9am on the Thursday.
Galway usually send the team out the Thursday night so it'll be the same this time around I expect.
Post by: Boycey on July 30, 2015, 08:02:03 PM
As per Tyrone thread

Have 2 premium level tickets for Sat evening. Anyone from Donegal coming through Castleblayney on Sat can have them for price of two stand tickets if interested. Thanks
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2015, 08:23:32 PM
Galway team named, one change from the team that started against Derry-Adrian Varley replaces Peadar Óg Ó Griofa at corner forward.

Brian Donoghue
Johnny Duane
Finian Hanley
Cathal Sweeney
Gareth Bradshaw
Gary O'Donnell
Liam Silke
Fiontáin Ó Curraoin
Tom Flynn
Gary Sice
Paul Conroy
Micheál Lundy
Adrian Varley
Damien Comer
Danny Cummins
Post by: galwayman on July 30, 2015, 09:21:03 PM
Strange enough decision to include Varley.
He is not a guy who scores too much.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 30, 2015, 09:27:13 PM
Of the last 12 games this is the most interesting one! Donegal seem to be on the 2013 path again. They are a team that only the front door suits. If Galway are hungry enough from the beginning they will have a chance. It all about planting doubt early. A victory for Galway would no doubt bring on the confidence of this Galway side and they would surely fancy their chances against Monaghan(?).
Post by: Syferus on July 30, 2015, 10:18:21 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 30, 2015, 09:27:13 PM
Of the last 12 games this is the most interesting one! Donegal seem to be on the 2013 path again. They are a team that only the front door suits. If Galway are hungry enough from the beginning they will have a chance. It all about planting doubt early. A victory for Galway would no doubt bring on the confidence of this Galway side and they would surely fancy their chances against Monaghan(?).

If Sligo beat Tyrone Galway would get Mayo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 30, 2015, 10:28:26 PM
Hard to see that happening though Syf I'm afraid.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2015, 01:44:31 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2015, 10:18:21 PM

It would be the first game in Croker between the two since the league final 2001.
Post by: Tubberman on July 31, 2015, 06:31:21 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2015, 01:44:31 AM

It would be the first game in Croker between the two since the league final 2001.

Think we beat them in Croker in a league semi final since then.
Yep, in 2007. Thanks to WJs great archive - http://mayogaablog.com//?p=61 (http://mayogaablog.com//?p=61)
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2015, 09:32:08 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 31, 2015, 06:31:21 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2015, 01:44:31 AM

Think we beat them in Croker in a league semi final since then.
Yep, in 2007. Thanks to WJs great archive - http://mayogaablog.com//?p=61 (http://mayogaablog.com//?p=61)

Has he blacked out every reference to games played at the Hyde yet or is that more of an off-season job?
Post by: Goin Down on July 31, 2015, 11:17:05 AM
Three Connacht teams in Quarter Finals in Croke Park on the one day.... what dreams are made of  ::)
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2015, 11:48:01 AM
Galway absolutely need a have a good start to the game tomorrow, were Donegal start to really well and get on top early then it'll be a long day for both the Galway players and supporters. Aidan O'Shea torched Hanley in the Connacht semi-final and if Murphy (even injured) is deployed in the same role tomorrow for Donegal I would fear for the rack and ruin that might be caused in the Galway full back line.
To win Galway will have to get at least one goal (probably two) without conceding one. If behind during the match will probably have to stay within a point or two deficit because if Donegal get into a 3 points or more lead at any stage in the second half it's as good as over against that Donegal system.
The highest score that Donegal have conceded in the championship this year is the 1-10 that Tyrone got. Assuming that Galway can match this total or even get 14-15 points tomorrow is it likely that we'll hold Donegal to less than that? Some of the wides that Donegal hit in the Ulster final were very poor, yet they were only a point off in the finish. I'd be loath to write them off on that basis, certainly going into a match against a Division Two team.

In mitigation against Donegal, Lacey is out, Murphy is definitely carrying an injury which is really curtailing his influence in general play, they were obviously absolutely deflated at losing the Ulster final, and not just for the loss of that title but more so for the loss of the easier path to the All-Ireland final.
The Donegal players are now likely looking at having to beat Galway, Mayo (just a week after tomorrow), Dublin and Kerry to win the All Ireland. They should beat us but are they going to beat all of the other teams besides themselves in the assumed top four teams in the country in a row? I personally don't think they have a notion of doing it; surely deep down the Donegal players themselves can't be confident of coming through that potential schedule having already played Tyrone, Armagh, Derry and Monaghan to this point.
For any chance of a shock to happen Galway have to start well, stay right in touch or stay ahead if at all possible, then there is always the slim chance that Donegal might wilt a bit in the second half if it's not going well for them knowing the task to get to the All-Ireland ahead, they collapsed altogether as champs in 2013 against Mayo although obviously that Mayo team was superior to this current Galway outfit.

In terms of long term form, experience, physicality and the players available at each counties disposal then Donegal should win this match tomorrow by all rights. At the end of the day though, Galway are moving in the right direction and have definitely improved this year, we will hopefully have a right cut at it and see what happens, nothing at all to lose really as we are not going to win an All-Ireland this year, the pressure is all on Donegal to come through, outside of Kerry every team has a natural cycle, Donegal are 4 years at the top end of proceedings now and it's a valid question to ask how many more shots at Sam is this current Donegal panel going to have at this stage.

There are a lot of ifs involved for Galway to shock Donegal and come out the right side of it tomorrow, we'll have to perform to a level not seen previously seen out of this group of players and hope that Donegal are not up to their potential on the day, there's too many ifs really for Galway to see an upset in the making I think and it's likely Donegal will win by around 5 points, although I hope that winner prediction is totally wrong naturally!
Post by: mouview on July 31, 2015, 12:44:20 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2015, 11:48:01 AM

There are a lot of ifs involved for Galway to shock Donegal and come out the right side of it tomorrow, we'll have to perform to a level not seen previously seen out of this group of players and hope that Donegal are not up to their potential on the day, there's too many ifs really for Galway to see an upset in the making I think and it's likely Donegal will win by around 5 points, although I hope that winner prediction is totally wrong naturally!

Lot of 'ifs' alright, but in the football kingdom, Kerry and Dublin are Galway's only natural enemies. We believe (maybe with misplaced arrogance!) that we can beat all other teams, given that we have a fairly good team ourselves, and don't really fear nothern counties anyway, even though we're often beaten by them. Varley's inclusion raised eyebrows, perhaps he will be used to track back, with Lundy deployed in a more-attacking role.

