GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on January 27, 2024, 09:54:23 PM

Title: 2024 Allianz Hurling League
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 27, 2024, 09:54:23 PM
4 February, Sunday, 14:00
Laois v. Down
O'Moore Park

11 February, Sunday, 14:00
Kildare v. Laois
Manguard Park

24 February, Saturday, 18:00

Laois v. Carlow
O'Moore Park

10 March, Sunday, 14:00
Meath v. Laois
Páirc Tailteann

16 March, Saturday, 14:00
Laois v. Kerry
O'Moore Park

30/31 March
Laois v. Semi-Final Winner
Title: Re: 2024 Allianz Hurling League
Post by: burdizzo on January 27, 2024, 11:35:10 PM
Like your optimistic flourish at the end!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 27, 2024, 11:58:52 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 27, 2024, 11:35:10 PMLike your optimistic flourish at the end!

It has worked in the past!  ;D
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2024, 05:58:58 PM
As far as following Sunday's match against Down, it looks like GAAGO will not be streaming it (no surprise, but they *will* be streaming the Down v. Kerry match on Feb. 10 -- what the hell!). I am hoping Midlands Radio will be covering the match. Westmeath is playing the day before, so no competition for air time, there. I can't remember. Does Midlands Radio cover Biffo matches?
Post by: burdizzo on January 28, 2024, 06:04:20 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2024, 05:58:58 PMAs far as following Sunday's match against Down, it looks like GAAGO will not be streaming it (no surprise, but they *will* be streaming the Down v. Kerry match on Feb. 10 -- what the hell!). I am hoping Midlands Radio will be covering the match. Westmeath is playing the day before, so no competition for air time, there. I can't remember. Does Midlands Radio cover Biffo matches?

Yes, and since they're in Division 1, might be more of a priority! Down should be a cakewalk for Laois.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2024, 06:09:47 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 28, 2024, 06:04:20 PMDown should be a cakewalk for Laois.

Yeah, I hope so. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to start looking at upcoming fixtures and saw Laois was paired up against Down. That's when I realized that things have really changed since I last followed Laois hurling back in 2019.

Do you have any ideas on following this match against Down? I used to follow matches on Twitter (without an account) but now Twitter/X requires an account to see any postings.
Post by: burdizzo on January 28, 2024, 06:15:55 PM
Well, I set up an account - for this very reason - and it didn't cost me anything...?
Post by: ottoman on January 29, 2024, 08:11:27 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2024, 06:09:47 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 28, 2024, 06:04:20 PMDown should be a cakewalk for Laois.

Yeah, I hope so. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to start looking at upcoming fixtures and saw Laois was paired up against Down. That's when I realized that things have really changed since I last followed Laois hurling back in 2019.

Do you have any ideas on following this match against Down? I used to follow matches on Twitter (without an account) but now Twitter/X requires an account to see any postings.

I use the Score Beo app for all GAA score updates. Its good as it gives you the line ups, who scored etc. Id try download that.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 29, 2024, 10:15:59 PM
Quote from: ottoman on January 29, 2024, 08:11:27 PMI use the Score Beo app for all GAA score updates. Its good as it gives you the line ups, who scored etc. Id try download that.
I will check that out. Thanks, Ottoman!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 02, 2024, 09:06:56 PM
Have the starting 15 been announced for Sunday?
Post by: burdizzo on February 02, 2024, 10:18:19 PM
Yeah, it's on the CLG Laois FB page. Mixing youth and experience, as they say! Mossy Keyes still way down the subs list.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 04, 2024, 04:59:29 PM
Looks like I might have to give in and get a subscription to Laois Today. I could see in the visible three lines of an article on the match that Jer Quinlan got 1-3 from play. Nice!
Post by: G@@ on February 04, 2024, 05:46:58 PM
Laois 2-18 V 0-17 Down.
Thought alot of Laois' play was lethargic and only when Down drew level with around 12 minutes left did we step up a gear and push on. Ryan Mullaney and Martin Phelan both especially off the boil today. Cody Comerford was quite lively when he came on. The wind was a big factor today and thankfully it drifted a fair few of Down's efforts wide. Wouldn't be overly enthused with what I saw in OMP today. Referee was handing out reds far too easily as there wasn't much niggling in the game really. Kildare away won't be a cakewalk looking back on today's performance.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 05, 2024, 12:43:16 AM
"New Allianz Hurling League structure for 2025 explained"

https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/new-allianz-hurling-league-structure-for-2025-explained

I'm posting this for future reference so I can figure out what the hell everything means toward the end of this year's league. ???
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on February 05, 2024, 04:59:28 PM
2 sendin offs dissapointinmg to see
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 05, 2024, 06:51:01 PM
Sendings off were harmless. There was no dirt in the match. One was a double yellow. Laois were not good with the exception of Quinlan and the full back line. They looked dead on their feet and the hurling was not sharp. Down moved the ball well and won most of the puck outs. They don't look dangerous up front though. Maher says Laois are deliberately taking a risk with combining heavy training blocks with the early league. Hope he's right or we are in trouble.
Post by: redsetanta on February 06, 2024, 04:31:52 PM
Getting the updates from Midlands Radio 3 I couldn't believe we were only 1 point ahead with a few minutes of normal time remaining.
Thankfully we came good and got over the line.
Need a greater effort against Kildare next week before the Carlow game who had a good win themselves away to Kerry.
Top 2 teams go up to the new 1B however for momentum going into the McDonagh we need to be improving in each game.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 06, 2024, 08:47:44 PM
Is Kfm (Kildare) pretty good about broadcasting full matches? It looks like the Kildare football match follows the hurling match.
Post by: les Antiques on February 06, 2024, 09:53:46 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 06, 2024, 08:47:44 PMIs Kfm (Kildare) pretty good about broadcasting full matches? It looks like the Kildare football match follows the hurling match.

