Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Gaelforce123

Thats also an interesting question supersub. Appears that if they are successful like good minor teams in the past then the Management & Co Board did a great job, if they lose then its 'what are the clubs doing'? Im not here to slate the management in any way as any group of men over a team only do their best I just hope last years results are a one off or we are in further trouble down the line

snoopdog

Quote from: supersub on October 06, 2023, 12:22:18 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 05, 2023, 08:18:51 AMAny word of a change to the Minor management team. Surely they won't get another year. They were destroyed in every single game this year.

Always interesting to hear this point of view. What work has been going on at club level to improve these players? After all, that is where they spend 80% of their time.

The 2 u20 teams that won ulster titles were failed at minor level also by poor management teams. Its glaring what the issue is. Yes the clubs have these players as do the schools for a longer time than the minor management but so do the Down development.

Too many steps

Quote from: snoopdog on October 06, 2023, 08:29:32 AM
Quote from: supersub on October 06, 2023, 12:22:18 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on October 05, 2023, 08:18:51 AMAny word of a change to the Minor management team. Surely they won't get another year. They were destroyed in every single game this year.

Always interesting to hear this point of view. What work has been going on at club level to improve these players? After all, that is where they spend 80% of their time.

The 2 u20 teams that won ulster titles were failed at minor level also by poor management teams. Its glaring what the issue is. Yes the clubs have these players as do the schools for a longer time than the minor management but so do the Down development.

u17s vs u20s isn't an exact comparison.

u20s a wider age grade - the 1st u20 had 3 starters that were not available at u17 because they were u15 at that stage.

Also I believe the 1st u20 Ulster team had no minor u17 year as they fell into the age change year from u18 to u17 at minor so missed that grade. If that is correct then there is no real comparison to judge that team/management on.

Then the 2nd team while they undoubtedly underachieved at minor were in the Covid situation and I know from chatting to a few of the lads at the time that they found it very difficult with all the restrictions and if you remember it was very doubtful even up to very close to the match whether the competition would be played - and even if it got started it was doubtful if it would be finished - was very hard to stay motivated for young lads in that situation.

So while there is no doubt that the u20 management did better, the circumstances they had were not the same as the u17 in the same age group to be fair to them.

befair

Quote from: Johnnysboys on October 05, 2023, 09:39:19 PMInteresting referee choice for the senior final - thought my club comrade would have got it but Paul is very experienced and will be well fit to handle the environment.
Good choice; a great ref

terrifictommy

I think we are unduly harsh on the referee panel, there's a couple I think would do the job. But Paul is the top in the county so has to be first choice, it would be like having your quarterback on the bench at the Superbowl if he wasn't there.

Splash

All to play for heading into the final round of the Junior Championship tomorrow.

Think any team can still qualify for the final?

I believe Kilclief are guaranteed a final spot?

They've shown to be a good team this championship. Managed to hold off a massive comeback from East Belfast in the first round, before staging their own massive comeback against Ballyvarley.
Castlewellen will probably be their toughest challenge, but there's no reason they shouldn't back themselves. They have a great ability to score from anywhere on the field, and their backs seem to be able to hold their own. Perhaps a bit vulnerable when it comes to conceding goals, but Castlewellen haven't seemed like a team that can score goals- this championship they failed to score a goal against East Belfast and only scored one through a penalty against Ballyvarley. Kilclief seemed like they'd be well fit to mix it with Clonduff, CPN, and Ballela in the Intermediate; playing Division One hurling clearly has done them well.

Castlewellen suddenly find themselves in a very dangerous situation. Did they believe their own hype too much? This is not a game you want to have your back against the wall. From what I hear, East Belfast really rattled Castlewellen. Here Jason Croskery is in good nick atm, and no doubt the Town will want to be making amends to being on the wrong end of the shock of the championship. Some decent players the likes of Cairns, McCabe, etc., and they seem to move well as a team.
They could very well catch Kilclief and book their place in the final, and it would be foolish to write them off after one loss. Either way, will be a great game.

East Belfast are sixty minutes away from reaching their first men's final and making history. I'm sure they're absolutely buzzing after getting the win over a fancied Castlewellen side. A win should be enough to get them to the final?  They really seem to have got going this year. Seem vastly improved from last season. Not looking too deeply into one win, but they had a decent league and their defeats seem to be less of a hammering nature. They'll not fear Ballyvarley, they've beaten them once this year in the league, and will take great confidence from their win in the last round.