It would be no surprise to me if we win, which worries me in itself!, but a double on Galway/Kildare + handicap could be a nice little earner.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 31, 2015, 12:56:02 PM
C'mon the 'chokers. ;)
Here's wishing ye the best od luck.
Knock football outa  them feckers heads for all time.
It would be mighty to see Galway  doing well for a change. I kinda miss the buzz that went with good Galway-Mayo championship match.  fun unless we beat a good Galway side after a rip=roaring game!
Post by: giveballaghback on July 31, 2015, 01:42:35 PM
A different Galway than the one we have seen this year so far will need to turn up in cp tomorrow to have any chance, Donegal may have lost to Monaghan but at the end they were going well and imo had one of those days, Murphy at ff with McBrearty playing off him will be two much for Galway to handle, I really hope Galway can win this but im afraid we have not seen anything to suggest the will so far, if Galway do win it will surely be the end for this group of Donegal players but I dont think they are ready to say goodbye just yet.
Kerry will beat Kildare easily, will just have two much for what can at best be described as a very ordinary Kildare outfit.
Post by: Conallach on July 31, 2015, 07:11:30 PM
Donegal team announced. Probabaly not worth taking this too seriously, but no place for Eoin McHugh or Darach O'Connor on the bench:

donegalgaa.ie/2015/07/donegal-panel-v-galway/

According to Chris McNulty on Donegal Sports Hub, O'Connor was "ruled out because of a reoccurrence of a knee injury", which is a shame. Not been his year.
Post by: J70 on July 31, 2015, 07:58:15 PM
Durcan, 2 McGees, McGrath,  R McHugh,  Thompson,  McGlynn,  Gallagher, McElhinney,  MacNiallais,  Toye, M McHugh,  C McFadden,  Murphy,  McBrearty

Thompson in for Lacey, otherwise unchanged.

I read that O'Connor had done his knee again.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2015, 08:10:47 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 31, 2015, 07:58:15 PM
Durcan, 2 McGees, McGrath,  R McHugh,  Thompson,  McGlynn,  Gallagher, McElhinney,  MacNiallais,  Toye, M McHugh,  C McFadden,  Murphy,  McBrearty

Tough luck for Jigger.
Post by: donegal lad on July 31, 2015, 08:23:27 PM

Heard jigger damaged his kneecap. He's been really unlucky this year with injuries

Eoghan ban Gallagher been introduced to the subs bench for this game, was really impressed with him last year at minor level
Post by: J70 on July 31, 2015, 09:10:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2015, 08:10:47 PM

Tough luck for Jigger.

Yep, he had a promising introduction last year, but the injuries have really held him back.
Post by: mckieran on July 31, 2015, 09:18:23 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 31, 2015, 12:56:02 PM
C'mon the 'chokers. ;)
It would be mighty to see Galway  doing well for a change. I kinda miss the buzz that went with good Galway-Mayo championship match.  fun unless we beat a good Galway side after a rip=roaring game!

It would really set the championship alight if Galway & Mayo met again this year in the AI series. Galway fans would be extremely optimistic after beating Donegal and I could see a lot of support coming out of the woodwork!

However, in all likelihood, Galway wont be beating Donegal. So it'll probably be a drab enough QF between Donegal & Mayo!
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2015, 09:27:21 PM
Quote from: mckieran on July 31, 2015, 09:18:23 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 31, 2015, 12:56:02 PM
C'mon the 'chokers. ;)

It would really set the championship alight if Galway & Mayo met again this year in the AI series. Galway fans would be extremely optimistic after beating Donegal and I could see a lot of support coming out of the woodwork!

However, in all likelihood, Galway wont be beating Donegal. So it'll probably be a drab enough QF between Donegal & Mayo!

I really do not want to see AOS man-handle Finian Hanley into soul-crushing submission again. I know enough about the match-ups that a Mayo-Galway AIQF would be the most boring of the possible pairings for viewing. Mayo-Donegal? Now that could be fascinating.

I suppose it would be nice to have a few more Connacht teams in the AIQFs..
Post by: ck on July 31, 2015, 10:14:37 PM
Rory Gallagher on Ocean FM this evening denying a rift in the camp. Anyone know what that's about. I'm hearing its about Mark McHugh and alcohol, any Donegal folks know what's going on. I can only assume it's not true given his inclusion in starting 15 this weekend
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2015, 11:16:16 PM
Michael Murphy is out of the match tomorrow according to Brendan Devenney on UTV Ireland there.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2015, 11:18:19 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2015, 11:16:16 PM
Michael Murphy is out of the match tomorrow according to Brendan Devenney on UTV Ireland there.

Donegal playing games?
Post by: moysider on July 31, 2015, 11:49:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2015, 11:18:19 PM

Donegal playing games?

I dunno but he will be far from right if he can play at all. Huge chance for Galway with arguably the 2 best Donegal players (2 of their all-time greats in fact)  out or winged.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 31, 2015, 11:59:38 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 31, 2015, 11:49:12 PM

Donegal playing games?

I dunno but he will be far from right if he can play at all. Huge chance for Galway with arguably the 2 best Donegal players (2 of their all-time greats in fact)  out or winged.
Yes Galway have an excellent chance of causing upset and Galway are defending better than previous years which should help them further.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on August 01, 2015, 12:03:38 AM

Donegal playing games?

Possibly, but it's not like they are going in against Mayo or Dublin, no need to play mind games when they are playing a team that they should be accounting for.
Murphy was clearly injured against Monaghan, I did raise the possibility of Donegal saving Murphy for the Mayo game next week, Donegal might fancy that they have enough on the pitch without him to win tomorrow as it is.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 12:21:25 AM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on August 01, 2015, 12:03:38 AM

Donegal playing games?

Possibly, but it's not like they are going in against Mayo or Dublin, no need to play mind games when they are playing a team that they should be accounting for.
Murphy was clearly injured against Monaghan, I did raise the possibility of Donegal saving Murphy for the Mayo game next week, Donegal might fancy that they have enough on the pitch without him to win tomorrow as it is.

That wont happen if he can play. If he cant play tomorrow he won t be a lot better along a week later either.
Huge test for the Donegal system if they have to go without Lacey and Murphy. Their defence will still be tough. This will be the first time the likes of Cummins and Comer get a taste of the McGees and Co? How they get on could decide this gig.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 12:42:17 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2015, 12:21:25 AM

Donegal playing games?

That wont happen if he can play. If he cant play tomorrow he won t be a lot better along a week later either.
Huge test for the Donegal system if they have to go without Lacey and Murphy. Their defence will still be tough. This will be the first time the likes of Cummins and Comer get a taste of the McGees and Co? How they get on could decide this gig.

He won't be any worse the following week if he misses  a full blown intercounty game (if they make it to the next day). Rest is rest, even if it is only a week. In Murphys case three weeks instead of two.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 01:06:10 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 12:42:17 AM

Donegal playing games?

He won't be any worse the following week if he misses  a full blown intercounty game (if they make it to the next day). Rest is rest, even if it is only a week. In Murphys case three weeks instead of two.

I know but this is Galway. A team that has already beaten Derry and Armagh and would never fear a county like Donegal - or anybody. Donegal looked a bit weary v Monaghan. More than a bit actually and the fact Monaghan hung on after an easier run to Ulster final is worrying for them too imo.
Now they go in against an improving Galway. Factor in that provincial losers don t go well and this is not a game that Galway should be losing really. This is set up for them if there are going to become a top team again anytime soon.
Post by: Whitnail on August 01, 2015, 01:52:30 AM
If those injuries are true then were up against it
& Galway +3 @5/6 look like a gifthourse.