No football this weekend .
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 08, 2024, 02:58:24 PM
I emailed Kfm and found out they will be covering the whole match. Yay!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 10, 2024, 07:36:11 PM
I just saw the results for the Down v. Kerry match. What the hell.
Post by: G@@ on February 10, 2024, 08:54:28 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 10, 2024, 07:36:11 PMI just saw the results for the Down v. Kerry match. What the hell.
Very surprising. Thats two losses now by Kerry and they're rooted to the bottom of the table.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 10, 2024, 10:32:14 PM
Quote from: G@@ on February 10, 2024, 08:54:28 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 10, 2024, 07:36:11 PMI just saw the results for the Down v. Kerry match. What the hell.
Very surprising. Thats two losses now by Kerry and they're rooted to the bottom of the table.
By the way -- Hi, G@@! I sent you a short message, a week or so ago.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 11, 2024, 02:41:02 PM
Half-time while listening to the match on Kfm (the commentator has the personality of a sack of concrete). A slow start for the lads. Hopefully, they kick it into gear in the second half.
Post by: burdizzo on February 11, 2024, 02:53:40 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 11, 2024, 02:41:02 PMHalf-time while listening to the match on Kfm (the commentator has the personality of a sack of concrete). A slow start for the lads. Hopefully, they kick it into gear in the second half.

I think Jack Nolan's doing it on Midlands Radio, no?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 11, 2024, 02:56:04 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 11, 2024, 02:53:40 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 11, 2024, 02:41:02 PMHalf-time while listening to the match on Kfm (the commentator has the personality of a sack of concrete). A slow start for the lads. Hopefully, they kick it into gear in the second half.

I think Jack Nolan's doing it on Midlands Radio, no?

I'll check it out. I assumed Midlands Radio would be covering anything but a Laois match.
Post by: redsetanta on February 12, 2024, 10:33:47 AM
Got there in the end. Carlow next day out will be a far bigger test.

Westmeath and Offaly's performances yesterday would want to have them thinking about the Joe McDonagh though.

As said earlier I hope Maher is fine tuning his championship side.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 12, 2024, 06:48:54 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 12, 2024, 10:33:47 AM...Westmeath and Offaly's performances yesterday would want to have them thinking about the Joe McDonagh though.

Yeah, the Westmeath and Limerick final scores were much closer than I would have expected. :o
Post by: on the hop on February 13, 2024, 08:24:52 AM
first time to see the hurlers in a while and they made hard work on beating a very limited Kildare team who were down several injured players. Strong wind throughout the game was with Kildare in the first half and they started very strong before Laois got their bearings. Both teams deployed a sweeper at times which benefitted Kildare more as they got off a lot of shots, had they been more accurate they could have been further ahead. Laois seemed to have issues tracking players in the middle third. Despite the wind being very strong Laois seemed to persist in hitting high balls into the corners which didn't suit the inside line.

Scoring rate for both teams decreased in the second half as both seem to be very laboured at times, possibly doing heavy training. Laois exploited a few mistakes in the second half and finished with three good goals. Kildare fell away for 20 minutes where Laois scored well to open a gap. near the end they became a bit ill disciplined and let Kildare get a few scores. Wasn't the best performance but got over the line.
Post by: G@@ on February 13, 2024, 10:52:04 AM
Carlow on Saturday evening, February 24th will be a stern test. At least we have them in Portlaoise. They have scored 3-22 in each of their two wins to date, conceding 19pts in each tie also. That's a winning margin of 12pts per game. Laois have won on average by 7.5pts in our opening two games. So, we really need a strong performance when compared to what we've put in so far in the opening two games.
Post by: les Antiques on February 13, 2024, 10:56:38 AM
Quote from: on the hop on February 13, 2024, 08:24:52 AMfirst time to see the hurlers in a while and they made hard work on beating a very limited Kildare team who were down several injured players. Strong wind throughout the game was with Kildare in the first half and they started very strong before Laois got their bearings. Both teams deployed a sweeper at times which benefitted Kildare more as they got off a lot of shots, had they been more accurate they could have been further ahead. Laois seemed to have issues tracking players in the middle third. Despite the wind being very strong Laois seemed to persist in hitting high balls into the corners which didn't suit the inside line.

Scoring rate for both teams decreased in the second half as both seem to be very laboured at times, possibly doing heavy training. Laois exploited a few mistakes in the second half and finished with three good goals. Kildare fell away for 20 minutes where Laois scored well to open a gap. near the end they became a bit ill disciplined and let Kildare get a few scores. Wasn't the best performance but got over the line.

