Holidays

Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

Les Sables d'Olonne is in the Vendee, seafoid. :)

The Loire Valley is also a very nice spot AZ. Dead in the centre of France. Don't have the coast but plenty of lakes and Chateau's to explore. Samur is a lovely spot close to Tours.

Quote from: Emmett on January 15, 2015, 08:31:05 AM
Lads,

Heading to Reykjavik in a few weeks and would like to book a couple of tours in the few days I am there. Has anyone that has been there got any tips on someone reputable to book these through at the best price?

The Northern Lights, Golden Circle and any of the snowmobile tours look good to me. Herself would like to do the Blue Lagoon geothermic spa.

I've obviously searched online already but any advice coming from experience would be great
Just back from 9 days in Iceland. How long are you going for?
If you can just hire a car and you will get to all the places easily. All of the natural attractions are free but the day yours will cost a fortune.
The Blue Lagoon is class but quite expensive and a good 45min drive from Rey. I would still say it was worth it if you just there for a weekend but if you are leaving Rey there are plenty of other natural hot bath areas.
This place is on the golden circle and if you are driving it is handy to pass by. http://www.fontana.is/
This place is also on the golden circle route but we didnt get a chance to go there but is supposed to be class. http://www.reykjavik.com/hot-springs-reykjavik/
This one in north iceland was amazing http://www.jardbodin.is/en/
The northern lights tours are a lottery, in the 9 nights we were there we seen them just the one night for about 20 mins , most tours will bring you for free the next night if you dont see them but this doesnt suit if you are only there for a weekend. And be prepared to be bored out of your mind waiting for them. Generally the best viewing places are away from the bight lights of a town so go a few miles out of the city and find a parking space and bring some food and drink for a few hours , we were told the best times are between 10 and 2 and the sky must be dark and clear.
We done the snowmobiling wit this crowd http://mountaineers.is/pearl-tour-golden-circle-super-jeep-tour-snowmobiling-3/ , not sure if i would recommend it. It was over £100, absofuckinglutely freezing and really heavy snow and wind so you viability was Zero . The guides said it is like that 90% of the time.
We also done this http://www.adventures.is/iceland/snorkeling/intotheblue/ and again it was freezing but very very different.  It was around £100 , which seems to be the minimum cost of a day tour.
''The Silfra fissure is one of Iceland's best kept secrets. Silfra, which is situated in the heart of Þingvellir, the site of the world's oldest parliament, is an otherworldly scene. The crystal clear water in the deep fissure gives you a feeling of being weightless as you float down with the lazy current. Frequently rated as one of the worlds top ten dive sites, the Silfra offers up to 100 meters of underwater visibility and is  located on top of the separation between Europe and America!''
There is an active eruption ongoing and there are tours givign flights and helicopter tours over this volcano, we had booked this but it was cancelled for the last 5 days of our trip due to weather. This tuor was expensive ( about €400 each) but really was a once in a lifetime tour

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Lads,

Heading to Reykjavik in a few weeks and would like to book a couple of tours in the few days I am there. Has anyone that has been there got any tips on someone reputable to book these through at the best price?

The Northern Lights, Golden Circle and any of the snowmobile tours look good to me. Herself would like to do the Blue Lagoon geothermic spa.

I've obviously searched online already but any advice coming from experience would be great

Follow @designead on twitter. Derry City woman living in Reykjavik.

Lads,

We picked up a brochure for rural b&bs in the airport and found it v good. Stayed in a couple of houses outside small towns and saw the lights in the back garden at 2 in the morning.

As regards eating, it seems to be either petrol station fast food or decent restaurants (mains around 25-30), nothing in between. That said, the food in the restaurants was always excellent.