Donegal need McFadden to come good but I personally have been waiting for that to happen for two years & it's just not going to happen.

Don't know how Galway will set up.
We have been trading blankets with Ulster teams thus far & breaking too slow. We still have players but alot of them might be mind drifting to another  possible 16 point tanking to Mayo the following week.
Its just another one of those games to be played & stumbled over but it's such an impossible route this year that that attitude catches up with players mentally & understandably so.

Neither team need extra time that's a gimme.

Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 01:55:08 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2015, 01:06:10 AM

Donegal playing games?

I know but this is Galway. A team that has already beaten Derry and Armagh and would never fear a county like Donegal - or anybody. Donegal looked a bit weary v Monaghan. More than a bit actually and the fact Monaghan hung on after an easier run to Ulster final is worrying for them too imo.
Now they go in against an improving Galway. Factor in that provincial losers don t go well and this is not a game that Galway should be losing really. This is set up for them if there are going to become a top team again anytime soon.

'This is Galway'. That's a bit like the 'this is Mayo' stuff thrown at ye when the pressure's on. All I see is a young team with talent and holes in equal measure. There is no great swagger about Galway anymore and there hasn't been for many years now.

This is an inexperienced Galway team (at the level you're expecting them to perform at) with a fragile FB line. Murphy gone gives them a chance but the likes of McBrerty and I assume McFadden can still expose those weakenesses.

If Galway lose this game comprehensively it's hard to make the case they made much progress at all this year despite a bit of hoopla about Walsh improving the defence. They're about to get a test they haven't seen since the Mayo game and Hanley and company failed badly that day.

Lenient refereeing on Hanley was about all that stopped that one from getting out of hand because for all of the good stuff going forward when balls went in to AOS there was absolute panic in the Galway defence, and Walsh felt he had no better option on the bench.

If Galway step up in the FB line they have a chance but if they leak a goal Donegal will shut up shop and hold them at arm's length.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 02:47:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 01:55:08 AM

Donegal playing games?

'This is Galway'. That's a bit like the 'this is Mayo' stuff thrown at ye when the pressure's on. All I see is a young team with talent and holes in equal measure. There is no great swagger about Galway anymore and there hasn't been for many years now.

This is an inexperienced Galway team (at the level you're expecting them to perform at) with a fragile FB line. Murphy gone gives them a chance but the likes of McBrerty and I assume McFadden can still expose those weakenesses.

If Galway lose this game comprehensively it's hard to make the case they made much progress at all this year despite a bit of hoopla about Walsh improving the defence. They're about to get a test they haven't seen since the Mayo game and Hanley and company failed badly that day.

Lenient refereeing on Hanley was about all that stopped that one from getting out of hand because for all of the good stuff going forward when balls went in to AOS there was absolute panic in the Galway defence, and Walsh felt he had no better option on the bench.

If Galway step up in the FB line they have a chance but if they leak a goal Donegal will shut up shop and hold them at arm's length.

Not a bit like that and you should know that Sy. Galway are streets ahead of us when it comes to entitlement. Galway have old money in the bank and are high society in the game. We are not, even though we are more consistent as regards being competitive.
Their fb line is probably better than ours and it comes down to the durability of their middle third and how their ff line does against the McGees. It will be a test for Comer in particular. I doubt his discipline.
I m amazed McFadden is still going at this level never mind being a somebody to look to do extra. McBrearty is the one to cope with but McFadden has been only a weapon when he can be freed up for his point taking ability. But without a fit Murphy he is unlikely to get many chances to get opportunities to pull the trigger. He is very markable if he is a go to player - even by a much smaller player.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2015, 04:57:30 AM
Galway are at home in Croke Park, like a regular seat in a favorite pub whenever they are in town no matter how long the absence.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 01, 2015, 08:32:30 AM
Murphy is out.
Post by: galwayman on August 01, 2015, 08:36:37 AM
How bad is Murphys injury lads?
I dread the damage he could do if put in on top of Finian.
Post by: galwayman on August 01, 2015, 08:39:17 AM
That definite Seanie?
A big blow for Donegal no doubt.
Post by: sligoman on August 01, 2015, 08:43:26 AM
Quote from: donegal lad on July 31, 2015, 08:23:27 PM

Heard jigger damaged his kneecap. He's been really unlucky this year with injuries

Eoghan ban Gallagher been introduced to the subs bench for this game, was really impressed with him last year at minor level

Is he the only one of last year's minor side to get a call up for the Donegal team so far? McBrearty's brother was impressive last year too, how is he coming along?
Post by: twohands!!! on August 01, 2015, 10:02:07 AM
Galway have probably conceded the most frees of any teams in the Championship - even if Murphy did nothing but walk around, not having him on the pitch to kick frees would be a massive plus for Galway.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 10:20:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 01, 2015, 04:57:30 AM
Galway are at home in Croke Park, like a regular seat in a favorite pub whenever they are in town no matter how long the absence.

Well that's one seat that ye have regularly fell off on ye're rare appearances over the last 14 years! Take off the blinkers!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 01, 2015, 10:21:27 AM
Quote from: galwayman on August 01, 2015, 08:39:17 AM
That definite Seanie?
A big blow for Donegal no doubt.

From a pretty reliable source from the same neck of the woods as Murphy. I'd be very surprised if he was wrong.
Post by: ballinaman on August 01, 2015, 11:23:24 AM
Got Galway at 5/2 yesterday. They 2/1. Worth a few bob lads!
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 12:25:06 PM
Well, if he is out, it will be a good test of this team to see how they go without him and Lacey. No point in playing him half fit. Bring it on!  :)

Presumably O'Reilly in to replace him. Or maybe Hugh McFadden. Actually,  probably McLoone. It's a shame the Brick opted out for the year. Big, big test of the panel.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 01:14:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 12:25:06 PM
Well, if he is out, it will be a good test of this team to see how they go without him and Lacey. No point in playing him half fit. Bring it on!  :)

Presumably O'Reilly in to replace him. Or maybe Hugh McFadden. Actually,  probably McLoone. It's a shame the Brick opted out for the year. Big, big test of the panel.

If he's injured it's (harder but) better to rest him. As he will be completely crocked should Donegal progress. It's a no brainer really. It's a tough call  as management is always want to play half mobile star player. Galway will tell you how many times Michael Meehan played injured and how much it destroyed the lad. Same is happening to Cillian O'Connor.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 05:48:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 01:14:25 PM

If he's injured it's (harder but) better to rest him. As he will be completely crocked should Donegal progress. It's a no brainer really. It's a tough call  as management is always want to play half mobile star player. Galway will tell you how many times Michael Meehan played injured and how much it destroyed the lad. Same is happening to Cillian O'Connor.

Sounds like Donegal are going to do a Senan Kilbride and play someone everyone knows is injured. Worked awfully well for us..
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 05:55:45 PM
Yeah, hopefully Murphy is actually fit.