What are the facilities like at Hawkfields OTH ? Never been out there .
Post by: County Man on February 13, 2024, 11:54:45 AM
Listened to the game on Kfm. Seemed to be a competitive battle and sounded like Martin Phelan and Jer Quinlan had good games. I read that it is the first time since 2011 that we scored 3 goals in half a game of hurling in the league.

Good to be back winning games, reminds me of 2013 when we were last in division 2A under Cheddar. We won the 2A title that year and ended up running Galway close in the Leinster championship.

Looking forward to going to the next game v Carlow on the 24th. Will be a good test. Carlow in my opinion would be on a par with both Westmeath and Offaly.

Some result for Offaly down in Wexford park. Westmeath competitive with Limerick, although a weakened Limerick outfit.

Ultimately, this year is about the Joe McDonagh cup. It falls nicely in that we have Offaly in our first game and Westmeath in our last in the group stages. We're building nicely towards it.

Post by: on the hop on February 13, 2024, 05:03:03 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on February 13, 2024, 10:56:38 AM
Quote from: on the hop on February 13, 2024, 08:24:52 AMfirst time to see the hurlers in a while and they made hard work on beating a very limited Kildare team who were down several injured players. Strong wind throughout the game was with Kildare in the first half and they started very strong before Laois got their bearings. Both teams deployed a sweeper at times which benefitted Kildare more as they got off a lot of shots, had they been more accurate they could have been further ahead. Laois seemed to have issues tracking players in the middle third. Despite the wind being very strong Laois seemed to persist in hitting high balls into the corners which didn't suit the inside line.

What are the facilities like at Hawkfields OTH ? Never been out there .

it always has the feel of a training / centre of excellence but the fact that newbridge is closed there isn't really much more of an option for the hurlers, Clane have a stand where a few club games are played in the hurling area of the county. There is a lot of games played there during the year with the lights and the majority of the county teams use it to train. i know that the camoige play a bit more in Kilcock recently , Rathcoffey and the Leixlip 4G astro pitch, the facilities have improved in a lot of clubs. its a narrow site, just over the length of a pitch and each pitch is in a row after that the further you go in. There are four pitches and a training area / wall ball.  pitch one with the small stand is the main pitch. it feels a bit short for hurling. Pitch two is often used for juvenile / LGFA matches and then there are two more training pitches. The dressing rooms are in the main building and are basic enough. They have built a fairly big gym there recently. Parking can be a disaster if there is a decent crowd there.
Post by: Laois man on February 13, 2024, 08:33:42 PM
Facilities are very poor.
Post by: Blow-in on February 22, 2024, 03:42:13 PM
Did we sack our Hurling coach?
Post by: Spiritof1915 on February 22, 2024, 09:08:34 PM
Quote from: Blow-in on February 22, 2024, 03:42:13 PMDid we sack our Hurling coach?
He was in flying form this evening.
Good intensity training before an important game on Saturday
Post by: Ogie on February 22, 2024, 09:36:25 PM
We've sacked both our hurling coaches in the past three weeks, Connolly & Horgan, doesn't reflect  well on the Manager bringing in these coaches.

Need to get it sorted fast, could be hard get a quality coach at this time of year .

Two wins but two underwhelming performances, bigger test Saturday evening.
Post by: Zooming around on February 23, 2024, 09:58:32 AM
Has the team been named?
Post by: Joeythelips on February 24, 2024, 08:52:15 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on February 23, 2024, 09:58:32 AMHas the team been named?

Laois team for the weekend  (https://twitter.com/CLGLaois/status/1761137549051900193?t=dNNDXWMaB-J94-rcNh_gAA&s=19)
Post by: G@@ on February 24, 2024, 11:23:31 AM
Quote from: Blow-in on February 22, 2024, 03:42:13 PMDid we sack our Hurling coach?
What's all this about then? Is there backroom unrest, why?
Post by: Laois man on February 24, 2024, 12:29:39 PM
Big fame this evening best of luck Carlow have good forwards Chris Nolan needs serious watching hit 1.06 in the last fame from play still think laois by 3 or 4 point's.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2024, 05:51:29 PM
Sitting here, hoping Midlands radio will cover the whole match.

I'll be recording it (to listen to later) as I need to start on the mowing on a rare sunny day this time of year, here.
Post by: burdizzo on February 24, 2024, 08:02:34 PM
Disappointing from Laois tonight. Carlow probably 10 points the better team. Stronger, more physical, and far more able to break the tackle than our lads. The only bright spots were David Dooley, and Diarmuid Conway, who had a good game. Podge did well, too. Paddy Purcell's radar was off until late on (on his 100th appearance for Laois, no less. Fair play.), and Picky seemed quiet enough apart from the frees. They clawed it back near the end, but I don't know how they expected lobbing high balls in was going to work against a bigger defence. Carlow aren't wonderful, and their touch was no better than ours, but they were well worth the win.

Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2024, 09:14:25 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 24, 2024, 08:02:34 PM...Paddy Purcell's ...on his 100th appearance for Laois, no less. Fair play...

Wow! Hats off!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 24, 2024, 09:16:02 PM
Have seen no evidence that this management team are any good. Our hurling standards and the way the team is set up looks second rate.
Post by: Blow-in on February 24, 2024, 09:41:22 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on February 24, 2024, 09:16:02 PMHave seen no evidence that this management team are any good. Our hurling standards and the way the team is set up looks second rate.

