China Coronavirus

Started by lurganblue, January 23, 2020, 09:52:32 AM

Quote from: imtommygunn on October 06, 2020, 08:07:27 PM
23 more in hospital and only 20 icu beds left (though to be fair mostly non Covid).

They may get those nightingale hospitals back up again quick.

In April they shipped people from NI to England, as they hadn't enough ICU beds.
They are going to hit the buffers in the North before the 26 counties, given the high rate this week.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Rossfan on October 06, 2020, 06:49:07 PM
432 cases in the 26 today but 669 up North (equivalent to 1700 here)
What the fck are ye at up there???

And you have to laugh at Mary  Lou criticising the current government in the Republic

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 06, 2020, 08:43:10 PM

And you have to laugh at Mary  Lou criticising the current government in the Republic

Sure it's all "FFG's" fault.

Of course the people using the "FFG" acronym have the same wit and intelligence as those pulpit bashing unionists who proclaimed the evils of "SF-IRA."

sid waddell

Quote from: trileacman on October 06, 2020, 08:55:04 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 06, 2020, 08:43:10 PM

Sure it's all "FFG's" fault.

Of course the people using the "FFG" acronym have the same wit and intelligence as those pulpit bashing unionists who proclaimed the evils of "SF-IRA."
What are the differences between Fianna Fail and Fine Gael?

Apart from what time they eat their dinner at

Why is the case load and deaths in America not increasing exponentially given that there is a) so much COVID and b) so many people who don't believe in restrictions. Surely both should be increasing rather than sitting on this plateau it seems to have formed?

What's the American obsession with masks? In instances where they serve little purpose. Now I understand you wear them when you are in close contact with people if you can't socially distance.

Some politician was giving some sort of outdoor briefing to press the other day and he wasn't close to any reporters yet people were going mental on Twitter because he was maskless. Is it just wear a mask at all times and never worry about social distancing ?

Quote from: trileacman on October 06, 2020, 09:40:14 PM
Why is the case load and deaths in America not increasing exponentially given that there is a) so much COVID and b) so many people who don't believe in restrictions. Surely both should be increasing rather than sitting on this plateau it seems to have formed?

Because a lot of people in America do believe in it, are being very careful and don't make themselves available to be infected, as far as they can.

sid waddell

Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2020, 12:00:53 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on October 06, 2020, 11:44:42 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2020, 11:03:15 AM
So you've gone full circle again then, and believe that nationwide government policy should be left in the hands of unelected scientists.

Okay. Just good to clear that up.
You're going full internet eejit here

Plus ca change

Internet eejits desperately search for "hypocrisy" when they have no argument

And when they can't find hypocrisy, like you can't, they invent it, like you do, and invent straw men

That you use the phrase "unelected scientists" is very telling as to your frame of mind

Do please clarify for me whether i) you want advice to only come from elected people, ie., people who don't have any expertise at all or ii) you want scientists and experts in relevant fields to have to face election

i. Advice should come from experts.
ii. Decisions should be made be by appointed representatives.

When any unelected person or body attempts to force their will on the people, that is undemocratic.

NPHET's recommendations might be entirely correct.

NPHET informing the media of a level 5 lockdown request on a Sunday evening, before discussing this recommendation with their elected peers whose responsibility it is to implement recommendations, is wrong on every level.

Generals are answerable to politicians for this very reason. Would you be happy to allow a general to wage war because he understands military strategy better than any politician? If not, then that's double standards.

I'm not really sure where the straw man or hypocrisy angle, towards me, is forming here. Unelected advisors should not be hanging the government out to dry. That's okay for lobbyists and the media. It's not okay for advisors.
Lots of faux emotive stuff there but little in the way of facts

You have no evidence that NPHET leaked anything, yet base your entire post around an assumption which plays off your own bias

NPHET are there to advise, which they have - politicians are free to dismiss that advice if they like, but they can't then claim that policy is being informed by expertise

Consistent references to NPHET being unelected is nothing other than an attempt to discredit them and promote the idea that policy should reject expertise

Of course NPHET are unelected - scientists and medical experts are not voted in by election

And they should not have to face election, because who has expertise is not decided by public vote

Varadkar's carry on last night was pathetic, it will come back to bite him, well it should anyway, it was impetuous, sneering arrogance

I believe you're arguing with the poster and not the post. Because you're currently advocating we should be governed by civil servants.

sid waddell

Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2020, 10:29:21 PM
I believe you're arguing with the poster and not the post. Because you're currently advocating we should be governed by civil servants.
Unfortunately there's no way of arguing with faux emotive bad faith nonsense like this, it's like something you'd get at an anti-mask rally

In reality the government have circled the wagons on Varadkar, pushing back on his rant last night, while Varadkar himself has fairly changed his tune and is now strongly suggesting a lockdown is in the offing after all

Cold hard reality will always trump bluster in the end

Oh goodie, you're back to randomly arranging topical buzzwords into incoherent drivel.

sid waddell

Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2020, 10:39:28 PM
Oh goodie, you're back to randomly arranging topical buzzwords into incoherent drivel.
Try not to project just for once, please, for your sake more than mine

Spotlight covering Sweden's approach. Less than half the current cases we have of late, this coming from a country 5 times bigger population than the north

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 06, 2020, 10:54:36 PM
Spotlight covering Sweden's approach. Less than half the current cases we have of late, this coming from a country 5 times bigger population than the north

Yeah but the Swede's didn't have a huge backlog of communion and confirmation parties to get through

Quote from: thewobbler on October 06, 2020, 10:39:28 PM

At least he's moved on from the "airline executive buzzword buzzword buzzword buzzword" phrase. I began to think he had Tourette's there for a while he repeated it that often.