No harm giving Doherty and Hugh McFadden a run out. Did well in the league. Toye was poor against Monaghan and has paid the price.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 05:59:26 PM
Even the Fancy Dans' warm-up up gear is fancy.. hopeful for a competitive game in this one.

What was that about Colm McFadden Moy..
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2015, 06:07:44 PM
McFadden is doing his bit. Game over, I imagine, after the early Donegal goal.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:08:17 PM
Donegal off to a flyer.
Post by: T Fearon on August 01, 2015, 06:08:24 PM
Donegal show Tyrone how to create and convert goalscoring opportunities
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:10:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 01, 2015, 06:07:44 PM

Early days yet.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 06:11:37 PM
Terrible goal to concede. Caught out 2 v 2 at the back after Flynn lost possession in midfield.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:15:03 PM

Hanley looks anything but assured again.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 06:16:35 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:15:03 PM

Hanley looks anything but assured again.

FB line overall is very poor. Hanley all over the shop but it's not just him.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:34:52 PM

Galway well in it now.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:36:55 PM

Never a yellow for Murphy. Contact was with upper arm. Sice milked that yellow.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 06:37:17 PM
Never a high tackle by Murphy!
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 06:38:03 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:36:55 PM

Ludicrous card.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2015, 06:38:48 PM

I agree  should've been black
Post by: DuffleKing on August 01, 2015, 06:39:22 PM
Referees can't give frees now without some sort of card - especially if the games on telly
Post by: DuffleKing on August 01, 2015, 06:40:32 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2015, 06:38:48 PM

If you genuinely think that you haven't a clue.
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 06:40:43 PM
Donegal running into the same issues they did against Monaghan in first half. Too slow, and being forced out into corners.  Need to start speeding it up and getting men off the shoulder, as well as trying some quicker ball into McBrearty,  and not using it as a last resort.
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 06:41:06 PM

Idiot.
Post by: ballinaman on August 01, 2015, 06:43:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 06:41:06 PM

Idiot.
Never a card.
Donegal needed half time badly there.
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2015, 06:44:36 PM
Donegal doing nothing for last 20 mins.
Unless they put some directness,pace and drive into it it's Galway's game.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 06:46:28 PM
I thought Sice was fierce hurt there but then he gets up and takes the free.....its all Tyrone's fault
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2015, 06:49:11 PM
Donegal there for the taking if Galway are good enough in the second half.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:49:49 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 06:46:28 PM
I thought Sice was fierce hurt there but then he gets up and takes the free.....its all Tyrone's fault

Galway footballers don t cheat or dive. Everybody knows that.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 06:50:08 PM
Donegal look to struggling without their big men firing on all cylinders. No Lacey, Murphy and E.McGee carrying a knocks.
Squad depth was always a potential worry, this is a real test for them
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 01, 2015, 06:50:30 PM
Fierce hurt as opposed to just being hurt. ?
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:52:40 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 06:50:08 PM
Donegal look to struggling without their big men firing on all cylinders. No Lacey, Murphy and E.McGee carrying a knocks.
Squad depth was always a potential worry, this is a real test for them

Yeah and Gallagher got attention there as well. He has looked a bit weary this year.
Post by: BennyCake on August 01, 2015, 06:58:00 PM
What's the score?
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 06:59:38 PM

Galway winning 8 to 1-4
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2015, 07:02:22 PM
First Donegal score for 28 minutes  :o
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 07:04:21 PM
Could be a vital few minutes there. Conroy misses a free straight in front to put Galway 2 up then Murphy gets a free brought forward into scoring range and Donegal add another to go 1 up.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:06:12 PM

Murphy is some legend!
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:09:30 PM

Correct black imo. Took one for the team.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:10:57 PM

Gallagher putting in a great shift now in fairness.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:12:25 PM

Poor misses from Donegal have kept Galway in it second half so far.
Post by: easytiger95 on August 01, 2015, 07:14:38 PM
Ref very bad - Galway should have had a nailed on free two minutes ago - can't understand referees inconsistency.
Post by: dublin7 on August 01, 2015, 07:14:59 PM
Ref is screwing galway. Donegal experience showing, but kicking some shocking wides
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2015, 07:17:50 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 01, 2015, 07:14:59 PM
Ref is screwing galway. Donegal experience showing, but kicking some shocking wides

Agreed
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:19:28 PM

That should be it now anyway.

Lack of a marquee forward holding Galway's progress back.
Post by: screenexile on August 01, 2015, 07:23:41 PM
Michael Murphy is a machine. Ref not great but nit the reason Galway are beat they couldn't sustain the intensity they showed in the first half. Lots of teams can live with Donegal tactically but their mentality to keep it up over the full 70 sets them apart from most!!
Post by: easytiger95 on August 01, 2015, 07:25:01 PM
Any manager that doesn't start and finish with MM at full forward needs their head examined.
Post by: Whitnail on August 01, 2015, 07:26:34 PM
In fairness Galway have been eating too much Supermacs
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 07:28:13 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 01, 2015, 07:17:50 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on August 01, 2015, 07:14:59 PM

Agreed

+1 the conroy foul was bordering on the farcical

But its swings and roundabouts last week they had some favourable decision.

Also dont thinkit would have made any difference Dongeal have done the business when they their necks were on the line
Post by: JoG2 on August 01, 2015, 07:28:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:19:28 PM

That should be it now anyway.

Lack of a marquee forward holding Galway's progress back.

Their definitely not as potent without Conor Lane
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:29:20 PM
Huge fadeout from Galway second half. Curran, Flynn and Conroy don t live up to their billing for a start afaic.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 01, 2015, 07:31:00 PM
Complaining about the ref, but couldnt see the ref give them everything last week, tuh tuh! Blinkers on when it suited!
Post by: Main Street on August 01, 2015, 07:31:32 PM
The Galway lads looked smaller in the 2nd half.
That will be an an easy journey home for the Donegal fans.
Post by: dublin7 on August 01, 2015, 07:31:49 PM
Donegal were the better  team, but not the team they were a few years ago. Galway were wiped out in midfield in the 2nd half but when they did get the ball they cut holes in the donegal defence that weren't there in previous years. Won't dominate midfield like that in qtr final & cant believe they'll get a referee who will do them as many favors  as that clown did today
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 07:33:02 PM

Galway losing by more than Sligo. Who d have thought it.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2015, 07:33:25 PM
Galway simply not good enough in that second half. Donegal more impressive in their win against Galway than Mayo were however with Eamon McGee,Lacey out you would have to fancy Mayo to win next weekend.
Post by: Whitnail on August 01, 2015, 07:35:05 PM
McFadden so frustrating but he came good today for the first time in 2 years. Can he get involved against Mayo? There's the problem
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 07:35:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 01:55:08 AM

Donegal playing games?