I have to agree. Very poor and doesn't look good when we lose two coaches mid season. Although looking at a couple of trainings earlier in the year, the sessions are very poor. I think things are going to get worse in the next couple of seasons as I think we will lose a number of first team players at the end of this season.
Post by: Blueforever on February 25, 2024, 09:32:18 AM
Dreadful performance last night only one tactic balloon the ball down on top of a 18 year old who was marked by 2 and sometimes 3 defenders another 18 year old who was best club  defender all last year playing midfield and best club forward by a mile last year sitting in the subs Willie Maher has not a clue
Post by: burdizzo on February 25, 2024, 01:06:30 PM
If you're talking about Mossy (and I assume you are!), he was lucky to come on at all. Only after a major operation.
Post by: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 12:41:30 PM
Playing high balls on top of the full forward line wasn't clever especially when you had Martin Phelan at wing forward. He struggled there and should be full forward or nowhere in a swap with Aaron Dunphy who simply has to be wing forward.

A few of the older lads looked disinterested unfortunately. The Carlow spirit was much better than ours.

We are fouling too much. Marty Kavanagh had a pain in his arm pointing frees.

We could still have won. Phelan had a right chance for a goal before half time but blasted over. We also drove some terrible wides and Carlow were much more efficient.

Conway, Delaney, Shanahan (at times) and Purcell (in the second half) were very good.

Are Ross King and James Keyes injured/dropped/gone?
Post by: burdizzo on February 26, 2024, 01:57:17 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 12:41:30 PMAre Ross King and James Keyes injured/dropped/gone?

Thought I saw Ross there? However, James Keyes is in America, and I don't think he's scheduled to come back.
Post by: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 02:42:28 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 26, 2024, 01:57:17 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 12:41:30 PMAre Ross King and James Keyes injured/dropped/gone?

Thought I saw Ross there? However, James Keyes is in America, and I don't think he's scheduled to come back.

Are you sure about Keyes. I think he's back around.

Amazing to think that we could have 5 better forwards starting than what played Saturday. 2 x Keyes, W Dunphy, Cillian Dunne and Roddy.

Is Fionan Mahony on the panel.
Post by: burdizzo on February 26, 2024, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 02:42:28 PM

Amazing to think that we could have 5 better forwards starting than what played Saturday. 2 x Keyes, W Dunphy, Cillian Dunne and Roddy.

No, not 100% sure, but that's what I heard on Saturday night. Also heard it's not an entirely happy camp, but who knows? I agree, it was strange having Phelan on the wing. He's not suited to there, and nor in Dunphy suited to ff. I think he got one point, and that's all, before coming off?
Post by: les Antiques on February 26, 2024, 03:06:38 PM
King is back training and will be available in the next few weeks .
I don't see much improvement from last year presently. 
The word is everything is been geared towards the Joe Mcdonagh. Hard to be fully convinced just yet.
Post by: Zooming around on February 27, 2024, 10:37:10 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 26, 2024, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on February 26, 2024, 02:42:28 PM

No, not 100% sure, but that's what I heard on Saturday night. Also heard it's not an entirely happy camp, but who knows? I agree, it was strange having Phelan on the wing. He's not suited to there, and nor in Dunphy suited to ff. I think he got one point, and that's all, before coming off?

James Keyes is definitely back home but wasn't asked back to the panel.

Does anybody know what the story with Fionan Mahony and Cillian Dunne is? Are they away or just not considered or have they opted out themselves. I think both of them are good enough to be on that panel. It's frustrating that we never seem to be picking from a full panel of the best players in Laois.
Post by: Laois Rising on February 27, 2024, 11:25:43 AM
This management team are going to live or die by the sword based on the team's Joe McDonagh performances. Both Offaly and Westmeath are really giving the Division 1 league a right craic at the moment. Very opposing approaches being taken by Laois to their main challengers for the Joe McDonagh. Hopefully the management's approach pays dividends for Laois and we see a fit, fresh Laois team peaking at the right time for the game with Offaly.

What we don't want is Laois needing 20/30 minutes of the opening game struggling to get the the pitch of the game against a sharper Offaly team flying out of the blocks. I see the likes of Ravenhill, Screeney etc. have been fast tracked into the starting team and getting plenty of Division 1 hurling experience. This Offaly team will come into the start of the Joe McDonagh with plenty of confidence if they continue to perform as they have in the previous two games. If Laois continue to performance as they have in the opening three rounds, very hard to build momentum, confidence and a positive squad of players. I hope the rumours of disgruntlement are short lived and the squad that is there pull in the right direction for the rest of the year. 
Post by: County Man on February 28, 2024, 02:09:25 PM
Carlow were full value for the win on Saturday night. They were impressive with a team much bigger than ours and an excellent half forward line. They were much more accurate than us on the night as well.

This was a proper test for Laois as we get ready for the Joe McDonagh cup. Glad that Ross King will be available in mid March. At least we should be ok for Division 1B hurling next year as 2 teams go up from our division.

It promises to be a fantastic McDonagh cup and this is where the season will be judged. Seems that Offaly and Westmeath are motoring well. There should be great battles against them. Looking forward to it.

