GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on July 05, 2012, 04:56:18 PM

Title: "Reasons To Hate Kildare" Official Thread
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2012, 04:56:18 PM
Emm ...

Aaaahhhh ...

Hmmmm ...

Oh. Is it that time already?
Title: Re: "Reasons To Hate Kildare" Official Thread
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2012, 05:03:25 PM
#1 They didn't BURST Hardy at the weekend.
Post by: Main Street on July 05, 2012, 05:12:55 PM
I think what Hardy's post means is (as looks over his shoulder),
'who cares, once you have beaten them off the park.'
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 05:16:57 PM
2. Naas. Stupid vowels.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 05:27:27 PM
We're rich.
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 05, 2012, 05:30:22 PM
Towns like Kildare and Monasterevin where you'd be stuck in traffic for days coming back from Croke Park.
Post by: mup on July 05, 2012, 05:30:41 PM
Worlds biggest brothel on our doorstep.
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 05:31:29 PM
102. Rathcoffey. Can never find it. Usually end up circling Maynooth and give up.

103. Maynooth.
Post by: mup on July 05, 2012, 05:40:15 PM
Rathcoffey quite close to Straffan. Sure call in for tea while yer passing.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 05, 2012, 06:14:17 PM
They knocked us out in 1935...
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2012, 06:38:27 PM
Silken Thomas
No sea views
Local pronunciation
The Pale
Gave up on the Gaeilge very early

But you couldn't begrudge them an all Ireland
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 06:44:16 PM
566. Arthur Guinness
567. Murchad mac Brain Mut
Post by: cadence on July 05, 2012, 06:49:36 PM
are kildare folk considerably richer than everyone else, like this....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8Kum8OUTuk

Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 06:57:12 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 05, 2012, 05:30:22 PM
Towns like Kildare and Monasterevin where you'd be stuck in traffic for days coming back from Croke Park.

When was the last time you were up in Croke Park? They have been bypassed for years.
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 06:58:03 PM
Athy.
What an awful kip of a town.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2012, 07:16:34 PM
Leaf factory in leixlip. Driving by it in the 70s made us mad for chewing gum. Of course we never got any as my mother was anti-chewing gum. "Made from cat's guts" she would tell us!
Post by: ONeill on July 05, 2012, 08:24:47 PM
1120. The Curragh of Kildare. The old Master used to make us play her on the whistle every Thursday.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 05, 2012, 08:28:05 PM
very rich in kildare? , good, its about time you done something with the toilets under the stands at newbridge, i commented to my friend during the league that it resembled a cow barn, some set up for a county overloaded with money, you concentrate less on the horses and more on football you be landed lol
Post by: ballinaman on July 05, 2012, 08:28:20 PM
Got a hair in my fried egg in mother hubbards before....
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 08:38:44 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2012, 07:16:34 PM
Leaf factory in leixlip. Driving by it in the 70s made us mad for chewing gum. Of course we never got any as my mother was anti-chewing gum. "Made from cat's guts" she would tell us!
Was that factory not in Kilcock?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2012, 08:52:05 PM
Yes Laoislad. It was! My mistake.
Post by: mup on July 05, 2012, 08:58:52 PM

Ever remember seeing any cats in that area? No? Well now you know why.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 05, 2012, 08:59:20 PM
They stole our manager.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2012, 09:01:03 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2012, 08:52:05 PM
Yes Laoislad. It was! My mistake.

Your mother was right about the cat's guts, though. At least that's exactly what our mother used to tell us as well. A powerful message that leaves me averse to chewing gum to this day. It's just as well we didn't show much interest in whiskey or stout in those days, or some some repulsive fable involving horse urine would no doubt have been concocted and I'd be sitting below in the pub drinking tea or Sasparilla.
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2012, 10:47:55 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 08:38:44 PM
Was that factory not in Kilcock?
Is Kilcock not part of Greater Leixlip by now? It's all the one deckland isn't it?
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2012, 10:51:13 PM
Newbridge pitch. The Failed Tiger escape. Like a man who got ready to leave his 1940s marriage in favour of a young wan but had a heart attack and is back with Nora Batty.  Who wants to build houses on Newbridge pitch now with the banks bolloxed? 
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2012, 01:00:06 AM
Ah sure we're a great bunch of lads.
Post by: screenexile on July 06, 2012, 09:09:27 AM
Ray D'Arcy
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 06, 2012, 09:37:25 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 05, 2012, 06:57:12 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on July 05, 2012, 05:30:22 PM

When was the last time you were up in Croke Park? They have been bypassed for years.
I never suggested they weren't bypassed.
I've been going to Croke Park for decades and Kildare was always a disaster for traffic.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 06, 2012, 10:08:18 AM
Back in the 70's was at a Dublin Kildare game in Croke Park. The nice young Kildare folk thought it would be good fun to make their way round the Hogan into the Nally up to the fence that seperated it from the Hill and entertain themselves with a bit of Jackeen baiting. They were having a fine time until the Jacks turned nasty and started rushing the fence, pushing and pulling it till it looked like they were going to bring it down.
Never seen so many white hats and flags scatter so fast since.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2012, 10:55:07 AM
I'm still struggling here. Mick O'Dwyer, maybe.

I know.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 06, 2012, 10:58:26 AM
Baldies...............................................
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2012, 11:01:12 AM
Squire, in all seriousness - what's with the effin dots?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2012, 11:06:01 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 06, 2012, 10:58:26 AM
Baldies...............................................

(http://www.martindardis.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/christy_moore.jpg)

Harsh!
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 06, 2012, 11:23:44 AM
Charlie McCreevy, Ruby Walsh.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 06, 2012, 11:25:20 AM
Double Barrelled Names.

Who was he ?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 06, 2012, 11:27:03 AM
Priests.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2012, 11:29:45 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on July 06, 2012, 11:25:20 AM
Double Barrelled Names.

Who was he ?

stuart mackenzie-smith?

Again a bit harsh, nice lad.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2012, 11:44:31 AM
That'd be a whole full forward line where I come  from.
Post by: seafoid on July 06, 2012, 12:23:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 06, 2012, 11:44:31 AM
That'd be a whole full forward line where I come  from.
Top notch, Hardy
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2012, 01:36:21 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 05, 2012, 08:28:05 PM
very rich in kildare? , good, its about time you done something with the toilets under the stands at newbridge, i commented to my friend during the league that it resembled a cow barn, some set up for a county overloaded with money, you concentrate less on the horses and more on football you be landed lol

If you think the jacks are bad, you should see inside the dressing rooms!
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2012, 04:31:13 PM
How could I have forgotten???

Martin Lynch!!