8)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2015, 07:36:13 PM
There do seem to be very large gaps in the half back line for donegal. Still lacey to come back. Thought mcfadden was great on the ball - so strong. Can't shoot so well any more mind. Gallagher possibly best mifielder about too.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 07:36:38 PM
Very disappointing fade out. Was never a 10 point game but let Donegal get a run on them near the end. Midfield went out of it completely after half-time after looking comfortable up to then. That was the start of all the problems. Can't let any team have enough possession to bomb on top of their forward line especially one with Michael Murphy in there. Hanley is unfortunately not athletic enough these days to deal with the likes of him and O'Se. Couldn't even get off the ground for the 2nd goal. Shane Walsh a big loss this year as he's the one player who can consistently kick points from distance.

Don't think Kinsella did us any favours at all when the game was in the melting pot. Number of dubious decisions but sure what can you do.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2015, 07:37:36 PM
Quote from: Whitnail on August 01, 2015, 07:35:05 PM
McFadden so frustrating but he came good today for the first time in 2 years. Can he get involved against Mayo? There's the problem

Much better in hf line these days. Let him pass and not shoot!
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 07:45:48 PM
Turning point was the couple of minutes when Galway missed the nothing free Neil McGee gave away and then Donegal got level and went ahead.
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 07:47:47 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 01, 2015, 07:37:36 PM

Harsh. He was excellent against Tyrone and played well against Derry. Today was a step up again, in fairness.
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 08:06:00 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 07:36:38 PM
Very disappointing fade out. Was never a 10 point game but let Donegal get a run on them near the end. Midfield went out of it completely after half-time after looking comfortable up to then. That was the start of all the problems. Can't let any team have enough possession to bomb on top of their forward line especially one with Michael Murphy in there. Hanley is unfortunately not athletic enough these days to deal with the likes of him and O'Se. Couldn't even get off the ground for the 2nd goal. Shane Walsh a big loss this year as he's the one player who can consistently kick points from distance.

Don't think Kinsella did us any favours at all when the game was in the melting pot. Number of dubious decisions but sure what can you do.

No it wasn't. Second goal was game over and five or six points would have been a truer reflection of the overall game, with Donegal on top for probably two thirds.

Was worried for a bit in the second half there that we wouldn't make our dominance count, especially when we hit a couple of poor wides, including the pair from McBrearty. MacNiallais stepped up with a pair of brilliant points from out on the left wing, and those and that monster catch and kick from Murphy stretched us out a wee bit before McHugh got the goal.

Prior to that though, if Galway had scored that very cheap free called on McGee, I was fearful that we might have been in a wee bit of bother, but in fairness, from that point on, it was one way traffic.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 01, 2015, 08:11:33 PM
Can someone post the draw please including semi final pairings. Cheers.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 01, 2015, 08:12:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 07:47:47 PM

Harsh. He was excellent against Tyrone and played well against Derry. Today was a step up again, in fairness.

Was thinking that myself... he always is for some reason  >:(
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2015, 08:18:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 01, 2015, 08:11:33 PM
Monaghan v Tyrone
Mayo v Donegal
Dublin v Fermanagh
Kerry v Kildare

Semi finals

Monaghan/Tyrone v Kerry/Kildare
Dublin/Fermanagh v Mayo/Donegal
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 01, 2015, 08:24:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2015, 08:18:50 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 01, 2015, 08:11:33 PM
Monaghan v Tyrone
Mayo v Donegal
Dublin v Fermanagh
Kerry v Kildare

Semi finals

Monaghan/Tyrone v Kerry/Kildare
Dublin/Fermanagh v Mayo/Donegal

Thanks CO!
Post by: Schkite on August 01, 2015, 08:28:29 PM
Bit disappointed with Galway. At one stage they looked like they could press on and win, but when they missed that free to go 2 up and then Donegal upped the gears, Galway folded. You have to give Donegal credit though, showed their experience and championship pedigree and ran out easy winners, even if the scoreline was a bit flattering. After a quiet Ulster final, both McNiallais and McFadden were very good. Despite those pictures of Galway having 14 men behind the ball at times, they were quite naive at times in defence. McBrearty and McHugh were left in loads of space for their goals, they won't have it that easy next week. But that win will have given Donegal alot of confidence ahead of the Mayo game.
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2015, 08:57:19 PM
Galway put it up to Donegal who weathered the storm and ended up winning the 2nd half 2-8 to 0-4.

Some second half by Donegal.

A lot was said and written about playing Murphy at 14. Tonight we saw the potential of Murphy being played inside.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 01, 2015, 08:58:06 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 07:47:47 PM

He's great at making space for a shot or pass. These days the shots seem to go astray. Thought he hit some superb passes today in the second half.

Macnillis point was the game changer really and donegal pushed on.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 01, 2015, 09:39:09 PM
I didn't see the game as it work, but did Donegal make 7 subs? Was some of them blood subs?
Post by: Clarin Pearl on August 01, 2015, 10:08:57 PM
Galway are just at division 2 team. They badly need to get into div 1 just for the experience alone. They were comfortable with Derry and armagh because the pace is that much slower. There were mistakes made...not looking up enough...bad shots.....walking the ball into the small square which are indicative of a team having to work that bit quicker than they are used to(and being found out). We've seen it with the hurlers many years.

The game has moved on from 2000 and at least Galway are realizing that(finally).   I can't see some of the older members of this team hangin around for much longer.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 10:13:35 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 01, 2015, 09:39:09 PM
I didn't see the game as it work, but did Donegal make 7 subs? Was some of them blood subs?

M McElhinney for O'Reilly (ht),
A Thompson for E McGee (ht),
Declan Walsh for McGrath (52),
L McLoone (0-01) for McBrearty (54),
C Toye (1-00) for H McFadden (68),
David Walsh for C McFadden (71)
Post by: macdanger2 on August 01, 2015, 10:25:46 PM
Disappointing for Galway but overall a decent season for galway and walsh. They'll expect to challenge for promotion and a Connacht title next year
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 10:38:27 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 01, 2015, 10:25:46 PM
Disappointing for Galway but overall a decent season for galway and walsh. They'll expect to challenge for promotion and a Connacht title next year

Definite improvement this year alright. But a 10 point defeat today makes it seem like there hasn't been any progress at all whereas a 3 or 4 points loss would have been acceptable. Obviously though it's Walsh's first year and there are still a lot of things to iron out like the transition between defence and attack. Something that the team have struggled with this Summer. Much like Donegal of 5 years ago in that regard.
Post by: moysider on August 01, 2015, 10:59:03 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2015, 10:38:27 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 01, 2015, 10:25:46 PM

Definite improvement this year alright. But a 10 point defeat today makes it seem like there hasn't been any progress at all whereas a 3 or 4 points loss would have been acceptable. Obviously though it's Walsh's first year and there are still a lot of things to iron out like the transition between defence and attack. Something that the team have struggled with this Summer. Much like Donegal of 5 years ago in that regard.