Conway had a good solid game at corner back and both Enda Rowland and Paddy Purcell showed what important players they are for us.

Post by: Laois man on February 28, 2024, 02:53:23 PM
Wonder is there a new coach coming on board after the other 2 got the door?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 09, 2024, 06:23:39 PM
Here's hoping for some good form, tomorrow.
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on March 10, 2024, 03:50:35 PM
Good win today and great to see lads bounce back after poor carlow performance. Nice to see mossy back and laois scoring a few goals also. The lads played well, albeit poor opposition, also heard Willie Maher wasnt at the game as was in the US. Hopefully he will be able to make all the Joe McDonagh games.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2024, 05:18:39 PM
"The full forward line were outstanding as Aaron Dunphy, Tomas Keyes and Jer Quinlan combined for 3-14." (from Laois Today)

Wow!

I just saw the final score for Offaly v. Cork. Ouch!
Post by: Laois man on March 10, 2024, 06:23:54 PM
Cork could of hit 10 goals today handy
Post by: Verbal on March 10, 2024, 09:19:01 PM
Maher wasn't at the game?!
Is he looking for a way out?
Post by: Zooming around on March 12, 2024, 10:01:13 AM
Quote from: Verbal on March 10, 2024, 09:19:01 PMMaher wasn't at the game?!
Is he looking for a way out?

He was in America. I think it had been pre-planned
Post by: redsetanta on March 12, 2024, 11:43:33 AM
Is there a league final match for top 2 in Div 2 this year?
Post by: Laois man on March 12, 2024, 11:59:23 AM
If laois win sfinal they play carlow in the final. Would final be in carlow as they top the group??
Post by: Laois Rising on March 13, 2024, 04:04:00 PM
I would imagine the final will be in a neutral venue unless the two sides agree to a coin toss to decide who gets home advantage. Last year, Offaly and Kildare's final was played in Portlaoise. Would Nolan Park be the most realistic neutral venue for a final? I wouldn't mind if final was in Dr. Cullen. A final deserves to be played in front of a decent crowd-adds to the spectacle and occasion. If final was in Nowlan Park would do well to get 1500 at the game.   
Post by: les Antiques on March 13, 2024, 04:30:29 PM
Agree with Laois Rising . No need for a neutral venue for league final . Irrelevant anyway in my opinion at this level.  Gladly play it in Dr Cullen Park and turn them over there .
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 13, 2024, 07:39:20 PM
Are first and 2nd promoted? Or are finalists promoted? If its 1st and 2nd what's the point of the rest of the league?
Post by: Laois man on March 13, 2024, 08:16:28 PM
The 2 finalists.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 14, 2024, 08:25:14 AM
OK so semi final is a straight promotion game and final is a decoration...
Post by: johnnycool on March 14, 2024, 08:49:09 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on March 13, 2024, 04:30:29 PMAgree with Laois Rising . No need for a neutral venue for league final . Irrelevant anyway in my opinion at this level.  Gladly play it in Dr Cullen Park and turn them over there .

Could all be a bit presumptuous here lads. ;)
Post by: les Antiques on March 14, 2024, 11:09:03 AM
League semi finals and final waste time of time regardless .
Post by: Laois man on March 14, 2024, 12:55:51 PM
If you win sfinal you get to div1 B and if you win final you get a trophy so not a waste of time one thinks. I Could be wrong.
Post by: redsetanta on March 14, 2024, 01:18:45 PM
Top two teams will be in the new Div 1b league with 5 other teams who will come down from the current Div 1a and 1b. Bottom two in each and the worst placed 4th placed team.

Likely to be Dublin, Waterford, Westmeath, Offaly and Westmeath.

Laois can't be caught now as they are 3 points clear in 2nd place with one game to go. My understanding is that the top two go up. Where did the 2nd playing 3rd come from?

Post by: Laois man on March 14, 2024, 03:41:40 PM
I hear the 2 teams that make the final go up to Div1 B
Post by: johnnycool on March 14, 2024, 03:48:46 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 14, 2024, 01:18:45 PMTop two teams will be in the new Div 1b league with 5 other teams who will come down from the current Div 1a and 1b. Bottom two in each and the worst placed 4th placed team.

Laois can't be caught now as they are 3 points clear in 2nd place with one game to go. My understanding is that the top two go up. Where did the 2nd playing 3rd come from?

It's been the case since the start of the league and IIRC it's been in this league for a few years.

Semi-final on the 23/24th of March.

If we beat Meath on Saturday, you lads better beat Kildare on Friday night.
Post by: redsetanta on March 14, 2024, 06:05:22 PM
It's a bit ambiguous.

GAA website says that the new `1B will consist of the top 2 in 2a while they say that the new Div 2 will consist of the teams that finish 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th in Div 2a as well as top 3 from Div 2b.

So it is the top two in the table that are promoted or the two teams that play in the Div 2a league final??

https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/new-allianz-hurling-league-structure-for-2025-explained (https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/new-allianz-hurling-league-structure-for-2025-explained)
Post by: burdizzo on March 14, 2024, 06:32:41 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 14, 2024, 03:48:46 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 14, 2024, 01:18:45 PMTop two teams will be in the new Div 1b league with 5 other teams who will come down from the current Div 1a and 1b. Bottom two in each and the worst placed 4th placed team.