WeeDonns

Quote from: Fuzzman on January 14, 2015, 04:11:36 PM
A friend of mine has a holiday home near Bundoran which I went to one night back in July I think it was. Day before the Armagh game I think it was.
Anyway it was mad busy with a load of foreigners there to surf as usual
Anyone know what its like in Feb or March? Is it a ghost town?
No, its not a ghost town, but quieter.
The waves are better in winter so it attracts a lot of surfers, especially the pro surfers when Mullaghmore head is very big.
The folks have a house down there and I'd spend a lot of weekends throughout the year down there surfing. If anything we probably enjoy winter more.
Its not the kip it used to be but still manages to cater for different types - slot jockeys, celtic supporters, surfers, golfers, families, country music fans, hen/stag parties etc

Emmett

Thanks for the advice lads, much appreciated

Don Johnson

Any reccomendations for things to do in Vegas lads? Going with the gf in the summer.

Thinking Grand Canyon helicopter tour, gun range, take in a show or two (maybe one of the magic shows then something like the Cirque or Le Reve) as well as make a pig of myself eating.

Anything else I am missing?

Bit of gambling of course as well. Shopping.

Quote from: Don Johnson on February 23, 2015, 11:24:04 AM
Any reccomendations for things to do in Vegas lads? Going with the gf in the summer.

Thinking Grand Canyon helicopter tour, gun range, take in a show or two (maybe one of the magic shows then something like the Cirque or Le Reve) as well as make a pig of myself eating.

I would def go to see one of the cirque du soliel shows.
I wasnt that fusse don going, but tought it was great. You can get some great deals on dinner and a show from the ticket kiosks along the strip.

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on February 23, 2015, 11:27:37 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 23, 2015, 11:24:04 AM

I would def go to see one of the cirque du soliel shows.
I wasnt that fusse don going, but tought it was great. You can get some great deals on dinner and a show from the ticket kiosks along the strip.

* Head up the Stratosphere and do one or more of the rides.
* Play roulette in one of the old casino's downtown (Golden Nugget or the like. The cocktail waitresses are literally by your side 24/7 if you need more liquid refreshment)
* Take a taxi to Town Square shopping village if that floats your boat
* Watched the 'adult' cirque show in New York New York...was good
* try the Man v Food breakfast at Hash House a Go Go
* Have very very late dinner in the Peppermill Diner (its where all the Vegas show performers go after their shows, open 24hrs)...food is incredible

If you like your burgers(but don't care about your health) then go the Heart Attack Grill!!

The Fremont street experience is well worth checking out also.
http://youtu.be/lTD4xKo8TuQ

I loved the Hoover Dam as well.Also defo go to the outlet shops. I hate shopping but this place was great. As far as I know there are two, an outdoor and a indoor. We went to the outdoor place but I think they are more or less the same.

Hoover dam worth a visit. Mob museum very good also. Imo most shows are tat and not worth the bother or money.

Buy the 3 day bus pass which allows you to access the bus that goes up and down the strip 24/7 and goes to the two shopping centres at either end of LV.

Bring well worn in runners as you will do some walking. You won't realize how much walking you will do as the distances are deceptive.

All about people watching and wouldn't be too travel guideish about the place.

Hunt out the one dollar beer bars/ casinos to save some money.

Never been there in the Summer but presume it will be unbearably hot.

Death Valley is about 2 hours drive out if you like looking at varied landscapes.  You'd need to rent a car for the day but it was pretty spectacular.

Our plan this September includes a 3 or 4 day camping trip in the Grand Canyon.  Anyone done that before? 

Quote from: Rois on February 23, 2015, 01:06:29 PM
Death Valley is about 2 hours drive out if you like looking at varied landscapes.  You'd need to rent a car for the day but it was pretty spectacular.

Our plan this September includes a 3 or 4 day camping trip in the Grand Canyon.  Anyone done that before?

Was told it was freezing at night down in the Canyon, and wolves are a plenty, good luck lol

Don Johnson

Cheers for all the advice lads and lasses.

I looked at the rides on the Stratosphere I honestly dunno if I would even go near them.... sober. Drunk, maybe. Suppose I know what I have to do then.