Ballyvarley have had a dreadful championship in the grand scheme of things, but they can still reach a final. Think they have to beat East Belfast by about 20 odd points to reach it, though. Not an ideal situation to be in. However, they have forwards who are happy to go goal hunting- Danny Magee in particular is a big goal threat.
All the same, it's a big ask, and they'll be without Liam Conlan, so could be well exposed in the back like.
Much like East Belfast, they've improved a lot this season, but they seem to be running out of steam whilst East Belfast seem to be riding a wave at the minute. Again, you never do know when it comes do or die time. They beat East Belfast well in the league, but hard to imagine they'll have enough to beat them by enough to reach a final. Again, I said it would be hard to see East Belfast finding a way to overcome Castlewellen, and look how that turned out. 
I'm told told Ballyvarley have an ex-East Belfast man in the ranks. Used to hearing of lads transferring in to East Belfast at this point, not too often to see it going the other way.

Worth pointing out, the game being played in Ballela is probably the best possible outcome Ballyvarley could have hoped for. If I'm not wrong, they're amalgamated with Ballela the entire way up to senior? Lads will be very comfortable there.

Very hard to call this week. Great viewing for the neutral.

Saffrongael

That looked a bad enough row between Ballycran & Laotrim in the hurling, supporters over the fence and into the middle of it
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

downtothecore

manwithnoplan

Quote from: Saffrongael on October 08, 2023, 07:28:21 PMThat looked a bad enough row between Ballycran & Laotrim in the hurling, supporters over the fence and into the middle of it

I see Liatroim posted on social media that the game was ruined by the ref. Any neutrals see the game and know what that is about?

Mourne Red

Quote from: Saffrongael on October 08, 2023, 07:28:21 PMThat looked a bad enough row between Ballycran & Laotrim in the hurling, supporters over the fence and into the middle of it

Them Hurling folks, can take them nowhere - Wouldn't get that at the football 👀

Quote from: manwithnoplan on October 08, 2023, 09:15:04 PM

I see Liatroim posted on social media that the game was ruined by the ref. Any neutrals see the game and know what that is about?

Wasn't at it but not surprised as I'd predicted something to happen during the week.  ;)

Liatroim were leading pretty well right into injury time when Ballycran scored two very late goals to win it by two points, it would have been a massive shock for Liatroim to win this one but from all accounts a few decisions didn't go their way at the end or as is the case not given to be more precise.

We'll be very interested in how this pans out considering our U15's along with Carryduff got put out of the U15 championship after our match was abandoned for absolutely next to nothing, two young lads rolling around on the ground, with a few other's pushing and shoving. Thing was over in less than 30 seconds.

Easy making an example of a bunch of kids, but lacking fortitude when it comes to the bigger teams!

Truth hurts

Despite emotions after a big game, I was shocked to see a club like Liatroim blame a ref on social media. I would have thought by now that some of their members would have it deleted. Who would be a ref?

old timers

Quote from: Truth hurts on October 09, 2023, 08:47:40 AMDespite emotions after a big game, I was shocked to see a club like Liatroim blame a ref on social media. I would have thought by now that some of their members would have it deleted. Who would be a ref?

I watched the same ref many times over the last few years and unfortunately he is always the same  whether that be kids feile matches or intermediate in Antrim and on this occasion down senior. fair play to him as who would be a ref but im not one bit surprised to hear this.

Truth hurts

Liatroim blaming the ref, Dunloy footballers blaming the ref and Clann Eireann in Armagh blaming the ref.

It is always the ref's fault.

The defending from Liatroim for that last goal was u10 stuff. Two men were left free on the far side, Is that the ref's fault?

Ardstick

Quote from: johnnycool on October 09, 2023, 08:35:38 AM
Quote from: manwithnoplan on October 08, 2023, 09:15:04 PM

Wasn't at it but not surprised as I'd predicted something to happen during the week.  ;)

Liatroim were leading pretty well right into injury time when Ballycran scored two very late goals to win it by two points, it would have been a massive shock for Liatroim to win this one but from all accounts a few decisions didn't go their way at the end or as is the case not given to be more precise.

We'll be very interested in how this pans out considering our U15's along with Carryduff got put out of the U15 championship after our match was abandoned for absolutely next to nothing, two young lads rolling around on the ground, with a few other's pushing and shoving. Thing was over in less than 30 seconds.

Easy making an example of a bunch of kids, but lacking fortitude when it comes to the bigger teams!

First they stole the players then they went after the eggs.

For the integrity of the competition a Ballycran win was essential. Over a quarter of the Liatroim team shouldnt even be playing for them. (How this was allowed to happen the County Board has a lot to answer) The managers sons are quality players and should be with their own club in Belfast, McCusker should be with his own club, instead of glory hunting, is more suited to intermediate level anyway.

Imagine being a Liatroim player born and bred and then these outsiders coming in and taking your place, and then to stand back and be treated like an idiot. Pathetic stuff.

Having watched a lot of Ports this year was disappointed with their performance yesterday but still fancy them to get over the line in the final.