It's been the case since the start of the league and IIRC it's been in this league for a few years.

Semi-final on the 23/24th of March.

If we beat Meath on Saturday, you lads better beat Kildare on Friday night.

Ye'll beat Meath. Laois already beat Kildare. Have Kerry Saturday night. Does that affect ye?
Post by: burdizzo on March 16, 2024, 09:33:55 AM
Hmmm. Carlow lost to Kildare last night, after - does that mean a good win over Kerry could put Laois straight into the final, or does it come down to head-to-head still?
Post by: Zooming around on March 16, 2024, 10:22:13 AM
Nice bit of experimentation in the team for today. Good to see. Also, good to see James Keyes back. We'll need him.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 16, 2024, 05:03:31 PM
Holy sh!te. Laois is topping the table. Well done, lads!
Post by: les Antiques on March 16, 2024, 08:37:56 PM
Semi-Final: Laois v Down in Portlaoise
Final: Carlow v Laois/Down in Carlow
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 16, 2024, 10:11:54 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on March 16, 2024, 08:37:56 PMSemi-Final: Laois v Down in Portlaoise

I can't say I quite understand this. Laois is a the top of the Division 2A table, yet have to win a semi-final to be in the final? I would think that would be Carlow playing Down in the semi-.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on March 16, 2024, 10:17:53 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 16, 2024, 10:11:54 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on March 16, 2024, 08:37:56 PMSemi-Final: Laois v Down in Portlaoise

I can't say I quite understand this. Laois is a the top of the Division 2A table, yet have to win a semi-final to be in the final? I would think that would be Carlow playing Down in the semi-.

Laois and Carlow level on points (8 each).  First tie-breaker id the head-to-head result, which Carlow won.

So Carlow are top of the division, Laois second and Down third. 

Down are third, by the way, because the first tie-breaker between themselves and Kildare was a Draw, second tie-breaker is scoring difference which Down wins by +4 to 0.

All Clear now?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 17, 2024, 12:31:45 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on March 16, 2024, 10:17:53 PM

Laois and Carlow level on points (8 each).  First tie-breaker id the head-to-head result, which Carlow won.

Down are third, by the way, because the first tie-breaker between themselves and Kildare was a Draw, second tie-breaker is scoring difference which Down wins by +4 to 0.

All Clear now?

I'm going to say "yes?".
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on March 17, 2024, 01:25:42 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 17, 2024, 12:31:45 AM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on March 16, 2024, 10:17:53 PM

All Clear now?

I'm going to say "yes?".

The issue is RTE website shows Laois on top and Carlow second.

RTE are wrong...

Post by: G@@ on March 17, 2024, 11:12:17 AM
Yeah, it's a bit messy bringing in head-to-head results for this. One question though, how did we get Portlaoise as the semi-final venue? Surely we should have to travel to Down considering they played us in Portlaoise already, or failing that a neutral venue for the Semi?
Post by: burdizzo on March 17, 2024, 12:42:50 PM
Quote from: G@@ on March 17, 2024, 11:12:17 AMYeah, it's a bit messy bringing in head-to-head results for this. One question though, how did we get Portlaoise as the semi-final venue? Surely we should have to travel to Down considering they played us in Portlaoise already, or failing that a neutral venue for the Semi?

I suppose it's a reward for finishing second, just like Carlow's home venue for the final is their reward for finishing top.
Post by: johnnycool on March 19, 2024, 11:27:50 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 17, 2024, 12:42:50 PM
Quote from: G@@ on March 17, 2024, 11:12:17 AMYeah, it's a bit messy bringing in head-to-head results for this. One question though, how did we get Portlaoise as the semi-final venue? Surely we should have to travel to Down considering they played us in Portlaoise already, or failing that a neutral venue for the Semi?

I suppose it's a reward for finishing second, just like Carlow's home venue for the final is their reward for finishing top.

While I understand the logic behind these home knockout games and everyone knows the rules before a ball is thrown in, but do any of you think these rules would ever apply to the Div1 teams?

As for Saturday the Down lads won't fear Laois based on their last meeting where we were still in the game with 10 minutes to go.

Eoghan Sands may be a big loss due to his straight red card, but I'd expect Down to appeal that decision this week, but we'll know more later this week...

A few other injuries to clear up this week could mean Down playing from a full hand, which they didn't have in the first meeting..

Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on March 21, 2024, 08:24:06 AM
do well ta keep it pucked out ta yis so jonny
Post by: johnnycool on March 21, 2024, 01:25:31 PM
Quote from: georgedoylesrightleg on March 21, 2024, 08:24:06 AMdo well ta keep it pucked out ta yis so jonny

Sure we're lucky to be on the same field as you lads.

Hope your hurlers aren't as sectarian as your footballers  ;)

We've quite a lot of lads from "mixed" marriages on the team
Post by: burdizzo on March 21, 2024, 02:25:11 PM
The hurlers are a far more gentleman-y lot!
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on March 21, 2024, 02:41:12 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 21, 2024, 01:25:31 PM
Quote from: georgedoylesrightleg on March 21, 2024, 08:24:06 AMdo well ta keep it pucked out ta yis so jonny

Sure we're lucky to be on the same field as you lads.

