Down v Armagh (Park Esler 16:00) 19/05/2019

Started by illdecide, May 06, 2019, 10:29:49 PM

Armaghtothebone

Quote from: An Watcher on May 19, 2019, 09:15:37 PM
Jesus lads, yes exciting but brutal to watch.  I could have cried when i seen there was going to be extra time.  Just wanted put out of my misery.  Can't just say it is only these 2 teams tho either, Gaelic football overall is getting worse

Did someone sit with a gun at your head and make you watch it?

Nanderson

Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 09:47:19 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 19, 2019, 09:15:37 PM
Jesus lads, yes exciting but brutal to watch.  I could have cried when i seen there was going to be extra time.  Just wanted put out of my misery.  Can't just say it is only these 2 teams tho either, Gaelic football overall is getting worse

Very negative view. Just watched the full game and found it enjoyable.
Give me that type of game last night in Cavan an today in Newry any day over watching Dublin and Kerry steam roll their way through games. Yea its nice to watch but its boring as hell

The quality wasn't great but the closeness of the score and the local derby element kept it interesting. Armagh done their best to try and not win the match against a very ordinary Down side and you'd have to question the starting team and the game plan from management.

McGeeney obviously took a leaf out of Pillar Caffrey's management book of failure today. Shouldering a blindsided Down player during the interval. Classlessness personified.

Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2019, 08:26:41 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:24:37 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 19, 2019, 06:43:01 PM
Disappointing at the end. Downs lack of discipline cost them the game. Mooney getting sent off then Burns turned everything in Armaghs favour.  Did well though to get it to extra time. But then couldn't finish it off. Not much between them.

Entertaining enough fayre from the 2 teams currently regarded as 'toilet-brushes' of Ulster football.  Fittingly played in the 'bog' marshes!  ;D. Doubtful if Cavan will have anything to fear from an Armagh side who couldn't put 10-man Down away in 70 mins?
Couldn't beat 10 men? That is bad.

He's been watching too much of that soccerball

I'm sure you are an authority on classlessness, Over the Bar.

Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 10:52:00 PM
McGeeney obviously took a leaf out of Pillar Caffrey's management book of failure today. Shouldering a blindsided Down player during the interval. Classlessness personified.

Aye he did let himself down there

I thought Down had the game won after going 3 points up in ET. No fairy tales in the Ulster championship

2x 15 mins ET is too long,  2x 10mins is enough.

Clarke gave his gloves to my nephew at the end of the game today. Absolutely made the wee mans day. Fair play to Jamie. Class on and off the pitch

Quote from: Main Street on May 19, 2019, 11:59:05 PM
I thought Down had the game won after going 3 points up in ET. No fairy tales in the Ulster championship

It was 2 ten minute periods

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:51 PM

felt like 2 x 15 minutes

Quote from: Main Street on May 20, 2019, 12:05:14 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:51 PM

felt like 2 x 15 minutes

Quite a few injuries so a fair bit of added time

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:23 PM
Clarke gave his gloves to my nephew at the end of the game today. Absolutely made the wee mans day. Fair play to Jamie. Class on and off the pitch

+1. Unlike his manager

Quote from: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:12:01 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

McGeeney was very classy with everyone at the open morning a fortnight ago so will have to disagree. The incident you refer today was nothing at all

Quote from: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:13:14 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:12:01 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

McGeeney was very classy with everyone at the open morning a fortnight ago so will have to disagree. The incident you refer today was nothing at all

Open morning with the public has nothing to do with it. A manager is judged by he conducts himself during the game and McGeeney let himself down a bagful.  Blind-sided the Down player during the interval while he was running of the field. Could easily have put him out of the game. Shit-house tactics reminiscent of Pillar and we all know what those won in the long run.