I think the big lads in the middle need to step up and start punching their weight. They're still young but not convinced it's in them. I've always had doubts about Conroy as well.
As well as being tactically stronger, Donegal looked hungrier as well. I suppose Galway will reflect on that as well. Based on today and last few years how many of the current Galway team would make the Donegal team? Or Kerry? Or Dublin? Or even Mayo God help us?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 01, 2015, 11:00:11 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 10:13:35 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 01, 2015, 09:39:09 PM

M McElhinney for O'Reilly (ht),
A Thompson for E McGee (ht),
Declan Walsh for McGrath (52),
L McLoone (0-01) for McBrearty (54),
C Toye (1-00) for H McFadden (68),
David Walsh for C McFadden (71)

Ah see the problem. GAA.IE also has Sean Denvir for Lundy (67) but that's the Galway side of things.

Thanks
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 11:02:22 PM
Six subs are allowed now,  right?
Post by: Throw ball on August 01, 2015, 11:06:38 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 11:02:22 PM
Six subs are allowed now,  right?

Yep
Post by: J70 on August 01, 2015, 11:29:34 PM
Why were the crowd jeering Donegal when they held the ball that time during the first half? Galway were the team 4 points down at the time with 15 men behind the ball.
Post by: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 11:34:11 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 01, 2015, 11:29:34 PM
Why were the crowd jeering Donegal when they held the ball that time during the first half? Galway were the team 4 points down at the time with 15 men behind the ball.

All that hand-passing laterally and backwards gets that reaction from crowds. I know our lads will get it from our own supporters (nevermind the opposition) when it lasts half as long as that passage did.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 11:39:31 PM
Anybody know how many souls turned up to Croker today?
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 01, 2015, 11:48:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 11:39:31 PM

25,665 made the pilgrimage today.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 11:52:56 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 01, 2015, 11:48:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 11:39:31 PM

25,665 made the pilgrimage today.

Not bad considering, Tyrone and Donegal people would have been having an eye on next week. Sligo fans would have been shot after the Connacht final. Still think it should have been in Castlebar and Enniskillen!
Post by: highorlow on August 01, 2015, 11:57:55 PM
is Leo mc loone just back in the Donegal set up from a self enforced exile? He is a class act on his day and will be a sub that we need to counter next week.

Why is there only a weeks break for Donegal? The fixture set up is bizarre. Could the QF not be played the following week?
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2015, 12:01:46 AM
Kildare, Fermanagh and Tyrone all play a week after winning in Round 4.
Why should Donegal be any different?
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2015, 05:33:50 AM
25,000 from so called big counties like Tyrone,Donegal and Galway is a disgrace,for a Championship game.Hiw many band wagon jumpers from each of the above counties will be moaning about All Ireland Final tickets should their county reach that stage?
Post by: rrhf on August 02, 2015, 08:21:02 AM
Nice to have that debate..
Post by: macdanger2 on August 02, 2015, 08:57:01 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2015, 05:33:50 AM
25,000 from so called big counties like Tyrone,Donegal and Galway is a disgrace,for a Championship game.Hiw many band wagon jumpers from each of the above counties will be moaning about All Ireland Final tickets should their county reach that stage?

Can't see too many joining the Galway bandwagon now tbh
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2015, 09:42:28 AM
Yes but had they won their way through to the AI Final there would have been plenty.They would have been looking for at least 25,000 tickets alone,as will any of the others who make it that far will.
Post by: bridgegael on August 02, 2015, 09:53:37 AM
Hopefully they get their dates right. 
Post by: donegal lad on August 02, 2015, 10:33:10 AM

The disgrace was dragging 25000 people from donegal,Tyrone,Galway and Sligo to croke park in the 1st place.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 02, 2015, 10:46:10 AM
Quote from: donegal lad on August 02, 2015, 10:33:10 AM

The disgrace was dragging 25000 people from donegal,Tyrone,Galway and Sligo to croke park in the 1st place.

You said it, so much for the Gaa being of the people. No consideration for the time and expense put on Tyrone and Donegal supporters on consecutive weekends. Plus the swing of business to local economies in Enniskillen and Castlebar. I suppose their hands are tied with the Sky contract and have to drag both games into headquarters.
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2015, 10:51:11 AM

Absolutely.
Especially with 3 Counties from the Western seaboard.
Post by: Hound on August 02, 2015, 10:55:02 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 02, 2015, 10:46:10 AM

You said it, so much for the Gaa being of the people. No consideration for the time and expense put on Tyrone and Donegal supporters on consecutive weekends. Plus the swing of business to local economies in Enniskillen and Castlebar. I suppose their hands are tied with the Sky contract and have to drag both games into headquarters.
Absolutely nothing to do with Sky! They covered last weeks qualifiers in provincial locations without any problems.

There's an expectation from premium and box ticket holders to have games on the Saturday and Sunday of the BH weekend. That's why it was fixed for Croker. 
Post by: Teo Lurley on August 02, 2015, 12:08:32 PM
The GAA is a business lads. Making money is important but the interests of regular supporters should be number one. The game is being ruined by moneymen. We'll see more evidence of that in Croke Park today.
Post by: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2015, 01:55:27 PM

Post by: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2015, 01:58:43 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 02, 2015, 01:55:27 PM

I rarely miss a Donegal game but I also work on Saturdays so that was that.  A lot of Donegal people were unimpressed with the game being in Croke Park, two late Sat nights in a row is a bit much when it could have been avoided.
I take the point about AI final tickets though. Same every year.
Post by: DJGaliv on August 02, 2015, 03:02:18 PM
Well done Donegal. I thought we had a chance there early in second half when we looked like we had weathered a few attacks and Donegal hit a few wides.
I'm not sure how many wides ye ended up with but their profligacy is something that could stop ye the next day.
Despite the scoreline I felt we looked more in the game or more likely to win the game than against Mayo.

We should learn a lot from yesterday, perhaps we are missing an inside forward. Michael Meehan would have been ideal in there.

My viewpoint was on the 21 yard line and could see the way Galway were setting up defensively in the first half. Whereas in the game beforehand Tyrone had two sweepers playing in front of the full back line we played man on man and had one of our half backs for the first 25 mins half playing an ineffectual sweeping position.

It was quite naive and allowed Donegal to pop little simple passes over our half back line which ended up with Donegal kicking 1-4 without too much pressure. We then tightened up and got back into it. Perhaps it took us too long to adapt.

I thought we were too loose in half back line. McFadden really stood up along with odhran. Midfield were decimated in second half. Watching the first half and the breaks I didn't see us winning one break from the half back or half forward line. Yes conroy caught some ball clean but the dirty breaking ball was all donegals. The two long lads in midfield were good at winning clean ball but you could see in second half when we were crowded out of it we couldn't gain primary possession.

I'd say half the problem is when you are playing alongside two man mountains you don't necessarily practice the skill of winning the dirty breaks. We might get away with that earlier in the season but not against the serious sides.