Hope your hurlers aren't as sectarian as your footballers  ;)

We've quite a lot of lads from "mixed" marriages on the team

De manger has bitta rarein not like me man last yeare
Post by: les Antiques on March 21, 2024, 03:03:07 PM
[quote author=johnnycool link=msg=2260801 date=1710

As for Saturday the Down lads won't fear Laois based on their last meeting where we were still in the game with 10 minutes to go.

Eoghan Sands may be a big loss due to his straight red card, but I'd expect Down to appeal that decision this week, but we'll know more later this week...

A few other injuries to clear up this week could mean Down playing from a full hand, which they didn't have in the first meeting..

Looking forward to Saturday now 😀

Feel parts of the pitch will be under pressure the next few weeks . 5/6 games scheduled for OMP before the 10th of April.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 22, 2024, 01:10:12 AM
National Hurling League Semi-Final
Laois v. Down

Paddy Power is showing 4/1 odds that Midlands Radio will give live updates on the match and 12/1 that the match will be covered in its entirety.
Post by: burdizzo on March 22, 2024, 09:52:53 PM
They must have inside info.!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 23, 2024, 05:09:34 PM
I heard there was some good hurling, back there, today.

Congratulations to the lads!!!
Post by: burdizzo on March 23, 2024, 09:02:25 PM
Yes, some good hurling, all right. However, even though they scored 1-24, they surely left another 3-20 behind them. Need to be a lot more clinical - and need a proper free-taker, too. Surprised King didn't step up to them, but his first game back was only middling. Impressed by Quinlan, Dooley, and Mossy Keyes, who was fouled plenty. Liam O'Connell caught some good ball, and Purcell was much better. However, Down got very tired in the second half, and were no match for our lads in terms of fitness, or touch. The Carlow game will be a good barometer of how much they've actually improved.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 23, 2024, 09:06:37 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 23, 2024, 09:02:25 PMYes, some good hurling, all right. However, even though they scored 1-24, they surely left another 3-20 behind them. Need to be a lot more clinical - and need a proper free-taker, too. Surprised King didn't step up to them, but his first game back was only middling. Impressed by Quinlan, Dooley, and Mossy Keyes, who was fouled plenty. Liam O'Connell caught some good ball, and Purcell was much better. However, Down got very tired in the second half, and were no match for our lads in terms of fitness, or touch. The Carlow game will be a good barometer of how much they've actually improved.

Yes, with what I've heard so far, Jer Quinlan sounds like quite a hurler. How long has he been playing at the Senior County level?
Post by: Laois man on March 23, 2024, 09:13:29 PM
Good performance no great fear of going to carlow next week for the final slot of lads done well today I taught Martin Phelan was outstanding got 2 scores and made 5 or 6 more.
Post by: burdizzo on March 23, 2024, 10:11:46 PM
Quote from: Laois man on March 23, 2024, 09:13:29 PMGood performance no great fear of going to carlow next week for the final slot of lads done well today I taught Martin Phelan was outstanding got 2 scores and made 5 or 6 more.

You're right, great performance from Phelan. He's an awkward hurler, but works like a dog and wins ball he's not entitled to. As the young lad said, he could have the ball, lose it for nothing, and then win it again from 10 lads around him!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on March 23, 2024, 10:40:09 PM
Well done to the hurlers today and best of luck next weekend - Carlow has been a bogey team for us in recent times.

NHL Division 1B 2025
Waterford, Dublin, Westmeath, Offaly, Antrim, Carlow, Laois

A much improved format for the League next year
- only Waterford might consider themselves head and shoulders above the rest.
Post by: County Man on March 24, 2024, 10:23:57 AM
Congratulations to the hurlers on promotion to Division 1B.

A bit of silverware to play for next week against Carlow before the massive game against Offaly on April 20 in the Joe McDonagh cup.
Post by: johnnycool on March 24, 2024, 01:50:37 PM
Quote from: County Man on March 24, 2024, 10:23:57 AMCongratulations to the hurlers on promotion to Division 1B.

A bit of silverware to play for next week against Carlow before the massive game against Offaly on April 20 in the Joe McDonagh cup.

Our lads never turned up sadly, but well done Laois probably better suited to Div1B than us.

The Carlow game is just for a bit of tin, yesterdays game was more important.
Post by: Laois man on March 24, 2024, 02:57:59 PM
Good weekend hurlers and fballers gone up a Div👍👍
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 29, 2024, 08:06:04 PM
I just saw on the GAA website that our NHL Final is supposed to be televised on TG4!

Yeah hooo!!!
Post by: les Antiques on March 30, 2024, 08:48:33 AM
YouTube Channel
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 30, 2024, 07:06:01 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on March 30, 2024, 08:48:33 AMYouTube Channel
Meaning TG4 is streaming it only via Youtube or they are streaming on Youtube in addition to the TG4 website?
Post by: G@@ on March 30, 2024, 11:52:55 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 30, 2024, 07:06:01 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on March 30, 2024, 08:48:33 AMYouTube Channel
Meaning TG4 is streaming it only via Youtube or they are streaming on Youtube in addition to the TG4 website?
This link is waiting for you Mossy! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17vFvFmbdH4
It will be live at 3pm on Easter Sunday Irish time, so subtract those Oregon hours which I think will be an 8hr difference as we move to Summer Time tonight. That's at least a 7am start for you chief! Hopefully we do it and make that early rise well worth it!!!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 31, 2024, 04:06:13 AM
Thanks, G@@!!!