Well done To Kevin Walsh - in saying all of the above I feel that Galway  have finally progressed. We look more defensively solid at times and I really enjoyed the variety in our point of attack. A bit more working on breaks, dirty ball and primary possession, discovering an inside forward and we can start thinking about promotion to division 1 and challenging for a Connacht title.
Post by: galwayman on August 02, 2015, 03:20:34 PM
Beaten up a stick around the middle of the field for the entire second half.
That was the winning and losing of the game right there
Post by: Put Up That Flag on August 03, 2015, 10:05:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 01, 2015, 05:48:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2015, 01:14:25 PM

Sounds like Donegal are going to do a Senan Kilbride and play someone everyone knows is injured. Worked awfully well for us..

Jesus, Michael Murphy and Senan Kilbride compared in the same sentence,  its like comparing Messi against a league of Ireland reserve player, but hey you keep living in dream land and pretend that it was because of an in injury that Kilbride was useless in the championship.
Post by: Duine Eile on August 04, 2015, 12:10:47 AM
So another year over for Galway. Overall some progression has been made but we're still well behind the top teams. We've tightened up a bit defensively and there seems to be a bit of aggression and pride there now which is great. Cathal Sweeney was this year's find of the year, he's played well in all galway's games this year, he just needs to curtail his runs forward a bit. Finian Hanley has had a stinker of a year, destroyed by both Aidan O'Shea and Michael Murphy in the space of a few weeks, enough to give anyone nightmares. He's been a loyal servant to Galway football over the years but I think it's time to call it a day. The ball that Murphy flicked down for McHugh's goal wasn't even contested by Hanley, he stayed stuck to the ground while Murphy jumped about 3 feet in the air. His best days are behind him at this stage. The most likely replacement is Colin Forde but who knows how effective he'll be after his injury layoff.  Kick outs on Saturday seemed to have no plan at all, most of them were hit and hope out to midfield which seemed to work for the first half with Conroy hanging back at midfield but completely fell apart once Donegal began to take a stronghold in the second half. Flynn and Ó Curraoin need to compete for the full game and not just in fits and starts. That said Flynn did have a better game than Ó Curraoin and brings more to the team I think. Ronan Steede is on the bench all year after having a great season with Corofin, he should have gotten a run at some stage. In the forwards Gary Sice has been our best player in championship this year. He seemed to be playing very deep on Saturday so his scoring chances were fewer. Conroy has been a disappointment this year, simple handling mistakes, misplaced passes, missing tap over frees. Micheál Lundy is being played completely out of position. He's received a lot of criticism all year for playing too deep and not scoring enough but he's obviously playing to the system or plan they've been given. His best position for Corofin has been at 11 or 14, he gets fast, quick ball and heading straight for a score is the first thing on his mind. He's lightening quick and is a fantastic passer of the ball but he's played so deep this year his scoring ability has been completely sacrificed. I'd love to see him playing off Comer in the full forward line next year. Damien Comer has the ability to be one of the top young forwards in the country but he needs to compete more and learn to catch a ball over his head instead of having to get the ball on his toe which usually ends up with him being bottled up by the opposition defence. If management can get the forward positions right they have serious potential. Kevin Walsh and his team seem to be meticulous in their preparation prior to games, we've started most games well this year but when the opposition change things up a bit they seem to be at a loss and don't know what to do, eg. Aidan O'Shea's dominance of Finian Hanley, he was given no help and when Donegal began to dominate midfield no changes were made to kick outs to avoid mid field or any extra bodies brought in to mop up breaking ball. Shane Walsh should also have been introduced much earlier. Still, it's their first year in and you'd hope they'll learn and move on from here. All in all, while we're still out of the championship before the quarter finals I do think we're in a better position than this time last year, the teams of the last few years wouldn't have ground out those wins against Armagh and Derry. The raw materials are there, let's hope they build on the bit of progress we've made. Roll on January and the FBD!
Post by: moysider on August 04, 2015, 12:35:25 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on August 04, 2015, 12:10:47 AM
So another year over for Galway. Overall some progression has been made but we're still well behind the top teams. We've tightened up a bit defensively and there seems to be a bit of aggression and pride there now which is great. Cathal Sweeney was this year's find of the year, he's played well in all galway's games this year, he just needs to curtail his runs forward a bit. Finian Hanley has had a stinker of a year, destroyed by both Aidan O'Shea and Michael Murphy in the space of a few weeks, enough to give anyone nightmares. He's been a loyal servant to Galway football over the years but I think it's time to call it a day. The ball that Murphy flicked down for McHugh's goal wasn't even contested by Hanley, he stayed stuck to the ground while Murphy jumped about 3 feet in the air. His best days are behind him at this stage. The most likely replacement is Colin Forde but who knows how effective he'll be after his injury layoff.  Kick outs on Saturday seemed to have no plan at all, most of them were hit and hope out to midfield which seemed to work for the first half with Conroy hanging back at midfield but completely fell apart once Donegal began to take a stronghold in the second half. Flynn and Ó Curraoin need to compete for the full game and not just in fits and starts. That said Flynn did have a better game than Ó Curraoin and brings more to the team I think. Ronan Steede is on the bench all year after having a great season with Corofin, he should have gotten a run at some stage. In the forwards Gary Sice has been our best player in championship this year. He seemed to be playing very deep on Saturday so his scoring chances were fewer. Conroy has been a disappointment this year, simple handling mistakes, misplaced passes, missing tap over frees. Micheál Lundy is being played completely out of position. He's received a lot of criticism all year for playing too deep and not scoring enough but he's obviously playing to the system or plan they've been given. His best position for Corofin has been at 11 or 14, he gets fast, quick ball and heading straight for a score is the first thing on his mind. He's lightening quick and is a fantastic passer of the ball but he's played so deep this year his scoring ability has been completely sacrificed. I'd love to see him playing off Comer in the full forward line next year. Damien Comer has the ability to be one of the top young forwards in the country but he needs to compete more and learn to catch a ball over his head instead of having to get the ball on his toe which usually ends up with him being bottled up by the opposition defence. If management can get the forward positions right they have serious potential. Kevin Walsh and his team seem to be meticulous in their preparation prior to games, we've started most games well this year but when the opposition change things up a bit they seem to be at a loss and don't know what to do, eg. Aidan O'Shea's dominance of Finian Hanley, he was given no help and when Donegal began to dominate midfield no changes were made to kick outs to avoid mid field or any extra bodies brought in to mop up breaking ball. Shane Walsh should also have been introduced much earlier. Still, it's their first year in and you'd hope they'll learn and move on from here. All in all, while we're still out of the championship before the quarter finals I do think we're in a better position than this time last year, the teams of the last few years wouldn't have ground out those wins against Armagh and Derry. The raw materials are there, let's hope they build on the bit of progress we've made. Roll on January and the FBD!

I dunno Duine Eile. I thought James Horan's column today was very good. He had a separate bit about Galway and his conclusion was he didn t see any real progress at all. I'd have to agree. And I agree with your assessment re Lundy. Not his game what he was doing and Ryan McHugh had a huge bearing on the game. Massive actually. Wouldn t be as optimist though about Comer as you though. Look this was a breakthrough game for Galway if they were good enough. Tactically a bit shy but not convinced about a lot of players as well.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 04, 2015, 01:12:17 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 04, 2015, 12:35:25 AM

I dunno Duine Eile. I thought James Horan's column today was very good. He had a separate bit about Galway and his conclusion was he didn t see any real progress at all. I'd have to agree. And I agree with your assessment re Lundy. Not his game what he was doing and Ryan McHugh had a huge bearing on the game. Massive actually. Wouldn t be as optimist though about Comer as you though. Look this was a breakthrough game for Galway if they were good enough. Tactically a bit shy but not convinced about a lot of players as well.

I as well don't think Galway are improving. They are in dangerous territory of clapping themselves on the back for having a run of games in the back door. Nothing of real (and I mean real note) was achieved more than last year. Mayo still have ye at arms length. Ye brought more aggressiveness to the Mayo game this year. But intensity and discipline is what ye need. Anyway I could be patronising and tell ye what ye need to hear, But feck us Mayo hoars are in the same boat at another level. And we sure as sh1te hate being patronised about how close we are and so on! Anyway time to take a break,, take stock and get ready for a Div 1 assault!
Post by: Duine Eile on August 04, 2015, 01:25:11 AM
I get what ye're saying but there is an element of aggression and team spirit in this team that has been lacking the last few years, even something as simple as that is progression from where we were this time last year, in my opinion anyway! I don't think anyone in Galway thinks we're anywhere near the level of the likes of Mayo and Kerry in terms of All Ireland contention hopes but even to see lads playing with pride in the jersey this year was an improvement on the last few years. They have plenty of time to go away, take stock, see what worked and didn't work this season and plan for next year. One position we really need to nail down early is goalie, it's a joke at this stage, we used something like 7 different keepers from the start of the FBD through to the championship, madness!
Post by: Jinxy on August 04, 2015, 11:43:17 AM
Quote from: galwayman on August 02, 2015, 03:20:34 PM
Beaten up a stick around the middle of the field for the entire second half.
That was the winning and losing of the game right there

Your two primary midfielders are way too 'nice'.
Post by: mouview on August 04, 2015, 02:37:54 PM

Fair summation DE. Agree that Cathal Sweeney has been very good this year, yet I can't escape the feeling that he's played above himself a bit. Made a couple of silly mistakes in possession v Derry and was turned in a circle a couple of times by McFadden the last day; also, like his brother, not sure how outright pacy he is. Still, I'd cut him slack as it was his first year. Duane and Hanley have just both been poor. Bradshaw poor enough the last day, O'Donnell one of our better performers this year but still doesn't stop enough at no. 6. Silke should be tried in the FB line next year. Don't think being too 'nice' is midfield's drawback, just not good or consistent enough. Enda Tierney looks promising and should push both for a spot next year, while Headford's Michael Day might also be worth a look. Conroy has had a really poor year also, but may benefit from a switch back to midfield. Sice, good but now wrong side of 30. Lundy as you say employed in a different role for Galway than for Corofin. Cummins made the same mistakes he's always made in Croker, fonging the ball high into the sky, hoping that it will land somewhere judiciously. He's been doing this for Galway always and I simply don't think he's a top level player at this stage. Adrian Varley wasn't too bad the last day and looks more economical than Cummins. Comer is powerful and strong on the ball but scoring goals v Donegal etc. is not as easy as scoring v Roscommon, Leitrim etc. He's not a prolific scorer anyway, but time is one his side. A prolific scorer is what we need in the forwards, a PJ, Meehan or even Niall Finnegan, someone that can be relied on for 5+ points everyday.

But of those not on the panel, who else is there to come in? Corofin's Michael Farragher and Ian Burke are well good enough to be there but somehow foolishly were lost from it earlier. Ronan Steede is there and not a bad player but was given no game time and I'm not sure how mobile he is. Joss Moore if injury-free should come back into the reckoning for a central position and his clubmate Michael Daly will also be brought in next year I feel. Very few others around the county though that we don't know about.

Mgmt made the same mistakes Saturday as v. Mayo; team too slow in taking restarts and trying to create a bit of momentum, far too slow making changes when the tide of the game is slowly turning away. These are fundamental things any manager should know but KW seems awful slow to learn.
Post by: Syferus on August 04, 2015, 02:42:53 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2015, 01:12:17 AM

I as well don't think Galway are improving. They are in dangerous territory of clapping themselves on the back for having a run of games in the back door. Nothing of real (and I mean real note) was achieved more than last year. Mayo still have ye at arms length. Ye brought more aggressiveness to the Mayo game this year. But intensity and discipline is what ye need. Anyway I could be patronising and tell ye what ye need to hear, But feck us Mayo hoars are in the same boat at another level. And we sure as sh1te hate being patronised about how close we are and so on! Anyway time to take a break,, take stock and get ready for a Div 1 assault!

Glad to see Jamesy is reading me posts lads. I was saying there was little difference in their year's Galway team after the Mayo game but I was being shouted down..
Post by: galwayman on August 04, 2015, 02:43:23 PM
QuoteThe most likely replacement is Colin Forde
Seriously? I know you are a Killererin-ite DE but Forde is miles off the standard required for a county full back. Not even in the same ballpark.
Hanley had much the same sort of season as he's always had for us - when he comes up against a top forward he's in trouble. He will do okay against middle of the road players.
The problem in Galway is that we don't have much in the way of alternatives.
Post by: ck on August 04, 2015, 02:53:32 PM
Ha, ye lads are going through the same "full back" analysis as we did in Sligo. Our conclusion is that the next generation may provide the answer cos the current squad certainly does not posses the physicality required against a towering 14.
Post by: Duine Eile on August 04, 2015, 03:17:54 PM
Quote from: galwayman on August 04, 2015, 02:43:23 PM
QuoteThe most likely replacement is Colin Forde
Seriously? I know you are a Killererin-ite DE but Forde is miles off the standard required for a county full back. Not even in the same ballpark.
Hanley had much the same sort of season as he's always had for us - when he comes up against a top forward he's in trouble. He will do okay against middle of the road players.
The problem in Galway is that we don't have much in the way of alternatives.

Cool the jets there a small bit!  :) I'm not saying he should be full back but looking at it logically Colin was on the panel and also started a number of games at full back earlier in the year until he did his curciate, which is why I said he's the "most likely" replacement for Hanley if he gets back from injury. If there's someone better in the county I hope he's found over the next few months, it's been a problem area for a few years now. Who would you suggest? I've seen a lot of club games and the only full back that stood out last year was Kieran Fitzgerald.

(Not suggesting Fitzy is a replacement for Finian either by the way  ;) )
Post by: Put Up That Flag on August 05, 2015, 11:35:18 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 04, 2015, 02:42:53 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 04, 2015, 01:12:17 AM

Glad to see Jamesy is reading me posts lads. I was saying there was little difference in their year's Galway team after the Mayo game but I was being shouted down..

But you are always right, last year you said Kerry were finished and would win nothing and James O'Donoghue was a nothing player, who won the all Ireland and player of the year?

This year (every year actually) you were predicting Roscommon would get to the all Ireland semi final,  how did tyat work out for them?