What's confusing is we went on daylight savings time about 3 weeks ago -- and now you're doing it tonight and ... I'm just going to get up damn early to make sure I don't miss anything.

I'm feeling extra confident that Laois can do it. Laois abú!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 31, 2024, 04:40:00 PM
Holy sh!te

First: What a thrill to be able to WATCH a match instead of just listening to one!

There was some fine hurling, today. The lads consistently had lots of space and kept the wides to a minimum.

Actually, I'm rather shocked at Carlow's performance. It's like they never really showed up. I see tomorrow's headline in the news, "The Fighting Cocks suffer episode of ED."

Well done, Laois!!! Biffos, watch out!
Post by: burdizzo on March 31, 2024, 06:57:31 PM
Exactly - what was wrong with Carlow?! However, good performance from our lads. A complete reversal of the form from the first day, from both teams!
Post by: Carlovia on March 31, 2024, 07:55:05 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 31, 2024, 06:57:31 PMExactly - what was wrong with Carlow?! However, good performance from our lads. A complete reversal of the form from the first day, from both teams!

Well done today, better team by a mile.  In Portlaoise we won every break and tackle, today Laois did.

The last day you pucked aimless ball on top of our sweeper and today we did the same to yours.

Look after those two corner forwards, serious hurlers.

Best of luck in the MacDonagh cup, it's a tough competition to win.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 31, 2024, 09:22:36 PM
Well done Laois today. Carlow have serious hurlers so nice to get one over on them. Great to win at a canter and still leave loads of room for improvement. The balls into the forwards in the first half needed to improve which they did in the second half. Well done. Especially without Picky, Roddy and also Mark Dowling who was strong earlier in the league.
Post by: Joeythelips on April 01, 2024, 12:15:19 AM

Full game
Post by: Laois Abu on April 01, 2024, 10:26:51 AM
Where was Ross King yesterday he was flying it in previous matches?
Post by: burdizzo on April 01, 2024, 01:17:14 PM
Quote from: Laois Abu on April 01, 2024, 10:26:51 AMWhere was Ross King yesterday he was flying it in previous matches?

Really? I didn't think he was that good against Down, and deservedly got taken off.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 01, 2024, 02:34:35 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on April 01, 2024, 01:17:14 PM
Quote from: Laois Abu on April 01, 2024, 10:26:51 AMWhere was Ross King yesterday he was flying it in previous matches?

Really? I didn't think he was that good against Down, and deservedly got taken off.

?? Ross wasn't even on the panel against Down I think. He scored 1-07 against Kerry, 1-04 from play.
Post by: burdizzo on April 01, 2024, 03:26:36 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on April 01, 2024, 02:34:35 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on April 01, 2024, 01:17:14 PM

?? Ross wasn't even on the panel against Down I think. He scored 1-07 against Kerry, 1-04 from play.

I'm talking about the semi-final against Down in O'Moore Park a couple of weeks ago. He started at centre-forward. Taken off at half-time, or shortly after it. I remember wondering why he wasn't taking the frees instead of Aaron Dunphy.
Post by: Laois Abu on April 01, 2024, 03:37:13 PM
Did Roddy not score 3 points against Down?. Looking at the Laois team yesterday I noticed how good David Dooley was. Some man to win primary possession
Post by: redsetanta on April 02, 2024, 10:34:40 AM
Very good performance. They played like a team confident that they would beat Carlow. The goals finished Carlow but all round Laois were on top. Great spread of scorers and we have match winners in Mossy and Ger.

Looking forward to the clash with Offaly.

If they approach that game with the same focus they are more than capable of winning. 
Post by: G@@ on April 02, 2024, 12:00:58 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on April 02, 2024, 10:34:40 AMIf they approach that game with the same focus they are more than capable of winning. 

The Offaly game will be a tough encounter - we will need complete focus for 70 minutes, on Sunday we went out of the game for stretches of the first half, so we need to address that. Championship will be a different animal - Carlow could have had a few goals on Sunday only for the brilliant stops by Rowland. Our defence needs more work - as Offaly's main threat is their full-forward line. I anticipate a high-scoring game on April 21st.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on April 03, 2024, 05:24:19 AM
Did any reserve goalie get any play time during any of the league games? Enda Rowland is indispensable and a total rock star but, heaven forbid, if he gets injured, is there a good, seasoned back up? There were several matches where Laois had a comfortable lead where a reserve goalie could have safely gotten some match time. And it looks like there a few matches in the upcoming Joe McDonagh Cup where Laois will likely get a comfortable lead.
Post by: burdizzo on April 03, 2024, 08:13:01 AM
Cathal Dunne played the match against Kerry, when Laois were already through to the semi-final. Always tough being understudy to a 'legend'...
Post by: Laois man on April 03, 2024, 12:02:15 PM
Cathal Dunne is a fine keeper aswell. Will picky. Hartnett or any of the subs on Sunday make the starting 15 I wonder? There's plenty of back up in those lads thank God. We could see a double win over offaly in fball and hurling that would be a nice touch🙏🙏🤣